DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued in the remark that A. Ahrens Does Not Teach "Network Vulnerability Assessments" as Claimed.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ahrens discloses col 10, lines 20-25 the system 160 monitors the network elements, i.e. ( i.e. one or more secondary devices in the network, it can be see the vulnerability assessments on the devices in the network) for attack-related event information. In other words, the system 160 awaits attack-related event information from the agent 200 and/or network monitoring device(s) 156.
B. Ishiyama's Architecture Is Fundamentally Different from the Claimed
Architecture
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ishiyama discloses "a first relay device located outside of a firewall; and a second relay device located within the firewall." Ishiyama, paragraph [0019]. In Ishiyama, the first relay device is located outside of the firewall, while the second relay device is located within the firewall. This is fundamentally different from the claimed architecture, where claim 12 requires "both the first device and the one or more secondary devices being behind and separate from a firewall attached to the second network." In the claimed invention, the first device is on the same side of the firewall as the one or more secondary devices, i.e., behind the firewall (it could be any side of the firewall) and communicates with the monitor system via a separate first network that does not pass through the firewall. Ishiyama's architecture, where the first relay device is outside the firewall on a separate side of the firewall from the second relay device, wherein the firewall could be behind so the communication can be placed by passing the firewall.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12,14 and 19, 20,24-26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama US 2014/0126463 in view of Ahrens et al US 8,230,505 in view of Fiennes US 9,402,281.
As per claim 12. Ishiyama US 2014/0126463 discloses a method comprising:
communicating, by a monitor system, with a first device via a first network (0019 a communication device, i.e. monitor, is communicating with the first relay device, i.e. a first device);
communicating, by the first device, with one or more secondary devices on a second network(par 0019, the first relay device is receiving the communication from the second relay device, i.e. secondary device ), both the first device and the one or more secondary devices being behind and separate from a firewall attached to the second network (par 0019, the first relay device located outside of a firewall and the second relay device located within the firewall, wherein the first relay device is separated from the firewall and the second relay device behind the firewall), and the first device is communicating via the first network with the monitor system at the same time the first device is behind the firewall and communicating with the one or more secondary devices on the second network ( 0019 The second relay device includes a second receiving unit configured to receive the acquisition request transmitted from the first relay device and the first relay device is communicating with the communication device to receive a request for acquiring information, and transmit the information received from the second relay device to the communication device, i.e. the monitor system ); and
performing, by the monitor system, a transmission, on the one or more secondary devices on the second network via network communication(0107 estimating unit 606 may statistically analyze a pattern of transmission of RQs such as distribution of 95% in a with of 60 seconds with the center at five past the hour, and estimate the transmission interval (one hour, for example) or the transmission time (five past the hour, for example) of the RQs on the basis of the analysis result).
the network communications passing between the first device and the monitor system on the first network and between the first device and the one or more secondary devices on the second network behind the firewall, ( 0019 a communication system includes a first relay device located outside of a firewall; and a second relay device located within the firewall. The first relay device includes a first receiving unit configured to receive a request for acquiring information on an information processing device within the firewall from a communication device and receive the information acquired from the information processing device from the second relay device; a storage unit configured to store therein the acquisition request; and a first transmitting unit configured to transmit the acquisition request stored in the storage unit to the second relay device and transmit the information received from the second relay device to the communication device. The second relay device includes a second receiving unit configured to receive the acquisition request transmitted from the first relay device; an acquiring unit configured to acquire information requested by the acquisition request from the information processing device; and a second transmitting unit configured to transmit the acquired information to the first relay device).
Ishiyama does not disclose performing, by the monitor system, one or more network vulnerability assessments on the one or more secondary devices on the second network via network communication; the network communications passing between the first device and the monitor system on the first network and between the first device and the one or more secondary devices on the second network behind the firewall, the network communications between the first device and the monitor system that occur via the first network not passing through the firewall of the second network.
