DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks, Amendments
Applicant is thanked for their January 5, 2026, response to the May 5, 2025 Office Action. Specifically, Applicant is thanked for their amendments to claims 48 and 52 to address the claim objections.
Moreover, the examiner notes that it appears claims 21 – 28, 30, and 37 – 47 have been cancelled. However, their current status is identified as withdrawn, which is not proper per 37 CFR 1.121 in MPEP 714. In Applicant’s next reply, the status of claims 21 – 28,30 and 37 – 47 should be changed to “cancelled”.
The claims currently under examination include claims 1 – 20, 29, 31 - 36, and 48 – 52.
In response to the rejection of claim 49 under 35 USC §112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement, Applicant remarked that (inter alia) – they have “amended (the) claim by removing the other limitations regarding the controller's specific configuration to respond to signals from the airflow sensor.”
The examiner thanks Applicant for the amendment, and the rejection has been withdrawn.
In response to the October 21, 2025 Advisory action, Regarding the 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 32/36, Applicant remarked (inter alia) that “the examiner concludes, without explanation, that Yun Ilsig's guide mechanism 30 satisfies the Claim 32 limitation to a light fixture trim element that is shaped to receive an elevator lighting fixture. But Yun Ilsig does not characterize it as such, and the rejection does not provide an argument for why a person of ordinary skill in the art would reach this conclusion in the absence of teaching from the cited prior art. Without some explicit association with, or connection-to Yun Ilsig's unlabeled lighting fixtures, it's difficult to see how it would be characterized as a "lighting fixture trim element," as claimed. For the same reason, it is difficult to see how Yun Ilsig's guide element can be construed as being shaped to "receive an elevator lighting fixture," when it is not disclosed as interfacing with lighting fixtures.”
The examiner respectfully notes that, as only claim 36 discloses “light fixture trim elements”, a response will be directed accordingly, and the teachings of Yun Ilsig. Please refer to paragraphs 94 – 97 of the May 5, 2025 Final Office Action for the alleged missing argument for why a person of ordinary skill in the art would reach this conclusion, and paragraphs 8 – 12 of the October 21, 2025 advisory action.
The examiner notes that Applicant’s airflow path comprises air supplied from a blower 22 via a manifold tube 106, into an enclosed plenum 23 (assumed, as not disclosed in the specification), and into an elevator car via light fixture trim 108 apertures 112. While Yun Ilsig lacks a supply air plenum comprising a recessed can light fixture, as disclosed in figure 13, Yun Ilsig indeed discloses an airflow path comprising air supplied from a blower (10), via a tube (20), into a ceiling plenum, and into an elevator car via light fixture trim (louvers (32)), and the rejection has been maintained.
However, as the technique of supplying through a light fixture is well known in the ventilation arts, and in the interest of compact prosecution, an alternate rejection of claim 36 will be provided, below.
In response to the rejection of 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claim 51 and 53 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907), in view of Cho et al (KR 20180087514), Applicant remarked that (inter alia): they have “amended Claim 51 to clarify that the controller is configured to activate at least one ultraviolet source of the plurality of ultraviolet sources in addition to a previously-activated and still active ultraviolet source of the plurality of ultraviolet sources in response to a signal corresponding to an increase in airflow through the system. Cho/Yuan neither discloses nor suggests this. Please note, also, that Cho teaches an increase of voltage to a single ultraviolet source rather than activation of different numbers of sources in response to an airflow increase.
The examiner respectfully agrees that, as the ultraviolet sources disclosed in Cho et al are disclosed as being “UV-LED capable”, that “current is increased (100mA[Wingdings font/0xE8] 300mA)” in response to a signal corresponding to an increase in airflow through the system, Cho et al’s controls function analog to a dimmer, not binary (on/off).
In response to the rejection of 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claim 51 and 53 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907), in view of Cho et al (KR 20180087514), Applicant remarked that (inter alia): they “would appreciate having an explanation as to the relevance of (and support for) the examiner's citation of a "factory startup" as prior art (advisory action Page 6). If the present amendments to Claim 51 do not resolve this issue, then the applicant requests that the examiner elaborate and provide a prior art example of a factory startup process that would satisfy the limitations of Claim 51 (as amended).”
