DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claims 1, 14, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1, 14, and 21 and its dependents has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kollar et al. (Publication No. US 2008/0027368 A1) in view of Hahn et al. (Publication No. US 2011/0144556 A1). Kollar teaches a heart lung machine (HLM) (perfusion system 1; Figure 1; Paragraph 0004 and 0052) comprising a plurality of actuators (pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0055), a peripheral display (backup display 55; Paragraph 0056; Figure 1), and a control assembly having a control display (display 54 has touchscreen capabilities with buttons to control pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0056 and 0166; Figure 1), where the peripheral display displays a subset of a set of parameter data (Paragraph 0170 – “…important subsets of the various features described below with respect to main display 54 may also be provided at backup display 55…”, backup display 55 has touchscreen capabilities so that the user can select data to view and can show a subset of the set of data from the pumps 31-38, for example, numerical data entry is displayed on backup screen when control knob is used for inputting important numeric values relating to operation of each pump; Paragraph 0056, 0139, and 0170-0171) and the control display displaying an additional subset of the set of parameter data, different from the peripheral display (additional subset of data differ from subset in display 55, i.e. Figures 27-33 have subsets of data on display 54 that is selectable for view by user by pressing touchscreen that would differ from subset of data on backup display 55; Paragraph 0172-0173). The rejection of claims 1, 14, and 21 with the prior art combination will further be discussed in the rejection below. Accordingly, this action is a second Non-Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-10, 12-15, 19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollar et al. (Publication No. US 2008/0027368 A1) in view of Hahn et al. (Publication No. US 2011/0144556 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kollar teaches a heart lung machine (HLM) (perfusion system 1; Figure 1; Paragraph 0004 and 0052), comprising:
a plurality of actuators (pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0055);
a peripheral processing unit configured to receive a set of parameter data from each of the plurality of actuators (processor 304 receive a set of parameter data from each of the pumps 31-38; Figure 25; Paragraph 0139, 0166, 0170-0171);
a peripheral display configured to present a subset of the set of parameter data from each of the plurality of actuators (Paragraph 0170 – “…important subsets of the various features described below with respect to main display 54 may also be provided at backup display 55…”, backup display 55 has touchscreen capabilities so that the user can select data to view and can show a subset of the set of data from the pumps 31-38, for example, numerical data entry is displayed on backup screen when control knob is used for inputting important numeric values relating to operation of each pump; Paragraph 0056, 0139, and 0170-0171);
a plurality of actuator control units (ACUs) (control knobs 31a-36a and displays 31b-36b are pump controls for pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0166; Figure 1), each of the plurality of ACUs operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators (Paragraph 0166); and
a control assembly (main display 54; Paragraph 0056; Figure 1) comprising a control display (display 54 has touchscreen capabilities with buttons to control pumps 31-36 – pump 31 operates with button 262b; Paragraph 0235; Figure 30I; buttons for pumps 32-34; Paragraph 0280; Figure 32C; button 264b’ for pumps 35-36 and 246 for controlling pump 35 and 36; Paragraph 0241 and 0276-0278; Figure 30I and 32A-32B; Paragraph 0056 and 0166; Figure 1),
wherein the control display is configured to present an additional subset of the set of parameter data (display 54 will display a subset of a set of data; Paragraph 0170-0171; Figure 1), wherein the additional subset of the set of parameter data is different than the subset presented by the peripheral display (additional subset of data differ from subset in display 55, i.e. Figures 27-33 have subsets of data on display 54 that is selectable for view by user by pressing touchscreen that would differ from subset of data on backup display 55; Paragraph 0172-0173; Figures 27-33), wherein the additional subset of the set of parameter data is stored in one or more profiles (additional subsets of the set of parameter data is stored in profiles/tabs; Figure 27; Paragraph 0173), wherein each profile is configured to facilitate adaptation to one or more characteristic of a corresponding intended procedure (Paragraph 0172-0173; Figure 27). Kollar does not teach the control assembly comprising a plurality of input control devices, wherein each of the input control devices is operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators, wherein the peripheral display is separate from the control assembly and spaced away from the control display.
