0Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that independent claims have been amended to recite validating mitigating controls are properly implemented on a relationship graph.
Applicant argues that Coull US 11,201,890 fails to teach this as relied upon in the previous action because “Coull calculates threat scores for each object in the graph and used for threat score propagation, not for validating whether safeguards represented by mitigating controls are properly implemented”.
Examiner points out that Coull teaches modified threat scores in real time, in part “the subgraph can include user selectable features ….cause remediation… semantic graph is continuously updated”. Coull teaches a GUI based on user input to produce both reports, focus on graphs and implement remedial measures chosen by the user. Upon implementation, and in real time security graph scores are updated based on signals, which would show the remediation is “properly implemented”.
Examiner has left Ganor in the rejection, which does not teach graphs but teaches a GUI that lets users explicitly test whether security measures are “properly implemented”.
Examiner argues that at minimum, if Coull is not sufficient to anticipate the claim as stated, then the combination of Coull and Ganor should be sufficient to anticipate the claim limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harry US 2020/0272972 in view of Roytman US 2015/0237062 in view of Ganor US 2018/0375892 in view of Coull US 11,201,890.
As per claim 1. Harry teaches A method for managing a computer environment, the method comprising: rendering a graphical user interface on a display of a user device, the graphical user interface generating risk information based on input from a user via an input mechanism of the user device, the input indicating definitions of risk objects, risk scenarios, and mitigating controls relevant to the computer environment; a database system receiving the risk information and generating a risk hierarchy indicating associations between the risk objects and the risk scenarios and associations between the risk scenarios and the mitigating controls based on the risk information; calculating risk scores for the computer environment based on the risk hierarchy indicating the associations between the risk objects and the risk scenarios; and conditions of the computer environment; and managing the computer environment based on the calculated risk scores.
[0055]-[0058][0066][0067][0093]-[0096] (teaches risk scores calculated using risk events, risk scenarios and associated conditions of the computer systems, and impacts and additional information entered by the user, teaches graph topologies and a data store, allows users to prioritize remediation)
Harry teaches the risk objects representing risks affecting the computer environment, the risk scenarios representing conditions of the computer environment associated with the risks, [0055]-[0058][0066][0067][0093]-[0096] (teaches risk scores calculated using risk events, risk scenarios and associated conditions of the computer systems, and impacts and additional information entered by the user)
Roytman teaches calculating risk scores for the computer environment based on the risk hierarchy indicating the associations between the risk scenarios the mitigating controls based on the risk information; calculating and mitigating controls relevant to the computer environment; and managing the computer environment based on the calculated risk scores. [0037][0058][0066][0072]-[0076][0097][0100]-[0105] (teaches calculating risk scores and modifying risk scores based on mitigating controls and managing the computer based on the combination of scores and vulnerabilities)
Roytman teaches mitigating controls representing existing safeguards within the computer environment for preventing the risk scenarios. (teaches calculating a risk score and including mitigation factors) [0101]-[0104]
Roytman teaches mitigating controls including evaluation criteria for evaluating whether safeguards represented by the mitigating controls are properly implemented [0037][0058][0066][0072]-[0076][0097][0100]-[0105] (teaches calculating risk scores and modifying risk scores based on mitigating controls and managing the computer based on the combination of scores and vulnerabilities)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Roytman with Harry because it more accurately models the risk to the system.
Ganor teaches mitigating controls including evaluation criteria for evaluating whether safeguards represented by the mitigating controls are properly implemented in the computer environment based on the evaluation criteria, [0071][0092][0093] (teaches a mitigation that is implemented and auditing said mitigation to ensure compliance)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the evaluation of Ganor with the prior art because it ensures security measures are functioning properly.
