DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed November 13th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-15, 18-19, 21-29, and 32-37 remain pending in the application. The amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(a) rejection and 112(b) rejection previously cited in the Non-Final rejection mailed August 13th, 2025. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 13-16, filed November 13th, 2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 19, and 33 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Rafalovich et al. (WO 9724565).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 12-15, 18-19, 21-22, 26-29, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US 20140338389), hereinafter Ma in view of Rafalovich et al. (US Patent No. 5,680,898), hereinafter Rafalovich '898, Rafalovich et al. (WO 9724565), hereinafter Rafalovich, and Parsonnet et al. (WO 2012135470), hereinafter Parsonnet.
Regarding claim 1, Ma discloses a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning ("HVAC") system for use with a refrigerant (Fig. 3, HVAC&R system 10; Pg. 2, paragraph 17, HVAC&R system 10 such that refrigerant R is configured to flow through inlet 48), the HVAC system comprising:
a compressor operable to compress the refrigerant (Fig. 3, compressor 12; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12);
a condenser positioned downstream of the compressor and configured to condense the refrigerant flowing therethrough (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts condenser 20 to be downstream of compressor 12; Further, the condenser 20 has the same structure as the claimed condenser and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
an evaporator positioned upstream of the compressor, the evaporator configured to vaporize the refrigerant flowing therethrough at an evaporation temperature (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts evaporator 32 to be upstream of the compressor 12; Further, the evaporator 32has the same structure as the claimed evaporator and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a thermal energy storage device ("TESD") including a single flow path through a thermal energy storage media and positioned in line between the condenser and the evaporator (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts thermal energy storage unit 40 which includes heat exchanger 46 to be positioned in line between condenser 20 and evaporator 32; Pg. 2, paragraph 17, The HVAC&R system 10 illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3 has been adapted to include a thermal energy storage (TES) unit 40 having an insulated storage tank 42, which contains an amount of a suitable phase change material 44, such as coconut oil for example. In one embodiment, the phase change material 44 can have melting temperatures (freeze temperatures) ranging from about 45 degrees Fahrenheit to about 85 degrees Fahrenheit such that the material 44 undergoes a solid to liquid phase change when heated and a liquid to solid phase change when cooled. A heat exchanger 46 is immersed within the phase change material 44 and is fluidly connected to the HVAC&R system 10 such that refrigerant R is configured to flow through inlet 48);
a TESD bypass flow path bypassing the TESD (See annotated Fig. 3 of Ma below, TESD bypass flow path A);
a TESD expansion device upstream of the TESD (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts the expansion device 60 to be disposed upstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40);
a TESD expansion device bypass flow path bypassing the TESD expansion device (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts TES inlet conduit 54 to bypass the expansion device 60 and not include an expansion device);
an evaporator expansion device positioned downstream of the TESD and upstream of the evaporator (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts expansion device 28 to be positioned downstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40 and upstream of the evaporator 32);
an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts conduit 64 to be positioned downstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40 and bypassing expansion device 28);
an evaporator bypass flow path bypassing the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator (Fig. 3, second TES outlet conduit 64; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 1); and
wherein the system is configured to:
operate in a charging mode to flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD expansion device to expand the refrigerant and at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD to charge the TESD with thermal energy and cool the TESD to a temperature below the evaporation temperature (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12);
operate in a discharge mode to flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD to discharge the thermal energy from the charged TESD to lower an enthalpy of the refrigerant, and at least a portion of the refrigerant from the TESD through the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the HVAC system by improving evaporation by the evaporator (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 20, In one embodiment, the HVAC&R system 10 is also configured to operate in a "discharge" mode, wherein the phase change material 44 is generally converted from a solid to a liquid. In the discharge mode, valves 52 and 66 are closed and valve 58 is open. In addition, the blower 21 (see FIG. 1) positioned adjacent the condenser 20 is off, such that the superheated vaporized refrigerant R passes through the condenser 20 generally without experiencing a change in temperature and/or pressure. In the discharge mode, all of the superheated vapor refrigerant passes from the conduit 26 through the first TES inlet conduit 54. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to a condenser such that heat from the refrigerant R transfers to the phase change material 44 in the storage tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R provided to the heat exchanger 46 generally has a temperature above the melting temperature of the phase change material 44. Cooled liquid refrigerant R from the outlet 50 of the heat exchanger 46 passes through the first TES outlet conduit 62 to the evaporator 32 to complete the vapor compression cycle within the HVAC&R system. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally open during the "discharge" mode); and
flow at least some of the refrigerant flow through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the charging mode (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12),
wherein the charging mode is distinct and separate from the discharge mode and the TESD is not in both modes at the same time (Pg. 2, paragraphs 20-21 of Ma describe distinct and separate operating modes for discharging and a charge and cool mode which are performed separately by opening and closing specific valves around the system).
However, Ma does not disclose an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator; and
a control system comprising a controller programmed to perform discharging and charging functions of the system.
Rafalovich ‘898 teaches the evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator (Fig. 3, conduit 231, conduit 234, valve 233; Col. 15-16, lines 63 and 9-15, In system 210 of FIG. 3 in cooling mode, charging cycle…The mainly gaseous refrigerant then flows through conduit 242, junction 240, conduit 234, and through valve 233 to conduit 231. From there it passes through junction 226 to conduit 224 and flows through first heat exchanger 230 (with fan 232 off such that heat losses are minimal). The mainly gaseous refrigerant then returns to compressor 212 by way of conduits 218 and 222; Further, being that the system is in cooling mode during the charging cycle of Fig. 3, first heat exchanger would be acting as the evaporator); and
a control system comprising a controller programmed to perform discharging and charging functions of the system (Fig. 3, controller 274; Col. 9, lines 21-23, Here again. Controller 274 manipulates valves 216, 233, 252 appropriately as indicated by dashed lines 276, 278, 280).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Ma of claim 1 to include an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator and control system comprising a controller programmed to perform discharging and charging functions of the system of Ma as taught by Rafalovich ‘898. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased flexibility in system flow to allow for a variety of modes of operation.
However, Ma as modified does not disclose the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path.
Rafalovich teaches the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path (See annotated Fig. 10 of Rafalovich below, evaporator bypass flow path D is positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path E and bypasses the metering valve 1022 and the indoor coil 1016; Pg. 62-63, lines 21-28 and 1-7; Air conditioning or refrigeration system 1010 can also be operated to store cooling capacity during off peak hours for on-peak recovery. For example, where the phase change material contained in thermal storage device 1018 is water, the water can be frozen and cooling capacity thus can be stored. In this cycle, referred to herein as a "charging cycle", valves 1024 and 1026 are closed, while valves 1028 and 1030 are open. Accordingly, refrigerant flows from compressor 1012 through outside coil 1014, metering device 1020 and thermal storage device 1018. Because valve 1028 is open, refrigerant bypasses metering device 1022. Because valve 1030 is open, refrigerant can flow through the second bypass line bypassing completely inside coil 1016 and returning directly to compressor 1012).
