DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada (JP2014087958) (machine translation) (of record) in view of either Isoi (JP2002307442) (machine translation) (of record), Onimatsu ‘842 (US20150231842) (of record) and/or Serener-Theilmann (US20030091671) (of record), Sato (JP2017177567) (machine translation) (of record) and Onimatsu et al. (JP2013006366) (machine translation) (of record, to be further referred to as Onimatsu ‘366).
Regarding claim 1, Nakada discloses a tire vulcanization device comprising a vulcanization mold (“mold” (4), which includes “segments” (12)) inside of which a green tire is disposable ([0002] with regards to “raw cover” (8), Fig 1) and a vulcanization container ([0036]-[0038] with regards to “container”) in which the vulcanization mold is installed, the vulcanization device comprising:
the vulcanization mold includes an annular upper side mold (upper “side plate” (14), Fig 1), an annular lower side mold (lower “side plate” (14), Fig 1), and a plurality of sector molds arranged in an annular shape in a plan view (“segments” (12)),
the vulcanization container includes, as container components, a top plate to which the upper side mold is attached (upper “base plate” (16), Fig 1), a bottom plate to which the lower side mold is attached (lower “base plate” (16), Fig 1), a plurality of segments to which each sector mold is attached (“sector shoe” (10)) and a container ring which moves vertically on an outer circumference side of each of the segments (“container”, [0036]),
a sensor (“transmitter” (36)) installed at a predetermined position on the vulcanization mold ([0050]-[0051]) that makes use of a lead wire (“cord” (42), Fig 1) that passes through both the vulcanization mold and a vulcanization container (Fig 1 and [0036], positions including at the annular upper side mold/top plate, annular lower side mold/bottom plate, and the plurality of sector molds/plurality of segments).
While Nakada does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is in a state exposed on a tire molding surface of the vulcanization mold and is configured to directly contact the green tire during vulcanization of the green tire and that the vulcanization device further comprises: in the container ring, a plurality of guide keys which extend in a vertical direction along an inner circumferential inclined surface of the container ring are disposed in intervals in a circumferential direction, guide grooves which extend in a vertical direction along an outer circumferential inclined surface of each of the segments are included, the guide key and the guide groove being configured to slide relative to one another with a configuration wherein, by the container ring moving downward, the guide key moves downward along the guide groove and the vulcanization mold is configured to close, a plurality of mold-side connectors installed in the vulcanization mold in a state exposed on attachment surfaces of the vulcanization mold that each attach to a respective one of the container components, wherein a respective attachment surface of the attachment surface of the attachment surfaces is on a respective sector mold and faces radially outward; a plurality of inner connectors, at least one of the inner connectors installed in each of the container components in a state exposed on opposing surfaces of the container components respectively facing the attachment surfaces, wherein a respective opposing surface of the opposing surfaces is on a respective segment and faces radially inward; the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors being freely connected to and disconnected from each other, and when vulcanizing the green tire, the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors are set to be in a state of being connected before the vulcanization mold is closed; and that the lead wire is broken up into an in-mold lead wire extending through an interior of the vulcanization mold and connecting the sensor and the mold-side connector and an in-container lead wire connected at one end portion to the inner connector and extending through an interior of the at least one of the container components toward an exterior of the at least one of the container components, an outer connector connected to an other end portion of the in-container lead wire extending through an interior of the bottom plate and installed on the bottom plate in a state exposed on an outer side of the bottom plate, and an outer connector connected to an other end portion of the in-container lead wire extending through an interior of at least one of the segments and installed on the at least one of the segments in a state exposed on an outer side of the at least one of the segments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
a) the use of a plurality of guide keys in the container ring and guide grooves in segments that cooperate to allow sliding relative to one another, as evidenced by either Isoi (Fig 5-9, “pins” (86) and “guide hole” (85), [0049]), Onimatsu ‘842 (Fig 11, “guide” (52a) and “guide” (52b), [0055]) and/or Serener-Theilmann (Fig 3, “tee bots” (38) and “slots” (42), [0019]) for the predictable result of controlling the movements of vulcanization mold components represents the application of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(D)) represents something well within a person of ordinary skill’s abilities;
b) Sato, which is within the tire molding art, teaches that sensors (“temperature sensors” (31), Fig 1, 2A) used in vulcanization molds can be placed so as to be exposed on a tire molding surface of the vulcanization mold and configured to be in direct contact with the green tire during vulcanization (Fig 2, 3, with the understanding that “sheath” (31a) comprises a part of “temperature sensor” (31), [0019]) for the benefit of accurate measurements ([0019]);
