DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the reply with amended claims filed 01/21/2026. The amendment was accompanied by Remarks, the contents of which are addressed in the Response to Arguments section of this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 10, 20 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites "a panel" and refers to "the panel" in line 3. However, based on the amendment to claim 1 (upon which claim 9 depends), claim 9 covers a device with two panels (i.e., "a panel" recited in claim 1 and "a panel" recited in claim 9). It is not clear if these are referring to the same panel, nor is it clear what structure is being referred to by the limitation "the panel" in line 3.
For the purpose of examination, "a panel" in claim 9 will be interpreted to refer to another panel than that which is recited in claim 1, and "the panel" will be interpreted to refer to the panel introduced in claim 9.
Claim 10 recites "wherein, following the unlocking of the cartridge, the spring decompresses, thereby pushing the cartridge"; however, this limitation is not recited as an active method step (each preceding method step is recited actively, i.e., "inserting a cartridge…", "unlocking a cartridge…" and "compressing the spring against the cartridge…"). For this reason, it is unclear whether Applicant intended "unlocking of the cartridge" to be a step of the claimed method or merely optional. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be interpreted functionally, i.e., the cartridge is able to be unlocked, causing the spring to decompress and push the cartridge.
Claim 20 recites "a panel" and refers to "the panel" in line 4. However, based on the amendment to claim 10 (upon which claim 20 depends), claim 20 covers a device with two panels (i.e., "a panel" recited in claim 10 and "a panel" recited in claim 20). It is not clear if these are referring to the same panel, nor is it clear what structure is being referred to by the limitation "the panel" in line 4.
For the purpose of examination, "a panel" in claim 20 will be interpreted to refer to another panel than that which is recited in claim 10, and "the panel" will be interpreted to refer to the panel introduced in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schmidlin et al (U.S. Pub. 20200121848 A1, hereinafter “Schmidlin”).
Regarding claim 1, Schmidlin discloses an apparatus (see Figs. 1-4) for use with a cartridge 200 (see Fig. 3) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge (hook element 64; see Fig. 8), the apparatus comprising:
a rigid piece of material (counterpart hook element in the console; see para [0064]) configured to lock the cartridge in place by resting against the ridge (see para [0064]);
a button (e.g., nut 74 and/or pivoted lock wheel; see para [0071]), configured to move the rigid piece of material from the cartridge, thereby unlocking the cartridge, upon a pushing of the button (see para [0071);
one or more motors (see para [0044]);
a mechanical coupling mechanism that couple the motors to the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place (motor is part of drive means 115 in the console, which then connects to the cartridge once the cartridge has been locked into the console).;
at least one spring 50 (see Fig. 7), configured to:
remain compressed against the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place, and decompress following the unlocking of the cartridge, thereby pushing the cartridge (see Figs. 7-8);
a panel 120C (see Fig. 7); and
at least one rod (septum needle 190) coupled with the panel.
Regarding claim 3, Schmidlin discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the spring is coiled around the rod with a back end of the spring coupled with the panel (see para [0069]), and wherein a front end of the spring is configured to push the cartridge (the opposite end of the spring supports a wall element 85 to apply force in the other direction to the cartridge holder).
Regarding claim 10, Schmidlin discloses a method, comprising:
inserting a cartridge 200 (see Fig. 1) into a base 100 (see Figs. 1-4) including a rigid piece of material (counterpart hook element in the console; see para [0064]) and one or more motors (see para [0044]), thereby causing the rigid piece of material to lock the cartridge in place by resting against the ridge on an outer surface of the cartridge (hook element 64 on outside of cartridge rests against counterpart hook in the console; see Fig. 8), and causing a mechanical coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the motors to the cartridge (see Fig. 8);
unlocking the cartridge by pushing a button (e.g., nut 74 and/or pivoted lock wheel; see para [0071]);
wherein the base includes a spring 50 (see Fig. 7),
wherein the method further comprises compressing the spring against the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place,
wherein, following the unlocking of the cartridge, the spring decompresses, following the unlocking of the cartridge, thereby pushing the cartridge (see Figs. 7-8);
wherein the base further includes a panel 120C (see Fig. 7) and at least one rod (septum needle 190) coupled with the panel.
