DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 6-10 and 12-18 are currently pending. Claims 1-4, 6 and 12-16 are currently under examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 12/29/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 12/29/2025, it is noted that claims 1 and 12 have been amended.
New Rejections:
The following rejections are newly applied based on Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 12 contain the newly added limitation ‘the connecting layer being continuous throughout the adhesive resin layer while the each of the granules are embedded in the connecting layer'. Support cannot be found the connecting layer being continuous through the adhesive resin layer. Applicant points to Figures 14 and 15 for support. Figures 14 and 15 are blurry and cannot be found to demonstrate a continuous connecting layer with each of the granules are embedded in the connecting layer. Applicant points to paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0171] and [0172]. The portion of the specification pointed to include applying the two-reactive adhesive in varying amounts and methods of applying the adhesive sheet after spraying with saline. This does not provide support for connecting layer which is continuous through the adhesive resin layer. Applicant point to [0152] which described modified poly-lysine (connecting layer) as formed by fusing and powders being bonded to each other at locally dried parts. This however does not disclose a connecting layer being continuous throughout the adhesive resin layer.
Alternatively, if Applicant believes that support for claims 1 and 12 limitation of ‘the connecting layer being continuous throughout the adhesive resin layer while the each of the granules are embedded in the connecting layer', is present and clearly envisaged in the instant application or earlier filed priority documents, applicant must, in responding to this Office Action, point out with particularity, where such support may be found.
Applicant does not indicate where these limitations are supported by the original specification, or how, as is Applicant's burden. See MPEP §714.02, last sentence of the third paragraph from the end and MPEP §2163.06 (I) last sentence.
Modified Rejections:
The following rejections are modified based on Applicant’s claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0319101 (Applicant provided) in view of US 2014/0257027 (previously applied) and WO 2016/056901 (previously applied).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 16, the limitation of a tissue adhesive comprising an adhesive resin layer, the adhesive resin layer including a first reactant made of an aldehyded glycan and a second reactant made of partially carboxylated polylysine and the adhesive resin layer having a molar ratio of 1 as a ratio of an aldehyde group of the first reactant to an amine group of the second reactant, a structuring of granules derived from powder of the first reactant and a connecting layer derived from the second reactant, the connecting layer connecting the granules with each other and fixing each of the granules throughout the tissue adhesive, the connecting layer being continuous throughout the adhesive resin layer while the each of the granules are embedded in the connecting layer and the partially carboxylated polylysine having a weight average molecular weight of 1000 to 200,000 is met by the ‘101 publication teaching a two part medical adhesive comprising an aqueous solution or powder of aldehyde groups introduced alpha-glucan and a second part comprised of a powder of amino-groups containing a polymer that is formed of a polymer chain of amino group-containing units and has a molecular weight in a range of 1000 to 20,000, as well as the hydrogel an obtained from curing the adhesive (abstract). The amino group containing polymer is epsilon-poly-L-lysine [0027]. The molar ratio of aldehyde groups to amino groups in the mixture of the first and second liquids are 0.1 to 2 [0028] or a 1:1 ratio [0078]. The first and second parts are taught to be mixed and applied as powder to form a powder mixture adhesive [0029]. The alpha-glucan aldehyde is taught to include dextran [0056]. The composition is taught to have a pH adjuster, preferably an anhydride such as succinic acid or glutaric acid ([0073], claim 4) to be used as a quasi-linking between polymer chains [0074], leading to partially carboxylated polylysine. Wherein the first and second powder with anhydride linking agent reacts to form a hydrogel, thus connecting layer from the first reactant granules and second reactant. Wherein the two powder components are mixed and applied both ingredients would be formed continuously through the adhesive resin layer, thus meeting the limitation of the connecting layer being continuous.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, the limitation of wherein the granules derived from the powder of the first reactant has an average particle size of 20 to 100 um is met by the ‘101 publication teaching the particle sizes of the powder were evaluated to be about 90 micrometers [0152].
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of wherein the aldehyded glycan of the first reactant has 0.2 to 0.5 aldehyde groups per monosaccharide unit and the partially carboxylated polylysine of the second reactant has a residual amino group ratio of 70 to 93% is met by the ‘101 publication teaching the amount of the introduced aldehyde groups per anhydro glucose unit was 0.28 [0151] and wherein anhydride is added to the polylysine solution to prepare a 10 wt% neutral polylysine [0098] wherein the amount of succinic anhydride used is optimizable [0073], wherein the anhydride amount necessarily affects the residual amino group ratio as evidenced by the instant specification [0042]. The ‘101 publication teaches the molar ratio of the aldehyde groups to amino groups at the time powder form is 0.1 to lower than 5, wherein the molar ratio exceeds the corresponding range, prompt gelation or cuing is not achievable [0076] thus teaching the amount of residual amino groups is optimizable parameter.
