DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 12/22/2025. Applicant has filed a provisional application and thus the domestic benefit of 5/7/2020 is the effective filing date. Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see page 9 of 12, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the 112 rejections of record have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The claims have been amended, but the amendments do not relate to the “one or more devices” pertaining to the 112 rejections, included again below. The amendments of claims 14 and 19, “…one or more devices for cooling…” still invokes a 112(f) interpretation and adequate support for this term has still not been identified.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-11 of 12, filed 12/22/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued that Wang does not teach “…compute an overall energy capacity…” however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant has directed attention to paragraph [0101] of Wang, however the Examiner did not cite to this paragraph, and again emphasizes the teachings of paragraph [0142] and [0178] of Wang which detail the capability of a facility. Regarding the newly amended limitation, which specifies the details of “the overall energy capacity”, the arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner notes the difference between terms “…an energy capacity…the energy capacity…” and “…an overall energy capacity…the overall energy capacity…” used throughout the claims.
The Examiner notes the usage of the following alleged unique terms presented throughout the claims:
“…one or more devices…”
“…an assigned device…”
“…one or more stationary climate control devices or mobile climate control devices…”
“…one or more computing devices…”
“…one or more devices for cooling…”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“…the stationary climate control devices are configured to facilitate a charging and a cooling of the first aircraft…” in claim 9.
“…the mobile climate control devices are configured to travel to the cooling location and facilitate charging and the cooling of the first aircraft…” in claim 9.
“…one or more devices for cooling the first aircraft…” in claim 14.
“…one or more devices for cooling the first aircraft…” in claim 19.
Support for these limitations are as follows:
stationary climate control devices:
[0039]: “A stationary climate control device, for example, can include an interfacing component (e.g., robotic arm and/or one or more other components capable of interfacing with component(s) of an aerial vehicle) having an end that is stationary with respect to a surface on which the aerial vehicle sits (e.g., a landing area surface, parking surface, etc.)...”
[0041]: “The interfacing component of the climate control device(s) can be configured to operatively interface with one or more aerial components (e.g., a cabin, power source, hardware, etc.) of an aerial vehicle to facilitate one or more climate control operations (e.g., cool down a power source, cabin, hardware, etc.). For example, the interface component can include at least one climate control interface. The climate control interface(s) can include one or more power source interface(s) (e.g., configured to interface with a power source of an aerial vehicle), one or more cabin interface(s) (e.g., a blower configured to interface with a cabin of an aerial vehicle (e.g., by forcing cool air into a cabin)), and/or a one or more of hardware interface(s) (e.g., configured to interface with hardware (e.g., dashboards, seats, railings) within the cabin of an aerial vehicle). In this manner, the central climate control system can interface with a plurality of aircraft components through the climate control device(s) (e.g., by supplying the fleet of climate control device(s)) at one or more locations of the landing area. For instance, the climate control device(s) can include at least one stationary and/or mobile climate control device at each landing pad, parking location, cooling location, charging location, and/or any other location of the landing area.”
[0042]: “The plurality of climate control device(s) can include a power supply (e.g., a battery, power interface, etc.), cooling supply (e.g., cool water, air, gas, etc.), one or more climate control interface(s) (e.g., of the interface component(s)), network devices (e.g., communication interfaces such as one or more radio frequency devices, etc.), and/or one or more sensors (e.g., location sensors (e.g., GPS), cameras, etc.). For example, one or more of the climate control device(s) (e.g., the stationary climate control devices) can include a power interface (e.g., cable, etc.) connected to a central power supply (e.g., of the central climate control system)...”
mobile devices:
[0040] “Alternatively, the climate control device can be mobile (e.g., on tracks or wheels). The mobile climate control device can include an interfacing component mounted to a mobile surface (e.g., a battery powered platform with one or more wheels)...”