c1) Onimatsu ‘366, which is within the tire molding art, teaches that for a temperature sensor (“temperature sensor” (46)) located inside a vulcanization mold (“core body” (3)) that connects to a device outside of the mold and through another component (“bead area” (50a)), the sensor is connected to an in-mold lead wire (“wiring” (47)) extending through an interior of the vulcanization mold and connects to a mold-side connector (“sensor connectors” (48)) that is exposed at an attachment surface of the vulcanization mold that attaches to an inner connector (“sensor connection terminal portion” (49)) exposed on an opposing surface of a separate component of the vulcanization apparatus (“bead area” (50a)), with an in-component lead wire connecting through an interior of the component (Fig 9) with the mold-side connector and the inner connector being freely connected to and disconnected from each other ([0045]) for the benefit of ensuring automatic electrical connection between components without requiring special connection work and improving the automation of the vulcanization process ([0045]);
c2) Nakada teaches that the sensors and their lead wires are located in the sector molds and the segments in a manner where an attachment surface of the sector mold that comes into contact with an opposing surface of a segment has the attachment surface facing radially outwards and the opposing surface facing radially inwards (Fig 1, with regards to “sectors shoes” (10) and “segments” (12));
c3) the combination of Nakada’s lead wire placement with regards to the “sector shoes” (10) and “segments” (12) along with Onimatsu 366’s general teaching of connector use between various components of a vulcanization apparatus would result in a plurality of mold-side connectors installed in the vulcanization mold in a state exposed on attachment surfaces of the vulcanization mold that each attach to a respective one of the container components, wherein a respective attachment surface of the attachment surface of the attachment surfaces is on a respective sector mold and faces radially outward; a plurality of inner connectors, at least one of the inner connectors installed in each of the container components in a state exposed on opposing surfaces of the container components respectively facing the attachment surfaces, wherein a respective opposing surface of the opposing surfaces is on a respective segment and faces radially inward; the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors being freely connected to and disconnected from each other; and
c4) Nakada teaches that “segments” (12) and “sector shoes” (10) are attached to each other ([0026]) and move together with each other as a result of said attachment ([0036]);
c5) Nakada’s teaching of attachment combined with Onimatsu ‘366’s connectors between vulcanization component would result in the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors to be set in a state of being connected before the vulcanization mold is closed;
d1) Nakada teaches that the bottom “base plate” (16) can also comprise of passages (32) ([0044]), and given that the use of sensors are tied directly to use in conjunction with said passages to close them and prevent spur creation ([0018], [0021]), any teachings in relation to sensor positioning, connecting and wiring for top “base plate” (16) are applicable to the bottom “base plate” (16);
d2) Nakada teaches that the sensor’s lead wire (“cord” (42)) passes through a container component (components including the top and bottom “base plate” (16) to another side (including an outer side) to a control unit (38) (Fig 1);
d3) Onimatsu ‘366 teaches that pairs of connectors can be implemented between different tire vulcanization components (such as “sensor connection” (48) to “sensor connection terminal” (49) or “case” (44) to “power supply connection terminal” (51), Fig 8, 9) for the benefit of ensuring automatic electrical connection between components without requiring special connection work and improving the automation of the vulcanization process ([0045]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application for predetermined position to be set at a plurality of positions spaced apart in a tire circumferential direction in each region on the tire molding surface where a tire tread surface and both side surfaces are molded, as:
a) Nakada teaches that a plurality of segments that form the mold shape ([0008]), each with temperature sensors (Fig 1); and/or
b) Sato teaches placing sensors at each tire side portion for the benefit of maintaining even vulcanization across each tire region ([0007]-[0008]); and/or
c) Onimatsu ‘366 teaches that each mold segment has a temperature sensor to ensure proper conditions across the entire tire ([0037]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Nakada teaches that the sensor is at least one of a temperature sensor or a pressure sensor ([0051]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 3 as set forth above. Additionally, Nakada teaches that the sensor is at least one of a temperature sensor or a pressure sensor ([0051]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, as the combination of Nakada with Onimatsu ‘366 teaches the use of connectors in conjunction with the in-container lead wires passing through an interior of tire vulcanization components as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Nakada teaches that the in-container lead wire communicating and extending through an interior of one of the segments and being connected at one end portion to a top plate connector of the inner connectors installed in the top plate. While modified Nakada does not explicitly teach that the in-container lead wire communicates and extends through both an interior of the segment and the top plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, as case law holds that changes in shape are matters of design choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant (See MPEP 2144.04). In the instant case, the exact routing of the in-container lead wire is considered to be a matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada (JP2014087958) (machine translation) (of record), either Isoi (JP2002307442) (machine translation) (of record), Onimatsu ‘842 (US20150231842) (of record) and/or Serener-Theilmann (US20030091671) (of record), Sato (JP2017177567) (machine translation) (of record) and Onimatsu et al. (JP2013006366) (machine translation) (of record) as set forth above in the 103 rejection of claim 1 and in further view of Rice et al. (US20190131167) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, as the combination of Nakada with Onimatsu ‘366 teaches the use of connectors in conjunction with the in-container lead wires passing through the interior of tire vulcanization components as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Nakada teaches that the in-container lead wire communicating and extending through an interior of one of the segments and being connected at one end portion to a top plate connector, of the inner connectors, installed in the top plate. While modified Nakada does not explicitly teach that the in-container lead wire communicates and extends through both an interior of the segment and the top plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, as case law holds that changes in shape are matters of design choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant (See MPEP 2144.04). In the instant case, the exact routing of the in-container lead wire is considered to be a matter of design choice.
While modified Nakada doesn’t explicitly teach that the in-container lead wire to have surplus length which is exposed to the outside between the segment and the top plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that Rice, which is analogous to Nakada with regards to the placement of wiring between moving components of an apparatus, teaches that for a wire that travels through different components (via “channel” (236)), sufficient slack should be afforded to the wire for the benefit of allowing movement between components without breaking the wire ([0066]).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada (JP2014087958) (machine translation) (of record) in view of either Isoi (JP2002307442) (machine translation) (of record), Onimatsu ‘842 (US20150231842) (of record) and/or Serener-Theilmann (US20030091671) (of record), Sato (JP2017177567) (machine translation) (of record) and Onimatsu et al. (JP2013006366) (machine translation) (of record, to be further referred to as Onimatsu ‘366) as set forth above in the 103 rejection of claim 1, and further in view of Halford et al. (EP2746020).
Regarding claim 12, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Nakada does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a hardness sensor that detects the hardness of the green tire, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
a) Halford, which is within the molding arts, teaches that for a rubber vulcanization device ([0005]), sensors are used in conjunction with a control system for the benefit of measuring and tracking processing parameters ([0027]), which includes temperature sensors ([0031]);
b) Halford teaches that, in addition to sensors for temperatures like the temperature sensors used in Nakada, the system can comprise of hardness sensors for measuring the molded products ([0031]), said hardness sensor being required to interact with the molded product directly so as to measure the hardness of said product; and
c) the simple substitution of one known element, the temperature sensor of Nakada, for another known element, the hardness sensor in Halford, to yield the predictable result of tracking a process’s parameters (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)) is well within a person’s of ordinary skill’s ability to find obvious.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada (JP2014087958) (machine translation) (of record) in view of Sato (JP2017177567) (machine translation) (of record) and Nagamidori (JP2017209818A) (Machine Translation) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Nakada discloses a tire vulcanization device comprising a vulcanization mold (“mold” (4), which includes “segments” (12)) inside of which a green tire is disposable ([0002] with regards to “raw cover” (8), Fig 1) and a vulcanization container ([0036]-[0038] with regards to “container”) in which the vulcanization mold is installed, the vulcanization device comprising:
the vulcanization mold includes an annular upper side mold (upper “side plate” (14), Fig 1), an annular lower side mold (lower “side plate” (14), Fig 1), and a plurality of sector molds arranged in an annular shape in a plan view (“segments” (12)),
the vulcanization container includes, as container components, a top plate to which the upper side mold is attached (upper “base plate” (16), Fig 1), a bottom plate to which the lower side mold is attached (lower “base plate” (16), Fig 1), a plurality of segments to which each sector mold is attached (“sector shoe” (10)) and a container ring which moves vertically on an outer circumference side of each of the segments (“container”, [0036]),
a sensor (“transmitter” (36)) installed at a predetermined position on the vulcanization mold ([0050]-[0051]) that makes use of a lead wire (“cord” (42), Fig 1) that passes through both the vulcanization mold and a vulcanization container (Fig 1 and [0036], positions including at the annular upper side mold/top plate, annular lower side mold/bottom plate, and the plurality of sector molds/plurality of segments).
