DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 12/29/2025 wherein Claims 1-2 and 4-19 are pending. Claims 1, 10, and 18 have been amended. Claim 3 was canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding 35 USC 103 rejection: Applicant’s arguments regarding Claims 1-2 and 4-19 were fully considered but found not persuasive.
Additionally, on page 8, applicant states: “as seen in Nitschke's FIG. 1, there is no "signal" going from Nitschke's arc diverter 160 to power line 115. Instead, there is merely power, which signals nothing, and Nitschke's power does not come from sensor circuitry, so Nitschke's arc diverter 160 cannot reasonably be equated to the claimed "sensor circuitry."
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, the claim limitation states: “a power supply comprising: sensor circuitry to sense power-related parameters from one or more subcomponents withing the power supply and provide digital signals indicative of the power-related parameters”. Nitschke discloses power supply and the sensor (see para 0068), circuits (para 0060), digital signals (paras 0014, 0028) (see detailed explanation in the Office Action below). Power does not come from the sensor in applicant’s disclosure either, since power comes from the power supply, not from the sensor. Sensor does not produce power. Even in Applicants’ claim, sensor does not produce power. It senses parameters and provides signals about these parameters “sensor circuitry to sense power-related parameters from one or more subcomponents within the power supply and provide digital signals”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10, 12-13, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20090308734A1 to Krauss et al. (hereinafter Krauss) in view of US20080122369A1 to Nitschke (hereinafter Nitschke).
Regarding Claim 1: Krauss discloses:
“A system for defining, detecting or characterizing an event in a plasma processing system” (Fig. 1; para 0016 – “One example of a plasma generation apparatus includes an arc detection arrangement communicatively coupled to a power supply circuit.”; para 0055 – “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating one example embodiment of an arc detection arrangement”), comprising:
“a power supply comprising: (para 0129 – “FIG. 5 illustrates one example implementation of a PSIM power supply circuit 500 (not shown in FIG. 2) and required to bias instrumentation operational amplifiers U2 and U3. A dual power supply module U1, for example ASTRODYNE model FDC10-24D15, generates the nominal +15 VDC and −15 VDC used to bias PSIM amplifiers U2, U3, and current sensor CS1”)
“a measurement and control module to receive the signals indicative of the power-related parameters and produce data representing the power-related parameters” (para 0018 – “The arc detection arrangement may be implemented using, for example, a programmable logic controller (i.e. measurement and control module, added by examiner) (PLC).”; para 0031 – “the method can further include the steps of generating a power-related parameter, comparing the power-related parameter to at least one threshold to determine the severity of arcing in the plasma generation apparatus and, measuring arc duration responsive to comparing the power-related parameter to the at least one threshold”);
“a data acquisition device operatively coupled to the power supply and configured to record the produced data from the power supply” (para 0021 – “the apparatus includes logic to classify arc events based on combined data from both the voltage and current channels of a power supply interface”; Fig. 1; para 0116 – “an independent power supply interface module (PSIM) 40… PSIM 40 includes a buffered voltage attenuator 44 adapted to sense the chamber voltage and provide an analog signal to an Arc Detection Unit (ADU) 50 via voltage signal path 42 responsive to the chamber voltage.”; para 0230 – “Information from sensors 4105, 4106 may be sampled at a high rate by ADU 50. Wafer-level arc detector 4100 may, in turn, sample outputs of ADU 50, such as at a lower rate. Sampling may be performed by input interface 4102, which in turn may forward the information (or a processed version of the information) to processor 4101 and/or memory 4103 (i.e. data acquisition device, added by examiner)”),
“the recorded data comprising: power-related parameter values corresponding to past arc events” (para 0019 – “looking at the current level for spikes, and looking at the voltage level for simultaneous decreases greatly increase the confidence level or success rate of “true” arc detection. Thus, methods and apparatuses are provided for detecting such arc events, and for detecting and classifying other arc events (i.e. past arc events, added by examiner)”; para 0241 – “in step 3812 those accumulated Arc Count and Arc Time values are classified as part of, and used to measure the energy of, the wafer-level arc-caused spike… In steps 3812 and 3813, an indication of the existence of a spike may also be separately recorded (such as in memory 4103). In addition, a timestamp of the spike may also be recorded (such as in memory 4103)”);
“a computing device configured to: receive the data from the data acquisition device” (para 0018 – “The arc detection arrangement may be implemented using, for example, a programmable logic controller (PLC). The PLC may operate in concert with the arc detection arrangement to compute an adaptive arc threshold value responsive to normal variations in the impedance of the PVD chamber, the real time adaptive arc threshold value being communicated by the PLC to the arc detection apparatus in near real time.”; para 0112 – “A logic arrangement may be communicatively coupled to the arc detection arrangement, and adapted to process the arcing data collected by the arc detection arrangement. In one implementation, the logic arrangement is adapted to interface with the arc detection arrangement, the logic arrangement having a data network and additional external devices such as process controllers, monitors and logic arrangements. In one particular application, the logic arrangement is a programmable logic controller (PLC)”; see also para 0171);
“analyze the data” (para 0049 – “the method can further include analyzing the transduced waveform for the wafer-level arcing anomaly, classifying the data, and indicating the occurrence of wafer-level arcing when classified data is nonzero”);