Ma as modified fails to teach the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path, however Rafalovich teaches that it is a known method in the art of HVAC systems with thermal energy storage devices to include an evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path. This is strong evidence that modifying Ma as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a variety of operating modes to improve overall system flexibility). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ma as modified by Rafalovich and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a variety of operating modes to improve overall system flexibility.
Further, Ma as modified does not disclose the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode, and
flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode.
Parsonnet teaches the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode (Fig. 5, parallel condenser discharge loop; Pg. 7, paragraph 25, In parallel condenser discharge mode, all basic air conditioning/refrigerant AC/R components are active including the compressor 110, condenser 112, evaporator expansion device 120, and the evaporator 114; Further, the teachings of Parsonnet having an active condenser during the discharge mode at least imply the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), and
flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode (Fig. 5, parallel condenser discharge loop; Pg. 7, paragraph 25, In parallel condenser discharge mode, all basic air conditioning/refrigerant AC/R components are active including the compressor 110, condenser 112, evaporator expansion device 120, and the evaporator 114. In this mode, the compressor 110 is energized to compress cold, low pressure refrigerant gas to hot, high-pressure gas. This refrigerant passes through valve VI 122 where a portion of the hot, high-pressure gas is diverted by valve VI 122 to the storage module 116 and heat exchanger 170, which acts as a condenser where the hot vapor rejects heat to the storage media 160, reduces temperature, and condenses. This warm liquid refrigerant is then sent to the evaporator expansion device 120 via valve V5 130 where it is mixed with warm liquid refrigerant exiting the condenser 112 via valve V3 126. The mixed warm liquid refrigerant is then expanded with the evaporator expansion device 120 and evaporator 114 to provide load cooling/refrigeration and returns to compressor 110 through valves V6 132 and V7 134 to complete the refrigeration loop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified to control the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode and flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode as taught by Parsonnet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow a greater amount of subcooling prior to the expansion process (Parsonnet, Pg. 7, paragraph 26).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Ma
Annotated Fig. 10 of Rafalovich
Regarding claim 3, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein when in the charging mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to flow through the evaporator bypass flow path and bypass the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator (Ma, Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12). Further, the limitations of claim 3 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose, wherein when in the charging mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and flow through the evaporator.
Rafalovich '898 teaches wherein when in the charging mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and flow through the evaporator (Fig. 3, Col. 15-16, lines 63 and 9-15, In system 210 of FIG. 3 in cooling mode, charging cycle…The mainly gaseous refrigerant then flows through conduit 242, junction 240, conduit 234, and through valve 233 to conduit 231. From there it passes through junction 226 to conduit 224 and flows through first heat exchanger 230 (with fan 232 off such that heat losses are minimal). The mainly gaseous refrigerant then returns to compressor 212 by way of conduits 218 and 222).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and flow through the evaporator as taught by Rafalovich '898. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification systems of Rafalovich regulate refrigerant flow through the first and second heat exchangers to achieve energy savings (Rafalovich '898, Col. 4, lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 6, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and flow through the TESD (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 20, In one embodiment, the HVAC&R system 10 is also configured to operate in a "discharge" mode, wherein the phase change material 44 is generally converted from a solid to a liquid. In the discharge mode, valves 52 and 66 are closed and valve 58 is open. In addition, the blower 21 (see FIG. 1) positioned adjacent the condenser 20 is off, such that the superheated vaporized refrigerant R passes through the condenser 20 generally without experiencing a change in temperature and/or pressure. In the discharge mode, all of the superheated vapor refrigerant passes from the conduit 26 through the first TES inlet conduit 54. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to a condenser such that heat from the refrigerant R transfers to the phase change material 44 in the storage tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R provided to the heat exchanger 46 generally has a temperature above the melting temperature of the phase change material 44. Cooled liquid refrigerant R from the outlet 50 of the heat exchanger 46 passes through the first TES outlet conduit 62 to the evaporator 32 to complete the vapor compression cycle within the HVAC&R system. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally open during the "discharge" mode). Further, the limitations of claim 6 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 9, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD and the TESD expansion device.
Rafalovich teaches wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD and the TESD expansion device (Fig. 11; Pg. 7 lines 1-7, For operation of the embodiment of Fig. 11 in the conventional cycle, valves 1124 and 1128 are closed to flow, while valve 1126 is open. Refrigerant exiting compressor passes through outside coil 1114, valve 1126, metering device 1122, and inside coil 1116, thus bypassing thermal storage device 1118. It then returns to compressor 1112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD and the TESD expansion device as taught by Rafalovich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased flexibility in system flow to allow for a variety of modes of operation.
Regarding claim 12, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator and flow through the compressor, the condenser, and the TESD to charge the TESD (Ma, Fig. 3, Pg. 2, paragraph 19, The HVAC&R system may be configured to operate in a "charge" mode, such as during off-peak periods of electrical demand for example, wherein heat from the refrigerant R is used to convert the phase change material 44 generally from a liquid to a solid. In a "charge" mode, valves 52 and 58 are generally closed such that liquid refrigerant R passes from the outlet 24 of the condenser 20 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46, through the second TES inlet conduit 56. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to an evaporator such that the cool, reduced pressure liquid and vapor refrigerant mixture from the expansion device 60 absorbs heat from the phase change material 44 in the tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R within the heat exchanger 46 during the charge mode generally has a temperature in the range of about 55 degrees Fahrenheit to about 75 degrees Fahrenheit. Because the refrigerant R vaporizes within the heat exchanger 46, valve 66 of conduit 64 is opened, so that the refrigerant R is configured to bypass the evaporator 32. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally closed during the "charge" mode). Further, the limitations of claim 12 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the compressor, the condenser, the evaporator expansion device, the evaporator, and the TESD comprise a circuit in a multi-circuit HVAC system, a plurality of remaining circuits optionally comprising TESDs (See annotated Fig. 3 of Ma below, main circuit B, remaining circuit C).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Ma