While Nakada does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is in a state exposed on a tire molding surface of the vulcanization mold and is configured to directly contact the green tire during vulcanization of the green tire and that the vulcanization device further comprises: in the container ring, a plurality of guide keys which extend in a vertical direction along an inner circumferential inclined surface of the container ring are disposed in intervals in a circumferential direction, guide grooves which extend in a vertical direction along an outer circumferential inclined surface of each of the segments are included, the guide key and the guide groove being configured to slide relative to one another with a configuration wherein, by the container ring moving downward, the guide key moves downward along the guide groove and the vulcanization mold is configured to close, a plurality of mold-side connectors installed in the vulcanization mold in a state exposed on attachment surfaces of the vulcanization mold that each attach to a respective one of the container components, wherein a respective attachment surface of the attachment surface of the attachment surfaces is on a respective sector mold and faces radially outward; a plurality of inner connectors, at least one of the inner connectors installed in each of the container components in a state exposed on opposing surfaces of the container components respectively facing the attachment surfaces, wherein a respective opposing surface of the opposing surfaces is on a respective segment and faces radially inward; the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors being freely connected to and disconnected from each other, and when vulcanizing the green tire, the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors are set to be in a state of being connected before the vulcanization mold is closed; and that the lead wire is broken up into an in-mold lead wire extending through an interior of the vulcanization mold and connecting the sensor and the mold-side connector and an in-container lead wire connected at one end portion to the inner connector and extending through an interior of the at least one of the container components toward an exterior of the at least one of the container components, an outer connector connected to an other end portion of the in-container lead wire extending through an interior of the bottom plate and installed on the bottom plate in a state exposed on an outer side of the bottom plate, and an outer connector connected to an other end portion of the in-container lead wire extending through an interior of at least one of the segments and installed on the at least one of the segments in a state exposed on an outer side of the at least one of the segments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
a) Sato, which is within the tire molding art, teaches that sensors (“temperature sensors” (31), Fig 1, 2A) used in vulcanization molds can be placed so as to be exposed on a tire molding surface of the vulcanization mold and configured to be in direct contact with the green tire during vulcanization (Fig 2, 3, with the understanding that “sheath” (31a) comprises a part of “temperature sensor” (31), [0019]) for the benefit of accurate measurements ([0019]);
b1a) Nagamidori, which is within the tire molding art, teaches that a tire vulcanization device can comprise of a mold-side connector (“sector contact portions” (68, 70)) installed in the vulcanization mold in a state exposed on an attachment surface of the vulcanization mold that attaches to at least one of the container components (Fig 1, 3, 7); an inner connector (“actuator contact portions” (76, 78)) installed in the at least one of the container component in a state exposed on an opposing surface of the at least one of the container component facing the attachment surface (Fig 1, 3, 7), the mold-side connector and the inner connector being freely connected to and disconnected from each other (Fig 1, 3, 7, [0042], [0054]); and that the lead wire is broken up into an in-mold lead wire extending through an interior of the vulcanization mold and an in-container lead wire connected at one end portion to the inner connector and extending through an interior of the at least one of the container components toward an exterior of the at least one of the container components (Fig 1, 3, 7) for the benefit of detecting positional deviation to prevent poor tire appearance ([0019], [0063]);
