DETAILED ACTION
Representative Figures
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant’s Election of 08 September 2025
Pending Elected Claim Tree
Claims 15-21 stand WITHDRAWN.
Information Disclosure Statement
In the spirit of compliance with 37 CFR 1.56 Applicant is urged to file an IDS compliant with 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98, identifying those references which caused the below statements (e.g., at least “prior art externally fed” and “CIP (clean in place)”) made in the “Background of the Invention” section, to be made.
BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION
[0002] Commercial food processing typically involves using water to heat or cool food products. Often the process results in the water or fluid carrying suspended solids. It is desirable to filter those solids so that the water can either be reused or be more easily treated by standard waste water systems.
[0003] One prior art system for filtering food processing water is to apply the water to a cylindrical-shaped screen (a drum). The fluid to be filtered can be introduced to the inside of the drum. The drum is oriented horizontally, and the drum rotates. The screen filters the fluid. The cleaned fluid passes out of the lower surface, and the suspended solids/food product is trapped on the screen inside the drum. The solids must be periodically removed from the interior of the drum. This is an internally fed design.
[0004] Another known design is an externally fed screen drum, where the fluid is introduced to the top or sides of the cylindrical surface of rotating and horizontal oriented drum. The fluid pass through the screen to the interior of the drum. Solids are caught on the outside of the screen drum. Scrapers are used to scrape the solids off the outside of the drum. The partially filtered water (now inside the drum) passes through the lower part of the cylindrical screen surface, and is filtered again. Screens are typically made of wedge wire, which by their shape tend to allow catch suspended solids, but some solids are carried into the drum, and caught by the screen as the water leaves the drum. This causes buildup inside and the solids filtered must be removed from inside the drum.
[0005] Prior art externally fed screens lack strength and would often break in use. Some prior art designs used a "doughnut" support in the center or interior of the screen. While this provides beam strength it does not provide torsional strength. Torsional strength is important to help the scraping blades work. The torsional stress on screens from scraping and from being driven at one end can cause failure of the screen.
[0006] Other problems with prior art externally fed screens are solids passing through the screens, cleaning screens with cleaning liquid resulting in more waste water, difficulty cleaning the inside of screens, and difficulty in adjusting drum position (for operating and cleaning).
[0007] Prior art externally fed screens for filtering received the fluid to be filtered from an inlet pipe, and that resulted in the screen filtering primarily close to the inlet pipe (the center of the screen in the most systems). Prior art systems attempt to address this by keeping velocity of the fluid to be filtered low (to allow the suspended solids to spread out across the screen). However, the low velocity of the fluid allows solids to settle out in the infeed area, reducing the effectiveness of the screen. Often the solids must be periodically removed by manual means (shovel or scoop or bucket).
[0008] Prior art systems provide internal CIP (clean in place) headers and nozzles along the drum axis to spray liquid such as water toward the screen to clean the screen. This results in adding water to the effluent.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Ordinarily, things, such as “sources” are referred to with respect to intended use, for example, “a reservoir (106) for receiving a source of fluid with suspended solids for filtering” in APPARATUS claims. In this regard, patentees do not ordinarily intend to sell “structure that provides the gas, liquid or fluid, and includes compressors, pumps, pipes, tanks, blowers etc.”, which would ordinarily be at a jobsite, factory, or ultimate point of use, to necessarily be present, in order to constitute infringement. Yet, that’s what Applicant appears to be asserting.
Moreover, the inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In this case, the “liquid with suspended solids” constitutes the material being treated. See MPEP Section 2115 Material or Article Worked Upon by Apparatus.
Claims 1-14 are apparatus claims. Independent claim 1 specifies a “source of liquid …”. It is unclear how the claimed “source of liquid” limits the structure of these apparatus claims. Dependent claim 2 specifies a “source of mixing gas”. Dependent claims 3,4,6-9, 11 and 12 specify a “source of cleaning fluid”. It is unclear what minimal structural limitations this “source” language intends. Materials being treated do not limit the structure of apparatus claims.
