DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1, 5–6, 8, 29, 32–33, 35–36, 39–40 and 42–48 are pending for examination in the reply filed on 10/29/2025.
Claim 2–4, 7, 9–28, 30–31, 34, 37–38, and 41 are cancelled.
Examiner Notes
3. Examiner refers to and explicitly cites particular pages, sections, figures, paragraphs or columns and lines in the references as applied to Applicant’s claims to the extent practicable to streamline prosecution.
Although the cited portions of the references are representative of the best teachings in the art and are applied to meet the specific limitations of the claims, other uncited but related teachings of the references may be equally applicable as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses to the rejections, the Applicant fully considers not only the cited portions of the references, but also the references in their entirety, as potentially teaching, suggesting or rendering obvious all or one or more aspects of the claimed invention.
Abbreviations
4. Where appropriate, the following abbreviations will be used when referencing Applicant’s submissions and specific teachings of the reference(s):
i. figure / figures: Fig. / Figs.
ii. column / columns: Col. / Cols.
iii. page / pages: p. / pp.
References Cited
5. (A) Hong et al., US 2022/0121912 A1 (“Hong”).
(B) GADELRAB et al., US 2021/0279635 A1 (“Gadelrab”).
Hong and Gadelrab were cited in the previous Office action.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.
7. Claims 1, 5–6, 8, 29, 32–33, 35–36, 39–40 and 42–48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (A) Hong in view of (B) Gadelrab.
See “References Cited” section, above, for full citations of references.
(Claims 1, 5–6, 8, 43, and 44 are methods claims.
Claims 29, 32–33, 35, 45, and 46 are apparatus/system claims.
Claims 36, 39–40, 42, 47, and 48 are computer program product claims)
8. Regarding claim 1, (A) Hong teaches/suggests the invention substantially as claimed, including:
“A method, comprising:
assigning a first quantity of a plurality of deep learning accelerator (DLA) cores of a DLA chip to a first subset of the DLA cores based at least in part on a first computational capability of a first DLA model;
(¶ 56: plurality of neural networks executed on the accelerator 120 may be neural networks in different structures;
¶ 48: request may be for data inference based on the neural network and may cause the accelerator 120 to execute, that is, run … the neural network and to acquire a data inference result for, for example, an object recognition, a pattern recognition, a computer vision, a voice recognition, a machine translation, a machine interpretation, a recommendation service, a personalized service, a video processing, and/or autonomous driving;
The Examiner notes: different applications have different computational capabilities, features, or functions, requiring different accelerator/core performance;
¶ 77: The scheduler may select a candidate kernel estimated to have the best accelerator performance when running each candidate kernel based on a current situation of the accelerator and kernel information of candidate kernels. A criterion of performance may include any one or any combination of a throughput of each model, a latency, a fairness, a power consumption amount, and a utilization rate of the accelerator based on a situation or a selection of a user;
¶ 119: example, a workload that uses a relatively large computational amount may be allocated to a relatively LARGE NUMBER OF PROCESSING ELEMENTS and processed thereby, and a workload that uses a relatively small computational amount may be allocated to a relatively small number of processing elements and processed thereby;
see ¶¶ 23–25 below, for elaboration and context;
see also ¶ 51 for elaboration that each accelerator core (of the plurality of accelerator cores on one accelerator chip) may include one or more processing elements (PEs) configured to perform operations according to the neural network).