Regarding claim 14, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is programmed to direct the refrigerant flow through the TESD and through the evaporator and control the evaporator expansion device and the TESD expansion device to charge the TESD and also vaporize the refrigerant flowing through the evaporator (Ma, Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12). Further, the limitations of claim 14 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 15, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is programmed to control the TESD expansion device together with controlling the evaporator expansion device to control the charging of the TESD and vaporizing the refrigerant flowing through the evaporator (Ma, Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12). Further, the limitations of claim 15 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 18, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the controller is programmed to control the refrigerant flow based on at least one of a load on the HVAC system or surrounding environment (Ma, Pg. 2, paragraph 19, The HVAC&R system may be configured to operate in a "charge" mode, such as during off-peak periods of electrical demand for example, wherein heat from the refrigerant R is used to convert the phase change material 44 generally from a liquid to a solid). Further, the limitations of claim 15 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 19, Ma discloses a control system for a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning ("HVAC") system including a compressor, a condenser, and an evaporator to control temperature with a refrigerant, the HVAC system further including a thermal energy storage device (TESD) including a single flow path through a thermal energy storage media and positioned in line between the condenser and the evaporator, a TESD bypass flow path bypassing the TESD, a TESD expansion device upstream of the TESD, a TESD expansion device bypass flow path bypassing the TESD expansion device, an evaporator expansion device positioned downstream of the TESD and upstream of the evaporator, an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device, and an evaporator bypass flow path bypassing the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator (Fig. 3, HVAC&R system 10, compressor 12, condenser 20, evaporator 32, thermal energy storage unit 40, heat exchanger 46; expansion device 60, TES inlet conduit 54, expansion device 28, conduit 64; See annotated Fig. 3 of Ma below, TESD bypass flow path A; Pg. 2, paragraph 17, HVAC&R system 10 such that refrigerant R is configured to flow through inlet 48; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 1 Fig. 3 of Ma depicts thermal energy storage unit 40 which includes heat exchanger 46 to be positioned in line between condenser 20 and evaporator 32; Fig. 3 of Ma depicts the expansion device 60 to be disposed upstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40; Fig. 3 of Ma depicts TES inlet conduit 54 to bypass the expansion device 60 and not include an expansion device; Fig. 3 of Ma depicts expansion device 28 to be positioned downstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40 and upstream of the evaporator 32; Fig. 3 of Ma depicts conduit 64 to be positioned downstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40 and bypassing expansion device 28), the control system configured to:
operate in a charging mode to flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD expansion device to expand the refrigerant and at least a portion of the refrigerant flow through the TESD to charge the TESD with thermal energy and cool the TESD to a temperature below the evaporation temperature (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12);
operate in a discharge mode to flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD to discharge the thermal energy from the charged TESD to lower an enthalpy of the, and at least a portion of the refrigerant from the TESD to flow through the evaporator so as to improve a performance of the HVAC system by improving evaporation by the evaporator (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 20, In one embodiment, the HVAC&R system 10 is also configured to operate in a "discharge" mode, wherein the phase change material 44 is generally converted from a solid to a liquid. In the discharge mode, valves 52 and 66 are closed and valve 58 is open. In addition, the blower 21 (see FIG. 1) positioned adjacent the condenser 20 is off, such that the superheated vaporized refrigerant R passes through the condenser 20 generally without experiencing a change in temperature and/or pressure. In the discharge mode, all of the superheated vapor refrigerant passes from the conduit 26 through the first TES inlet conduit 54. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to a condenser such that heat from the refrigerant R transfers to the phase change material 44 in the storage tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R provided to the heat exchanger 46 generally has a temperature above the melting temperature of the phase change material 44. Cooled liquid refrigerant R from the outlet 50 of the heat exchanger 46 passes through the first TES outlet conduit 62 to the evaporator 32 to complete the vapor compression cycle within the HVAC&R system. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally open during the "discharge" mode); and
flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the charging mode (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12),
wherein refrigerant flow through the TESD is configured such that the charging mode is distinct and separate from the discharge mode and the TESD is not in both modes at the same time (Pg. 2, paragraphs 20-21 of Ma describe distinct and separate operating modes for discharging and a charge and cool mode which are performed separately by opening and closing specific valves around the system).
However, Ma does not disclose an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator; and
a control system comprising a controller programmed to perform discharging and charging functions of the system.
Rafalovich ‘898 teaches the evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator (Fig. 3, conduit 231, conduit 234, valve 233; Col. 15-16, lines 63 and 9-15, In system 210 of FIG. 3 in cooling mode, charging cycle…The mainly gaseous refrigerant then flows through conduit 242, junction 240, conduit 234, and through valve 233 to conduit 231. From there it passes through junction 226 to conduit 224 and flows through first heat exchanger 230 (with fan 232 off such that heat losses are minimal). The mainly gaseous refrigerant then returns to compressor 212 by way of conduits 218 and 222; Further, being that the system is in cooling mode during the charging cycle of Fig. 3, first heat exchanger would be acting as the evaporator); and
the control system comprising a controller programmed to perform discharging and charging functions of the system (Fig. 3, controller 274; Col. 9, lines 21-23, Here again. Controller 274 manipulates valves 216, 233, 252 appropriately as indicated by dashed lines 276, 278, 280).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Ma of claim 19 to include an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator and control system comprising a controller programmed to perform discharging and charging functions of the system of Ma as taught by Rafalovich ‘898. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased flexibility in system flow to allow for a variety of modes of operation.
However, Ma as modified does not disclose the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path.
Rafalovich teaches the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path (See annotated Fig. 10 of Rafalovich below, evaporator bypass flow path D is positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path E and bypasses the metering valve 1022 and the indoor coil 1016; Pg. 62-63, lines 21-28 and 1-7; Air conditioning or refrigeration system 1010 can also be operated to store cooling capacity during off peak hours for on-peak recovery. For example, where the phase change material contained in thermal storage device 1018 is water, the water can be frozen and cooling capacity thus can be stored. In this cycle, referred to herein as a "charging cycle", valves 1024 and 1026 are closed, while valves 1028 and 1030 are open. Accordingly, refrigerant flows from compressor 1012 through outside coil 1014, metering device 1020 and thermal storage device 1018. Because valve 1028 is open, refrigerant bypasses metering device 1022. Because valve 1030 is open, refrigerant can flow through the second bypass line bypassing completely inside coil 1016 and returning directly to compressor 1012).
Ma as modified fails to teach the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path, however Rafalovich teaches that it is a known method in the art of HVAC systems with thermal energy storage devices to include an evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path. This is strong evidence that modifying Ma as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a variety of operating modes to improve overall system flexibility). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ma as modified by Rafalovich and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a variety of operating modes to improve overall system flexibility.
Further, Ma as modified does not disclose the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode, and
flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode.
