DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant has cancelled claims 22, 23, 32, and 34.
Applicant has amended all pending claims; claims 15-20, 24-31, and 35-37 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 19-20, 24-29, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searle et al. (US 20110054285, henceforth Searle) in view of Munshi (US Pat. No. 6645675, henceforth Munshi).
Regarding claim 15, Searle discloses an electronic patch (Flexible medical device 200, fig. 2) comprising: a flexible energy-storage module (power supply 118, fig. 2) and a flexible adhesive (Long-lasting adhesive layer 210, see [0045] and fig. 2).
Searle does not disclose the flexible energy-storage module comprising a first substrate layer, a negative connection layer comprising a negative current collector, a cathode electrode film layer comprising a cathode electrode active material and a cathode electron beam, cured polymer, an electrolytic separation layer, an anode electrode film layer comprising an anode electrode active material and an anode electron beam cured polymer, a positive connection layer comprising a positive current collector, and a second substrate layer, and a sealing adhesive, the first substrate layer and the second substrate layer being peripherally fixed to each other by the sealing adhesive. Munshi teaches a flexible energy-storage module (100 in fig. 2, which is flexible as in the Abstract and Col. 5 lines 25-35) comprising a first substrate layer (Plain polymer substrate 40, fig. 2), a negative connection layer comprising a negative current collector (Metal layer 50, fig. 2), a cathode electrode film layer (Cathode material 60, fig. 2) comprising a cathode electrode active material (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the cathode comprises a polymer blend with lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt; the lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt are considered to be an active material as claimed) and a cathode cured polymer (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the cathode comprises a polymer blend which is considered to be the claimed cured polymer), an electrolytic separation layer (Solid polymer electrolyte 70, fig. 2), an anode electrode film layer (Anode material 20, fig. 2) comprising an anode electrode active material (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the anode comprises a polymer blend with lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt; the lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt are considered to be an active material as claimed) and an anode cured polymer (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the anode comprises a polymer blend which is considered to be the claimed cured polymer), a positive connection layer comprising a positive current collector (Metal layer 16, fig. 2), and a second substrate layer (Plain polymer substrate 12, fig. 2), and a sealing adhesive (End spray 102, fig. 2; this is a sealing adhesive because it seals all of the components together as shown in fig. 2 and is adhering to the components because it is fused to them), the first substrate layer and the second substrate layer being peripherally fixed to each other by the sealing adhesive (See fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the flexible storage module of Munshi for the flexible storage module of Searle for advantageous physical and chemical characteristics of the module of Munshi, such as conductivity, mechanical strength, stability, thinner components, and non-sacrifice of energy density (Munshi Col. 5 lines 1-15).
Examiner notes that while Searle as modified by Munshi (henceforth Searle as modified) does not explicitly disclose use of electron beam curing for the cathode and anode film layers, such a limitation relates to a product-by-process limitation (see MPEP §2113) and does not positively distinguish from the prior art absent evidence of a patentably different structure being formed as a result of the electron beam curing processing type.
{The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.}
Regarding claim 19, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein a combined thickness of the first substrate layer and the negative connection layer is less than the thickness of the cathode electrode film layer (See Munshi Col. 26 lines 24-37, ratio of substrate thicknesses to electrodes about .5 – metalized layers are negligible as shown in Munshi Col. 25 lines 55-62 as well since they are so relatively thin), and wherein a combined thickness of the second substrate layer and the positive connection layer is less than the thickness of the anode layer (See Munshi Col. 26 lines 24-37, ratio of substrate thicknesses to electrodes about .5 – metalized layers are negligible as shown in Munshi Col. 25 lines 55-62 as well since they are so relatively thin).
Regarding claim 20, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein the cathode electrode film layer and the anode electrode layer are printed or deposited coatings (See Munshi Col. 23 lines 23-67, “The metallized polymer substrate may be about 0.5 to 50 microns thick, thereby rendering it very flexible for ease of coating and handling”; this is a disclosure that the materials used for the anode and cathode electrode layers are coatings, and the particular method in which they are applied as coatings, be it a printing or depositing, amounts to a product-by-process limitation and does not positively distinguish from the prior art absent evidence of a patentably different structure being formed as a result of the different coating type).