“assigning a second, greater, quantity of the plurality of DLA cores to a second subset of
the DLA cores based at least in part on a second computational capability of a second DLA
model that is greater than the first computational capability of the first DLA model,
wherein the second DLA model is different than the first DLA model”
(¶ 96: five of the eight cores are allocated to run layer 1 of model 1 and the remaining three of the eight cores are in an idle status. In an “after” situation in which layer 1 of model 1 starts to run in the above situation, layer 1 of model 2 may run by selecting kernel 2 capable of maximally using the remaining three cores;
Fig. 8 and ¶¶ 97–98: FIG. 8 illustrates another example of dynamically allocating resources;
¶ 56: plurality of neural networks executed on the accelerator 120 may be neural networks in different structures;
¶ 48: request may be for data inference based on the neural network and may cause the accelerator 120 to execute, that is, run … the neural network and to acquire a data inference result for, for example, an object recognition, a pattern recognition, a computer vision, a voice recognition, a machine translation, a machine interpretation, a recommendation service, a personalized service, a video processing, and/or autonomous driving;
The Examiner notes: different applications have different computational capabilities, features, or functions, requiring different accelerator/core performance;
¶ 77: The scheduler may select a candidate kernel estimated to have the best accelerator performance when running each candidate kernel based on a current situation of the accelerator and kernel information of candidate kernels. A criterion of performance may include any one or any combination of a throughput of each model, a latency, a fairness, a power consumption amount, and a utilization rate of the accelerator based on a situation or a selection of a user;
¶ 119: example, a workload that uses a relatively large computational amount may be allocated to a relatively large number of processing elements and processed thereby, and a workload that uses a relatively small computational amount may be allocated to a relatively small number of processing elements and processed thereby;
see also, Gadelrab, infra, ¶ 54: execution of inferences may begin using a high accuracy model on high performance cores ( e.g., using a machine learning model with floating point weights), and inferences may be performed in parallel on one or more high efficiency cores using one or more sets of quantized weights (e.g., weights quantized to reduced-size representations, such as 16-bit integer, to 8-bit integer, 4-bit integer, etc., relative to the floating point weights included in a high accuracy model);
¶ 103: the system executes an inference using the high accuracy representation of the machine learning model on high accuracy hardware. High accuracy hardware may be processors or processing cores that can perform floating point operations, such as cores designated as high performance cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor ( e.g. "big" cores in a BIG.little architecture), graphics processing units, tensor processing units, neural processing units, and/or other high performance processing units;
¶ 110: The selected high efficiency model may be executed on high efficiency processors that use less power than the high accuracy hardware discussed above. These processors may include, for example, processors designed as high efficiency cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor (e.g., “little” cores in a BIG.little architecture), integer processing modules on a processor, or the like);
executing the first DLA model using the first subset of the plurality of DLA cores of a DLA chip; and
(¶¶ 23–25 **: generating a plurality of kernels for each of a first neural network model and a second neural network model; and running a kernel of the first model on a number of cores of an available resource of an accelerator; in response to a start of the running, running a kernel of the second model on a remaining number of cores of the available resource of an accelerator; generating one or more output feature maps based on the running of the kernels.
The running of the kernel of the second model may include running the kernel of the second model in response to determining that a collision will not occur between memory access patterns during the running of the kernel of the first model and the running of the kernel of the second model.
For each of the kernel of the first model and the kernel of the second model, the kernel may be selected for running from among the plurality of kernels based on kernel information including any one or more of: a number of accelerator cores;
¶ 56: in response to a plurality of requests received at the host processor 110, the accelerator 120 may execute a plurality of neural networks according to kernels generated by the host processor 110. Here, the plurality of neural networks executed on the accelerator 120 may be neural networks in different structures … Herein, a neural network may also be referred to as a model for clarity of description;
Fig. 2 and ¶ 58: executing a multi-model on a multi-core accelerator;
¶ 55: neural network may provide an optimal output corresponding to an input by mapping an input and an output having a nonlinear relationship based on deep learning. The deep learning may be a machine learning scheme for solving a given problem from a big data set …);
executing a second DLA model using a second subset of the plurality of DLA cores of the DLA chip …”
(¶¶ 23–25 **: generating a plurality of kernels for each of a first neural network model and a second neural network model; and running a kernel of the first model on a number of cores of an available resource of an accelerator; in response to a start of the running, running a kernel of the second model on a remaining number of cores of the available resource of an accelerator; generating one or more output feature maps based on the running of the kernels.
