DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on February 10, 2026, claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 12-13 and 15-16 are pending. Claims 1, 7, 9-10, 12-13 and 15-16 are amended, claims 14 and 17 are presently cancelled, and claims 4-6, 8 and 11 were previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Johnson provides no guidance for high current charging or that such charging is even possible, desirable or safe (see page 5 of applicant remarks).
However, the reference of Iijima discloses a charging process for a lithium ion secondary battery (see abstract), which is the same type of battery as that of Johnson (Johnson; ¶227). Thus, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).Thus, this argument is not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Iijima discloses a constant voltage charge rate less than C/10 (see page 5 of applicant remarks).
Claim 1 is further rejected using Gao et al. WO2018045920A1 which has been cited in previous office actions.
The applicant argues that Iijima does not disclose lithium metal likely due to the undesirable dendrite formation (see page 5 of applicant remarks).
However, lithium metal is discussed throughout the reference of Ijima. For instance, ¶10- positive electrode including a mixed metal oxide containing at least Li; ¶101/115 – positive electrode active material LiMn1/3Ni1/3Co1/3O2; claim 1 – “a positive electrode including a mixed metal oxide containing at least Li, Mn, and Ni as metal components as a positive electrode active material”. Thus, this argument is not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Iijima does not describe charging of any battery cell to a voltage of 1.5 V (see pages 5-6 of applicant remarks).
This feature is taught by the primary reference of Johnson and, thus, does not require the reference of Iijima. Thus, this argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-10, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson et al. US20190097258A1 in view of Iijima et al. US20050194934A1 and Gao et al. WO2018045920A1.
Regarding claim 1. Johnson discloses a system comprising:
a battery cell (100) discharged to a voltage of 0.01 V or less (¶221- cell repeatedly cycled from 1.5V to 0.01V), wherein a cathode of the battery cell comprises an active material consisting of an acidified metal oxide (¶226 - cathode comprising AMO (acidified metal oxide)) and wherein an anode of the battery cell comprises lithium metal (¶2 – lithium anode; ¶227 – cells have a lithium metal anode).
Johnson discloses a battery charger implementing a charge cycle of constant current until a predetermined voltage threshold of 1.5 V is obtained on the battery cell (¶221 - battery is charged to 1.5V),
Johnson discloses the charge cycle achieves a Columbic efficiency of about 95% or more for charging the battery cell (¶188; FIG. 13 illustrates a columbic efficiency of at least 95%) (it should be noted that this limitation appears to be a result of the charging and the battery chemistry. Thus, if all of the features of the battery and charging are disclosed by the art, the claimed columbic efficiency would necessarily have to occur).
Johnson does not explicitly teach the constant current at a charge rate of 10C to 30C followed by a constant voltage until a predetermined minimum charge rate of from C/10 to C/5 is reached; and wherein the battery charger includes a charging circuit comprising: a voltage regulator for receiving an input voltage and providing an output charging voltage: a current sensor provided in series between the battery cell and the voltage regulator for sensing current flowing to the battery cell: and a microcontroller in data communication with the current sensor and in control communication with the voltage regulator, wherein current sensed by the current sensor is provided as an input to the microcontroller for providing control signals to the voltage regulator to control the output charging voltage.
Iijima discloses the constant current at a charge rate of 10C to 30C (¶12 – charging current value is set to a value within the range of 2C to 60C, this covers that range of 10-30C; ¶102 – FIG. 8 illustrates a constant current of 10C which is within the range) followed by a constant voltage until a predetermined minimum charge rate is reached (Iijima; FIG. 8; ¶102 – the charging time spans from the starting of constant voltage charging to the point T3 where the constant voltage charging ends – where the minimum charging rate of 0C (0A/time) is reached, the charge rate of 0C is a minimum that is less than (or no greater than) C/5).
wherein the battery charger includes a charging circuit (FIG. 3) comprising:
Iijima discloses a voltage regulator (FIG. 3 @ 112/114) for receiving an input voltage (from the power supply 103) and providing an output charging voltage (¶89 – output voltage controller 114 functions to regulate the output voltage of the power supply 103).
