DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 22-28 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites at line 8 (relative to page 5 of the Claims of 02/16/2026), “particles, and the layer and configured to be flexible,” which appears to either have an extra “and” or has omitted an element. Since claims 23-28 inherent the deficiency of claim 22, claims 23-28 are also objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 15, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murooka, et. al. (see EPO Machine Translation of WO2016031270A1), in view of Ogawa, et. al. (US2010302704A1), Shibusawa, et. al. (US2016056455A1), and Hasegawa, et. al. (EP 3386005 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Murooka teaches a battery comprising a contact unit (first external electrode 18, second external electrode 19) for an electronic or electrochemical device comprising anodic and cathodic current collectors (first current collector 11a and second current collector 12a), such as a battery (electric storage device 1, specified in Fig. 1 – 4 to be a secondary battery), with said electronic or electrochemical device comprising a contact surface (first inner electrode 11, second inner electrode 12) defining an electrical connection area (at least a portion of the ends of the inner electrodes 11, 12). Murooka at [0045 – 56], Fig. 2, 6C.
Murooka teaches a conductive adhesive layer 18b or 19b, and that the conductive particles of the conductive adhesive preferably use “carbon and the like.” Murooka at [0050 – 56]. Murooka teaches this first sprayed film 18b has the effect of “reducing the electric resistance value of the first external electrode 18.” Id.
Murooka teaches an inner electrode 11 includes a first current collector 11a and first active material layers 11b and 11c, as well as a second internal electrode having a second current collector 12 a, having active material layers 12 b and 12 c. Murooka at [0032 – 38]. Murooka teaches the first metal cap 18 c is “electrically connected to and adhered to the first sprayed film 18 a by the first conductive film 18b. Therefore, the first metal cap 18 c is electrically connected to the first inner electrode 11.” Murooka at [0047- 49], Fig. 2. Thus, the first sprayed film reads upon the layer in that it is configured to be in contact with said anodic or cathodic current collectors.
Fig. 1 of Murooka, depicting the electrodes 18, 19, and the exterior body 20.
Fig. 2 of Murooka.
Murooka does not directly teach that the first layer is disposed on at least the electrical connection area and configured to be in contact with anodic and cathodic current collectors, because there is some ambiguity as to whether the carbon particles are instead found within first conductive film 18 b rather than 18 a.
Ogawa teaches a laminated electronic component 101, having an external terminal electrode 8, 108 and 9, 109; these external electrodes comprise first metal layers 10, 11, conductive resin layers 12 and 13 disposed on the first metal layers 10 and 11, and further comprise second metal layers 13 and 15 provided upon the resin, and third metal layers 16 and 17 upon the second metal layers. Ogawa at [0039 – 44]. Further, Ogawa teaches an alternative embodiment to plating the metal layers wherein “a conductive paste may be applied and baked to form the first metal layers 10 and 11.” Id. Ogawa teaches a tradeoff, wherein while plating may produce a smaller thickness, plating “directly on the end surfaces,” Ogawa also notes in the prior art that when plating is performed directly onto the ends at which the internal electrodes are exposed, plating solution enters the component main body along the interfaces between the internal electrodes and the insulator layers may erode the ceramic . . . thereby causing structural defects.” Id. at [0007-10]. In addition, regarding the related art, Ogawa teaches that for an external terminal electrode in a three-layer structure comprising a first and second metal layer, this second layer “ensure[s] the solderability,” with the configuration of Ogawa specifically improving “fixing strength.” Id. at [0004- 6, 46 – 48].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the external electrode 18, 19 of Murooka such that the conductive adhesive of first conductive film 18b (containing carbon particles) of Ogawa is the first layer (41) of Claim 1, disposed on at least the electrical connection area of Murooka, and configured to be in contact with said anodic or cathodic current collectors (11, 12) of Murooka, this first layer comprising a material filled with carbon particles (conductive adhesive layer containing a resin and conductive particles dispersed in the resin which may contain carbon and the like, as in Murooka), because Ogawa teaches this may prevent the ceramic erosion associated with plating. Further, Ogawa teaches a benefit to improving solderability and fixing strength, which is key to constructing an external electrode, which must at once provide structural stability and limited conductivity while not shifting in such a way that the internal electrodes may be exposed, blocked, or allowed to form a short circuit. Id. at [0004- 6, 46 – 48].
Modified Murooka teaches a first layer comprising a conductive paste of Ogawa in the space of the porous metal of sprayed film layer 18a. Without conceding as to the previous arguments regarding the modification of Murooka with Ogawa, Shibusawa is provided to demonstrate the spray coating of a conductive carbon film layer is known in the art.
Shibusawa teaches a structure 10, wherein a substrate 12 may comprise a porous resin, or a metals or semimetals such as Si, and an amorphous carbon film 14 may be formed upon the substrate. Shibusawa at [0020 - 24]. Shibusawa teaches the structure 10 “can be very effectively applied to a contact part (contact point),” and is prone to adhesion by soft metals provided on the contact parts by plating, such as Cu, a soft metal, and “external electrodes of a ceramic capacitor.” Id. at [0032 – 33].
