Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Amendment filed on 03/02/2026; and IDS filed on 03/02/2026.
Claims 76, 87, 92 have been amended.
Claims 2, 4, 7-9, 17, 29, 31-33, 36, 42, 58, 61-62, 64, 66, 71, 76, 84, 86-87, 89-92 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 2, 4, 7-9, 17, 29, 31-33, 36, 42, 58, 61-62, 64, 66, 71 have been previously withdrawn.
Note, rejections and objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Double Patenting
Claims 76, 84, 86-87, 89-92 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 16/301,933 (reference application) in view of BERNDT et al (Fabrication and characterization of microspheres encapsulating astrocytes for neural regeneration. ACS Biomater Sci Eng. 2017 July 10; 3(7): 1313–1321).
The co-application recites a composition comprising of a human, neuronal, three-dimensional functional network, which reads on a synthetic tissue, obtained by the method as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 11), wherein claim 1 recites a method for forming a functional network of human neuronal and glial cells, comprising the steps of introducing a mixture of cells and polyethylene glycol or heparin are introduced into a synthetic hydrogel system, said hydrogel system containing the components polyethylene glycol (PEG) and heparin and culturing the cells such that during the formation of the three-dimensional hydrogel, the cells are already present in the three-dimensional hydrogel system (see claim 1), wherein the human neuronal cells are human neuronal stem and progenitor cells (see claim 2).
The co-application does not teach using astrocytes, which are a subset of glial cells.
BERNT teaches the prior art had known that astrocytes are the most abundant glial cells in the central nervous system (see pg. 2) and can promote nerve regeneration in injured neural tissue, wherein microparticle hold promise in tissue regeneration (see pg. 9). Additional disclosures include: microgels with sizes of 916.2 um (see pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate astrocytes and form the composition into microparticles. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because it would promote nerve regeneration in injured neural tissue, and reasonably would have expected success because astrocytes are a subset of glial cells.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 76, 86-87, 89-91 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FREUDENBERB et al (A star-PEG–heparin hydrogel platform to aid cell replacement therapies for neurodegenerative diseases. Biomaterials 30 (2009) 5049–5060) as evidenced by WIKIPEDIA (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neuron (downloaded on 11/27/2025)) in view of JIANG et al (Cell-laden Microfluidic Microgels for Tissue Regeneration. Lab Chip. 2016 November 15; 16(23): 4482–4506).
Regarding claims 76 and 86, FREUDEBERG teaches using PEG-heparin hydrogel to culture neural stem cells (“NSC”; see abstract; pg. 5055-5059), which reads on neural progenitors in Applicant’s part (ii), for regenerative therapies (see pg. 5050, 1st col). The NSC differentiated into neurons (see pg. 5055-5058, under Section 3.2.2), which reads on mature neurons in Applicant’s part (i). Additional disclosures include: the experiments were conducted on rats and mice neural stem cells, but not human cells; however, FREUDEBERG discloses the applicability of neuronal cell replacement strategies, such as those required to treat Parkinson’s or Huntington’s disease (see pg. 5059, under Conclusion). Thus; it would have been obvious to use human neural progenitor cells for treating humans with Parkinson’s disease, because humans unfortunately can acquire Parkinson’s disease.
WKIPEDIA teaches a neuron is an excitable cell that fires electric signals called action potentials across neural network in the nervous system (see pg. 1), which reads on “exhibit intrinsic electrical activity” and “exhibit synaptic connectivity”.
FREUDENBERB does not teach that the hydrogel is the size of a microparticle.
