DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filled 02/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 15-18 have been cancelled. Claims 2, 13, 19, 21 and 24 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-14 and 19-24 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao, US (2020/0317256) in view of Puszkiewicz, US (2004/0045768).
In regards to claim 1 Hao discloses:
An aerial lift assembly (10) comprising:
a chassis (12);
a linkage assembly (16) with a plurality of pivotally connected links (23), the linkage assembly connected to the chassis to extend and retract from the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2), wherein the plurality of pivotally connected links comprises a first link (see annotated drawings below), a second link (see annotated drawings below), and a first pivotal connection (see annotated drawings below) interconnecting the first link and the second link so that the second link is pivotal relative to the first link (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2);
a platform (18) supported upon the linkage assembly to extend and retract from the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2).
In regards to claim 1 Hao does not disclose a load sensor.
Puszkiewicz teaches a load sensor (22 or 24; figs. 2 or 3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the load sensor taught by Puszkiewicz onto the first pivotal connection of Hao for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success and as motivated by Puszkiewicz i.e., where no redesign or additional structures are necessary to install the load sensing system and provide a safe operation of the scissors lift machine (Abstract; Puszkiewicz). Hence, the modification above subsequently teaches the load sensor provided upon (at least in accordance with the definition of “upon” as obtained from Upon - definition of upon by The Free Dictionary, provided below) the first pivotal connection (pivotal connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz) of the first link and the second link of the plurality of links of the linkage assembly.
In regards to claim 2 Hao as modified by Puszkiewicz teaches the load sensor is further defined as only one load sensor of the aerial lift assembly (the one sensor taught from Puszkiewicz; on one hand as a first interpretation: (a) the claim does not require that the entire assembly has only one sensor, where it can be interpreted as “only one load sensor of the aerial lift assembly” for said pivotal connection, and on the other hand, as an alternate interpretation, only one sensor is being taught from reference Puszkiewicz onto the assembly of reference Hao, hence ending up with only one sensor for the entire aerial lift assembly, although the claim does not recite/require it to be “for the entire aerial lift assembly”). Note that if it is applicant’s intention to recite that the load sensor is the only one load sensor of the entire aerial lift assembly, it would constitute new matter since paragraph [0005] of the specification only supports it to be “defined as only one load sensor”, which can be interpreted to refer to only one pivotal connection not the entire assembly.
In regards to claim 3 Hao discloses the second link further comprises an actuator (24) connected to the first pivotal connection of the linkage assembly to extend and retract the linkage assembly (fig. 1B).
In regards to claim 4 Hao as modified by Puszkiewicz teaches the load sensor is provided on the first pivotal connection (pivotal connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz).
In regards to claim 5 Hao discloses the first pivotal connection further comprises a pin (as shown in annotated drawings above).
In regards to claim 6 Puszkiewicz teaches the load sensor is provided to detect an applicable load and load vector (22 described as a “load sensing pin”; hence detecting load and since load is directed downward due to gravity, and vector is a magnitude measured in a specific direction, it is provided that load sensing pin 22 detects load vector; also described in paragraph [0025]; provided below).
In regards to claim 7 Puszkiewicz teaches a controller (electronic interface module 30) in communication with the load sensor to receive an applicable load measurement and a load vector for each of a plurality of positions (as described in paragraph [0030]; “The electronic interface module 30 communicates with the lift mechanism and controls operation of the lift mechanism according to the signals from the load sensing pins 22, 24” and paragraph [0034]; “The interface module 30 additionally provides for dynamic load monitoring”; excerpt of paragraphs highlighted below).
In regards to claim 8 Puszkiewicz teaches the controller is programmed to calculate a platform height in response to receipt of the applicable load measurements and the load vectors for the plurality of positions (as described in claim 11 below “the interface module determines a center of gravity of the vertical load on the platform based on the signals from the load sensing pins and platform height or elevation information acquired by direct or non-direct measurement”).
In regards to claim 9 Puszkiewicz teaches the controller is programmed to calculate a platform load in response to receipt of the applicable load measurements and the load vectors for the plurality of positions (as described in claim 11 above).
In regards to claim 10 Hao discloses the plurality of pivotally connected links is further defined as a plurality of pivotally connected stack links that are retractable to collapse and stack upon the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2).
In regards to claim 11 Hao discloses the second link further comprises an actuator (24) connected to the first pivotal connection of the linkage assembly to extend and retract the linkage assembly (fig. 1B).
In regards to claim 12 Hao as modified by Puszkiewicz teaches the load sensor is provided on the first pivotal connection (pivotal connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz).
In regards to claim 21 Puszkiewicz teaches the pin comprises: a body (body of 22; fig. 2) with a diameter sized to be received within an aperture (see opening in linkage in annotated drawings below) in the linkage assembly (as shown in fig. 2); and a head adjacent to a proximal end of the body (note that the head pointed to in the annotated drawings below is located closer to one end than the other, and that the claim does not require said end to be a terminal end), the head having a diameter greater than a diameter of the aperture in the linkage assembly to provide a limit to translation of installation of the pin in the linkage assembly (see annotated drawings below).