However, Hahn teaches the control assembly comprising a plurality of input control devices (control elements 10.1-10.4 on control panel 6; Paragraph 0056 and 0063; Figure 1-3), wherein each of the input control devices is operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators (control elements 10.1-10.4 is operably connected to pumps 4.1-4.4; Paragraph 0063; Figures 1-3), wherein the peripheral display is separate from the control assembly and spaced away from the control display (monitors 18.1-18.4 are separate and spaced away from display of control panel 6; Figures 1-3; Paragraph 0063).
Kollar and Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and have the plurality of input control devices of Hahn on the control assembly of Kollar below the control display and have each input control device of Hahn connected to each of the pumps of Kollar, with the peripheral display separate and spaced away from the control assembly’s control display. This allows for the operator to control each pump by an individual element (Hahn; Paragraph 0008) and allow for the user to have an intuitive association with the individual control elements with the respective pump (Hahn; Paragraph 0015), while having the monitor elements that serve for displaying data being separate from the controls (Hahn; Paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 2, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 1. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn further teaches wherein one or more of the plurality of ACUs is operably connected to the control assembly (Kollar; pump knobs 31a-36a and displays 31b-36b are operatively connected to display 54 through processor 300; Figure 1 and 25; Paragraph 0166).
Regarding claim 7, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 1. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn further teaches wherein each of the plurality of input control devices is operably connected to a corresponding ACU of the plurality of ACUs and is configured to control the respective actuator (input control devices of Hahn are configured to control pumps 31-36 of Kollar; see rejection of claim 1 above), without prevailing over the ACU in controlling the respective actuator (Kollar; knobs 31a-36a of ACUs can be used to change pump settings; Figure 1 and 25; Paragraph 0055 and 0166).
Regarding claim 8, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 1. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn further teaches wherein each of the plurality of ACUs is configured to be used as backup in case of a corresponding input control device failure (Kollar; each ACU controls each respective pump – implicit that the ACU can be configured to operate as backup in the case that controls of Hahn fails; Paragraph 0055 and 0166; Figure 1). The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn does not teach wherein each of the plurality of ACUs corresponding to input control devices in the control assembly is disposed in a lower housing of the HLM.
However, Hahn teaches wherein a plug-in device with slots 40 is disposed in a lower housing 36 of the HLM with an openable flap 34 (Paragraph 0065-0066, 0068 and 0072; Figure 4 and 5).
Kollar and Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and place the lower housing with the flap of Hahn on the bottom of the device of Kollar in view of Hahn. This allows for the additional medical and peripheral devices to be connected to the HLM with the wires/cables of the control elements and other devices accessible in the space 36 while protecting these components in the space and not obstructing mobility (Hahn; Paragraph 0024, 0065-0066, 0068, and 0072).
Regarding claim 9, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 8. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn further teaches wherein the lower housing comprises an enclosure configured to be opened to reveal the plurality of ACUs (Hahn; flap 34 opens to access the space 36; Paragraph 0070-0073).
Regarding claim 10, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 1. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn does not teach further comprising a single cable connecting the control assembly to the peripheral processing unit, wherein the single cable is configured to transport control signals, parameter data, and power. Kollar teaches in Figure 25 the system that is used to operate the device and it is obvious to one of ordinary skill that cables are required to operate the system and its components (Paragraph 0166).
Since the specification of the instant application is silent to unexpected results, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the lines of Kollar in view of Hahn to be integrated into a single cable, with the same functionality of powering the display and transporting signals and data. Making elements integral is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (MPEP 2143(I)(B)).
Regarding claim 12, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 1. Kollar further teaches wherein the control assembly includes a body having a first portion that is at least approximately rectangular and a second portion that extends away from a front surface of the first portion, the second portion configured to be used as a hand rest (top portion of control assembly 54 is rectangular and second, bottom portion extends down away from a front surface of the first portion and can be used as a hand rest; Figure 1; Paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 13, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 1. Kollar further teaches further comprising a trolley (unit 10 is on wheels 5; Paragraph 0053; Figure 1) comprising: a base (bottom of the unit 10; Figure 1; Paragraph 0056); and a mast assembly coupled to the base and extending upwards from the base (pole 11 is coupled to base and extending upwards from base; Figure 1; Paragraph 0056), wherein the control assembly is moveably coupled to a portion of the mast assembly via a locking connector (display 54 is mounted using mounting bracket on pole 11 to a desired position; Figure 1; Paragraph 0056). Kollar does not teach the base comprising an internal cavity for housing a central system unit, wherein the base further comprises the lower housing that contains one or more of the plurality of ACUs.