Parsonnet teaches the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode (Fig. 5, parallel condenser discharge loop; Pg. 7, paragraph 25, In parallel condenser discharge mode, all basic air conditioning/refrigerant AC/R components are active including the compressor 110, condenser 112, evaporator expansion device 120, and the evaporator 114; Further, the teachings of Parsonnet having an active condenser during the discharge mode at least imply the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), and
flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode (Fig. 5, parallel condenser discharge loop; Pg. 7, paragraph 25, In parallel condenser discharge mode, all basic air conditioning/refrigerant AC/R components are active including the compressor 110, condenser 112, evaporator expansion device 120, and the evaporator 114. In this mode, the compressor 110 is energized to compress cold, low pressure refrigerant gas to hot, high-pressure gas. This refrigerant passes through valve VI 122 where a portion of the hot, high-pressure gas is diverted by valve VI 122 to the storage module 116 and heat exchanger 170, which acts as a condenser where the hot vapor rejects heat to the storage media 160, reduces temperature, and condenses. This warm liquid refrigerant is then sent to the evaporator expansion device 120 via valve V5 130 where it is mixed with warm liquid refrigerant exiting the condenser 112 via valve V3 126. The mixed warm liquid refrigerant is then expanded with the evaporator expansion device 120 and evaporator 114 to provide load cooling/refrigeration and returns to compressor 110 through valves V6 132 and V7 134 to complete the refrigeration loop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified to control the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode and flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode as taught by Parsonnet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow a greater amount of subcooling prior to the expansion process (Parsonnet, Pg. 7, paragraph 26).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Ma
Annotated Fig. 10 of Rafalovich17
Regarding claim 21, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein when in the charging mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD (Ma, Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12). Further, the limitations of claim 21 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 22, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and flow through the TESD (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 20, In one embodiment, the HVAC&R system 10 is also configured to operate in a "discharge" mode, wherein the phase change material 44 is generally converted from a solid to a liquid. In the discharge mode, valves 52 and 66 are closed and valve 58 is open. In addition, the blower 21 (see FIG. 1) positioned adjacent the condenser 20 is off, such that the superheated vaporized refrigerant R passes through the condenser 20 generally without experiencing a change in temperature and/or pressure. In the discharge mode, all of the superheated vapor refrigerant passes from the conduit 26 through the first TES inlet conduit 54. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to a condenser such that heat from the refrigerant R transfers to the phase change material 44 in the storage tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R provided to the heat exchanger 46 generally has a temperature above the melting temperature of the phase change material 44. Cooled liquid refrigerant R from the outlet 50 of the heat exchanger 46 passes through the first TES outlet conduit 62 to the evaporator 32 to complete the vapor compression cycle within the HVAC&R system. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally open during the "discharge" mode). Further, the limitations of claim 22 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 23, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD and the TESD expansion device.
Rafalovich teaches wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD and the TESD expansion device (Fig. 11; Pg. 7 lines 1-7, For operation of the embodiment of Fig. 11 in the conventional cycle, valves 1124 and 1128 are closed to flow, while valve 1126 is open. Refrigerant exiting compressor passes through outside coil 1114, valve 1126, metering device 1122, and inside coil 1116, thus bypassing thermal storage device 1118. It then returns to compressor 1112).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD and the TESD expansion device as taught by Rafalovich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased flexibility in system flow to allow for a variety of modes of operation.
Regarding claim 26, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein when discharging the TESD, the controller is programmed to control at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD (Parsonnet, Fig. 5, parallel condenser discharge loop; Pg. 7, paragraph 25, In parallel condenser discharge mode, all basic air conditioning/refrigerant AC/R components are active including the compressor 110, condenser 112, evaporator expansion device 120, and the evaporator 114. In this mode, the compressor 110 is energized to compress cold, low pressure refrigerant gas to hot, high-pressure gas. This refrigerant passes through valve VI 122 where a portion of the hot, high-pressure gas is diverted by valve VI 122 to the storage module 116 and heat exchanger 170, which acts as a condenser where the hot vapor rejects heat to the storage media 160, reduces temperature, and condenses. This warm liquid refrigerant is then sent to the evaporator expansion device 120 via valve V5 130 where it is mixed with warm liquid refrigerant exiting the condenser 112 via valve V3 126. The mixed warm liquid refrigerant is then expanded with the evaporator expansion device 120 and evaporator 114 to provide load cooling/refrigeration and returns to compressor 110 through valves V6 132 and V7 134 to complete the refrigeration loop). Further, the limitations of claim 26 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 27, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the controller is programmed to control the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator and flow through the compressor, the condenser, and the TESD to charge the TESD (Ma, Fig. 3, Pg. 2, paragraph 19, The HVAC&R system may be configured to operate in a "charge" mode, such as during off-peak periods of electrical demand for example, wherein heat from the refrigerant R is used to convert the phase change material 44 generally from a liquid to a solid. In a "charge" mode, valves 52 and 58 are generally closed such that liquid refrigerant R passes from the outlet 24 of the condenser 20 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46, through the second TES inlet conduit 56. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to an evaporator such that the cool, reduced pressure liquid and vapor refrigerant mixture from the expansion device 60 absorbs heat from the phase change material 44 in the tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R within the heat exchanger 46 during the charge mode generally has a temperature in the range of about 55 degrees Fahrenheit to about 75 degrees Fahrenheit. Because the refrigerant R vaporizes within the heat exchanger 46, valve 66 of conduit 64 is opened, so that the refrigerant R is configured to bypass the evaporator 32. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally closed during the "charge" mode). Further, the limitations of claim 27 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 28, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the compressor, the condenser, the evaporator expansion device, the evaporator, and the TESD comprise a circuit in a multi-circuit HVAC system, a plurality of remaining circuits optionally comprising TESDs (See annotated Fig. 3 of Ma below, main circuit B, remaining circuit C).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Ma
Regarding claim 29, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the controller is programmed to direct the refrigerant flow through the TESD and through the evaporator and control the evaporator expansion device and the TESD expansion device to charge the TESD and also vaporize the refrigerant flowing through the evaporator (Ma, Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12). Further, the limitations of claim 29 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 32, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above), wherein the controller is programmed to control the refrigerant flow based on at least one of a load on the HVAC system or surrounding environment (Ma, Pg. 2, paragraph 19, The HVAC&R system may be configured to operate in a "charge" mode, such as during off-peak periods of electrical demand for example, wherein heat from the refrigerant R is used to convert the phase change material 44 generally from a liquid to a solid). Further, the limitations of claim 32 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Regarding claim 33, Ma discloses a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning ("HVAC") system for use with a refrigerant (Fig. 3, HVAC&R system 10; Pg. 2, paragraph 17, HVAC&R system 10 such that refrigerant R is configured to flow through inlet 48), the HVAC system co17321mprising:
a refrigerant circuit comprising (Fig. 3, HVAC&R system 10):
a compressor operable to compress the refrigerant (Fig. 3, compressor 12; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 12);
