DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 02/25/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 2-8, 10-11, 15-17, 19-34, 36-41, 43-53, 56-57, and 60-71 were canceled, claim 1 was amended, and no claims were newly added. Thus, claims 1, 9, 12-14, 18, 35, 42, 54-55, 58-59 and 72-73 are presently pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every
feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“a pair of side straps, each of the pair of side straps directly coupled to the user interface patch of a corresponding one of the facial pads and extending along a side of a corresponding cheek of the user” of claim 1 lines 8-10
“a mechanical fastener” and “a complementary mechanical fastener” of claim 1 lines 9 and 11
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be
entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, 12-14, 18, 35, 42, 54-55, 58-59 and 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 lines 8-9, the term “a pair of side straps, each of the pair of side straps directly coupled to the user interface patch of a corresponding one of the facial pads” is unclear as to how the strap is able to couple directly to the user interface patch. In present application Fig. 2, user interface patch 274 is shown as between dermal patch 272 and facial pad 250. It is unclear how the middle layer user interface patch 274 is able to couple to a strap in any way. There is no form of connection or connector that is distinctly claimed.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12-14, 18, 58, and 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fai et al. (US 2016/0121068; hereinafter referred to solely as “Fai”) in view of Behan (US 4,641,647) and Rose et al. (US 2013/0133646; hereinafter “Rose”).
Regarding claim 1, Fai discloses a patient interface (see Fai patient interface device 300 Fig. 17-18), comprising:
a mask seal body defining a breathing chamber (see Fai sealing assembly 304 with opening 308) and having a user-contacting surface configured to contact a face of a user and surround at least nares of the user (see Fai cushion 305 to seal around the nares);
a pair of facial pads (see Fai distal ends of support frame 340, comprising slots 242).
Fai is silent as to each facial pad of the pair of facial pads configured to connect to an adjustable bonnet on opposing sides of the mask seal body. However, Behan teaches each facial pad of the pair of facial pads (see Behan extensions 6 on each side) configured to connect to an adjustable bonnet on opposing sides of the mask seal body (see Behan head covering 1 and straps 2, where the head covering 1 is connected to extensions 6 by mechanical fasteners straps 2 through openings 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the facial pads of Fai with mechanical fastener configuration to connect to a bonnet as taught by Behan so as to provide a more comfortable securement system for the user.
Modified Fai discloses each facial pad of the pair of facial pads comprising: a user interface patch (see Fai slots 242 on the further end of distal ends of bridging portion 340); a pair of side straps, each of the pair of side straps extending along a side of a corresponding cheek of the user (see Fai [0068] “A headgear (not shown) is coupled to the support frame via slots 242”, wherein previously added straps 2 of Behan (in Behan, attaching to extensions 6 via openings 5) attach to the modified Fai using slots 242 as “headgear” would).
Modified Fai is silent as to each of the pair of side straps comprises a mechanical fastener configured to directly and removably connect to the adjustable bonnet, wherein the mechanical fastener is a hook or a loop material configured to directly connect to a complementary mechanical fastener on the adjustable bonnet. However, Rose teaches each of the pair of side straps comprises a mechanical fastener configured to directly and removably connect to the adjustable bonnet (see Rose straps 32A,32B with end portions 56A,56B. Straps 32A,B thread through loops 54A,B on the patient interface and then attach to the helmet 30 via hook connector patch 50), wherein the mechanical fastener is a hook or a loop material configured to directly connect to a complementary mechanical fastener on the adjustable bonnet (see Rose helmet 30 comprising hook connector patch 50, where hook fasteners portions 56A,B are on straps 32A,B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the straps and bonnet connection of modified Fai with the hook and loop strap to bonnet connection as taught by Rose as this would have been an obvious substitution for one known type of fastening connection for another and would yield predictable results, i.e. fasten the strap to the bonnet.
Modified Fai discloses a pair of bridging portions (see Fai central left and right side portions of support frame 340 that extend the length of support member 302), each bridging portion of the pair of bridging portions connecting the mask seal body and a respective facial pad of the pair of facial pads (see Fai Fig. 17-18 central left and right side portions of support frame 340 extend into distal ends of support frame 340), each bridging portion of the pair of bridging portions comprising a cutout configured to receive a breathing tube (see Fai cutouts in which support member 302 is inserted; support member 302 allows for passage 306 which gets airflow to the patient… support member 302 is analogous to support member 202 described as [0064] “Support member 202 includes an internal passage or lumen 206 that serves as a pathway for the flow of gas to and from the user”),
wherein each bridging portion of the pair of bridging portions has a curved shape in use urging the mask seal body toward the face of the user to create or maintain sealing engagement between the user-contacting surface and the face of the user (see Fai each side of support frame 340, and corresponding parts urge to seal cushion 305 to the face; Field of Invention [0002-3] “a patient interface… provides a stable platform supporting a sealing assembly…”).
Regarding claim 12, modified Fai discloses each of the pair of bridging portions comprises an S-shape as viewed from above (see Fai Fig. 18 each side of support frame 340 creates an S-shape from above).
Regarding claim 13, modified Fai discloses wherein the mask seal body is reinforced (see Fai support member 302 on which sealing assembly 302 is mounted).
Regarding claim 14, modified Fai discloses a reinforcing element (see Fai support member 302), wherein the reinforcing element is at least one of (iii) a hardened interface tube connection attached to the mask seal body (see Fai support member 302 is cylindrical in shape [0072]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Fai discloses the mask seal body is configured to be placed around an alar region of the user (see Fai [0073] “Cushion 305 is sized and configured to seal around the nares of the user”).