Regarding claim 12, Schmidlin discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the spring is coiled around the rod with a back end of the spring coupled with the panel (see para [0069]), and wherein a front end of the spring pushes the cartridge (the opposite end of the spring supports a wall element 85 to apply force in the other direction to the cartridge holder).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8-11, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woolford et al (U.S. Pub. 2013/0267894 A1, hereinafter “Woolford”).
Regarding claim 1, Woolford discloses an apparatus for use with a cartridge 618 (see Fig. 19A) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge 620 (see Fig. 19A), the apparatus comprising:
a rigid piece of material 602/610 (see Fig. 19A) configured to lock the cartridge in place by resting against the ridge 620 (see Fig. 19C and para [0137];
a button 370 (see Figs. 19 and 19A), configured to move the rigid piece of material from the cartridge, thereby unlocking the cartridge, upon a pushing of the button (see para [0138]);
one or more motors (pump motors 406, 642; see Figs. 16 and 20); and
a mechanical coupling mechanism (such as a roller wheel 412, 648 of a pump; see Figs. 16 and 22), configured to mechanically couple the motors to the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place (see para [0120], disclosing that motor 406 will rotate the roller wheel 412 to push the surgery washing fluid through the peristaltic tubing 70 of the inflow cassette 20; see also para [0145], disclosing that pump motor 642 will rotate the roller wheel 648 to push the waste fluid through the peristaltic tubing 256 of the outflow cassette 26); at least one spring, configured to remain compressed against the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place, and decompress following the unlocking of the cartridge, thereby pushing the cartridge (see para [0117], disclosing coil springs for assisting in pushing the inflow cassette 20 out of the inflow cassette receptacle assembly 394 when the inflow cassette eject button 370 is depressed);
a panel 596 (see Fig. 18); and
at least one rod 588 (see Fig. 18) coupled with the panel (see para [0132]).
Claim 4 is noted to disclose structural aspects of the cartridge, yet the cartridge is not a positively recited feature of the invention (i.e., the invention is an apparatus “for use with a cartridge” but no cartridge is positively recited), and so these features are not required to be found in the prior art.
Claim 5 is noted to disclose structural aspects of the cartridge, yet the cartridge is not a positively recited feature of the invention (i.e., the invention is an apparatus “for use with a cartridge” but no cartridge is positively recited), and so these features are not required to be found in the prior art. Even so, Woolford discloses that its cartridge has its outer surface as a top surface of the cartridge (the “top” of the cartridge is dependent on the frame of reference), and wherein the rigid piece of material is configured to lock the cartridge in place by hanging over the cartridge such that a bottom of the rigid piece of material rests against the ridge (see Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 6, Woolford discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a hinge 580 (see Fig. 19A) coupled with the button and with the rigid piece of material, wherein the button is configured to move the rigid piece of material by rotating the hinge (as shown in Figs. 19A-19C).
Regarding claim 8, Woolford discloses that the button is configured to move along a first axis (line 628; see Fig. 19B), wherein a position of the rigid piece of material along the first axis is fixed (the rigid piece of material can only rotate along arrow 626, but cannot move along line 628), and wherein the button is configured to rotate the hinge, thereby moving the rigid piece of material along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis (the rigid piece of material is moved upward), by virtue of the position of the rigid piece of material along the first axis being fixed (see Fig. 19A-19C).
Regarding claim 9, Woolford discloses the apparatus according to claim 8, further comprising:
a panel 546 (see Fig. 19) having a location along the first axis that is fixed; and
at least one anchoring element 562 (see Fig. 19) coupled with the panel and shaped to define a groove parallel to the second axis (the groove extends both along the axis longitudinally, and parallel to the second axis laterally), wherein the position of the rigid piece of material along the first axis is fixed by virtue of the rigid piece of material being slidably disposed within the groove (the groove is a slot 562 for holding the rigid piece of material in place).