The running of the kernel of the second model may include running the kernel of the second model in response to determining that a collision will not occur between memory access patterns during the running of the kernel of the first model and the running of the kernel of the second model.
For each of the kernel of the first model and the kernel of the second model, the kernel may be selected for running from among the plurality of kernels based on kernel information including any one or more of: a number of accelerator cores;
¶ 56: in response to a plurality of requests received at the host processor 110, the accelerator 120 may execute a plurality of neural networks according to kernels generated by the host processor 110. Here, the plurality of neural networks executed on the accelerator 120 may be neural networks in different structures … Herein, a neural network may also be referred to as a model for clarity of description;
Fig. 2 and ¶ 58: executing a multi-model on a multi-core accelerator;
¶ 55: neural network may provide an optimal output corresponding to an input by mapping an input and an output having a nonlinear relationship based on deep learning. The deep learning may be a machine learning scheme for solving a given problem from a big data set …).
“wherein the first subset comprises a first quantity of the plurality of DLA cores and the second subset comprises a second quantity of the plurality of DLA cores that is different than the first quantity of the plurality of DLA cores”
(¶ 96: five of the eight cores are allocated to run layer 1 of model 1 and the remaining three of the eight cores are in an idle status. In an “after” situation in which layer 1 of model 1 starts to run in the above situation, layer 1 of model 2 may run by selecting kernel 2 capable of maximally using the remaining three cores;
Fig. 8 and ¶¶ 97–98: FIG. 8 illustrates another example of dynamically allocating resources).
Hong does not teach “determining to switch from execution of the first DLA model to execution of the second DLA model based on accuracy of results from execution of the first DLA model” and “executing the second DLA model … in response to determining to switch from execution of the first DLA model to execution of the second DLA model.”
(B) Gadelrab however teaches or suggests:
“wherein the second DLA model is different than the first DLA model; …”
(¶ 54: execution of inferences may begin using a high accuracy model on high performance cores ( e.g., using a machine learning model with floating point weights), and inferences may be performed in parallel on one or more high efficiency cores using one or more sets of quantized weights (e.g., weights quantized to reduced-size representations, such as 16-bit integer, to 8-bit integer, 4-bit integer, etc., relative to the floating point weights included in a high accuracy model);
¶ 103: the system executes an inference using the high accuracy representation of the machine learning model on high accuracy hardware. High accuracy hardware may be processors or processing cores that can perform floating point operations, such as cores designated as high performance cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor ( e.g. "big" cores in a BIG.little architecture), graphics processing units, tensor processing units, neural processing units, and/or other high performance processing units;
¶ 110: The selected high efficiency model may be executed on high efficiency processors that use less power than the high accuracy hardware discussed above. These processors may include, for example, processors designed as high efficiency cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor (e.g., “little” cores in a BIG.little architecture), integer processing modules on a processor, or the like);
“determining to switch from execution of the first DLA model to execution of the second DLA model based on accuracy of results from execution of the first DLA model” and
“executing the second DLA model … in response to determining to switch from execution of the first DLA model to execution of the second DLA model.”
(Fig. 5 and ¶¶ 112–121;
¶ 113: As illustrated, executing inferences in a high efficiency mode begins at block 502;
¶ 114: Generally, the executed inference may be performed using a selected high efficiency model ( e.g., a machine learning model and weights quantized to a data type that involves less complex computation;
¶ 118: At block 514, the system determines whether the high efficiency model accuracy and overflow/underflow statistics are within an acceptable range. To determine whether high efficiency model accuracy is within an acceptable range;
¶¶ 120–121: If the system determines, at block 514, that high efficiency model accuracy is acceptable and overflow/underflow statistics are within the threshold value, the system may return to block 502 and execute a subsequent inference using the high efficiency model.
