Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 16, 2025 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 2, 10, and 17, and added claims 23-25. Claims 2-25 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(a) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 18, 2025. The examiner withdraws the 112(a) rejections and the Specification, Drawings, and Claims objections in light of the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) September 16, 2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 8, 10, 16-18, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beer et al. (US PGPUB 2007/0026567 A1), hereinafter known as Beer.
Regarding claim 2, Beer discloses (Fig. 8) An antenna structure (2) comprising: a printed circuit board (13) including a plurality of layers (16, 17, 71) that define a first side (71) and second side (11) opposite the first side; a mold compound (10) disposed on the second side of the printed circuit board (13); and a planar antenna (34) defined by a conformal shield layer (35) disposed directly on a surface of the mold compound (10), the mold compound (10) disposed between the second side of the printed circuit board (13) and the conformal shield layer (21), the mold compound (10) including a cavity (25) defined in the mold compound (10) and bounded directly by dielectric material (10, 16, 35) and positioned between the conformal shield layer (21) and the printed circuit board (13).
Regarding claim 8, Beer further discloses (Fig. 12) wherein the planar antenna includes two or more planar antennas (34).
Regarding claim 10, Beer discloses (Fig. 8 and 13) A radiofrequency module (2) comprising: a printed circuit board (13); a mold compound (10) disposed on a first side of the printed circuit board (13); a die (76) disposed on a second side of the printed circuit board (13) and including one or more radio frequency components ([0101]); and a planar antenna (34) defined by a conformal shield layer (35) disposed directly on a surface of the mold compound (10), the mold compound (10) disposed between the printed circuit board (13) and the conformal shield layer (35), the mold compound (10) including a cavity (25) defined in the mold compound (10) directly by dielectric material (10, 16, 35) and positioned between the conformal shield layer (21) and the printed circuit board (13).
Regarding claim 16, Beer further discloses (Fig. 12) wherein the planar antenna includes two or more planar antennas (34).
Regarding claim 17, Beer discloses (Fig. 8 and 13) A wireless device ([0100]) comprising: a transceiver ([0101]); and an antenna structure including one or more planar antenna (34) defined by a conformal shield layer (35) disposed directly on a surface of a mold compound (10) that is disposed on a printed circuit board (13) such that the mold compound (10) is disposed between the printed circuit board (13) and the conformal shield layer (35), the mold compound (10) including a cavity (25) defined in the mold compound (10) bounded directly by dielectric material (10, 16, 35) and positioned between the conformal layer (35)layer and the printed circuit board (13), the one or more planar antennas (34) configured to radiate signals corresponding to transmit data output by the transceiver in a first direction ([0101]).
Regarding claim 18, Beer further discloses (Fig. 13) wherein the antenna structure includes a die (76) on an opposite side of the printed circuit board (13) from the mold compound (10).
Regarding claim 23, Beer further discloses (Fig. 8) wherein the dielectric material (16, 35) that bounds the cavity (25) is of a material different than the mold compound (10).
Regarding claim 24, Beer further discloses (Fig. 8) wherein the dielectric material (16, 35) that bounds the cavity (25) is of a material different than the mold compound (10).
Regarding claim 25, Beer further discloses (Fig. 8) wherein the dielectric material (16, 35) that bounds the cavity (25) is of a material different than the mold compound (10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 11-13, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer in view of Chun et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0351525 A1), hereinafter known as Chun.
Regarding claim 3, Beer does not specifically teach wherein one of the plurality of layers of the printed circuit board is a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the first side of the printed circuit board.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 8) wherein one of the plurality of layers of the printed circuit board is a ground layer (860) disposed between the mold compound (138) and the first side of the printed circuit board (102).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Beer with Chun to include “wherein one of the plurality of layers of the printed circuit board is a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the first side of the printed circuit board,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 4, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the ground layer defines at least a portion of the second side of the printed circuit board.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the ground layer (254) defines at least a portion of the second side of the printed circuit board (top of 102).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the ground layer defines at least a portion of the second side of the printed circuit board,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 5, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer by one or more connections chosen from the group consisting of vias and bondwires.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the conformal shield layer (142) is connected to the ground layer ([0074], [0077]) by one or more connections (140) chosen from the group consisting of vias ([0047]) and bondwires.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer by one or more connections chosen from the group consisting of vias and bondwires,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 11, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the printed circuit board includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the printed circuit board (102) includes a ground layer (254; [0074], [0077]) disposed between the mold compound (138) and the die (104).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiofrequency module of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the printed circuit board includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 12, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the ground layer defines at least a portion of the first side of the printed circuit board.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the ground layer (254; [0074], [0077]) defines at least a portion of the first side of the printed circuit board (right side of 102).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiofrequency module of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the ground layer defines at least a portion of the first side of the printed circuit board,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 13, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer by one or more connections chosen from the group consisting of vias and bondwires.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the conformal shield layer (142) is connected to the ground layer ([0074], [0077]) by one or more connections (140) chosen from the group consisting of vias ([0047]) and bondwires.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiofrequency module of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer by one or more connections chosen from the group consisting of vias and bondwires,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 19, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the antenna structure includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the antenna structure (700) includes a ground layer (254; [0074], [0077]) disposed between the mold compound (138) and the die (104).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless device of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the antenna structure includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 20, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the ground layer is adjacent the mold compound.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the ground layer (254; [0074], [0077]) defines at least a portion of the first side of the printed circuit board (right side of 102).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless device of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the ground layer defines at least a portion of the first side of the printed circuit board,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Regarding claim 21, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer by one or more connections chosen from the group consisting of vias and bondwires.