Ganor teaches GUI and mitigating controls include respective evaluation criteria indicating a validation type used for validating whether the safeguards are properly implemented. Ganor teaches receiving the input indicating the definition of the mitigating controls comprises receiving for each of the at least some of the mitigating controls, input specifying the validation type/query indicated in the respective evaluation criteria. [0109] (GUI used to accept input from a user for simulation control) [0036]-[0047]( teaches the variety of simulations which are validation types) [0071] Audits in GUI [0090]-[0095]
Coull teaches evaluation criteria including whether a validation query into an entity relationship graph that indicates entities and relationships between the entities that are relevant to security of the computer environment is to be used for validating whether one or more safeguards are properly implemented, and input specifying the validation query to be executed against the entity relationship graph to validate whether the one or more safeguards represented by the mitigating control are properly implemented in the computer environment (Column 6 lines 44-66) (teaches generation of a graph and relation of nodes and objects for a cyber threat analyzer) (Column 7 lines 24-49) (teaches calculating threat scores for objects in the semantic graph and displaying on GUI, threat scores calculated include “past mitigations” or report “recommended mitigations”) (Column 9 lines 25-40; line 59 to Column 10 line 30) (teaches updating threat scores based on time periods or other factors, and thus teaches altering threat scores after mitigations are implemented)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Coull with the prior art because it improves user security.
As per claim 3. Roytman teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising each of the wherein calculating the risk scores based on the risk hierarchy comprises calculating the risk scores based on evaluation results of the evaluation criteria for each of the mitigating controls. [0103][0104] (teaches evaluating remediation measures and calculating updated risk scores based on evaluation)
As per claim 4. Roytman teaches The method of claim 3, further comprising each of the risk scenarios including an expected loss magnitude (ELM) and an expected loss frequency (ELF) and each of the mitigating controls including a mitigation control strength (MCS), wherein calculating the risk scores based on the risk hierarchy comprises calculating the risk scores based on the ELM and ELF values for each of the risk scenarios the MCS values for each of the mitigating controls. [0037][0058][0066][0072]-[0076][0097][0100]-[0105] (teaches calculating risk scores and modifying risk scores based on mitigating controls and managing the computer based on the combination of scores and vulnerabilities)
Harry more explicitly teaches risk scenarios and including a loss magnitude and frequency to calculate a risk score. [0055]-[0058][0066][0067][0093]-[0096] (Risk likelihood, impact and final score for a given risk event and scenario)
As per claim 6. Harry teaches The method of claim 4, further comprising specifying the ELF, ELM, and MCS values in the risk hierarchy as equations that are based on attributes of and relationships between entities of the computer environment as indicated in an entity relationship graph indicating the conditions of the computer environment. [0061][0062] [0072]-[0076] [0082]-[0084] (teaches calculation of risk using graph relationships and ELF/ELM.)
Harry teaches further comprising specifying the ELF, ELM, and MCS values in the risk hierarchy as having minimum, most likely, and maximum values, wherein calculating the risk scores comprises generating probability distributions for each of the ELF, ELM, and MCS values, running simulations based on the probability distributions, and generating the risk scores as probabilities based on the simulations. [0074][0075][0079[0093]-[0096] (teaches minimum/maximum, generating probability distributions and generating risk scores based on the calculations)
Roytman teaches calculating a risk score and including mitigation factors MCS [0101]-[0104]
As per claim 8. Roytman teaches The method of claim 3, wherein calculating the risk scores based on the evaluation criteria for each of the mitigating controls comprises validating whether each mitigating control is properly implemented in the computer environment by executing queries specified in the evaluation criteria against a database storing information about the conditions of the computer environment. [0038]-[0045] [0103][0104] (teaches databases to provide vulnerability and contextual data) (teaches evaluating remediation measures and calculating updated risk scores based on evaluation)
Ganor teaches receiving the input indicating the definition of the mitigating controls comprises receiving for each of the at least some of the mitigating controls, input specifying the validation query indicated in the respective evaluation criteria. [0109] (GUI used to accept input from a user for simulation control) [0036]-[0047]( teaches the variety of simulations which are validation types) [0071] Audits in GUI [0090]-[0095]
Coull teaches evaluation criteria including whether a validation query into an entity relationship graph that indicates entities and relationships between the entities that are relevant to security of the computer environment is to be used for validating whether one or more safeguards are properly implemented, and input specifying the validation query to be executed against the entity relationship graph to validate whether the one or more safeguards represented by the mitigating control are properly implemented in the computer environment (Column 6 lines 44-66) (teaches generation of a graph and relation of nodes and objects for a cyber threat analyzer) (Column 7 lines 24-49) (teaches calculating threat scores for objects in the semantic graph and displaying on GUI, threat scores calculated include “past mitigations” or report “recommended mitigations”) (Column 9 lines 25-40; line 59 to Column 10 line 30) (teaches updating threat scores based on time periods or other factors, and thus teaches altering threat scores after mitigations are implemented)
Harry additionally teaches evaluation criteria and database storing risk data and contextual data.