[0041]: “The interfacing component of the climate control device(s) can be configured to operatively interface with one or more aerial components (e.g., a cabin, power source, hardware, etc.) of an aerial vehicle to facilitate one or more climate control operations (e.g., cool down a power source, cabin, hardware, etc.). For example, the interface component can include at least one climate control interface. The climate control interface(s) can include one or more power source interface(s) (e.g., configured to interface with a power source of an aerial vehicle), one or more cabin interface(s) (e.g., a blower configured to interface with a cabin of an aerial vehicle (e.g., by forcing cool air into a cabin)), and/or a one or more of hardware interface(s) (e.g., configured to interface with hardware (e.g., dashboards, seats, railings) within the cabin of an aerial vehicle). In this manner, the central climate control system can interface with a plurality of aircraft components through the climate control device(s) (e.g., by supplying the fleet of climate control device(s)) at one or more locations of the landing area. For instance, the climate control device(s) can include at least one stationary and/or mobile climate control device at each landing pad, parking location, cooling location, charging location, and/or any other location of the landing area.”
[0042]: “The plurality of climate control device(s) can include a power supply (e.g., a battery, power interface, etc.), cooling supply (e.g., cool water, air, gas, etc.), one or more climate control interface(s) (e.g., of the interface component(s)), network devices (e.g., communication interfaces such as one or more radio frequency devices, etc.), and/or one or more sensors (e.g., location sensors (e.g., GPS), cameras, etc.)... In addition, or alternatively, one or more of the climate control device(s) (e.g., the mobile climate control devices) can include one or more mobile power sources. The mobile power source(s) for instance can include one or more batteries (e.g., thermal batteries, lithium ion batteries, etc.) capable of receiving and storing a charge. For instance, the mobile power source(s) can include a power interface configured to connect to the central power supply to resupply energy stored by the mobile power source(s).”
one or more devices:
[0024] “…The computing system can generate and communicate command signal(s) indicative of the climate control configuration to the climate control infrastructure and/or one or more devices of the climate control infrastructure to instruct the infrastructure and/or devices to implement cooling procedures in accordance with the climate control configuration…”
No additional support has been provided in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 9, 14, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The Examiner notes that claim 1 as currently presented states “…a first aircraft…”; claim 3 as currently presented states “…one or more second aircraft…”; claim 4 as currently presented states “…each of the first and second aircraft…”; to which the Examiner recognizes claim 4 only pertains to the first aircraft and the second aircraft, and no other subsequent aircraft of the “…one or more second aircraft…”. The Examiner recommends either: updating claim 3 to state “…a/the second aircraft…” or updating claim 4 to state “…each of the first aircraft and the one or more second aircraft…”.
Claim 9 as currently presented states “…a charging and a cooling of the first aircraft…charging and the cooling of the first aircraft…” to which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “…a charging and a cooling of the first aircraft…the charging and the cooling of the first aircraft…”.
Claim 14 as currently presented states “A computer-implemented method…the method…” to which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “A computer-implemented method…the computer-implemented method…”.
Claim 17 as currently presented states “The computer-implemented method…the method…” to which the Examiner recommends updating to instead state “The computer-implemented method…the computer-implemented method…”.
Claim 19 as currently presented states “…the facility data is indicative of the climate control infrastructure the climate control infrastructure…” which the Examiner recommends updating so as to eliminate the redundant term.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The “one or more devices” in claims 14 and 19 each invoke a 112(f) interpretation, however do not have any structure provided in either the claims or specification. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the “one or more devices” as corresponding to either the stationary climate control device and/or the mobile climate control device, as necessary.
Claims 15-18 and 20 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “…one or more devices for cooling the first aircraft…” in claims 14 and 19 each invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Neither the claims nor specification detail the structure of the “one or more devices”. The specification mentions various devices which could be referenced, such as a “computing device”, a “user device”, a “rider device”, and a “climate control device”, but none directly as claimed. The Examiner also notes that the stationary climate control device and the mobile climate control device are both capable of providing cooling, so for the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting the “one or more devices” as corresponding to either the stationary climate control device and/or the mobile climate control device, as necessary. Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 15-18 and 20 are also rejected since the claims are dependent on a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clermont et al. (US-2018/0229860; hereinafter Clermont; already of record from IDS) in view of Heironimus (US-2021/0061490; already of record) and Wang (US-2016/0039542; already of record), and further in view of Sham (US-2019/0275893).