Fig. 1 of Shibusawa.
Murooka may be further modified such that the porous metal layer 18a composed of porous aluminum of Murooka and a baked conductive paste of Ogawa is specifically a carbon film layer in the relative location of 18a (i.e., the closest layer to the internal electrodes, typo within the reference notwithstanding), wherein the second layer 18b (see above regarding said typo) comprises a porous aluminum layer (but not a single layer, or carbon layers disposed within the pores of the porous aluminum layer).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify Murooka, such that the first layer comprising a conductive paste of Ogawa in the space of the porous metal of sprayed film layer 18a of Murooka is explicitly a carbon film layer as taught by Shibusawa, because Shibusawa teaches a layer comprising carbon particles are “very effective[]” when applied to a contact point, which at least suggests a benefit to its use in the electrical connection area of a contact unit.
Regarding the new amendments, the first layer now requires “a polymer resin and/or a material obtained by a sol-gel process, the first layer including carbon particles, and the first layer having a thickness between 5 µm and 50 µm.” Ogawa teaches a conductive film (“[0018] In the electric storage device according to the present invention, it is preferable that the first and second conductive films are each composed of a conductive adhesive layer containing a resin and conductive particles dispersed in the resin” ; these films may comprise, for example, acrylic resin, i.e. a polymer resin) or pastes (a “conductive resin layer,”), but does not recite the claimed first layer having a thickness between 5 µm and 50 µm.
Hasegawa teaches a stacked battery, wherein “[0031] The cathode current collector layer 21 may be formed of metal foil, metal mesh, etc., and is especially preferably formed of metal foil. Metals that may form the cathode current collector layer 21 include Ni, Cr, Au, Pt, Al, Fe, Ti, Zn, stainless steel, etc. The cathode current collector layer 21 may have some coating layer for adjusting contact resistance, over its surface, which is, for example, a coating layer containing conductive material and resin. The thickness of the cathode current collector layer 21 is not limited, but for example, is preferably 0.1 µm to 1 mm, and is more preferably 1 µm to 100 µm.” Hasegawa at [0004, 31, 33]. The phrase “not further limited” supports an inference that similar properties may be expected across the entire range, and thereby the thickness should be selected according to use. Further, “[0033] Carbon materials such as acetylene black and ketjenblack, and metallic materials such as nickel, aluminum and stainless steel can be used as the conductive additive.” Id. Finally, Hasegawa teaches that high contact resistance lowers the current flow to a given area, indicating modifying the contact resistance of an electrical connection area would allow for modulating the current flow as needed. Id. at [0057].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify modified Murooka, such that the first layer comprises a polymer resin, the first layer including carbon particles (the acetylene black carbon materials of Hasegawa at [0033]), and the first layer having a thickness between 5 µm to 50 µm, because Hasegawa teaches a benefit to modulating contact resistance and thereby current flow, and because an encompassing range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
As such, Claim 1 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa.
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 2 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Murooka teaches “[t]he first and second sprayed films 18 a, 19 a can be made of, for example, Al, an Al alloy or the like. In the present embodiment, the first and second sprayed films 18 a, 19 a are composed of a porous body such as Al or an Al alloy and a sealant filled in the pores of the porous body.” Murooka at [43 – 47].
Both Murooka and Ogawa teach a plurality of layers which comprise an external electrode, wherein Ogawa at [0041 – 47] teaches, including a potential first baked layer, three metal layers. The second metal layers 14 and 15 are formed using a plating film which may comprise nickel, and the third metal layers 16 and 17 are formed with the use of a plating film including tin or gold. Ogawa at [0066 – 69]. This “second metal layer,” reads upon a second layer consisting of a metal foil.
As such, Claim 2 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa.
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 3 relies upon Claim 2. Claim 2 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Ogawa teaches third metal layers 16 and 17 are formed with the use of a plating film including tin or gold. Ogawa at [0066 – 69]. However, Ogawa does not teach this gold or tin are in alloy form. This nevertheless reads upon “a third layer comprising pure tin, disposed on the second layer.”
As such, Claim 3 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa.
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 5 relies upon Claim 3. Claim 3 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Murooka teaches a coating layer 23 disposed upon the metal caps 21 which may comprise a plurality of layers. Murooka at [0053 – 56]. Further, this laminate may include a coating layer comprising Ag, Au, Sn, or an alloy containing at least one of them. As such, Murooka reads upon a fourth layer a fourth layer of pure tin disposed on the third layer.
As such, Claim 5 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa.
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 6 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Murooka, as modified, teaches the electronic or electrochemical device including at least one contact unit according to claim 1. Further, Murooka teaches an encapsulating material (exterior body 20 a, comprising outer casing 20; see Fig. 1) covering multiple faces of the battery other than the contact unit-covered faces, and multiples of the contact unit being oppositely located on the contact unit covered faces (i.e., the electrodes 18, 19, shown in Fig. 1. Murooka at Fig. 1 (see above).
