Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 03/16/2026 and 06/15/2026. All of the cited references have been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, “(a) receiving an input data related to a pet insurance claim event” should read “(a) receiving an input data related to the pet insurance claim event”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
The previous 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections are withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 03/16/2026 on pages 8-14 of Remarks regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to an abstract idea without significantly more with respect to claims 1-12, 14-16 and 21-24 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Beginning on page 9 of Remarks, applicant asserts that under 101 Step 2A Prong One that claim 1 is not directed to an abstract idea because the claims recite a specific technical method designed to solve a concrete, identified problem in the veterinary insurance domain that cannot be reduced to a mental process, a mathematical concept, or an abstract idea of organizing human activity. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)(c) talks about mental processes on a generic computer. Also, see MPEP 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(f). The steps of extracting text data, transforming text data, processing the different sets, generating the output and aggregating predicted states are steps that can be performed mentally perhaps with the aid of pen and paper.
Beginning on page 10 of Remarks, applicant asserts that under 101 Step 2A Prong Two that claim 1 is integrated into a practical application and solves the same type of non-standardized data problem both on the input side and within the core processing pipeline. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) talks about a claim reciting a judicial exception is not directed to the judicial exception if it also recites additional elements demonstrating that the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.05(a) talks about the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. Improving an abstract element is not sufficient to integrate into a practical application. See updated rejection below.
Beginning on page 13 of Remarks, applicant asserts that under 101 Step 2B, the claims are patent eligible because the amended claim 1 recites “significantly more” than any alleged abstract idea under Step 2B. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of "receiving an input data", “routing the different sets of transformed input features”, and “transmitting the output” amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network) (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)). See updated rejection below.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 15-22 regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to claims 1-12, 14-16 and 21-24 regarding Onan and Venkateshwaran have been fully considered but are moot. New reference Shazeer has been incorporated below to teach the newly presented limitations.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 15-22 regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to claims 1-12, 14-16 and 21-24 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Beginning on page 14, Applicant asserts that Hessinger does not disclose a data abstraction layer through which an insurance application accesses a plurality of PIMSs in real time. However, “in real time” is not claimed and Hessinger teaches “wherein the insurance application is configured to access a plurality of practice information management systems (PIMSs) or veterinary practice computing systems via a data abstraction layer;” in paragraphs [0020]: “ The hospital service 210 is connected to the PIMS database 208 and its primary purpose is to extract data from the PIMS database 208 and transmits the data over a communication network 108 to a system API 214 in the central cloud server block 104 using a communication service, such as the JAGUAR DATA SERVICE available from VETDATA. The hospital service 210 executes iterative data pulls happening at a time specified in the settings data file at the hospital.” and [0021]: “These databases are used to disseminate the PIMS data and link it with client data maintained in the central server in the hospital database pools 222 using a system API 214”. System API 214 acts as the data abstraction layer. In addition, the Applicant asserts that the Office Action as not provided any articulated reason why a person of ordinary skill would combine Hessinger’s nightly-batch PIMS architecture with Verstraete’s NLP claim classification system, however this newly amended limitation was not present in the claims addressed in the previous Office action.
Beginning on page 16, Applicant asserts that Verstraete does not teach “routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature related to the pet insurance claim event”. However, the routing is taught by Shazeer [page 2, 1.2]: “The MoE consists of a number of experts, each a simple feed-forward neural network, and a trainable gating network which selects a sparse combination of the experts to process each input (see Figure 1).”; [page 4, 2.1 Gating Network]: “A simple choice of non-sparse gating function (Jordan & Jacobs, 1994) is to multiply the input by a trainable weight matrix Wg and then apply the Softmax function.”; and [page 3]: “The MoE is called once for each position in the text, selecting a potentially different combination of experts at each position.” The different portions are taught by Hessinger [Claim 4, 15]: “wherein the one of the pet insurance claim and the pet insurance precertification includes: customer information, including name; pet information, including type of pet, age, breed, visit diagnosis”.
Beginning on page 17, Applicant asserts that regarding Verstraete, assigning a category label such as “uncertain” to an input claim is categorically different from converting a non-standard description into a standardized terminology, phrasing, or formatting in pet medical care practice. However, assigning a category label such as “uncertain” was not relied on to teach the converting a non-standard description into a standardized form. Instead, paragraphs [0100] and [0113] were used to teach the converting limitation [0100]: “The first main component of the invention consists of the models 15, 16. The models make the translation between an incoming claim text to a category. The invention is not limited to two models and may be extended to more than two models, e.g. three models, four models, more than three models, more than four models.”; Note: See Figure 1 of Verstraete to see the incoming claim process; and [0113]: “the text of the incoming claim 310 is preprocessed using the Porter stemming algorithm, converting “slipped” into “slip” 320 and “crashed” into “crash” 320 and stop word removal which removes the word “and”, which does not carry any useful information for the model.”