Regarding claim 1, Clermont discloses a computing system for aircraft climate control (see Clermont at least Abs and [0061]), comprising:
one or more processors (see Clermont at least [0058]-[0062]); and
…
access itinerary data indicative of a current flight of a first aircraft (see Clermont at least [0057] “The ground support unit operation might require aircraft status data to optimize operation (aircraft temperature, mixing chamber temperature, APU status . . . )” and [0066] “The transponder can comprise numerous information concerning an aircraft, including data concerning the instant status of the aircraft…”);
…
…
access facility data associated with an aerial transport facility at which the first aircraft will land for the current flight and depart for the subsequent flight (see Clermont at least [0062] "...Said central processor is in communication with other ground support units and can optimize the interactions between different ground support units, or decide which unit is most suitable for servicing a given aircraft, depending on the servicing program required, on the distance to the aircraft, or on the need of an analogous service by another aircraft located nearby..." and [0073] "In an alternative embodiment, the central processor (9) follows the GPS position coordinates of the aircrafts on the ground, as well of the ground support units, and follows whether the latter are in operating mode or in rest mode… This allows to have an instantaneous picture of the positions and activities of the various ground support units, which is useful for the management of the fleet of ground support units."), wherein the facility data is indicative of a climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility, the climate control infrastructure comprising one or more devices and wherein the facility data is indicative of an energy capacity available to the climate control infrastructure for cooling (see Clermont at least [0058]-[0062] and [0066] “...With this information, the ground support unit can optimize the specific servicing program corresponding to an aircraft within a predefined range allowed by said servicing program. For example, if the instant temperature of the cabin or the mixing chamber is comprised within a certain range, the servicing program corresponding to the aircraft can be adapted by changing and optimizing the temperature of the cool air blown into the cabin by a preconditioned air ground unit (PCA). In another example, an aircraft with a large fuel capacity requiring a large fuel truck for refuelling may be serviced by a smaller truck in case the tanks are not empty.”);
…the energy capacity (see Clermont at least [0072] "...It is also possible to mount the reception means on a central processor (9) which is in communication with a fleet of ground support units. The central processor determines which ground support units are to service given aircrafts and identifies the specific servicing programs to be implemented by said ground support units."), current use data indicative of an amount of energy usage across the one or more devices (see Clermont at least [0072] "...It is also possible to mount the reception means on a central processor (9) which is in communication with a fleet of ground support units. The central processor determines which ground support units are to service given aircrafts and identifies the specific servicing programs to be implemented by said ground support units."), and an energy allocation for the first aircraft(see Clermont at least [0056]-[0057] "As discussed in the background art, prior to initiating a service, an operator must first identify the aircraft, enter the identification into a computer to retrieve the specific servicing program corresponding to the identified aircraft, and implement said servicing program into the ground support unit required for carrying out said service. This process is slow and open to many errors of transcriptions. The ground support unit operation might require aircraft status data to optimize operation (aircraft temperature, mixing chamber temperature, APU status . . . )" and [0072] "...It is also possible to mount the reception means on a central processor (9) which is in communication with a fleet of ground support units. The central processor determines which ground support units are to service given aircrafts and identifies the specific servicing programs to be implemented by said ground support units."), wherein
…
the energy allocation indicative of an amount of energy needed to reach the desired thermal condition (see Clermont at least [0056]-[0057] "As discussed in the background art, prior to initiating a service, an operator must first identify the aircraft, enter the identification into a computer to retrieve the specific servicing program corresponding to the identified aircraft, and implement said servicing program into the ground support unit required for carrying out said service. This process is slow and open to many errors of transcriptions. The ground support unit operation might require aircraft status data to optimize operation (aircraft temperature, mixing chamber temperature, APU status . . . )" and [0072] "...It is also possible to mount the reception means on a central processor (9) which is in communication with a fleet of ground support units. The central processor determines which ground support units are to service given aircrafts and identifies the specific servicing programs to be implemented by said ground support units."), and
…
transmit one or more signals and control the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility (see Clermont at least [0066] "The transponder can comprise numerous information concerning an aircraft, including data concerning the instant status of the aircraft. For example, the transponder can comprise a value of the instant temperature and/or relative humidity in a mixing chamber or in a cabin of an aircraft; it can comprise an actual value of the amount of fuel left in the tanks; it can indicate whether or not an auxiliary power unit (APU) is activated; and the like. With this information, the ground support unit can optimize the specific servicing program corresponding to an aircraft within a predefined range allowed by said servicing program. For example, if the instant temperature of the cabin or the mixing chamber is comprised within a certain range, the servicing program corresponding to the aircraft can be adapted by changing and optimizing the temperature of the cool air blown into the cabin by a preconditioned air ground unit (PCA)...")...