The examiner notes that the detailed October 21, 2025 PTOL-303 was not provided in lieu of the May 5, 2025 Final Office Action, but to provide clarification. The examiner’s remark was provided to illustrate that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would recognize that ultraviolet light sources apparatus, particularly in the field of Applicant’s endeavor, are minimally activated during factory testing, and are activated after installation. Accordingly, the limitation “previously inactive” is ambiguous, without disclosing a time period.
Although this limitation was removed from claim 51, but in order to provide the requested elaboration, Claim 51 previously2 disclosed that “the controller is configured to activate previously inactive ultraviolet sources of the plurality of ultraviolet sources.” Accordingly if, during a continuous operational period, the controller receives inputs to increase a germicidal output of the system, and then a subsequent input to decrease the germicidal output, a “previously inactive ultraviolet source” no longer exists during that continuous operational period.
Lastly, Applicant’s remark was directed to claims 51 and 53, but a claim 53 has not been included with the claims filed January 5, 2026.
It is respectfully noted that a response to:
the 35 USC §102(a)(2) rejections of claims 1, 3, 4, 13, 19, 29, and 31 as being anticipated by Yuan (CN111166907),
the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 2 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN111166907) in view of Asano et al (US 2020/0268927);
the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 5 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN111166907) in view of Wetzel (US 5,225,167);
the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 6 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN111166907) in view of Zhuang et al (WO 2017 128548);
the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 7 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN111166907) in view of Hu et al (CN 105363557);
the 35 USC §103 rejection of claim 8 and 9 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN111166907) in view of Hu et al (CN 105363557), and further in view of Jeon et al (US 2017/0120181);
the 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 10 – 12, 14 – 16, and 20 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN111166907) in view of Matlin et al (CN 106415139); and
the 35 USC §103 rejection of claims 17 and 18 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN111166907) in view of Matlin et al (CN 106415139), and further in view of Bourne et al (US 2010/0003164):
The examiner respectfully notes that that Applicant did not point out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions, or explain how the claims are distinguished from prior art, and so no response is necessary by the examiner.
Claim Objections
In re Claims 1 – 20, 29, 31 – 36, and 48 – 52: it is respectfully noted that the recitation of the claimed systems varies between “the elevator ventilation system”3 and “the ventilation system” 4.Applicant is requested to amend claims 3, 10 – 18, and 48 – 52 to provide clear antecedence throughout the claims.**
In re Claim 33, in light of the antecedence for “a blower” in claim 1, the limitation “multiple blowers” is unclear. For purposes of examination, the limitation “multiple blowers” has been understood as if to disclose, “in which the blower of the ventilation system comprises multiple blowers”.
In re Claim 34, in light of the antecedence for “a ceiling” in claim 32, the limitation “a drop ceiling” is unclear. For purposes of examination, Claim 34 has been understood as if to disclose, “located in the [[a drop]] ceiling”.
**Claims 4 – 18, 48 – 52 are objected, as being dependent from objected claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 13, 19, 29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan (CN 111166907).
In re Claim 1, Yuan discloses an elevator ventilation system (figs 1, 2) comprising:
an illumination chamber (fig 2: (2)) positioned in fluid communication with an interior of an elevator car;
(“input end” is in fluid communication with an elevator air system (pg 4 / 115);
an ultraviolet source (3) positioned to illuminate (radiate) air flowing through the illumination chamber;
an air filter (10) positioned (“at the input end”) to filter the air flowing through the illumination chamber (pg 4 / 11);
a blower ((6) axial fan) disposed in fluid communication with the illumination chamber (2), and configured to move the air through the illumination chamber and through the air filter; and
(“The axial flow fan 6 is directed to the elevator car 1 to cycle and disinfect again” pg 4 / 11.)
the ultraviolet source (3) being blocked from view from positions outside the illumination chamber (2).
Please note that “positions outside” could be any of the exterior six sides of the cuboid structure, and the claim does not recite that the UV source need be in operation.
In re Claim 3, Yuan discloses additionally comprising a controller ((9) intelligent circuit system) connected to and configured to receive inputs from sensors and user controls, and to send signals conveying commands and/or information in response to the inputs (pg 4 / 11).
“The work of the intelligent circuit system 9 is controlled by the intelligent programming human body induction to control the start and stop of the ultraviolet disinfection lamp. This device is used when there are people in the elevator car 1 the work will be suspended, and the device will automatically start when there is no passenger in the elevator car 1, and the disinfection mode can also be started to perform a comprehensive disinfection of the elevator”.