Otherwise, at block 516, the system exits the high efficiency mode and executes subsequent inferences using the high accuracy mode (e.g., as discussed above with respect to FIG. 4);
¶ 53: To allow for inferences to be performed on efficient cores while maintaining a sufficient degree of accuracy in the results generated by executing inferences using a quantized machine learning model, embodiments described herein provide various techniques for adaptively quantizing parameters used by a machine learning model and switching between performing inferences using a high accuracy model on high performance cores and performing inferences using quantized models on efficient cores;
¶ 54: execution of inferences may begin using a high accuracy model on high performance cores ( e.g., using a machine learning model with floating point weights), and inferences may be performed in parallel on one or more high efficiency cores using one or more sets of quantized weights (e.g., weights quantized to reduced-size representations, such as 16-bit integer, to 8-bit integer, 4-bit integer, etc., relative to the floating point weights included in a high accuracy model);
¶ 57: The quantized weight information may be in a format for which computation is less intensive than computation using the received weight information;
¶ 103: the system executes an inference using the high accuracy representation of the machine learning model on high accuracy hardware. High accuracy hardware may be processors or processing cores that can perform floating point operations, such as cores designated as high performance cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor ( e.g. "big" cores in a BIG.little architecture), graphics processing units, tensor processing units, neural processing units, and/or other high performance processing units;
¶ 110: The selected high efficiency model may be executed on high efficiency processors that use less power than the high accuracy hardware discussed above. These processors may include, for example, processors designed as high efficiency cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor (e.g., “little” cores in a BIG.little architecture), integer processing modules on a processor, or the like).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of (B) Gadelrab with those of (A) Hong to switch between different models having different resource requirements, computation complexities, and/or result accuracies (i.e. QoS). The motivation or advantage to do so is to improve resource efficiency by adaptively optimizing/switching the use of computational (core) resources based on acceptable computational and performance results.
9. Regarding claim 5, Hong teaches/suggests:
“assigning less than all of the plurality of DLA cores to the first subset and the second subset of the plurality of DLA cores”
(¶ 96: five of the eight cores are allocated to run layer 1 of model 1 and the remaining three of the eight cores are in an idle status;
Fig. 8 and ¶¶ 97–98: FIG. 8 illustrates another example of dynamically allocating resources;
¶ 87: determine whether a number of idle cores of an accelerator is greater than or equal to a number of required cores of a candidate kernel;
¶ 88: When it is determined that the number of idle cores of the accelerator is greater than or equal to the number of required cores of the candidate kernel in operation 610, in operation 620, the scheduler may extract a combination of cores mappable per candidate kernel).
10. Regarding claim 6, Hong teaches/suggests:
“assigning the first quantity and the second quantity of the plurality of DLA cores without regard to a total quantity of the plurality of DLA cores”
(¶ 96: five of the eight cores are allocated to run layer 1 of model 1 and the remaining three of the eight cores are in an idle status;
Fig. 8 and ¶¶ 97–98: FIG. 8 illustrates another example of dynamically allocating resources;
¶ 87: determine whether a number of idle cores of an accelerator is greater than or equal to a number of required cores of a candidate kernel;
¶ 88: When it is determined that the number of idle cores of the accelerator is greater than or equal to the number of required cores of the candidate kernel in operation 610, in operation 620, the scheduler may extract a combination of cores mappable per candidate kernel;
¶ 89: when ten cores included in two clusters are being used and two cores are being used in another cluster, three cores and five cores among remaining eight idle cores may be verified).
11. Regarding claim 8, Hong teaches/suggests:
“executing a third DLA model using a third subset of the plurality of DLA cores of the DLA chip, wherein the third subset comprises a third quantity of the plurality of DLA cores that is different than the first and third quantities of the plurality of DLA cores; and
assigning the third quantity of the plurality of DLA cores to the third subset of the DLA cores based at least in part on a third computational capability of the third DLA model, wherein the third computational capability is different than the first and second computational capabilities”
(¶ 96: five of the eight cores are allocated to run layer 1 of model 1 and the remaining three of the eight cores are in an idle status. In an “after” situation in which layer 1 of model 1 starts to run in the above situation, layer 1 of model 2 may run by selecting kernel 2 capable of maximally using the remaining three cores;
Fig. 8 and ¶¶ 97–98: FIG. 8 illustrates another example of dynamically allocating resources;
See supra, ¶¶ 48, 56, 77, and 119, as applied in rejecting claim 2 above;
Fig. 2 and ¶ 59: models 1 to 3;
¶ 80: For example, if a total number of cores in the accelerator is 20 and four models are to run (that is, be executed)).