However, Ahrens discloses performing, by the monitor system, one or more network vulnerability assessments on the one or more secondary devices on the second network via network communication (col 10, lines 20-25 the system 160 monitors the network elements, i.e. ( i.e. one or more secondary devices in the network, it can be see the vulnerability assessments on the devices in the network) for attack-related event information. In other words, the system 160 awaits attack-related event information from the agent 200 and/or network monitoring device(s) 156. ).
Ishiyama and Ahrens are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network protection by the firewall.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ishiyama to incorporate the teachings of Ahrens and provide a threat analysis system.
Doing so would provide about the prediction of the threat bypass the firewall, thereby increasing protection for the network.
The combination fails to disclose the network communications passing between the first device and the monitor system on the first network and between the first device and the one or more secondary devices on the second network behind the firewall, the network communications between the first device and the monitor system that occur via the first network not passing through the firewall of the second network.
However, Fiennes discloses the network communications passing between the first device and the monitor system on the first network and between the first device and the one or more secondary devices on the second network behind the firewall, the network communications between the first device and the monitor system that occur via the first network not passing through the firewall of the second network (col 7, lines 16-22 Second generation devices, i.e. relay device, connect to an internet service, which can relay traffic to and from the device behind the user's firewall. By logging into the internet service, users can monitor and control their device. The vendor has to design, build, operate and support this additional service. The relay device can connect to the device behind the user’s firewall, wherein the user network can be seen as the first network and firewall, and wherein the device can be seen as the monitoring device that can bypass the traffic behind the firewall and also the monitor traffic behind the firewall).
Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network protection by the firewall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ishiyama to incorporate the teachings of Ahrens, including the teaching of Fiennes and provide a threat analysis system. Doing so would provide about the prediction of the threat bypass the firewall, thereby increasing protection for the network.
As per claim 14. Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes disclose the method of claim 12, Ahrens discloses wherein the first device accesses the second network by being authenticated by the second network such that the first device is an authenticated device that is coupled to the second network from behind the firewall attached to the second network (col 4, lines 19-32 FIG. 1. A network architecture is provided that includes first and second enterprise networks 100 and 104 that have a federated relationship with one another. As will be appreciated, "federation" refers to two or more independent or autonomous administrator domains having some kind of an agreement or mutual policy governing how each domain will handle communications with one another. The domains may be associated with different entities, with an exemplary entity being a company, government, individual, service provider, and the like. Federated entities typically have a trusted relationship with one another. For example, two nodes in separate federated entities commonly use digital signature- or key-based validation techniques (e.g., a digital certificate) to implement the web-of-trust).
As per claim 19. Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes disclose the method of claim 12, Ishiyama discloses wherein the firewall separates the second network from external networks (0019 a communication system includes a first relay device located outside of a firewall; and a second relay device located within the firewall. The first relay device includes a first receiving unit configured to receive a request for acquiring information on an information processing device within the firewall from a communication device and receive the information acquired from the information processing device from the second relay device; a storage unit configured to store therein the acquisition request; and a first transmitting unit configured to transmit the acquisition request stored in the storage unit to the second relay device and transmit the information received from the second relay device to the communication device. The second relay device includes a second receiving unit configured to receive the acquisition request transmitted from the first relay device; an acquiring unit configured to acquire information requested by the acquisition request from the information processing device; and a second transmitting unit configured to transmit the acquired information to the first relay device) and the monitor system is located in front of the firewall attached to the second network ( Ahrens col 5, lines 55-67 and col 6, lines 1-5 Network monitoring devices 156 collect and optionally analyze network-related information, typically at OSI layers 2-4, to identify attacks. The devices 156 may be any suitable module, with sniffers and scanners being typical. Sniffers operate in a promiscuous mode, examining traffic that passes through on the local network. Sniffers are placed at strategic points in the network, such as in front of the firewall 124, behind the firewall 124, in the network 108, and in front of a host. Sniffers use pattern matching to try to match a packet against a known attack which is expressed as an "attack signature". Scanners look at log files for signs of attacks, which may be detected by inspecting a collection of packets).
As per claims 20,24 and 25, those claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claims 12,14 and 19 respectively.
As per claims 26,28 and 29, those claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claims 12,14 and 19 respectively.