{The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.}
Regarding claim 24, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein at least one of the cathode electron beam cured polymer and the anode electron beam cured polymer comprises a crosslink reaction product formed from a precursor selected from the group consisting of an oligomer, a dispersant, a self-level additive, or a conductive additive, and combinations thereof (See Munshi Col. 24 lines 23-67, “a pair of spaced-apart flexible thin film electrodes, each including a polymer substrate having an adherent electrically conductive layer thereon, the hybrid film being tightly disposed, or sandwiched, between the pair of thin film electrodes. The polymer substrate of each of the anode and cathode is preferably selected from a group of polymers including PET, PP, PPS, PEN, PVDF and PE, and each polymer substrate is preferably a metallized polymer substrate with a thin metal layer as the adherent conductive layer”, the electrode layers are thus considered to have a conductive additive as claimed where they have a metallized polymer substrate with the metal causing the metallization being the conductive additive).
Regarding claim 25, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein the electrolytic separation layer comprises a radiation cured structure (See Munshi Col. 9 line 66 - Col. 10 line 24).
{The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.}
Regarding claim 26, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein the radiation cured structure comprises a dissolved salt, functional material, liquid electrolyte or a salt additive, or combinations thereof (See Munshi Col. 25 lines 25-40, the electrolyte contains a lithium salt).
Regarding claim 27, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein the electrolytic separation layer comprises a liquid, gel or solid electrolyte (Electrolyte layer 70 is a solid polymer electrolyte, see Munshi Col. 25 lines 25-40).
Regarding claim 28, Searle as modified discloses the patch further comprising a drug reservoir (Flexible drug reservoir 106, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein the drug reservoir comprises a delivery mechanism (Infusion needle deployment mechanism 108 and pump mechanism 114, fig. 2), the drug reservoir being mounted onto the first board face (The top of PCB 216 is where reservoir 106 is located, see fig. 2), and wherein the delivery mechanism is electronically connected with the controller (See [0062], all components are connected to each other via the PCB).
Regarding claim 35, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein each of the cathode electrode film layer and the anode electrode film layer comprise a cured matrix (see Munshi Col. 12 lines 25-57 and see Col. 24 lines 23-67, and note that each of the cathode and anode electrode film layers have a cured matrix, which is the blend of polymers selected from the given group).
Regarding claim 36, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein the negative connection layer is disposed below the first substrate layer (if Munshi fig. 2 is flipped upside down, this is true as layer 40 would be on top with layer 50 below it), the cathode electrode film layer is disposed below the negative connection layer (if Munshi fig. 2 is flipped upside down, this is true as layer 50 would be on top with layer 60 below it), the electrolytic separation layer is disposed below the cathode electrode film layer (if Munshi fig. 2 is flipped upside down, this is true as layer 60 would be on top with layer 70 below it), the anode electrode film layer is disposed below the electrolytic separation layer (if Munshi fig. 2 is flipped upside down, this is true as layer 70 would be on top with layer 20 below it), the positive connection layer is disposed below the anode electrode film layer (if Munshi fig. 2 is flipped upside down, this is true as layer 20 would be on top with layer 16 below it), and the second substrate layer is disposed below the positive connection layer (if Munshi fig. 2 is flipped upside down, this is true as layer 16 would be on top with layer 12 below it).
Regarding claim 37, Searle as modified discloses the patch of claim 15 wherein each of the cathode electrode film layer and the anode electrode film layer is a single layer (see Mushi Col. 24 lines 23-67, the film layers as claimed are metallized polymer substrates as disclosed).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searle et al. (US 20110054285, henceforth Searle) in view of Munshi (US Pat. No. 6645675, henceforth Munshi) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 20200069203, henceforth Chang).
