DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 are pending and currently under review.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
The term “Cr-based stainless steel” is interpreted to refer to either a ferrite or martensitic stainless steel as expressly defined in [0005 instant spec.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furukimi et al. (JP3709834, machine translation referred to herein) in view of either one of Abe et al. (EP3214198) or Mizutani et al. (US 2017/0029916).
Regarding claim 1, Furukimi et al. discloses a ferritic stainless steel (ie. Cr-based stainless steel) having a composition as seen in table 1 below [0012-0026]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Furukimi et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Furukimi et al. is further silent regarding requiring any non-recited elements, which meets the limitation of “consisting of…” as claimed. Furukumi et al. further teaches an average grain size of 50 micrometers or less, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that all of the grains of Furukumi et al. (ie. including the grains defined in (i) as claimed) have a size of 50 micrometers or less, and therefore meets relation (ii) as claimed [0027]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the grain size of Furukumi et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Furukumi et al. does not expressly teach an inclusion of Mg and/or Hf as claimed. Abe et al. discloses a ferritic stainless steel for exhaust gas applications [abstract, 0001], wherein it is known to include Mg in an amount of 0.0001 to 0.003 weight percent for deoxidation and refinement [0065]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the steel of Furukimi et al. by including the Mg amount of Abe et al. for the aforementioned benefit. Alternatively, Mizutani et al. discloses a ferritic stainless steel for exhaust gas applications [abstract, 0002], wherein it is known to include Hf in an amount of 0.005 to 0.2 weight percent to control steel texture and oxidation resistance [0057]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the steel of Furukimi et al. by including the Hf amount of Mizutani et al. for the aforementioned benefit. In either situation, the examiner notes that the overlap between the disclosed elements of Abe et al. or Mizutani et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach that the steel texture satisfies relation (i) as claimed. However, the examiner submits that an overlapping, substantially similar value of relation (i) would have naturally flowed from the disclosure of Furukimi et al. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I). The examiner notes that a resulting steel texture will depend upon a steel’s manufacturing method and composition as recognized by one of ordinary skill. The instant application discloses manufacturing the claimed steel according to the steps further shown in table 1 below. Furukimi et al. also discloses substantially similar, overlapping manufacturing steps as shown in table 1 below. Since Furukimi et al. discloses an overlapping steel composition, method of manufacture, and also similar ferritic grain sizes as stated above, the examiner submits that overlapping, substantially similar values of relation (i) as claimed would have naturally flowed absent concrete evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112 & MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Furukimi et al. (wt.%)
C
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.01
Si
0 – 1
0 – 1
Mn
0 – 1
0 – 1.5
P
0 – 0.04
0 – 0.6
S
0 – 0.003
0 – 0.03
Cr
10 – 18
11 – 23
N
0 – 0.02
0 – 0.04
Al
0 – 0.1
0 – 1
Nb and/or Ti
Nb: 0 – 0.5
Ti: 0 – 0.5
Nb: 0 – 0.8
Ti: 0 – 1
Sn
0 – 0.3
0 – 0.3
B
0 – 0.005
0 – 0.01
Ni
0 – 1
0 – 2
Cu
0 – 1
0 – 1
Mo
0 – 0.2
0.1 – 3
Sb
0 – 0.2
0
V
0 – 0.5
0
W
0 – 0.5
0 – 0.3
Zr
0 – 0.5
0 – 0.5
Co
0 – 0.5
0 – 0.3
Mg and/or Hf
Mg: 0.0001 – 0.005
Hf: 0.001 – 0.1
Mg: 0.0001 – 0.003 (Abe et al.)
Hf: 0.005 – 0.2 (Mizutani et al.)
Ca
0 – 0.005
0 – 0.1
Ga
0 – 0.02
0
La
0 – 0.1
0
Y
0 – 0.1
0
REM
0 – 0.1
0
Fe & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Manufacturing
Instant application [0046-0048]
Furukimi et al. [0035-0040]
Hot roll
Hot roll
Anneal at less than 900 degrees C
Anneal 800 to 1100 degrees C
Cold roll at reduction rate of at least 40% with roll diameter of 200 mm or higher
Cold roll at reduction of at least 75% with roll diameter 2300 mm
Finish anneal at greater than 900 degrees C
Finish anneal at greater than 800 degrees C
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the above composition of Furukimi et al. further overlaps with the claimed Sn and B ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I). The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach a formula (1) as claimed. However, the examiner notes that formula (1) merely further limits the claimed Si, Mn, P, Nb, and Ti amounts, all of which are still overlapping with the ranges of Furukimi et al. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 3, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Furukimi et al. further meets the claimed features. For example, Cu can be included in a non-zero amount as taught by Furukimi et al.
Regarding claim 4, the aforementioned prior art discloses the steel of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the recitation of “…is used for…” is merely an instance of intended use and functional language, which is not considered to impart any further structure to the claims. See MPEP 2111.02 & MPEP 2173.05(g). Accordingly, the steel of the aforementioned prior art having an overlapping composition, microstructure, and method of manufacture would be entirely capable of being used for hydrogen gas equipment as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection above.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734