DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Reopened
In view of the appeal brief filed on 3/07/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747
Claim Status
Claims 1–14 and 16–23 are pending.
Claims 11–14 and 16–23 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to the restriction requirement. Claims 15, 24, and 25 are canceled.
Claims 1–10 are currently under examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/24/2025 in the Appeal Brief have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to the prior rejection of claims 1–10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Oh in view of Bowen. Accordingly, that rejection is withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, prosecution is reopened, and new grounds of rejection of claims 1–10 are set forth below under 35 U.S.C. § 101 and under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Spinka (US 2015/0272220 A1) in view of Rabinowitz (US 2014/0345635 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without additional elements amounting to significantly more than the exception.
Step 1—Statutory category
Claims 1–10 recite a vaping monitor system and therefore fall within the statutory category of a machine.
Step 2A, Prong One—Recitation of a judicial exception
Regarding claim 1, the limitations requiring the dosage processor to:
Calculate an amount of active ingredient delivered to the user’s bloodstream based on pharmacokinetic data for the EVPS and inhalation data; and
Convert the calculated amount into an equivalent number of reference conventional combustion products based on pharmacokinetic data for the reference product
recite mathematical calculations and relationships, falling within the mathematical-concepts grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
The specification confirms this interpretation by explaining that the bloodstream amount is calculated by multiplying a pharmacokinetically established amount by the ratio between the current inhaled quantity and the empirical test quantity (p. 20, lines 21–31). The calculated amount is then converted into a proportion of a reference cigarette based on the corresponding absorbed amount (p. 23, lines 3–12).
Step 2A, Prong Two—Integration into a practical application
The additional elements include an EVPS generating vapor in response to inhalation and supplying inhalation data, a dosage processor, and a user interface.
The EVPS provides the physical source of the consumption information, the inhalation data supplies calculation inputs, the processor performs the mathematical analysis, and the interface reports the result. The specification permits the processor to reside in the EVPS, in a remote device, or across both devices (p. 17, lines 22–27). The resulting equivalence may be presented as text, graphics, or a threshold indication (p. 23, lines 13–23).
Considered as a whole, claim 1 improves the calculated representation of consumption as an absorbed-dose equivalent. The specification describes the benefit as providing a comparison that relates vaping to conventional smoking and the user’s physiological experience (p. 23, lines 6–12). The claim does not require a particular improvement to vapor generation, sensing, or computer operation, or use the calculated equivalence to alter vapor delivery.
Although generating vapor physically transforms the payload, the calculated dose and equivalence do not govern that transformation. The claimed relationship supplies information for analysis and presentation rather than integrating the mathematical concepts into a further technological operation. Accordingly, the claim does not integrate the exception into a practical application. See MPEP §§ 2106.04(d), 2106.05(f)–(h).
Step 2B—Significantly more
The additional elements perform their ordinary functions of generating vapor, acquiring and communicating information, processing and storing data, and presenting results:
The specification describes inhalation-activated vapor generation as background technology (p. 2, lines 25–33).
It identifies a commercially available processor and communications chip as a suitable implementation (p. 11, lines 24–27).
It describes a typical smartphone containing a CPU, memory, and display (p. 16, lines 12–28).
It expressly states that the methods may operate on conventional hardware adapted through software instructions or dedicated hardware (p. 29, lines 18–21).
The specification further explains that the adaptation may use processor-executable instructions stored in ordinary memory or configurable circuitry (p. 29, lines 22–29).
Considered individually and as an ordered combination, the additional elements obtain inhalation information, implement the mathematical calculations, and present the resulting equivalence. Their claimed arrangement does not supply an inventive technological implementation beyond those functions. Accordingly, the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the exception. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(d), 2106.07(a).
Dependent claims
Claim 2: Under Prong One, calculating an inhalation profile and corresponding bloodstream amount adds mathematical analysis. The specification describes calculating the profile from airflow data and integrating the profile to obtain an inhalation amount (p. 19, lines 8–10). Under Prong Two, the sensor supplies calculation inputs. Under Step 2B, the basic sensing and data-supply functions do not add significantly more for the reasons explained below.