b1b) given that the sensors of Nakada require an electrical connection ([0051], in that it sends “an electrical signal”) just as the “current-carrying circuit” (80) of Nagamidori does, it would have been well within a person of ordinary skill in the art’s ability to modify the wiring taught in Nakada so as to have the in-mold lead wire connecting the sensor taught in Nagamidori and the mold-side connector for the predictable result of powering the sensors;
b2) Nagamidori teaches that a container ring (“actuator” (16)) can comprise of a plurality of guide keys (“engaging portion (not shown) of the actuator”, [0046]) which extend in a vertical direction along an inner circumferential inclined surface of the container ring disposed in interval in a circumferential direction (Fig 4, 5, to work in conjunction with “engaging grooves” (50)) and guide grooves (“engaging grooves” (50)) which extend in a vertical direction along an outer circumferential inclined surface of each of the segments (“sectors” (14, 15)) are included, the guide key and the guide groove being configured to slide relative to one another with a configuration wherein, by the container ring moving downward, the guide key moves downward along the guide groove and the vulcanization mold is configured to close ([0046] Fig 4, 5 and 7) for the predictable result of controlling the radial movement of the segments;
b3) the combination of Nakada’s lead wire placement with regards to the “sector shoes” (10) and “segments” (12) along with Nagamidori’s general teaching of connector use between components of a vulcanization apparatus would result in a plurality of mold-side connectors installed in the vulcanization mold in a state exposed on attachment surfaces of the vulcanization mold that each attach to a respective one of the container components, wherein a respective attachment surface of the attachment surface of the attachment surfaces is on a respective sector mold and faces radially outward; a plurality of inner connectors, at least one of the inner connectors installed in each of the container components in a state exposed on opposing surfaces of the container components respectively facing the attachment surfaces, wherein a respective opposing surface of the opposing surfaces is on a respective segment and faces radially inward; the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors being freely connected to and disconnected from each other; and
c1) Nakada teaches that the bottom “base plate” (16) can also comprise of passages (32) ([0044]), and given that the use of sensors are tied directly to use in conjunction with said passages to close them and prevent spur creation ([0018], [0021]), any teachings in relation to sensor positioning, connecting and wiring for top “base plate” (16) are applicable to the bottom “base plate” (16);
c2) Nakada teaches that the sensor’s lead wire (“cord” (42)) passes through a container component (components including the top and bottom “base plate” (16) to another side (including an outer side) to a control unit (38) (Fig 1); and
c3) the combined teachings of Nakada and Nagamidori (see b1a) and b1b) as set forth above) teach the use of lead wires extending through container components and vulcanization molds with connector devices between container components vulcanization molds for establishing electrical connection, which includes when the vulcanization device comprises an outer connector connected to an other end portion of the in-container lead wire extending through an interior of the bottom plate and installed on the bottom plate in a state exposed on an outer side of the bottom plate, and an outer connector connected to an other end portion of the in-container lead wire extending through an interior of the segment and installed on the segment in a state exposed on an outer side of the segments; and
e) given that the use of “actuator contact portions” (76,78) and “sector contact portions” (68,70) as taught in Nagamidori would result in an electrical connection being made, close to but still before, the vulcanization mold is closed (Fig 1, 7), modified Nakada teaches that when vulcanizing the green tire, the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors are set to be in a state of being connected before the vulcanization mold is closed.