As such, Claim 6 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa.
Regarding Claim 15, Claim 15 relies upon Claim 1. Claim 1 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Murooka teaches a contact unit, but is silent as to the carbon particles being specifically carbon black, graphite or graphene particles.
Shibusawa recites “[0038] electrically conductive particles such as carbon black,” and teaches acetylene black is a carbon black. Shibusawa at [0003, 38]. Regarding “the first layer is flexibly configured to absorb deformations,” Shibusawa teaches “[0027] The amorphous carbon film 14 containing Si according to an embodiment, which has lower heat conductivity than the ordinary amorphous carbon film, may have less tendency to conduct the heat produced by the laser application to the substrate 12 , thereby restraining thermal deformation and damage of the substrate 12 caused by the laser application.” Further, Shibusawa teaches “[0050] the parts of the amorphous carbon film not irradiated with the laser beam (not modified) may retain the properties of the typical amorphous carbon film and remain in the structure 10 as protection parts for the modified part against the external stresses.” This indicates that the amorphous carbon film 14 of Shibusawa presents wear resistance, protection against “thermal deformation,” and protects against “external deformation,” which at least implies the film is configured to be flexible in order to absorb deformations. Id. at [0027, 50].
As such, Claim 15 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa.
Regarding Claim 22, Regarding Claim 1, Murooka teaches a battery (energy storage device 1), comprising: anodic and cathodic current collectors (first and second current collectors 11a, 12a), and a contact unit (first external electrode 18, second external electrode 19. Murooka at [0045 – 56], Fig. 2, 6C.
Murooka teaches a conductive adhesive layer 18b or 19b, and that the conductive particles of the conductive adhesive preferably use “carbon and the like.” Murooka at [0050 – 56]. Murooka teaches this first sprayed film 18b has the effect of “reducing the electric resistance value of the first external electrode 18.” Id.
Murooka teaches an inner electrode 11 includes a first current collector 11a and first active material layers 11b and 11c, as well as a second internal electrode having a second current collector 12 a, having active material layers 12 b and 12 c. Murooka at [0032 – 38]. Murooka teaches the first metal cap 18 c is “electrically connected to and adhered to the first sprayed film 18 a by the first conductive film 18b. Therefore, the first metal cap 18 c is electrically connected to the first inner electrode 11.” Murooka at [0047- 49], Fig. 2. Thus, the first sprayed film reads upon the layer in that it is configured to be in contact with said anodic or cathodic current collectors.
Fig. 2 of Murooka.
Murooka does not directly teach that the layer is configured to be disposed on at least the electrical connection area and configured to be in contact with anodic and cathodic current collectors, because there is some ambiguity as to whether the carbon particles are instead found within first conductive film 18 b rather than 18 a.
Ogawa teaches a laminated electronic component 101, having an external terminal electrode 8, 108 and 9, 109; these external electrodes comprise first metal layers 10, 11, conductive resin layers 12 and 13 disposed on the first metal layers 10 and 11, and further comprise second metal layers 13 and 15 provided upon the resin, and third metal layers 16 and 17 upon the second metal layers. Ogawa at [0039 – 44]. Further, Ogawa teaches an alternative embodiment to plating the metal layers wherein “a conductive paste may be applied and baked to form the first metal layers 10 and 11.” Id. Ogawa teaches a tradeoff, wherein while plating may produce a smaller thickness, plating “directly on the end surfaces,” Ogawa also notes in the prior art that when plating is performed directly onto the ends at which the internal electrodes are exposed, plating solution enters the component main body along the interfaces between the internal electrodes and the insulator layers may erode the ceramic . . . thereby causing structural defects.” Id. at [0007-10]. In addition, regarding the related art, Ogawa teaches that for an external terminal electrode in a three-layer structure comprising a first and second metal layer, this second layer “ensure[s] the solderability,” with the configuration of Ogawa specifically improving “fixing strength.” Id. at [0004- 6, 46 – 48].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the external electrode 18, 19 of Murooka such that the conductive adhesive of first conductive film 18b (containing carbon particles) of Ogawa is “the layer being in contact with the anodic or cathodic current collectors,” because Ogawa teaches this may prevent the ceramic erosion associated with plating. Further, Ogawa teaches a benefit to improving solderability and fixing strength, which is key to constructing an external electrode, which must at once provide structural stability and limited conductivity while not shifting in such a way that the internal electrodes may be exposed, blocked, or allowed to form a short circuit. Id. at [0004- 6, 46 – 48].
Modified Murooka teaches a layer comprising a conductive paste of Ogawa in the space of the porous metal of sprayed film layer 18a. Without conceding as to the previous arguments regarding the modification of Murooka with Ogawa, Shibusawa is provided to demonstrate the spray coating of a conductive carbon film layer is known in the art.
