DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed 03/06/2026. Claims 1, 3-8, 10-14 and 16-20 have been canceled. Claims 21-40 are new. Claims 21-40 remain pending for consideration on the merits
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/10/2026 was filed on or after the mailing date of the Application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the fluid connection, first fluid connection and the second fluid connection must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The Examiner generally understands that at least in claim 21, the fluid connection line intends to refer to the annotated High Pressure Liquid Line 31 in Fig. 6, and the second fluid connection intends to refer to the meeting point of annotated suction header 26 and suction line 45 in Fig. 6, only due to the context functions provided in the claims. However, the limitations relied upon in the claims as providing structure (i.e. a fluid connection line) should contain referenceable annotation in the specification so that a person reading the disclosure at a later date may more readily understand precisely what elements are being claimed so as to avoid infringement. Therefore, the drawings and the specification should contain appropriate annotation to identify any claimed structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23, 34-35 and 37-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (CN 104236177 A, hereinafter “Lu”), and further in view of Fan et al. (CN 104833255 A, hereinafter “Fan”).
Claims 1-20 canceled
Regarding Claim 21, Lu teaches a cooling system [Figs. 1-2] [¶ 0029-0053], comprising:
an air cooled condensing unit (ACCU) [heat exchanger 12] having a condenser outlet and a condenser inlet [Fig. 2; ¶ 0037; apparent from inspection];
a phase change composite thermal energy storage module (PCCTESM) [heat exchange device 3] having first [32] and second [31] fluid paths disposed therethrough [Fig. 1; ¶ 0031-0033; heat exchanger 3 comprises first coil pipe 31 and second coil pipe 32], each of the first and second fluid paths having an inlet and an outlet [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection];
at least one air handling unit (AHU) [at least 21] having an AHU inlet and an AHU outlet [Fig. 2; apparent from inspection];
a first expansion valve [33] disposed between the condenser outlet [12] and the first fluid path inlet [Fig. 1; throttling device 13 is disposed downstream of 12 and upstream of 3];
a fluid connection [see Annotated Fig. 2; 1st fluid connection; while not improper, the examiner may recommend amending “fluid connection” to “first fluid connection” for more consistent terminology] between the second fluid path inlet and the condenser outlet;
a second expansion valve [22] disposed between the AHU inlet and the second fluid path outlet [Annotated Fig. 2; ¶ 0037-0038]; and
a second fluid connection [see Annotated Fig. 2; 2nd fluid connection] that connects the first fluid path outlet and the AHU outlet to the condenser inlet [see Annotated Fig. 2; the first path outlet and the AHU outlet converge before port E of the valve, upstream of condenser 12].
While Lu teaches a phase change heat storage medium [36] disposed throughout the heat exchanger shell such that the material is in contact with and stores the energy of fluid flowing through both coil pipes [¶ 0031-0034], Lu does not explicitly disclose the PCCTESM further comprising a plurality of phase change composite slabs (PCCS's) each disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the plurality of PCCS's being a separate fluidly sealed module.
However, Fan teaches a phase-change cold storage device [Figs. 1-2; ¶ 0023-0032] comprising a skeleton material [6], comprising a block-shaped porous honeycomb to be filled with a phase change material [¶ 0008-0009, 0014-0016], and arranged between heat-taking cold plate 5 and heat-releasing cold plate 7 in succession [see Fig. 1]. The plurality of cold plates each contain respective fluid flow paths [8 and 9] respectively, each containing an inlet and outlet [see Fig. 2; Abstract]. Fan therefore discloses a plurality of phase change composite slabs [6] each disposed in thermal contact with first and second fluid paths in cold plates 5 and 7, via loops 9 and 8, such that each slab comprises its own separate structure with fluidly isolated phase change material. Fan further teaches that this configuration may provide further control over the system according to known formulae, as the amount of required phase change material may be calculated from other variables [¶ 0012-0013]. Therefore, the structure provided by Fan provides a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system [¶ 0015-0017]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the phase change slabs as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the phase change slabs would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system [¶ 0015-0017].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lu to have the PCCTESM further comprising a plurality of phase change composite slabs (PCCS's) each disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the plurality of PCCS's being a separate fluidly sealed module, in view of the teachings of Fan, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system.