Regarding claim 58, modified Fai discloses one or more respiratory tubes configured to deliver gas (see Fai [0011] “a further object of the present invention to provide a system for delivering a flow of gas to a user using the patient interface device described above”… in which any embodiment of the invention use/connect to patient circuit 12, and [0050] “Patient circuit 12 is any device, such as a flexible tubing, that carries the flow of gas from the pressure/flow generator in the pressure support system to the patient interface device”).
Regarding claim 72, modified Fai the adjustable bonnet comprises one or more sections of loop material (see Behan bonnet modified by hook and loop connector patch 50 of Rose), the one or more sections of loop material configured to engage the user interface patch (see Rose patch 50 engage the slots 242 of Fai via straps 2 of Behan, see rejection to claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 73, modified Fai discloses a system comprising:
the patient interface of Claim 1 (see modified Fai rejection to claim 1 above); and
the adjustable bonnet (see rejection to claim 1 above, specifically Behan head covering 1 with straps 2 are adjustable).
Claims 9 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fai in view of Behan and Rose as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ho et al. (US 2006/0060200; hereinafter referred to solely as “Ho”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Fai discloses the pair of bridging portions is split into an upper section and a lower section (see Fai central left and right side portions of support frame 340, and corresponding portions of the upper section border closer to the user’s eye, and the lower section border closer to the user’s chin), but is silent as to the upper section and lower section that are separate from one another. However, Ho teaches each of the pair of bridging portions is split into an upper section and a lower section that are separate from one another (see Ho upper strap 82 and lower strap 74). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper and lower section of the bridging portion of modified Fai with the upper and lower sections that are separate from one another as taught by Ho as this would have been an obvious substitution for one known type of bridging portion for another and would yield predictable results, i.e. both bridging portions, separated or not, are performing the same function of keeping the interface on the user’s face.
Regarding claim 42, modified Fai discloses the pair of bridging portions, as well as a part similar to one or more hinges (see Fai left and right side portions of support frame 340 portion that curves in S-shaped section; the bending portion able to hinge in order to urge the support frame 340 towards the user’s face). However, even if modified Fai does not explicitly discloses the hinges, Ho teaches the pair of bridging portions comprise one or more hinges (see Ho [0031] Lines 2-5 “This arcuate configuration allows for upper straps 82 and lower straps 74 to easily slide within the eyelet to create a pseudo-hinge or pivot point between headgear assembly 40 and support body 36”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the portions of the support frame functioning as the bridging portions of modified Fai with the hinges on the bridging portion as taught by Ho so as to provide more flexibility to better urge the interface towards the user’s face.
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fai in view of Behan and Rose as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weinman (US 2013/0319417).
Regarding claim 35, modified Fai discloses the patient interface of Claim 1, but is silent as to a third facial pad. However, Weinman teaches a patient interface (see Weinman breathing mask 40) comprising a third facial pad configured to engage a forehead of the user above the mask seal body (see Weinman cushion 63) and a third bridging portion connecting the mask seal body and the third facial pad (see Weinman bracket 61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the patient interface mask seal body of modified Fai with the third facial pad as taught by Weinman so as to provide additional support.
Claims 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fai in view of Behan and Rose as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Olsen et al. (US 2014/0096774; hereinafter referred to solely as “Olsen”).
Regarding claim 54, modified Fai discloses the mask seal body comprises an upper region (see Fai top of cushion 305, on patient contacting surface 314). Modified Fai is silent as to wherein at least part of the upper region rolls when the mask seal body is positioned on a user's face. However, Olsen teaches a mask seal body (see Olsen mask seal 110) wherein at least part of the upper region rolls when the mask seal body is positioned on a user's face (see Olsen [0103] Lines 1-3 “the upper portion 154 of the mask seal 110 is designed to roll over onto an outer surface 170 of the mask assembly 102”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upper region of modified Fai with the upper region that rolls as taught by Olsen so as to allow the cushion to pivot and fit different sized faces.
Regarding claim 55, modified Fai discloses the upper region comprises a portion with a thinner wall located between portions having thicker walls (see Olsen [0104] Lines 2-5 “the upper portion 154 can have a varying thickness or a varying stiffness. In the configuration shown in FIG. 12, the upper portion 154 comprises a thick/thin/thick configuration”).
Claim 59 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fai in view of Behan and Rose as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martin et al. (10,420,909; hereinafter referred to as “Martin”).
Regarding claim 59, modified Fai is silent as to the one or more respiratory tubes comprise an inspiratory tube configured to deliver gas to the user, and an expiratory tube configured to deliver gas from the user. However, Martin teaches a patient interface (see Martin patient interface 3000) one or more respiratory tubes comprise an inspiratory tube configured to deliver gas to the user (see Martin Fig. 4a inlet limb 3104), and an expiratory tube configured to deliver gas from the user (see Martin Fig. 4b outlet limb 3106 exhalation toward controllable valve 3108). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the respiratory tubes of modified Fai with the specific inspiratory tube and expiratory tube as taught by Martin so as to have more control over respiratory flow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, on page 6 of the remarks, that “Applicant submits that a person of ordinary skill would understand the claimed "mechanical fastener" and "complementary mechanical fastener" of Claim 1 without requiring further detailed illustrations.” However, Examiner disagrees since the drawing objection clearly states that every feature of the invention specified in the claims must be shown. Therefore, the objection still stands.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. See modified rejection to claim 1 again for amended language.
Conclusion
/GWYNNETH L HOWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785 /RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785