In regards to claim 22 Hao as modified by Puszkiewicz teaches the first link further comprises an intermediate link (one of the middle linkages of the stack shown in fig. 1B; Hao) pivotally connected to a pair of the plurality of pivotally connected stack links (fig. 1B; standard scissors lift function); wherein the actuator is pivotally connected to the linkage assembly at the intermediate link (actuator 24 indirect connection); and wherein the load sensor is provided on the first pivotal connection of the actuator and the intermediate link (pivotal connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz).
Claims 13-14, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao, US (2020/0317256) in view of Puszkiewicz, US (2004/0045768).
In regards to claim 13 Hao discloses:
An aerial lift assembly (10) comprising:
a chassis (12);
a linkage assembly (16) is connected to the chassis to extend and retract from the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2);
a platform (18) supported upon the linkage assembly to extend and retract from the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2);
an actuator (24) pivotally connected to the linkage assembly at a first pivotal connection {see annotated drawings below; and note that actuator 24 is pivotally connected (indirectly) “at” the first pivotal connection as shown in drawings below and per the definition of “at” as obtained from https://www.thefreedictionary.com/at } to extend and retract the linkage assembly (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2).
In regards to claim 13 Hao does not disclose a load sensor.
Puszkiewicz teaches a load sensor (22 or 24; figs. 2 or 3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the load sensor taught by Puszkiewicz onto the first pivotal connection of Hao for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success and as motivated by Puszkiewicz i.e., where no redesign or additional structures are necessary to install the load sensing system and provide a safe operation of the scissors lift machine (Abstract; Puszkiewicz). Hence, the modification above subsequently teaches the load sensor provided upon (at least in accordance with the definition of “upon” as obtained from Upon - definition of upon by The Free Dictionary, provided below) the first pivotal connection (pivotal connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz) of the actuator and the linkage assembly.
In regards to claim 14 Hao discloses a pin as the pivotal connection of the actuator and the linkage assembly (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2).
In regards to claim 23 Hao as modified by Puszkiewicz teaches the first link further comprises an intermediate link (one of the middle linkages of the stack shown in fig. 1B; Hao) pivotally connected to a pair of the plurality of pivotally connected stack links (fig. 1B; standard scissors lift function); wherein the actuator is pivotally connected to the linkage assembly at the intermediate link (actuator 24 indirect connection); and wherein the load sensor is provided on the first pivotal connection of the actuator and the intermediate link (pivotal connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz).
In regards to claim 24 Puszkiewicz teaches the pin comprises: a body (body of 22; fig. 2) with a diameter sized to be received within an aperture (see opening in linkage in annotated drawings below) in the linkage assembly (as shown in fig. 2); and a head adjacent to a proximal end of the body (note that the head pointed to in the annotated drawings below is located closer to one end than the other, and that the claim does not require said end to be a terminal end), the head having a diameter greater than a diameter of the aperture in the linkage assembly to provide a limit to translation of installation of the pin in the linkage assembly (see annotated drawings below).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao, US (2020/0317256) in view of Puszkiewicz, US (2004/0045768).
In regards to claim 19 Hao discloses:
An aerial lift assembly (10) comprising:
a chassis (12);
a linkage assembly (16) with a plurality of pivotally connected links (23), the linkage assembly connected to the chassis to extend and retract from the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2);
a platform (18) supported upon the linkage assembly to extend and retract from the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2);
an actuator (24) pivotally connected to the linkage assembly at a pivotal connection (see annotated drawings below) to extend and retract the linkage assembly (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2);
a pin (see annotated drawings below) as the pivotal connection of the actuator and the linkage assembly (either of the pins shown in annotated drawings below, direct or indirect connection).
In regards to claim 19 Hao does not disclose a load sensor.
Puszkiewicz teaches a load sensor (24; fig. 3).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the load sensor taught by Puszkiewicz onto the first pivotal connection of Hao for the predictable result with reasonable expectation of success and as motivated by Puszkiewicz i.e., where no redesign or additional structures are necessary to install the load sensing system and provide a safe operation of the scissors lift machine (Abstract; Puszkiewicz).
the modification Hao with Puszkiewicz above subsequently teaches the load sensor provided on the pin of the actuator (pin connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz) and one of the plurality of links of the linkage assembly to detect an applicable load and load vector; and
a controller (electronic interface module 30; Puszkiewicz) in communication with the load sensor to receive an applicable load measurement and a load vector for each of a plurality of positions (as described in paragraph [0030]; Puszkiewicz; “The electronic interface module 30 communicates with the lift mechanism and controls operation of the lift mechanism according to the signals from the load sensing pins 22, 24” and paragraph [0034]; Puszkiewicz “The interface module 30 additionally provides for dynamic load monitoring”; excerpt of paragraphs highlighted below; Puszkiewicz), wherein the controller is programmed to:
calculate a platform height in response to receipt of the applicable load measurements and the load vectors for the plurality of positions (as described in claim 11 below “the interface module determines a center of gravity of the vertical load on the platform based on the signals from the load sensing pins and platform height or elevation information acquired by direct or non-direct measurement”; Puszkiewicz), and
calculate a platform load in response to receipt of the applicable load measurements and the load vectors for the plurality of positions (as described in claim 11 Puszkiewicz below “the interface module determines a center of gravity of the vertical load on the platform based on the signals from the load sensing pins and platform height or elevation information acquired by direct or non-direct measurement”; Puszkiewicz).