Regarding Claim 22, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 21 above and Lu wherein the at least one AHU comprises two or more AHU's [21; ¶ 0037; Fig. 2; apparent from inspection]; each having an AHU inlet and an AHU outlet [Fig. 2; apparent from inspection], wherein the second expansion valve is disposed between each AHU inlet and the second fluid path outlet [see Annotated Fig. 2; each heat exchanger 21 comprises an expansion valve 22 upstream towards the 2nd path outlet], and the second fluid connection connects the first fluid path outlet and each AHU outlet to the condenser inlet [see Annotated Fig. 2; apparent from inspection].
Regarding Claim 23, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 21 above and Fan teaches wherein each PCCS of the plurality of PCCS's comprises a thermally conductive graphite matrix with a wax impregnated within the graphite matrix [¶ 0008, 0015; skeleton material 6 is porous foamed graphite honeycombed matrix with paraffin wax].
Regarding Claim 34, Lu teaches a phase change composite thermal energy storage module (PCCTESM) [heat exchange device 3], comprising:
a first fluid path [32] disposed therethrough, the first fluid path having an inlet and an outlet;
a second fluid path [31] disposed therethrough, the second fluid path having an inlet and an outlet [Fig. 1; ¶ 0031-0033; heat exchanger 3 comprises first coil pipe 31 and second coil pipe 32] [See 1st and 2nd path inlets and outlets in Annotated Fig. 2]; and
at least one phase change composite slab (PCCS) disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the at least one PCCS being a separate fluidly sealed module.
While Lu teaches a phase change heat storage medium [36] disposed throughout the heat exchanger shell such that the material is in contact with and stores the energy of fluid flowing through both coil pipes [¶ 0031-0034], Lu does not explicitly disclose at least one phase change composite slab (PCCS) disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the at least one PCCS being a separate fluidly sealed module.
However, Fan teaches a phase-change cold storage device [Figs. 1-2; ¶ 0023-0032] comprising a skeleton material [6], comprising a block-shaped porous honeycomb to be filled with a phase change material [¶ 0008-0009, 0014-0016], and arranged between heat-taking cold plate 5 and heat-releasing cold plate 7 in succession [see Fig. 1]. The plurality of cold plates each contain respective fluid flow paths [8 and 9] respectively, each containing an inlet and outlet [see Fig. 2; Abstract]. Fan therefore discloses a plurality of phase change composite slabs [6] each disposed in thermal contact with first and second fluid paths in cold plates 5 and 7, via loops 9 and 8, such that each slab comprises its own separate structure with fluidly isolated phase change material. Fan further teaches that this configuration may provide further control over the system according to known formulae, as the amount of required phase change material may be calculated from other variables [¶ 0012-0013]. Therefore, the structure provided by Fan provides a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system [¶ 0015-0017]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the phase change slabs as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the phase change slabs would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system [¶ 0015-0017].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lu to have at least one phase change composite slab (PCCS) disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the at least one PCCS being a separate fluidly sealed module, in view of the teachings of Fan, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system.
Regarding Claim 35, Lu, as modified, teaches the PCCTESM of claim 34 and Lu teaches wherein the at least one PCCS comprises a thermally conductive graphite matrix with a wax impregnated within the graphite matrix [¶ 0008, 0015; skeleton material 6 is porous foamed graphite honeycombed matrix with paraffin wax].
Regarding Claim 37, Lu, as modified, teaches the PCCTESM of claim 34 above and Fan teaches wherein the at least one PCCS comprises a plurality of PCCS's each disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the plurality of PCCS's being a separate fluidly sealed module [¶ 0024-0025; Figs. 1-2; Fan discloses a plurality of phase change composite slabs [6] each disposed in thermal contact with first and second fluid paths in cold plates 5 and 7, via loops 9 and 8, such that each slab comprises its own separate structure with fluidly isolated phase change material].
Regarding Claim 38, Lu, as modified, teaches the PCCTESM of claim 37 above and Lu teaches wherein the first fluid path comprises a plurality of first heat exchangers [32] and the second fluid path comprises a plurality of second heat exchangers [31] [¶ 0031-0036; Figs. 1-2; flow paths into heat exchanger 3 comprise of a plurality of coils 32 and coils 31].