However, Clermont does not explicitly disclose the following:
…one or more memory resources storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing system to…
…access aircraft data indicative of a temperature of a hardware component of the first aircraft, the temperature being acquired during the current flight by a thermal sensor onboard the first aircraft…
…based at least in part on the temperature of the hardware component, compute a desired thermal condition for the hardware component of the first aircraft to reach prior to a subsequent flight, wherein computing the desired thermal condition comprises computing an estimated temperature change of the hardware component during the subsequent flight…
…compute, an overall energy capacity for the aerial transport facility…
…the overall energy capacity is indicative of a power level available for allocation across the one or more devices…
…based at least in part on the overall energy capacity, compute a climate control configuration that allocates the energy capacity available to the climate control infrastructure to an assigned device for the first aircraft, over a period of time…
…during the period of time in accordance with the climate control configuration…
Heironimus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…one or more memory resources storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see Heironimus at least [0107]-[0109]), cause the computing system to…
…access aircraft data indicative of a temperature of a hardware component of the first aircraft, the temperature being acquired during the current flight by a thermal sensor onboard the first aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0044] "...The computing system 240 may also be in communication with the cabin temperature sensor 230 and the battery temperature sensor 232, such that it may receive measurements from either sensor. The cabin temperature sensor 230 may be positioned in or proximate to the cabin 205, and may be used to measure its cabin temperature. Similarly, the battery temperature sensor 232 may be positioned in or proximate to the battery pack 210, and may be used to measure its battery temperature. Any sensors known to those skilled in the art may be used for either sensor...")…
…based at least in part on the temperature of the hardware component, compute a desired thermal condition for the hardware component of the first aircraft to reach prior to a subsequent flight, wherein computing the desired thermal condition comprises computing an estimated temperature change of the hardware component during the subsequent flight (see Heironimus at least [0049], [0053]-0054], and [0038]-[0039] "In some implementations, the battery pack 210 may be preconditioned such that the battery temperature of the cells 212 may be regulated to a particular temperature or temperature range prior to operation of the aircraft 200, such as prior to a particular flight. For example, the battery pack 210 may be preconditioned prior to a flight such that its battery temperature is at or slightly above a minimum operating temperature. Preconditioning the battery pack 210 to such a low temperature may maximize the duration at which the battery pack 210 is operating within its operating temperature range (e.g., during a flight), as its battery temperature may increase while in operation due to the thermal energy being generated by the cells 212. For example, using the fluid heat transfer system, the battery pack 210 may be preconditioned prior to a flight such that its battery temperature is about 10 degrees Celsius. After about thirty minutes of flight time, its battery temperature may increase to about 50 degrees Celsius, at which point the aircraft 200 may land to avoid overheating the battery pack 210.")…
…
…
…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the computing system as disclosed by Clermont with thermal regulation pertaining to hardware as taught by Heironimus with a reasonable expectation of success to maximize the operational functions of the aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0026]-[0028]).