a condenser positioned downstream of the compressor and configured to condense the refrigerant flowing therethrough (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts condenser 20 to be downstream of compressor 12; Further, the condenser 20 has the same structure as the claimed condenser and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
an evaporator positioned upstream of the compressor, the evaporator configured to vaporize the refrigerant flowing therethrough at an evaporation temperature (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts evaporator 32 to be upstream of the compressor 12; Further, the evaporator 32has the same structure as the claimed evaporator and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a thermal energy storage device ("TESD") including a single flow path through a thermal energy storage media and positioned in line between the condenser and the evaporator (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts thermal energy storage unit 40 which includes heat exchanger 46 to be positioned in line between condenser 20 and evaporator 32; Pg. 2, paragraph 17, The HVAC&R system 10 illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3 has been adapted to include a thermal energy storage (TES) unit 40 having an insulated storage tank 42, which contains an amount of a suitable phase change material 44, such as coconut oil for example. In one embodiment, the phase change material 44 can have melting temperatures (freeze temperatures) ranging from about 45 degrees Fahrenheit to about 85 degrees Fahrenheit such that the material 44 undergoes a solid to liquid phase change when heated and a liquid to solid phase change when cooled. A heat exchanger 46 is immersed within the phase change material 44 and is fluidly connected to the HVAC&R system 10 such that refrigerant R is configured to flow through inlet 48);
a TESD bypass flow path bypassing the TESD (See annotated Fig. 3 of Ma below, TESD bypass flow path A);
a TESD expansion device upstream of the TESD (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts the expansion device 60 to be disposed upstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40);
a TESD expansion device bypass flow path bypassing the TESD expansion device (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts TES inlet conduit 54 to bypass the expansion device 60 and not include an expansion device);
an evaporator expansion device positioned downstream of the TESD and upstream of the evaporator (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts expansion device 28 to be positioned downstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40 and upstream of the evaporator 32);
an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device (Fig. 3 of Ma depicts conduit 64 to be positioned downstream of the thermal energy storage unit 40 and bypassing expansion device 28);
an evaporator bypass flow path bypassing the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator (Fig. 3, second TES outlet conduit 64; Pg. 2, paragraph 21, The system 10 illustrated in FIG. 3 may additionally 52 and include a "charge and cool" mode, where valves 66 are open and valves 58 and 68 are closed. A first portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the valve 58 in the conduit 26 to the expansion device 28. A second portion of the cool liquid refrigerant R is configured to flow through the expansion device 60 of the second TES inlet conduit 56 to the inlet 48 of the heat exchanger 46. The refrigerant R is configured to absorb heat from the phase change material 44 as it passes through the heat exchanger 46 such that the phase change material 44 transforms from a generally liquid state to a substantially solid state. The vaporized refrigerant R is provided to conduit 38, by way of the first TES outlet conduit 64, to be recirculated through the compressor 1); and
wherein the system is configured to:
operate in a discharge mode to flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD to discharge the thermal energy from the charged TESD to lower an enthalpy of the refrigerant, and at least a portion of the refrigerant from the TESD through the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the HVAC system by improving evaporation by the evaporator (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 20, In one embodiment, the HVAC&R system 10 is also configured to operate in a "discharge" mode, wherein the phase change material 44 is generally converted from a solid to a liquid. In the discharge mode, valves 52 and 66 are closed and valve 58 is open. In addition, the blower 21 (see FIG. 1) positioned adjacent the condenser 20 is off, such that the superheated vaporized refrigerant R passes through the condenser 20 generally without experiencing a change in temperature and/or pressure. In the discharge mode, all of the superheated vapor refrigerant passes from the conduit 26 through the first TES inlet conduit 54. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to a condenser such that heat from the refrigerant R transfers to the phase change material 44 in the storage tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R provided to the heat exchanger 46 generally has a temperature above the melting temperature of the phase change material 44. Cooled liquid refrigerant R from the outlet 50 of the heat exchanger 46 passes through the first TES outlet conduit 62 to the evaporator 32 to complete the vapor compression cycle within the HVAC&R system. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally open during the "discharge" mode).
However, Ma does not disclose an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator; and
a control system comprising a controller programmed to perform discharging and charging functions of the system.
Rafalovich ‘898 teaches the evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator (Fig. 3, conduit 231, conduit 234, valve 233; Col. 15-16, lines 63 and 9-15, In system 210 of FIG. 3 in cooling mode, charging cycle…The mainly gaseous refrigerant then flows through conduit 242, junction 240, conduit 234, and through valve 233 to conduit 231. From there it passes through junction 226 to conduit 224 and flows through first heat exchanger 230 (with fan 232 off such that heat losses are minimal). The mainly gaseous refrigerant then returns to compressor 212 by way of conduits 218 and 222; Further, being that the system is in cooling mode during the charging cycle of Fig. 3, first heat exchanger would be acting as the evaporator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Ma of claim 33 to include an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator as taught by Rafalovich ‘898. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased flexibility in system flow to allow for a variety of modes of operation.
However, Ma as modified does not disclose the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path.
Rafalovich teaches the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path (See annotated Fig. 10 of Rafalovich below, evaporator bypass flow path D is positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path E and bypasses the metering valve 1022 and the indoor coil 1016; Pg. 62-63, lines 21-28 and 1-7; Air conditioning or refrigeration system 1010 can also be operated to store cooling capacity during off peak hours for on-peak recovery. For example, where the phase change material contained in thermal storage device 1018 is water, the water can be frozen and cooling capacity thus can be stored. In this cycle, referred to herein as a "charging cycle", valves 1024 and 1026 are closed, while valves 1028 and 1030 are open. Accordingly, refrigerant flows from compressor 1012 through outside coil 1014, metering device 1020 and thermal storage device 1018. Because valve 1028 is open, refrigerant bypasses metering device 1022. Because valve 1030 is open, refrigerant can flow through the second bypass line bypassing completely inside coil 1016 and returning directly to compressor 1012).
Ma as modified fails to teach the evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path, however Rafalovich teaches that it is a known method in the art of HVAC systems with thermal energy storage devices to include an evaporator bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD bypass flow path. This is strong evidence that modifying Ma as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing a variety of operating modes to improve overall system flexibility). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ma as modified by Rafalovich and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing a variety of operating modes to improve overall system flexibility.
Further, Ma as modified does not disclose a secondary cooling circuit separate from the refrigerant flow of the refrigerant circuit comprising:
a charging compressor operable to compress a charging refrigerant;
a charging condenser positioned downstream of the charging compressor;
a charging expansion device downstream of the charging condenser; and
a charging refrigerant flow path configured to allow flow of the charging refrigerant from the charging expansion device through the thermal energy storage media in the TESD; and
a control system comprising a controller programmed to:
operate in a charging mode to flow the charging refrigerant through the secondary cooling circuit to charge the TESD with thermal energy and cool the TESD to a temperature below the evaporation temperature.