Regarding Claim 39, Lu, as modified, teaches the PCCTESM of claim 38 above and Lu teaches wherein the plurality of first heat exchangers are in fluid communication with a first common inlet source and a first common outlet header [¶ 0030, 0035; See Fig. 1; coils 32 derive from a single outlet header and a single inlet header], and the plurality of second heat exchangers are in fluid communication with a second common inlet source and a second common outlet header [¶ 0030, 0035; See Fig. 1; coils 31 derive from a single outlet header and a single inlet header].
Regarding Claim 40, Lu, as modified, teaches the PCCTESM of claim 39 above and Fan teaches wherein the plurality of PCCS's [6] and the pluralities of first and second heat exchangers [7 and 5] are arranged in a layered structure [See Fig. 1] that is configured so that each PCCS has a first heat exchanger in thermal contact with a first side of the PCCS and a second heat exchanger in thermal contact with a second opposite side of the PCCS [Figs. 1-2; apparent from inspection that heat exchangers 5 and 7 alternate on either side of matrix 6, such that one side of the matrix is isolated from the opposite heat exchanger in an alternating configuration].
Claims 24-26 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu and Fan as applied to claim 23 and 35 above, and further in view of Al-Hallaj (US 20180283709 A1).
Regarding Claim 24, Lu, as modified teaches the cooling system of claim 23 above, but Lu does not explicitly teach wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C.
However, Al-Hallaj teaches a thermal energy storage unit (TES unit) [20] comprising of at least one or a plurality of PCM slabs [21; Fig. 5; ¶ 0041] [101-128; Figs. 7-8; ¶ 0091] wherein the PCM (or "phase change material composite" PCC) uses expanded graphite as a supporting porous matrix and is submerged into molten PCM (low temperature waxes) until the PCM has reached its maximum absorption into the graphite matrix [¶ 0046]. Al-Hallaj also teaches a PCM phase change temperature of between about 5 °C to about 6 °C [¶ 0093], Al-Hallaj discloses that PCM are designed to melt and solidify at specified temperatures depending on the composition by percentage of wax and graphite making up said PCM [¶ 0045] and are typically adjusted to accommodate environmental temperatures [¶ 0019]. Thus, the phase change temperature of the PCM is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is a PCM with a certain composition of graphite and wax in order to meet said desired phase change temperature range. Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C in order to accommodate for environmental temperature at which the PCM will likely operate in. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined wax impregnated graphite matrix as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the wax impregnated graphite matrix would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. because PCM using graphite and wax have a much longer operative life than other PCM system, therefore increasing the cost efficiency of the system [¶ 0053-0054].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Li to have wherein the at least one PCCS comprises a thermally conductive graphite matrix with a wax impregnated within the graphite matrix, and wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C, in view of the teachings of Al-Hallaj, where the elements could have been combined by known with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. because PCM using graphite and wax have a much longer operative life than other PCM system, therefore increasing the cost efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 25, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 24 above, and Lu teaches wherein the first fluid path comprises a plurality of first heat exchangers [32] and the second fluid path comprises a plurality of second heat exchangers [31] [¶ 0031-0036; Figs. 1-2; flow paths into heat exchanger 3 comprise of a plurality of coils 32 and coils 31].
Regarding Claim 26, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 25 above, and Lu teaches wherein the plurality of first heat exchangers are in fluid communication with a first common inlet source and a first common outlet header [¶ 0030, 0035; See Fig. 1; coils 32 derive from a single outlet header and a single inlet header], and the plurality of second heat exchangers are in fluid communication with a second common inlet source and a second common outlet header [¶ 0030, 0035; See Fig. 1; coils 31 derive from a single outlet header and a single inlet header].
Regarding Claim 36, Lu, as modified, teaches the PCCTESM of claim 35, but Lu does not explicitly teach wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C.