With respect to the recitation, “source of liquid …” in independent claim 1, it is unclear what minimal structure is intended, as no structure is seen to be clearly specified by this non-structural language.
In claims 2-4,6-9,11 and 12, the nature of “connection” is unclear. Does Applicant intend “fluidic” or “fluidically” connected?
In claim 13, it is unclear what Applicant intends by “rigid”. This language is subject to different interpretation by different individuals, and is therefore indefinite. An objective measure of the rigidity is not claimed or disclosed.
With respect to claim 13, the limitation, “as the drum rotates the flights move filtered material toward the first end” is not understood. It is unclear how this functional recitation is accomplished. If the solids (i.e., “filtered material”) are small enough to pass through the screen of the upper portion of the rotatable drum, why would those same solids not pass through the screen at the lower portion of the drum?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A1/A2) as being anticipated by WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975).
Parenthetical reference numerals and/or comments of WELLES, in the claims below map the claim limitations to WELLES.
(Previously Presented) A food processing water filtration apparatus, comprising;
a rotatable drum (80, 110) having a first end and a second end, and having a cylindrical surface at least partially comprised of a screen (80, 110);
a source (28, 90, 112 and Examiner added Arrow in Fig. 9) of liquid with suspended solids to be filtered disposed outside the drum and capable of directing at least a portion of the liquid towards the screen and into the drum;
a blade (54, 120) disposed to remove solids from the exterior of the drum;
a drain (34, 118) located below the drum to collect at least a second portion of the liquid that passes through the screen and out of the drum;
a solids outlet (See “DISCHARGE END” discussion immediately below and throughout the disclosure of WELLES) located at one of the first end of the drum and the second end of the drum;
a rotational drive (18, 84, 114) connected to at least one of the first and second ends of the drum, whereby the rotational drive can cause the drum to rotate; and
a plurality of flights (See “Helix” discussion immediately below) affixed to the interior of the cylindrical surface of the drum, including being affixed to the screen.
From WELLES:
(3) Essentially, the screening apparatus utilizes a rotary cylindrical screen which is suitably supported and suitably driven. In one form of the invention, a stream of liquid with solids is introduced above the screen and generally adjacent one end. In another form of the invention, liquid and solids are introduced along one side of the screen. The rotation of the screen will tend to move the solids to one side and the water will pass down through the screen openings. Wiper blades are positioned along one or both sides of the screen to clean it, thus providing an open area to receive the stream to be separated. After the solids have been removed, the water passes from the outside of the screen to the inside, and then from the inside to the outside. As the water passes from inside the screen to the outside, it will remove any solids which have adhered to the screen, thus providing a self-cleaning action. Although the screen element may take many shapes, preferably it is in the form of a plurality of bars or a single bar arranged in a helix such that the lead of the helix, the direction of rotation of the screen and the angle of the screen with the horizontal assist in directing the separated solids toward the discharge end of the screen.
(11) The screen itself is illustrated in detail in FIGS. 6, 7 and 8 and may be made up of a plurality of spaced bars 38 which are arranged in a helix and held together by means of transverse rods 39. In the space between adjacent rods, the individual sections may be straight as shown in FIG. 8. The bars have openings therebetween of a size consistent with the solids being filtered or screened. For example, in a sanitary sewage application, the openings may be 0.060 inch and smaller.
(16) In the screening process using the apparatus shown in FIGS. 1 and 2, a stream of liquid and solids will flow from the pipe 28 into the trough 26. The baffle 30 will vector or direct the material to be screened toward the side of the screen which has just been cleaned by the right-hand wiper 52, as indicated in FIG. 3. In the alternative, the flume 26 may be formed to accomplish the same result without a separate baffle. Thus, the material to be screened will always be directed toward a clean area of the screen. The water will pass through the screening surface to the inside of the screen and will then flow from the inside of the screen, through the screen area presently at the bottom, down to the trough 32. As the separated liquid flows from the inside of the screen to the outside, it will clean the screen and thus provide the self-cleaning action described above. The wipers 52 assist in the cleaning function as they wipe or clean the exterior of the screen. The combination of the radial force of the rotating screen, the slant of the screen and the lead of the helix on the screen assist in moving the solids down to the discharge end where they may be conveniently removed.