JIANG teaches “hydrogels, which are three-dimensional polymer matrices formed by crosslinking hydrophilic homopolymers, copolymers, or macromers, can be delivered into the body in a minimally invasive manner. Moreover, hydrogels are not only biocompatible but also structurally and compositionally similar to the extracellular matrix. Despite these favorable properties, encapsulation of cells within macroscopic hydrogels often leads to limited cell-cell contact and communication as well as poor nutrient exchange due to a low rate of diffusion and suboptimal distance between extracellular molecules. This issue can be resolved by forming hydrogel microspheres, or microgels, whose large surface area-to-volume ratio promotes effective nutrient and water transfer as well as improve cell-matrix interactions, thereby maintaining long-term viability of the encapsulated cells (see pg. 2-3, under Introduction). An example of microgels include a combination of heparin and PEG (see pg. 16), which reads on polyethylene glycol and glycosaminoglycan, with sizes of about 200 um (see pg. 37, Fig. 6D). The microgels are for tissue regeneration and are size tunable (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate making FREUDENBERB’s macroscopic hydrogel into a microgel/microparticle with a size of 200 um. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because the microgel size would promotes effective nutrient and water transfer as well as improve cell-matrix interactions, thereby maintaining long-term viability of the encapsulated cells, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as regenerative therapy.
Regarding claim 87 and 89, WKIPEDIA teaches a neuron is an excitable cell that fires electric signals called action potentials across neural network in the nervous system (see pg. 1), which reads on “exhibit intrinsic electrical activity” and “exhibit synaptic connectivity”.
Regarding claims 90-91, as discussed above, the references teach glycosaminoglycan, such as heparin.
Claim(s) 76, 84 86-87, 89-92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FREUDENBERB et al (A star-PEG–heparin hydrogel platform to aid cell replacement therapies for neurodegenerative diseases. Biomaterials 30 (2009) 5049–5060) as evidenced by WIKIPEDIA (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neuron (downloaded on 11/27/2025)) in view of JIANG et al (Cell-laden Microfluidic Microgels for Tissue Regeneration. Lab Chip. 2016 November 15; 16(23): 4482–4506), GUAN et al (Development of hydrogels for regenerative engineering. Biotechnol J. 2017 May ; 12(5): pg. 1-33) and BERNDT et al (Fabrication and characterization of microspheres encapsulating astrocytes for neural regeneration. ACS Biomater Sci Eng. 2017 July 10; 3(7): 1313–1321).
As discussed above, the references teach Applicant’s invention.
FREUDEBERG further teaches the hydrogel culture was supplemented with growth factor (see pg. 5051, Section 2.12); “a key challenge in the advent of in vivo tissue engineering strategies is to design bioartificial matrices capable of inducing desired processes, such as the localized recruitment and controlled differentiation of progenitor cells (see pg. 5049, under Introduction); “materials to modulate survival, differentiation and axo-dendritic integration of nerve cells and neuronal progenitors could be instrumental in the further optimizing current approaches” (see pg. 5050, 1st col) and could be used for targeted neuronal differentiation (see pg. 5059, under Conclusion).
Regarding claims 84 and 92, the reference does not teach the NSC differentiating into human astrocytes.
GUAN teaches the prior art had known of using hydrogel for regenerative tissue engineering to support cell growth, such as nervous tissue (see title and abstract). Hydrogels include: collagen, chitosan (see pg. 3), and PEG-crosslinked heparin hydrogel (see pg. 14). To promote stem cell proliferation, maturation, and differentiation for building tissues and organs, developmental biologists have utilized growth factors (GFs), which can interact with a membrane receptor and trigger various intracellular signal transduction systems (see pg. 12), wherein the stem cells can differentiate into neurons, oligodendrocytes, and astrocytes (see pg. 33, Figure 3).
BRENDT teaches astrocytes play a critical role in supporting the normal physiological function of neurons (see abstract) and can promote nerve regeneration in injured neural tissue, wherein microparticle hold promise in tissue regeneration (see pg. 9) and the astrocytes are encapsulated in collagen hydrogels (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate NSC differentiating into human astrocytes by culturing with growth factor or directly incorporating the astrocytes. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make those modifications, because astrocytes play a critical role in supporting the normal physiological function of neurons, and reasonably would have expected success because the references dealt in the same field of endeavor, such as tissue engineering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Telephonic Inquiries
/JAKE M VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618