DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “when the processor executes the program, steps of a method claimed in the claim 1 are implemented” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim recitation of “when the processor executes the program, steps of a method claimed in the claim 1 are implemented” to mean --when the processor executes the program, the method of claim 1 is implemented--.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “when the processor executes the program, steps of a method claimed in the claim 9 are implemented” in lines 6-7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim recitation of “when the processor executes the program, steps of a method claimed in the claim 9 are implemented” to mean --when the processor executes the program, the method of claim 9 is implemented--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (20150015504) in view of Landau (20150220253) and Bekmambetov (10083159).
Regarding claim 1, Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches a method for recording courseware of multimedia content in a storage device for remote teaching or network conferences, the method comprising: responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering a recording process of a courseware (Para. 0063), starting, by an interactive white board (Para. 0020), a courseware recording function (Para. 0063); recording a page of the courseware, user audio data and user behavior data in the recording process (Para. 0063); responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering the closing of the courseware recording function, mapping time points at which record the courseware (Para. 0063), user audio data and user behavior data to a timeline of the recording process (Para. 0063), and storing each of the courseware, the user audio data and the user behavior data in relation to each other according to the timeline (Para. 0063), in a recording file associated with the recording process (Para. 0063); and providing the recording file (Para. 0062) to a server for playback based on the recording file (Para. 0062-0063, 0102); wherein a courseware page shows a movable element (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106); recording the user behavior data includes recording, in the recording file, a user instruction (Para. 0063), a start time and a time duration of the user instruction (Para. 0063), an identifier of an element pointed to by the user instruction (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106), and data stream generated in an acting process caused by the user instruction (Para. 0063); when the user instruction includes a drag instruction for triggering a motion of the movable element (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106), the drag instruction is recorded in the recording file, and the data stream recorded in the recording file includes an initial position parameter and an end position parameter of a motion trajectory generated on the courseware page by the movable element in response to the drag instruction (Para. 0016-0017, 0062-0063).
It is noted that the prior art of Lee (Para. 0062) discloses: “in another example, an export or save icon could be selected to save the data visualizations to a file locally or over a network”, so that Lee teaches the claim recitation of “providing the recording file to a server for playback based on the recording file”.
It is noted that applicant’s specification (Para. 71) discloses: “it can be seen from the above that the embodiment of the present disclosure replaces the video stream with text data (data stream), which greatly reduces storage and transmission costs”.
Lee does not teach recording a page identifier of the courseware that replaces video recording so that the recording process is performed without the video recording, storing the page identifier according to the timeline, responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering the closing of the courseware recording function, mapping time points of recording the recorded page identifier of the courseware, storing data according to the timeline in a text format recording file, wherein the text format recording file is devoid of a video stream generated by the video recording, providing the text format recording file to a server for playback.
Landau (Figures 1-5) teaches recording and storing a page identifier according to the timeline (Para. 0043), responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering the closing of the courseware recording function (Para. 0043), mapping time points of recording the recorded page identifier of the courseware (Para. 0025, 0043).
Bekmambetov teaches a recording process that replaces video recording so that the recording process is performed without the video recording (Col. 2, Lines 36-49); storing data according to the timeline in a text format recording file (Col. 3, Lines 56-65), wherein the text format recording file is devoid of a video stream generated by the video recording (Col. 2, Lines 36-49), providing the text format recording file to a server for playback (Col. 3, Lines 39-41 and Lines 49-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Lee with recording a page identifier of the courseware as taught by Landau as a means of tracking track each page that the user completes and recording the one that the user is on when a session is terminated (Landau: Para. 0043), and to provide Lee with storing data according to the timeline in a text format recording file as taught by Bekmambetov as a means of simple substitution of one known element (recording content using video) for another (recording content using text data) to obtain predictable results (recording and storing content for playback for a user) (See: KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)) (Bekmambetov: Col. 3, Lines 39-41 and Lines 49-55).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches responsive to receiving a screen projection request in the recording process, sending the recording file including the courseware, the page of the courseware, user audio data, and user behavior data recorded in the screen projection process to a requesting end of the screen projection request (Para. 0063), so as to cause the requesting end to play a demonstration process of the courseware according to the recording file including the courseware, page of the courseware, user audio data and user behavior data (Para. 0063).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches the user instruction further includes a writing instruction (See fig. 9-12) (Para. 0028-0029), and the method further includes: responsive to receiving the writing instruction in the recording process, storing, in the data stream, the initial position parameter and the end position parameter of a handwriting (Para. 0063).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches if the writing instruction is received in the recording process (Para. 0063), the recorded data stream further includes at least one of handwriting color data and handwriting thickness data (See fig. 9-12) (Para. 0028-0029).