Regarding claim 10, Woolford discloses a method, comprising:
inserting a cartridge 618 into a base including a rigid piece of material 602/610 and one or more motors 406, 642, thereby causing the rigid piece of material to lock the cartridge in place by resting against a ridge 620 on an outer surface of the cartridge, and
causing a mechanical coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the motors to the cartridge see para [0120], disclosing that motor 406 will rotate the roller wheel 412 to push the surgery washing fluid through the peristaltic tubing 70 of the inflow cassette 20; see also para [0145], disclosing that pump motor 642 will rotate the roller wheel 648 to push the waste fluid through the peristaltic tubing 256 of the outflow cassette 26); and
unlocking the cartridge by pushing a button 370 so as to move the rigid piece of material from the cartridge (see para [0138], disclosing that the inflow cassette eject button 370 is depressed to cause movement of ejection button mechanism 570 and lock lever 580);
wherein the base includes a spring, wherein the method further comprises compressing the spring against the cartridge while inserting the cartridge, and wherein, following the unlocking of the cartridge, the spring decompresses, thereby pushing the cartridge (see para [0117], disclosing coil springs for assisting in pushing the inflow cassette 20 out of the inflow cassette receptacle assembly 394 when the inflow cassette eject button 370 is depressed);
wherein the base further includes a panel 596 (see Fig. 18); and
at least one rod 588 (see Fig. 18) coupled with the panel (see para [0132]).
Regarding claim 16, Woolford discloses that the outer surface is a top surface of the cartridge ( the “top” of the cartridge is dependent on the frame of reference), and wherein the rigid piece of material locks the cartridge in place by hanging over the cartridge such that a bottom of the rigid piece of material rests against the ridge, and wherein the rigid piece of material is configured to lock the cartridge in place by hanging over the cartridge such that a bottom of the rigid piece of material rests against the ridge (see Fig. 19).
Regarding claim 17, Woolford discloses that the base includes a hinge 580 (see Fig. 19A) coupled with the button and with the rigid piece of material, wherein the button is pushed to move the rigid piece of material by rotating the hinge (as shown in Figs. 19A-19C).
Regarding claim 19, Woolford discloses that pushing the button comprises pushing along a first axis (line 628; see Fig. 19B), wherein a position of the rigid piece of material along the first axis is fixed (the rigid piece of material can only rotate along arrow 626, but cannot move along line 628), and wherein pushing the button is configured to rotate the hinge, thereby moving the rigid piece of material along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis (the rigid piece of material is moved upward), by virtue of the position of the rigid piece of material along the first axis being fixed (see Fig. 19A-19C).
Regarding claim 20, Woolford discloses the method according to claim 19, wherein the base further includes: a panel 546 (see Fig. 19) having a location along the first axis that is fixed, and at least one anchoring element 562 (see Fig. 19) coupled with the panel and shaped to define a groove parallel to the second axis (the groove extends both along the axis longitudinally, and parallel to the second axis laterally), and wherein the position of the rigid piece of material along the first axis is fixed by virtue of the rigid piece of material being slidably disposed within the groove (the groove is a slot 562 for holding the rigid piece of material in place).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lamadrid et al (U.S. Pat. 4,256,442, hereinafter “Lamadrid”) in view of Woolford.
Regarding claim 1, Lamadrid discloses an apparatus for use with a cartridge (combination of 110 and 120; see Figs. 3-4) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge (outer surface of tubing 28; see Fig. 1), the apparatus comprising:
a rigid piece of material 42 (see Fig. 1) configured to lock the cartridge in place by resting against the ridge (see Fig. 2);
a button 56/58 (see Fig. 1), configured to move the rigid piece of material from the cartridge, thereby unlocking the cartridge (see unlocked state in Fig. 1) upon a pushing of the button (the button is pushed upwards to unlock the cartridge);
one or more motors (pump motors 16; see Fig. 2); and
a mechanical coupling mechanism (such as a roller cage 22; see Fig. 2), configured to mechanically couple the motors to the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place (see Fig. 2; the motor will rotate the roller cage 22 to push fluid through the tubing 28);
a panel (exterior base member 12); and
at least one rod 24 (see Fig. 2) coupled with the panel (i.e., the rod 24 secures parts 12, 18 and 22 together).
It is noted that Lamadrid does not appear to disclose least one spring, configured to remain compressed against the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place, and decompress following the unlocking of the cartridge, thereby pushing the cartridge.