However, Hahn teaches wherein a plug-in device with slots 40 is disposed in a lower housing 36 of the HLM with an openable flap 34 (Paragraph 0065-0066, 0068 and 0072; Figure 4).
Kollar and Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and have a central system unit/plug-in device of Hahn in the base with the lower housing of Hahn and place the lower housing with the flap of Hahn on the base of the device of Kollar in view of Hahn. This allows for the additional medical and peripheral devices to be connected to the HLM through the plug-in device with the wires/cables of the control elements and other devices accessible in the space 36 while protecting these components in the space and not obstructing mobility (Hahn; Paragraph 0024, 0065-0066, 0068, and 0072).
Regarding claim 14, Kollar teaches a heart lung machine (HLM) (perfusion system 1; Figure 1; Paragraph 0004 and 0052), comprising: a plurality of actuators (pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0055); a peripheral processing unit configured to receive a set of parameter data from each of the plurality of actuators (processor 304 receive a set of parameter data from each of the pumps 31-38; Figure 25; Paragraph 0139, 0166, 0170-0171); a peripheral display configured to present a first subset of the set of parameter data from each of the plurality of actuators (Paragraph 0170 – “…important subsets of the various features described below with respect to main display 54 may also be provided at backup display 55…”, backup display 55 has touchscreen capabilities so that the user can select data to view and can show a subset of the set of data from the pumps 31-38, for example, numerical data entry is displayed on backup screen when control knob is used for inputting important numeric values relating to operation of each pump; Paragraph 0056, 0139, and 0170-0171); a plurality of actuator control units (ACUs) (control knobs 31a-36a and displays 31b-36b are pump controls for pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0166; Figure 1), each of the plurality of ACUs operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators (Paragraph 0166); and a control assembly (main display 54; Paragraph 0056; Figure 1) comprising a control display (display 54 has touchscreen capabilities with buttons to control pumps 31-36 – pump 31 operates with button 262b; Paragraph 0235; Figure 30I; buttons for pumps 32-34; Paragraph 0280; Figure 32C; button 264b’ for pumps 35-36 and 246 for controlling pump 35 and 36; Paragraph 0241 and 0276-0278; Figure 30I and 32A-32B; Paragraph 0056 and 0166; Figure 1), wherein the control display is configured to present a second subset of the set of parameter data (display 54 will display a subset of a set of data; Paragraph 0170-0171; Figure 1), wherein the second subset of the parameter data is not equal to the first subset of the parameter data (additional subset of data differ from subset in display 55, i.e. Figures 27-33 have subsets of data on display 54 that is selectable for view by user by pressing touchscreen that would differ from subset of data on backup display 55; Paragraph 0172-0173; Figures 27-33). Kollar does not teach the control assembly comprising a plurality of input control devices, wherein each of the plurality of input control devices is operably connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of actuators to control operation thereof.
However, Hahn teaches the control assembly comprising a plurality of input control devices (control elements 10.1-10.4 on control panel 6; Paragraph 0056 and 0063; Figure 1-3), wherein each of the input control devices is operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators (control elements 10.1-10.4 is operably connected to pumps 4.1-4.4; Paragraph 0063; Figures 1-3), wherein the peripheral display is separate from the control assembly and spaced away from the control display (monitors 18.1-18.4 are separate and spaced away from display of control panel 6; Figures 1-3; Paragraph 0063).
Kollar and Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and have the plurality of input control devices of Hahn on the control assembly of Kollar below the control display and have each input control device of Hahn connected to each of the pumps of Kollar. This allows for the operator to control each pump by an individual element (Hahn; Paragraph 0008) and allow for the user to have an intuitive association with the individual control elements with the respective pump (Hahn; Paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 15, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 14. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn further teaches wherein each of the plurality of input control devices is operably connected to a corresponding ACU of the plurality of ACUs and is configured to control the respective actuator (input control devices of Hahn are configured to control pumps 31-36 of Kollar; see rejection of claim 1 above), without prevailing over the ACU in controlling the respective actuator (Kollar; knobs 31a-36a of ACUs can be used to change pump settings; Figure 1 and 25; Paragraph 0055 and 0166).