As per claim 9. Harry teaches The method of claim 3, wherein calculating the risk scores based on the evaluation criteria for each of the mitigating controls comprises validating whether each mitigating control is properly implemented in the computer environment by presenting a user interface via a user device associated with and individual or group identified in the evaluation criteria, wherein the user interface generates confirmation information concerning implementation of the mitigating control based on user input received via the user interface. [0057] (teaches user interaction and remediation selection)
Roytman teaches evaluating remediation measures and calculating updated risk scores based on evaluation, and user GUI to interact with remediation measures [0081]-[0085][0103][0104]
Ganon teaches each of the at least some of the mitigating controls include the respective evaluation criteria indicating whether a user attestation is to be used for validating whether one or more safeguards represented by the mitigation control are properly implemented in the computer environment based on the criteria. [0090]-[0095] (teaches security manager to manage security compliance and mitigation controls including periodic audits and assessing whether mitigation has been performed as appropriate)
As per claim 12. Harry teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising storing the risk hierarchy as a graph database with nodes representing the risk objects, the risk scenarios, and the mitigating controls, and edges representing the associations between the risk objects and the risk scenarios and the associations between the risk scenarios and the mitigating, wherein each node indicates properties for the risk object, risk scenario, or mitigating control represented by the node. [0055]-[0058][0066][0067] [0061][0062] [0072]-[0076] [0082]-[0084] [0093]-[0096] (teaches user setting up risk objects, scenarios and mitigation using node and graph calculations and mapping, and calculation of risk using graph relationships and ELF/ELM.)
Roytman teaches calculating a risk score and including mitigation factors MCS [0101]-[0104]
As per claim 13. Harry teaches A system for managing a computer environment, the system comprising:a user device for executing a graph query and display app for rendering a graphical user interface on a display of the user device, wherein the graph query and display app generates risk information based on input from a user via an input mechanism of the user device, the input indicating definitions of risk objects, risk scenarios, and mitigating controls relevant to the computer environment; and a server system for executing a database system, which receives the risk information and generates a risk hierarchy indicating associations between the risk objects and the risk scenarios and associations between the risk scenarios [0055]-[0058][0066][0067][0093]-[0096] (teaches risk scores calculated using risk events, risk scenarios and associated conditions of the computer systems, and impacts and additional information entered by the user, teaches graph topologies and a data store, allows users to prioritize remediation)
Harry teaches the risk objects representing risks affecting the computer environment, the risk scenarios representing conditions of the computer environment associated with the risks, [0055]-[0058][0066][0067][0093]-[0096] (teaches risk scores calculated using risk events, risk scenarios and associated conditions of the computer systems, and impacts and additional information entered by the user)
Roytman teaches associations between the risk objects and the risk scenarios and associations between the risk scenarios and the mitigating controls based on the risk information; calculating and mitigating controls relevant to the computer environment; and managing the computer environment based on the calculated risk scores. [0037][0058][0066][0072]-[0076][0097][0100]-[0105] (teaches calculating risk scores and modifying risk scores based on mitigating controls and managing the computer based on the combination of scores and vulnerabilities)
Roytman teaches mitigating controls representing existing safeguards within the computer environment for preventing the risk scenarios. (teaches calculating a risk score and including mitigation factors) [0101]-[0104]
Roytman teaches mitigating controls including evaluation criteria for evaluating whether safeguards represented by the mitigating controls are properly implemented [0037][0058][0066][0072]-[0076][0097][0100]-[0105] (teaches calculating risk scores and modifying risk scores based on mitigating controls and managing the computer based on the combination of scores and vulnerabilities)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Roytman with Harry because it more accurately models the risk to the system.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Roytman with Harry because it more accurately models the risk to the system.
Ganor teaches mitigating controls including evaluation criteria for evaluating whether safeguards represented by the mitigating controls are properly implemented in the computer environment based on the evaluation criteria, [0071][0092][0093] (teaches a mitigation that is implemented and auditing said mitigation to ensure compliance)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the evaluation of Ganor with the prior art because it ensures security measures are functioning properly.