Beginning on page 19, Applicant asserts that the limitation requiring the plurality of predicted states to comprise at least two different types of states about the same pet insurance claim event is not taught or suggested by any cited reference, alone or in combination. However, that limitation was cancelled by the present amendment and amended claim 1 now recites, “different portions related to different types of state” which is taught by Hessinger [Claim 4, 15]: “wherein the one of the pet insurance claim and the pet insurance precertification includes: customer information, including name; pet information, including type of pet, age, breed, visit diagnosis;
at least one of a date of service and a future date of service;
at least one of a service provided on the date of service and a service estimate provided for the future date of service; and
cost information for the at least one of the service provided and the service estimate provided.”)
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“insurance application” in claim 1.
“data abstraction layer” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "(e) aggregating the plurality of predicted states from the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models" in (e). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the claims were amended to “a plurality of neural network trained models”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “i) identifying a word that is outside a data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models,”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as the claims were amended to “a plurality of neural network trained models”.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “routing a portion of the text data corresponding to the feature to the two or more neural network trained models.” Claim 1 recites “(c) transforming the different portions of the text data into different sets of transformed input features” and “(d) routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models”. It is unclear whether the two or more neural network trained models of claim 21 receive a set of transformed input features or a portion of the text data. It is also unclear if “a portion” in claim 21 refers to one of the “different portions” recited in claim 1 or another different portion. For purposes of examination, Examiner is interpreting “routing the different sets of transformed input features to the plurality of neural network trained models” as “routing the set of transformed input features corresponding to the feature to the two or more neural network models”.
Dependent claims 2-12, 14-16 and 18-22 do not resolve the issue and are rejected with the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12, 14-16 and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1,
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“(b) applying natural language processing to the input data to extract text data, wherein the text data comprises different portions related to different types of state related to the pet insurance claim event and wherein the different types of state are selected from the group consisting of a type of medical care, a type of billing category or cost, and a type of condition and wherein at least a portion of the text data comprises a non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event without adhering to a standardized terminology, phrasing, or formatting in pet medical care practice;”
“(c) transforming the different portions of the text data into different sets of transformed input features each set comprising an array of numerical numbers;”
“[(d) routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature related to the pet insurance claim event and] processing the different sets of transformed input features [by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel] to output a plurality of predicted states about the pet insurance claim event,”
“[wherein each neural network trained model is independently applied to a respective set of transformed input features and] output a predicted state about the pet insurance claim event,”
“wherein processing the different sets of transformed input features comprises converting the non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event into a standardized form of the non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event [using at least one of the plurality of neural network trained models;]”
“(e) aggregating the plurality of predicted states from the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models to generate an output indicative of a status of the pet insurance claim event, wherein the status of the pet insurance claim event is related to approved, denied, or a request for further validation action on the pet insurance claim; and”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., extracting, transforming, outputting, processing, generating, aggregating). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, extracting text data, transforming text data, outputting the predicted state, processing the different sets, generating the output and aggregating predicted states (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
The limitations:
“[(d) routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature related to the pet insurance claim event and] [processing the different sets of transformed input features] by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel [to output a plurality of predicted states about the pet insurance claim event,]”
“wherein each neural network trained model is independently applied to a respective set of transformed input features and [output a predicted state about the pet insurance claim event,]”
“[wherein processing the different sets of transformed input features comprises converting the non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event into a standardized form of the non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event] using at least one of the plurality of neural network trained models;”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a machine-learning based model (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
The limitations:
“(a) receiving an input data related to a pet insurance claim event via an insurance application, wherein the insurance application is configured to access a plurality of practice information management systems (PIMSs) or veterinary practice computing systems via a data abstraction layer;”
“(d) routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature related to the pet insurance claim event and [processing the different sets of transformed input features by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel to output a plurality of predicted states about the pet insurance claim event,]”
“(f) transmitting the output comprising the status of the pet insurance claim event to a user interface of the insurance application.”
As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of
"receiving an input data", “routing the different sets of transformed input features”, and “transmitting the output” amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to
amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The limitations:
“[(d) routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature related to the pet insurance claim event and] [processing the different sets of transformed input features] by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel [to output a plurality of predicted states about the pet insurance claim event,]”
“[wherein processing the different sets of transformed input features comprises converting the non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event into a standardized form of the non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event] using at least one of the plurality of neural network trained models;”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a machine-learning based model (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception. (i.e., the additional element describes a unit for applying the abstract ideas). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network) (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 2,
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 2 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
The limitations:
“wherein the input data comprises unstructured data or transcribed data.”