However, Al-Hallaj teaches a thermal energy storage unit (TES unit) [20] comprising of at least one or a plurality of PCM slabs [21; Fig. 5; ¶ 0041] [101-128; Figs. 7-8; ¶ 0091] wherein the PCM (or "phase change material composite" PCC) uses expanded graphite as a supporting porous matrix and is submerged into molten PCM (low temperature waxes) until the PCM has reached its maximum absorption into the graphite matrix [¶ 0046]. Al-Hallaj also teaches a PCM phase change temperature of between about 5 °C to about 6 °C [¶ 0093], Al-Hallaj discloses that PCM are designed to melt and solidify at specified temperatures depending on the composition by percentage of wax and graphite making up said PCM [¶ 0045] and are typically adjusted to accommodate environmental temperatures [¶ 0019]. Thus, the phase change temperature of the PCM is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is a PCM with a certain composition of graphite and wax in order to meet said desired phase change temperature range. Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C in order to accommodate for environmental temperature at which the PCM will likely operate in. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined wax impregnated graphite matrix as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the wax impregnated graphite matrix would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. because PCM using graphite and wax have a much longer operative life than other PCM system, therefore increasing the cost efficiency of the system [¶ 0053-0054].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Li to have wherein the at least one PCCS comprises a thermally conductive graphite matrix with a wax impregnated within the graphite matrix, and wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C, in view of the teachings of Al-Hallaj, where the elements could have been combined by known with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. because PCM using graphite and wax have a much longer operative life than other PCM system, therefore increasing the cost efficiency of the system.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, Fan and Al-Hallaj as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Li (CN 204007261 U) and Holloway (US 20120037342 A1).
Regarding Claim 27, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 26 above but Lu does not explicitly teach wherein each of the pluralities of first and second heat exchangers comprises an aluminum micro channel heat exchanger.
However, Li teaches a phase change heat exchanger [Abstract; Figs. 1-2] having a first fluid path disposed therethrough [6], the first fluid path having an inlet [2] and an outlet [3], and an entirely separate second fluid path disposed therethrough [7], the second fluid path having an inlet [4] and an outlet [5] [¶ 0020; Figs. 1-2], wherein the flow paths are micro-channel heat exchangers [¶ 0020; Fig. 2]. As Li teaches that micro-channel and capillary tube heat exchangers are both high-efficiency heat exchangers that improve heat exchange efficiency of a system, as compared to water-water heat exchange storage devices [¶ 0016], it is considered an obvious matter of design choice regarding a change in shape wherein one could use micro-channel heat exchangers for both flow paths if one had a reason to do so during design [MPEP 2144.04 IVB] (i.e. a desire to improve heat exchange efficiency). One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the micro channel heat exchangers as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the micro channel heat exchangers would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a structure to improve heat exchange efficiency [¶ 0008].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lu to have wherein each of the pluralities of first and second heat exchangers comprises a micro channel heat exchanger, in view of the teachings of Li, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a structure to improve heat exchange efficiency.
The combination with Li does not explicitly disclose aluminum as a material used.
However, Holloway teaches a fluid conditioning arrangement [at least Figs. 14-30] comprising a plurality of heat exchangers configured to cool and/or heat a fluid [Abstract]. Holloway further teaches phase change material (PCM) packs comprising hexagonal receptacles and conductive sealing panels on either side of said receptacles [¶ 0127-0128]. Holloway discloses that aluminum and stainless steel, or other metals with good corrosive properties, non-permeable, and highly conductive are preferable materials for transferring energy [¶ 0137-0139]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have utilized aluminum as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the aluminum would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. aluminum material provides good corrosive properties, is non-permeable, and highly conductive, therefore improving the efficiency of the system [¶ 0137-0139].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lu to have aluminum micro channel heat exchangers, in view of the teachings of Holloway, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. aluminum material provides good corrosive properties, is non-permeable, and highly conductive, therefore improving the efficiency of the system.
Claims 28-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, and further in view of Fan and Kopko (US 20160076821 A1).