The ‘101 publication does not specifically teach a base sheet having a biodegradability and a communicative porous structure and an adhesive resin layer fixed and formed on the base sheet (claim 1).
The ‘901 publication teaches preparing an adhesive hemostatic product comprising providing a porous solid substrate, coating the substrate with a coating liquid to produce a coated substrate. The product has excellent adhesive properties. The product is taught to be a coated mesh, a coated foam and a coated powder (abstract). The coating is taught to leave the pore structure largely intact so that the ability of the porous substrate to absorb bodily fluid remains essentially unaffected (page 3, lines 28-35). The porous substrate can include dextran (page 9, lines 10-20). The sheet is taught to have a thickness of 0.5 mm to 10 mm (page 13, lines 15-20). The mesh is taught to be a nonwoven fabric formed of biodegradable polymer (page 13, lines 20-25). The adhesive is taught by application by spray (page 18, lines 1-5).
The ‘027 publication teaches mesh implantable medical device (title, abstract). The implant is taught to be a mesh and a fixation mechanism. The mesh may be synthetic or biological material wherein the fixation mechanism can be an adhesive, wherein the adhesive can be polysaccharides [0027]. The fixation mechanism can be coupled to the side of the mesh [0045]. The fixation mechanism can be applied to the mesh using an applicator such as being sprayed on. In some embodiments the adhesive may be activated by any such triggers such as body fluid [0046]. The coating of the adhesive on the medical device reads on the limitation of ‘fixes’ and ‘fixed’ absent a clear definition.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adhesive taught by the ‘101 publication on a biodegradable mesh as the ‘101 publication teaches a two part adhesive in powder form to be cured into a hydrogel wherein dextran sheets may be used in combination with the two part adhesive [0174] and the ‘901 publication teaches application of adhesive to porous devices formed of dextran. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the adhesive taught by the ‘101 publication on a porous medical device as taught by the ‘901 publication because the ‘101 publication teaches an adhesive to tissue and a dextran and the ‘901 publication teaches the use of adhesive on porous medical devices such as dextran. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to use the adhesive taught by the ‘101 publication on porous medical devices as taught by the ‘901 publication with an expectation of success as the ‘027 publication teaches it is known to apply adhesives to implantable medical devices wherein the adhesive is activated by bodily fluid and the ‘101 publication teaches the adhesive being mixed in powder form and activated when applied on the living body portion which is wet [0029], thus teaching activation by bodily fluids, making it obvious to use the mixed powder of the ‘101 publication on an implant taught by the ‘901 publication and have the adhesive activated by bodily fluid as is taught by the ‘027 publication. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘101 publication is taught to be used in combination with substrates and bonding to the living body and the ‘027 publication and the ‘901 publication are directed to the use of adhesive to bond a medical device to the body.
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0319101, 2014/0257027 and WO 2016/056901 as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 12 and 15-16 above, and further in view of WO 2005/051333 (previously applied).
As mentioned in the above 103(a) rejection, all the limitations of claims 1, 3-4, 12 and 15-16 are taught by the combination of the ’101 publication, the ‘027 publication and the ‘901 publication.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of the base sheet is non-woven fabric, woven fabric, knitted fabric, mesh sheet, sponge sheet or other continuous porous sheet and has a thickness of 15 um to 500 um is met by the ‘027 publication teaching the porous substrate can include dextran (page 9, lines 10-20). The sheet is taught to have a thickness of 0.5 mm to 10 mm (page 13, lines 15-20). The mesh is taught to be a nonwoven fabric formed of biodegradable polymer (page 13, lines 20-25). The adhesive is taught by application by spray (page 18, lines 1-5).
The combination of references does not specifically teach the adhesive resin layer has a thickness of 100 um to 800 um (claim 2).