As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of "receiving an input data" amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception. (i.e., the additional element describes a unit for applying the abstract ideas). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network") (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 3,
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 3 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein extracting the text data comprises parsing the input data to identify a word combination from the input data.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., extracting and identifying). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, extracting input data and identifying word combinations (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 4,
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 4 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein extracting the text data comprises identifying an anchor word from the input data.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., extracting and identifying). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, extracting input data and identifying an anchor word (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 5,
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 5 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“determining a boundary relative to a location of the anchor word based at least in part on a location of the anchor word.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., determining). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, determining a boundary (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 6,
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 6 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“recognizing a subset of the text data within the boundary.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., recognizing). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, recognizing a subset of text data (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 7,
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 7 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“grouping at least a portion of the subset of the text data based on a coordinate of the subset of the text data.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., grouping). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, grouping text data (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 8,
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 8 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein the anchor word is predetermined based on a format of the input data.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., identifying). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, identifying an anchor word (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 9,
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 9 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein the anchor word is identified by predicting a presence of a line-item word [using a machine learning algorithm trained model.]”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., identifying). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, identifying an anchor word (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
The limitations:
“[wherein the anchor word is identified by predicting a presence of a line-item word] using a machine learning algorithm trained model.”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a machine learning algorithm trained model (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The limitations:
“[wherein the anchor word is identified by predicting a presence of a line-item word] using a machine learning algorithm trained model.”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a machine learning algorithm trained model (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 10,
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 10 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein the natural language processing comprises [a transformation layer for:] (i) identifying a word that is outside a data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models, and (ii) translating the word into a replacement word that is within the data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., identifying, translating). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, identifying a word and translating the word into a replacement (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
The limitations:
“[wherein extracting the text data comprises] a transformation layer for: [(i) identifying a word that is outside a data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models, and (ii) translating the word into a replacement word that is within the data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models.]”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a transformation layer (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The limitations:
“[wherein extracting the text data comprises] a transformation layer for: [(i) identifying a word that is outside a data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models, and (ii) translating the word into a replacement word that is within the data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models.]”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a transformation layer (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 11,
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 11 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein extracting the text data comprises [applying an optical character recognition (OCR) algorithm to the input data.]”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., extracting). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, extracting text data (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
The limitations:
“[wherein extracting the text data comprises] applying an optical character recognition (OCR) algorithm to the input data.”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using an optical character recognition (OCR) algorithm (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The limitations:
“[wherein extracting the text data comprises] applying an optical character recognition (OCR) algorithm to the input data.”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using an optical character recognition (OCR) algorithm (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 12,
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 12 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“[wherein the output is transmitted] upon a determination that a confidence score associated with the output is above a confidence threshold.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., determining). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, determining that a confidence score associated with the output is above a confidence threshold. (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
The limitations:
“wherein the output is transmitted [upon a determination that a confidence score associated with the output is above a confidence threshold.]”
As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of "transmitting the output" amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception. (i.e., the additional element describes a unit for applying the abstract ideas). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network") (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 14,
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 14 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein the plurality of predicted states are aggregated [using a trained model.]”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., aggregating). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, aggregating a plurality of predicted states (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application:
The limitations:
“[wherein the plurality of predicted states are aggregated] using a trained model.”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a trained model (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The limitations:
“[wherein the plurality of predicted states are aggregated] using a trained model.”
As drafted, are additional elements that amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception for the abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Specifically, they amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using a trained model (e.g., by using these elements as tools).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 15,
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 15 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
The limitations:
“wherein the output comprises a probability of the status.”
As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of "output a predicted state" amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception. (i.e., the additional element describes a unit for applying the abstract ideas). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network") (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 16,
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 16 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein the output comprises an insight inferred from aggregating the plurality of predicted states.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., aggregating). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, aggregating predicted states (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 21,
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 21 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“[wherein routing the different sets of transformed input features to the plurality of neural network trained models comprises] selecting two or more neural network trained models based at least in part on the feature and [routing a portion of the text data corresponding to the feature to the two or more neural network trained models.]”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., selecting). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, selecting two or more machine learning algorithm trained models (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
The limitations:
“wherein routing the different sets of transformed input features to the plurality of neural network trained models comprises [selecting two or more neural network trained models based at least in part on the feature and] routing a portion of the text data corresponding to the feature to the two or more neural network trained models.”
As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of "routing the different sets of transformed input features" and “routing a portion of the text data” amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception. (i.e., the additional element describes a unit for applying the abstract ideas). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network") (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 22,
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 22 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
The limitations:
“wherein the two or more neural network trained models are configured to output a predicted state related to the feature.”
As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of "output a predicted state" amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception. (i.e., the additional element describes a unit for applying the abstract ideas). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network") (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 23,
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 23 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein the output in (e) comprises a confidence level associated with the status of the pet insurance claim event.”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., aggregating). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, aggregating predicted states (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: Please see the corresponding analysis of Claim 1.
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient enough to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 24,
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claim invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 24 is directed to a method, i.e., a process, one of the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong One Analysis: The limitations:
“wherein upon determining the confidence level is below a predetermined confidence threshold, [the result is displayed on the user interface for review by a human user.]”
As drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover concepts performed in human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, or opinion, e.g., determining). The above limitations in the context of this claim encompass, inter alia, determining the confidence level (corresponding to mental processes which can be done mentally or by pen and paper).
Step 2A Prong Two Analysis: The judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application.
The limitations:
“[wherein upon determining the confidence level is below a predetermined confidence threshold,] the result is displayed on the user interface for review by a human user.”