As the water passes from inside the screen to the outside, it will remove any solids which have adhered to the screen, thus providing a self-cleaning action. Although the screen element may take many shapes, preferably it is in the form of a plurality of bars or a single bar arranged in a HELIX such that the lead of the helix, the direction of rotation of the screen and the angle of the screen with the horizontal assist in directing the separated solids toward the DISCHARGE END of the screen.
Dependent claim 10 specifies:
10. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a first trunnion support (14) disposed at the first end of the drum to support the first end of the drum.
Dependent claim 13 specifies:
13. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the flights (see discussion of HELIX immediately above) are rigid and thereby provide rigidity to the drum, and further wherein as the drum rotates the flights move filtered material toward the first end.
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975) as applied to claims 1,10 and 13 above, and further in view of DAVIDSON (U.S. 3,713,540).
Regarding dependent claim 2, WELLES does not appear to disclose the underscored:
2. (Previously Presented) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the screen is comprised of wedge wire (), and further comprising a source of mixing gas connected to the source of liquid with suspended solids.
DAVIDSON discloses the use of dispersers (e.g., 44, 57, and 74) to provide the agitation required to keep the solids content of the liquid in suspension, in a similar separation apparatus. In view of the teachings of DAVIDSON, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify WELLES by incorporating dispersers to introduce a mixing gas into the source of liquid with suspended solids, in order to maintain the solids in suspension as opposed to settling.
Regarding claim 5, dependent from claim 2:
5. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, further comprising a first trunnion (14 – WELLES) support disposed at the first end of the drum to support the first end of the drum.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975) in view of DAVIDSON (U.S. 3,713,540) as applied to claims 2 and 5 above, and further in view of SANDERS (U.S. 5,894,936).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 6, WELLES does not appear to disclose any of:
3. (Original) The apparatus of claim 2, further comprising: a source of cleaning fluid; and a plurality of nozzles connected to the source of cleaning fluid and disposed inside the drum to direct the cleaning fluid to the screen to clean the screen.
6. (Original) The apparatus of claim 5, further comprising: a source of cleaning fluid; and a plurality of nozzles connected to the source of cleaning fluid and disposed inside the drum to direct the cleaning fluid to the screen to clean the screen.
SANDERS discloses a spray pipe 42 that extends into the drum 12 through the distal end 18. The spray pipe 42 has a plurality of apertures or nozzles disposed along its length. The size and density of the apertures along the pipe can be adjusted to affect the water pressure and penetrating depth within the agglomeration. These apertures or nozzles are directed to spray against the slurry 32 to break up any agglomerations.
In view of SANDERS, it would have been obvious to employ a spray pipe with a pluralty of nozzles inside the drum of the apparatus of WELLES and DAVIDSON as applied above, in order to introduce a cleaning fluid to break up any agglomerations.
Claims 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combined teachings of WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975), DAVIDSON (U.S. 3,713,540) and SANDERS (U.S. 5,894,936) as applied to claims 3 and 6 above, and further in view of COMPAIN (U.S. 1,712,258).
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 7, the apparatus of SANDERS, WELLES and DAVIDSON as combined above does not appear to disclose the underscored:
4. (Original) The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the source of cleaning fluid includes a source of cleaning gas, and wherein the source of cleaning gas is connected to the plurality of nozzles.
7. (Original) The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the source of cleaning fluid includes a source of cleaning gas, and wherein the source of cleaning gas is connected to the plurality of nozzles.
COMPAIN discloses the use of “compressed air” discharged from a nozzle 27 disposed within a screen drum to remove debris caught in screen 11 (see, at least, numbered page 2 of COMPAIN, left column, lines 5-35). Here, it is important to note, that SANDERS also discloses to the use of compressed air as a cleaning fluid, but neglects to make a specific reference to the plurality of nozzles along the spray pipe (see col. 4, lines 45-46 and claim 11).