Regarding Claim 28, Lu teaches a cooling system, comprising:
a first air cooled condensing unit (ACCU) [heat exchanger 12] having a first condenser outlet and a first condenser inlet [Fig. 2; ¶ 0037; apparent from inspection];
phase change composite thermal energy storage module (PCCTESM) [heat exchange device 3] having first [32] and second [31] fluid paths disposed therethrough [Fig. 1; ¶ 0031-0033; heat exchanger 3 comprises first coil pipe 31 and second coil pipe 32], each of the first and second fluid paths having an inlet and an outlet [Fig. 1; apparent from inspection];
at least one air handling unit (AHU) [at least 21] having an AHU inlet and an AHU outlet [Fig. 2; apparent from inspection];
a first fluid connection between the first condenser outlet and the second fluid path inlet [See Annotated Fig. 2; 1st fluid connection];
a first expansion valve [22] disposed between the AHU inlet and the second fluid path outlet [Annotated Fig. 2; ¶ 0037-0038];
a second expansion valve [33] disposed between the second condenser outlet and the first fluid path inlet [See Annotated Fig. 2; while Lu alone does not teach the second condenser outlet, valve 33 in Lu is directly upstream and in tandem with the first path inlet, therefore any combination of prior art would likely dispose the valve in a similar position (directly upstream the first path inlet), necessarily meeting the limitation], and;
a third fluid connection that connects the AHU outlet to the first condenser inlet [See Annotated Fig. 2; annotated 2nd fluid connection functions as the claimed third fluid connection in claim 28; apparent from inspection].
While Lu teaches a phase change heat storage medium [36] disposed throughout the heat exchanger shell such that the material is in contact with and stores the energy of fluid flowing through both coil pipes [¶ 0031-0034], Lu does not explicitly disclose the PCCTESM further comprising a plurality of phase change composite slabs (PCCS's) each disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the plurality of PCCS's being a separate fluidly sealed module.
Lu also does not explicitly disclose a second air cooled condensing unit (ACCU) having a second condenser outlet and a second condenser inlet; and a second fluid connection between the first fluid path outlet and the second condenser inlet.
However, Fan teaches a phase-change cold storage device [Figs. 1-2; ¶ 0023-0032] comprising a skeleton material [6], comprising a block-shaped porous honeycomb to be filled with a phase change material [¶ 0008-0009, 0014-0016], and arranged between heat-taking cold plate 5 and heat-releasing cold plate 7 in succession [see Fig. 1]. The plurality of cold plates each contain respective fluid flow paths [8 and 9] respectively, each containing an inlet and outlet [see Fig. 2; Abstract]. Fan therefore discloses a plurality of phase change composite slabs [6] each disposed in thermal contact with first and second fluid paths in cold plates 5 and 7, via loops 9 and 8, such that each slab comprises its own separate structure with fluidly isolated phase change material. Fan further teaches that this configuration may provide further control over the system according to known formulae, as the amount of required phase change material may be calculated from other variables [¶ 0012-0013]. Therefore, the structure provided by Fan provides a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system [¶ 0015-0017]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the phase change slabs as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the phase change slabs would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system [¶ 0015-0017].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lu to have the PCCTESM further comprising a plurality of phase change composite slabs (PCCS's) each disposed in thermal contact with the first and second fluid paths and each PCCS of the plurality of PCCS's being a separate fluidly sealed module, in view of the teachings of Fan, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to more accurately provide uniform distribution of phase change material using known formulae to determine the amount of phase change material required, thereby better utilizing waste heat reducing energy consumption, thereby improving the system.
Additionally, Kopko teaches a subcooling system with thermal energy storage [Fig. 19; ¶ 0087-0090], wherein the cooling system [12] comprises a thermal storage unit [36] in communication with a first path [33; right side loop of Fig. 19; flowing through compressor 510] having an air cooled condenser [512] (similar to a second air cooled condensing unit) having an inlet and an outlet, wherein a fluid connection (similar to the claimed second fluid connection) exists between the first path’s outlet [top-right port of 36 in fig. 19] and the inlet of condenser 512 [¶ 0087-0090]. The storage unit [36] similarly comprises equivalent second fluid paths [33; left side loop of Fig. 19] with an equivalent first air cooled condensing unit [28], such that the storage unit may receive liquid from both the chilling unit [500] and the refrigeration circuit [20] simultaneously [¶ 0087]. Kopko teaches that providing independent flow paths through a thermal storage unit provides the benefit of offering either continuous operation of the cooling system through simultaneous operation, or enabling the means to operate only a portion of the system (i.e. the chiller system 500) during periods of low electricity costs [¶ 0087]. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the second condenser with accompanying flow paths as claimed by known methods and that in combination, combined the second condenser with accompanying flow paths would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. providing a means to offer either continuous operation of the cooling system through simultaneous operation, or offering a portion of the system to operate (i.e. the chiller system) during periods of low electricity costs, thereby improving the control capabilities and the possible costs of the system [¶ 0087].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Lu to have a second air cooled condensing unit (ACCU) having a second condenser outlet and a second condenser inlet; and a second fluid connection between the first fluid path outlet and the second condenser inlet, in view of the teachings of Kopko, where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. providing a means to offer either continuous operation of the cooling system through simultaneous operation, or offering a portion of the system to operate (i.e. the chiller system) during periods of low electricity costs, thereby improving the control capabilities and the possible costs of the system.