Shibusawa teaches a structure 10, wherein a substrate 12 may comprise a porous resin, or a metals or semimetals such as Si, and an amorphous carbon film 14 may be formed upon the substrate. Shibusawa at [0020 - 24]. Shibusawa teaches the structure 10 “can be very effectively applied to a contact part (contact point),” and is prone to adhesion by soft metals provided on the contact parts by plating, such as Cu, a soft metal, and “external electrodes of a ceramic capacitor.” Id. at [0032 – 33]. This carbon film layer comprises carbon black. Shibusawa at [0039] (“[0039] An amorphous carbon film 14 according to an embodiment can be used as a protection film of an electrode or a separator so as to achieve excellent adhesion and corrosion resistance. That is, the amorphous carbon film containing Si, which may have better adhesion to the substrate and corrosion resistance than the ordinary amorphous carbon film, may include an electrically conductive part having electrical conductivity and may be used as a protection film of an electrode or a separator, thereby achieving a cell restraining the difficulty in handling the particles of carbon black and the adverse effects on human bodies. Such an amorphous carbon film 14 according to an embodiment can be formed to a large thickness so as to restrain the occurrence of pinholes in an electrode or a separator and maintain the continuity of the film, and a slurry of a carbon black such as acetylene black can be applied onto the amorphous carbon film 14 , such that an electrolyte can be absorbed due to the high structure of the carbon black.”). Finally, Shibusawa teaches “[0047] The amorphous carbon film 14 containing Si in an embodiment can be formed on a wide range of materials with satisfactory adhesion; therefore, the amorphous carbon film 14 containing Si can provide electrically conductive wiring or an electrode part to materials not adapted for wet plating wiring such as paper, resin.”
Fig. 1 of Shibusawa.
Regarding “configured to be flexible in order to absorb deformation,” Shibusawa teaches “[0027] The amorphous carbon film 14 containing Si according to an embodiment, which has lower heat conductivity than the ordinary amorphous carbon film, may have less tendency to conduct the heat produced by the laser application to the substrate 12 , thereby restraining thermal deformation and damage of the substrate 12 caused by the laser application.” Further, Shibusawa teaches “[0050] the parts of the amorphous carbon film not irradiated with the laser beam (not modified) may retain the properties of the typical amorphous carbon film and remain in the structure 10 as protection parts for the modified part against the external stresses.” This indicates that the amorphous carbon film 14 of Shibusawa presents wear resistance, protection against “thermal deformation,” and protects against “external deformation,” which at least implies the film is configured to be flexible in order to absorb deformations. Id. at [0027, 50].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify Murooka, such that the layer comprising a conductive paste of Ogawa in the space of the porous metal of sprayed film layer 18a of Murooka is explicitly “the layer comprising . . . polymer resin material including carbon particles; the carbon particles being one of: (a) carbon black, (b) graphite or (c) graphene particles, and the layer and configured to be flexible in order to absorb deformations” as taught by Shibusawa, because Shibusawa teaches a layer comprising carbon particles are “very effective[]” when applied to a contact point, which at least suggests a benefit to its use in the electrical connection area of a contact unit.
Murooka and Ogawa teach conductive films (“[0018] In the electric storage device according to the present invention, it is preferable that the first and second conductive films are each composed of a conductive adhesive layer containing a resin and conductive particles dispersed in the resin” ; these films may comprise, for example, acrylic resin, i.e. a polymer resin) or pastes (a “conductive resin layer,”), but do not recite the claimed layer having a thickness between 5 µm and 50 µm.
Hasegawa teaches a stacked battery, wherein “[0031] The cathode current collector layer 21 may be formed of metal foil, metal mesh, etc., and is especially preferably formed of metal foil. Metals that may form the cathode current collector layer 21 include Ni, Cr, Au, Pt, Al, Fe, Ti, Zn, stainless steel, etc. The cathode current collector layer 21 may have some coating layer for adjusting contact resistance, over its surface, which is, for example, a coating layer containing conductive material and resin. The thickness of the cathode current collector layer 21 is not limited, but for example, is preferably 0.1 µm to 1 mm, and is more preferably 1 µm to 100 µm.” Hasegawa at [0004, 31, 33]. Further, “[0033] Carbon materials such as acetylene black and ketjenblack, and metallic materials such as nickel, aluminum and stainless steel can be used as the conductive additive.” Id. Finally, Hasegawa teaches that high contact resistance lowers the current flow to a given area, indicating modifying the contact resistance of an electrical connection area would allow for modulating the current flow as needed. Id. at [0057].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify modified Murooka, such that layer comprises a polymer resin, carbon particles (the acetylene black carbon materials of Hasegawa at [0033]), and comprises a thickness between 5 µm to 50 µm, because Hasegawa teaches a benefit to modulating contact resistance and thereby current flow, and because an encompassing range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
As such, Claim 22 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa.
