DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 2021 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pgs. 5-6, filed 09/04/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Macey et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0410135 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lachapelle (U.S. Publication No. 2012/0239335 A1) in view of Sajadi (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0324743 A1) and Macey et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0410135 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Lachapelle teaches a method of a backend server and a data provision apparatus for providing data for at least one data receiver, the data being generated by at least one function of the data provision apparatus, which at least one function can be configured on the basis of at least one configuration parameter, the method comprising: creating a configuration for the at least one function by specifying the at least one configuration parameter by a configuration device of the backend server; (Paragraph [0051], customized configuration settings corresponding to each sensing device are created and sent to the DS)
transmitting the created configuration to the data provision apparatus by an interface of the backend server; (Paragraph [0053], sampling device contacts the DS to obtain the configuration settings including sample fresh time, firmware revision, etc.)
receiving the configuration by an interface of the data provision apparatus; configuring the at least one function on the basis of the received configuration; (Paragraph [DOSS], when configuration settings are received at the sensing device, the sensing device uses the sample refresh time to determine sampling frequency for measurements)
and providing the data generated by the configured at least one function via the interface of the data provision apparatus, (Paragraph [0056], measurement data received from the sensors is sampled using the sampling frequency and stored for transmission to the appropriate DS)
Lachapelle does not teach wherein a checking apparatus is configured to, during or after creating the configuration for the at least one function, determine whether the created configuration, and/or whether the provision of data to the at least one data receiver, is permissible, wherein the permissibility is checked based on a user preference, wherein the data provided by the at least one function are anonymized before being provided.
However, Sajadi teaches wherein a checking apparatus is configured to, during or after creating the configuration for the at least one function, determine whether the created configuration, and/or whether the provision of data to the at least one data receiver, is permissible, (Paragraph [0025]-[0026], configuration policy evaluator evaluates each rule against the contents of the configuration file and determines whether to deploy the file or prohibit deployment)
wherein the permissibility is checked based on a user preference. (Paragraph [0020], configuration policy manager provides a user interface for creating configuration file policies)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lachapelle's configuring of sensing devices with Sajadi's evaluation of configuration files in order to determine if the sensing device is being configured properly. One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to ensure systems are not inoperable, insecure, or otherwise out of compliance (Sajadi Paragraph [0004]).
The combination of Lachapelle and Sajadi does not teach wherein the data provided by the at least one function are anonymized before being provided.
However, Macey et al. teaches wherein the data provided by the at least one function are anonymized before being provided. (Paragraph [0174], host anonymizes the data and aggregates it before returning it to the platform; Additionally, Paragraph [0178], anonymization steps are applied within data source 50 so that no non-anonymized data leaves the data source)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lachapelle and Sajadi's determining if the sensing device is being configured properly with Macey et al.'s anonymizing data in order to determining if the sensing device is being configured properly while protecting the customers identity. One would be motivated to combine these teachings in order to prevent data or security risks (Macey et al. Paragraph [0185]).
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one function is registered in the configuration apparatus of the back end server, wherein the associated at least one configuration parameter of the at least one function of the configuration apparatus is communicated within the context of the registration. (Lachapelle Paragraph [0051], customized configuration settings corresponding to each sensing device are created and sent to the DS; Additionally, Lachapelle Paragraph [0053], sampling device contacts the DS to obtain the configuration settings including sample fresh time, firmware revision, etc.)
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 1, wherein a configuration of the at least one function is requested by the data provision apparatus from the backend server. (Lachapelle Paragraph [0053], sampling device contacts the DS to obtain the configuration settings)
Regarding Claim 7:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the created configuration is encoded and/or signed before transmission. (Lachapelle Paragraph [0054], user can send data to their own data base for security and/or confidentiality reasons)
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one data receiver suggests a configuration for the at least one function. (Lachapelle Paragraph [0052], sensing device may initialize configuration automatically as soon as it is powered on)
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the provision of the data comprises forwarding the data via the backend server to the at least one data receiver. (Lachapelle Paragraph [0056], sensing data is sent to the DS)
Regarding Claim 10:
Claim 10 is the system of claim 1 and is thus rejected under the same rational as cited above.
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 2, wherein a configuration of the at least one function is requested by the data provision apparatus from the backend server. (Lachapelle Paragraph [0053], sampling device contacts the DS to obtain the configuration settings)
Regarding Claim 20:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the created configuration is encoded and/or signed before transmission. (Lachapelle Paragraph [0054], user can send data to their own data base for security and/or confidentiality reasons)
Regarding Claim 21:
The combination of Lachapelle, Sajadi and Macey et al. additionally teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the created configuration to the data provision apparatus by an interface of the backend is when the checking apparatus determines the created configuration, and/or whether the provision of data to the at least one data receiver, is permissible. (Sajadi Paragraph [0025]-[0026], configuration policy evaluator evaluates each rule against the contents of the configuration file and determines whether to deploy the file or prohibit deployment)
Conclusion
/T.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/THOMAS C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115