However, neither Clermont nor Heironimus explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…compute, an overall energy capacity for the aerial transport facility…
…the overall energy capacity is indicative of a power level available for allocation across the one or more devices…
…based at least in part on the overall energy capacity, compute a climate control configuration that allocates the energy capacity available to the climate control infrastructure to an assigned device for the first aircraft, over a period of time…
…during the period of time in accordance with the climate control configuration…
Wang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…compute, an overall energy capacity for the aerial transport facility (see Wang at least [0142] "In some instances, battery station infrastructure may be different to accommodate batteries of different types. For example, the battery storage unit may have different sizes or shapes of ports to accommodate batteries of different dimensions or shapes. The battery storage unit may be structurally reinforced to carry batteries of different weights. The battery storage unit may have different ... charging mechanisms to accommodate batteries of different chemistries or other characteristics..." and [0178] "In response to information from the UAV or independent of communication from the UAV the battery station may communicate information to the UAV. The station may inform the UAV as to whether or not it is available to provide the UAV with a charged battery. For example, the station may be depleted of charged batteries or one or more zones of the station may be occupied by another UAV...")…
…
…based at least in part on the overall energy capacity, compute a climate control configuration that allocates the energy capacity available to the climate control infrastructure to an assigned device for the first aircraft, over a period of time (see Wang at least [0089] "Optionally, the various zones 230a, 230b may operate in accordance with a set of energy provision rules... An additional example, may include a goal of reloading battery life in a cost efficient manner. For example, if the battery station gets energy to charge a battery from a utility grid, it may consider peak and off peak times in determining the energy provision rule to follow. Similarly, the battery station 220 may get energy from an unreliable grid, or from off the grid..." and [0178] "In response to information from the UAV or independent of communication from the UAV the battery station may communicate information to the UAV. The station may inform the UAV as to whether or not it is available to provide the UAV with a charged battery. For example, the station may be depleted of charged batteries or one or more zones of the station may be occupied by another UAV...")…
…during the period of time in accordance with the climate control configuration (see Wang at least [0089] "Optionally, the various zones 230a, 230b may operate in accordance with a set of energy provision rules... An additional example, may include a goal of reloading battery life in a cost efficient manner. For example, if the battery station gets energy to charge a battery from a utility grid, it may consider peak and off peak times in determining the energy provision rule to follow. Similarly, the battery station 220 may get energy from an unreliable grid, or from off the grid...")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control of the climate control infrastructure as disclosed by Clermont with the determination of an overall energy capacity for the facility such as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success so as to monitor facility capabilities corresponding to aircraft requirements (see Wang at least [0004] and [0178]).
However, while Clermont details multiple ground support units capable of supplying service(s) to an aircraft, Heironimus details an external power supply capable of providing power to aircraft, and Wang details a battery station capable of supplying power to batteries, none of the cited references of record explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the overall energy capacity is indicative of a power level available for allocation across the one or more devices…
Sham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the overall energy capacity is indicative of a power level available for allocation across the one or more devices (see Sham at least [0029] "...Another such feature includes identifying at least one of the EV charging stations as available for charging the requesting EV during the charging timeframe as a function of the station capacity information, and as having at least a threshold associated power delivery capacity for charging the requesting EV during the charging timeframe as a function of the grid capacity information...")…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the aerial transport facility as taught by Clermont in view of Heironimus with an overall energy capacity indicative of total power such as taught by Sham with a reasonable expectation of success so as to ensure a facility has proper energy providing capabilities (see Sham at least [0003]).
Regarding claim 2, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the desired thermal condition for the first aircraft is indicative of a threshold temperature for the hardware component (see Heironimus at least [0095]; minimum and maximum battery temperature serving as thresholds for proper operation of the battery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the desired thermal condition as taught by Clermont in view of Heironimus with threshold temperatures such as further taught by Heironimus with a reasonable expectation of success to ensure a battery operates at its optimal performance capacity (see Heironimus at least [0026]-[0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the facility data is indicative of one or more second aircraft that are scheduled to be located at the aerial transport facility at a concurrent time period as the first aircraft (see Clermont at least Fig 2, [0040]-[0041], [0062], and [0066]; ground support units are strategically coupled with an aircraft according to a distance between a ground support unit and an aircraft), and wherein the one or more processors cause the computing system to:
compute charging parameters for the one or more second aircraft based at least in part on the aircraft data associated with the first aircraft (see Clermont at least Fig 2, [0040]-[0041] "The reception means can be used for selecting the following servicing programs for the following types of services: (a) Supply of electrical power to an aircraft on the ground according to a specific servicing program including a supply time, a supply power, a supply energy, a current upper limit, a supply voltage, a supply frequency..." and [0062] "...Said central processor is in communication with other ground support units and can optimize the interactions between different ground support units, or decide which unit is most suitable for servicing a given aircraft, depending on ... the need of an analogous service by another aircraft located nearby...");
compute charging resources for the one or more second aircraft at the aerial transport facility based at least in part on the charging parameters ((see Clermont at least Fig 2, [0040]-[0041], [0062], and [0066]) and additionally/alternatively (see Wang at least Fig 6, [0138] "...For example, a first zone of the battery station may be configured to accommodate a battery of a first type while not being configured to accommodate a battery of a second type, and a second zone of the battery station may be configured to accommodate a battery of a second type while not being configured to accommodate a battery of a first type." and [0141] "Various zones 630a, 630b of a battery station may be dedicated to various battery types 650a, 650b. Different UAVs may use batteries of different types. In one example, a first UAV 610a may be configured to operate with a battery of a first type 650a and a second UAV 610b may be configured to operate with a battery of a second type 650b. The first UAV may land at a first zone that is configured to accommodate the first battery type. The second UAV may land at the second zone that is configured to accommodate the second battery type. The UAV may be able to discern which zone would accommodate the battery of the UAV battery's type and land accordingly. In some instances, communications may occur before the UAV lands at the battery station to determine which zone the UAV is to land at. The UAV may send information about battery type to the station, and the station may indicate to the UAV which zone at which to land.")); and
compute the climate control configuration for the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility for the first aircraft based at least in part on the charging resources (see Clermont at least Fig 2, [0040]-[0041] "The reception means can be used for selecting the following servicing programs for the following types of services: (a) Supply of electrical power to an aircraft on the ground according to a specific servicing program including a supply time, a supply power, a supply energy, a current upper limit, a supply voltage, a supply frequency..." and [0066] "The transponder can comprise numerous information concerning an aircraft, including data concerning the instant status of the aircraft. For example, the transponder can comprise a value of the instant temperature and/or relative humidity in a mixing chamber or in a cabin of an aircraft; it can comprise an actual value of the amount of fuel left in the tanks; it can indicate whether or not an auxiliary power unit (APU) is activated; and the like. With this information, the ground support unit can optimize the specific servicing program corresponding to an aircraft within a predefined range allowed by said servicing program. For example, if the instant temperature of the cabin or the mixing chamber is comprised within a certain range, the servicing program corresponding to the aircraft can be adapted by changing and optimizing the temperature of the cool air blown into the cabin by a preconditioned air ground unit (PCA). In another example, an aircraft with a large fuel capacity requiring a large fuel truck for refuelling may be serviced by a smaller truck in case the tanks are not empty.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of facility configurations for a second aircraft such as disclosed by Clermont with charging resources specific to the second aircraft such as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 3, wherein the charging resources comprise charging energy allocations for each of the first and second aircraft, wherein a respective charging energy allocation is indicative of an amount of energy needed to charge an associated aircraft (see Clermont at least [0040]-[0043], [0055]-[0056], and [0062]; ground support unit availability and pairing of a suitable unit with aircraft on the ground; supply of electrical energy; supply or withdrawal of thermal energy; servicing program specific to each individual aircraft, indicative of maintenance and/or requirements for an upcoming flight).
Regarding claim 6, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the itinerary data is indicative of the period of time for which the first aircraft will be located at the aerial transport facility, and wherein computing the climate control configuration for the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility for the first aircraft (see Wang at least [0147]-[0148] "UAVs may be on the landing areas for any period of time. In some instances, the period of time the UAV is resting on a UAV may be regular (e.g., Landing Area 1 shows three time units every time a UAV is on the landing area) or may be irregular (e.g., Landing Area 2 shows varying numbers of time units every time a UAV is on the landing area). The period of time between UAVs landing on the landing area may be irregular (e.g., Landing Areas 1 and 3 shows varying units of time between each UAV take off and landing), or substantially regular (e.g., Landing Area 2 shows a relatively fixed number of units of time between take off a previous UAV and landing of a subsequent UAV. In some instances, length of time a UAV is resting on a landing area may depend on the activity being performed while the UAV is resting on the landing area...") comprises:
computing the climate control configuration based at least in part on the period of time for which the first aircraft will be located at the aerial transport facility (see Wang at least [0135] "In some embodiments, it may be desirable for reload energy onto a UAV quickly. Depending on the state of charge of a battery on-board the UAV, it may be quicker to recharge the battery on-board the UAV, or to exchange the battery for another battery. If the state of charge of the battery of the UAV is very low, it may take more time to charge the battery. If the state of charge of battery of the UAV is reasonably high, it may take more time to exchange the battery for another battery than to recharge the battery on-board. In some instances, depending on the battery characteristics, a threshold state of charge may be determined, beneath which it may be faster to exchange the battery for another battery, and above which it may be faster to recharge the battery on-board the UAV..." and [0147]-[0148] "UAVs may be on the landing areas for any period of time. In some instances, the period of time the UAV is resting on a UAV may be regular (e.g., Landing Area 1 shows three time units every time a UAV is on the landing area) or may be irregular (e.g., Landing Area 2 shows varying numbers of time units every time a UAV is on the landing area). The period of time between UAVs landing on the landing area may be irregular (e.g., Landing Areas 1 and 3 shows varying units of time between each UAV take off and landing), or substantially regular (e.g., Landing Area 2 shows a relatively fixed number of units of time between take off a previous UAV and landing of a subsequent UAV. In some instances, length of time a UAV is resting on a landing area may depend on the activity being performed while the UAV is resting on the landing area...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the itinerary data specific to an aircraft as disclosed by Clermont with time period specifics such as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 6, wherein computing the climate control configuration based at least in part on the period of time for which the first aircraft will be located at the aerial transport facility (see Wang at least [0147]-[0148]) comprises:
computing the climate control configuration for the first aircraft to charge and reach a desired thermal condition (see Clermont at least [0069] and Table 1; a thermal heating unit may provide conditioning to achieve a target temperature as described by a service program) within the period of time (see Wang at least [0147]-[0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the climate control configuration information as disclosed by Clermont with time period specifics such as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the climate control infrastructure comprises one or more stationary climate control devices or mobile climate control devices (see Clermont at least [0055] and [0062]; mobile ground support unit); and
wherein the climate control configuration identifies at least one of: a stationary climate control device or a mobile climate control device to charge and cool at least a portion of the first aircraft (see Clermont at least [0055] and [0062]; mobile ground support unit supplies power to aircraft and hot or cold air to the aircraft cockpit).
Regarding claim 9, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 8, wherein the climate control configuration is indicative of at least one of:
a reservation and an energy allocation for the stationary devices, wherein the stationary climate control devices are configured to facilitate a charging and a cooling of the first aircraft based at least in part on the reservation and the energy allocation for the stationary climate control devices, or
the reservation and the energy allocation (see Wang at least [0148]-[0149] " ...In some instances, depending on a state of charge of a battery, a UAV may be directed to a first landing area or a second landing area. For instance, if the length of time to recharge the battery exceeds the length of time to exchange the battery for another battery, then the UAV may be directed to Landing Area 1 to have the battery exchanged. If the length of time to recharge the battery is less than the length of time to exchange the battery for another battery, the UAV may be directed to Landing Area 2 to have the battery recharged. In one example, a third landing area (e.g., Landing Area 3) may be provided. The third landing area may be configured to recharge a battery on-board the UAV, exchange the battery, or both. Optionally, the third landing area may be an area for a UAV to wait without reloading battery life of the UAV. For example, one or more of the landing areas may already be occupied and a UAV may rest on the third landing area until the occupied landing area frees up. In a high traffic regions, UAVs may be landing and/or taking off from landing areas fairly frequently. In some instances, prioritization of UAVs may be necessary. For example, multiple UAVs may approach a battery station for a limited number of landing areas. UAVs may be prioritized depending on mission of the UAV, state of charge of the UAV battery, or any specifics of the UAV configuration or charging..."), or cooling location for the mobile climate control devices, wherein the mobile climate control devices are configured to travel to the cooling location and facilitate charging and the cooling of the first aircraft based at least in part on the reservation and the energy allocation for the mobile climate control devices (see Clermont at least [0043], [0055], [0062] and [0068]-[0069]; location of a mobile ground support unit may be determined according to an aircraft’s location; thermal conditioning may occur upon contact).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging and cooling of the aircraft as disclosed by Clermont with a reservation and energy allocation such as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success so as to prioritize urgent matters which may otherwise result in unsafe conditions (see Wang at least [0149]).
Regarding claim 10, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the climate control configuration identifies at least a portion of the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility for cooling hardware (see Heironimus at least [0072]; an external source used to regulate a battery temperature) of the first aircraft (see Clermont at least [0040], [0043], and [0055]; a mobile ground support unit is available to service an aircraft by coupling an air conditioning pipe to the aircraft door and regulating the cabin temperature; “hardware” (lacking specificity) typically being incorporated inside an aircraft cabin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the climate control configuration as disclosed by Clermont with hardware cooling such as further taught by Heironimus for similar reasons to those as presented in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the climate control configuration identifies at least a portion of the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility for cooling a cabin of the first aircraft (see Clermont at least [0040], [0043], and [0055]; a mobile ground support unit is available to service an aircraft by coupling an air conditioning pipe to the aircraft door and regulating the cabin temperature).