Claims 23 – 26, 29 - 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu, et. al. (US2017162917A1).
Regarding Claim 23, Claim 23 relies upon Claim 22. Claim 22 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Murooka is silent as to Li4Ti5O12 as an anode active material and LiMn2O4 as a cathode active material.
Yu teaches a battery, having a current collector 12, wherein “[0023] Examples of positive electrode materials (cathode) include lithium manganese oxide spinels (LiMn2 O4 , sometimes LMO herein), lithium nickel oxide, lithium cobalt oxide and other lithium-metal-oxides. In embodiments of this disclosure, nanometer-size particles of an acid-consuming metal oxide or metal nitride are mixed with somewhat larger size (e.g., 50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium manganese oxide, lithium cobalt oxide, or other positive electrode material . . . [0026] Deposited on both major faces of the negative electrode current collector 12 are thin, porous layers of negative electrode material 14 . In an illustrated example of this disclosure, the negative electrode material comprises sub-micrometer or micrometer-size (50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium titanate (Li4 Ti5 O12), sometimes LTO in this specification . . .”). Yu at [0023 – 26]. Yu describes its structure provides “[0004] a power source for commercial applications requiring an efficient, high power density, electrical power source.” Id.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Murooka, such that it comprises Li4Ti5O12 as an anode active material and LiMn2O4 as a cathode active material, because Yu teaches this configuration provides high power density.
Claim 23 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 24 relies upon Claim 22. Claim 22 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Murooka teaches an encapsulating material (exterior body 20 a, comprising outer casing 20; see Fig. 1) covering multiple faces of the battery other than the contact unit-covered faces, and multiples of the contact unit being oppositely located on the contact unit covered faces (i.e., the electrodes 18, 19, shown in Fig. 1. Murooka at Fig. 1 (see above).
Claim 24 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu.
Regarding Claim 25, Claim 25 relies upon Claim 22. Claim 22 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Claim 25 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu.
Regarding Claim 26, Claim 26 relies upon Claim 22. Claim 22 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Shibusawa presents an amorphous carbon film comprising carbon particles, wherein the film itself comprises a thickness of 530 nm or 600 nm; because these particles are comprised within the resin-based film, these particles must be nanometer scale, indicating they are “nanoparticles within a polymer material.” Shibusawa at [0043].
Claim 26 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu.
Regarding Claim 29, Murooka teaches a Li-ion battery (energy storage device 1), comprising: anodic and cathodic current collectors (first and second current collectors 11a, 12a), and an electrical contact layer (first external electrode 18, second external electrode 19. Murooka at [0045 – 56], Fig. 2, 6C. Murooka teaches an encapsulating material (exterior body 20 a, comprising outer casing 20; see Fig. 1) covering multiple faces of the battery other than the contact unit-covered faces, and multiples of the contact unit being oppositely located on the contact unit covered faces (i.e., the electrodes 18, 19, shown in Fig. 1. Murooka at Fig. 1 (see above).
Murooka teaches a conductive adhesive layer 18b or 19b, and that the conductive particles of the conductive adhesive preferably use “carbon and the like.” Murooka at [0050 – 56]. Murooka teaches this first sprayed film 18b has the effect of “reducing the electric resistance value of the first external electrode 18.” Id.
Murooka teaches an inner electrode 11 includes a first current collector 11a and first active material layers 11b and 11c, as well as a second internal electrode having a second current collector 12 a, having active material layers 12 b and 12 c. Murooka at [0032 – 38]. Murooka teaches the first metal cap 18 c is “electrically connected to and adhered to the first sprayed film 18 a by the first conductive film 18b. Therefore, the first metal cap 18 c is electrically connected to the first inner electrode 11.” Murooka at [0047- 49], Fig. 2. Thus, the first sprayed film reads upon the electrical contact layer in that it is configured to be in contact with said anodic or cathodic current collectors.
Fig. 2 of Murooka.
Murooka does not directly teach that electrical contact layer includes carbon particles, because there is some ambiguity as to whether the carbon particles are instead found within first conductive film 18 b rather than 18 a.
Ogawa teaches a laminated electronic component 101, having an external terminal electrode 8, 108 and 9, 109; these external electrodes comprise first metal layers 10, 11, conductive resin layers 12 and 13 disposed on the first metal layers 10 and 11, and further comprise second metal layers 13 and 15 provided upon the resin, and third metal layers 16 and 17 upon the second metal layers. Ogawa at [0039 – 44]. Further, Ogawa teaches an alternative embodiment to plating the metal layers wherein “a conductive paste may be applied and baked to form the first metal layers 10 and 11.” Id. Ogawa teaches a tradeoff, wherein while plating may produce a smaller thickness, plating “directly on the end surfaces,” Ogawa also notes in the prior art that when plating is performed directly onto the ends at which the internal electrodes are exposed, plating solution enters the component main body along the interfaces between the internal electrodes and the insulator layers may erode the ceramic . . . thereby causing structural defects.” Id. at [0007-10]. In addition, regarding the related art, Ogawa teaches that for an external terminal electrode in a three-layer structure comprising a first and second metal layer, this second layer “ensure[s] the solderability,” with the configuration of Ogawa specifically improving “fixing strength.” Id. at [0004- 6, 46 – 48].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to modify the external electrode 18, 19 of Murooka such that the conductive adhesive of first conductive film 18b (containing carbon particles) of Ogawa is “electrical contact layer,” because Ogawa teaches this may prevent the ceramic erosion associated with plating. Further, Ogawa teaches a benefit to improving solderability and fixing strength, which is key to constructing an external electrode, which must at once provide structural stability and limited conductivity while not shifting in such a way that the internal electrodes may be exposed, blocked, or allowed to form a short circuit. Id. at [0004- 6, 46 – 48].