Claim(s) 13,15-16, 23, 27, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama US 2014/0126463 and Ahrens et al US 8,230,505 in view of Fiennes US 9,402,281in view of El Mghazli et al US 2007/0178905.
As per claim 13. Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes disclose the method of claim 12, the combination does not disclose wherein the first device is a mobile device wirelessly introduced into the second network.
However, El Mghazli discloses wherein the first device is a mobile device wirelessly introduced into the second network( 0011 when a call has been set up between a mobile communication terminal and the core network via a first secure tunnel set up within the first wireless local area network between the mobile terminal and the first secure gateway and associated with authentication and security data, and if the mobile terminal enters an area of intersection between the radio coverage areas of the first and second wireless local area networks: [0012] effecting a procedure of pre-authentication of the mobile terminal, at the level of the IP layer, vis a vis the second security gateway, via the first secure tunnel, and using the same authentication and security data, [0013] then setting up a second secure tunnel between the mobile terminal and the second security gateway, [0014] then effecting an updating of mobility management information via the second secure tunnel, [0015] then proceeding to the transfer (or handover) between wireless local area networks by sending the second security gateway, via the second secure tunnel, a peer address updating message in respect of the mobile terminal, and [0016] authorizing between the mobile terminal and the core network the call to continue via the second secure tunnel.).
Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes and El Mghazli are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network protection by the firewall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ishiyama to incorporate the teachings of Ahrens, including the teaching of Fiennes, including the teaching of El Mghazli and provide a threat analysis system. Doing so would provide about the prediction of the threat bypass the firewall, thereby increasing protection for the network.
As per claim 15. Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes discloses the method of claim 12, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the first network is a wireless network that is separate from the second network.
However, El Mghazli discloses wherein the first network is a wireless network that is separate from the second network( 0011 when a call has been set up between a mobile communication terminal and the core network via a first secure tunnel set up within the first wireless local area network between the mobile terminal and the first secure gateway and associated with authentication and security data, and if the mobile terminal enters an area of intersection between the radio coverage areas of the first and second wireless local area networks: [0012] effecting a procedure of pre-authentication of the mobile terminal, at the level of the IP layer, vis a vis the second security gateway, via the first secure tunnel, and using the same authentication and security data, [0013] then setting up a second secure tunnel between the mobile terminal and the second security gateway, [0014] then effecting an updating of mobility management information via the second secure tunnel, [0015] then proceeding to the transfer (or handover) between wireless local area networks by sending the second security gateway, via the second secure tunnel, a peer address updating message in respect of the mobile terminal, and [0016] authorizing between the mobile terminal and the core network the call to continue via the second secure tunnel.).
Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes and El Mghazli are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network protection by the firewall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ishiyama to incorporate the teachings of Ahrens, including the teaching of El Mghazli and provide a threat analysis system. Doing so would provide about the prediction of the threat bypass the firewall, thereby increasing protection for the network.
As per claim 16. Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes discloses the method of claim 12, Ahrens discloses further comprising establishing a secure network tunnel between the monitor system and the first device over the first network, wherein the network communications of the one or more network vulnerability assessments pass through the secure network tunnel between the monitor system and the first device(col 5, lines 55-67 and col 6, lines 1-5 Network monitoring devices 156 collect and optionally analyze network-related information, typically at OSI layers 2-4, to identify attacks. The devices 156 may be any suitable module, with sniffers and scanners being typical. Sniffers operate in a promiscuous mode, examining traffic that passes through on the local network. Sniffers are placed at strategic points in the network, such as in front of the firewall 124, behind the firewall 124, in the network 108, and in front of a host. Sniffers use pattern matching to try to match a packet against a known attack which is expressed as an "attack signature". Scanners look at log files for signs of attacks, which may be detected by inspecting a collection of packets).
The combination does not disclose the tunneling in the wireless network.
