DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, 17-20, and 22-25 have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 10, 12-15, 17, 19-20, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US 2021/0306996 A1) in view of Takeda et al. (US 2021/0258936 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses an information transmission method (abstract), comprising: obtaining, by a terminal, first spatial parameter information of a first channel (paragraph [0049]-[0070]; [0098]-[0099]; and so on, illustrating that the UE is receiving first spatial parameter information such as QCL or TCI for PDCCH); and receiving, by the terminal, the first channel based on the first spatial parameter information (paragraph [0049]-[0070]; [0098]-[0099]; [0082]-[0087]; [0106]; and etc., the channel or PDCCH is received based on the partial parameter information), wherein the first channel is one of a plurality of candidate control channels in a first control resource set (paragraph [0028]; [0046]-[0047]; [0102]; and so on, the channel is one of the candidate control channel), wherein the first control resource set is associated with a UE search space set (USS) (paragraph [0046]-[0047]), and wherein the first control resource set is configured by using a master information block MIB, a system information block type 1 SIB 1, or a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) common configuration parameter (paragraph [0028]-[0032]; [0035]-[0045]; [0206]; [0313]; and so on, explaining first CORESET is configured by using such as MIB, SIB or PDCCH), wherein the first channel carriers downlink control information (DCI),wherein a format of the DCI is a first DCI format (paragraph [0067]; [0145]), and wherein whether the DCI comprises a first field used to indicate spatial parameter information (paragraph [0061]-[0062]; [0070]; [0091]-[0100]; [0142]-[0146]; and so on).
Matsumura doesn’t disclose in response to receiving the first channel, determining, by the terminal, that the terminal meets a first condition; and in response to determining that the terminal meets the first condition, determining, by the terminal, that the first DCI format comprised the first field is used to indicate the spatial parameter information, wherein the condition is that a second control resource set of a current active bandwidth part (BWP) of the terminal enables the first field, and wherein the second control resource set comprises at least one control resource set other than the first control resource set in control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal.
Takeda teaches in response to receiving the first channel, determining, by the terminal, that the terminal meets a first condition (paragraph [0105]-[0110]; [0123]-[0130]; [0133]-[0134]; and so on); and in response to determining that the terminal meets the first condition, determining, by the terminal, that the first DCI format comprised the first field is used to indicate the spatial parameter information (paragraph [0097]-[0101]; [0105]-[0107]; [0110]; [0114]-[0115]; [0119]-[0120]; [0123]-[0130] and etc.), wherein the condition is that a second control resource set of a current active bandwidth part (BWP) of the terminal enables the first field, and wherein the second control resource set comprises at least one control resource set other than the first control resource set in control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal (paragraph [005]-[0063]; [0068]; [0097]-[0101]; [0105]-[0112]; [0114]-[0115]; [0119]-[0134]; [0138]; [0141]-[0143]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use in response to receiving the first channel, determining, by the terminal, that the terminal meets a first condition; and in response to determining that the terminal meets the first condition, determining, by the terminal, that the first DCI format comprised the first field is used to indicate the spatial parameter information, wherein the condition is that a second control resource set of a current active bandwidth part (BWP) of the terminal enables the first field, and wherein the second control resource set comprises at least one control resource set other than the first control resource set in control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal as taught by Takeda into Matsumura in order to improve speed or rate of communication, and resource utilization.
Regarding claim 8 and 15, the claims include features identical to subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding an information transmission at the transmitting side and a communication apparatus, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto. Claim 8 is an information transmission at the transmitting side. However, the subject matter is the same as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, 12, and 19, Matsumura discloses wherein the first channel schedules a second channel, the second channel is used to carry broadcast information (paragraph [0067]; [0082]; [0140]-[0144]; [0147]; [0206]; and so on), and spatial parameter information of the second channel is second spatial parameter information (paragraph [0065]-[0067]; [0069]-[0070]; [0082]-[0086]; [0127]; [0138]-[0153]; [0155]-[0156]; [0159]-[0163]; [0185]-[0188]; [0206]-[0209]; and etc.), and wherein the broadcast information comprises at least one of the following information: system information, remaining minimum system information, other system information, a paging message, or a random access message (paragraph [0206]; [0313]; and so on).
Regarding claim 6, 13, and 20, Matsumura discloses wherein the second spatial parameter information is the same as spatial parameter information of a fourth control resource set, and wherein the fourth control resource set is a control resource set 0 (paragraph [0078]-[0081]; [0101]).
Regarding claim 7, 14, and 23-24, Matsumura discloses wherein the second spatial parameter information is the same as the first spatial parameter information, or the second spatial parameter information is the same as spatial parameter information of the first control resource set (paragraph [0052]; [0241]-[0243]; [0080]-[0081]; [0099]; and so on).
Regarding claim 22 and 25, Matsumura further discloses comprising: determining, by the terminal, whether the DCI comprises the first field (e.g. paragraph [0084]; [0062]; [0070]; and etc.); and in response to determining that the DCI comprises the first field, determining, by the terminal, based on the first field, a narrow beam to receive data (fig. 1; paragraph [0085]-[0086]; [0065]-[0070]; [0197]; [0205]; [0119]-[0122]; [0124]-[0133]; [0139]-[0189]; and so on).
Regarding claim 3, 10, and 17, the modified communication of Matsumura discloses control resource sets and active BWP of the terminal. The modified communication of Matsumura doesn’t disclose wherein: the second control resource set is all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; the second control resource set is a control resource set with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; or the second control resource set is a control resource set that is associated with a USS and that is of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set.
Takeda teaches wherein: the second control resource set is all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; the second control resource set is a control resource set with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; or the second control resource set is a control resource set that is associated with the USS and that is of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set (paragraph [0054]-[0055]; [0140]; [0248]; [0097]-[0100]; [0104]-[0107]; [0110]-[0112]; [0118]-[0119]; [0123]; [0127]-[0133]; [0138]; [0141]; [0143]; [0061]-[0062]; [0065]; [0068]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein: the second control resource set is all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; the second control resource set is a control resource set with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; or the second control resource set is a control resource set that is associated with the USS and that is of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set as taught by Takeda into the modified communication of Matsumurm in order to reduce delay, and to improve resource utilization and efficiency of communication.
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Harada and Takeda, and further in view of Tiirola et al. (US 2019/0150073 A1).
Regarding claim 4, 11, and 18, as applied above, Matsumura ‘996 discloses control resource set. However, Matsumura ‘996 doesn’t disclose wherein the control resource set that is associated with the USS and that is of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set is: a control resource set with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets that are associated with the USS and that are of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; or a control resource set associated with the USS with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set.
Tiirola teaches wherein the control resource set that is associated with the USS and that is of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set is: a control resource set with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets that are associated with the USS and that are of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; or a control resource set associated with the USS with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set (paragraph [0048]-[0050]; [0040]; [0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the control resource set that is associated with the USS and that is of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set is: a control resource set with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets that are associated with the USS and that are of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set; or a control resource set associated with the USS with a smallest identifier in all control resource sets of the current active BWP of the terminal other than the first control resource set as taught by Tiirola into Matsumura ‘996 in order to improve resource utilization.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461