Woolford discloses an apparatus for use with a cartridge 618 (see Fig. 19A) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge 620 (see Fig. 19A), the apparatus comprising coil springs for assisting in pushing an inflow cassette 20 out of an inflow cassette receptacle assembly 394 when an inflow cassette eject button 370 is depressed; see para [0117]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Lamadrid, according to the teaching in Woolford, in order to assist in removal of the cassette upon an ejection step, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Lamadrid discloses the apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a hinge (assembly of pin 66, a pair of links 64, and trunnion 68; see Fig. 1) coupled with the button and with the rigid piece of material (see Fig. 1), wherein the button is configured to move the rigid piece of material by rotating the hinge (as shown in Figs. 1-3, particularly Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Lamadrid discloses the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the hinge comprises: a first pin 66 (see Fig. 1), which is coupled with the button; a second pin 68 (see Fig. 1), which is coupled with the rigid piece of material (see Fig. 1); and two swiveling elements 64 (see Fig. 1), each of which comprises one end rotatably coupled with the first pin and a second end rotatably coupled with the second pin (see Fig. 1), and wherein the button is configured to move the rigid piece of material by swiveling the swiveling elements (as shown in Figs. 1-3, particularly Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Lamadrid discloses a method, comprising:
inserting a cartridge (including tubing 28; see Fig. 1) into a base including a rigid piece of material 42 (see Fig. 1) and one or more motors (pump motors 16; see Fig. 2), thereby causing the rigid piece of material to lock the cartridge in place by resting against the ridge on an outer surface of the cartridge (see Fig. 2), and causing a mechanical coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the motors to the cartridge (see Fig. 2; the motor will rotate the roller cage 22 to push fluid through the tubing 28);
unlocking the cartridge (see unlocked state in Fig. 1) upon a pushing of the button (the button is pushed upwards to unlock the cartridge; see also “unloading procedures” mentioned throughout the reference);
wherein the base further includes a panel (exterior base member 12); and
at least one rod 24 (see Fig. 2) coupled with the panel (i.e., the rod 24 secures parts 12, 18 and 22 together).
It is noted that Lamadrid does not appear to disclose that the base includes least one spring, and the method further comprises compressing the spring against the cartridge while inserting the cartridge, wherein following the unlocking of the cartridge, the spring decompresses to push the cartridge.
Woolford discloses an apparatus for use with a cartridge 618 (see Fig. 19A) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge 620 (see Fig. 19A), the apparatus comprising coil springs for assisting in pushing an inflow cassette 20 out of an inflow cassette receptacle assembly 394 when an inflow cassette eject button 370 is depressed; see para [0117]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the method of Lamadrid, according to the teaching in Woolford, in order to assist in removal of the cassette upon an ejection step, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, Lamadrid discloses the method according to claim 10, where the base includes a hinge (assembly of pin 66, a pair of links 64, and trunnion 68; see Fig. 1) coupled with the button and with the rigid piece of material (see Fig. 1), wherein pushing the button moves the rigid piece of material from the cartridge by rotating the hinge (as shown in Figs. 1-3, particularly Fig. 3; the button can be moved down for the rigid piece of material to contact the cartridge and can be moved back up to remove the rigid piece of material from contact with the cartridge).
Regarding claim 18, Lamadrid discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the hinge includes: a first pin 66 (see Fig. 1), which is coupled with the button; a second pin 68 (see Fig. 1), which is coupled with the rigid piece of material (see Fig. 1); and two swiveling elements 64 (see Fig. 1), each of which comprises one end rotatably coupled with the first pin and a second end rotatably coupled with the second pin (see Fig. 1), and wherein the pushing of the button moves the rigid piece of material by swiveling the swiveling elements (as shown in Figs. 1-3, particularly Fig. 3).
Claims 1, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayman et al (U.S. Pat. 11,622,914 B2, hereinafter “Hayman”) in view of Woolford.
