DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's arguments filed 12-3-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 2, 3, 5-8, 15-20, 30 have been canceled. Claims 1, 4, 9-14, 21-29 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants elected Group I, claims 1-15, without traverse in the reply filed on 10-25-23. Claims 1, 4, 9-14, 21-29 remain under consideration.
Priority
This application claims benefit of priority from US provisional application No. 62/270,094, filed December 21, 2015. Contrary to the statement in the office action sent 9-5-25, page 1 of the specification correctly identifies the filing date as December 21, 2015.
Specification
The objections to the disclosure have been withdrawn. The examiner was reading a “optical character recognition” (OCR) version which clearly had numerous errors.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 can be written more simply to avoid redundancies and ellipses:
The phrase “determining the identity” in the preamble can be written more simply as ---identifying---.
The preamble and final step of claim 1 still don’t have a nexus. The preamble requires identifying an antibody and antigen, but the final steps do not. The phrase “to determine…” in the phrase “sequencing nucleic acids from the one or more lysed ASCs to determine the identity of the one or more antibodies” in step h) is an intended use and does not necessarily result in identify an antigen of interest. The phrase “to determine…” in the phrase “sequencing the nucleic acid of the (poly)peptide-nucleic acid complex… …to determine the identity of the one or more respective antigens” is an intended use and does not necessarily result in identify an antigen of interest.
The phrase “distributing a sample comprising one or more antibody secreting cells (ASCs)” in step a) of claim 1 can be written more simply as ---distributing one or more antibody secreting cells (ASCs)”.
The phrase “plurality of” in the phrase “plurality of microfluidic chambers” in step a) of claim 1 is redundant because “chambers” is already plural.
The concept of distributing “one [or more] ASCs into…microfluidic chambers [plural] in step a) of claim 1 does not make sense because one ASC cannot be distributed into a plurality of chambers as claimed.
The phrase “to provide a plurality of subsamples” in step a) of claim 1 is an intended use and does not necessarily have to occur. It is also unclear how it further limits ---distributing antibody secreting cells (ASCs) in microfluidic chambers---.
The phrase “wherein each microfluidic chamber of the plurality of microfluidic chambers contains a single ASC” in step a) should be clearly set forth in the “distributing”, e.g. ---distributing a single antibody secreting cell (ASC) into each of a plurality of microfluidic chambers---.
If there is a culture step between “distributing” in step a) and capturing antibodies in step b) of claim 1, then the culturing step is missing from claim 1.
Step b) of claim 1 is not succinct and fails to refer to capturing antibodies secreted by the ASC. The phrase “capturing antibodies, present in one or more of the plurality of subsamples, on a solid substrate in one or more of the containers plurality of microfluidic chambers, to provide producing captured antibodies thereby” can be written more accurately and simply as ---capturing antibodies secreted by the ASC---.
If the “solid substrate” in step b) is within the microfluidic chamber, then much clarification will be required.
The active step of “exposing” captured antibodies to a library of “display particles” in step c) of claim 1 makes the claim unclear because it is unclear what applicants mean by “display particles”. If they are peptides, then say what you mean.
The container with the “captured antibodies” is exposed to “a plurality of display particles comprising an antigen display library” in step c) of claim 1, but it is unclear when “display particles” have “an antigen display library” or when “an antigen display library” is within the genus of “display particles”. The phrase “antigen display library” has a well-known meaning as a collection of genetically engineered microorganisms (bacteriophages or bacteria) that display a vast diversity of peptides, proteins, or cDNA-encoded antigens. However, the structures/functions associated with a “display particles” comprising “antigen display library”, wherein the “display particles comprise a polypeptide-nucleic acid complex, wherein the polypeptide is an antigen and the nucleic is used to determine the identity of the antigen” cannot be determined. If applicants are simply trying to say the captured antibodies are exposed to an “antigen display library”, then just say that.
If the “antigen display library” in step c) is something more than just microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then clearly set the structure out. But since an “antigen display library” was well-known as being limited to microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then it is unclear how they can comprise an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen”. Overall, the structure of a “display particle” comprising an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen” (and probably a microorganism) cannot be envisioned. Regardless, the structure of each display particle is missing from the claim.
There is no nexus between exposing “captured antibodies” to one or more “display particle” or “an antigen display library” and “sequencing an antibody nucleic acid” because there are no “antibody nucleic acids” associated with the “captured antibodies”.
There is no nexus between exposing “antibody nucleic acid” and an “antigen binding fragment thereof” because the nucleic acid encoding the antibody does not have bind antigens.
The claim set as a whole remains extremely confusing and requires extensive clarification because of redundancies, illogical steps and reagents, typographical and grammatical errors, and general indefiniteness (see 112/2nd below).
Response to arguments
Applicants’ comments are noted but do not adequately address the objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claims 1, 4, 9-14, 21-29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 is essentially drawn to:
a) distributing single ASC into each of a number of microfluidic chambers;
b) capturing antibodies from the APC obtained in step a);
c) exposing the captured antibodies in one or more of the plurality of microfluidic chambers to plurality of display particles each comprising an antigen and a nucleic acid used to identify the antigen (and a microorganism) such that display particles bind to the captured antibodies;
d) washing the solid substrate obtained in step c) such that unbound display particles are removed; and
e) identifying one or more microfluidic chambers containing a captured antibody bound to a display particle;
f) lysing ASCs present in a microfluidic chamber containing the captured antibody bound to the display particle;
g) sequencing the nucleic acid sequence “used to identify the antigen” in each chamber identified in step f).
