DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a heating system capable of providing heat to the exterior of the retort structure sufficient for pyrolysis of a calorific material within the retort structure, as recited in claim 1.
means for varying the inclination of the pyrolysis structure, as recited in claims 19 and 20.
heating system [Wingdings font/0xE0] hot gas producing furnace (para. 50).
means for varying the inclination of the pyrolysis structure [Wingdings font/0xE0] hydraulic piston/ram
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-11, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merola (LV 14040 B) in view of Bedard (US 20140056770 A1) and Keene (US 1686009 A), and as evidenced by Bowing (US 0627043 A).
Regarding claim 1, Merola discloses a pyrolysis apparatus comprising:
a retort structure (Fig. 1, 18) having an interior surface and an exterior surface comprising an inner drum (18) made of a solid, continuous, non-perforated sheet (Figs. 2, 3), the retort structure is a rotatable retort (abstract) and the retort structure has a first end (end proximate fuel inlet) and second end (end proximate hopper 24);
a thermally insulated housing (Fig. 1, 10) enclosing the retort structure;
a heating system (hot gas source for supplying heated gas into the heating chamber via valves 12) capable of providing heated gas to the interior of the thermally insulated housing and thereby to the exterior of the retort structure sufficient for pyrolysis of a calorific material within the retort structure (English translation, second half of pg. 4);
a pipe (Fig. 1: pipe containing a conveyor 4) having a portion located within the retort structure for delivering feedstock into the retort structure; and
an airtight housing (Fig. 1, 8) at the first end of the retort structure with the pipe passing through it, the airtight housing preventing the heated gas from entering the retort structure (English translation; pg. 4, 3rd paragraph).
Merola fails to disclose:
wherein the inner drum is made of a solid, continuous sheet of a high thermal conductivity metal affixed, at a first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal, to a framework of a high temperature strength metal, the framework of the high temperature strength metal being bonded directly to the first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal, the first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal being exposed on the exterior surface of the retort structure through open regions of the framework of the high temperature strength metal, wherein the high thermal conductivity metal comprises copper.
Bedard teaches a pyrolysis apparatus (para. 31) comprising a retort structure (5, Fig. 1), the retort structure comprising: an inner drum made of a solid, continuous, non-perforated sheet of a high thermal conductivity metal (210, Fig. 3) affixed, at a first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal, to a framework of a high temperature strength metal (205) (e.g., steel/steel alloy), the framework of the high temperature strength metal being bonded directly to the first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal, wherein the high thermal conductivity metal comprises copper (see paras. 60, 61).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Merola wherein the inner drum is made of a solid, continuous, non-perforated sheet of a high thermal conductivity metal affixed, at a first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal, to a framework of a high temperature strength metal, the framework of the high temperature strength metal being bonded directly to the first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal, wherein the high thermal conductivity metal comprises copper.
The motivation to use a high thermal conductivity metal such as copper for the inner drum is to help uniformly distribute the heat around the retort, and having a framework made of a high strength metal would support the relatively weaker copper layer (see paras. 61, 68 of Bedard).
Modifying the inner drum of Merola to be made of a high thermally conductive metal would help distribute the heat more uniformly in the drum. This would help maintain consistent temperature conditions in the retort, especially the temperature in the radial and circumferential directions inside the retort. Uniform temperatures are important for optimal biomass to energy conversion.
In Merola, heated gases are provided at the bottom (via inlets 12) of the housing. The bottom of the retort would be locally heated relative to the top of the retort. Although some of the local heating would be distributed throughout the retort by the rotation of the retort, having the retort made of a high thermally conductive metal would reduce temperature gradients between the top and bottom of the retort. Furthermore, biomass would enter the retort and sit at the bottom of the retort, which would further contribute to the non-uniform heating in the retort.
As evidentiary support, see pg. 1, lines 45-68 of Bowing discussing where an externally heated retort is made of a high thermally conductive material to help with uniform heating of the retort.
Keene teaches an electric furnace and the technique of providing open regions (Fig. 1: 62, 63) of the framework of the high temperature strength metal (pg. 2, lines 49-55; see also pg. 3, lines 20-24 discussing where the framework is a high strength metal, e.g., nickel steel). The purpose of the open regions is to reduce the weight of the framework (pg. 2, lines 49-53).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to further modify Merola wherein the framework has the open regions such that the first side of the sheet of the high thermal conductivity metal is exposed on the exterior surface of the retort structure through open regions of the framework [the modification of Merola in view of Bedard and Keene results in a retort structure (Merola, 18) comprising two adjacent layers, an inner layer of high thermal conductivity, and an outer framework that has openings; at the openings, the inner high thermal conductivity layer would be exposed to an environment outside of the retort structure]. The motivation to combine is to reduce the weight of the retort while giving strength to the retort. As discussed in Bedard, having a framework would provide structural support for the retort; however, this benefit has the cost of added weight. Reducing the weight of the retort would serve several purposes. First, it would make transport and handling of the retort easier. Second, the motor driving the retort would not have to work as hard. And third, it would save on material cost.