“determine, based on correlations between the power-related parameter values and past arc events, a threshold of an operating point” (para 0163 – “the present value of the sequences are communicated via high speed communication interface 70 to logic arrangement 60 where logic arrangement 60 uses the present and past values to compute an adaptive arc threshold voltage value to be used by Programmable Threshold Comparator 620. .. This approach results in a near real time adaptive threshold. In another example implementation, the algorithms to generate the adaptive threshold reside in DSPC 630 itself, resulting in an adaptive voltage threshold with minimal delay”; see also para 0241),
“the operating point comprising: the power-related parameter values at a particular time” (para 0164 – “One example algorithm to generate an adaptive arc voltage threshold is to base the computed threshold on a moving average of the voltage sequence computed by DSPC 630, the length of the moving average chosen to be long compared to the expected duration of an arc, but short with respect to the period of rotation of the steering magnet. At a 10 kHz sample rate, the moving average can be computed using a uniformly weighted 64 point FIR filter, the sequence at the filter output representing the average of the previous 6.4 mS of voltage measurements. In one implementation, the adaptive arc threshold value is computed by subtracting a fixed voltage from the moving average. In another example implementation, the adaptive threshold is computed as a fixed percentage of the moving average.”),
“wherein the threshold signifies fault an arc event is probable to a defined degree of confidence within a specified window of time; and” (para 0019 – “Actual micro-arcs … show a rapid decrease … in voltage magnitude and simultaneously, a rapid increase … in current magnitude. Accordingly, looking at the current level for spikes, and looking at the voltage level for simultaneous decreases greatly increase the confidence level or success rate of “true” arc detection.”; para 0020 – “the output of a current transducer is fed into a programmable threshold comparator of an arc detection unit. For example, arc events may be measured by the arc detection unit in terms of how many times current makes an excursion above a threshold value and in terms of the elapsed time for which the current is above the threshold value. Additional information regarding the severity of the arc may be obtained by placing more than one threshold value (each at a different level) above the nominal operating point and comparing arc event counts and elapsed time for the different threshold levels.”);
“preemptively adjust one or more subcomponents within the power supply to manage the probable arc event before the arc event occurs” (para 0026 – “The method may also accommodate the slow changes (i.e., relative to arc events) to the supply voltage occurring during a sputtering deposition process in the stable mode. In this regard, the method may further include adjusting the predetermined first voltage threshold (i.e. adjust one or more subcomponents within the power supply, added by examiner) during a scanning cycle (i.e. preemptively) to track slow changes in the supply voltage”; para 0113 – “measuring the power-related parameter during non-arcing plasma generation and automatically adjusting the arc intensity threshold(s) responsive to measuring the power-related parameter; counting arc occurrences”; para 0098 – “where a processing step is suspected as being defective due to detection of significant quantity or severity of arcing, the PVD process step may be terminated before further damage can occur. At the end of a PVD processing step, whether completed normally or terminated per above a decision to repair or discard the wafer can be made before further processing steps are initiated”; see also para 0100).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“sensor circuitry to sense power-related parameters from one or more subcomponents within the power supply and provide digital signals indicative of the power-related parameters”.
However, Nitschke discloses:
“sensor circuitry to sense power-related parameters from one or more subcomponents within the power supply and provide digital signals indicative of the power-related parameters” (para 0068 – “The plasma processing system 200 can include a sensor device 285 at the plasma chamber 210 and being coupled to the input device 280”; para 0069 – “The plasma processing system 200 can include a control section 290 connected between the sensor device 285 and the input device 280. Thus, a signal from the sensor device 285 (i.e. digital signal, added by examiner) can be sent first to the control section 290, where the signal is examined, compared, computed, etc., and the control section 290 can then send an output signal to the power supply system 205 through the input device 280. For example, if the control section 290 determines that the signal from the sensor device 285 indicates an arc event (i.e. indicative of the power-related parameters, added by examiner), the control section 290 can send an alarm signal to the input device 280”; para 0014 – “The input device can be a digital or an analog input. The input device can be compatible to a cordless transmission system. The input device can be connected to a sensor device”; para 0028 – “The arc diverter can be configured to generate an active signal of a duration proportional to a signal from the arc diverter control input device. The power supply system can include a housing enclosing the power converter and the arc diverter, and wherein the arc diverter control input device is mounted on an exterior surface of the power supply system housing”; para 0007 – “one can directly control a reaction of the power supply system (i.e. sensing power-related parameters from one or more subcomponents within the power supply, added by examiner) according to the characteristics of a detected arc”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss, as taught by Nitschke, in order to quickly react to the possibility of the arc origination and to avoid damage to the object on which the thin-film is deposited.
Regarding Claim 2: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1).