In re Claim 4, Yuan discloses:
a germicidal assembly (fig 2) in which the air filter (10) and blower (6) are carried by the illumination chamber (2); and
the air filter (10) is carried by the germicidal assembly via a removable filter module shaped to carry a filter (apparent), the filter module being positioned so that the filter blocks the ultraviolet source from view on at least one side of the germicidal assembly6 (as is seen in figure 2).
In re Claim 13, Yuan discloses wherein the controller (9) is configured to set a blower speed (on/off) in response to an elevator occupation sensor connected to the controller and configured to detect the presence/absence of passengers within an elevator car of an elevator system (pg 4 / 11).
In re Claim 19, Yuan discloses an ion generator (fig 2: (5)) connected in fluid communication with the blower (6).
In re Claim 29, Yuan discloses wherein the germicidal assembly (fig 2) is connected in fluid communication with an interior of an elevator car (1) and configured to recirculate and filter elevator system air within the elevator car (pg 3 / 11).
In re Claim 31, Yuan discloses wherein the blower (6) is configured to move air in a generally vertical direction through an interior of an elevator car, carrying the exhalations of any elevator passenger in a direction either generally upward or downward (as seen in fig 1), and away from the faces of other passengers.
Claims 1 and 32 – 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) i s being anticipated by Chen et al (CN 107458951).
In re Claim 1, Chen et al discloses an elevator ventilation system (fig 2) comprising:
an illumination chamber (fig 2: (24)) positioned in fluid communication with elevator system air, the elevator system air comprising an air mass present within at least part of an elevator system, the elevator system including an elevator hoistway and an interior of an elevator car (1) suspended in the hoistway (as seen in fig 1);
an ultraviolet source (244) positioned to illuminate the elevator system air flowing through the illumination chamber;
an air filter (241, 242, 243)positioned to filter the elevator system air flowing through the illumination chamber;
a blower (fig 2: (2, 3)) disposed in fluid communication (via (21)) with the illumination chamber (24), and configured to move the elevator system air through the illumination chamber (24) and through the air filter (241[Wingdings font/0xE8]243);
the ventilation system comprising an air outlet array (fig 2; the plurality of outlets (47) have been understood to comprise an array) comprising outlets located in a ceiling (4) an/or a canopy of the elevator, and connected in fluid communication with the blower (2, 3) and with the elevator interior7;
the blower of the ventilation system comprises multiple blowers (2, 3) distributed amongst and (fluidly) connected adjacent outlets (47) of the outlet array8;
the outlets are located in the [[a drop]] ceiling below a canopy (annotated, above) of the elevator car of the elevator system9; and
the ultraviolet source being blocked from view from positions outside of the illumination chamber (24) (apparent, as the ultraviolet source is enclosed within the illumination chamber (24)).
In re Claims 32 – 34, Chen et al discloses:
wherein the ventilation system comprises an air outlet array (fig 2; the plurality of outlets (47) have been understood to comprise an array) comprising outlets located in a ceiling (4) an/or a canopy of the elevator, and connected in fluid communication with the blower (2, 3) and with the elevator interior10;
the blower of the ventilation system comprises multiple blowers (2, 3) distributed amongst and (fluidly) connected to adjacent outlets (47) of the outlet array11; and
the outlets are located in the [[a drop]] ceiling below a canopy (annotated, above) of the elevator car of the elevator system12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907) in view of Asano et al (US 2020/0268927).
In re Claim 2, the system of Yuan has been discussed, wherein light from the ultraviolet source (3) is at least partially blocked from view by the air filter (10).
As the UV source is downstream filter (10), it is apparent that light from the UV source (3) is at least partially blocked from view by the filter (10)
However, Yuan lacks wherein the air filter comprises a substance that is photochemically reactive to ultraviolet light.
Asano et al teaches an air cleaning apparatus (fig 1) [0083], the apparatus comprising:
a casing (10), an inlet filter (21), a fan (30), a shielding member (40), photocatalyst supporting filter (51), a collection filter (52), a first ultraviolet light emitter source (60A), and an outlet filter (22); wherein
light from the ultraviolet source (60A) is at least partially blocked from view by the photocatalyst and collection air filter (51, 52), and the air filter comprises a substance (titanium oxide) that is photochemically-reactive to ultraviolet light [0016 – 0025. 0038].