Regarding Claim 29, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 28 above and Kopko further teaches comprising at least one refrigerant [Abstract] [Lu also teaches refrigerant ¶ 0006].
Regarding Claim 30, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 29 above and Kopko teaches wherein the at least one refrigerant comprises first and second refrigerants [¶ 0088; fluid through cooler 24 may not be the same as cooling fluid 33], and wherein the first refrigerant flows through the first ACCU and the second refrigerant flows through the second ACCU [¶ 0088; the system may comprise of different mediums, such as at least air, water, glycol water solutions, brine solutions, solids, or any refrigerant listed in claim 6].
Regarding Claim 31, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 28 above and Fan teaches wherein each PCCS of the plurality of PCCS's comprises a thermally conductive graphite matrix with a wax impregnated within the graphite matrix [¶ 0008, 0015; skeleton material 6 is porous foamed graphite honeycombed matrix with paraffin wax].
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, Fan and Kopko as applied to claim 31 above, and further in view of Al-Hallaj.
Regarding Claim 32, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 31 above, but Lu does not explicitly teach wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C.
However, Al-Hallaj teaches a thermal energy storage unit (TES unit) [20] comprising of at least one or a plurality of PCM slabs [21; Fig. 5; ¶ 0041] [101-128; Figs. 7-8; ¶ 0091] wherein the PCM (or "phase change material composite" PCC) uses expanded graphite as a supporting porous matrix and is submerged into molten PCM (low temperature waxes) until the PCM has reached its maximum absorption into the graphite matrix [¶ 0046]. Al-Hallaj also teaches a PCM phase change temperature of between about 5 °C to about 6 °C [¶ 0093], Al-Hallaj discloses that PCM are designed to melt and solidify at specified temperatures depending on the composition by percentage of wax and graphite making up said PCM [¶ 0045] and are typically adjusted to accommodate environmental temperatures [¶ 0019]. Thus, the phase change temperature of the PCM is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is a PCM with a certain composition of graphite and wax in order to meet said desired phase change temperature range. Therefore, since the general condition of the claim is disclosed by the prior art reference, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C in order to accommodate for environmental temperature at which the PCM will likely operate in. One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined wax impregnated graphite matrix as claimed by known methods and that in combination, the wax impregnated graphite matrix would perform the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e. because PCM using graphite and wax have a much longer operative life than other PCM system, therefore increasing the cost efficiency of the system [¶ 0053-0054].
Therefore, it is a simple mechanical expedient that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Li to have wherein the at least one PCCS comprises a thermally conductive graphite matrix with a wax impregnated within the graphite matrix, and wherein the wax has a liquid to solid phase change temperature in a range between about 2 °C and about 4 °C, in view of the teachings of Al-Hallaj, where the elements could have been combined by known with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e. because PCM using graphite and wax have a much longer operative life than other PCM system, therefore increasing the cost efficiency of the system.
Regarding Claim 33, Lu, as modified, teaches the cooling system of claim 32 above and Lu teaches wherein the first fluid path comprises a plurality of first heat exchangers [32] and the second fluid path comprises a plurality of second heat exchangers [31] [¶ 0031-0036; Figs. 1-2; flow paths into heat exchanger 3 comprise of a plurality of coils 32 and coils 31].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previously applied prior art have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Qiu et al. (CN 105609896 A) discloses an energy storage device comprising a plurality of slabs, containing phase change material disposed within a matrix, being isolated from other slabs via heat conducting parts
/KEITH STANLEY MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763