Regarding claim 3, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application for predetermined position to be set at a plurality of positions spaced apart in a tire circumferential direction in each region on the tire molding surface where a tire tread surface and both side surfaces are molded, as:
a) Nakada teaches that a plurality of segments that form the mold shape ([0008]), each with temperature sensors (Fig 1); and/or
b) Sato teaches placing sensors at each tire side portion for the benefit of maintaining even vulcanization across each tire region ([0007]-[0008]); and/or
c) Nagamidori teaches that each mold segment has an independent current supply circuit (and therefore a plurality) for each sector for the benefit of better identifying the position at which an error occurred ([0064]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, Nakada teaches that the sensor is at least one of a temperature sensor or a pressure sensor ([0051]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 3 as set forth above. Additionally, Nakada teaches that the sensor is at least one of a temperature sensor or a pressure sensor ([0051]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, as the combination of Nakada with Nagamidori teaches the use of connectors in conjunction with the in-container lead wires passing through the interior of tire vulcanization components as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Nakada teaches that the in-container lead wire communicating and extending through an interior of one of the segments and being connected to a top plate connector, of the inner connectors, installed in the top plate. While modified Nakada does not explicitly teach that the in-container lead wire communicates and extends through both an interior of the segment and the top plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, as case law holds that changes in shape are matters of design choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant (See MPEP 2144.04). In the instant case, the exact routing of the in-container lead wire is considered to be a matter of design choice.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada (JP2014087958) (machine translation) (of record), Sato (JP2017177567) (machine translation) (of record) and Nagamidori (JP2017209818A) (Machine Translation) (of record) as set forth above in the 103 rejection of claim 1 and in further view of Rice et al. (US20190131167) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Additionally, as the combination of Nakada with Nagamidori teaches the use of connectors in conjunction with the in-container lead wires passing through the interior of tire vulcanization components as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above, modified Nakada teaches that the in-container lead wire communicating and extending through an interior of one of the segments and being connected at one end portion to a top plate connector, of the inner connectors, installed in the top plate. While modified Nakada does not explicitly teach that the in-container lead wire communicates and extends through both an interior of the segment and the top plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, as case law holds that changes in shape are matters of design choice that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant (See MPEP 2144.04). In the instant case, the exact routing of the in-container lead wire is considered to be a matter of design choice.
While modified Nakada doesn’t explicitly teach that the in-container lead wire to have surplus length which is exposed to the outside between the segment and the top plate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that Rice, which is analogous to Nakada with regards to the placement of wiring between moving components of an apparatus, teaches that for a wire that travels through different components (via “channel” (236)), sufficient slack should be afforded to the wire for the benefit of allowing movement between components without breaking the wire ([0066]).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakada (JP2014087958) (machine translation) (of record) in view of Sato (JP2017177567) (machine translation) (of record) and Nagamidori (JP2017209818A) (Machine Translation) (of record) as set forth above in the 103 rejection of claim 1 and further in view of Halford et al. (EP2746020).
Regarding claim 12, modified Nakada teaches all limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. While Nakada does not explicitly disclose that the sensor is a hardness sensor that detects the hardness of the green tire, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the earliest effective priority date of the instant application to do so, given that:
a) Halford, which is within the molding arts, teaches that for a rubber vulcanization device ([0005]), sensors are used in conjunction with a control system for the benefit of measuring and tracking processing parameters ([0027]), including temperature sensors ([0031]);
b) Halford teaches that, in addition to sensors for temperatures like the temperature sensors used in Nakada, the system can comprise of hardness sensors for measuring the molded products ([0031]), said hardness sensor being required to interact with the molded product directly so as to measure the hardness of said product; and
c) the simple substitution of one known element, the temperature sensor of Nakada, for another known element, the hardness sensor in Halford, to yield the predictable result of tracking a process’s parameters (see MPEP 2143(I)(B)) is well within a person’s of ordinary skill’s ability to find obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding p.8 of applicant’s remarks, applicant repeats arguments made in the previous response to the Final rejection that “there is no evidence of improved accuracy but there would be additional cost and complexity for the combination”. Again, examiner disagrees, noting that both Nakada and Sato are focused on measuring temperatures at the cavity surface as a means of detecting when the tire comes into contact with the molding surface during the vulcanization process to control said process (Nakada: [0059]-[0060], Sato: [0019]) and that Sato, in particular, teaches having the sensor positioned as to touch the tire when it comes into contact with the molding surface so as to “measure the temperature at a position close to the molding surface of the tire T while suppressing the influence of the temperature of the vulcanization device 10 main body, so that the surface temperature of the lower side plate 11 or upper side plate 12 side of each tire side portion TS during the vulcanization process can be accurately measured.” In other words, Sato is teaching the specific placement of the sensor to avoid the influence of heating the vulcanization device has on determining temperature change as a result of the tire contacting the molding surface, an influence that would be present (in at least some amount) in Nakada, even if Nakada does not explicitly disclose said influence.