Iijima discloses a current sensor (current detector 111) provided in series (FIG. 3) between the battery cell (1) and the voltage regulator (112/114) for sensing current flowing to the battery cell (¶87 - charging current detected by the current detector 111 at the time of charging the battery).
Iijima discloses a microcontroller (115) in data communication with the current sensor (current detector 111) and in control communication with the voltage regulator (112/114; ¶87 – the control unit 115 functions independently to control the output voltage controller 114), wherein current sensed by the current sensor (111) is provided as an input to the microcontroller (115) for providing control signals to the voltage regulator to control the output charging voltage (¶90 – using the current detected by the current detector 111, the control unit 115 can carry out constant current charging).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Although Iijima teaches that the charging rate is near zero during a constant voltage charging (¶102), Iijima does not explicitly teach that a predetermined minimum charge rate of from C/10 to C/5 is reached.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate of from C/10 to C/5 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/5 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Regarding claim 2, Johnson does not explicitly teach that the constant charge rate is 30 C, and wherein the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Iijima discloses that the constant charge rate is 30 C (Iijima; ¶102 – FIG. 8 illustrates a constant current of 10C which is within the range).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Although Iijima teaches that the charging rate is near zero during a constant voltage charging (¶102), Iijima does not explicitly teach that the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/5 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Regarding claim 3, Johnson does not explicitly teach the constant current charge rate is 10C and wherein the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10.
Iijima discloses the constant current charge rate is 10C (¶102 – FIG. 8 illustrates a constant current of 10C which is within the range).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Iijima does not explicitly disclose the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/10 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Regarding claim 7, Johnson discloses a method of charging a battery cell (100) discharged to a(¶221- cell repeatedly cycled from 1.5V to 0.01V), wherein a cathode of the battery cell comprises an active material consisting of an acidified metal oxide (¶226 - cathode comprising AMO (acidified metal oxide)) and wherein an anode of the battery cell comprises lithium metal (¶2 – lithium anode; ¶227 – cells have a lithium metal anode).
first, applying a constant current to the battery cell until a predetermined voltage of from 1.5 V is reached on the battery cell (¶221 - battery is charged to 1.5V)).
Johnson discloses wherein charging the battery cell achieves a Columbic efficiency of about 95% or more (¶188; FIG. 13 illustrates a columbic efficiency of at least 95%) (it should be noted that this limitation appears to be a result of the charging and the battery chemistry. Thus, if all of the features of the battery and charging are disclosed by the art, the claimed columbic efficiency would necessarily have to occur).
Johnson does not explicitly disclose the constant current at a charge rate of 10C to 30C; applying a constant voltage at the predetermined voltage to the battery cell until a predetermined minimum charge rate from C/10 to C/5 is observed, wherein a circuit for charging the battery cell comprises: a voltage regulator for receiving an input voltage and providing an output charging voltage; a current sensor provided in series between the battery cell and the voltage regulator for sensing current flowing to the battery cell: and a microcontroller in data communication with the current sensor and in control communication with the voltage regulator, wherein current sensed by the current sensor is provided as an input to the microcontroller for providing control signals to the voltage regulator to control the output charging voltage.
Iijima discloses the constant current at a charge rate of 10C to 30C (¶12 – charging current value is set to a value within the range of 2C to 60C, this covers that range of 10-30C; ¶102 – FIG. 8 illustrates a constant current of 10C which is within the range)
applying a constant voltage at the predetermined voltage to the battery cell until a predetermined minimum is observed (Iijima; FIG. 8; ¶102 –constant voltage charging to the point T3 where the constant voltage charging ends – where the minimum charging rate of near 0 C (0A/time) is reached, the charge rate of 0C is a minimum).
wherein a circuit for charging the battery cell comprises:
Iijima discloses a voltage regulator (FIG. 3 @ 112/114) for receiving an input voltage (from the power supply 103) and providing an output charging voltage (¶89 – output voltage controller 114 functions to regulate the output voltage of the power supply 103).