Regarding claim 1, Hayman discloses an apparatus for use with a cartridge 200 (see Fig. 3) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge 262 (see Fig. 8A), the apparatus comprising:
a rigid piece of material (material forming cooperating cavity 142 inside base 100; see Fig. 8A) configured to lock the cartridge in place by resting against the ridge (see Fig. 8A);
a button 260 (see Fig. 8A), configured to move the rigid piece of material from the cartridge, thereby unlocking the cartridge, upon a pushing of the button (the button is pushed downward, causing the ridge 262 on the cartridge to become unlatched from the base; see Fig. 4 and 4A showing the movement from the locked to the unlocked state);
one or more motors (see col. 20, lines 47-49), and a mechanical coupling mechanism (such as male and female connectors, as disclosed in col. 20, lines 40-55 and shown in Fig. 10A) that couple the motors to the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place;
a panel 820 (see Fig. 32A); and
at least one rod 824 (see Fig. 32A) coupled to the panel.
It is noted that Hayman does not appear to disclose least one spring, configured to remain compressed against the cartridge while the cartridge is locked in place, and decompress following the unlocking of the cartridge, thereby pushing the cartridge.
Woolford discloses an apparatus for use with a cartridge 618 (see Fig. 19A) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge 620 (see Fig. 19A), the apparatus comprising coil springs for assisting in pushing an inflow cassette 20 out of an inflow cassette receptacle assembly 394 when an inflow cassette eject button 370 is depressed; see para [0117]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the invention of Hayman, according to the teaching in Woolford, in order to assist in removal of the cassette upon an ejection step, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Hayman discloses a method, comprising:
inserting a cartridge 200 (see Fig. 3) into a base 100 (see Fig. 3 and Figs. 1-3 showing the base 100 without a cartridge and then the cartridge inserted into the base) including a rigid piece of material (material forming cooperating cavity 142 inside base 100; see Fig. 8A) and one or more motors (see col. 20, lines 47-49), thereby causing the rigid piece of material to lock the cartridge in place by resting against the ridge 262 (see Fig. 8A) on an outer surface of the cartridge, and causing a mechanical coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the motors to the cartridge (see Fig. 8-8A showing the assembled state of the cartridge to the base, where the motors have male connectors that engage with female connectors in the cartridge to cause pumping; see also Fig. 10A and col. 20, lines 40-55);
unlocking the cartridge upon a pushing of the button (the button is pushed downward, causing the ridge 262 on the cartridge to become unlatched from the base; see Fig. 4 and 4A showing the movement from the locked to the unlocked state);
and the base comprises a panel 820 (see Fig. 32A); and
at least one rod 824 (see Fig. 32A) coupled to the panel.
It is noted that Lamadrid does not appear to disclose that the base includes least one spring, and the method further comprises compressing the spring against the cartridge while inserting the cartridge, wherein following the unlocking of the cartridge, the spring decompresses to push the cartridge.
Woolford discloses an apparatus for use with a cartridge 618 (see Fig. 19A) having an outer surface shaped to define a ridge 620 (see Fig. 19A), the apparatus comprising coil springs for assisting in pushing an inflow cassette 20 out of an inflow cassette receptacle assembly 394 when an inflow cassette eject button 370 is depressed; see para [0117]).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the method of Lamadrid, according to the teaching in Woolford, in order to assist in removal of the cassette upon an ejection step, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 13, Hayman discloses method according to claim 10, wherein the cartridge is shaped to define one or more stators 282 (see Fig. 9A) and includes one or more rotors 280), and wherein the method includes, by inserting the cartridge into the base, mechanically coupling the motors to the rotors, respectively (see col. 20, lines 40-55).
Regarding claim 14, Hayman discloses the method according to claim 13, further comprising, subsequently to inserting the cartridge into the base, activating the motors to rotate the rotors, thereby pumping fluid through the stators (the female connection elements corresponding with the pump rotate the male connection elements 280 of a dispensing mechanism, causing the pumping of drugs; the drugs may be in a liquid core form; see col. 20, lines 40-55 and col. 2, lines 49-52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/21/2026 have been fully considered.
New grounds of rejection have been applied to the claims as necessitated by the amendments to claims 1 and 10.
Further, Applicant argued that Schmidlin does not disclose all the limitations of claim 1, alleging that "that the claimed rod coupled with a panel that the spring is also coupled with is not disclosed or suggested." (See Remarks, pg. 9). However, the claims do not require a rod coupled with a panel that is also coupled to a spring. The claims do not recite any structural relationship between the spring and the panel, much less that the spring and the panel are coupled.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 04/06/2026