The examiner takes official notice that a photochemical reaction causes a photocatalytic effect. Please refer to the section of the office action in the Conclusion (below) for a brief discussion of prior art made of record, not relied upon and yet is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yuan, as taught by Asano et al, such that the air filters comprise a substance that is photochemically-reactive to ultraviolet light, for the benefit of inactivating bacteria and viruses collected on the filters [0004] for the health of the space occupants.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907) in view of Wetzel (US 5,225,167).
In re Claim 5, the system of Yuan has been discussed, wherein the blower (6) comprises axial fan wheel carried by the illumination chamber in an orientation where the axial fan blocks the ultraviolet source (3) from external view (as seen in fig 2).
Yuan lack wherein the blower comprises a squirrel cage- type blower wheel. However, the use of a squirrel-cage blower is well known in the mechanical arts, as being one of three commonly used for moving air (centrifugal (squirrel-cage), axial, and cross flow)
Wetzel teaches a room ventilation system, comprising
a prefilter (18), a pair of fans (20), ultraviolet sterilizer lamp (25), a HEPA filter (23), and
a protective screen (24) that obstructs the line of sight transmission of any of the ultraviolet radiation which might pass through the filter; wherein
the fans are centrifugal fans (col 3, lns 17 – 20)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yuen, as taught by Wetzel, such that the blower is a squirrel-cage (centrifugal) blower, for the benefit of a system that has a “low noise” operation (col 3, ln 18) and improved user comfort.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907) in view of Zhuang et al (WO 2017 128548).
In re Claim 6, the system of Yuan has been discussed (see above In re Claims 3, 4) comprising a control module (fig 2: (9) intelligent circuit system) removably carried by the germicidal assembly and supporting the controller (9), a plurality of electrical connections between the controller and other germicidal assembly components being “connectors”.
“The ultraviolet lamp tube 3, the high-efficiency electric ion generator 5, the axial flow fan 6, the human body induction device 7 and the ultraviolet germicidal lamp 8 are connected to the intelligent circuit system 9 at the input end electrical appliances.”
However, Yuan is silent as to whether the assembly connectors comprise readily-detachable connectors.
Zhuang et al teaches a ventilation system (figs 4 – 6) for purifying air (fig 1: (810), fig 2: (820), fig 3: (810, 820), comprising:
an ion generator (300), and a dust collection member (110, 120);
an electrical connection (400), a power supply terminal (500); wherein
the terminal (500) is convenient for wiring, which realizes quick connection and disconnection with the power supply and is convenient to use.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yuan, as taught by Zhuang et al, such that the electrical connectors comprise readily-detachable connectors, for the benefit of simplifying system maintenance and reducing operational “down time”, improving user satisfaction.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907), in view of Hu et al (CN 105363557).
In re Claim 7, the proposed system has been discussed above (In re Claim 4, Claim 1), but lacks wherein the system includes a cutoff sensor connected to the controller (9) and configured to send a signal to the controller when some portion of the germicidal assembly is opened or removed, and the controller is configured to turn off the ultraviolet source (3) in response to the signal from the cutoff sensor.
Hu et al teaches a ventilation air purification system (figs 1 - 6) comprising:
a housing (fig 7: front shell (16) with rear cover (18));
an air inlet (20) and an air outlet (19);
an electrostatic dust collecting module (9), a high-voltage power supply microswitch (23), and a discharge plate (27);
a non-collecting dust electrode-plate (17/14);
a fan assembly (21), and
an ion emission head (22), wherein
when the back cover is removed (figs 10, 11, 14, 16), the negative high voltage contacts the dust-collecting plate module (9) and the non-collection dust plate (14) is connected with a discharge, so as to prevent the user from receiving an electrical shock from a residual charge (pg 14/19, Claim 9); and
“when the back cover is opened the electrostatic dust collection module disconnects (cuts off) a high-voltage power supply, and the dust collecting electrode plate module and discharge module connects non-collection dust plate, avoiding the occurrence of electric shock accidents of users, safe and reliable, safety protection device is simple and practical, easy to implement, cost is low” (pg 12/19).