Regarding claim 8, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches the movable element includes at least one of the following: text, number, letter, graph, image, mind map, or animation (See fig. 9-12) (Para. 0028-0029).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering the playing of the recording file, acquiring the courseware, user audio data, and user behavior data from the server (Para. 0062, 0102) storing the recording file which is currently designated to be played by an interactive white board (Para. 0063); according to a timeline of the recording file, demonstrating the courseware, playing the user audio data, and executing the user behavior data, to synchronously reproduce the courseware, the user audio data, and a user operation corresponding to the user behavior data associated with each other (Para. 0063).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches an interactive white board (Para. 0020), comprising: a processor (Para. 0081); a memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor (Para. 0082); a voice capturing equipment (Para. 0063); a display (Para. 0063); wherein when the processor executes the program, steps of a method claimed in the claim 1 are implemented; in the process of implementing the steps of the method claimed in the claim 1, the processor controls the voice capturing equipment to capture the user audio data and the display to display a demonstration process of the courseware (Para. 0063).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches an interactive white board (Para. 0020), comprising: a processor (Para. 0081); a memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor (Para. 0082); a voice playing equipment (Para. 0063); a display (Para. 0063); wherein when the processor executes the program, steps of a method claimed in the claim 9 are implemented; in the process of implementing the steps of the method claimed in the claim 9, the processor controls the voice playing equipment to play the user audio data and the display to display a demonstration process of the courseware (Para. 0063).
Regarding claim 14, Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium (Para. 0034, 0082-0083, 0086, 0145-0146), which stores at least one computer programs, wherein when the programs are executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to perform operations of courseware recording process (Para. 0063), the operations comprising: responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering the recording of a courseware, starting, by an interactive white board (Para. 0020), a courseware recording function; recording a page of the courseware, user audio data and user behavior data in the courseware recording process (Para. 0063); responsive to receiving an instruction, mapping time points at which record the recorded page of the courseware, user audio data and user behavior data to a timeline of the courseware recording process (Para. 0063), and storing each of the courseware, the user audio data and the user behavior data in relation to each other according to the timeline, in a recording file associated with the recording process (Para. 0063); and providing the recording file (Para. 0062) to a server for playback based on the recording file (Para. 0062-0063, 0102); wherein the courseware page shows a movable element (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106); recording the user behavior data includes recording, in the recording file, a user instruction, start time and duration of the user instruction (Para. 0063), an identifier of an element pointed to by the user instruction (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106), and data stream generated in the acting process caused by the user instruction (Para. 0063); when the user instruction includes a drag instruction for triggering a motion of the movable element (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106), the drag instruction is recorded in the recording file, and the data stream recorded in the recording file includes an initial position parameter and an end position parameter of a motion trajectory generated on the courseware page by the movable element in response to the drag instruction (Para. 0063).
Lee does not teach recording a page identifier of the courseware that replaces video recording so that the recording process is performed without the video recording, storing the page identifier according to the timeline, responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering a closing of the courseware recording function, mapping time points of recording the recorded page identifier of the courseware, storing data according to the timeline in a text format recording file; wherein the text format recording file is devoid of a video stream generated by the video recording, providing the text format recording file to a server for playback.
Landau (Figures 1-5) teaches recording a page identifier of the courseware (Para. 0043), storing the page identifier (Para. 0043), responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering a closing of the courseware recording function (Para. 0043), mapping time points of recording the recorded page identifier of the courseware (Para. 0025, 0043).
Bekmambetov teaches a recording process that replaces video recording so that the recording process is performed without the video recording (Col. 2, Lines 36-49); storing data according to the timeline in a text format recording file (Col. 3, Lines 56-65), wherein the text format recording file is devoid of a video stream generated by the video recording (Col. 2, Lines 36-49), providing the text format recording file to a server for playback (Col. 3, Lines 39-41 and Lines 49-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Lee with recording a page identifier of the courseware as taught by Landau as a means of tracking track each page that the user completes and recording the one that the user is on when a session is terminated (Landau: Para. 0043), and to provide Lee with storing data according to the timeline in a text format recording file as taught by Bekmambetov as a means of simple substitution of one known element (recording content using video) for another (recording content using text data) to obtain predictable results (recording and storing content for playback for a user) (See: KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)) (Bekmambetov: Col. 3, Lines 39-41 and Lines 49-55).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches the one or more processors to perform operations of courseware playing, the operations comprising: responsive to receiving an instruction for triggering the playing of a recording file, acquiring a corresponding courseware, user audio data, and user behavior data from the recording file which is currently designated to be played by an interactive white board (Para. 0063); according to the timeline of the recording file, demonstrating the courseware, playing the user audio data, and executing the user behavior data, to synchronously reproduce the courseware, the user audio data, and a user operation corresponding to the user behavior data in relation to each other (Para. 0063).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Landau and Bekmambetov, further in view of Mason (20160135925).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches a recorded data stream (Para. 0063); and among parameters of every three consecutive target positions, a slope of a straight line where position points indicated by parameters of one group of two adjacent target positions are located and the slope of a straight line where position points indicated by parameters of another group of two adjacent target positions are located satisfy a preset condition (Para. 0030) (See fig. 9-11).