Claim 3: Under Prong One, calculating an inhalation profile and corresponding bloodstream amount adds mathematical analysis. The specification describes using temperature-dependent proportionality to refine the inhalation estimate (p. 18, lines 20–28). Under Prong Two, temperature measurements supply calculation inputs. Under Step 2B, the basic sensing and data-supply functions do not add significantly more for the reasons explained below.
Claim 4: Under Prong One, the inherited mathematical concepts remain. Under Prong Two, locating the dosage processor within the EVPS specifies where the calculations occur (p. 17, lines 25–27). Under Step 2B, that placement does not change the processor’s ordinary computational function.
Claim 5: Under Prong One, the inherited mathematical concepts remain. Under Prong Two, the EVPS display presents the calculated equivalence (p. 23, lines 20–23). Under Step 2B, ordinary presentation of the result does not add significantly more.
Claim 6: Under Prong One, the inherited mathematical concepts remain. Under Prong Two, the remote device specifies an alternative location for the calculations (p. 17, lines 25–27). Under Step 2B, remote execution supplies ordinary processing functionality.
Claim 7: Under Prong One, the inherited mathematical concepts remain. Under Prong Two, the remote display presents the calculated result (p. 23, lines 16–19). Under Step 2B, the display supplies ordinary information-presentation functionality.
Claim 8: Under Prong One, conversion into branded-product equivalents adds mathematical scaling. The specification describes expressing branded-product delivery as a multiple of reference-product delivery and scaling the equivalent count accordingly (p. 24, lines 13–22). Under Prong Two, the look-up table supplies conversion values. Under Step 2B, storing and retrieving those values does not add significantly more.
Claim 9: Under Prong One, maintaining cumulative equivalent counts adds arithmetic accumulation. Under Prong Two, the selected period or payload defines the accumulation interval (p. 23, lines 27–30). Under Step 2B, maintaining that count does not add a technological operation beyond the mathematical analysis.
Claim 10: Under Prong One, the inherited mathematical concepts remain. Under Prong Two, registering the payload before installation identifies the pharmacokinetic data used in the calculation. The specification explains that the selected data may be the same pharmacokinetic data scaled according to relative concentration (p. 22, lines 6–11). Under Step 2B, storing the identity and selecting corresponding calculation data do not add significantly more.
For claims 2 and 3, Spinka teaches airflow measurement using ordinary pressure gauges, vacuum gauges, diaphragms, or impeller arrangements (¶ [0030]) and temperature determination using sensor-derived resistance and voltage information (¶ [0029]). These are presented as optional measurement components in a processor-based nicotine-monitoring system (¶ [0021]). Together with applicant’s express description of implementation on conventional hardware, these passages support the conventional nature of the basic sensing and data-supply functions. The claimed sensors perform those functions to furnish calculation inputs; the claims do not specify an additional sensor operation or arrangement that supplies an inventive concept.
Accordingly, claims 1–10 are directed to mathematical concepts without integrating them into a practical application or reciting additional elements amounting to significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Spinka et al. (US 2015/0272220 A1) in view of Rabinowitz et al. (US 2014/0345635 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Spinka teaches a vaping monitor system, comprising:
An electronic vapor provision system (EVPS) operable to generate vapor from a payload in response to an inhalation by a user (device 100 includes reservoir 110 containing nicotine solution 112, heating element 140, and a negative-pressure switch that initiates vaporization; ¶ [0018]);
Supplying inhalation data to a dosage processor indicative of the amount of payload effectively inhaled by the user during inhalation (dosage sensor 200 determines nicotine consumption using inhalation timing, nicotine content, and heater-temperature information, with timing obtained from timer 250 and inhalation sensor 260; ¶ [0025]);
A dosage processor (processor 230 and memory 240; ¶ [0021]); and
The vaping monitor system being operable to indicate an equivalent number of a reference conventional combustion product via a user interface (visual indicators illuminate successively as nicotine is consumed, with the final indicator signaling consumption equivalent to the nicotine in one traditional cigarette; ¶ [0045]).
