DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of international
Application No. PCT/US2019/068001, filed 12/20/2019, which claims the priority benefit of
PCT Application No. PRO 62/782,906, filed 12/20/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on dates 06/08/2022, 07/12/2022,
12/02/2022 and 08/25/2025 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Status of claims
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 19 are pending. Claims 1-4 and 8 are amended. Claims 6, and 14-18 are cancelled by applicant. Claims 10-13 are withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 19 are currently under examination.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/24/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
The obviousness rejection below is repeated from the 12/29/2025 Office Action and modified in order to address the most recent amendments.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the limitations of claims 4-5 wherein the YTHDF1 inhibitor reduces expression of one or more lysosomal cathepsins B,D and/or L is being considered as an inherent property of the compound. See MPEP 2112(III).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishizawa (Oncogene c-Myc promotes epitranscriptome m6A reader YTHDF1 expression in colorectal cancer, 2017, pgs. 7476-7486) in view of Alsaab (PD-1 and PD-L 1 Checkpoint Signaling Inhibition for Cancer Immunotherapy: Mechanism, Combinations, and Clinical Outcome, 2017, pgs. 1-15) and further in view of Janco (Tumor-Infiltrating Dendritic Cells in Cancer Pathogenesis, 2015, pgs. 2985-2991).
The instant claims are directed to a method for treating cancer comprising administering a YTH N6-Methyladenosine RNA Binding Protein I (YTHDF1) inhibitor wherein the inhibitor is an antibodies, antibody-drug conjugates, fusion proteins, small molecule, dsRNA, siRNA, anti-sense oligonucleotide, aptamer, or a gene editing agent to a subject receiving an immune checkpoint inhibitor selected from a PD-L1, PD-1, CTLA4, CSG1 antibody, an IDO inhibitor, Pembrolizumab, Nivolumab, Cemiplimab, Atezolizumab, Avelumab, Durvalumab, and Ipilimumab.
Nishizawa teaches a method of enhancing cancer treatment by attenuating YTHDF1 in a colorectal cancer (CRC) cell with an anticancer agent "We performed chemosensitivity assay using fluorouracil (5-FU) and oxaliplatin (L-OHP), which are anticancer drugs commonly used in the therapeutic treatment of patients with CRC (page 7478, col. 2, second para.). The results from the chemosensitivity assay showed that transfected YTHDF1 siRNA cells had a higher sensitivity to both 5-FU and L-OHP than cells transfected with negative control siRNA in HT29 cells." Nishizawa also states "[t]aken together with the present observation of YTHDF1 role in cancer cell proliferation, the data suggest the candidacy of YTHDF1 as a possible therapeutic target (page 7479, col. 2 para. 1). Nishizawa discloses "we performed a proliferation assay with the knockdown cells, which showed that the knockdown of YTHDF1 resulted in the inhibition of cell proliferation compared with cells transfected as a negative control siRNA in both SW480 and HT29 cells" ((pg. 7478, col 1, para 2 and col 2, para 1)
However, Nishizawa et al. fail to disclose a method of enhancing cancer treatment wherein the subject is undergoing therapy with an immune checkpoint inhibitor or YTHDF1 activity is attenuated in an antigen presenting cell (APC) and/or dendritic cell (DC).
Alsaab et al. teaches a colorectal cancer immunotherapy treatment using the checkpoint inhibitors of ipilimumab, Nivolumab and also anti-PD-1 antibody Atezolizumab (p. 2, col.1, last para. - col. 2, first para.). Furthermore, Alsaab discloses the use of 5-fluororacil (which is also used by Nishizawa) enhanced immunotherapy when used in combination with attenuated YTH N6-Methyladenosine RNA Binding Protein 1 (YTHDF1) (page 13, col. 1, "Combination of PD-1 and Chemotherapeutics" section). "Recent trends in cancer treatment are moving toward combination immunotherapy, but its success depends on addressing the challenges of choosing the right drug combination, optimizing the dose and schedule of the combination regimen, and managing toxicities and side effects" (p.13, col. 1 ). Alsaab teaches (p 12, col 1, para 4) that an immune checkpoint inhibitor can be a PD-1 antibody "Targeting T-cells regulatory proteins, such as CTLA--4 and PD-1 by checkpoint blocking antibodies has been strengthened the area of cancer immunotherapy. The FDA approval of CTLA-4 antibody inhibitor (ipilimumab) and PD-1 inhibitors (Pembrolizumab, Nivolumab) have diversified the clinical activity toward wide variety solid tumor including lung cancer, renal cell cancer, and ovarian cancer. Based on clinical data these monotherapeutics have been demonstrated to be a successful immunotherapy regimen. Considering the safety and better clinical activity of monotherapy the field is moving toward the direction of discovering novel combination therapies (abstract). Various anti-cancer agents including other check point inhibitors, kinase inhibitors, chemotherapeutics, and targeting agents are used in combination with PD-1 antibody inhibitors" Furthermore, Alsaab teaches "Recent trends in cancer treatment are moving toward combination immunotherapy, but its success depends on addressing the challenges of choosing the right drug combination, optimizing the dose and schedule of the combination regimen, and managing toxicities and side effects" (page 13, col. 1, second para).
However, Alsaab et al. fail to disclose YTHDF1 activity is attenuated in an antigen presenting cell (APC) and/or dendritic cell (DC).
Janco et al teach “[d]endritic cells (DCs) play a pivotal role in the tumor microenvironment, which is known to affect disease progression in many human malignancies” (Intro., pg. 2985) Janco also discloses dendritic cells as “DCs are key decision makers, determining whether the adaptive arm of the immune system should or should not be activated. Crucial as professional APCs, they present Ags and provide a multitude of other necessary signals” (Dendritic cells, 1st para., pg. 2985) Janco also teaches that a number of studies found correlations between the presence of infiltrating immune cells in the tumor microenvironment (TME) and prognosis of many cancers, such as colorectal cancer and that dendritic cells are a component of the TME (left col, 2nd para., pg. 2985).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to administer the method of Nishizawa of treating colorectal cancer cells (CRC) while considering Janco’s disclosure of dendritic and antigen presenting cells because treatment of a YTHDF1 inhibitor in the tumor microenvironment impacts the tumor localized dendritic cells which are also antigen presenting cells in a combination of a YTHDF1 inhibitor and an anticancer agent with Alsaab’s disclosure of administering a PD-1, PDL-1, and CTLA-4 checkpoint antibody inhibitors to a subject with CRC because a skilled artisan would have recognized combining two methods of treating colorectal cancer into a combined therapy as prima facie obvious to try. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to administer a YTHDF1 inhibitor to a subject with CRC as taught by Nishizawa and Janco with an immune checkpoint inhibitor as taught by Alsaab in a combination therapy with a reasonable expectation of success in treating a colorectal cancer.
Conclusion
All claims are rejected, no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
/E.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/SAMANTHA L SHTERENGARTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623