Regarding claim 16, Searle as modified discloses the patch further comprising: a controller (Controller 116, fig. 2); at least one sensing module (Blood glucose sensor of [0062] is added to the embodiment of fig. 2); a wireless communication module (Communication transceiver of [0061] and [0062] is present in the embodiment of fig. 2); and a printed circuit board (PCB) (Flexible circuit board 216, fig. 2) having a first board face (the top of circuit board 216 as shown in fig. 2) and a second board face (the bottom of circuit board 216 as shown in fig. 2), the controller and the wireless communication module being mounted on the first board face (see fig. 2, controller 116 is on the top of PCB 216; the transceiver of [0062] is embedded into controller 116 as in [0061] and is thus also mounted on the top of PCB 216) wherein the controller, the at least one sensing module, and the wireless communication module being electronically connected to each other by the PCB (See [0062], all electrical components are connected via the PCB 216), wherein the controller, the at least one sensing module, and the wireless communication module being electrically connected to the energy-storage module (See [0062], since all components are connected to each other via PCB 216 and PCB 216 is connected to the power source, all components are connected to the power source as well).
Searle as modified does not disclose the patch wherein the at least one sensing module and the flexible energy-storage module being mounted onto the first board face, and wherein the flexible adhesive is mounted across the second board face. Chang teaches an electronic wearable patch (device E, fig. 1) comprising a printed circuit board (PCB) (PCB 200, fig. 1) having a first board face (See fig. 1, flexible PCB 200 has a top which is a first board face) and a second board face (See fig. 1, flexible PCB 200 has a bottom which is a second board face), at least one sensing module (sensing assembly 400, fig. 1) and a flexible energy-storage module (power supply assembly 500, fig. 1) being mounted onto the first board face (see fig. 1; all components of the device except for adhesive 100 are mounted on the top of PCB 200), and wherein a flexible adhesive is mounted across the second board face (See fig. 1, adhesive assembly 100 is mounted on the bottom side of PCB 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have organized the components of Searle in the manner shown in Chang of mounting all components onto the first PCB face and only attaching the flexible adhesive to the second board face for allowing for tighter application of the patch onto the body (Chang [0004] and [0034], this is further understood to be beneficial because tighter application creates more consistent and longer lasting contact of the device).
Regarding claim 17, Searle as modified discloses the patch further comprising: a supercapacitor (See [0063]) wherein the controller, the at least one sensing module, and the wireless communication module are electrically connected to the energy-storage module through the supercapacitor (See [0062], since all components are connected to each other via PCB 216 and PCB 216 is connected to the power source, and the power source is connected to the supercapacitor, all components are connected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mounted the supercapacitor of Searle onto the first board face in keeping with the convention established by Chang in putting all non-flexible adhesive components on the first board face.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of electrical circuitry design before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the downstream electrical elements to the flexible energy-storage module through the supercapacitor as this technique is well known to help maintain battery life and allow for more rapid distribution of power.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searle et al. (US 20110054285, henceforth Searle) in view of Munshi (US Pat. No. 6645675, henceforth Munshi) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Mochizuki et al. (US 20200212376, henceforth Mochizuki).
Regarding claim 18, Searle as modified discloses the patch wherein the negative connection layer and the positive connection layer each comprise a base portion and a tab portion, the tab portion being peripherally positioned to the base portion (See annotated fig. 2 from Munshi).
Annotated fig. 2 of Munshi depicting tab and base portions of positive and negative connection layers
Munshi as modified does not disclose the device wherein the tab portion of the negative connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive, and the tab portion of the positive connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive. Mochizuki teaches a flexible energy storage module including a negative connection layer (terminal 6 and directly adjacent negative electrode collector 1, fig. 1), a cathode layer (negative electrode active material layer 2, fig. 1), an electrolytic separation layer (solid electrolyte layer 3, fig. 1), an anode layer (positive electrode active material layer 4, fig. 1), a positive connection layer (terminal 6 and directly adjacent positive electrode collector 5, fig. 1), and a sealing adhesive (see adhesive layer of [0060]) which peripherally fixes the module together (See fig. 1 and [0060], the adhesive layer is inside of rubber layer 7 which fixes the module together as shown) wherein the negative connection layer and the positive connection layer each comprise a base portion (the portions of each respective terminal 6 which do not protrude through rubber layer 7 as shown in fig. 1) and a tab portion (the portions of each respective terminal 6 which protrude through rubber layer 7 as shown in fig. 1), the tab portion being peripherally positioned to the base portion (See fig. 1; the tab is next to the base portion as shown), and wherein the tab portion of the negative connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive (See fig. 1 and [0060], the adhesive layer is on the inner edge of the rubber layer 7 as shown), and the tab portion of the positive connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive (See fig. 1, the tab portion protrudes through the sealing layer). Additionally, Mochizuki teaches a rubber layer around its sealing adhesive (exterior material layer 7, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the sealing layer and rubber layer of Mochizuki to the flexible energy-storage module of Searle as modified by Munshi for protecting the module from vibrations and damage ([0003], [0047]), potentially such as those which found on a wearable patch.