The ’333 publication teaches a patch for covering the surface of a living being such as a wound and an adhesive for adhering to the skin or mucosa (abstract). The thickness of the adhesive layer is 20 to 300 um (page 3, lines 15-35).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known thickness of adhesives on medical devices for the medical device taught by the combination of the ‘101 publication and the ‘901 publication because the ‘333 publication teaches a known ranges of thicknesses of adhesives applied to medical devices for adhesion to the body and the ‘901 publication teaches the use of an adhesive applied to a medical device for adhesion to the body. As MPEP 2144.05 recites “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine optimization”.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0319101, 2014/0257027 and WO 2016/056901 as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 12 and 15-16 above, and further in view of US 2016/0243159 (previously applied).
As mentioned in the above 103(a) rejection, all the limitations of claims 1, 3-4, 12 and 15-16 are taught by the combination of the ’101 publication, the ‘027 publication and the ‘901 publication.
The combination of references does not specifically teach 5 to 30 wt% of hydroxypropyl cellulose, or other biodegradable polymer and/or 1 to 25 wt% of glycerin or other moisturizing component, and except for the biodegradable polymer and the moisturizing component the adhesive resin layer includes the first and second reactant (claim 6).
The ‘159 publication teaches a composition for use in wound treatment (abstract). The wound gel is preferably 1 to 15 wt% by weight of glycerine and 0.2 to 5 wt% hydroxyethyl cellulose [0053]. The composition for use as a wound treatment agent gel contains additives such as binding agents which can be used in the usual quantities [0055].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include hydroxyethyl cellulose and glycerin as taught by the ‘159 publication in the gel layer taught by the ’101 publication because the ‘159 publication teaches hydroxyethyl cellulose and glycerin are known components to be used in wound gel and the ‘101 publication teaches a hydrogel layer to be used until wounds are healed. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to include agents taught by the ‘159 publication in the adhesive forming hydrogel taught by the ‘101 publication because the ‘159 publication teaches moisturizing gel which is beneficial for wound treatment ([0051], [0059]). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977), thus rending hydoxypropylcellulose obvious over a teaching of hydroxyethyl cellulose taught by the ‘159 publication.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-4, 12 and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 7,834,065 in view of WO 2016/056901. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application and the ‘065 patent are directed to two-part adhesive comprising aldehyde glycol and partially carboxylated polylysine through modification with succinic anhydride wherein the molar ratio of aldehyde group to the first reactant to an amine group of the second reactant is 1 and the granules are in the form of a powder which are mixed and the polylysine has overlapping molecular weight and wherein the mixed powder reads on continuous connecting layer. The instant application and the ‘065 patent differ in that the instant claims contains a base sheet having biodegradability and a communicative porous structure to which the adhesive resin layer is fixed.
The ‘901 publication teaches preparing an adhesive hemostatic product comprising providing a porous solid substrate, coating the substrate with a coating liquid to produce a coated substrate. The product has excellent adhesive properties. The product is taught to be a coated mesh, a coated foam and a coated powder (abstract). The coating is taught to leave the pore structure largely intact so that the ability of the porous substrate to absorb bodily fluid remains essentially unaffected (page 3, lines 28-35). The porous substrate can include dextran (page 9, lines 10-20). The sheet is taught to have a thickness of 0.5 mm to 10 mm (page 13, lines 15-20). The mesh is taught to be a nonwoven fabric formed of biodegradable polymer (page 13, lines 20-25). The adhesive is taught by application by spray (page 18, lines 1-5).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adhesive taught by the ‘065 patent on a biodegradable mesh as the ‘065 patent teaches a two-part adhesive in powder form to be cured into a hydrogel wherein dextran sheets may be used in combination with the two-part adhesive [0174] and the ‘901 publication teaches application of adhesive to porous devices formed of dextran.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not deemed to be persuasive.
Newly Added Limitations:
Claims 1 and 12 contain the newly added limitation ‘the connecting layer being continuous throughout the adhesive resin layer while the each of the granules are embedded in the connecting layer'. Support cannot be found the connecting layer being continuous through the adhesive resin layer. Applicant points to Figures 14 and 15 for support. Figures 14 and 15 are blurry and cannot be found to demonstrate a continuous connecting layer with each of the granules are embedded in the connecting layer. Applicant points to paragraphs [0040], [0042], [0171] and [0172]. The portion of the specification pointed to include applying the two-reactive adhesive in varying amounts and methods of applying the adhesive sheet after spraying with saline. This does not provide support for connecting layer which is continuous through the adhesive resin layer. Applicant point to [0152] which described modified poly-lysine (connecting layer) as formed by fusing and powders being bonded to each other at locally dried parts. This however does not disclose a connecting layer being continuous throughout the adhesive resin layer.