Modified Murooka teaches a layer comprising a conductive paste of Ogawa in the space of the porous metal of sprayed film layer 18a. Without conceding as to the previous arguments regarding the modification of Murooka with Ogawa, Shibusawa is provided to demonstrate the spray coating of a conductive carbon film layer is known in the art.
Shibusawa teaches a structure 10, wherein a substrate 12 may comprise a porous resin, or a metals or semimetals such as Si, and an amorphous carbon film 14 may be formed upon the substrate. Shibusawa at [0020 - 24]. Shibusawa teaches the structure 10 “can be very effectively applied to a contact part (contact point),” and is prone to adhesion by soft metals provided on the contact parts by plating, such as Cu, a soft metal, and “external electrodes of a ceramic capacitor.” Id. at [0032 – 33]. This carbon film layer comprises carbon black. Shibusawa at [0039] (“[0039] An amorphous carbon film 14 according to an embodiment can be used as a protection film of an electrode or a separator so as to achieve excellent adhesion and corrosion resistance. That is, the amorphous carbon film containing Si, which may have better adhesion to the substrate and corrosion resistance than the ordinary amorphous carbon film, may include an electrically conductive part having electrical conductivity and may be used as a protection film of an electrode or a separator, thereby achieving a cell restraining the difficulty in handling the particles of carbon black and the adverse effects on human bodies. Such an amorphous carbon film 14 according to an embodiment can be formed to a large thickness so as to restrain the occurrence of pinholes in an electrode or a separator and maintain the continuity of the film, and a slurry of a carbon black such as acetylene black can be applied onto the amorphous carbon film 14 , such that an electrolyte can be absorbed due to the high structure of the carbon black.”). Finally, Shibusawa teaches “[0047] The amorphous carbon film 14 containing Si in an embodiment can be formed on a wide range of materials with satisfactory adhesion; therefore, the amorphous carbon film 14 containing Si can provide electrically conductive wiring or an electrode part to materials not adapted for wet plating wiring such as paper, resin.”
Fig. 1 of Shibusawa.
Regarding “configured to be flexible in order to absorb deformation,” Shibusawa teaches “[0027] The amorphous carbon film 14 containing Si according to an embodiment, which has lower heat conductivity than the ordinary amorphous carbon film, may have less tendency to conduct the heat produced by the laser application to the substrate 12 , thereby restraining thermal deformation and damage of the substrate 12 caused by the laser application.” Further, Shibusawa teaches “[0050] the parts of the amorphous carbon film not irradiated with the laser beam (not modified) may retain the properties of the typical amorphous carbon film and remain in the structure 10 as protection parts for the modified part against the external stresses.” This indicates that the amorphous carbon film 14 of Shibusawa presents wear resistance, protection against “thermal deformation,” and protects against “external deformation,” which at least implies the film is configured to be flexible in order to absorb deformations. Id. at [0027, 50].
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to further modify Murooka, such that the layer comprising a conductive paste of Ogawa in the space of the porous metal of sprayed film layer 18a of Murooka is explicitly “the layer comprising . . . polymer resin material including carbon particles; the carbon particles being one of: (a) carbon black, (b) graphite or (c) graphene particles, and the layer and configured to be flexible in order to absorb deformations” as taught by Shibusawa, because Shibusawa teaches a layer comprising carbon particles are “very effective[]” when applied to a contact point, which at least suggests a benefit to its use in the electrical connection area of a contact unit.
Murooka and Ogawa teach conductive films (“[0018] In the electric storage device according to the present invention, it is preferable that the first and second conductive films are each composed of a conductive adhesive layer containing a resin and conductive particles dispersed in the resin” ; these films may comprise, for example, acrylic resin, i.e. a polymer resin) or pastes (a “conductive resin layer,”), but do not recite the claimed layer having a thickness between 5 µm and 50 µm.
