DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 27-37, and 47-49 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 27-37, and 47-49 are pending. Claim 37 has been withdrawn. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 47-49 have been newly added.
Claims 1, 27-36, and 47-49 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 27-31, 33, 35, and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gothelf et al., (WO2014041024A1) (IDS filed on 1116/2021).
Instant claim 1 recites “A method for determining the presence and/or concentration of a small molecule analyte in a sample, said method comprising: I. providing a sample to be analyzed for the presence of the analyte; II. providing an analyte binding protein, said analyte binding protein being an antibody or fragment thereof comprising: - a binding site for the analyte; and- a first member of an optical signal pair covalently coupled to the analyte binding protein through a first oligonucleotide linker; III. providing an analyte analogue, said analyte analogue being covalently coupled to a second member of the optical signal pair through a second oligonucleotide linker; wherein, when said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue are in proximity, an optical signal is generated which is different from the optical signal generated when the analyte binding protein and the analyte analogue are not in proximity; IV. bringing in contact said sample, said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue, wherein said sample is brought in contact with the analyte binding protein before being brought in contact with said analyte analogue, and V. determining the presence or absence of the analyte in said sample by measuring an optical signal; and/or VI. determining the concentration of the analyte in said sample by measuring an optical signal, wherein the first oligonucleotide linker is at most 50% complementary to the second oligonucleotide linker”.
Gothelf teaches a method for determining the presence and/or concentration of a small molecule analyte in a sample, said method comprising:
I. providing a sample to be analyzed for the presence of the analyte (see abstract “The present invention relates to an analyte detection system for detecting analytes different from DNA and RNA. The system comprises a set of oligonucleotides which may hybridize to each other in specific ways and is able to generate a signal based on the specific hybridization events. The system relies on changes in the hybridization equilibrium between the oligonucleotides in the presence of an analyte or analytes, which results in a change in signal.”, pg. 2 lines 10-14 “Hence, an improved detection system for detecting molecules different from DNA and RNA would be advantageous, and in particular a more efficient and/or reliable detection system for detecting small molecules different from DNA and RNA would be advantageous.”, pg. 5 lines 12-21);
II. providing an analyte binding protein, said analyte binding protein being an antibody or fragment thereof (pg. 3 lines 2-3 “X represents the small molecule labelled on A, and Y is its corresponding binding protein.”, fig. 5) comprising:
- a binding site for the analyte (fig. 5, pg. 4 lines 11-13 “Another object is to provide a detection system which may detect small molecules different from DNA and RNA and only requiring one binding site on the analyte to detect the analyte.”, pg. 22, lines 31-34 disclosing the covalently linked binding moiety being an antibody; pg. 23 lines 3-7 “In an embodiment the binding moiety may also have a sandwich structure, in the sense that a covalently linked first moiety functions as a handle for a second binding moiety which can be bound covalently or non-covalently to the first moiety. Thus, a second binding moiety may have a dual function I) binding to the first moiety and II) binding site for the analyte.”); and
- a first member of an optical signal pair covalently coupled to the analyte binding protein through a first oligonucleotide linker (pg. 4 lines 17-32);
III. providing an analyte analogue, said analyte analogue being covalently coupled to a second member of the optical signal pair through a second oligonucleotide linker (pg. 4 lines 17-32); wherein,
when said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue are in proximity, an optical signal is generated which is different from the optical signal generated when the analyte binding protein and the analyte analogue are not in proximity (pg. 26 lines 30-36, pg. 27 lines 1-5, pg. 28 lines 30-36, pg. 29 lines 1-10);
IV. bringing in contact said sample, said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue, wherein said sample is brought in contact with the analyte binding protein before being brought in contact with said analyte analogue (fig. 14, pg. 8 lines 30-36, pg. 9 lines 1-5), and
V. determining the presence or absence of the analyte in said sample by measuring an optical signal (abstract “The system relies on changes in the hybridization equilibrium between the oligonucleotides in the presence of an analyte or analytes, which results in a change in signal.”); and/or
VI. determining the concentration of the analyte in said sample by measuring an optical signal (figure 15, pg. 38 lines 8-19 “Example 2: Detection of a small molecule: Biotin. By applying the inhibition strategy (Figure 5; Strategy 2) in the system described in example 1, biotin can be detected. In this experiment, biotin as the target being detected was first mixed with a predetermined amount of STV, then the whole mixture was added into the standard assay. In the presence of free biotin, all the active binding sites on STV will be occupied, thus it can't have an effect on the DNA equilibrium. This signal-off detection method was tested by using 14nM of DNA, 20nM of STV, and a series of concentrations of biotin. A titration curve is shown in figure 4e. The molar ratio between biotin and STV is consistent with the tetravalent property of STV.”),
Wherein the first oligonucleotide linker is at most 50%, 30%, or 20% complementary to the second oligonucleotide linker (see the table on page 35 showing the oligonucleotides. The first oligonucleotide and the second oligonucleotide are less than 20% complementary) (instant claims 1 and 47-48).