As drafted, amount to insignificant extra-solution activities, which do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. For example, the additional elements of “transmitting a result” amount to mere data gathering and data storage, respectively, which are insignificant extra-solution activities that do not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Step 2B Analysis: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, all of the additional elements are insignificant extra-solution activities or mere instructions to apply an exception. (i.e., the additional element describes a unit for applying the abstract ideas). Insignificant extra-solution activities and mere instructions to apply an exception cannot provide an inventive concept. Moreover, receiving, communicating, and storing data are insignificant extra-solution activities that are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) ("The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions ... i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network") (citing OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015)).
The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 11, 12, 16, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verstraete (US 20200026773 A1); hereinafter Verstraete in view of Hessinger et al. (US20190114715); hereinafter Hessinger in view of Shazeer et al. (OUTRAGEOUSLY LARGE NEURAL NETWORKS: THE SPARSELY-GATED MIXTURE-OF-EXPERTS LAYER); hereinafter Shazeer
Claim 1 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer.
Regarding claim 1, Verstraete teaches a computer implemented method for classifying a [pet] insurance claim event comprising:
(a) receiving an input data related to a [pet] insurance claim event via an insurance application; (Verstraete [0100]: “The first main component of the invention consists of the models 15, 16. The models make the translation between an incoming claim text to a category. The invention is not limited to two models and may be extended to more than two models, e.g. three models, four models, more than three models, more than four models.”; Note: See Figure 1 of Verstraete to see the incoming claim process.)
(b) applying natural language processing to the input data to extract text data, (Verstraete [0113]: “the text of the incoming claim 310 is preprocessed using the Porter stemming algorithm, converting “slipped” into “slip” 320 and “crashed” into “crash” 320 and stop word removal which removes the word “and”, which does not carry any useful information for the model.”)
wherein at least a portion of the text data comprises a non-standard description about the [pet] insurance claim event without adhering to a standardized terminology, phrasing or formatting [in pet medical care practice] (Verstraete [0113]: “the incoming claim 310 is received 31 from the user. The claim 310 is a natural language text string “Slipped and crashed into wall”.)
(c) transforming [the different portions of] the text data into [different sets of] transformed input features each set comprising an array of numerical numbers; (Verstraete [0103]: “The words in this vocabulary are transformed into a dense low-dimensional distributed representation such as a numeric vector”; [0114]: “each word in the preprocessed incoming claim text is converted into a vector.”; and [0116]: “The previously categorized claims 350 go through the same steps 32, 33, 34 as the incoming claim 310, resulting in a vector (not shown) of size three hundred per previously categorized claim 350. Using the cosine similarity approach, a cosine distance is calculated between the claim vector 340 and that of all previously categorized claims 350.”;)
processing the [different sets of transformed] input features by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel to output a plurality of predicted states about the [pet] insurance claim event, (Verstraete [0119]: “the first and second model may preferably operate in parallel to move from the request vector 340 to an assigned category 360, 460.”; and [0099]: “These models collaborate to create the output signal by each assigning a category and passing through an agreement protocol 17.”)
wherein each neural network trained model is independently applied to a [respective set of] transformed input features and output a predicted state about the [pet] insurance claim event, (Verstraete [0119]: “the first and second model may preferably operate in parallel to move from the request vector 340 to an assigned category 360, 460.”)
wherein processing the [different sets of] transformed input features comprises converting the non-standard description about the pet insurance claim event into a standardized form of the non-standard description about the [pet] insurance claim event using at least one of the plurality of neural network trained models; (Verstraete [0100]: “The first main component of the invention consists of the models 15, 16. The models make the translation between an incoming claim text to a category. The invention is not limited to two models and may be extended to more than two models, e.g. three models, four models, more than three models, more than four models.”; and [0104]: “Using this numeric vector representing the claim, a classification is done, mapping the claim to the (sub)category it belongs to.”)
(e) aggregating the plurality of predicted states from the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models to generate an output indicative of a status of the [pet] insurance claim event, wherein the status of the [pet] insurance claim event is related to approved, denied, or a request for further validation action on the [pet] insurance claim; and (Verstraete [0099]: “This categorization is then used to calculate generate one or more output signals. The categorization follows a tree like structure. The categorization path is defined by the claim description text, or a derivation of that text. The system has two main components: model 1 (15) and model 2 (16). These models collaborate to create the output signal by each assigning a category and passing through an agreement protocol 17. The signal 18 can be an action, such as paying out a claim, and/or a message on a mobile device, such as “Your claim is covered by your insurance”, and/or any other relevant output.”; Note: Paying out a claim or displaying a message to say that the claim is covered by insurance is showing that the status is approved. See Figure 2 of Verstraete to see that the models are aggregated into agreement protocol 26.)