Krauss further discloses:
“wherein the power-related parameters comprise one or more of: a current; a voltage; and an impedance” (Fig. 1; para 0022 – “Further aspects of the invention provide methods of detecting and classifying arcs in a physical vapor deposition process. The method may comprise, for example, monitoring a power supply voltage and current of a plasma generation apparatus.”).
Regarding Claim 4: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1).
Krauss further discloses:
“further comprising: a plurality of additional components” (para 0017 – “One example of a plasma generation apparatus includes an arc detection arrangement communicatively coupled to a power supply circuit. The power supply circuit has a cathode enclosed in a chamber, and is adapted to generate a power-related parameter. The arc detection arrangement is adapted to assess the severity of arcing in the chamber by comparing the power-related parameter to at least one threshold.”); and
“and a plurality of additional data acquisition devices” (para 0112 – “A logic arrangement may be communicatively coupled to the arc detection arrangement, and adapted to process the arcing data collected by the arc detection arrangement. In one implementation, the logic arrangement is adapted to interface with the arc detection arrangement, the logic arrangement having a data network and additional external devices such as process controllers, monitors and logic arrangements. In one particular application, the logic arrangement is a programmable logic controller (PLC)”; para 0117 – “ADU 50 is communicatively coupled to a logic arrangement 60, for example a programmable logic controller (PLC) or communication tophat via a local data interface 70. Logic arrangement 60 may be coupled to a data network 80, for example a high level process control network such as an EG Modbus-Plus TCP-IP on Ethernet. Logic arrangement 60 may be generally referred to as a processor. ”),
“and wherein the recorded data further comprises: additional measurements from each of the plurality of additional components” (para 0114 – “Arcing severity in a plasma generation chamber may be additionally or alternatively assessed by determining an arc intensity, which may be derived by: comparing a power-related parameter to at least one arc intensity threshold, timing an arc duration responsive to comparing a power-related parameter to at least one arc intensity threshold, computing arc energy as a function of arc intensity and arc duration, and then adding the arc energy to an accumulated arcing energy. Further example implementations of the method include measuring the power-related parameter during non-arcing plasma generation and automatically adjusting the at least one arc intensity threshold responsive to measuring the power-related parameter; counting arc occurrences responsive to comparing the power-related parameter to the at least one arc intensity threshold; and/or employing a hysteretic arc intensity threshold; and/or transmitting information representative of arcing to a logic arrangement on command via a shared data path, the information being one selected from a group that includes quantity of arc occurrences and accumulated arcing duration. ”);
“and additional indications of arc events from each of the component and the additional components” (para 0017 – “The arc detection arrangement is adapted to assess the severity of arcing in the chamber by comparing the power-related parameter to at least one threshold.”; para 0133 – “The ADU is further adapted to set at least one programmable arc threshold voltage. In a further implementation, the ADU is also adapted to set at least one hysteresis threshold voltage.”).
Regarding Claim 5: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 4 (see the rejection for Claim 4).
Krauss further discloses:
“wherein at least some of the plurality of additional components are in different geographical locations” (para 0013 – “A stand alone post processing computer also takes up valuable floor space and would likely need to be located outside the clean room and connected to the oscilloscope by a network (interpreted as being possibly located at different geographical location, added by examiner), adding latency in the transfer of data between the oscilloscope and computer.”).
Regarding Claim 10: Krauss discloses:
“A method for detecting arcing, the method comprising:” (Fig. 1; para 0016 – “One example of a plasma generation apparatus includes an arc detection arrangement communicatively coupled to a power supply circuit.”; para 0055 – “FIG. 1 is a block diagram illustrating one example embodiment of an arc detection arrangement”),
“a plurality of indications of past arc events in a plasma chamber, the indications of arc events corresponding to the power-related operating characteristics of the power supply” (para 0113 – “Arc severity in a plasma generation chamber may be assessed by timing an arc duration, which is derived by comparing a power-related parameter to at least one arc intensity threshold, and adding the arc duration to an accumulated arcing duration. Further example implementations of the method include measuring the power-related parameter during non-arcing plasma generation and automatically adjusting the arc intensity threshold(s) responsive to measuring the power-related parameter; counting arc occurrences”; see also para 0131);
“receiving the data; determining, if an arc event has occurred based at least in part on the received data” (para 0112 – “A logic arrangement may be communicatively coupled to the arc detection arrangement, and adapted to process the arcing data collected by the arc detection arrangement (i.e. receiving and analyzing the data, added by examiner). In one implementation, the logic arrangement is adapted to interface with the arc detection arrangement, the logic arrangement having a data network and additional external devices such as process controllers, monitors and logic arrangements. In one particular application, the logic arrangement is a programmable logic controller (PLC).”; para 0134 – “An example of such a device is an address decoder commonly used to divide the address space of a DSP into ranges and select one of a plurality of external integrated circuit devices for data transfer to and from the DSP.”; para 0171 – “In addition to counting arcs and the cumulative duration of arcing for each deposition, the logic arrangement 60 is used to perform other real-time analysis of arc information in other implementations. For instance, analysis such as recording the total number (and duration) of arcs for the target, recording the arc intensity (referring to the proximity to ground potential, indicative of a direct short), and detecting continual arcing” (interpreted as determining if an arc event has occurred, added by examiner));
“analyzing the data” (para 0049 – “the method can further include analyzing the transduced waveform for the wafer-level arcing anomaly, classifying the data, and indicating the occurrence of wafer-level arcing when classified data is nonzero”);