Spinka does not expressly teach that the dosage processor calculates an amount of active ingredient delivered to the bloodstream based on pharmacokinetic data for the EVPS and the inhalation data, and converts that calculated amount into an equivalent number of the reference conventional combustion product based on pharmacokinetic data for the reference product.
Rabinowitz is in the same field of endeavor as Spinka and the claimed invention because each concerns electronic vapor provision devices delivering nicotine-containing aerosol to a user (¶¶ [0002]–[0004]), including the relationship between inhalation and systemic nicotine absorption (¶ [0060]).
Rabinowitz teaches:
Determining the fraction of nicotine absorbed into circulation from pharmacokinetic data using methods known in the art (¶ [0060]); and
Obtaining comparative pharmacokinetic data for electronic cigarettes and a reference conventional cigarette, including plasma nicotine measurements before and after a corresponding puff regimen (¶ [0128]; Fig. 14).
Spinka already estimates physiological nicotine levels (¶ [0042]) and provides a conventional-cigarette equivalence indication (¶ [0045]). Rabinowitz’s absorption calculation and comparative pharmacokinetic measurements therefore suggest refining Spinka’s existing comparison to account for the absorbed nicotine dose associated with each product.
It has been held that applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results may support a conclusion of obviousness. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007); MPEP § 2143(I)(D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Spinka’s dosage processor to apply a pharmacokinetically determined absorption fraction applicable to the EVPS and payload to the inhalation-derived nicotine amount, and to establish a corresponding absorbed dose per reference cigarette from its pharmacokinetic data using the absorption-estimation methods identified by Rabinowitz (¶ [0060]). Dividing the calculated vaping dose by the reference-cigarette dose would express Spinka’s cigarette equivalence on a common absorbed-dose basis, accounting for the differences in systemic delivery demonstrated by Rabinowitz (¶ [0130]). Success would have been reasonably expected from applying the known absorption-estimation technique to Spinka’s existing nicotine estimates and cigarette-equivalence indication.
Regarding claim 2, modified Spinka further teaches:
An airflow sensor operable to supply airflow sensor data to the dosage processor (airflow sensor 270 measures or estimates airflow or airflow rate during each inhalation for use by dosage sensor 200; Spinka, ¶ [0030]); and
Determining inhaled airflow using airflow-rate information and inhalation duration (Spinka, ¶ [0030]).
Spinka does not expressly identify these calculations as calculating an inhalation profile responsive to the airflow sensor data.
Spinka connects inhaled airflow with nicotine consumption (¶ [0030]) and uses inhalation duration to determine nicotine consumption (¶ [0031]). These teachings connect the measured airflow and inhalation timing to the nicotine amount used in the modified system’s bloodstream-dose calculation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Spinka’s processor to calculate an inhalation profile representing airflow over the inhalation duration and use that profile in the bloodstream-dose calculation established regarding claim 1. This would account for variations in inhaled volume, predictably using Spinka’s existing airflow and timing information to characterize each inhalation.
Regarding claim 3, modified Spinka further teaches:
A temperature sensor operable to supply temperature sensor data to the dosage processor (heating element sensor 280 supplies information from which dosage sensor 200 determines heating-element temperature; Spinka, ¶ [0029]); and
Using temperature information during inhalation to determine nicotine consumption (Spinka, ¶ [0025]).
Spinka does not expressly describe calculating an inhalation profile responsive to the temperature sensor data.
Spinka provides heating and cooling profiles relating temperature to inhalation duration and spacing (¶ [0028]). Its sensor-derived temperature information therefore suggests using those established relationships to characterize each inhalation for dose estimation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Spinka’s processor to calculate an inhalation profile from the temperature-sensor information and established temperature–inhalation relationships, and use that profile in the bloodstream-dose calculation established regarding claim 1. This would account for temperature-dependent variation in nicotine vaporization, with success reasonably expected from Spinka’s established relationships among temperature, inhalation timing, and nicotine consumption.
