DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The art rejections still apply for previously presented claims 76-87. New claim 88 requires a new rejection.
Applicant again asserts on pages 5-7 of the Remarks that the term “gasifier feedstock” found only in the preamble of claim 76 is not given patentable weight as intended by Applicant. Applicant should review the response to Arguments in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 6/17/25. The preamble term “gasifier feedstock” does not materially distinguish the composition. The Office has taken a clear position on this matter.
Applicant asserts on page 8 that “Braden discloses only cloth, which is not a densified textile aggregate, and pellets of grass, hay, and wood.” It is the Office’s position that a mixture of cloth and pellets of grass, hay, and wood is a densified textile aggregate. The instant specification recites that “The densified textile aggregates are a collection of particles, briquettes, agglomerates, pellets, or rods, or any other shape or size that different from the native shape of the textile from which the densified textile aggregate is made” (paragraph 39) and “The form of the textiles useful to make densified textile aggregates are not limited, and can include any of the forms of articles or materials used to make textiles described above; e.g. fibers, yarns, fabrics, cloths, finished article forms, or pieces thereof. The densified textile aggregates can be of varying age and composition” (paragraph 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 76-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillespie (US 2017/0226436 A1).
Regarding claim 76, Gillespie discloses a composition comprising: a slurry comprising discarded clothing textiles (paragraph 56), plastic (paragraph 54), and fossil fuels (paragraph 62). Gillespie discloses that the composition is densified (paragraph 68).
Regarding claims 77-79, Gillespie discloses that the materials are pulverized to less than 2mm (paragraph 69) and have a solids content of at least 62 wt% (see Table 1). Since the composition is as claimed, it possesses the same ostensible values as claimed in a test that may or may not be performed. See MPEP 2112.01 II.
Regarding claim 80, Gillespie discloses solid fossil fuels (paragraph 62).
Regarding claims 81-83, Gillespie discloses that the textiles contain plastic (paragraph 56).
Regarding claim 84, Gillespie discloses heat treatment (paragraph 41). Tg is undefined since no specific materials or percentages are claimed.
Regarding claim 85, Gillespie discloses that the feed is not more than 10% biomass (see Table 1).
Regarding claim 86, Gillespie discloses that the feedstock is an agglomeration of various materials including those recited in claim 76 (paragraphs 46-65). This feedstock exists prior to any treatment or reaction.
Claims 76, 87, and 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bradin (US 2015/0141605 A1).
Bradin discloses a composition comprising: a feedstock comprising pellets, plastic, cloth, plastic, and coal (paragraph 38). The feedstock is considered a densified textile aggregate because it contains pellets. The feedstock comprises H:C ratio of at least 0.075 by weight since it produces methanol, olefins, and polymers (paragraph 8). It should be noted that all hydrocarbons have an H:C ratio of at least 0.075 by weight.
Claims 76 and 88 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arora (US 2013/0144087 A1)
Arora discloses a composition comprising: biomass comprising cloth (paragraph 48) and coal (paragraph 77). The feedstock is considered a densified textile aggregate because it has been torrefied and pulverized (paragraph 77).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725