“and providing a notification of the arc event; and preemptively managing the arc event with the power supply by adjusting physical subcomponents within the power supply before the arc event occurs” (para 0026 – “The method may also accommodate the slow changes (i.e., relative to arc events) to the supply voltage occurring during a sputtering deposition process in the stable mode. In this regard, the method may further include adjusting the predetermined first voltage threshold (i.e. adjust one or more subcomponents within the power supply, added by examiner) during a scanning cycle (i.e. preemptively) to track slow changes in the supply voltage”; para 0113 – “measuring the power-related parameter during non-arcing plasma generation and automatically adjusting the arc intensity threshold(s) responsive to measuring the power-related parameter; counting arc occurrences”; para 0098 – “where a processing step is suspected as being defective due to detection of significant quantity or severity of arcing, the PVD process step may be terminated before further damage can occur. At the end of a PVD processing step, whether completed normally or terminated per above a decision to repair or discard the wafer can be made before further processing steps are initiated”; see also para 0100; para 0170 – “When the arc count and/or arcing duration exceeds a selected quantity per deposition, the logic arrangement 60 determines according to a pre-defined algorithm that the arcing is damaging the substrate during material deposition, and communicates with the system controller to terminate the deposition (i.e. providing the notification of the arc event, added by examiner). The logic arrangement 60 can also indicate that the substrate being processed will have reduced yield due to the arcing.”; para 0021 – “the apparatus includes logic to classify arc events based on combined data from both the voltage and current channels of a power supply interface (i.e. managing the arc event with the power supply, added by examiner)”; para 0098 – “where a processing step is suspected as being defective due to detection of significant quantity or severity of arcing, the PVD process step may be terminated before further damage can occur. At the end of a PVD processing step, whether completed normally or terminated per above a decision to repair or discard the wafer can be made before further processing steps are initiated”; see also para 0100).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“recording data from a power supply, the data comprising: digital representations of measurements from one or more power-related operating characteristics of one or more subcomponents within the power supply over a period of time”.
However, Nitschke discloses:
“recording data from a power supply, the data comprising: digital representations of measurements from one or more power-related operating characteristics of one or more subcomponents within the power supply over a period of time” (para 0078 – “The control section 290 can include a user interface such as, for example, a keyboard, a computer mouse, and/or a wheel. The control section 290 can include a register to register values (i.e. recording, added by examiner) which are then compared with threshold values. Registered values include, for example, the delay time TD, the duration time TP, or the level for the arc diverter control signal. The control section 290 can include a logic arithmetic unit to process digital data. The control section 290 can include a fast analog to digital converter for converting the measured signal at the plasma chamber 210 into digital values and to process them”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss, as taught by Nitschke, in order to quickly react to the possibility of the arc origination and to avoid damage to the object on which the thin-film is deposited.
Regarding Claim 12: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 10 (see the rejection for Claim 10).
Krauss further discloses:
“further comprising: recording data from a plurality of additional plasma generators” (para 0017 – “One example of a plasma generation apparatus includes an arc detection arrangement communicatively coupled to a power supply circuit. The power supply circuit has a cathode enclosed in a chamber, and is adapted to generate a power-related parameter. The arc detection arrangement is adapted to assess the severity of arcing in the chamber by comparing the power-related parameter to at least one threshold.”); and
“and acquiring data from a plurality of additional data acquisition devices” (para 0112 – “A logic arrangement may be communicatively coupled to the arc detection arrangement, and adapted to process the arcing data collected by the arc detection arrangement. In one implementation, the logic arrangement is adapted to interface with the arc detection arrangement, the logic arrangement having a data network and additional external devices such as process controllers, monitors and logic arrangements. In one particular application, the logic arrangement is a programmable logic controller (PLC)”; para 0117 – “ADU 50 is communicatively coupled to a logic arrangement 60, for example a programmable logic controller (PLC) or communication tophat via a local data interface 70. Logic arrangement 60 may be coupled to a data network 80, for example a high level process control network such as an EG Modbus-Plus TCP-IP on Ethernet. Logic arrangement 60 may be generally referred to as a processor. ”),
“and wherein the data further comprises: additional measurements from each of the plurality of additional plasma generators” (para 0114 – “Arcing severity in a plasma generation chamber may be additionally or alternatively assessed by determining an arc intensity, which may be derived by: comparing a power-related parameter to at least one arc intensity threshold, timing an arc duration responsive to comparing a power-related parameter to at least one arc intensity threshold, computing arc energy as a function of arc intensity and arc duration, and then adding the arc energy to an accumulated arcing energy. Further example implementations of the method include measuring the power-related parameter during non-arcing plasma generation and automatically adjusting the at least one arc intensity threshold responsive to measuring the power-related parameter; counting arc occurrences responsive to comparing the power-related parameter to the at least one arc intensity threshold; and/or employing a hysteretic arc intensity threshold; and/or transmitting information representative of arcing to a logic arrangement on command via a shared data path, the information being one selected from a group that includes quantity of arc occurrences and accumulated arcing duration. ”);
“additional indications of system faults from the plasma generator and additional plasma generators” (para 0017 – “The arc detection arrangement is adapted to assess the severity of arcing in the chamber by comparing the power-related parameter to at least one threshold.”; para 0133 – “The ADU is further adapted to set at least one programmable arc threshold voltage. In a further implementation, the ADU is also adapted to set at least one hysteresis threshold voltage.”).