Hasegawa teaches a stacked battery, wherein “[0031] The cathode current collector layer 21 may be formed of metal foil, metal mesh, etc., and is especially preferably formed of metal foil. Metals that may form the cathode current collector layer 21 include Ni, Cr, Au, Pt, Al, Fe, Ti, Zn, stainless steel, etc. The cathode current collector layer 21 may have some coating layer for adjusting contact resistance, over its surface, which is, for example, a coating layer containing conductive material and resin. The thickness of the cathode current collector layer 21 is not limited, but for example, is preferably 0.1 µm to 1 mm, and is more preferably 1 µm to 100 µm.” Hasegawa at [0004, 31, 33]. Further, “[0033] Carbon materials such as acetylene black and ketjenblack, and metallic materials such as nickel, aluminum and stainless steel can be used as the conductive additive.” Id. Finally, Hasegawa teaches that high contact resistance lowers the current flow to a given area, indicating modifying the contact resistance of an electrical connection area would allow for modulating the current flow as needed. Id. at [0057].
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify modified Murooka, such that layer comprises a polymer resin, carbon particles (the acetylene black carbon materials of Hasegawa at [0033]), and comprises a thickness between 5 µm to 50 µm, because Hasegawa teaches a benefit to modulating contact resistance and thereby current flow, and because an encompassing range presents a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
Murooka is silent as to Li4Ti5O12 as an anode active material and LiMn2O4 as a cathode active material.
Yu teaches a battery, having a current collector 12, wherein “[0023] Examples of positive electrode materials (cathode) include lithium manganese oxide spinels (LiMn2 O4 , sometimes LMO herein), lithium nickel oxide, lithium cobalt oxide and other lithium-metal-oxides. In embodiments of this disclosure, nanometer-size particles of an acid-consuming metal oxide or metal nitride are mixed with somewhat larger size (e.g., 50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium manganese oxide, lithium cobalt oxide, or other positive electrode material . . . [0026] Deposited on both major faces of the negative electrode current collector 12 are thin, porous layers of negative electrode material 14 . In an illustrated example of this disclosure, the negative electrode material comprises sub-micrometer or micrometer-size (50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium titanate (Li4 Ti5 O12), sometimes LTO in this specification . . .”). Yu at [0023 – 26]. Yu describes its structure provides “[0004] a power source for commercial applications requiring an efficient, high power density, electrical power source.” Id.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Murooka, such that it comprises Li4Ti5O12 as an anode active material and LiMn2O4 as a cathode active material, because Yu teaches this configuration provides high power density.
Claim 29 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu.
Regarding Claim 30, Claim 30 relies upon Claim 29. Claim 29 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Ogawa teaches conductive resin layers 12 and 13, which may comprise “[0045] an epoxy resin.” Ogawa at [0045].
Claim 30 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu.
Regarding Claim 31, Claim 31 relies upon Claim 29. Claim 29 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Shibusawa presents an amorphous carbon film comprising carbon particles, wherein the film itself comprises a thickness of 530 nm or 600 nm; because these particles are comprised within the resin-based film, these particles must be nanometer scale, indicating they are “nanoparticles within a polymer material.” Shibusawa at [0043].
Claim 31 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, and Hasegawa, further in view of Yu.
Claims 27-28, 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, Hasegawa, and Yu, further evidenced by Lu, et. al. (CN106935822A).
Regarding Claim 27, Claim 27 relies upon Claim 22. Claim 22 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Modified Murooka teaches the battery of Claim 22, but does not disclose the power capacity.
Yu teaches a battery, having a current collector 12, wherein “[0023] Examples of positive electrode materials (cathode) include lithium manganese oxide spinels (LiMn2 O4 , sometimes LMO herein), lithium nickel oxide, lithium cobalt oxide and other lithium-metal-oxides. In embodiments of this disclosure, nanometer-size particles of an acid-consuming metal oxide or metal nitride are mixed with somewhat larger size (e.g., 50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium manganese oxide, lithium cobalt oxide, or other positive electrode material . . . [0026] Deposited on both major faces of the negative electrode current collector 12 are thin, porous layers of negative electrode material 14 . In an illustrated example of this disclosure, the negative electrode material comprises sub-micrometer or micrometer-size (50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium titanate (Li4 Ti5 O12), sometimes LTO in this specification . . .”). Yu at [0023 – 26]. Yu describes its structure provides “[0004] a power source for commercial applications requiring an efficient, high power density, electrical power source.” Id.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to further modify the battery of modified Murooka, such that it comprises Li4Ti5O12 as an anode active material and LiMn2O4 as a cathode active material, because Yu teaches this configuration provides high power density.
While Yu does not disclose the power capacity in Ah, Lu teaches that after 50 cycles, a LiMn2O4 / Li4Ti5O12 lithium ion battery has a first capacity of 11.48 Ah. Yu at [p.6]. Further, it discloses that “[p.4] The commercial LiMn2O4 material has an initial discharge specific capacity of 108.3 mAh g-1, a Coulomb efficiency of 89.1%, a discharge specific capacity of 101.5 mAh g-1 after 50 cycles, and a Coulomb efficiency of 96.6%,” indicating this capacity is specifically based upon the relative mass of cathode active material (and implicates the anode active material has the same effect), showing the capacity may be adjusted via volume and mass of active material. Id. at p.4, 6. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious that to select that requisite mass / volume such that the battery of Murooka has a power capacity greater than 1 Ah, because the mass of active material is a result-effective variable that would be obvious to adjust via routine optimization.