Regarding claim 4, modified Spinka further teaches the EVPS comprising the dosage processor (nicotine dosage sensor 200 may be integrated with electronic nicotine delivery device 100; Spinka, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Spinka further teaches the EVPS comprising a display for displaying the user interface (device 300 includes visual indicators that may form portions of an electronic-paper display; Spinka, ¶ [0041]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Spinka further teaches a remote device comprising the dosage processor (nicotine dosage sensor 200 may be stored and executed by an external device receiving inhalation information from the electronic nicotine delivery device; Spinka, ¶ [0038]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Spinka further teaches the remote device comprising a display for displaying the user interface (dosage-processing functions may execute on an external device; Spinka, ¶ [0038]; a smartphone is identified as an external device receiving nicotine-consumption information; Spinka, ¶ [0040]). The identified smartphone’s ordinary display capability supplies the display for presenting the cigarette-equivalence interface established regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, modified Spinka further teaches storing dosage relationships in a look-up table (memory 240 stores a look-up table used to determine nicotine consumption; Spinka, ¶ [0031]).
The references do not expressly teach a look-up table indicating branded-product delivery amounts relative to the reference product, or converting reference-product equivalents into branded-product equivalents using those values.
Spinka already expresses nicotine consumption relative to a conventional cigarette (¶ [0045]) and uses a stored look-up table to relate dosage inputs to nicotine amounts (¶ [0031]). Rabinowitz obtains comparative pharmacokinetic data for electronic cigarettes and the user’s preferred conventional-cigarette brand (¶ [0128]). Together, these teachings suggest adapting Spinka’s cigarette comparison to the user’s preferred brand using stored, pharmacokinetically derived dose relationships.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store those relative absorbed-dose values in a look-up table and configure Spinka’s processor to convert reference-cigarette equivalents into selected-brand equivalents using the stored ratios. This would express nicotine consumption in terms of a cigarette brand familiar to the user, with success reasonably expected from applying predetermined dose ratios to the cigarette-equivalence calculation established regarding claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, modified Spinka further teaches tracking nicotine consumption over a specified period (consumption is tracked over the preceding 24 hours; Spinka, ¶ [0042]) and providing cigarette-equivalence indications (Spinka, ¶ [0045]).
Spinka does not expressly teach maintaining a cumulative count of equivalent combustion products for the current day; its preceding-24-hour period is a rolling interval.
Spinka expressly contemplates a consumption limit equivalent to one pack of cigarettes per day, divided into individual cigarette-equivalent doses (¶ [0057]). The cigarette-per-day embodiment supplies a reason to express accumulated consumption as a daily cigarette-equivalent count.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Spinka’s processor to accumulate the cigarette equivalents calculated under claim 1 during the current calendar day and reset the count at the start of the next day. This would show consumption relative to Spinka’s cigarette-per-day target, predictably applying the established equivalence calculation over a calendar-day interval. The current-day alternative satisfies the claim’s requirement for one or more of the listed tracking periods.
Regarding claim 10, modified Spinka further teaches associating a selected nicotine solution with a stored solution profile (the user selects the solution profile corresponding to the nicotine solution paired with the device, and the profile is stored in memory 240; Spinka, ¶ [0033]).
The references do not expressly teach registering the payload before installation and selecting the EVPS pharmacokinetic data responsive to the registered payload’s identity.
Spinka permits selection and storage of a profile corresponding to a particular nicotine solution (¶ [0033]). Rabinowitz demonstrates that different nicotine formulations produce different systemic-delivery profiles (¶ [0130]). Together, these teachings suggest associating the selected payload’s identity with the pharmacokinetic data applicable to that formulation before its first use.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to register the selected payload before installation and use its identity to select the applicable pharmacokinetic data for the calculation established regarding claim 1. This would prepare the processor to apply the appropriate formulation-dependent absorption data from the first inhalation, with success reasonably expected from extending Spinka’s existing solution-profile selection to the pharmacokinetic data taught by Rabinowitz.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A KESSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747