Regarding Claim 13: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 12 (see the rejection for Claim 12).
Krauss further discloses:
“wherein at least some of the plurality of additional plasma generators are in different geographical locations” (para 0013 – “A stand alone post processing computer also takes up valuable floor space and would likely need to be located outside the clean room and connected to the oscilloscope by a network (interpreted as being possibly located at different geographical location, added by examiner), adding latency in the transfer of data between the oscilloscope and computer.”).
Regarding Claim 18: Krauss discloses:
“A non-transitory, tangible computer readable storage medium, encoded with processor readable instructions to perform a method for defining, identifying, or characterizing an arc event” (para 0047 – “the method can include providing an indication of whether or not wafer-level arcing has occurred. This can be implemented, for example, by writing appropriate data to a computer-readable medium and/or by providing a user-discernable output, such as by displaying a message and/or causing an appropriate light (e.g., an LED) to be turned on.”), the method comprising:
“and a plurality of indications of past arc events; receiving the data” (para 0018 – “The arc detection arrangement may be implemented using, for example, a programmable logic controller (PLC). The PLC may operate in concert with the arc detection arrangement to compute an adaptive arc threshold value responsive to normal variations in the impedance of the PVD chamber, the real time adaptive arc threshold value being communicated by the PLC to the arc detection apparatus in near real time.”; para 0112 – “A logic arrangement may be communicatively coupled to the arc detection arrangement, and adapted to process the arcing data collected by the arc detection arrangement. In one implementation, the logic arrangement is adapted to interface with the arc detection arrangement, the logic arrangement having a data network and additional external devices such as process controllers, monitors and logic arrangements. In one particular application, the logic arrangement is a programmable logic controller (PLC)”; para 0171 – “In addition to counting arcs and the cumulative duration of arcing for each deposition, the logic arrangement 60 is used to perform other real-time analysis of arc information in other implementations. For instance, analysis such as recording the total number (and duration) of arcs for the target, recording the arc intensity (referring to the proximity to ground potential, indicative of a direct short), and detecting continual arcing”));
“analyzing the data” (para 0049 – “the method can further include analyzing the transduced waveform for the wafer-level arcing anomaly, classifying the data, and indicating the occurrence of wafer-level arcing when classified data is nonzero”);
“determining, based on analysis of the digital representations of measurements of the one or more operating characteristics and the arc events, a threshold of an operating point” (para 0163 – “the present value of the sequences are communicated via high speed communication interface 70 to logic arrangement 60 where logic arrangement 60 uses the present and past values to compute an adaptive arc threshold voltage value to be used by Programmable Threshold Comparator 620. .. This approach results in a near real time adaptive threshold. In another example implementation, the algorithms to generate the adaptive threshold reside in DSPC 630 itself, resulting in an adaptive voltage threshold with minimal delay”),
“the operating point comprising: the measurements of the one or more operating characteristics at a particular time” (para 0164 – “One example algorithm to generate an adaptive arc voltage threshold is to base the computed threshold on a moving average of the voltage sequence computed by DSPC 630, the length of the moving average chosen to be long compared to the expected duration of an arc, but short with respect to the period of rotation of the steering magnet. At a 10 kHz sample rate, the moving average can be computed using a uniformly weighted 64 point FIR filter, the sequence at the filter output representing the average of the previous 6.4 mS of voltage measurements. In one implementation, the adaptive arc threshold value is computed by subtracting a fixed voltage from the moving average. In another example implementation, the adaptive threshold is computed as a fixed percentage of the moving average.”),
“wherein the threshold signifies a pending arc event is probable to a defined degree of confidence within a specified window of time” (para 0019 – “Actual micro-arcs … show a rapid decrease … in voltage magnitude and simultaneously, a rapid increase … in current magnitude. Accordingly, looking at the current level for spikes, and looking at the voltage level for simultaneous decreases greatly increase the confidence level or success rate of “true” arc detection.”; para 0020 – “the output of a current transducer is fed into a programmable threshold comparator of an arc detection unit. For example, arc events may be measured by the arc detection unit in terms of how many times current makes an excursion above a threshold value and in terms of the elapsed time for which the current is above the threshold value. Additional information regarding the severity of the arc may be obtained by placing more than one threshold value (each at a different level) above the nominal operating point and comparing arc event counts and elapsed time for the different threshold levels.”); and
“preemptively adjust one or more subcomponents within the power supply to manage the probable arc event before the arc event occurs” (para 0026 – “The method may also accommodate the slow changes (i.e., relative to arc events) to the supply voltage occurring during a sputtering deposition process in the stable mode. In this regard, the method may further include adjusting the predetermined first voltage threshold (i.e. adjust one or more subcomponents within the power supply, added by examiner) during a scanning cycle (i.e. preemptively) to track slow changes in the supply voltage”; para 0113 – “measuring the power-related parameter during non-arcing plasma generation and automatically adjusting the arc intensity threshold(s) responsive to measuring the power-related parameter; counting arc occurrences”; para 0098 – “where a processing step is suspected as being defective due to detection of significant quantity or severity of arcing, the PVD process step may be terminated before further damage can occur. At the end of a PVD processing step, whether completed normally or terminated per above a decision to repair or discard the wafer can be made before further processing steps are initiated”; see also para 0100).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“recording data from a power supply, the data comprising: digital representations of measurements of one or more power-related operating characteristics of one or more subcomponents within the power supply over a period of time; analyzing the data”.