Iijima discloses a current sensor (current detector 111) provided in series (FIG. 3) between the battery cell (1) and the voltage regulator (112/114) for sensing current flowing to the battery cell (¶87 - charging current detected by the current detector 111 at the time of charging the battery).
Iijima discloses a microcontroller (115) in data communication with the current sensor (current detector 111) and in control communication with the voltage regulator (112/114; ¶87 – the control unit 115 functions independently to control the output voltage controller 114), wherein current sensed by the current sensor (111) is provided as an input to the microcontroller (115) for providing control signals to the voltage regulator to control the output charging voltage (¶90 – using the current detected by the current detector 111, the control unit 115 can carry out constant current charging).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Iijima does not explicitly teach a predetermined minimum charge rate from C/10 to C/5.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes a predetermined minimum charge rate from C/10 to C/5 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/10 to C/5 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”)..
Regarding claim 9, Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the constant current charge rate is 10C and the predetermined minimum current is C/10.
Iijima discloses that the constant current charge rate is 10 C (¶10 – the constant current charging rate is a number between 2-60, thus, because there are restricted values, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that a charge rate of 10C may be used since it falls within the disclosed range).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Iijima does not explicitly disclose the predetermined minimum current is C/10.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/10 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Regarding claim 10, Johnson does not explicitly disclose the constant charge rate is 30 C and wherein the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Iijima discloses that the constant charge rate is 30 C (Iijima; ¶19).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Iijima does not explicitly teach that the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/5 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”)..
Regarding claim 12, Johnson does not explicitly disclose the constant current charge rate is 30C and the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10.
Iijima discloses the constant current charge rate is 30C (¶12 – charging current value is set to a value within the range of 2C to 60C, this covers that range of 10-30C).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Iijima does not explicitly disclose the predetermined minimum current is C/10.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/10 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Regarding claim 13. Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the constant current charge rate is 10 C, wherein the predetermined minimum current is C/5 .
Iijima discloses that the constant current charge rate is 10 C (¶12 – charging current value is set to a value within the range of 2C to 60C, this covers that range of 10-30C).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Although Iijima teaches that the charging rate is near zero during a constant voltage charging (¶102), Iijima does not explicitly teach that the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/5 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Regarding claim 15. Johnson does not explicitly disclose that the constant current charge rate is 30 C, wherein, and wherein the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10.
Iijima discloses that the constant current charge rate is 30 C (¶12 – charging current value is set to a value within the range of 2C to 60C, this covers that range of 10-30C).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Iijima does not explicitly disclose the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/10 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/10 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Regarding claim 16. Johnson does not explicitly disclose the constant current charge rate is 10 C, wherein the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Iijima discloses that the constant current charge rate is 10 C (¶12 – charging current value is set to a value within the range of 2C to 60C, this covers that range of 10-30C).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the charger of Iijima as the charger of Johnson in order to provide rapid charging and shortening the time needed to charge the battery (Iijima; ¶6).
Iijima does not explicitly disclose that the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Although Iijima teaches that the charging rate is near zero during a constant voltage charging (¶102), Iijima does not explicitly teach that the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5.
Gao discloses that the cut off current is between 0.01C to 0.2C which includes the predetermined minimum charge rate is C/5 (see page 2; ¶6 of the “Summary of the Invention; “the charge cutoff current Im is in a range of 0.01 C to 0.2 C”; page 9 at ¶4 - “The off current Im is preferably less than or equal to the minimum charging current value I .sub.cn , more preferably 0.01 C to 0.2 C”).
It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the specific value of C/5 to the low minimum charge rate of Iijima to provide a known lower limit range in order avoid burdens on the secondary battery which would cause deterioration and instability of the cathode structure (Gao; page 2, “Background technique”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859