DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13, 15-17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Campbell et al (US 2017/0164845; hereafter referred to as CL) in further view of Saadat (US Pub No.: 2004/0122456). Mapping from claim 1, CL anticipates the claim language where:
The “anchoring system for a vascular implant” as claimed is the sensor assembly (10); see Figure 6B and paragraph 57 of CL;
The “implant having a distal end and a proximal end” as claimed is the sensor (12) with the distal end being either end and the proximal end being the other end;
The “anchoring system” as claimed is the fixation members (30a, 30b);
The “distal anchor and a proximal anchor” as claimed are anchor (30a) and other anchor (30b) or vice versa;
The “distal anchor is attached to the distal end of the implant and the proximal anchor is attached to the proximal end of the implant” can be seen by inspection of Figure 6B;
The “distal anchor or said proximal anchor is formed from a flexible member configured to be placed into a retracted position for catheter delivery and placed in an expanded position for placement within a vessel” as claimed is met by the disclosure in paragraph 10 of CL;
The “at least of said distal anchor and said proximal anchor is configured to position said implant against a vessel wall such that said at least one of said distal anchor and said proximal anchor includes self-adjusting properties” as claimed is disclosed as least by paragraph 10 of CL because “self-adjusting properties” are described as maybe acting to prevent migration (see paragraph 44 of the present specification) as considered inherent to CL in that the anchors thereof also prevent migration (see paragraph 74 of CL) by their nature as acting as anchors, and
The “at least one of the distal anchor or the proximal anchor has formed therein a lobe structure comprising a first loop, a second loop, and a central loop, wherein the first loop located on one side of the central loop and extends outwardly from and is directly attached to the implant and the second loop is located on another side of the central loop and extends outwardly from the implant, wherein the central loop extends upwardly from the implant and wherein the lobe structure is formed from a continuous wire” as claimed is met by the structures shown in Figure 6B as the annotated Figure 6B hereinbelow. With respect to the new amendments, the central loop and second loop extends outwardly from and is directly attached to the implant in annotated figure 6B below, where an upward extension is shown in said figure and in figure 8 in the application, where the direction that parts 30a and 30b extend within can be defined as “upward.”
CL does not teach that the central loop is directly attached to and extends upwardly from the implant.
Instead, Saadat (US Pub No.: 2004/0122456) teaches that the central loop is directly attached to and extends upwardly from the implant (being the middle part 179 in figures 22E and 22F that is connected to hub 171, disclosed in [0104]. Device is disclosed as being an apparatus with an anchor and delivery catheter in the abstract). In this combination, the placement of the hub part 171 in figures 22E and 22F of Saadat can be incorporated into the device of CL in place of the attachment of part 34 to parts 30a and 30b, such that the central loop of CL extends upward from the part 171 similar to the central loop 179 does from part 171 in figure 22F of Saadat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the anchor arrangement of Saadat into CL for the purpose of providing an alternative arrangement for the anchor of CL by using the anchor 170 of Saadat that is loadable onto a delivery catheter while providing for a reduced profile of the anchor, as per [0104] of Saadat.
Regarding claims 3 and 5, see paragraph 45 of CL.
Regarding claim 4, see paragraph 38 of CL.
Regarding claim 6, see paragraph 55 of CL.
Regarding claim 8, see annotated Figure 6B.
Regarding claims 9, 13, and 16, since the radial force is based upon intended use and the anchor of RD is designed to prevent movement/migration, the anchors of CL are considered to prevent rotation to the extent that this language can be given patentable weight; see paragraphs [0005], [0042], and [0045] of CL that detail a fixation force.
Regarding claim 10, the Applicant is directed to see annotated figure above, with CL detailing an application of a fixation force to hold a device in place in a vein in [0045] with an expansion of the fixation members in a vessel in [0074].
Regarding claim 11, see the mapping done for claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12, see paragraph 38 of CL.
Regarding claim 17, since upwardly is a term based upon intended use and orientation, the claim language is considered fully met by CL in view of Saadat.