In view of the teachings of COMPAIN, it would have been obvious to employ compressed air as a cleaning fluid in the apparatus of WELLES, DAVIDSON and SANDERS as combined above, in order to dislodge accumulated material from the drum screen, as COMPAIN disclosed this to be a suitable screen cleaning fluid in 1929. As one skilled in the art would have readily appreciated, the use of a gas as the cleaning fluid does not add spent cleaning fluid to the waste water burden that must be disposed of.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975) as applied to claims 1,10 and 13 above, and further in view of SANDERS (U.S. 5,894,936).
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 11, WELLES does not appear to disclose any of:
8. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a source of cleaning fluid; and a plurality of nozzles connected to the source of cleaning fluid and disposed inside the drum to direct the cleaning fluid to the screen to clean the screen.
11. (Original) The apparatus of claim 10, further comprising: a source of cleaning fluid; and a plurality of nozzles connected to the source of cleaning fluid and disposed inside the drum to direct the cleaning fluid to the screen to clean the screen.
SANDERS discloses a spray pipe 42 that extends into the drum 12 through the distal end 18. The spray pipe 42 has a plurality of apertures or nozzles disposed along its length. The size and density of the apertures along the pipe can be adjusted to affect the water pressure and penetrating depth within the agglomeration. These apertures or nozzles are directed to spray against the slurry 32 to break up any agglomerations.
In view of SANDERS, it would have been obvious to employ a spray pipe with a plurality of nozzles inside the drum of the apparatus of WELLES as applied above, in order to break up any agglomerations.
Claims 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975) in view of SANDERS (U.S. 5,894,936) as applied to claims 8 and 11 above, and further in view of COMPAIN (U.S. 1,712,258).
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 7, the apparatus of WELLES and SANDERS as combined above does not appear to disclose the underscored:
9. (Original) The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the source of cleaning fluid includes a source of cleaning gas, and wherein the source of cleaning gas is connected to the plurality of nozzles.
12. (Original) The apparatus of claim 11, wherein the source of cleaning fluid includes a source of cleaning gas, and wherein the source of cleaning gas is connected to the plurality of nozzles.
COMPAIN discloses the use of “compressed air” discharged from a nozzle 27 disposed within a screen drum to remove debris caught in screen 11 (see, at least, numbered page 2 of COMPAIN, left column, lines 5-35). Here, it is important to note, that SANDERS also discloses to the use of compressed air as a cleaning fluid, but neglects to make a specific reference to the plurality of nozzles along the spray pipe (see col. 4, lines 45-46 and claim 11).
In view of the teachings of COMPAIN, it would have been obvious to employ compressed air as a cleaning fluid in the apparatus of WELLES and SANDERS as combined above, in order to dislodge accumulated material from the drum screen, as COMPAIN disclosed this to be a suitable screen cleaning fluid in 1929. As one skilled in the art would have readily appreciated, the use of a gas as the cleaning fluid does not add spent cleaning fluid to the waste water burden that must be disposed of.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975) as applied to claims 1,10 and 13 above, and further in view of HARDEN (US 2019/0224597 A1).
WELLES does not disclose the underscored subject matter of dependent claim 14:
14. (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a variable speed module connected to the source of liquid with suspended solids to be filtered, and connected to control the rotational drive, and disposed to sense a level of fluid in the source of liquid with suspended solids to be filtered, and further connected to control a speed of the rotational drive in response thereto.
Regarding “variable speed module” from HARDEN:
[0101] According to at least one aspect, the system may include a level sensor, such as level sensor 178a that is positioned in the inlet trough 130 of the housing 125 that houses the drum filter 105 and the disc filter 115. The level sensor 178a may be configured to measure the level of wastewater 102 (influent water) in the inlet trough 130 of the housing 125. An approximate maximum water level (i.e., a predetermined level) for the influent is show in FIG. 7B. Wastewater is fed into the inlet trough 130 at a constant flow rate, which means that the water level in the inlet trough will increase as the solids build up on the filter surfaces of the drum filter 105 (i.e., the filter surface 112 becomes more clogged) and the disc filter 115. The level sensor 178a may take periodic measurements and send these measurements to the controller 176. Therefore, when the water level in the inlet trough 130 exceeds the predetermined water level (e.g., a water level such as that shown in FIG. 7B), the controller 176 may send one or more signals to the system that result in a halt to a filtration process and to start a cleaning process. For instance, the controller 176 may control a motor in the drive assembly 170 to rotate the drum filter 105 and the disc filter 115 at a lower speed and control the sprayers in the backwash system 145 to spray cleaning fluid onto the filter surfaces of each of the drum filter 105 and the disc filter 115 as described above.