Please note that Hu et al teaches a cutoff sensor (safety switch (23)) connected to a controller and configured to send an electrical signal when some portion of the assembly is opened, and to turn off a portion of the system in response to that signal.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yuan, as taught by Hu et al, such that the system comprises a cutoff sensor (switch) connected to the controller and configured to send a signal to the controller when some portion of the germicidal assembly is opened or removed, and the controller is configured to turn off dangerous system elements in response to the signal from the cutoff sensor, for the benefit of improved used safety.
The proposed combination would yield wherein the cutoff sensor (switch) is connected to the controller and configured to send a signal to the controller when some portion of the germicidal assembly is opened or removed, and the controller is configured to turn off the ultraviolet source in response to the signal from the cutoff sensor.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907), in view of Hu et al (CN 105363557), and further in view of Jeon et al (US 2017/0120181).
In re Claims 8 and 9, the proposed system has been discussed, in which the controller is configured to turn off the ultraviolet light in response to the signal from the cutoff sensor. Although Hu et al teaches that when rear cover (18) is opened, the controller is configured to turn off the dust collecting plate module (9), Hu et al is silent as to whether
the controller is configured to also turn off the blower, or
the cutoff sensor is configured to send a cutoff signal to the controller when the filter module is removed
However, it is well known in the mechanical arts to provide:
a cutoff sensor that turns off a blower, and
a cutoff sensor positioned to send a cutoff signal to the controller when the filter module is removed:
provided as evidence is Jeon et al.
Jeon et al teaches a ventilation air purification system (100) comprising:
a fan unit (150) [0112 - 0113];
a mesh filter (300), an electric dust collector (500) with a power cutoff switch (145) [0250], a photocatalyst filter (350); and
a power distribution module (fig 53: (701) and a safety system (figs 24 – 27) [0216 – 0243]; wherein
the power circuit of the cutoff switch (145) is opened (disabling the fan unit) when the electric dust collector is withdrawn from the filter housing [0375].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed system as taught by Jeon et al, such that:
the controller is configured to turn off the blower, and
the cutoff sensor being positioned to send a cutoff signal to the controller when the filter module is removed
for the benefit greatly reducing the possibility of an electric shock when not in use.
Claims 10 – 12, 14 – 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907), in view of Matlin et al (CN 106415139).
In re Claims 10, 11 and 12, the system of Yuan has been discussed, including a “human body” sensing device (7) connected to the controller (smart circuit system (9)) configured to occupancy signals to the controller.
However, Yuan is silent as to whether the system includes an air sensor connected to the controller and configured to send air data signals to the controller, and lacks:
wherein the controller is configured to send a filter status signal to a display indicating a condition of a filter in response to a signal from the air sensor that is symptomatic of the filter condition; and
wherein the controller is configured to set a blower speed in response to a signal received from the air sensor.
Matlin et al teaches a ventilation air purification system (figs 1 – 11: (110)) comprising:
an air inlet (122), a filter system (118A - E), a blower(120), and an air outlet (124;
a controller (106), a sensing device (108), and a communication device (114) (fig 2));
wherein an air sensing device (108) (pg 17, 30 / 35) is connected to the controller (106) and configured to send air data signals to the controller;
the controller (106) is configured to send a filter status signal to a display indicating a condition of a filter in response to a signal from the air sensor that is symptomatic of the filter condition (pg 24, 27 / 35); and
the controller is configured to set a blower speed in response to a signal received from the air sensor (pg 19, 23 / 35).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Juan, as taught by Matlin et al, such that the sensing system comprises:
an air sensor connected to the controller and configured to send air data signals to the controller;
wherein the controller is configured to send a filter status signal to a display indicating a condition of a filter in response to a signal from the air sensor that is symptomatic of the filter condition, and
the controller is configured to set a blower speed in response to a signal received from the air sensor
for the benefit of simplifying proactive maintenance and preventing unnecessary blower motor operation, thereby extending the expected service life of the system.
In re Claims 14 – 16, the system of Yuan has been discussed, but lacks wherein:
the controller is configured to set a blower speed in response to signals received from a timer;
the controller is configured to set a blower speed in response to an operator input; and
an ultraviolet source status sensor connected to the controller and configured to detect whether the ultraviolet source has failed, and to transmit a corresponding signal to the controller.