Rafalovich teaches a secondary cooling circuit separate from the refrigerant flow of the refrigerant circuit (Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts external charging loop 1910B to be separate from refrigeration system 1910A) comprising:
a charging compressor operable to compress a charging refrigerant (Fig. 19, compressor 1964; Pg. 97, lines 1-7, System 1910 also includes external charging loop 1910B for charging thermal storage device 1924. External charging loop includes compressor 1964, condenser 1966, metering device 1968, thermal exchange coil 1970 passing internal of thermal storage device 1924, all connected in series by external charging line 1972. Optional liquid refrigerant receiver 1971 may also be provided);
a charging condenser positioned downstream of the charging compressor (Fig. 19, condenser 1966; Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts condenser 1966 positioned downstream of the compressor 1964);
a charging expansion device downstream of the charging condenser (Fig. 19, metering device 1968; Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts metering device 1968 downstream of the condenser 1966); and
a charging refrigerant flow path configured to allow flow of the charging refrigerant from the charging expansion device through the thermal energy storage media in the TESD (Rafalovich, Fig. 19, thermal exchanger coil 1970; Further, the thermal exchanger coil 1970 has the same structure as the claimed charging refrigerant flow path and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed); and
a control system comprising a controller (Pg. 9, lines 13-15, and a controller for controlling flow through the bypass conduits) programmed to:
operate in a charging mode to flow the charging refrigerant through the secondary cooling circuit to charge the TESD with thermal energy and cool the TESD to a temperature below the evaporation temperature (Pg. 97, lines 10-17, In a conventional mode with charging of the thermal storage, valves 1944, 1951, and 1958 are open, valves 1948, 1952, 1956, 1961 and 1962 are closed, and compressor 1964 is energized. In this fashion, external charging loop 1910B will charge thermal storage device 1924 with negative thermal potential, while system 1910A simultaneously operates in a conventional cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Ma as modified to include a secondary cooling circuit separate from the refrigerant flow of the refrigerant circuit and a controller reprogrammed to control the charging and discharging operations of Ma as taught by Rafalovich. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for additional heat transfer capabilities to be retained in the TESD to improve overall system efficiencies.
Moreover, Ma as modified does not disclose the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode, and
flow at least some of the refrigerant flow through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode.
Parsonnet teaches the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode (Fig. 5,
parallel condenser discharge loop; Pg. 7, paragraph 25, In parallel condenser discharge mode, all basic air conditioning/refrigerant AC/R components are active including the compressor 110, condenser 112, evaporator expansion device 120, and the evaporator 114; Further, the teachings of Parsonnet having an active condenser during the discharge mode at least imply the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), and
flow at least some of the refrigerant flow through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode (Fig. 5, parallel condenser discharge loop; Pg. 7, paragraph 25, In parallel condenser discharge mode, all basic air conditioning/refrigerant AC/R components are active including the compressor 110, condenser 112, evaporator expansion device 120, and the evaporator 114. In this mode, the compressor 110 is energized to compress cold, low pressure refrigerant gas to hot, high-pressure gas. This refrigerant passes through valve VI 122 where a portion of the hot, high-pressure gas is diverted by valve VI 122 to the storage module 116 and heat exchanger 170, which acts as a condenser where the hot vapor rejects heat to the storage media 160, reduces temperature, and condenses. This warm liquid refrigerant is then sent to the evaporator expansion device 120 via valve V5 130 where it is mixed with warm liquid refrigerant exiting the condenser 112 via valve V3 126. The mixed warm liquid refrigerant is then expanded with the evaporator expansion device 120 and evaporator 114 to provide load cooling/refrigeration and returns to compressor 110 through valves V6 132 and V7 134 to complete the refrigeration loop).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified to control the condenser to condense the refrigerant in the discharge mode and flow at least some of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path to bypass the TESD in the discharge mode as taught by Parsonnet. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow a greater amount of subcooling prior to the expansion process (Parsonnet, Pg. 7, paragraph 26).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Ma
Annotated Fig. 10 of Rafalovich
Regarding claim 34, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 33 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 33 above), wherein in the discharge mode, the refrigerant is subcooled by the TESD such that the refrigerant is in liquid form when entering the evaporator expansion device (Fig. 3; Pg. 2, paragraph 20, In one embodiment, the HVAC&R system 10 is also configured to operate in a "discharge" mode, wherein the phase change material 44 is generally converted from a solid to a liquid. In the discharge mode, valves 52 and 66 are closed and valve 58 is open. In addition, the blower 21 (see FIG. 1) positioned adjacent the condenser 20 is off, such that the superheated vaporized refrigerant R passes through the condenser 20 generally without experiencing a change in temperature and/or pressure. In the discharge mode, all of the superheated vapor refrigerant passes from the conduit 26 through the first TES inlet conduit 54. The heat exchanger 46 operates in a manner similar to a condenser such that heat from the refrigerant R transfers to the phase change material 44 in the storage tank 42. In one embodiment, the refrigerant R provided to the heat exchanger 46 generally has a temperature above the melting temperature of the phase change material 44. Cooled liquid refrigerant R from the outlet 50 of the heat exchanger 46 passes through the first TES outlet conduit 62 to the evaporator 32 to complete the vapor compression cycle within the HVAC&R system. In embodiments where the first TES outlet conduit includes a valve 68, valve 68 is generally open during the "discharge" mode).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as modified by Rafalovich ‘898, Rafalovich, and Parsonnet, as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yasuo et al. (ES 2746562), hereinafter Yasuo.
Regarding claim 7, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose, wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator.
Yasuo teaches wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator (Fig. 10, Pg. 13 Lines 33-35 and 52-54, In the use heating operation (1) illustrated in Figure 10, the four-way switch valve (25) is in the second state, and the third solenoid valve (SV3) and the fifth solenoid valve (SV5) between the 1st to 6th solenoid valves (SV1-SV6) are open…the first decompression valve (EV1) and the external expansion valve (24) are fully open…This refrigerant flows through the primary heat storage channel (44) and is diverted to the first introduction tube (31) and the external heat exchanger (23). These refrigerants are fused together in the suction tube (28) and are brought to the compressor (22)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and the evaporator as taught by Yasuo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the decrease in the efficiency of an air conditioner and the deterioration of the comfort of a room with a low load of air conditioning (Yasuo, Pg. 2, lines 47-49).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as modified Rafalovich ‘898, Rafalovich, and Parsonnet, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goel et al. (US Patent No. 9,903,621), hereinafter Goel.
Regarding claim 8, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose, wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and flow through the evaporator.
Goel teaches wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is programmed to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and flow through the evaporator (Fig. 5c, Col. 7, lines 52-61, FIG. 5c illustrates a schematic of the system 100 operating in the discharge mode. In this mode, refrigerant 40 is circulated between the thermal battery 10 and the indoor unit 20. To switch the system 100 to the discharge mode, the control system 70 may close valves 36 and 38 and open valves 46 and 52 to direct the coolant from the thermal battery 10 to the indoor unit 20. A pump 48 in the refrigerant flow path may be used to pump the refrigerant 40 between the thermal battery 10 and the evaporator in the indoor unit 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Ma as modified to control a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the TESD expansion device and at least a portion of the refrigerant flow to bypass the evaporator expansion device and flow through the evaporator as taught by Goel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to cool a space when the power is expensive or not available (Goel, Col. 7, lines 64-66).
Claims 10-11 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma as modified Rafalovich ‘898, Rafalovich, and Parsonnet as applied to claims 9 and 23 above, respectively, and further in view of Ma (WO 2016077281), hereinafter Ma '281.
Regarding claim 10, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 9 (see combination of references used in the rejection of claim 9 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is further programmed to control operation of a pump to flow a fluid in a secondary cooling circuit separate from the HVAC system refrigerant flow and through the TESD to cool the fluid and then through a heat exchanger upstream of the evaporator with respect to airflow, with a cooled airflow from the heat exchanger flowing over the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the evaporator.