Ganor teaches GUI and mitigating controls include respective evaluation criteria indicating a validation type used for validating whether the safeguards are properly implemented. Ganor teaches receiving the input indicating the definition of the mitigating controls comprises receiving for each of the at least some of the mitigating controls, input specifying the validation type indicated in the respective evaluation criteria. [0109] (GUI used to accept input from a user for simulation control) [0036]-[0047]( teaches the variety of simulations which are validation types) [0071] Audits in GUI [0090]-[0095]
Coull teaches evaluation criteria including whether a validation query into an entity relationship graph that indicates entities and relationships between the entities that are relevant to security of the computer environment is to be used for validating whether one or more safeguards are properly implemented, and input specifying the validation query to be executed against the entity relationship graph to validate whether the one or more safeguards represented by the mitigating control are properly implemented in the computer environment (Column 6 lines 44-66) (teaches generation of a graph and relation of nodes and objects for a cyber threat analyzer) (Column 7 lines 24-49) (teaches calculating threat scores for objects in the semantic graph and displaying on GUI, threat scores calculated include “past mitigations” or report “recommended mitigations”) (Column 9 lines 25-40; line 59 to Column 10 line 30) (teaches updating threat scores based on time periods or other factors, and thus teaches altering threat scores after mitigations are implemented)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Coull with the prior art because it improves user security.
As per claim 15. Roytman teaches the risk scores are calculated based on evaluation results of the evaluation criteria for each of the mitigating controls. [0103][0104] (teaches evaluating remediation measures and calculating updated risk scores based on evaluation)
As per claim 16. Roytman teaches The system of claim 15, wherein each of the risk scenarios includes an expected loss magnitude (ELM) and an expected loss frequency (ELF) and each of the mitigating controls including a mitigation control strength (MCS), and wherein the risk scores are calculated based on the ELM and ELF values for each of the risk scenarios the MCS values for each of the mitigating controls.
0037][0058][0066][0072]-[0076][0097][0100]-[0105] (teaches calculating risk scores and modifying risk scores based on mitigating controls and managing the computer based on the combination of scores and vulnerabilities)
Harry more explicitly teaches risk scenarios and including a loss magnitude and frequency to calculate a risk score. [0055]-[0058][0066][0067][0093]-[0096] (Risk likelihood, impact and final score for a given risk event and scenario)
As per claim 18. Harry teaches The system of claim 16, wherein the ELF, ELM, and MCS values are specified in the risk hierarchy as equations that are based on attributes of and relationships between entities of the computer environment as indicated in an entity relationship graph indicating the conditions of the computer environment. [0061][0062] [0072]-[0076] [0082]-[0084] (teaches calculation of risk using graph relationships and ELF/ELM.)
Harry teaches further comprising specifying the ELF, ELM, and MCS values in the risk hierarchy as having minimum, most likely, and maximum values, wherein calculating the risk scores comprises generating probability distributions for each of the ELF, ELM, and MCS values, running simulations based on the probability distributions, and generating the risk scores as probabilities based on the simulations. [0074][0075][0079[0093]-[0096] (teaches minimum/maximum, generating probability distributions and generating risk scores based on the calculations)
Roytman teaches calculating a risk score and including mitigation factors MCS [0101]-[0104]
As per claim 20. Roytman teaches The system of claim 15, wherein the server system validates whether each mitigating control is properly implemented in the computer environment by executing queries specified in the evaluation criteria against a database storing information about the conditions of the computer environment. [0038]-[0045] [0103][0104] (teaches databases to provide vulnerability and contextual data) (teaches evaluating remediation measures and calculating updated risk scores based on evaluation)
Harry additionally teaches evaluation criteria and database storing risk data and contextual data.
Ganor teaches mitigating controls including evaluation criteria for evaluating whether safeguards represented by the mitigating controls are properly implemented in the computer environment based on the evaluation criteria, [0071][0092][0093] (teaches a mitigation that is implemented and auditing said mitigation to ensure compliance)
Ganor teaches receiving the input indicating the definition of the mitigating controls comprises receiving for each of the at least some of the mitigating controls, input specifying the validation type/query indicated in the respective evaluation criteria. [0109] (GUI used to accept input from a user for simulation control) [0036]-[0047]( teaches the variety of simulations which are validation types) [0071] Audits in GUI [0090]-[0095]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the evaluation of Ganor with the prior art because it ensures security measures are functioning properly.