Such a modification would entail having the tab portions of the positive connection layer and the negative connection layer extend beyond the rubber layer, and thus beyond the sealing adhesive, as shown in fig. 1 of Mochizuki. This is an obvious requirement of the modified device because the rubber layer of Mochizuki is insulative and a conductive piece is required to protrude through it to allow the energy-storage module to transfer its electricity to the rest of the device of Searle.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searle et al. (US 20110054285, henceforth Searle) in view of Munshi (US Pat. No. 6645675, henceforth Munshi) and Mochizuki et al. (US 20200212376, henceforth Mochizuki).
Regarding claim 30, Searle discloses an electronic wearable patch (Flexible medical device 200, fig. 2) comprising: a flexible energy-storage module (power supply 118, fig. 2); a flexible adhesive (Long-lasting adhesive layer 210, see [0045] and fig. 2); a flexible printed circuit board (PCB) (Flexible circuit board 216, fig. 2) having a first board face (the top of circuit board 216 as shown in fig. 2) and a second board face (the bottom of circuit board 216 as shown in fig. 2); and a controller (Controller 116, fig. 2) mounted on the PCB first board face (See fig. 2, controller 116 is mounted on the top of PCB 216) and electrically connected to the flexible energy-storage module (See fig. 2 and [0062], since all components are connected to each other via PCB 216 and PCB 216 is connected to the power source, all components are connected to the power source as well).
Searle does not disclose the flexible energy-storage module comprising a first substrate layer, a negative connection layer comprising a negative current collector, a cathode electrode film layer comprising a cathode electrode active material and a cathode electron beam cured polymer, an electrolytic separation layer, an anode electrode film layer comprising an anode electrode active material and an anode electron beam cured polymer, a positive connection layer comprising a positive current collector, and a second substrate layer, and a sealing adhesive, the first substrate layer and the second substrate layer being peripherally fixed to each other by the sealing adhesive; wherein the negative connection layer and the positive connection layer each comprise a base portion and a tab portion, the tab portion being peripherally positioned to the base portion.
Munshi teaches a flexible energy-storage module (100 in fig. 2, which is flexible as in the Abstract and Col. 5 lines 25-35) comprising a first substrate layer (Plain polymer substrate 40, fig. 2), a negative connection layer comprising a negative current collector (Metal layer 50, fig. 2), a cathode electrode film layer (Cathode material 60, fig. 2) comprising a cathode electrode active material (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the cathode comprises a polymer blend with lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt; the lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt are considered to be an active material as claimed) and a cathode cured polymer (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the cathode comprises a polymer blend which is considered to be the claimed cured polymer), an electrolytic separation layer (Solid polymer electrolyte 70, fig. 2), an anode electrode film layer (Anode material 20, fig. 2) comprising an anode electrode active material (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the anode comprises a polymer blend with lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt; the lithium ion conducting glass and lithium salt are considered to be an active material as claimed) and an anode cured polymer (see Col. 24 lines 23-67; it is disclosed that the anode comprises a polymer blend which is considered to be the claimed cured polymer), a positive connection layer comprising a positive current collector (Metal layer 16, fig. 2), and a second substrate layer (Plain polymer substrate 12, fig. 2), and a sealing adhesive (End spray 102, fig. 2; this is a sealing adhesive because it seals all of the components together as shown in fig. 2 and is adhering to the components because it is fused to them), the first substrate layer and the second substrate layer being peripherally fixed to each other by the sealing adhesive (See fig. 2); wherein the negative connection layer and the positive connection layer each comprise a base portion and a tab portion, the tab portion being peripherally positioned to the base portion (See annotated fig. 2 from Munshi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the flexible storage module of Munshi for the flexible storage module of Searle for advantageous physical and chemical characteristics of the module of Munshi, such as conductivity, mechanical strength, stability, thinner components, and non-sacrifice of energy density (Munshi Col. 5 lines 1-15).