(f) transmitting the output comprising the status of the [pet] insurance claim event to a user interface of the insurance application. (Verstraete [0036]: “a notification relating to said assessment generated in step (j) is sent to said policyholder device and is displayed on said screen. Such an embodiment may lead to an improved user experience for the policyholder, who is informed immediately with respect to the coverage of the insurance claim and potential further steps.”; and [0099]: “These models collaborate to create the output signal by each assigning a category and passing through an agreement protocol 17. The signal 18 can be an action, such as paying out a claim, and/or a message on a mobile device, such as “Your claim is covered by your insurance”, and/or any other relevant output.”;)
Verstraete does not teach (d) routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature [related to the pet insurance claim event] and processing the different sets of transformed input features by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel to output a plurality of predicted states [about the pet insurance claim event,]
However, Shazeer teaches (d) routing [the different sets of transformed input] features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature [related to the pet insurance claim event] and (Shazeer [page 2, 1.2]: “The MoE consists of a number of experts, each a simple feed-forward neural network, and a trainable gating network which selects a sparse combination of the experts to process each input (see Figure 1).”; [page 4, 2.1 Gating Network]: “A simple choice of non-sparse gating function (Jordan & Jacobs, 1994) is to multiply the input by a trainable weight matrix Wg and then apply the Softmax function.”; and [page 3]: “The MoE is called once for each position in the text, selecting a potentially different combination of experts at each position.”)
[wherein each neural network trained model is independently applied to a] respective set of [transformed input features and output a predicted state about the pet insurance claim event], (Shazeer [page 2, 1.2]: “The MoE consists of a number of experts, each a simple feed-forward neural network, and a trainable gating network which selects a sparse combination of the experts to process each input (see Figure 1).”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with the parallel routing models of Shazeer to efficiently save computation (Shazeer, page 3, 2 THE STRUCTURE OF THE MIXTURE-OF-EXPERTS LAYER). Verstraete and Shazeer are analogous art because they both concern processing text data using machine learning models.
Verstraete does not teach pet insurance claim.
wherein the insurance application is configured to access a plurality of practice information management systems (PIMSs) or veterinary practice computing systems via a data abstraction layer;
wherein the text data comprises different portions related to different types of state related to the pet insurance claim event and wherein the different types of state are selected from the group consisting of a type of medical care, a type of billing category or cost, and a type of condition and
(d) [routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature] related to the pet insurance claim event [and processing the different sets of transformed input features by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel to output a plurality of predicted states] about the pet insurance claim event,
However, Hessinger teaches pet insurance claim. (Hessinger [0007]: “a computer-implemented method for auto-adjudication of a pet insurance claims and precertifications is disclosed.”;)
wherein the insurance application is configured to access a plurality of practice information management systems (PIMSs) or veterinary practice computing systems via a data abstraction layer; (Hessinger [0008]: “The system further includes a pet hospital server system comprising one or more computers with a display connected to a Practice Information Management System (PIMS) database configured to store pet hospital customer records and pet medical and billing records.”; [0020]: “The hospital service 210 is connected to the PIMS database 208 and its primary purpose is to extract data from the PIMS database 208 and transmits the data over a communication network 108 to a system API 214 in the central cloud server block 104 using a communication service, such as the JAGUAR DATA SERVICE available from VETDATA. The hospital service 210 executes iterative data pulls happening at a time specified in the settings data file at the hospital.” and [0021]: “These databases are used to disseminate the PIMS data and link it with client data maintained in the central server in the hospital database pools 222 using a system API 214”. System API 214 acts as the data abstraction layer.)
wherein the text data comprises different portions related to different types of state related to the pet insurance claim event and wherein the different types of state are selected from the group consisting of a type of medical care, (Hessinger [Claim 4]: “wherein the one of the pet insurance claim and the pet insurance precertification includes: pet information, including type of pet, age, breed, visit diagnosis”)
a type of billing category or cost, and (Hessinger [0009]: “processing the one of the invoice and the estimate in the machine-learning API by marking each item type in the one of the invoice and the estimate”)
a type of condition and (Hessinger [0032]: “An “illness claim” is directed to care for an animal for acute or chronic illness such as infections, respiratory disorders, etc.”)
[wherein at least a portion of the text data comprises a non-standard description about the [pet] insurance claim event without adhering to a standardized terminology, phrasing or formatting] in pet medical care practice (Hessinger [0007]: “a computer-implemented method for auto-adjudication of a pet insurance claims and precertifications is disclosed.”;)
[(c) transforming] the different portions of [the text data into] different sets of [transformed input features each set comprising an array of numerical numbers;] (Hessinger [Claim 4, 15]: “wherein the one of the pet insurance claim and the pet insurance precertification includes: customer information, including name; pet information, including type of pet, age, breed, visit diagnosis;
at least one of a date of service and a future date of service;
at least one of a service provided on the date of service and a service estimate provided for the future date of service; and
cost information for the at least one of the service provided and the service estimate provided.”)