Coull teaches evaluation criteria including whether a validation query into an entity relationship graph that indicates entities and relationships between the entities that are relevant to security of the computer environment is to be used for validating whether one or more safeguards are properly implemented. (Column 6 lines 44-66) (teaches generation of a graph and relation of nodes and objects for a cyber threat analyzer) (Column 7 lines 24-49) (teaches calculating threat scores for objects in the semantic graph and displaying on GUI, threat scores calculated include “past mitigations” or report “recommended mitigations”) (Column 9 lines 25-40; line 59 to Column 10 line 30) (teaches updating threat scores based on time periods or other factors, and thus teaches altering threat scores after mitigations are implemented)
Claim(s) 10, 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harry US2020/0272972 in view of Roytman US 2015/0237062 in view of Ganor US 2018/0375892 in view of Coull US 11,201,890 in view of Rush US 2016/0224911
As per claim 10. Roytman teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising recurring the calculating of the risk score for each risk object based on an evaluation frequency associated with each risk object and storing the resulting scores for future reference and/or time series or trending analyses. [0066][0077]-[0080] (teaches evaluation frequency and storing said data)
Rush teaches historical data for trending analyses [0100].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the calculation of Rush with the prior art because it provides an accurate assessment of risk.
As per claim 11. Harry teaches The method of claim 10, further comprising storing each of the resulting scores for each calculation of the risk scores for each risk object as a node in the risk hierarchy with an edge connecting the risk score node to the risk object node.
[0055]-[0058][0066][0067] [0082]-[0084] [0093]-[0096] (teaches risk scores calculated using risk events, risk scenarios and associated conditions of the computer systems, and impacts and additional information entered by the user, teaches graph topologies and a data store)
Claim(s) 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harry US2020/0272972 in view of Roytman US 2015/0237062 in view of Ganor US 2018/0375892
in view of in view of Coull US 11,201,890 Burle US 2021/0234889.
As per claim 21. (New) Burle teaches The method of claim 1, wherein managing the computer environment comprises: configuring a rules engine with rules for detecting specified conditions of entities, properties of entities, and relationships between entities indicated in an entity relationship graph indicating the conditions of the computer environment; and performing one or more specified actions in response to detecting the specified conditions. [0030][0031][0035][0116][0117] (teaches automated scanning of an entity based on rules or a policy to determined and maintain the safety of the network, and teaches exploring relationships between entities to determine the proper remediation actions)
As per claim 22. (New) Burle teaches The method of claim 21, wherein performing the one or more specified actions comprises: invoking a vulnerability scan to determine known software vulnerabilities that one or more entities indicated in the entity relationship graph are susceptible to. [0030][0031][0035][0036][0079][0116][0117] (teaches automated scanning of an entity based on rules or a policy to determined and maintain the safety of the network, and teaches exploring relationships between entities to determine the proper remediation actions; teaches vulnerability scanning for software vulnerabilities)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teachings of Burle with the prior art because it increases security without degradation in performance.
As per claim 23. (New) Burle teaches The method of claim 21, wherein performing the one or more specified actions comprises: triggering a scan to identify IP ports one or more entities indicated in the entity relationship graph are listening on. [0030][0031][0035][0047][0093][0116][0117] (teaches automated scanning of an entity based on rules or a policy to determined and maintain the safety of the network, and teaches exploring relationships between entities to determine the proper remediation actions; teaches scanning ports and taking remediation steps including configuration of ports)
As per claim 24. (New) Burle teaches The method of claim 21, wherein performing the one or more specified actions comprises: triggering one or more automated activities to bring one or more entities indicated in the entity relationship graph or the computer environment into compliance with a desired state. [0030][0031][0035][0116][0117] (teaches automated scanning of an entity based on rules or a policy to determined and maintain the safety of the network, and teaches exploring relationships between entities to determine the proper remediation actions; teaches taking remediation action to bring the entities into compliance.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439