Ma ‘281 teaches wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is further programmed to control operation of a pump (Fig. 1, pump 46) to flow a fluid in a secondary cooling circuit (Fig. 1, subcooling circuit 40) separate from the HVAC system refrigerant flow and through the TESD to cool the fluid and then through a heat exchanger (Pg. 3, paragraph 14, return line 48 may include one or more heat exchangers (not shown) for cooling the PCM returning to TES unit 42) upstream of the evaporator with respect to airflow, with a cooled airflow from the heat exchanger flowing over the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the evaporator (Pg. 3, paragraph 14, Pump 46 supplies the cooled PCM slurry via line 44 to heat exchanger 54 to subcool the first portion of refrigerant passing therethrough; Pg. 3-4, paragraph 16, The refrigerant is subsequently lowered in temperature by cooled refrigerant in economizer line 66 and/or by cooled PCM circulating through subcooling circuit 40. The cooled refrigerant from line 64 is expanded via expansion device 58 and is subsequently utilized to chill the water passing through evaporator 60. The water chilled in evaporator 60 is then supplied via supply line 34 to serviced space 32, where the chilled water is used to cool an air supply that is distributed to space 32 at a selected supply air temperature. The chilled water is then directed back to evaporator 60 via return line 36 and bypass line 3 8 to repeat the cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Ma as modified to include the subcooling circuit as taught by Ma ‘281. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency and/or capacity of the air conditioning system (Ma ‘281, Pg. 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 11, Ma as modified discloses the HVAC system of claim 10 (see combination of references used in the rejection of claim 10 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose wherein subcooling the thermal energy storage media improves the performance of the evaporator by allowing the evaporator to operate more efficiently and without the need to further lower the pressure of the refrigerant.
Ma ‘281 teaches wherein subcooling the thermal energy storage media improves the performance of the evaporator by allowing the evaporator to operate more efficiently and without the need to further lower the pressure of the refrigerant (Pg. 3, paragraph 14, Pump 46 supplies the cooled PCM slurry via line 44 to heat exchanger 54 to subcool the first portion of refrigerant passing therethrough; Pg. 3-4, paragraph 16, The refrigerant is subsequently lowered in temperature by cooled refrigerant in economizer line 66 and/or by cooled PCM circulating through subcooling circuit 40. The cooled refrigerant from line 64 is expanded via expansion device 58 and is subsequently utilized to chill the water passing through evaporator 60. The water chilled in evaporator 60 is then supplied via supply line 34 to serviced space 32, where the chilled water is used to cool an air supply that is distributed to space 32 at a selected supply air temperature. The chilled water is then directed back to evaporator 60 via return line 36 and bypass line 38 to repeat the cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Ma as modified to include the subcooling circuit as taught by Ma ‘281. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency and/or capacity of the air conditioning system (Ma ‘281, Pg. 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 24, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 23 (see combination of references used in the rejection of claim 23 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose wherein when in the discharge mode, the controller is further programmed to control operation of a pump to flow a fluid in a secondary cooling circuit separate from the HVAC system refrigerant flow and through the TESD to cool the fluid and then through a heat exchanger upstream of the evaporator with respect to airflow, with a cooled airflow from the heat exchanger flowing over the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the evaporator.
Ma ‘281 teaches wherein when discharging the TESD, the controller is further programmed to control operation of a pump (Fig. 1, pump 46) to flow a fluid in a secondary cooling circuit (Fig. 1, subcooling circuit 40) separate from the HVAC system refrigerant flow and through the TESD to cool the fluid and then through a heat exchanger (Pg. 3, paragraph 14, return line 48 may include one or more heat exchangers (not shown) for cooling the PCM returning to TES unit 42) upstream of the evaporator with respect to airflow, with a cooled airflow from the heat exchanger flowing over the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the evaporator (Pg. 3, paragraph 14, Pump 46 supplies the cooled PCM slurry via line 44 to heat exchanger 54 to subcool the first portion of refrigerant passing therethrough; Pg. 3-4, paragraph 16, The refrigerant is subsequently lowered in temperature by cooled refrigerant in economizer line 66 and/or by cooled PCM circulating through subcooling circuit 40. The cooled refrigerant from line 64 is expanded via expansion device 58 and is subsequently utilized to chill the water passing through evaporator 60. The water chilled in evaporator 60 is then supplied via supply line 34 to serviced space 32, where the chilled water is used to cool an air supply that is distributed to space 32 at a selected supply air temperature. The chilled water is then directed back to evaporator 60 via return line 36 and bypass line 38 to repeat the cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Ma as modified to include the subcooling circuit as taught by Ma ‘281. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency and/or capacity of the air conditioning system (Ma ‘281, Pg. 1, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 25, Ma as modified discloses the control system of claim 24 (see combination of references used in the rejection of claim 24 above).
However, Ma as modified does not disclose wherein the performance of the evaporator is improved by allowing the evaporator to operate more efficiently and without the need to further lower the pressure of the refrigerant.
Ma ‘281 teaches wherein subcooling the thermal energy storage media improves the performance of the evaporator by allowing the evaporator to operate more efficiently and without the need to further lower the pressure of the refrigerant (Pg. 3, paragraph 14, Pump 46 supplies the cooled PCM slurry via line 44 to heat exchanger 54 to subcool the first portion of refrigerant passing therethrough; Pg. 3-4, paragraph 16, The refrigerant is subsequently lowered in temperature by cooled refrigerant in economizer line 66 and/or by cooled PCM circulating through subcooling circuit 40. The cooled refrigerant from line 64 is expanded via expansion device 58 and is subsequently utilized to chill the water passing through evaporator 60. The water chilled in evaporator 60 is then supplied via supply line 34 to serviced space 32, where the chilled water is used to cool an air supply that is distributed to space 32 at a selected supply air temperature. The chilled water is then directed back to evaporator 60 via return line 36 and bypass line 3 8 to repeat the cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control system of Ma as modified to include the subcooling circuit as taught by Ma ‘281. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to improve efficiency and/or capacity of the air conditioning system (Ma ‘281, Pg. 1, paragraph 2).
Notice of Reasons for Allowance
Claims 35-37 are allowed.
Regarding claim 35, the prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set
forth in the independent claims, and specifically does not disclose the following: the control system programmed to: operate in a discharge mode to flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path and through the evaporator and also control operation of the cooling pump to flow the cooling fluid through the TESD to cool the cooling fluid and then through the heat exchanger, with the cooled airflow from the heat exchanger flowing over the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the evaporator.