Gothelf teaches that the first oligonucleotide linker is an oligonucleotide consisting of between 2 and 100 nucleotides (pg. 15 lines 9-14) (instant claim 27). Gothelf teaches that the first oligonucleotide-linker and the second oligonucleotide linker are non-complementary (Example 1’s table on pg. 35, comparing the DNA strand sequences shows that the sequence of the first oligonucleotide and the second oligonucleotide are non-complementary) (instant claim 28) and that the first oligonucleotide-linker and the second oligonucleotide linker are DNA linkers (pg. 3 lines 1-2 “Here, A, B, and S are the three DNA oligonucleotides, among which both A and B are partially complementary to S.”) (instant claim 29). Gothelf teaches that the concentration of the analyte in the sample is determined (figure 15, pg. 38 lines 8-19) (instant claim 30). Gothelf teaches that in said determination step V.- when said generated optical signal is different from a reference optical signal, it is indicative of the presence of said analyte in said sample; or - when said generated optical signal is not different from a reference optical signal, it is indicative of the absence of the analyte in said sample (pg. 5 lines 13-21) (instant claim 31). Gothelf teaches that said sample is a biological sample selected from the group consisting of blood, blood plasma, blood serum, saliva, and urine (pg. 33 lines 8-11) (instant claim 33). Gothelf teaches that the analyte is an anticoagulant (pg. 23 lines 16-20, pg. 24 lines 9-10) (instant claim 35).
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolpashchikov, Dmitry M. “Binary probes for nucleic acid analysis.” Chemical reviews vol. 110,8 (2010): 4709-23. doi:10.1021/cr900323b
Instant claim 49 recites “A method for determining the presence and/or concentration of a small molecule analyte in a sample, said method comprising: I. providing a sample to be analyzed for the presence of the analyte; II. providing an analyte binding protein, said analyte binding protein being an antibody or fragment thereof comprising: - a binding site for the analyte; and- a first member of an optical signal pair covalently coupled to the analyte binding protein through a first oligonucleotide linker; III. providing an analyte analogue, said analyte analogue being covalently coupled to a second member of the optical signal pair through a second oligonucleotide linker; wherein, when said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue are in proximity, an optical signal is generated which is different from the optical signal generated when the analyte binding protein and the analyte analogue are not in proximity; IV. bringing in contact said sample, said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue, wherein said sample is brought in contact with the analyte binding protein before being brought in contact with said analyte analogue, and V. determining the presence or absence of the analyte in said sample by measuring an optical signal; and/or VI. determining the concentration of the analyte in said sample by measuring an optical signal; wherein step iv) comprises only two types of oligonucleotides”.
Kolpashchikov teaches a method for determining the presence and/or concentration of a small molecule analyte in a sample (see page 4709 “In the case of nucleic acid analysis the general idea of a binary (split or two-component) probe (BP) is as shown in Figure 1.”), said method comprising:
I. providing a sample to be analyzed for the presence of the analyte (see figure 12C showing a sample, see page 4721 teaching clinical samples);
II. providing an analyte binding protein, said analyte binding protein being an antibody or fragment (see pages 4709-4710 “The technique that uses a protein fragment as the analyte binding arms for reassembly of green fluorescent protein) thereof comprising:
- a binding site for the analyte (see figure 1); and
- a first member of an optical signal pair covalently coupled to the analyte binding protein through a first oligonucleotide linker (see figure 1, see page 4709 “Two oligonucleotides (analyte binding arms in Figure 1) are complementary to the adjoining positions of a nucleic acid analyte. In addition, both parts of the probe bear covalently bound functional groups or oligonucleotide fragments (Figure 1, cyan and yellow semicircles)”);
III. providing an analyte analogue, said analyte analogue being covalently coupled to a second member of the optical signal pair through a second oligonucleotide linker (see page 4720 “Binary deoxyribozyme probes are cost efficient in the case of multiplex analysis, since they require the synthesis of only two short unmodified DNA strands for each new analyte sequence, while the double-labeled reporter substrate is universal for all analytes.”, see page 4715 “The second part of the BP contained a covalently attached aliphatic azido group.”);
wherein, when said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue are in proximity, an optical signal is generated which is different from the optical signal generated when the analyte binding protein and the analyte analogue are not in proximity (see figure 1, see page 4709 “A detectable signal (green circle) is produced only when the two parts of the probe hybridize to the analyte.”, see page 4714 “Subsequently, the signaling moiety of the ligand came in close proximity to the nearby β-cyclodextrin group, which formed a luminous inclusion complex that fluoresced at 443 nm.”);
IV. bringing in contact said sample, said analyte binding protein and said analyte analogue, wherein said sample is brought in contact with the analyte binding protein before being brought in contact with said analyte analogue (see figure 1, see page 4709), and
V. determining the presence or absence of the analyte in said sample by measuring an optical signal (see page 4709 “detectable signal (green circle) is produced only when the two parts of the probe hybridize to the analyte. Examples of such signals include but are not limited by an increase in fluorescence or luminescence at specific wavelengths and chemical or enzymatic reactions that change the optical properties of the sample.”, see page 4720 “To enable real-time detection of the target, nucleic acid enzymes cleave a double-labeled fluorogenic reporter substrate that has an embedded ribonucleotide phosphodiester bond”, see page 4721 “In the presence of hemin, the complex catalyzed oxidation of colorless substrates to colored products, which could be detected visually (Figure 12C).”);
wherein step iv) comprises only two types of oligonucleotides (see figure 1) (instant claim 49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102- Response to Arguments
The arguments filed on 03/27/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
On pp. 6-7 applicant argues that Gothelf teaches the use of three DNA strands, while instant claim 1 only requires two DNA strands. However, the language of claim 1 is not limiting to only two DNA strands. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., only two oligonucleotides) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Examiner recommends amending claim 1 to clarify the use of only two oligonucleotides.