Regarding claim 12, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the climate control configuration identifies at least a portion of the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility for cooling a power system (see Heironimus at least [0072]; an external source used to regulate a battery temperature) of the first aircraft (see Clermont at least [0040], [0043], and [0055]; a mobile ground support unit is available to service an aircraft by coupling an air conditioning pipe to the aircraft door and regulating the cabin temperature; “a power system” (lacking specificity) typically being incorporated inside an aircraft cabin).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the climate control configuration as disclosed by Clermont with power system cooling such as further taught by Heironimus for similar reasons to those as presented in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors cause the computing system to:
access environmental data indicative of thermal environmental factors associated with an operating environment of the first aircraft (see Clermont at least [0003] and [0055]; local weather conditions influence maintenance on an aircraft, such as de-icing of aircraft components during freezing temperatures), and
wherein computing the climate control configuration for the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility for the first aircraft comprises computing the climate control configuration based at least in part on the environmental data (see Clermont at least [0055]; de-icing of the aircraft may be performed if freezing temperatures are experienced).
Regarding claim 14, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 15, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the analogous material of that in claim 2 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 16, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computer-implemented method of claim 14, wherein the first aircraft comprises one or more thermal sensors configured to identify one or more thermal parameters of the first aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0044]; battery temperature monitored via sensor 232; cabin temperature monitored via sensor 230).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first aircraft as disclosed by Clermont with a plurality of sensors such as further taught by Heironimus with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means of temperature regulation for components within the aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computer-implemented method of claim 16, wherein the method further comprises:
monitoring, by the computing system via the one or more thermal sensors, the one or more thermal parameters of the first aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0026]-[0028]; maintain battery temperature according to a specified temperature range); and
computing, by the computing system, the climate control configuration for the climate control infrastructure at the aerial transport facility for the first aircraft in response to detecting that at least one of the one or more thermal parameters has achieved one or more threshold temperatures (see Heironimus at least [0026]-[0028]; maintain battery temperature according to a specified temperature range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the first aircraft as disclosed by Clermont with a monitoring of aircraft components and issuing appropriate conditioning such as further taught by Heironimus with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means of temperature regulation for components within the aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computer-implemented method of claim 17, wherein the one or more threshold temperatures comprises a different threshold for one or more components of the first aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0027] and [0053]-[0054]; minimum and maximum battery temperature; minimum and maximum cabin temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the first aircraft as disclosed by Clermont with a multitude of threshold temperatures for components within such as further taught by Heironimus with a reasonable expectation of success to provide a means of temperature regulation for components within the aircraft (see Heironimus at least [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons. Additionally, Clermont discloses …a climate control infrastructure (see Clermont at least [0003]-[0004] and [0066]-[0067])…
Regarding claim 20, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 21, Clermont in view of Heironimus and Wang and Sham teach the computing system of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors cause the computing system to:
compute, the overall energy capacity for the aerial transport facility (claim 1; Wang [0089], [0142], [0178]) based on the energy capacity available to the climate control infrastructure (claim 1; Clermont [0072]), the current use data indicative of the amount of energy usage across the one or more devices at a current time (see Clermont at least "...It is also possible to mount the reception means on a central processor (9) which is in communication with a fleet of ground support units. The central processor determines which ground support units are to service given aircrafts and identifies the specific servicing programs to be implemented by said ground support units."), future use data indicative of a future amount of energy usage across the one or more devices at one or more future times (see Clermont at least "...It is also possible to mount the reception means on a central processor (9) which is in communication with a fleet of ground support units. The central processor determines which ground support units are to service given aircrafts and identifies the specific servicing programs to be implemented by said ground support units."), and the energy allocation for the first aircraft (claim 1; Clermont [0056]-[0057] and [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the climate control configuration as disclosed by Clermont with the determination of an overall energy capacity for the facility such as taught by Wang with a reasonable expectation of success for similar reasons to those as presented in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lasher (US-2016/0079780) teaches a portable recharging station for electric devices.
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663