Although the closest prior art of record, Rafalovich et al. {WO 9724565), hereinafter Rafalovich in view of Rafalovich et al. {US Patent No. 5,680,898), hereinafter Rafalovich '898 and Kozubal et al. {US20180340738), hereinafter Kozubal disclose a heating, ventilation, and air-conditioning ("HVAC") system (Fig. 19, system 1910) for use with a refrigerant (Rafalovich, Pg. 96, lines 10-12, Valve 1951 may also be provided to selectively stop refrigerant flow through condenser 1920), the HVAC system comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (Fig. 19, refrigeration system 1910A) comprising:
a compressor (Fig. 19, compressor 1918, 1916, 1914, 1912) operable to compress the refrigerant (the compressors of Rafalovich have the same structure as the claimed compressor and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a condenser (Fig. 19, condenser 1920) positioned downstream of the compressor and configured to condense the refrigerant flowing therethrough (Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts condenser 1920 positioned downstream of the compressors 1918, 1916, 1914, 1912; Further, the condenser 1920 of Rafalovich have the same structure as the claimed condenser and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
an evaporator positioned upstream of the compressor (Fig. 19, evaporator 1930; Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts evaporator 1930 positioned upstream of compressors 1918, 1916, 1914, 1912), the evaporator configured to vaporize the refrigerant flowing therethrough at an evaporation temperature (the evaporator 1930 of Rafalovich has the same structure as the claimed evaporator and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
a thermal energy storage device ("TESD") (Fig. 19, thermal storage device 1924) including a thermal energy storage media (Pg. 16, lines 3-4, a thermal storage device including a thermal storage medium) and positioned in line between the condenser and the evaporator (Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts thermal storage device 1924 to be positioned between condenser 1920 and evaporator 1930);
a TESD bypass flow path (See annotated Fig. 19 of Rafalovich below, TESD bypass flow path B) bypassing the TESD ((See annotated Fig. 19 of Rafalovich below, TESD bypass flow path Bis shown bypassing thermal storage device 1924);
a TESD expansion device upstream of the TESD (Fig. 19, metering device 1922; Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts metering device 1922to be upstream of thermal storage device 1924);
a TESD expansion device bypass flow path bypassing the TESD expansion device (Fig. 19, bypass line 1959);
an evaporator expansion device positioned downstream of the TESD and upstream of the evaporator (Fig. 19, metering device 1928; Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts metering device 1928 positioned downstream of thermal storage device 1924 and upstream of evaporator 1930);
a secondary cooling circuit (Rafalovich, Fig. 19, external charging loop 1910B) separate from the refrigerant flow of the refrigerant circuit (Fig. 19 of Rafalovich depicts external charging loop 1910B to be separate from refrigeration system 1910A) comprising:
a cooling pump (Rafalovich, Fig. 19, compressor 1964; Further, compressor 1964 is broadly interpreted to be functionally equivalent to a cooling pump) operable to flow a cooling fluid through the secondary cooling circuit (Rafalovich, Pg. 97, lines 1-7, System 1910 also includes external charging loop 1910B for charging thermal storage device 1924. External charging loop includes compressor 1964, condenser 1966, metering device 1968, thermal exchange coil 1970 passing internal of thermal storage device 1924, all connected in series by external charging line 1972. Optional liquid refrigerant receiver 1971 may also be provided);
cooling fluid flow path configured to allow flow of the cooling fluid from the cooling pump through the thermal energy storage media in the TESD (Rafalovich, Fig. 19, thermal exchanger coil 1970; Further, the thermal exchanger coil 1970 has the same structure as the claimed charging refrigerant flow path and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed); and
a heat exchanger (Rafalovich, Fig. 19, condenser 1966).
However, Rafalovich does not disclose an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator.
Rafalovich '898 teaches an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator (Fig. 3, conduit 231, conduit 234, valve 233; Col. 15-16, lines 63 and 9-15, In system 210 of FIG. 3 in cooling mode, charging cycle ... The mainly gaseous refrigerant then flows through conduit 242, junction 240, conduit 234, and through valve 233 to conduit 231. From there it passes through junction 226 to conduit 224 and flows through first heat exchanger 230 (with fan 232 off such that heat losses are minimal). The mainly gaseous refrigerant then returns to compressor 212 by way of conduits 218 and 222; Further, being that the system is in cooling mode during the charging cycle of Fig. 3, first heat exchanger would be acting as the evaporator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HVAC system of Rafalovich of claim 35 to include an evaporator expansion device bypass flow path positioned downstream of the TESD and bypassing the evaporator expansion device while allowing flow through the evaporator as taught by Rafalovich '898. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for increased flexibility in system flow to allow for a variety of modes of operation.
However, Rafalovich as modified does not the close the heat exchanger to be upstream of the evaporator with respect to airflow.
Kozubal teaches the heat exchanger to be upstream of the evaporator with respect to airflow (Fig. 7, first coil 110 is upstream of second coil 710 with respect to air flow 105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heat exchanger of Rafalovich as modified to be upstream of the evaporator with respect to airflow as taught by Kozubal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because by operating the embodiment described in FIG. 7 in three different modes of operation, the process may be made more efficient (Kozubal, Pg. 5, paragraph 77).
Rafalovich as modified further discloses a control system comprising a controller (Rafalovich, Pg. 9, lines 13-15, and a controller for controlling flow through the bypass conduits).
However, Rafalovich as modified does not disclose the control system programmed to:
operate in a charging mode to flow all of the refrigerant through the TESD expansion device to expand the refrigerant and through the TESD to charge the TESD with thermal energy and cool the TESD and flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the evaporator bypass flow path.
Kozubal teaches the control system programmed to:
operate in a charging mode to flow all of the refrigerant through the TESD expansion device to expand the refrigerant and through the TESD to charge the TESD with thermal energy and cool the TESD and flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the evaporator bypass flow path (Pg. 5, paragraph 77, During the second operation, heat is added to the PCC 140 by the first fluid 120, which removed heat from the first airflow 105. In this operation the PCC 140 is "charged" as the amount of thermal energy in the PCC 140 is increase; Pg. 6, paragraph 78, In this embodiment, the first airflow 105 may be simultaneously heated (by the second fluid 145 in the second coil 610) and cooled (by the first fluid 120 in the first coil 110). The first airflow 105 may also be independently heated or cooled by the multicircuit heating and cooling system 700. The direction of flow of the first fluid 120 and the second fluid 145 may be switched as needed based on whether the multi-circuit heating and cooling system 700 is heating the first airflow 105 or cooling the second airflow 105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reprogram the controller of Rafalovich as modified to charge the system as taught by Kozubal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this to provide a variety of operating modes to improve overall system efficiencies (Kozubal, Pg. 5, paragraph 77).
However, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art to provide the control system programmed to: operate in a discharge mode to flow at least a portion of the refrigerant through the TESD bypass flow path and through the evaporator and also control operation of the cooling pump to flow the cooling fluid through the TESD to cool the cooling fluid and then through the heat exchanger, with the cooled airflow from the heat exchanger flowing over the evaporator so as to improve the performance of the evaporator, in combination with all other claimed features.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Ma
Claims 36-37 are also allowed by virtue of their dependency on claim 35.
of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such
submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 November 25th, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763