However, Nitschke discloses:
“recording data from a power supply, the data comprising: digital representations of measurements from one or more power-related operating characteristics of one or more subcomponents within the power supply over a period of time” (para 0078 – “The control section 290 can include a user interface such as, for example, a keyboard, a computer mouse, and/or a wheel. The control section 290 can include a register to register values (i.e. recording, added by examiner) which are then compared with threshold values. Registered values include, for example, the delay time TD, the duration time TP, or the level for the arc diverter control signal. The control section 290 can include a logic arithmetic unit to process digital data. The control section 290 can include a fast analog to digital converter for converting the measured signal at the plasma chamber 210 into digital values and to process them”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss, as taught by Nitschke, in order to quickly react to the possibility of the arc origination and to avoid damage to the object on which the thin-film is deposited.
Regarding Claim 19: Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination discloses the non-transitory, tangible computer readable storage medium of claim 18 (see the rejection for Claim 18).
Krauss further discloses:
“further comprising: recording data from a plurality of additional components” (para 0017 – “One example of a plasma generation apparatus includes an arc detection arrangement communicatively coupled to a power supply circuit. The power supply circuit has a cathode enclosed in a chamber, and is adapted to generate a power-related parameter. The arc detection arrangement is adapted to assess the severity of arcing in the chamber by comparing the power-related parameter to at least one threshold.”); and
“acquiring data from a plurality of additional data acquisition devices” (para 0112 – “A logic arrangement may be communicatively coupled to the arc detection arrangement, and adapted to process the arcing data collected by the arc detection arrangement. In one implementation, the logic arrangement is adapted to interface with the arc detection arrangement, the logic arrangement having a data network and additional external devices such as process controllers, monitors and logic arrangements. In one particular application, the logic arrangement is a programmable logic controller (PLC)”; para 0117 – “ADU 50 is communicatively coupled to a logic arrangement 60, for example a programmable logic controller (PLC) or communication tophat via a local data interface 70. Logic arrangement 60 may be coupled to a data network 80, for example a high level process control network such as an EG Modbus-Plus TCP-IP on Ethernet. Logic arrangement 60 may be generally referred to as a processor. ”),
“and wherein the data further comprises: additional measurements from each of the plurality of additional components” (para 0114 – “Arcing severity in a plasma generation chamber may be additionally or alternatively assessed by determining an arc intensity, which may be derived by: comparing a power-related parameter to at least one arc intensity threshold, timing an arc duration responsive to comparing a power-related parameter to at least one arc intensity threshold, computing arc energy as a function of arc intensity and arc duration, and then adding the arc energy to an accumulated arcing energy. Further example implementations of the method include measuring the power-related parameter during non-arcing plasma generation and automatically adjusting the at least one arc intensity threshold responsive to measuring the power-related parameter; counting arc occurrences responsive to comparing the power-related parameter to the at least one arc intensity threshold; and/or employing a hysteretic arc intensity threshold; and/or transmitting information representative of arcing to a logic arrangement on command via a shared data path, the information being one selected from a group that includes quantity of arc occurrences and accumulated arcing duration. ”); and
“additional indications of system faults from each of the component and the additional components” (para 0017 – “The arc detection arrangement is adapted to assess the severity of arcing in the chamber by comparing the power-related parameter to at least one threshold.”; para 0133 – “The ADU is further adapted to set at least one programmable arc threshold voltage. In a further implementation, the ADU is also adapted to set at least one hysteresis threshold voltage.”).
Claims 6-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauss in view of Nitschke in further view of US20190088455A1 to Kamaji (hereinafter Kamaji).
Regarding Claim 6: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the determining is implemented by a machine learning program”.