(d) [routing the different sets of transformed input features to a plurality of neural network trained models based at least in part on a feature] related to the pet insurance claim event [and processing the different sets of transformed input features by the plurality of neural network trained models in parallel to output a plurality of predicted states] about the pet insurance claim event, (Hessinger [Claim 4, 15]: “wherein the one of the pet insurance claim and the pet insurance precertification includes: customer information, including name; pet information, including type of pet, age, breed, visit diagnosis;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with the pet insurance claim processing of Hessinger for effective insurance claims processing (Hessinger, [0006]). Verstraete and Hessinger are analogous art because they both concern insurance claims processing.
Claim 2 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Verstraete teaches wherein the input data comprises unstructured data or transcribed data. (See Figure 1 of Verstraete to see that “Slip crash into wall” is unstructured data.)
Claim 3 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Verstraete teaches wherein extracting the text data comprises parsing the input data to identify a word combination from the input data. (Verstraete [0113]: “In a first step, the incoming claim 310 is received 31 from the user. The claim 310 is a natural language text string “Slipped and crashed into wall”. In the preprocessing step, a plurality of component words 320 belonging to the text string is identified 32. Particularly, the text of the incoming claim 310 is preprocessed using the Porter stemming algorithm, converting “slipped” into “slip” 320 and “crashed” into “crash” 320 and stop word removal which removes the word “and”, which does not carry any useful information for the model.”;)
Claim 11 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Verstraete teaches wherein extracting the text data comprises applying an optical character recognition (OCR) algorithm to the input data. (Verstraete [0101]: “The input to the categorization is the description of a claim 21 which can be generated by a physical person (such as the insured person or an intermediary such as an insurance agent). The claim description can be inputted using a variety of methods: typed, spoken (and converted to text using speech-to-text techniques), handwritten (and converted to text using OCR techniques), among others. Next to an incoming claim there is a repository of claim descriptions 22 that were previously categorized. Both the incoming claim 21 and the repository of claims 22 pass through the following steps 23, 24.”;)
Claim 12 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Verstraete teaches wherein the output is transmitted upon a determination that a confidence score associated with the output is above a confidence threshold (Verstraete [0030]: “determining in step (h) whether said insurance claim can be derived unambiguously comprises determining whether a confidence indicator exceeds a predefined confidence threshold. In view of the methods that may preferably be used in step (h), including advanced machine learning techniques, it may be advantageous to accommodate for a confidence threshold, e.g. 90 percent confidence or 95 percent confidence,”)
Claim 16 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Verstraete teaches wherein the output comprises an insight inferred from aggregating the plurality of predicted states. (Verstraete [0102]: “In this example, this leads to generating 37 the signal 370 that the actions to performed are uncertain, in view of the actual claim category being uncertain. Associating an “uncertain” signal to cases where no agreement is found preferably corresponds to requesting intervention from a human operator.”;)
Claim 21 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Verstraete does not teach wherein routing the different sets of transformed input features text data to the plurality of neural network trained models comprises selecting two or more neural network trained models based at least in part on the feature and routing a portion of the text data corresponding to the feature to the two or more neural network trained models.
However, Shazeer teaches routing the different sets of transformed input features text data to the plurality of neural network trained models comprises selecting two or more neural network trained models based at least in part on the feature and routing a portion of the text data corresponding to the feature to the two or more neural network trained models. (Shazeer [page 2, 1.2]: “The MoE consists of a number of experts, each a simple feed-forward neural network, and a trainable gating network which selects a sparse combination of the experts to process each input (see Figure 1).”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with the parallel routing models of Shazeer to efficiently save computation (Shazeer, page 3, 2 THE STRUCTURE OF THE MIXTURE-OF-EXPERTS LAYER). Verstraete and Shazeer are analogous art because they both concern processing text data using machine learning models.
Claim 22 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 22, Verstraete teaches wherein the two or more neural network trained models are configured to output a predicted state related to the feature. (Verstraete [0106]: “The agreement protocol provides a second safeguard 26. It decides how the outputs of the models are integrated into a single category. For example, in one such schema a category is assigned to a claim if both models predict the same category (not “Uncertain”), otherwise the claim is flagged as “Uncertain”. Another scheme might be that 1 model has preference over another and can also predict the category if the other model flagged the incoming claim as “Uncertain”. Again, “Uncertain” flagged claims will go to a human expert.”; Note: See Figure 2 of Verstraete to see that Category 1 and Category 2 are different predictions made by Model 1 and 2.)
Claim 23 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 23, Verstraete teaches wherein the output in (e) comprises a confidence level associated with the status of the [pet] insurance claim event. (Verstraete [0030]: “determining in step (h) whether said insurance claim can be derived unambiguously comprises determining whether a confidence indicator exceeds a predefined confidence threshold.”)
Verstraete does not appear to explicitly teach [pet]
However, Hessinger teaches pet (Hessinger [Claim 4, 15]: “wherein the one of the pet insurance claim and the pet insurance precertification includes: customer information, including name; pet information, including type of pet, age, breed, visit diagnosis;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with the pet insurance claim processing of Hessinger for effective insurance claims processing (Hessinger, [0006]). Verstraete and Hessinger are analogous art because they both concern insurance claims processing.