Examiner notes that while Searle as modified by Munshi (henceforth Searle as modified) does not explicitly disclose use of electron beam curing for the cathode and anode film layers, such a limitation relates to a product-by-process limitation (see MPEP §2113) and does not positively distinguish from the prior art absent evidence of a patentably different structure being formed as a result of the electron beam curing processing type.
{The applicant is advised that patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process MPEP 2113.}
Searle as modified does not disclose the device wherein the tab portion of the negative connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive, and the tab portion of the positive connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive. Mochizuki teaches a flexible energy storage module including a negative connection layer (terminal 6 and directly adjacent negative electrode collector 1, fig. 1), a cathode layer (negative electrode active material layer 2, fig. 1), an electrolytic separation layer (solid electrolyte layer 3, fig. 1), an anode layer (positive electrode active material layer 4, fig. 1), a positive connection layer (terminal 6 and directly adjacent positive electrode collector 5, fig. 1), and a sealing adhesive (see adhesive layer of [0060]) which peripherally fixes the module together (See fig. 1 and [0060], the adhesive layer is inside of rubber layer 7 which fixes the module together as shown) wherein the negative connection layer and the positive connection layer each comprise a base portion (the portions of each respective terminal 6 which do not protrude through rubber layer 7 as shown in fig. 1) and a tab portion (the portions of each respective terminal 6 which protrude through rubber layer 7 as shown in fig. 1), the tab portion being peripherally positioned to the base portion (See fig. 1; the tab is next to the base portion as shown), and wherein the tab portion of the negative connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive (See fig. 1 and [0060], the adhesive layer is on the inner edge of the rubber layer 7 as shown), and the tab portion of the positive connection layer extends beyond the sealing adhesive (See fig. 1, the tab portion protrudes through the sealing layer). Additionally, Mochizuki teaches a rubber layer around its sealing adhesive (exterior material layer 7, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the sealing layer and rubber layer of Mochizuki to the flexible energy-storage module of Searle as modified by Munshi for protecting the module from vibrations and damage ([0003], [0047]), potentially such as those which found on a wearable patch.
Such a modification would entail having the tab portions of the positive connection layer and the negative connection layer extend beyond the rubber layer, and thus beyond the sealing adhesive, as shown in fig. 1 of Mochizuki. This is an obvious requirement of the modified device because the rubber layer of Mochizuki is insulative and a conductive piece is required to protrude through it to allow the energy-storage module to transfer its electricity to the rest of the device of Searle.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Searle et al. (US 20110054285, henceforth Searle) in view of Munshi (US Pat. No. 6645675, henceforth Munshi) and Mochizuki et al. (US 20200212376, henceforth Mochizuki) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US 20200069203, henceforth Chang).
Regarding claim 31, Searle as modified discloses the patch further comprising: at least one sensing module (Blood glucose sensor of [0062] is added to the embodiment of fig. 2) electronically connected to the controller by the PCB (See [0062], all components are connected to each other via the PCB); and a wireless communication module (Communication transceiver of [0061] and [0062] is present in the embodiment of fig. 2) mounted on the first board face (The transceiver of [0062] is embedded into controller 116 as in [0061] and is thus also mounted on the top of PCB 216 as in fig. 2) and electronically connected to the controller (See [0062], all components are connected to each other via the PCB) and the at least one sensing module (See [0062], all components are connected to each other via the PCB) by the PCB (See [0062]) wherein the at least one sensing module and the wireless communication module are electrically connected to the flexible energy-storage module (See [0062], since all components are connected to each other via PCB 216 and PCB 216 is connected to the power source, all components are connected to the power source as well).
Searle as modified does not explicitly disclose the patch wherein the at least one sensing module is mounted on the flexible PCB. Chang teaches a sensing module (Sensing assembly 400, fig. 1) mounted on a flexible PCB (PCB 200, fig. 1; see figs. 1 and 2 of Chang for mounting of assembly 400 on PCB 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have mounted the sensing assembly of Searle on the first board face of its flexible PCB as taught by Chang for allowing for tighter application of the patch onto the body (Chang [0004] and [0034], this is further understood to be beneficial because tighter application creates more consistent and longer lasting contact of the device).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL J MARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783