The modified Lee does not teach determining whether the motion trajectory is a linear motion trajectory; responsive to determining that the motion trajectory is a non-linear motion trajectory, the data further including several parameters of target positions between the initial position and the end position of the motion trajectory.
Mason teaches determining whether the motion trajectory is a linear motion trajectory (Para. 0176); responsive to determining that the motion trajectory is a non-linear motion trajectory (Para. 00176), the data further including several parameters of target positions between the initial position and the end position of the motion trajectory (Para. 0176).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Lee with determining whether the motion trajectory is a linear motion trajectory as taught by Mason as a means of determining a non-linear movement trajectory based on digital data from more than two time points (Mason: Para. 0176).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches a recorded data stream (Para. 0063)
The modified Lee does not teach a process of acquiring the several parameters of target positions includes: acquiring position parameters corresponding to several position points on the motion trajectory at a preset time interval; based on the preset condition, acquiring the several parameters of target positions from the several position parameters through a filtering algorithm.
Mason teaches a process of acquiring the several parameters of target positions includes: acquiring position parameters corresponding to several position points on the motion trajectory at a preset time interval (Para. 0176); based on the preset condition, acquiring the several parameters of target positions from the several position parameters through a filtering algorithm (Para. 0176).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Lee with acquiring position parameters corresponding to several position points on the motion trajectory at a preset time interval as taught by Mason as a means of determining a non-linear movement trajectory based on digital data from more than two time points (Mason: Para. 0176).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Landau and Bekmambetov, further in view of Zyskind (20180338065).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches reproducing the user operation corresponding to the user behavior data includes: if the currently executed user behavior data is data generated by triggering a drag instruction, determining a movable element pointed to by the drag instruction (Para. 0063); according to an initial position parameter of the movable element, displaying the movable element in a corresponding area on a courseware page associated with the drag instruction (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106); according to the timeline and all the position parameters, reproducing a motion process of the movable element at the preset motion speed on the courseware page associated with the drag instruction (Para. 0063).
The modified Lee does not teach according to a preset motion speed and start time and time duration of the drag instruction, acquiring position parameters to be acquired between the initial position and an end position of the movable element through an interpolation algorithm.
Zyskind (Figures 1-5) teaches according to a preset motion speed and start time and time duration of the drag instruction, acquiring position parameters to be acquired between the initial position and an end position of the movable element through an interpolation algorithm (Para. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Lee with acquiring position parameters to be acquired between the initial position and an end position of the movable element through an interpolation algorithm as taught by Zyskind as a means of using an interpolation algorithm to determine a position of an object on a touchscreen (Zyskind: Para. 0031).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Lee (Figures 1-49) teaches the process of reproducing the user operation corresponding to the user behavior data includes: if the currently executed user behavior data is data generated by triggering a drag instruction, determining a movable element pointed to by the drag instruction and a motion trajectory of the movable element (Para. 0017, 0028, 0106); if the motion trajectory of the movable element is a non-linear motion trajectory, according to an initial position parameter of the movable element, displaying the movable element in a corresponding area on a courseware page in association with the drag instruction, wherein the position parameter of the movable element includes the initial position parameter, an end position parameter, and several parameters of target positions between the initial position and the end position (See fig. 9); according to the timeline and all the position parameters, reproducing motion process of the movable element on the courseware page in association with the drag instruction (Para. 0063).
The modified Lee does not teach according to a preset motion speed and start time and duration of the drag instruction, acquiring the position parameters to be acquired between parameters of every two adjacent positions of the movable element through an interpolation algorithm.
Zyskind (Figures 1-5) teaches according to a preset motion speed and start time and time duration of the drag instruction, acquiring the position parameters to be acquired between the initial position and the end position of the movable element through an interpolation algorithm (Para. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Lee with acquiring the position parameters to be acquired between the initial position and the end position of the movable element through an interpolation algorithm as taught by Zyskind as a means of using an interpolation algorithm to determine a position of an object on a touchscreen (Zyskind: Para. 0031).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711