Moreover, a person having skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the open regions in the framework, and not in the copper layer, for several reasons. First, if the open regions were in the copper layer, then it would significantly weaken the copper layer. Copper is considered a soft metal and could easily deform due to stresses and strains. Second, if the open regions were placed in the copper layer, then waste material would be deposited in the open regions, which would compromise the retort. The heated waste deposited in the open regions would turn to caked on hardened char that would create non-uniform temperatures in the framework. The non-uniform temperatures would cause differential straining in the framework. Moreover, the framework would be exposed to the harsh conditions of the pyrolysis process. Third, if the open regions were in the copper layer, then cleaning the interior of the retort would be extremely difficult since there would be many crevices to clean. Lastly, if the open regions were placed in both the copper layer and in the framework, then the retort would be rendered inoperable since waste would fall out of the inner drum before the pyrolysis process is complete.
Regarding claim 3, modified Merola discloses wherein the high temperature strength metal is a nickel alloy (Bedard: para. 61).
Regarding claim 4, modified Merola discloses wherein the high temperature strength metal is a stainless steel (Bedard: para. 61).
Regarding claim 6, Merola discloses wherein said retort (18) has a circular cross- section (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Merola discloses wherein said retort is cylindrical (Figs. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 8, Merola discloses a first body (Fig. 1, 25) of co-rotating inner (Fig. 1, 18) and outer bodies (25).
Regarding claim 9, Merola discloses wherein said first body is said outer body (25) of said co-rotating inner and outer bodies
Regarding claim 10, modified Merola discloses the apparatus according to claim 9, further comprising a second body (Merola,18) of said co-rotating inner and outer bodies, said second body being constructed of a high thermal conductivity metal such as copper (see rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, Merola discloses wherein the inner body contains holes (apertures in grid basket 21) to allow particulate material to pass therethrough.
Regarding claim 16, Merola discloses a rotatable drive capable of rotating the retort (abstract).
Regarding claims 19, Merola discloses means (13) for varying the inclination of the pyrolysis structure.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merola (LV 14040 B) in view of Bedard (US 20140056770 A1) and Keene (US 1686009 A), and as evidenced by Bowing (US 0627043 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ricklefs (US 20100024243 A1)
Regarding claim 17, Merola fails to disclose said rotatable drive is reversible, and controllable to periodically alternate the direction of rotation of the retort structure. However, Ricklefs teaches a clothes dryer comprising a drive motor, wherein said rotatable drive is reversible, and controllable to periodically alternate the direction of rotation of the drum (para. 8, 33, 56). Ricklefs teaches this reversible feature to loosen the clothing items for faster drying (para. 33).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Merola wherein said rotatable drive is reversible, and controllable to periodically alternate the direction of rotation of the retort structure. The motivation to combine is so that the material inside the drum can be loosened for a more efficient and complete pyrolysis process.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merola (LV 14040 B) in view of Bedard (US 20140056770 A1), and as evidenced by Bowing (US 0627043 A)., as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Bottinelli (US 4983214 A).
Regarding claim 20, Merola fails to disclose wherein the means for varying the inclination of the pyrolysis structure comprises a hydraulic arrangement.
However, Bottinelli teaches hydraulics (80, Fig. 4) for varying the inclination of a kiln. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Merola wherein the means for varying comprises hydraulics, since it is a simple substitution with predictable results of one type of tilting mechanism for another. Moreover, the use of hydraulics is a well-known reliable technology.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts the following on page(s) 6 of the Remarks:
Examiner’s response:
The motivation statement has been amended; therefore, Applicant’s argument is moot.
Applicant asserts the following on page(s) 6 of the Remarks:
Examiner’s response:
The copper layer is not a heat sink that permanently removes thermal energy from the system. The heat would eventually penetrate through the copper layer and into the feedstock. For example, if the enclosed space (Merola, 17) is kept at a constant temperature, then the interior of the retort would also be at the same temperature given enough time for the temperature to equilibrate.
Applicant asserts the following on page(s) 6 of the Remarks:
Examiner’s response:
Steel is used to create beams but it is common practice for beams to have an I-shaped cross-section, rather than a circular or square cross-section. This is done in order to reduce the weight and material of the beams, while still retaining much of its strength. This concept is similarly applied to the modification. The framework is made of steel to give it strength but formed as a lattice to reduce its weight.
Applicant asserts the following on page(s) 7 of the Remarks:
Examiner’s response:
While bonding the copper layer to the high strength metal would significantly strengthen the copper layer, having cutouts in the copper layer might cause the edges of the cutouts to deform or chip away when exposed to coarse biomass that is being rotated in the retort.
Regarding the second point, the statement has been modified to say that the hardened deposits on the framework would create non-uniform temperatures in the framework, resulting in differential straining in the framework.
It is common knowledge in the art that these systems must be periodically cleaned, otherwise, material would continue to build up on the inner wall of the retort.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762