However, Kamaji discloses:
“wherein the determining is implemented by a machine learning program” (para 0076 - “Various types of analysis algorithms to be stored in the algorithm directory unit 221 of the arithmetic unit 220 store, for example, various generally known machine learning algorithms such as those included in Machine learning by Kevin P. Murphy. The soundness index value 1 and the threshold 1 are calculated using the first algorithm, and the soundness index value 2 and the threshold 2 are calculated using the second algorithm using two types of algorithms selected from the various machine learning algorithms.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss/Nitschke combination, as taught by Kamaji, in order to improve the algorithm creating process and therefore eliminate the need to create separate algorithms for each component.
Regarding Claim 7: Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination discloses the system of claim 6 (see the rejection for Claim 6).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the machine learning program automatically develops an algorithm to set the threshold”.
However, Kamaji discloses:
“wherein the machine learning program automatically develops an algorithm to set the threshold” (para 0076 - “Various types of analysis algorithms to be stored in the algorithm directory unit 221 of the arithmetic unit 220 store, for example, various generally known machine learning algorithms such as those included in Machine learning by Kevin P. Murphy. The soundness index value 1 and the threshold 1 are calculated using the first algorithm, and the soundness index value 2 and the threshold 2 are calculated using the second algorithm using two types of algorithms selected from the various machine learning algorithms.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss/Nitschke combination, as taught by Kamaji, in order to improve the algorithm creating process and therefore eliminate the need to create separate algorithms for each component.
Regarding Claim 8: Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination discloses the system of claim 6 (see the rejection for Claim 6).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the machine learning program receives input from a user to assist in the determining”.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the machine learning program receives input from a user to assist in the determining”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the machine learning program to receive the input from a user to assist in the determination, since the user, for example, may define what should be input, such as different thresholds for different parts of the system.
Regarding Claim 14: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 10 (see the rejection for Claim 10).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the determining is implemented by a machine learning program”.
However, Kamaji discloses:
“wherein the determining is implemented by a machine learning program” (para 0076 - “Various types of analysis algorithms to be stored in the algorithm directory unit 221 of the arithmetic unit 220 store, for example, various generally known machine learning algorithms such as those included in Machine learning by Kevin P. Murphy. The soundness index value 1 and the threshold 1 are calculated using the first algorithm, and the soundness index value 2 and the threshold 2 are calculated using the second algorithm using two types of algorithms selected from the various machine learning algorithms.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination, as taught by Kamaji, in order to improve the algorithm creating process and therefore eliminate the need to create separate algorithms for each component.
Regarding Claim 15: Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination discloses the system of claim 14 (see the rejection for Claim 14).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“further comprising: automatically developing, by the machine learning program, an algorithm to set a threshold for an operating point”.
However, Kamaji discloses:
“further comprising: automatically developing, by the machine learning program, an algorithm to set a threshold for an operating point” (para 0076 - “Various types of analysis algorithms to be stored in the algorithm directory unit 221 of the arithmetic unit 220 store, for example, various generally known machine learning algorithms such as those included in Machine learning by Kevin P. Murphy. The soundness index value 1 and the threshold 1 are calculated using the first algorithm, and the soundness index value 2 and the threshold 2 are calculated using the second algorithm using two types of algorithms selected from the various machine learning algorithms.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination, as taught by Kamaji, in order to improve the algorithm creating process and therefore eliminate the need to create separate algorithms for each component.
Regarding Claim 16: Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination discloses the system of claim 14 (see the rejection for Claim 14).
Krauss does not specifically disclose:
“further comprising: receiving, by the machine learning program, input from a user to assist in the determining”.
Regarding the limitation “further comprising: receiving, by the machine learning program, input from a user to assist in the determining”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the machine learning program to receive the input from a user to assist in the determination, since the user, for example, may define what should be input, such as different thresholds for different parts of the system.
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauss in view of Nitschke in further view of US20150069912A1 to Valcore et al. (hereinafter Valcore).
Regarding Claim 9: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the system of claim 1 (see the rejection for Claim 1).
Krauss/Nitschke combination does not specifically disclose:
“wherein the computing device is a remote server; and wherein: an algorithm for arc definition, detection, and characterization is created at the remote server for a particular type of power supply for a particular application; the system further comprising: a locally deployed component configured to operate the algorithm for event detection created at the remote server for the particular type of power supply for the particular application while the locally deployed component is not connected to the remote server”.