However, Chun teaches (Fig. 7) wherein the conformal shield layer (142) is connected to the ground layer ([0074], [0077]) by one or more connections (140) chosen from the group consisting of vias ([0047]) and bondwires.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless device of Beer with Chun to include “wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer by one or more connections chosen from the group consisting of vias and bondwires,” as taught by Chun, for the purpose of providing a reference voltage (see also [0105]).
Claims 3, 7, 11, 15, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer in of Lin et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0040266 A1), hereinafter known as Lin.
Regarding claim 3, Beer does not specifically teach wherein one of the plurality of layers of the printed circuit board is a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the first side of the printed circuit board.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 1A) wherein one of the plurality of layers of the printed circuit board is a ground layer (104) disposed between the mold compound (120) and the first side of the printed circuit board (103).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Beer with Lin to include “wherein one of the plurality of layers of the printed circuit board is a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the first side of the printed circuit board,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of reducing interference (see also [0059]).
Regarding claim 7, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via one or more edge lines extending along a second surface of the mold compound that is perpendicular to the first side.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 1A) wherein the conformal shield layer (132) is connected to the ground layer (104) via one or more edge lines (edge lines of 122) extending along a second surface of the mold compound (120) that is perpendicular to the first side (122 is perpendicular to top of 120).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Beer with Lin to include “wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via one or more edge lines extending along a second surface of the mold compound that is perpendicular to the first side,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of reducing interference (see also [0059]).
Regarding claim 11, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the printed circuit board includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 1A and 3) wherein the printed circuit board includes a ground layer (104) disposed between the mold compound (120) and the die (310).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiofrequency module of Beer with Lin to include “wherein the printed circuit board includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of reducing interference (see also [0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Beer does not specifically teach in the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via one or more edge lines extending along a second surface of the mold compound that is perpendicular to a first surface.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 1A) wherein the conformal shield layer (132) is connected to the ground layer (104) via one or more edge lines (edge lines of 122) extending along a second surface of the mold compound (120) that is perpendicular to a first surface (122 is perpendicular to top of 120).
.It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiofrequency module of Beer with Lin to include “wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via one or more edge lines extending along a second surface of the mold compound that is perpendicular to a first surface,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of reducing interference (see also [0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the antenna structure includes a die on an opposite side of the printed circuit board from the mold compound.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 1A and 3) wherein the antenna structure includes a die (310) on an opposite side of the printed circuit board (106) from the mold compound (120).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless device of Beer with Lin to include “wherein the antenna structure includes a die on an opposite side of the printed circuit board from the mold compound,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of improving flexibility of design by allowing for different mounting systems (see also [0079] and [0122]).
Regarding claim 19, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the antenna structure includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 1A and 3) wherein the antenna structure (10, 30) includes a ground layer (104) disposed between the mold compound (120) and the die (310).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless device of Beer with Lin to include “wherein the printed circuit board includes a ground layer disposed between the mold compound and the die,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of reducing interference (see also [0059]).
Regarding claim 22, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via one or more edge lines extending along a second surface of the mold compound that is perpendicular to a first surface.
However, Lin teaches (Fig. 1A) wherein the conformal shield layer (132) is connected to the ground layer (104) via one or more edge lines (edge lines of 122) extending along a second surface of the mold compound (120) that is perpendicular to a first surface (122 is perpendicular to top of 120).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wireless device of Beer with Lin to include “wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via one or more edge lines extending along a second surface of the mold compound that is perpendicular to a first surface,” as taught by Lin, for the purpose of reducing interference (see also [0059]).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer in view of Chun as applied to claims 3 and 11 above, and in further view of Langenberg et al. (US PGPUB 2017/0331184 A1), hereinafter known as Langenberg.
Regarding claim 6, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via capacitive coupling.
However, Langenberg teaches wherein the shield layer ([0057]) is connected to the ground layer ([0057]) via capacitive coupling ([0057]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Beer with Langenberg to include “wherein the shield layer is connected to the ground layer via capacitive coupling,” as taught by Langenberg, for the purpose of simplifying manufacture (see also [0031]).
Regarding claim 14, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer is connected to the ground layer via capacitive coupling.
However, Langenberg teaches wherein the shield layer ([0057]) is connected to the ground layer ([0057]) via capacitive coupling ([0057]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the radiofrequency module of Beer with Langenberg to include “wherein the shield layer is connected to the ground layer via capacitive coupling,” as taught by Langenberg, for the purpose of simplifying manufacture (see also [0031]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beer in view of Arnold et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0028518 A1), hereinafter known as Arnold.
Regarding claim 9, Beer does not specifically teach wherein the conformal shield layer has a thickness of between about 500 µm and about 700 µm.
However, Arnold teaches wherein the conformal shield layer has a thickness of between about 500 µm and about 700 µm ([0048], less than 1 mm includes between about 500 µm and about 700 µm).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna structure of Beer with Arnold to include “wherein the conformal shield layer has a thickness of between about 500 µm and about 700 µm,” as taught by Arnold, for the purpose of reducing loss (see also [0063]). Such modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2845