Regarding claim 21 CL anticipates the claim language where
The “anchoring system for a vascular implant” as claimed is the sensor assembly (10); see Figure 6B and paragraph 57 of CL;
The “implant having a distal end and a proximal end” as claimed is the sensor (12) with the distal end being either end and the proximal end being the other end;
The “anchoring system” as claimed is the fixation members (30a, 30b);
The “distal anchor and a proximal anchor” as claimed are anchor (30a) and other anchor (30b) or vice versa;
The “distal anchor is attached to the distal end of the implant and the proximal anchor is attached to the proximal end of the implant” can be seen by inspection of Figure 6B;
The “distal anchor or said proximal anchor is formed from a flexible member configured to be placed into a retracted position for catheter delivery and placed in an expanded position for placement within a vessel” as claimed is met by the disclosure in paragraph 10 of CL;
The “said at least one of said distal anchor and said proximal anchor includes self-adjusting properties” as claimed is disclosed as least by paragraph 10 of CL because “self-adjusting properties” are described as maybe acting to prevent migration (see paragraph 44 of the present specification) as considered inherent to CL in that the anchors thereof also prevent migration (see paragraph 74 of CL) by their nature as acting as anchors, and
The “and wherein at least one of the distal anchor or the proximal anchor comprises a first loop, a central loop and a second loop, wherein the first loop is located on one side of the central loop and extends outwardly from and is directly attached to the implant and a second loop is located on another side of the central loop and extends outwardly from and is directly attached to the implant, wherein the central loop extends upwardly from and is directly attached to the implant and wherein the three lobe structure is formed from a continuous wire” as claimed is met by the structures shown in Figure 6B as the annotated Figure 6B above. With respect to the new amendments, the central loop and second loop extends outwardly from and is attached to the implant in annotated figure 6B below, where an upward extension is shown in said figure and in figure 8 in the application, where the direction that parts 30a and 30b extend within can be defined as “upward.”
CL does not teach that the central loop is directly attached to and extends upwardly from the implant.
Saadat (US Pub No.: 2004/0122456) teaches that the central loop is directly attached to and extends upwardly from the implant (being the middle part 179 in figures 22E and 22F that is connected to hub 171, disclosed in [0104]. Device is disclosed as being an apparatus with an anchor and delivery catheter in the abstract). In this combination, the placement of the hub part 171 in figures 22E and 22F of Saadat can be incorporated into the device of CL in place of the attachment of part 34 to parts 30a and 30b, such that the central loop of CL extends upward from the part 171 similar to the central loop 179 does from part 171 in figure 22F of Saadat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the anchor arrangement of Saadat into CL for the purpose of providing an alternative arrangement for the anchor of CL by using the anchor 170 of Saadat that is loadable onto a delivery catheter while providing for a reduced profile of the anchor, as per [0104] of Saadat.
Regarding claim 23, since the increased force is not compared to a known force, the claimed language is considered to be fully met; see paragraphs [0005] and [0042] of CL that detail a fixation force, with a sintering providing an additional force in CL. The mitigation of a movement here includes a mitigation of movement in a proximal direction after deployment into a vessel, with the fixation assembly of 30a and 30b comprising part 30 in [0045] applying enough force to hold a part 10 in place.
Claim(s) 7, 14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CL alone. CL meets the claim language as explained in the Section 103 rejection above utilizing CL but fails to disclose the overall lengths of the central loop(s) as compared to the other loops as claimed. However, since the central loop is clearly longer, the mere relative proportions or sizes are not considered to be unobvious in that the device would not function any different due to the different proportions/sizes. In other words, there is no evidence that an over length of the broad range of “over 200 percent the length of the first and second loops” would result in a patentably different property or function. MPEP 2133.04(IV)(A) is incorporated herein as follows:
A. Changes in Size/Proportion (MPEP 2144.04 IV. A.)
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" where held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 103 rejections of claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds for rejection.
Applicant has amended claim to recite “a first loop, a second loop, and a central loop” in claims 1 and 11 with a direct attachment of a central loop in claims 1, 11, and 21. In response to Applicant’s amendment Examiner has added reference Saadat (US Pub No.: 2004/0122456). Rejections under Rowland and White were overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Alexander (US Pub No.: 2009/0248028) considered for an anchoring system with two looping members 804a and 804b. Schwartz (US Patent No.: 6,783,499) discloses an anchoring system in the abstract with looping members depicted in figure 12A.
/AREN PATEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/YASHITA SHARMA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774