On p. 7 applicant argues that the amendment “the first oligonucleotide is at most 50% complementary to the second oligonucleotide linker” overcomes the prior art. However, the table on page 35 shows that the first oligonucleotide and the second oligonucleotide are not complementary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gothelf as applied claims 1, 27-31, 33, 35, and 47-48 above and in view of Kong et al., (US20100255488A1) (IDS filed on 11/16/2021).
The teachings of Gothelf as it pertains to claims 1, 27-31, 33, 35, and 47-48 are discussed in the 35 USC 102 rejection above.
Gothelf does not teach the distance between linkers.
Kong teaches the distance between the first member and the second member, when the analyte analogue is bound to the analyte binding protein, is in the range 1-100 Angstrom (see [0056] “The use of nucleic acid linker structures provides advantages of ease of synthesis of the labeled linker, using conventional DNA synthesis and dye coupling techniques, and resultant control of linker length, e.g., approximately 0.3 nm of distance imparted for each added monomer in the linker portion. Consequently, one can easily adjust the length of the linker to accommodate various spacing between the chromophores and the reactant portion, or between the chromophores themselves.”, 0.3 nm is equal to 3 angstrom).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant application to consider combining Gothelf’s methods of determining the presence and/or
concentration of small molecule analytes with Kong’s teachings of the linker distance. Kong
teaches that it is known in the art at the time of the instant application to distance the linkers in a
range from 1-100 Angstrom. Kong provides motivation by teaching that the length can easily be
adjusted to accommodate various spacings (see [0056]). The artisan would have had reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references at the time the instant application was filed.
Claims 34 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gothelf as applied to claims 1, 27-31, 33, 35, and 47-48 above, in view of Schmitz et al., “Determination of dabigatran, rivaroxaban and apixaban by ultra-performance liquid chromatography – tandem mass spectrometry (UPLC-MS/MS) and coagulation assays for therapy monitoring of novel direct oral anticoagulants” (2014).
The teachings of Gothelf as it pertains to claims 1, 27-31, 33, 35, and 47-48 are discussed in the 35 USC 102 rejection above.
Gothelf does not teach the use of the anticoagulant apixaban.
Schmitz teaches detecting and measuring the anticoagulant apixaban (see abstract “To develop and validate a reference ultra-performance liquid chromatography – tandem mass spectrometry (UPLCMS/ MS) method and to evaluate the analytical performance of several coagulation assays for quantification of dabigatran, rivaroxaban, and apixaban.”, page 1636 “For apixaban, the Liquid anti-Xa assay was superior to the PiCT-Xa assay.”) (instant claims 34 and 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant
application to consider combining the methods of determining the presence and/or concentration of small molecule analytes of Gothelf with the method of detecting and measuring apixaban taught by Schmitz. Schmitz provides motivation by teaching that assays can be used to detect apixaban in plasma (see page 1641). The artisan would have had reasonable expectation of success based on the cumulative disclosures of these prior art references at the time the instant application was filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103-Response to Arguments
The arguments filed on 03/27/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
On pp. 8-9 applicant argues that neither Kong nor Schmitz rectify the deficiencies of Gothelf. The arguments pertaining to Gothelf are discussed in the 35 UDC 102- Response to Arguments section above. Kong teaches the distance between the linkers (see [0056]). Schmitz teaches the use of anticoagulant apixaban. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MCKENZIE A DUNN/Examiner, Art Unit 1678
/GREGORY S EMCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1678