DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Considering Claim 1: Claim 1, as amended, recites a ratio of the aqueous epoxy resin emulsion and curing agent, but does not recite the basis for determining the ratio. The ratio can be based on weight, or volume, or a molar ratio. As such, the claim, which does not recite the basis is indefinite. For the purpose of further examination, the claim will be interpreted as defining a weight ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, 11, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 108690457) in view of Chen et al. (US Pat. 9,346,925) and Patel et al. (US 2012/0328811). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 108690457.
Considering Claim 1, 13, and 14: Zhao et al. teaches a two component epoxy resin paint (pg. 4) comprising an aqueous epoxy resin emulsion comprising a first epoxy emulsion having an epoxy equivalent weight of 400 to 800, and a second epoxy emulsion having an epoxy equivalent weight of 900 to 1000 (pg. 4) and a curing agent (pg. 4).
Zhao et al. does not teach the second epoxy component as having the claimed epoxy equivalent weight. However, Chen et al. teaches an epoxy emulsion using a epoxy resin having a epoxy equivalent weight of 1600-1950 (8:40-60). Zhao et al. and Chen et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy emulsions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the epoxy of Chen et al. as the high epoxy equivalent weight component of Zhao et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Chen et al. suggests, to provide high flexibility and toughness to the cured product (1:30-38).
Zhao et al. does not teach the glass transition temperature of the second epoxy resin. However, Patel et al. teaches epoxy resins with a glass transition temperature of 150 ºC (¶0005). Zhao et al. and Patel et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy resins. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected an epoxy resin with the claimed glass transition temperature, as in Patel et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Patel et al. suggests, to provide good high temperature properties (¶0005).
Zhao et al. teaches the ratio of the first and second emulsions as being 0.8-1.2:0.8-1.2 (pg. 4), which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the overlapping portion of the claimed range, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Zhao et al. suggests, it is a suitable ratio for the invention.
Zhao et al. teaches the amount of the epoxy resin emulsion as being 30 to 60 parts and the amount of curing agent as being 10 to 30 parts. The claimed ratio falls within the scope of the ranges of Zhao et al. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the claimed ratio of the emulsion and the curing agent within the ranges of Zhao et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Zhao et al. suggests, to form a dense network structure in the cured resin (pg. 4).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the emulsion stability, pot life, and initial sanding property would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients. It is noted that the emulsion stability refers to a specific test in the original specification. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claims 8 and 10: Zhao et al. teaches the combined emulsion as having a solid content of 45 to 55 weight percent (pg. 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have prepared the precursor emulsions at the same solid content to simplify the processing of the emulsions.
Considering Claim 11: Zhao et al. teaches the coating as comprising 30 to 60 parts of the epoxy emulsion, less than 30 parts of filler, and less than 60 weight percent of a wetting agent (pg. 3).
Considering Claim 15: Zhao et al. teaches using the paint as a middle coat/intermediate coat (pg. 3).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 108690457) in view of Chen et al. (US Pat. 9,346,925) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Birnbrich et al. (US Pat. 8,273,853).
Considering Claim 5: Zhao et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as shown above. Zhao et al. further teaches the use of water as the emulsifier.
Zhao et al. does not teach a reactive emulsifier. However, Birnbrich et al. teaches using a reactive emulsifier in an epoxy emulsion (1:57-67). Zhao et al. and Birnbrich et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy emulsions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the reactive emulsifier of Birnbrich et al. in the emulsion of Zhao et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Birnbrich et al. suggests, they are suitable for emulsions having epoxy resin weights disclosed in Zhao et al. (1:30-40).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (CN 108690457) in view of Chen et al. (US Pat. 9,346,925) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pataki (US Pat. 4,741,947).
Considering Claim 12: Zhao et al. teaches the composition of claim 1 as shown above.
Zhao et al. teaches using an amine curing agent. Pataki teaches using dicyandiamide as the preferred curing agent for an epoxy emulsion (5:31-41; Table 3). Zhao et al. and Pataki are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely epoxy emulsions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the curing agent of Pataki in the epoxy emulsion of Zhao et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Pataki suggests, they are conventional curing agents for epoxy emulsions (5:31-41).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
The applicant’s argument that Zhao et al. does not teach the claimed ratio of the emulsion and the curing agent is not persuasive. Zhao et al. teaches the amount of the epoxy resin emulsion as being 30 to 60 parts and the amount of curing agent as being 10 to 30 parts. The claimed ratio falls within the scope of the ranges of Zhao et al. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages."); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the claimed ratio of the emulsion and the curing agent within the ranges of Zhao et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Zhao et al. suggests, to form a dense network structure in the cured resin (pg. 4).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767