Claim 24 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, Verstraete teaches wherein upon determining the confidence level is below a predetermined confidence threshold, the result is displayed on the user interface for review by a human user. (Verstraete [0107-0108]: Again, “Uncertain” flagged claims will go to a human expert. This preferably relates to a predefined confidence level. The more certainty is required with respect to a category, the higher the number of claims is labeled as “Uncertain”. The first and second safeguard also provide the possibility to add a (semi)automated feedback loop. For example, “Uncertain” claims go to a human expert to manually assign a category.”; and [0036]: “In yet another embodiment, a notification relating to said assessment generated in step (j) is sent to said policyholder device and is displayed on said screen. Such an embodiment may lead to an improved user experience for the policyholder, who is informed immediately with respect to the coverage of the insurance claim and potential further steps.”)
Claims 4, 5, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verstraete and Hessinger in view of Sampson et al. (US9396540B1); hereinafter Sampson
Claim 4 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Sampson with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Verstraete does not teach wherein extracting the text data comprises identifying an anchor word from the input data.
However, Sampson teaches wherein extracting the text data comprises identifying an anchor word from the input data. (Sampson [col. 2, lines 28-33]: “wherein an anchor is an object that enables the identification of the position of a field on a scanned document with respect to another object in the document. For example, an anchor for a field for that specifies the sales tax in an invoice is the text “Taxes” that appears six inches to the left of the data for the field for sales tax.”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with optical character recognition of Sampson for improve grouping and classification of text (Sampson, col. 7, lines 19-27). Verstraete and Sampson are analogous art because they both concern text extraction of documents.
Claim 5 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Sampson with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Verstraete does not teach further comprising determining a boundary relative to a location of the anchor word based at least in part on a location of the anchor word.
However, Sampson teaches further comprising determining a boundary relative to a location of the anchor word based at least in part on a location of the anchor word. (Sampson [col. 2, lines 28-33]: “wherein an anchor is an object that enables the identification of the position of a field on a scanned document with respect to another object in the document. For example, an anchor for a field for that specifies the sales tax in an invoice is the text “Taxes” that appears six inches to the left of the data for the field for sales tax (boundary).”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with optical character recognition of Sampson for improve grouping and classification of text (Sampson, col. 7, lines 19-27). Verstraete and Sampson are analogous art because they both concern text extraction of documents.
Claim 6 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Sampson with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Verstraete does not teach further comprising recognizing a subset of the text data within the boundary.
However, Sampson teaches further comprising recognizing a subset of the text data within the boundary. (Sampson [col. 17, lines 40-53]: “wherein the inputs include documents, and each document includes a list of words and bounding box of the document. A word includes a list of characters, text (concatenated characters), a bounding box, and an area of characters. The area is the sum of the width multiplied by the height of each individual character, which may be different when there are rotated words, rather than the width multiplied by the height of the word's bounding box. However, the area may be the width multiplied by the height of the word's bounding box. The coordinates may be in a dots-per-inch-independent coordinate system. A document may include other information, such as the location of graphical zones. The textual distance function may take into account the placement, content, or both of graphical zones.”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with optical character recognition of Sampson for improve grouping and classification of text (Sampson, col. 7, lines 19-27). Verstraete and Sampson are analogous art because they both concern text extraction of documents.
Claim 8 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Sampson with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Verstraete does not teach wherein the anchor word is predetermined based on a format of the input data.
However, Sampson teaches wherein the anchor word is predetermined based on a format of the input data. (Sampson [col. 7, lines 14-27]: “wherein the classification module 218 uses textual content present on a page to compare two images, such as documents or document images, to determine if they belong in the same class. The classification module 218 may use fuzzy textual matching and spatial relations of words to determine whether two documents belong in the same class. Structured and semi-structured documents may have certain patterns that are text-based such as “Total,” “Invoice #,” and so forth, that appear in the same relative position in each document of the same class (anchor word). The classification module 218 may learn these common text patterns and their relative locations and apply this learning on production document images to provide improved grouping and classification methods. This learnt information can be leveraged in extracting business data.”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with optical character recognition of Sampson for improve grouping and classification of text (Sampson, col. 7, lines 19-27). Verstraete and Sampson are analogous art because they both concern text extraction of documents.
Claim 9 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Sampson with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Verstraete does not teach wherein the anchor word is identified by predicting a presence of a line-item word using a machine learning algorithm trained model.
However, Sampson teaches wherein the anchor word is identified by predicting a presence of a line-item word using a machine learning algorithm trained model. (Sampson [col. 7, lines 14-27]: “wherein the classification module 218 uses textual content present on a page to compare two images, such as documents or document images, to determine if they belong in the same class. The classification module 218 may use fuzzy textual matching and spatial relations of words to determine whether two documents belong in the same class. Structured and semi-structured documents may have certain patterns that are text-based such as “Total,” “Invoice #,” and so forth (line-item word), that appear in the same relative position in each document of the same class. The classification module 218 may learn these common text patterns and their relative locations and apply this learning on production document images to provide improved grouping and classification methods. This learnt information can be leveraged in extracting business data.”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with optical character recognition of Sampson for improve grouping and classification of text (Sampson, col. 7, lines 19-27). Verstraete and Sampson are analogous art because they both concern text extraction of documents.