Applicant argues as amended the granules of the aldehyde glycan (dextran aldehyde) as “islands” are embedded in a continuous phase as “sea” of the partially carboxylated polylysine (succinic-anhydride treated polylysine) so as to form a “sea-island structure). Applicant argues smooth distribution of water can be achieved through the continuous phase (sea) f the partially carboxylated polylysine. Thus the partially carbonylated polylysine of the continuous phase (sea) can be easily swelled with water and/or dissolve din water, when contacted with water. Reliable and strong adhesion comparable to that obtained by the powder mixture of Lydex can be achieved.
In response, the instant claims have a connecting layer continuous through the adhesive resin layer while each granule are embedded int eh connecting layer, which s not limited to the sea-island structure Applicant is describing. The instant claims read on the two types of powders mixing, therefore the connecting layer of partially carboxylated polylysine would be continuously mixed throughout the adhesive layer. Applicant is interpreting the claim language narrowly, and additionally does not provide support in the instant specification as discussed above.
103:
Applicant argues the ‘101 publication teaches physiological saline or the like is sprayed on and around a pleural deficient area. Secondly the “sheet-shaped tissue adhesive and reinforcement” is overlaid. Then the continuous sea phase of the partially acrylated polylysine adhesive resin layer absorbs water and is swelled and/or dissolve din water. Subsequently the granules of the aldehyde glycan absorb water and is swelled and/or dissolve din water so as to induce reactive adhesive by way of “Schiff-base formation”. The ‘901 reference merely discloses an adhesive sheet comprising a biodegradable porous sheet and a non-reactive adhesive coating layer, which is formed by applying a polymer solution onto the porous sheet. Applicant argues the aldehyde glucan as well as the partially carboxylated polylysine would to be soluble in a non-degradable solvent other than water. Meanwhile when the aldehyded glucan is mixed with the partially carboxylated polylysine in an aqueous solution, the Schiff formation reaction proceeds to form a gel which has no more adhesive property.
In response, the ‘101 publication teaching a two part medical adhesive comprising an aqueous solution or powder of aldehyde groups introduced alpha-glucan and a second part comprised of a powder of amino-groups containing a polymer that is formed of a polymer chain of amino group-containing units and has a molecular weight in a range of 1000 to 20,000, as well as the hydrogel obtained from curing the adhesive (abstract). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adhesive taught by the ‘101 publication on a biodegradable mesh as the ‘101 publication teaches a two-part adhesive in powder form to be cured into a hydrogel wherein dextran sheets may be used in combination with the two-part adhesive [0174] and the ‘901 publication teaches application of adhesive to porous devices formed of dextran. Thus the ‘101 publication teaches the application may be in mixed powdered form and does not require application in the form of a solution. The instant claims do not contain limitations directed to water solubility or ethanol/water mixture and therefore the results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims.
Applicant argues WO 2023/067830 the proposed “adhesion preventing material’, which is a ‘reaction product of: an aldehyde glycan as a first reactant’ and ‘carboxylic anhydride-added poly-l-lysine as a second reactant’. See Fig. 1. The sheet-shaped tissue adhesive and reinforcement would have been obtainable only by finding a way to selectively fusing the partially carboxylated polylysine and in the same time keeping the granules of the aldehyded glycans so as to achieve the sea-island structure. The level of adhesion shown in Table 4 is far greater than the level of adhesion obtained with the prior art shown in Table 5 of the present application.
In response, as discussed above the instant claims do not require the sea island structure Applicant is arguing, nor does it require the selectively fusing of the partially carboxylated polylysine. Thus, Applicant is arguing limitations not present in the instant claims. Applicant points to Table 4 and 5 of the instant specification which is comparison to Lydex sheet to a fibrin glue. The Applied prior art is not directed to a fibrin glue, and therefore the unexpected results are not compared to the closest prior art, the ‘101 publication.
Double Patenting:
Applicant argues in view of the amendments to the claims made herein; it is submitted that the double patenting rejection is overcome.
In response, Applicant has presented no substantive arguments thus the rejections are maintained for reasons of record, and modified based on Applicant’s claim amendments. The ‘065 patent are directed to two-part adhesive comprising aldehyde glycol and partially carboxylated polylysine through modification with succinic anhydride wherein the molar ratio of aldehyde group to the first reactant to an amine group of the second reactant is 1 and the granules re in the form of a powder which are mixed and the polylysine has overlapping molecular weight and wherein the mixed powder reads on continuous connecting layer.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/LYNDSEY M BECKHARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 1613