Regarding claim 19, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 14. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn further teaches wherein the control display is configured to present a second subset of the set of parameter data (display 54 will display a subset of a set of data; Paragraph 0170-0171; Figure 1),, wherein the second subset of the parameter data is different from the first subset of the parameter data (additional subset of data differ from subset in display 55, i.e. Figures 27-33 have subsets of data on display 54 that is selectable for view by user by pressing touchscreen that would differ from subset of data on backup display 55; Paragraph 0172-0173; Figures 27-33).
Regarding claim 21, Kollar teaches a heart lung machine (HLM) (perfusion system 1; Figure 1; Paragraph 0004 and 0052), comprising:
a plurality of actuators (pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0055);
a peripheral processing unit configured to receive a set of parameter data from each of the plurality of actuators (processor 304 receive a set of parameter data from each of the pumps 31-38; Figure 25; Paragraph 0139, 0166, 0170-0171);
a peripheral display screen configured to present a subset of the set of parameter data (Paragraph 0170 – “…important subsets of the various features described below with respect to main display 54 may also be provided at backup display 55…”, backup display 55 has touchscreen capabilities so that the user can select data to view and can show a subset of the set of data from the pumps 31-38, for example, numerical data entry is displayed on backup screen when control knob is used for inputting important numeric values relating to operation of each pump; Paragraph 0056, 0139, and 0170-0171);
a plurality of actuator control units (ACUs) (control knobs 31a-36a and displays 31b-36b are pump controls for pumps 31-36; Paragraph 0166; Figure 1), each of the plurality of ACUs operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators (Paragraph 0166); and
a control assembly (main display 54; Paragraph 0056; Figure 1) comprising a control display screen (display 54 has touchscreen capabilities with buttons to control pumps 31-36 – pump 31 operates with button 262b; Paragraph 0235; Figure 30I; buttons for pumps 32-34; Paragraph 0280; Figure 32C; button 264b’ for pumps 35-36 and 246 for controlling pump 35 and 36; Paragraph 0241 and 0276-0278; Figure 30I and 32A-32B; Paragraph 0056 and 0166; Figure 1)
wherein the control display screen is configured to present a different subset of the set of parameter data (display 54 will display a subset of a set of data; Paragraph 0170-0171; Figure 1), wherein all information configured to be presented on the control display screen is presented simultaneously (all information provided by display 54 is accessible simultaneously; Paragraph 0173; Figure 27). Kollar does not teach the control assembly comprising a plurality of input control devices, wherein each of the input control devices is operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators; wherein the peripheral display screen is separate from the control assembly and spaced away from the control display screen.
However, Hahn teaches the control assembly comprising a plurality of input control devices (control elements 10.1-10.4 on control panel 6; Paragraph 0056 and 0063; Figure 1-3), wherein each of the input control devices is operably connected to one of the plurality of actuators (control elements 10.1-10.4 is operably connected to pumps 4.1-4.4; Paragraph 0063; Figures 1-3), wherein the peripheral display is separate from the control assembly and spaced away from the control display (monitors 18.1-18.4 are separate and spaced away from display of control panel 6; Figures 1-3; Paragraph 0063).
Kollar and Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar to incorporate the teachings of Hahn and have the plurality of input control devices of Hahn on the control assembly of Kollar below the control display and have each input control device of Hahn connected to each of the pumps of Kollar, with the peripheral display separate and spaced away from the control assembly’s control display. This allows for the operator to control each pump by an individual element (Hahn; Paragraph 0008) and allow for the user to have an intuitive association with the individual control elements with the respective pump (Hahn; Paragraph 0015), while having the monitor elements that serve for displaying data being separate from the controls (Hahn; Paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 22, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 21. Kollar teaches the control display screen is configured to display numerical representations of the different subset of the set of parameter data (Paragraph 0171). The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn does not teach wherein the peripheral display screen is configured to display real-time waveform traces of the subset of the set of parameter data.
However, Kollar recites in paragraph 0170 “…important subsets of the various features described below with respect to main display 54 may also be provided at backup display 55, either all the time or if failure of main display 54 is detected by the system or by the user…” and in paragraph 0201 “"Waveforms": Tab 252 may be employed to display graphical waveforms and trend settings, and alphanumeric representations, including waveforms corresponding with patient pressure, temperature and ECG signals received by the embedded processor from external or internal systems.”.
