DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 37-43 and 55-66 are pending, wherein Claims 58-66 are newly added. Claims 56-57, 59, 61 and 64-66 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention (Claims 56-57) and nonelected species (Claims 59, 61 and 64-66). Therefore, Claims 37-43, 55, 58, 60, 62, and 63 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant elected Group I (drawn to a compound comprising cabotegravir (CAB) covalently linked to a second integrase inhibitor) and the compound species
with traverse in the reply filed on 4/10/2025.
Newly added Claims 59, 61, and 64-66 are drawn to unelected compound species that require structures that do not read on the elected compound species due to the different linkages of different integrase inhibitors. New Claims 59, 61, and 64-66 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 4/10/2025.
Therefore, Claims 37-43, 55, 58, 60, 62, and 63 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Maintained, slightly modified to address claim amendments
Claims 37-43, 55, 58, 60, 62, and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 6,225,321 B1) in view of Spreen et al. (JAIDS Journal of Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndromes 67(5):p 481-486, December 15, 2014. | DOI: 10.1097/QAI.0000000000000301).
Claimed invention
A compound comprising cabotegravir (CAB) as a first integrase inhibitor linked covalently to a second integrase inhibitor such as
- which is wherein the compound inhibitors are the same, i.e., inhibitor-linker-inhibitor, CAB-linker-CAB, and more specifically,
CAB
CAB.
Prior art
Hu teaches the general formula of the compound is R-[CO-NAL]n wherein n is an integer from 2-4 and, in which the R is selected from a saturated or nonsaturated, substituted or unsubstituted, aliphatic or aromatic group having 1 to 40 carbon atoms and NAL is nalbuphine drug. See abstract. Hu specifically teaches dimers of nalbuphine with a diacid alkyl linker, particularly, the C10 diacid, sebacic acid. See Fig. 1C and Fig. 2 and col. 3:~59-63. They were developed to increase the release profile of injectable formulations to extend the release time of the drug and, thus, extending the activity of the drug. See Abstract; see also Fig. 6 and paragraph bridging cols. 12 and 13.
Hu does not teach CAB as a dimer linked by an alkyl diacid linker.
Spreen teaches GSK1265744 (i.e., CAB) is a potent integrase inhibitor used in long-acting injectable nanosuspensions for HIV treatment and prevention. See Title, Abstract. Adverse effects (AE) are common with subcutaneous (SC) and include pain, erythema, and nodule formation at the site of injection. Pain was described in 50%, 100%, and 83% of subjects receiving 744 SC 100-mg, 200-mg, or 400-mg split injections, respectively, relative to 33% of placebo subjects describing pain. Pain was more common with an increasing volume of injection, 0.5 mL versus 1 mL. The mean duration of erythema can range from 2 to 10.7 days. Erythema at the injection site is involved with both SC injection and intramuscular (IM) injection. Nodules were described clinically as typically painless. See p. 493. Long-acting (LA) injectable antiretrovirals could provide significant advantages in adherence and patient convenience for both treatment and prevention of HIV infection. See p. 481. Spreen suggests reduction of dosing rates after IM or SC injections suggest that a dosing frequency of once monthly or longer is possible for HIV treatment. The disclosed PK profile also supports an ongoing study as a preexposure prophylaxis agent with an even longer interval between doses. See 486.
A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSA) would have found it obvious to apply the strategy of dimerization via hydrolysable alkyl diacid linkers (e.g., sebacic acid) to CAB and arrive at the instant formula
(meets Claim 63 wherein n=2, which is only 1 iteration of -CH2- from elected compound) because Hu teaches the strategy of diacid ester dimerization using sebacic acid (HOOC-C8-COOH) as a linker attached at the hydroxyl group of 2 nalbuphine molecules (forming sebacoyl dinalbuphine) to create a compound with a longer-acting release profile for nalbuphine and Spreen teaches that extending the release of CAB can be used to minimize intervals between dosing of CAB in order to reduce known AEs observed in patients with HIV being treated with CAB. The POSA would have done so in order to extend its release profile, reduce the number of injections and increase patient convenience and potentially adherence to CAB treatment due to the lower number of injections. The POSA would recognize Spreen’s disclosure of CAB’s limitations and its suggestion to extend the release profile to aid in reducing these limitations and Hu’s teaching of a diacid ester dimerization strategy to increase the release profile of a drug can be combined to extend CAB’s release profile and thereby reduce its known limitations. The POSA would recognize that the hydroxyl functional group of CAB is analogous to the nalbuphine alcohol used in esterification.
Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention application was filed.
The compound suggested by Hu and Spreen differs from the structure in Claim 44 (
) by a single -CH2- group in the linker between the two CAB molecules, i.e., the suggested compound has one additional -CH2- group. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09 (II). Thus, this supports the position that one would reasonably recognize that the change in a single iteration of a repeating substituent as an obvious design choice. Thus, the POSA would have found the claimed compound (
) obvious as there would have been a presumed expectation that the compound as modified would possess similar properties a as the compound
. Thus, the suggested compound of
(i.e., CAB-linker-CAB or more specifically CAB
CAB) meets the limitations of Claims 37-43, 58, 60, and 62.
Regarding Claim 55, Spreen teaches the compositions containing CAB at 200 mg/mL nanosuspension at doses of 100–800 mg IM and 100–400 mg subcutaneous, thus, indicating the compound is in a pharmaceutically acceptable liquid carrier. See ‘Methods’ at p. 481.
Response to arguments
Applicant argues that Spreen is only concerning formulation and doesn’t teach modification of CAB and doesn’t mention dimerization. However, Spreen is properly relied upon to evidence the recognized need and motivation in the art for long-acting CAB therapy (i.e., reduced dosing frequency, reduced injection burden, improved adherence). Spreen need not explicitly teach covalent modification of CAB to provide motivation as alleged by Applicant. Hu provides the known medicinal chemistry solution (i.e., diacid ester dimerization via hydroxyl groups) that is applicable to small molecule drugs such as CAB. The rejection does not require Spreen to expressly propose CAB dimers.
Applicant further argues that Hu is non-analogous because it teaches nalbuphine (an analgesic), not an integrase inhibitor such as CAB. On the contrary, Hu is indeed analogous art because it teaches a general prodrug/dimer strategy directed to modulating pharmacokinetics (PK) and extending duration of action of systemically administered drugs via hydrolysable linkers. The field of endeavor and problem addressed – prolonged release/extended activity through covalent linkage – are reasonably pertinent to the problem identified in Spreen for CAB long-acting therapy. Mechanism of action or therapeutic indication is not determinative here since the cited teaching is a broadly applicable chemical/PK strategy not necessarily limited by therapeutic purpose or action.
Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success because PK is unpredictable. However, a reasonable expectation of success does not require absolute certainty as to the magnitude of PK changes, only a reasonable expectation that applying Hu’s known diacid ester dimer strategy to the hydroxyl-containing small molecule like CAB would modulate PK in the intended direction toward extended release. Applicant provides no comparative evidence showing that the claimed dimer/linker selection would have been expected to behave contrary to Hu’s demonstrated strategy.
Applicant characterizes the rejection as relying on an “obvious to try” doctrine and further argues that it would not have been obvious to try Hu’s diacid ester dimerization strategy with CAB because there are too many choices. The basis of the rejection is not built on a broad “try anything” rationale. It is premised on the specific known strategy taught by Hu (diacid ester dimerization through hydroxyl groups) and a specific structural difference addressed by homologation of linker length by one single -CH2- group. The existence of other possible approaches does not negate a routine structural variation within a known series.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). Here, the combination of references is supported Spreen’s teachings for longer-acting CAB therapies and Hu’s teaching of a known chemical approach to extend drug duration via hydrolysable diacid-linked dimers. The selection of homologous linker length differs by only a methylene unit from the closest disclosure and is supported by routine optimization/homologation principles. Thus, the rejection does not only rely on Applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRIS E. SIMMONS
Examiner
Art Unit 1622
/CHRIS E SIMMONS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622