In regards to claim 20 Hao discloses the plurality of pivotally connected links is further defined as a plurality of pivotally connected stack links that are retractable to collapse and stack upon the chassis (as shown in figs. 1A, 1B, 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because:
Applicant argues “The rejection relies on Puszkiewicz for teaching "a load sensor (22 or 24; figs. 2 or 3)." Puszkiewicz teaches load sensors that are provided on a pivotal connection of the links with the platform 20, (Puszkiewicz et al., at paragraphs [0023], [0024]) and not "upon the first pivotal connection of the first link and the second link" as claimed. Therefore, the combination of Hao and Puszkiewicz fails to satisfy all of the claim limitations ... the links 23 of Hao are not constrained rotationally, in contrast to the platform 20 of Puszkiewicz. The sensors of Puszkiewicz are applicable only at a pivotal connection with the platform (or with the frame) which maintains a rotational position. See paragraphs [0006] and [0025]. The proposed modification is contrary to the teachings of Puszkiewicz and would render the sensors of Puszkiewicz unfit for their intended purpose. Therefore, the proposed combination is nonobvious. The only reason to make the proposed combination with the proposed modification employs impermissible hindsight and is derived from Applicant's specification”; examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that:
(A) the rejection of Hao as modified by Puszkiewicz indeed teaches the load sensor provided upon (at least in accordance with the definition of “upon” as obtained from Upon - definition of upon by The Free Dictionary, provided below) the first pivotal connection (pivotal connection of Hao as shown in annotated drawings above and in the manner taught by Puszkiewicz and shown in fig. 3 of Puszkiewicz) of the first link and the second link of the plurality of links of the linkage assembly. Note the first definition provided below in light of applicant’s arguments that Puszkiewicz teaches load sensors that are provided on a pivotal connection of the links ... and not "upon the first pivotal connection.
(B) Examiner disagrees with applicant’s characterization of that: “The sensors of Puszkiewicz are applicable only at a pivotal connection with the platform (or with the frame) which maintains a rotational position. See paragraphs [0006] and [0025]. The proposed modification is contrary to the teachings of Puszkiewicz and would render the sensors of Puszkiewicz unfit for their intended purpose”, and presents that there is nothing in either the primary reference Hao or teaching reference Puszkiewicz that would preclude or destroy the sensor from operating in the same manner once taught onto the pivotal connection of Hao.
(C) In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues “claim 2 recites "wherein the load sensor is further defined as only one load sensor of the aerial lift assembly." Puszkiewicz discloses utilization of four sensors, or two sensors as an alternative, at paragraph [0010]. However, Puszkiewicz fails to teach only one load sensor, as claimed. Puszkiewicz also fails to suggest any reason to provide only one load sensor”; examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that the one sensor taught from Puszkiewicz; on one hand as a first interpretation: (a) the claim does not require that the entire assembly has only one sensor, where it can be interpreted as “only one load sensor of the aerial lift assembly” for said pivotal connection, and on the other hand, as an alternate interpretation, only one sensor is being taught from reference Puszkiewicz onto the assembly of reference Hao, hence ending up with only one sensor for the entire aerial lift assembly, although the claim does not recite/require it to be “for the entire aerial lift assembly”. Note that if it is applicant’s intention to recite that the load sensor is the only one load sensor of the entire aerial lift assembly, it would constitute new matter since paragraph [0005] of the specification only supports it to be “defined as only one load sensor”, which can be interpreted to refer to only one pivotal connection not the entire assembly.
Applicant argues “Claim 8 recites "wherein the controller is programmed to calculate a platform height". The combination of references fails to satisfy this claim limitation. The rejection relies on claim 11 of Hao which recites "a center of gravity", which is not the "platform height" as claimed”, and similarly argues with regards to claim 9 that: “Claim 9 recites "wherein the controller is programmed to calculate a platform load". The combination of references fails to satisfy this claim limitation. The rejection relies on claim 11 of Hao which recites "a center of gravity", which is not the "platform load" as claimed”; examiner respectfully disagrees and presents that Puszkiewicz teaches the above argues limitations where as described in claim 11 below “the interface module determines a center of gravity of the vertical load on the platform based on the signals from the load sensing pins i.e., load which includes the platform load (as it pertains to claim 9) and platform height (as it pertains to claim 8) or elevation information acquired by direct or non-direct measurement”. It appears that applicant during his argument oversaw the rest of the recitation detailed in claim 11 (Puszkiewicz) reproduced below.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.M.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634