12. Regarding claim 43, Hong and Gadelrab teach or suggest:
“determining to switch from execution of the first DLA model to execution of the second DLA model based on accuracy of results from execution of the first DLA model on data received after compile time”
(Hong, Fig. 2 and ¶ 65: Every time a request for executing a corresponding model is received, the compiler 210 may generate a plurality of candidate kernels for each of layers included in the corresponding model and corresponding kernel information and transfers the same to the scheduler 220;
¶ 132: In one example, the instructions or software include machine code that is directly executed by the one or more processors or computers, such as machine code produced by a compiler;
Gadelrab, Fig. 5 and ¶¶ 112–121;
¶ 113: As illustrated, executing inferences in a high efficiency mode begins at block 502;
¶ 114: Generally, the executed inference may be performed using a selected high efficiency model ( e.g., a machine learning model and weights quantized to a data type that involves less complex computation;
¶ 118: At block 514, the system determines whether the high efficiency model accuracy and overflow/underflow statistics are within an acceptable range. To determine whether high efficiency model accuracy is within an acceptable range;
¶¶ 120–121: If the system determines, at block 514, that high efficiency model accuracy is acceptable and overflow/underflow statistics are within the threshold value, the system may return to block 502 and execute a subsequent inference using the high efficiency model.
Otherwise, at block 516, the system exits the high efficiency mode and executes subsequent inferences using the high accuracy mode (e.g., as discussed above with respect to FIG. 4);
¶ 53: To allow for inferences to be performed on efficient cores while maintaining a sufficient degree of accuracy in the results generated by executing inferences using a quantized machine learning model, embodiments described herein provide various techniques for adaptively quantizing parameters used by a machine learning model and switching between performing inferences using a high accuracy model on high performance cores and performing inferences using quantized models on efficient cores).
13. Regarding claim 44, Gadelrab teaches or suggests:
“determining to switch from execution of the first DLA model to execution of the second DLA model based on accuracy of results from execution of the first DLA model on data representative of data on which execution of the first DLA model and the second DLA model is anticipated”
(Gadelrab, Fig. 5 and ¶¶ 53 and 112–121;
¶ 52: Where models are quantized, the quantization may be tested with some inputs to verify that the quantized model works for those outputs;
¶ 58: In some embodiments, the computing device can reduce the weight information into a plurality of sets of quantized weight information associated with different quantization levels to be tested during execution of the machine learning model to identify an optimal level of quantization, or a level of quantization that results in sufficient inference accuracy relative to inference accuracy for
inferences performed using the high accuracy model;
¶ 60: In another embodiment, the computing device can quantize weight information from floating point to a minimal bit size representation (e.g., 1-bit or 2-bit integer) and determine if inferences performed using the minimal bit size representation has sufficient accuracy relative to inference accuracy for inferences performed using the high accuracy model).
14. Regarding claims 29, 32–33, 35, 45, and 46, they are the corresponding system claims reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claims 1, 5–6, 8, 43, and 44, respectively. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 5–6, 8, 43, and 44 above, including the following rationale:
Hong teaches/suggests: “a deep learning accelerator (DLA) chip comprising a plurality of DLA cores; and a compiler coupled to the DLA chip and configured to:”
(Fig. 1 and ¶ 51: The accelerator core 131 may include one or more processing elements (PEs) configured to perform operations according to the neural network. Although FIG. 1 illustrates that a single accelerator core 131 is included in the accelerator chip 130 for clarity of description, a plurality of accelerator cores may be included in the accelerator chip 130 and may process operations;
Fig. 2 and ¶ 65: Every time a request for executing a corresponding model is received, the compiler 210 may generate a plurality of candidate kernels for each of layers included in the corresponding model and corresponding kernel information and transfers the same to the scheduler 220;
¶ 132: In one example, the instructions or software include machine code that is directly executed by the one or more processors or computers, such as machine code produced by a compiler;
¶ 134: components in a described system, architecture, device, or circuit are combined in a different manner, and/or replaced or supplemented by other components or their equivalents).