Claims 27 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, Hasegawa, and Yu, further evidenced by Lu,
Regarding Claim 28, Claim 28 relies upon Claim 22. Claim 22 is obvious over modified Murooka.
Modified Murooka teaches the battery of Claim 22, but does not disclose the power capacity.
Yu teaches a battery, having a current collector 12, wherein “[0023] Examples of positive electrode materials (cathode) include lithium manganese oxide spinels (LiMn2 O4 , sometimes LMO herein), lithium nickel oxide, lithium cobalt oxide and other lithium-metal-oxides. In embodiments of this disclosure, nanometer-size particles of an acid-consuming metal oxide or metal nitride are mixed with somewhat larger size (e.g., 50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium manganese oxide, lithium cobalt oxide, or other positive electrode material . . . [0026] Deposited on both major faces of the negative electrode current collector 12 are thin, porous layers of negative electrode material 14 . In an illustrated example of this disclosure, the negative electrode material comprises sub-micrometer or micrometer-size (50 nm to 50 μm) particles of lithium titanate (Li4 Ti5 O12), sometimes LTO in this specification . . .”). Yu at [0023 – 26]. Yu describes its structure provides “[0004] a power source for commercial applications requiring an efficient, high power density, electrical power source.” Id.
While Yu does not disclose the power capacity in Ah, Lu teaches that after 50 cycles, a LiMn2O4 / Li4Ti5O12 lithium ion battery has a first capacity of 11.48 Ah. Yu at p.6. Further, it discloses that “[p.4]The commercial LiMn2O4 material has an initial discharge specific capacity of 108.3 mAh g-1, a Coulomb efficiency of 89.1%, a discharge specific capacity of 101.5 mAh g-1 after 50 cycles, and a Coulomb efficiency of 96.6%,” indicating this capacity is specifically based upon the relative mass of cathode active material (and implicates the anode active material has the same effect), showing the capacity may be adjusted via volume and mass of active material. Id. at [p.4, 6]. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious that to select that requisite mass / volume such that the battery is a minibattery having a power capacity greater than 1 mAh to 1 Ah, because the mass of active material is a result-effective variable that would be obvious to adjust via routine optimization.
Claims 28 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, Hasegawa, and Yu, further evidenced by Lu,
Regarding Claim 32, Claim 32 relies upon Claim 29. Claim 29 is obvious over modified Murooka.
While Yu does not disclose the power capacity in Ah, Lu teaches that after 50 cycles, a LiMn2O4 / Li4Ti5O12 lithium ion battery has a first capacity of 11.48 Ah. Yu at [p.6]. Further, it discloses that “[p.4] The commercial LiMn2O4 material has an initial discharge specific capacity of 108.3 mAh g-1, a Coulomb efficiency of 89.1%, a discharge specific capacity of 101.5 mAh g-1 after 50 cycles, and a Coulomb efficiency of 96.6%,” indicating this capacity is specifically based upon the relative mass of cathode active material (and implicates the anode active material has the same effect), showing the capacity may be adjusted via volume and mass of active material. Id. at [p.4,6]. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious that to select that requisite mass / volume such that the battery is a power battery having a power capacity greater than 1 Ah, because the mass of active material is a result-effective variable that would be obvious to adjust via routine optimization.
Claims 32 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, Hasegawa, and Yu, further evidenced by Lu.
Regarding Claim 33, Claim 33 relies upon Claim 29. Claim 29 is obvious over modified Murooka.
While Yu does not disclose the power capacity in Ah, Lu teaches that after 50 cycles, a LiMn2O4 / Li4Ti5O12 lithium ion battery has a first capacity of 11.48 Ah. Yu at [p.6]. Further, it discloses that “[p.4] The commercial LiMn2O4 material has an initial discharge specific capacity of 108.3 mAh g-1, a Coulomb efficiency of 89.1%, a discharge specific capacity of 101.5 mAh g-1 after 50 cycles, and a Coulomb efficiency of 96.6%,” indicating this capacity is specifically based upon the relative mass of cathode active material (and implicates the anode active material has the same effect), showing the capacity may be adjusted via volume and mass of active material. Id. at [p.4,6]. For this reason, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would find it obvious that to select that requisite mass / volume such that the battery is a minibattery having a power capacity greater than 1 mAh to 1 Ah, because the mass of active material is a result-effective variable that would be obvious to adjust via routine optimization.
Claims 33 is obvious over Murooka, in view of Ogawa, Shibusawa, Hasegawa, and Yu, further evidenced by Lu.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s)1-3, 5-8, 15, 18, 22-33 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/K.R.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725