Claim 7 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Sampson in further view of Mansfield et al. (US9959259B2); hereinafter Mansfield
Claim 7 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer, Sampson and Mansfield with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Verstraete does not teach further comprising grouping at least a portion of the subset of the text data based on a coordinate of the subset of the text data.
However, Mansfield teaches further comprising grouping at least a portion of the subset of the text data based on a coordinate of the subset of the text data. (Mansfield [col. 30, lines 58-67 – col. 31, lines 1-3]: “wherein next, the process identifies (at 3315) groups of text lines that vertically overlap. Two lines vertically overlap in some embodiments when the bounding rectangle of the first line overlaps in y-coordinate values with the bounding rectangle of the second line. FIG. 35 illustrates the page 3400 with six groups of vertically overlapping text lines: lines 3505 and 3506, lines 3510 and 3511, lines 3515 and 3516, lines 3520, 3521, and 3522, lines 3525 and 3526, and lines 3530 and 3531. Line 3520 is associated in a group with line 3522 because both overlap with line 3521, even though they do not overlap each other. Even though there is no horizontal overlap, because lines 3530 and 3531 vertically overlap, they are initially grouped together in some embodiments.”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with the document reconstruction of Mansfield for efficient defining of a structured document from an unstructured document (Mansfield, col. 1, lines 21-26). Verstraete and Mansfield are analogous art because they both concern text processing from unstructured text data.
Claim 10 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, and Shazeer in further view of Diana et al. (US20130226623A1); hereinafter Diana
Claim 10 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Diana with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Verstraete does not teach wherein the natural language processing of at least one of the plurality of pipelines extracting the text data comprises a transformation layer for: (i) identifying a word that is outside a data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models, and (ii) translating the word into a replacement word that is within the data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models.
However, Diana teaches wherein the natural language processing of at least one of the plurality of pipelines extracting the text data comprises a transformation layer for: (i) identifying a word that is outside a data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models, and (ii) translating the word into a replacement word that is within the data distribution of the plurality of machine learning algorithm trained models. (Diana [0040]: “wherein in one implementation, the consolidated claims record may contain noise in text data, such as grammatical mistake, spelling mistakes, and punctuation mistakes. The data acquisition module 114 may be configured to remove the noise from text data of the consolidated claims record to obtain a claims dataset. As may be understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art, the noise may be removed from the text data by using any conventional known technique. The claims dataset comprises a plurality of claims. Further, the data acquisition module 114 (transformation engine with a transformation layer) may provide synonyms (translating the word into a replacement word is transforming) for common words spelled differently during preparation of the data. For example, the term “web-site may” be also referred to as “website” at few places. In one implementation, the data acquisition module 114 may define abbreviation list for commonly used abbreviations. For example, “Customer Service Representative” for “CSR”. In one implementation, the data acquisition module 114 may store the claims dataset in the extracted claims data 124.”;)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with the text pattern analysis of Diana for efficient detection of text irregularities in insurance claims data (Diana, [0012]). Verstraete and Diana are analogous art because they both concern text analysis for insurance claims processing.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verstraete, Hessinger and Shazeer in further view of Venkateshwaran et al. (US20200394364A1); hereinafter Venkateshwaran
Claim 14 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Venkateshwaran and with the incorporation of claim 1.
Verstraete does not teach wherein the plurality of predicted states are aggregated using a trained model.
However, Venkateshwaran teaches wherein the plurality of predicted states are aggregated using a trained model. (See Figure 9 of Venkateshwaran to see the predictions of the plurality of models go through a weighted combiner 918 and then into 922 based on a ML approach.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to combine the claims processing of Verstraete with the plurality of machine learning models of Venkateshwaran to make annotation more efficient (Venkateshwaran, [0122]). Verstraete and Venkateshwaran are analogous art because they both concern text extraction for insurance claims processing.
Claim 15 is rejected over Verstraete, Hessinger, Shazeer and Venkateshwaran and with the incorporation of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Verstraete teaches wherein the output comprises a probability of the status. (Verstraete [0030]: “In another preferred embodiment, said determining in step (h) whether said insurance claim can be derived unambiguously comprises determining whether a confidence indicator exceeds a predefined confidence threshold. In view of the methods that may preferably be used in step (h), including advanced machine learning techniques, it may be advantageous to accommodate for a confidence threshold, e.g. 90 percent confidence or 95 percent confidence, rather than operating strictly according to a binary decision. Furthermore, incorporating such a confidence threshold provides for a parameter that can be configured by the insurer based on the overall performance of a given embodiment of the invention. Lowering the confidence threshold may result in faster user experience for the policyholder but less accurate assessment, whereas increasing the confidence threshold may result in a more accurate assessment at the cost of a more involved user experience for the policyholder.”;)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2147
/VIKER A LAMARDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2147