Regarding p.8-9 of applicant’s remarks, applicant repeats arguments made in the previous response to the Final rejection that “Nakada’s s acknowledgement and avoidance of the features of Sato” is an explicitly teaching away from the combination. ” Again, examiner disagrees, noting that the specific holes disclosed in Nakada are “vent holes” (26) which are designed to house “vent plugs” that are either opened to allow for the discharge of air remaining between the tire and the mold or closed to prevent the generation of spews/bears ([0004]-[0005], [0014]-[0015]). The specific hole taught by Sato which houses the sensor does not itself open or close for purposes of discharging air like in Nakada and is flush with the tire molding surface (Fig 3) and would not be in danger of spew/bear generation. Furthermore, with regards to applicant’s statements that “Nakada’s s acknowledgement and avoidance of the features of Sato” “Nakada avoids the Sato sensor configuration to avoid spew and the like”, examiner notes that such a statement amounts to the applicant’s own opinion not supported by explicit evidence from Nakada showing their supposed teaching away.
Regarding p.9 of applicant’s remarks, applicant repeats arguments from the previous response to the Final Rejection that “there is no basis to assume that any particular portion of the mold of Nakada is annular”. Again, examiner notes Nakada relates to a tire mold, with tires being known to be annular, and thus, tire molds (including side plates) have an annular shape. With regards to the segments, examiner disagrees as the previously set forth rejection and the current one both disclose “sector shoe” (10) of Nakada as said segments.
Regarding p.9 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Official Notice was improperly relied upon for teachings in relation to the sensor. Examiner notes that the content of the Official Notice was specifically only with regards to the use of guide keys and guide grooves in vulcanization molds, not with regards to the sensors.
Regarding p.9 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that the “Nakada sensors are already powered and have no need of the Nagamidori technology”. Examiner disagrees, noting that the purpose of Nagamidori’s teaching is to ensure proper positioning of vulcanization apparatus components by measuring changes in resistance ([0051]). If the components of Nakada were slightly out of position, a change in resistance would be apparent and can be identified then fixed.
Regarding p.9 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Rice does not teach the explicit routing claimed and that there is a lack of motivation for combining the teachings of Rice with Nakada. Examiner disagrees, noting that Rice was not being relied upon for teachings of specific routing but rather a general teaching of having surplus length between moving components (referred to in Rice as “sufficient slack”) to avoid damaging the wires ([0066]), representing a motivation for Rice’s incorporation into apparatuses that employ the use of wire between moving parts, including in Nakada.
Regarding p.10 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Nakada’s teachings in [0036] of “the side plate 14 [[being]] fixed to the base plate” and that Nakada does not explicitly teach separability and therefore does not meet the limitation in claim 1 of “the mold-side connectors and the inner connectors being freely connected to and disconnected from each other”. If applicant’s interpretation of passage of [0036] is that the side plate, in being fixed to the base plate, is permanently attached, examiner disagrees, noting that the term “fixed” used by Nakada in [0028] and [0036] does not explicitly state that such a fixing/attachment is permanent or necessary for the taught invention. Furthermore, examiner notes that applicant's arguments amount to argument against the references individually, in which case one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding p.10 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Nakada only teaches the use of sensors on two sides of the mold, specifically the upper side plate and the sector molds. Examiner disagrees, noting that as set forth above in the rejections above, Nakada explicitly states in [0044] that the base plate (16) can also comprise of the venting passages and given that Nakada is teaching the use of sensors and their positioning in conjunction with these venting passages, Nakada indirectly teaches that the base plate (16) can also comprise of sensors.
Regarding p.10-11 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that the teachings of Onimatsu ‘366 do not explicitly teach the specific arrangement of mold-side connectors on a sector mold facing radially outward and the inner connector on a segment facing inward. Examiner disagrees, noting that for arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Onimatsu’ 366 is relied upon for teachings of the use of pairs of connectors between components in the vulcanization apparatus, while Nakada is relied upon for teaching the arrange of connector location and orientation.
Regarding p.11 of applicant’s remarks, applicant argues that Nagamidori does not teach the connector configuration of claim 1, specifically that connectors are connected before the vulcanization mold is closed. Examiner disagrees, noting that Nagamidori is being relied upon for its teachings regarding connectors contacting one another, not for specific vulcanization and container structure, while it is Nakada that explicitly teaches said connector configuration of being connected prior to the vulcanization mold being closed.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER D BOOTH/Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749