Kollar in view of Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Kollar and have the waveform data to be displayed in the backup display of Kollar. This allows for the user to view waveform data simultaneously with the numerical data during operation in both displays (Kollar; Paragraph 0170 and 0201).
Claim(s) 3-6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollar et al. (Publication No. US 2008/0027368 A1) in view of Hahn et al. (Publication No. US 2011/0144556 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Knott et al. (Publication No. US 2007/0052683 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 1. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn does not teach further comprising a bus, the bus comprising a cable configured to transport control signals, wherein each of the plurality of input control devices is operably connected to the bus via a control communication link.
However, Knott teaches further comprising a bus (display/control unit 6a-6f are each connected via bus to communicate with other devices, such as respective pumps; Paragraph 0020-0024), the bus comprising a cable configured to transport control signals (bus 15 is a cable to connect between input control devices and pumps; Figure 5; Paragraph 0020-0026), wherein each of the plurality of input control devices is operably connected to the bus via a control communication link (Knott; Paragraph 0020-0026).
Knott and Kollar in view of Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Knott and incorporate have the control input devices of Kollar in view of Hahn to be connected to actuators of Kollar in view of Hahn through the ACU-bus communication link of Knott. This allows for the operator directly control and visualize each pump simultaneously through the individual assigned displays and controls shown on the device (Knott; Paragraphs 0019-0020).
Regarding claim 4, Kollar in view of Hahn and Knott teaches the HLM of claim 3. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn and Knott further teaches wherein each of the plurality of ACUs is operably connected to the bus via a respective ACU-bus communication link (Knott; bus 15 is led through support 17 and to respective pumps to connect pumps to displays 6a-6f; Paragraph 0025-0027).
Regarding claim 5, Kollar in view of Hahn and Knott teaches the HLM of claim 3. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn and Knott further teaches wherein the control display is operably connected to the bus via the control communication link (Knott; display/control unit 6a-6f are each connected via bus to communicate with other devices, such as respective pumps; Paragraph 0020-0024), and wherein the control communication link is configured to transport data signals (Knott; bus is the communication link for data transport; Paragraph 0020-0024).
Regarding claim 6, Kollar in view of Hahn and Knott teaches the HLM of claim 3. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn and Knott further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of actuators comprises a pump actuator (Kollar; pumps 31-36 are pump actuators; Paragraph 005; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 14. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn does not teach further comprising a bus, the bus comprising a cable configured to transport control signals, wherein each of the plurality of input control devices is operably connected to the bus via a control communication link.
However, Knott teaches further comprising a bus (display/control unit 6a-6f are each connected via bus to communicate with other devices, such as respective pumps; Paragraph 0020-0024), the bus comprising a cable configured to transport control signals (bus 15 is a cable to connect between input control devices and pumps; Figure 5; Paragraph 0020-0026), wherein each of the plurality of input control devices is operably connected to the bus via a control communication link (Knott; Paragraph 0020-0026).
Knott and Kollar in view of Hahn are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heart-lung machines/cardiopulmonary bypass systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Knott and incorporate have the control input devices of Kollar in view of Hahn to be connected to actuators of Kollar in view of Hahn through the ACU-bus communication link of Knott. This allows for the operator directly control and visualize each pump simultaneously through the individual assigned displays and controls shown on the device (Knott; Paragraphs 0019-0020).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kollar et al. (Publication No. US 2008/0027368 A1) in view of Hahn et al. (Publication No. US 2011/0144556 A1), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Sayler et al. (Publication No. US 2008/0306375 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kollar in view of Hahn teaches the HLM of claim 14. The combination of Kollar in view of Hahn does not teach wherein each input control device is color-coded to match its operatively connected one of the plurality of actuators.
However, Sayler teaches wherein each input control device is color-coded to match its operatively connected one of the plurality of actuators (control devices 802a-802d are color-coded to match with its respective actuator 140a-140d; Paragraph 0124; Figures 32-A-32C).
Kollar in view of Hahn and Sayler are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of actuator-based medical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kollar in view of Hahn to incorporate the teachings of Sayler and have input control devices be color coded with the plurality of actuators, as taught by Sayler. This allows for easy identification of the associated actuator assigned to the control device (Sayler; Paragraph 0121 and 0124).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE-PH MINH PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781