For claim 32, Hong also teaches/suggests “wherein the compiler is configured to assign less than all of the plurality of DLA cores to a respective subset of the DLA cores” as similarly applied in rejecting claim 5
(¶ 96: five of the eight cores are allocated to run layer 1 of model 1 and the remaining three of the eight cores are in an idle status;
Fig. 8 and ¶¶ 97–98: FIG. 8 illustrates another example of dynamically allocating resources;
¶ 87: determine whether a number of idle cores of an accelerator is greater than or equal to a number of required cores of a candidate kernel;
¶ 88: When it is determined that the number of idle cores of the accelerator is greater than or equal to the number of required cores of the candidate kernel in operation 610, in operation 620, the scheduler may extract a combination of cores mappable per candidate kernel).
15. Regarding claims 36, 39–40, 42, 47, and 48, they are the corresponding computer program product claims reciting similar limitations of commensurate scope as the method of claims 1, 5–6, 8, 43, and 44, respectively. Therefore, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 5–6, 8, 43, and 44 above, including the following rationale:
For claim 39, Hong also teaches/suggests “assign less than all of the plurality of DLA cores to a respective subset of the DLA cores” as similarly applied in rejecting claim 5
(¶ 96: five of the eight cores are allocated to run layer 1 of model 1 and the remaining three of the eight cores are in an idle status;
Fig. 8 and ¶¶ 97–98: FIG. 8 illustrates another example of dynamically allocating resources;
¶ 87: determine whether a number of idle cores of an accelerator is greater than or equal to a number of required cores of a candidate kernel;
¶ 88: When it is determined that the number of idle cores of the accelerator is greater than or equal to the number of required cores of the candidate kernel in operation 610, in operation 620, the scheduler may extract a combination of cores mappable per candidate kernel).
Response to Arguments
16. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the newly applied teachings or references being used in the current rejection.
In the Remarks, the Applicant also argues that Gadelrab does not teach determining to switch from execution of a first DLA model to execution of a second (different) DLA model because the models themselves do not appear to be different.
The Examiner disagrees.
As applied in the rejection, Gadelrab teaches in paragraph 103 that “the system executes an inference using the high accuracy representation of the machine learning model on high accuracy hardware. High accuracy hardware may be processors or processing cores that can perform floating point operations, such as cores designated as high performance cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor” and in paragraph 110, when switching or entering “the high efficiency mode using the selected high efficiency model for the execution of subsequent inferences … The selected high efficiency model may be executed on high efficiency processors that use less power than the high accuracy hardware discussed above. These processors may include, for example, processors designed as high efficiency cores in a heterogeneous multicore processor (e.g., “little” cores in a BIG.little architecture), integer processing modules on a processor, or the like.
Accordingly, Gadelrab teaches or at least suggests that the two models are different in at least one aspect with respect to the different types or levels of mathematical operations called for or performed by the models (e.g. floating point operations or integer operations) and the required hardware on which the models execute.
(see also Gadelrab, paragraph 47: “Because integer and floating point numbers are represented differently, mathematical operations may involve different levels of computational expense based on whether a mathematical operation is operating on integers or floating point numbers. For example, addition of two integers may be a trivial bitwise operation in which each bit is combined and overflow is carried to the next bit. However, floating point operations may be more complex, as multiple operations may be performed to combine the exponent and precision bits, and a multiplication operation may be performed based on the exponent and precision bits to generate a result” — teaching that floating point operations may require multiple operations or steps which are different than a “trivial bitwise operation” for operating on integers)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN C WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195
February 4, 2026