The additional teachings of HARDEN are noted:
[0092] The backwash system 145 also includes a second plurality of spray nozzles 149 configured spray filtrate 122 onto the filter surface 112 of the rotary drum 110. The second plurality of spray nozzles 149 functions in a similar manner as the first plurality of spray nozzles 147. The second plurality of spray nozzles 149 are also shown in FIG. 6B. As shown, the second plurality of spray nozzles 149 are disposed on the interior of the rotary drum 110 and are positioned to spray the “clean” side (first side 114a) of the filter surface 112. While the rotary drum 110 is being rotated (also at a slow speed during backwash), the filtrate 122 or other backwash fluid is pumped to the second plurality of spray nozzles 149 and sprayed onto the first side 114a of the filter surface 112. The filtrate 122 passes through the filter surface 112 to the second side 114b and particulate matter removed from the filter surface 112 and used spray water is collected in the drum filter collection trough 140, which transports the backwash effluent out of the drum filter 105.
[0093] According to some embodiments, the first plurality of spray nozzles 147 and/or the second plurality of spray nozzles 149 may include one or more features or elements that minimize or reduce clogging. For instance, the spray nozzles may include a retractable element that includes a split spray tip or other element that is configured to retract into an orifice of the housing of the spray nozzle during non-backwashing operations. When retracted, the split spray tip “splits” outwardly such that debris that would otherwise clog the orifice of the spray nozzle is released. Once pressurized, the retractable element extends outward from the opening and the split spray tip merges back together to form a spray pattern. Suitable nozzles having these features include the MOMOJet® nozzles available from Ikeuchi USA, Inc.
[0094] As shown in FIG. 6B, The second plurality of spray nozzles 149 are angled and positioned such that the outwardly-directed spray pattern results in the backwash effluent being directed into the drum filter collection trough 140. According to one embodiment, the spray nozzles 149 are positioned to be aligned adjacent to one another across the width of the rotary drum 110. The spray nozzles 149 may also be positioned and angled to coincide with the doctor blade 162 such that the spray nozzles 149 spray at the filter surface 112 in such a way that the doctor blade 162 is more readily able to scrape waste off into the drum filter collection trough 140. In some instances, the angled orientation of the spray nozzles 149 may be 90 degrees to the filter surface 112, but in other configurations, the spray nozzles 149 may not be oriented at 90 degrees. FIG. 7A indicates one potential position for the spray nozzles 149, and FIG. 7B is an enlarged view of the circled portion of FIG. 7A that indicates the placement and approximate spray direction. In this instance, the drum filter collection trough 140 is positioned external to the rotary drum 110, but it is to be appreciated that other locations are also within the scope of this disclosure, including the interior of the rotary drum 110.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,10 and 13 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of WELLES (U.S. 3,876,548 - 1975) in view of ZITTEL (US 5,632,195 - 1997).
The helix of WELLES as discussed above, and incorporated herein by reference, is not clearly depicted in the figures of WELLES.
ZITTEL in a similar system, discloses:
(20) The food transport mechanism comprises an auger received in the drum that is formed from a plurality of generally axially spaced apart flights 50 constructed and arranged to form a helical food product urging surface. The auger is rotatably received in the tank and rotates during operation to urge food product received in the drum toward the outlet end of the tank. Preferably, portions of the outer radial peripheral edge of each auger flight are affixed to support channels of the drum to mutually strengthen the drum and auger and to cause the auger to rotate substantially in unison with the drum.
In view of the teaching of ZITTEL, it is submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add flights 50 to the interior of the drum of WELLES in order to support the drum to strengthen the drum.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J POPOVICS/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1776