Matlin et al teaches wherein a controller is configured to:
set a blower speed in response to signals received from a timer (pg 23 / 25);
" Sensing device 108 can be configured to transmit an ultrasonic pulse (human audible sound wave frequencies above) and measuring reflection of the mobile object. One or more conditions may include, for example, a predetermined region 112 in the movement of light (visible or not can be seen), radiation, temperature, acceleration or other types of waves (e.g., radio frequency (RF) signal or sound wave), movement sensing device, and a sound sensing device, an optical sensing device, the IR beam sensing device and/or any other sensing device allows the air purifier 104 by detecting any given time (using a timer) around the air cleaner to monitor the noise output level, the power output level, the required CFM level."
set a blower speed (fig 10) in response to an operator input (pg 22/35, and 28/35); and
“The controller can be configured to receive the operation setting, for the implementation of the quiet operation by the air purifier, the normal operation or plasma in the operation of a. It can be predetermined that the operation setting is set, and can be used by a user to one or more control or a button to provide.”
including an ultraviolet source status sensor connected to the controller and configured to detect whether the ultraviolet source has failed, and to transmit a corresponding signal to the controller. (pg 24/35, 27/35)
“The air purifier is configured to determine the filter member and/or air cleaning member of actual utilization rate, in order to lengthen the filtering element and/or the service life of the air cleaning member (and/or replacement).”
“Air purifier 104 can include (by flashing or otherwise) a user of the air purifier in need of maintenance or repair of the service lamp 1002 (as shown in Figure 10”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed system as taught by Matlin et al, such that:
the controller is configured to set a blower speed in response to signals received from a timer, or in response to an operator input; and
an ultraviolet source status sensor connected to the controller and configured to detect whether the ultraviolet source has failed, and to transmit a corresponding signal to the controller,
for the benefit of system controls that can be varied to achieve a desired noise level and a desired performance level, and to facilitate maintenance requirement notification.
In re Claim 20, the proposed system has been discussed above (In re Claim 1), but lacks including an ozone generator connected in fluid communication with the blower (6). However, including an ozone generator in a ventilation system is well known; provided as evidence is Matlin et al.
Matlin et al teaches an air purification system (104) wherein a filter system (118A - E) comprises an ozone generator (pg 27/35) connected in fluid communication with a blower.
“Air purifier 104 can have any type of filter medium and/or purifying technology, such as a thermal power disinfection technology, the ultraviolet sterilization radiation technology, HEPA filter, ultraviolet light catalytic oxidation technology, static technology, the activated carbon filter, the photocatalytic oxidation technology, titanium dioxide technology, Ionization purification technology, and ozone generator technology”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed system as taught by Matlin et al, such that an ozone generator connected in fluid communication with the blower, for the benefit of receiving additional purification technology within the same system.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907), in view of Matlin et al (CN 106415139), and further in view of Bourne et al (US 2010/0003164).
In re Claims 17 and 18, the proposed system has been discussed (see In re Claim 16, above), wherein Yuan discloses the elevator ventilation system comprises more than one ultraviolet sources (fig 2: (3) and (8)):
the more than one ultraviolet source connected to the controller (9);
each of the ultraviolet sources being connected to the controller (9) (apparent).
However, the proposed system lacks:
wherein the controller being configured to transmit corresponding signals to an indicator, such that the indicator shows which of the ultraviolet sources has failed, even when the ultraviolet lights are turned off; and
wherein each of the ultraviolet sources being monitored by a respective ultraviolet source status sensor connected to the controller, the controller being configured to rotate operation of the ultraviolet sources to activate standby ultraviolet sources in response to receiving signals from the ultraviolet source status sensor.
Bourne et al teaches a ventilation air purification system (16A, 16B: (1601)) [0322] comprising:
a first module (UV chamber (fig 4: (106)) comprising a plurality of UV tubes (401) [0209];
a second module (UV chamber (fig 4: (107)) comprising a plurality of UV tubes (402) [0212];
Please note that Bourne et al also teaches (1601) that “the tubes and baffle collectively define a UV processing assembly 1617, and two of these are used in the present embodiment.” [0314]
the first module UV chamber (106) and the second module UV chamber (107) carry one or more backup tubes [0242];
a controller (figs 3, 4: (306/308); figs 16A, B: (1606)); and
a backup UV chamber [0242], invoked by the controller (CPU 308) only when ozone levels immediately downstream of chamber 107 exceed the set threshold [0245];
wherein
the controller (306/308) being configured to transmit corresponding signals to an indicator, such that the indicator shows which of the ultraviolet sources has failed, even when the ultraviolet lights are turned off; and
CPU 308 in some embodiments provides one or more system administrators with a message indicative of a reminder or instruction to change one or more failed tubes, in some instances this message being accompanied by a report on unit performance. [0245].