However, Valcore discloses:
“wherein the computing device is a remote server” (para 0200 – “a remote computer (e.g. a server) provides process recipes to the system over a computer network, which includes a local network or the Internet.”);
“wherein: an algorithm for arc definition, detection, and characterization is created at the remote server for a particular type of power supply for a particular application” (para 0028 - “The systems and methods described herein facilitate determination of multiple events (interpreted as algorithm, added by examiner), e.g., an arcing event, an unconfined plasma event, a plasma drop out event, a plasma instability event, etc. The systems and methods that use one or more pre-defined thresholds for detecting a fault or an event are used during processing of a workpiece. The pre-defined thresholds are used to detect a fault, which is classified in one of various categories.… The event is classified based on the fault classification. The detection and classification of the fault and the event facilitates determining whether a plasma process has strayed from its normal operation. Also, the classification of event provides an identification of one or more parts of a plasma system that creates the event”; para 0124 – “In various embodiments, a variable is controlled by controlling an amount of power supplied by an RF generator… The impedance matching network 148 matches an impedance of the load with that of the source to generate a modified RF signal based on the RF signal received from the RF power supply of the x MHz RF generator. The ESC 152 of the plasma chamber 156 receives the modified RF signal from the impedance matching network 148 );
“the system further comprising: a locally deployed component configured to operate the algorithm for event detection created at the remote server for the particular type of power supply for the particular application” (para 0198 – “The program instructions are instructions communicated to the controller in the form of various individual settings (or program files), defining operational parameters for carrying out a process on or for a semiconductor wafer. The operational parameters are, in some embodiments, a part of a recipe defined by process engineers to accomplish one or more processing steps during the fabrication of one or more layers, materials, metals, oxides, silicon, silicon dioxide, surfaces, circuits, and/or dies of a wafer”;
“while the locally deployed component is not connected to the remote server” (para 0199 – “The controller, in some embodiments, is a part of or coupled to a computer that is integrated with, coupled to the system, otherwise networked to the system, or a combination thereof. For example, the controller is in a “cloud” or all or a part of a fab host computer system, which allows for remote access for wafer processing. The controller enables remote access to the system to monitor current progress of fabrication operations, examines a history of past fabrication operations, examines trends or performance metrics from a plurality of fabrication operations, to change parameters of current processing, to set processing steps to follow a current processing, or to start a new process.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss/Nitschke combination, as taught by Valcore, in order to simplify providing the information about events alerts and preventative maintenance alerts and therefore make the plasma chamber apparatus safe and efficient.
Regarding Claim 11: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the method of claim 10 (see the rejection for Claim 10).
Krauss/Nitschke combination does not specifically disclose:
“further comprising: transmitting the data from the power supply to a remote server, wherein the determining is performed at the remote server”.
However, Valcore discloses:
“further comprising: transmitting the data from the power supply to a remote server, wherein the determining is performed at the remote server” (para 0199 – “The controller, in some embodiments, is a part of or coupled to a computer that is integrated with, coupled to the system, otherwise networked to the system, or a combination thereof. For example, the controller is in a “cloud” or all or a part of a fab host computer system, which allows for remote access for wafer processing. The controller enables remote access to the system to monitor current progress of fabrication operations, examines a history of past fabrication operations, examines trends or performance metrics from a plurality of fabrication operations, to change parameters of current processing, to set processing steps to follow a current processing, or to start a new process… The controller… is programmed to control any process disclosed herein, including… power settings”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss/Nitschke/Kamaji combination, as taught by Valcore, in order to simplify providing the information about events alerts and preventative maintenance alerts.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krauss in view of Nitschke in further view of US20100332201A1 to Albarede et al. (hereinafter Albarede).
Regarding Claim 17: Krauss/Nitschke combination discloses the method of claim 10 (see the rejection for Claim 10).
Krauss/Nitschke combination does not specifically disclose:
“further comprising: creating an algorithm for preventative maintenance at a remote server for a particular type of component for a particular application; and: transferring the algorithm to a locally deployable component; locally deploying the locally deployable component, and operating the algorithm for event identification at the remote server for the particular type of component for the particular application while the locally deployable component is not connected to the remote server”.
However, Albarede discloses:
“creating an algorithm for preventative maintenance at a remote server for a particular type of component for a particular application; and: transferring the algorithm to a locally deployable component; locally deploying the locally deployable component, and operating the algorithm for event identification at the remote server for the particular type of component for the particular application while the locally deployable component is not connected to the remote server” (para 0024 – “this invention relates to the prediction of part wear and how such prediction may be employed in preventive maintenance. The particular model (i.e. algorithm, added by examiner) that may be employed in performing said prediction may depend upon the chambers or parts involved. However, it is understood that any model … may be employed and usage of a particular model for a particular chamber, particular part and/or particular recipe is within the scope of one with skills in the ordinary art.”; para 0027 – “construction of a set of robust predictive models … may be based on data collected at various points during a preventive maintenance cycle, also referred to herein as a wet clean cycle. The data may be collected at least at the beginning and at the end of a wet clean cycle in order to eliminate noise within the data set that may be related to the condition of the chamber instead of the actual component itself. In an embodiment of the invention, construction of a set of robust predictive models may also be based on data collected across multiple chambers. Data are collected across chambers in order to also eliminate noise that may be associated with chamber conditions that are unique to a specific chamber instead of the condition of a component.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method, disclosed by Krauss/Nitschke combination, as taught by Albarede, in order to optimize the preventative maintenance and therefore lower the costs of such operation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LYUDMILA ZAYKOVA-FELDMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/LINA CORDERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857