However, El Mghazli discloses the tunneling in the wireless network([0011] This method consists in, when a call has been set up between a mobile communication terminal and the core network via a first secure tunnel set up within the first wireless local area network between the mobile terminal and the first secure gateway and associated with authentication and security data, and if the mobile terminal enters an area of intersection between the radio coverage areas of the first and second wireless local area networks: [0012] effecting a procedure of pre-authentication of the mobile terminal, at the level of the IP layer, vis a vis the second security gateway, via the first secure tunnel, and using the same authentication and security data ). Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes and El Mghazli are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network protection by the firewall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ishiyama to incorporate the teachings of Ahrens, including the teaching of El Mghazli and provide a threat analysis system. Doing so would provide about the prediction of the threat bypass the firewall, thereby increasing protection for the network.
As per claims 27,23 and 31, those claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claims 13, 16, and 16 respectively.
Claim(s) 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama US 2014/0126463 in view of Ahrens et al US 8,230,505in view of Fiennes US 9,402,281 in view of Kamdar et al US 2014/0112160.
As per claim 18. Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes disclose the method of claim 12, Ahrens discloses wherein during performing the one or more network vulnerability assessments, the method further comprises:
modifying the one or more network vulnerability assessments based on the monitored network latency (col 5, lines 55-67 and col 6, lines 1-5 Network monitoring devices 156 collect and optionally analyze network-related information, typically at OSI layers 2-4, to identify attacks. The devices 156 may be any suitable module, with sniffers and scanners being typical. Sniffers operate in a promiscuous mode, examining traffic that passes through on the local network. Sniffers are placed at strategic points in the network, such as in front of the firewall 124, behind the firewall 124, in the network 108, and in front of a host. Sniffers use pattern matching to try to match a packet against a known attack which is expressed as an "attack signature". Scanners look at log files for signs of attacks, which may be detected by inspecting a collection of packets).
The combination fails to disclose monitoring a network latency between the first device and the monitor system across the first network.
However, Kamdar discloses monitoring a network latency between the first device and the monitor system across the first network (0070 analysis server 230 may monitor network activity associated with a wireless band when user device 210 connects to a network associated with the wireless band. In some implementations, analysis server 230 may monitor network performance, such as bandwidth, latency, jitter, and/or some other information regarding network performance at intervals (e.g., 1 second, 5 second, 15 second, 30 second or some other interval) by tracking network activity between user device 210 and the network associated with the wireless band when user device 210 connects to the network via the wireless band to perform some task via an application of user device 210.).
Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes and Kamdar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network protection by the firewall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ishiyama to incorporate the teachings of Ahrens and Fiennes, including the teaching of Kamdar and provide a threat analysis system. Doing so would provide about the prediction of the threat bypass the firewall, thereby increasing protection for the network.
As per claims 21, those claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in the claims 18 respectively.
Claim(s) 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishiyama US 2014/0126463 in view of Ahrens et al US 8,230,505 in view of Fiennes US 9,402,281 and Bang US 2016/0300065.
As per claim 32. Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes disclose The method of claim 12, wherein the one or more network vulnerability assessments include at least one of a network-based scan, a host-based scan, a wireless scan, an application scan, a database scan, or a penetration test of the one or more secondary devices."
The combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more network vulnerability assessments include at least one of a network-based scan, a host-based scan, a wireless scan, an application scan, a database scan, or a penetration test of the one or more secondary devices."
However, Bang discloses wherein the one or more network vulnerability assessments include at least one of a network-based scan, a host-based scan, a wireless scan, an application scan, a database scan, or a penetration test of the one or more secondary devices.( [0029] Vulnerability optimization interface 152 may interact with program assessment module 140 toaccess vulnerability database 149 and scan identified vulnerabilities 104. Vulnerability optimization interface 152 may also transmit vulnerability reports 106 and prediction models to one or more business units 122a-n. Vulnerability optimization interface 152 may also facilitate communications with specialists using workstation 130 to indicate which identified vulnerabilities 104 in vulnerability database 149 have the highest priority as indicated by tagging program 158).
Ishiyama and Ahrens and Fiennes are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of network protection by the firewall, Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ishiyama to incorporate the teachings of Ahrens, including the teaching of Fiennes and Bang and provide a threat analysis system. Doing so would provide about the prediction of the threat bypass the firewall, thereby increasing protection for the network.
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496