In the present embodiment device 1610 is coupled to central logic 1606 for the purpose of obtaining a supply of power and for the purpose of monitoring operational characteristics of unit 1601. In relation to monitoring, device 1610 is responsive to airflow and other performance characteristics of unit 1601 for varying the power supplied to tubes 1613 and 1614 to provide appropriate ozone production and destruction for the level of air flow at a given time. In particular, the tubes are deactivated when there is no airflow, and/or when unit 1601 is deactivated. [0317]
Please note that it has been understood that the system is operational, and the UV tubes are turned off (disabled) [0293]
each of the ultraviolet sources being connected to the controller (306/308) and monitored by a respective ultraviolet source status sensor connected to the controller.
Modular systems, such as those described above, are in some embodiments used in conjunction with a management system like system 306 described above. The management system received information from sensors and from individual modules, allowing for the monitoring of performance. In some embodiments where a module is found to have failed then some or all modules in series with that module are disabled. For example, if an ozone destruction module 801 fails, then the upstream series ozone destruction module 808 is immediately disabled [0293]
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller of proposed system as taught by Bourne et al, such that:
the more than one of the ultraviolet sources and corresponding ultraviolet source status sensors connected to the controller, the controller being configured to transmit corresponding signals to an indicator, such that the indicator shows which of the ultraviolet sources has failed, even when the ultraviolet lights are turned off; and
the more than one of the ultraviolet light sources being connected to the controller and monitored by a respective ultraviolet source status sensor connected to the controller, the controller being configured to rotate operation of the ultraviolet sources to activate standby ultraviolet sources in response to receiving signals from the ultraviolet source status sensor.
for the benefit of maintenance simplification and improved system operational confidence.
Claims 35 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN 107458951), in view of Han (KR 20090069658).
In re Claim 35 and 36, the elevator ventilation system of Chen et al has been discussed above. However, as Chen et al is silent as to whether the system comprises elevator light fixtures, Chen et al lacks:
wherein the outlets (47) are located adjacent elevator light fixtures13, and
wherein the outlets comprise light fixture trim elements shaped to receive elevator light fixtures14.
Han teaches a ventilation system comprising outlets located adjacent light fixtures in a hung ceiling, the system comprising:
a blower (supply fan, not shown) disposed in fluid communication with a ceiling plenum (below a canopy and above the hung ceiling (fig 1 (7));
the ventilation system comprising an air outlet array comprising outlets (20/133) located in a ceiling (4) and/or a canopy of a room interior (1), and connected in fluid communication with the blower and with the room interior (1);
wherein the outlets (20/133) are located in [[a drop]] the ceiling below [[a]] the canopy of the room interior;
wherein the outlets (20/133) are located adjacent light fixtures (101)15; and
wherein the outlets (20/133) comprise light fixture trim elements (30) shaped to receive light fixtures (101)16.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Chen et al as taught by Han, such that the outlets comprise recessed ceiling light fixtures with integrally formed light fixture trim elements, combining the outlets with light fixtures and providing “visual harmony”.
Claims 48 – 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Yuan (CN 111166907), and further in view of Kim et al (KR 20180010824)
In re Claims 48 – 52, the system of Yuan has been discussed above (In re Claim 3) wherein the elevator ventilation system controller is configured start a germicidal output, based on a detection of a person in the elevator car. However, Yuan lacks wherein the controller is configured to increase [[the]] a germicidal output of the elevator ventilation system, above a previous nonzero output level, in response to a signal corresponding to an increase in airflow through the elevator ventilation system. However, the technique of controlling an output of a sterilizing device is known in the ventilation arts, as evidenced by Kim et al.
Kim et al teaches a ventilation system (figs 1 – 20, especially 14 – 20) comprising:
an illumination chamber (fig 14, annotated below) positioned in fluid communication with system air
an ultraviolet source (760) positioned to illuminate the system air flowing through the illumination chamber;
an air filter (80) positioned to filter the system air flowing through the illumination chamber;
a blower (50) disposed in fluid communication with the illumination chamber, and configured to move the system air through the illumination chamber and through the air filter (apparent);
a controller (fig 15: (72)) connected to and configured to receive inputs from sensors (410) [0050, 0150] and user controls [0043, 0159], and to send signals conveying commands and/or information in response to the inputs (S130);
the controller (fig 15: (72)) configured to increase a germicidal output of the system above a previous nonzero output level [0173] (“out of a set or predetermined cleanliness range” has been understood to comprise “above a previous nonzero output level”), in response to a signal corresponding to an increase in airflow through the system17;
an airflow sensor [0011] configured and positioned to measure airflow through the system (fig 16: (S110, S120)) and to send a corresponding airflow sensor signal to the controller (fig 15: (72))18;
the controller (72) is configured to increase the germicidal output of the system (fig 16: (S130)) in response to a receipt of a signal commanding increased blower speed (S160) [0165 – 0168, 0173,0 0193 – 0196]19;
the controller (72) is connected to a plurality of ultraviolet sources (fig 17: (1101[Wingdings font/0xE8]1110)), and the controller is configured to activate, in response to a signal corresponding to an increase in airflow through the system, at least one ultraviolet source of the plurality of ultraviolet sources in addition to a previously-activated and still active ultraviolet source of the plurality of ultraviolet sources (fig 17: [0172 [Wingdings font/0xE8]0181, 0190 – 0192]])20; and
the controller is connected to, and is configured to activate, one or more additional germicidal devices selected from a group consisting of the ultraviolet source (760), an ozone generator, and an ion generator; in response to a signal corresponding to an increase in airflow through the system, and after having already activated at least one device of this group [0182 – 0188] - 21.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the elevator ventilation system of Yuan, as taught by the control system of Kim et al, such that the controller is configured to operate the fan and ultraviolet lamps at a maximum output [0174] if the sensed pollution is more severe, and also to operate the fan and ultraviolet lamps as a reduced output [0173] when levels ae reduced to operate the ultraviolet lamps to periodically change which lamps are in operation, to prevent the lifespan of specific ultraviolet lamps from being shortened and to solve the problem of reduced efficiency caused by the temperature of each ultraviolet lamp rising [0179]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
An example of such prior art includes Fritzam et al (US 2,310,414), who discloses an elevator ventilation system comprising:
an illumination chamber (33) positioned in fluid communication with elevator system air, the elevator system air comprising an air mass present within at least part of an elevator system (apparent), the elevator system including an elevator hoistway and an interior of an elevator car suspended in the hoistway;
an ultraviolet source (pg 1:col 1, lns 43 – 45; pg 2: col 2, lns 18 – 25) positioned to illuminate the elevator system air flowing through the illumination chamber;
a blower disposed in fluid communication with the illumination chamber, and configured to move the elevator system air through the illumination chamber and through the air filter; and
the ultraviolet source being blocked from view from positions outside the illumination chamber (apparent, as the supply air channel is arcuate).
An example of such prior art includes Napp (US 1,797,988), who discloses an elevator ventilation apparatus comprising:
an elevator system air, the elevator system air comprising an air mass present within at least part of an elevator system (apparent), the elevator system including an elevator hoistway and an interior of an elevator car suspended in the hoistway;
a blower (15) configured to move the elevator system air from an inlet (13) to an outlet (the elevator hoistway) ; and
wherein the inlet is located in a drop ceiling (fig 1: (14)) below a canopy of the elevator car; and
wherein the inlet (13) is located adjacent elevator light fixtures (29), such that light fixture trim elements (23) are shaped to receive elevator light fixtures.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217.9197 (toll-free). If you are a Pro Se inventor and would like assistance, please call the Pro Se assistance center at 866.767.3848. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, please call 800.786.9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571.272.1000.
/Frances F. Hamilton/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 Filed November 5, 2025
2 Claim filed October 6, 2025
3 Claims 1, 2, 4, 19, 20, 29, 31 – 33
4 Claims 3, 10 – 18, 48 – 52
5 An Adobe file of Yuan (CN 111166907) is provided; page numbers were added at the bottom of each page.
6 While these limitations are recited in dependent Claim 9, they are discussed here to provide clarity.
7 Claim 32
8 Claim 33
9 Claim 34
10 Claim 32
11 Claim 33
12 Claim 34
13 Claim 35
14 Claim 36
15 Claim 35
16 Claim 36
17 claim 48
18 claim 49
19 claim 50
20 claim 51
21 claim 52