The specification lacks written description for any “antibody secreting cell” that produces an antibody as broadly encompassed by claim 1 other than a terminally differentiated B-cell having undergone rearrangement of antibody genes – the B-cell is capable of secreting antibodies. The specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach any other cells that secrete antibodies. Therefore, the breadth lacks written description other than B-cells.
Step a) of claim 1 lacks written description because it requires a sample of “one or more antibody secreting cells (ASCs)” [plural] in a plurality of microfluidic chambers, wherein each chamber “contains a single ASC” [singular]. One ASC cannot be a plurality of cells as claimed. Therefore, the concept lacks written description.
Step c) lacks written description because the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach when a “plurality of display particles” comprises an “antigen display library”. The container with the “captured antibodies” is exposed to “a plurality of display particles comprising an antigen display library” in step c) of claim 1, but it is unclear when “display particles” have “an antigen display library” or when “an antigen display library” is within the genus of “display particles”. The phrase “antigen display library” has a well-known meaning as a collection of genetically engineered microorganisms (bacteriophages or bacteria) that display a vast diversity of peptides, proteins, or cDNA-encoded antigens. However, the structures/functions associated with a “display particles” comprising “antigen display library”, wherein the “display particles comprise a polypeptide-nucleic acid complex, wherein the polypeptide is an antigen and the nucleic is used to determine the identity of the antigen” cannot be determined. If applicants are simply trying to say the captured antibodies are exposed to an “antigen display library”, then just say that.
If the “antigen display library” in step c) is something more than just microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then clearly set the structure out. But since an “antigen display library” was well-known as being limited to microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then it is unclear how they can comprise an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen”.
Most importantly, the specification fails to provide written description for display particles comprising an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen” (and probably a microorganism). Such a “display particle” cannot be envisioned, is not taught in the specification, and is not taught in the art at the time of filing. At best, pg 25, para 60, contemplates a complex where an antigen is bound to “its nucleic acid coding sequence, or a DNA or RNA that can be used to determined its identity (sometimes referred to as a “barcode” sequence”; however, the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach how to make any such complex or how to bind an antigen to a “barcode” of its nucleic acid coding sequence. The specification does not teach that an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex as required in step c) can functionally bind an antibody because the antigen binding site may be blocked by the cDNA “barcode”. Regardless, the specific structure of each display particle is missing from the claim. The microorganism that displays them is missing from the claim. It is unclear how the particle can display both an antigen and a nucleic acid for determining the identity of the antigen. Accordingly, the concept lacks written description.
Step c) also lacks written description for the antibody “interacting” with any portion of any “display particles” as broadly encompassed by step c) other than the antigen displayed on the phage or other organism.
Step d) lacks written description because it never requires capturing an antigen bound to an antibody. If the antigen must be bound to a “barcode”, then the step never requires capturing an antigen/“barcode” complex bound to an antibody. The specification does not teach that an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex as required in step c) can functionally bind an antibody because the antigen binding site may be blocked by the cDNA “barcode”, so it’s impossible to determine how to capture an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex functionally bound to an antibody.
Step e) lacks written description because it requires washing “the solid substrate to remove unbound display particles”, but the claim does not require any “solid substrate”, so it’s impossible to determine how to wash it away. Furthermore, the specification fails to teach how to distinguish “display particles” that are bound vs. unbound as claimed, so it’s impossible to determine how to separate them by a “wash”.
Step f) lacks written description because “identifying one or more microfluidic chambers containing at least one of the plurality of captured display particles” because step e) does not require capturing display particles in a microfluidic chamber.
Step g) lacks written description because there is no requirement that the ASCs in one container all have the same genome and encode the same antibodies. Since B-cells with the same genome are capable of antibody gene segment rearrangement, the ASCs in one container all have the same genome and encode the same antibodies because they have different rearrangements of the same genome. It is unclear whether B-cells are cloned before being put into a container. It is unclear whether they are exposed to all peptides of the library or one peptide at a time. It is unclear how to fish out one antibody that binds the peptide within a multitude of captured antibodies in a container. It is unclear how to determine the coding sequence from whence the antibody that binds the peptide came. The specification and figures have been reviewed as best as possible, but there is no place that addresses these discrepancies in the basic concepts contemplated in claim 1. Without such guidance in the specification or the art at the time of filing, step g) of claim 1 does not logically flow and lacks written description.
Step h) lacks written description because there is no way to associate the captured antibody that binds a specific peptide from the library to a nucleic acid sequence encoding the antibody. The specification lacks written description for sequencing nucleic acids encoding antibodies when there are no nucleic acid sequences encoding the antibody associated with the captured antibody that binds peptides from the library.
Similarly, step i) lacks written description because there is no way to sequence nucleic acids encoding antigens when there are no nucleic acid sequences encoding antigens present in the library; they are just antigens. There is no way to determine the nucleic acid sequence encoding the antigen when the antigen is bound to the antibody.
Claims 4, 9-14, 21-30 have been included because they do not clarify the reagents, logic, protocol, or ability to sequence nucleic acids from captured antibodies as claimed. In particular, new independent claim 21 is rejected for reasons set forth in claim 1.
Claim 9 requires expanding the ASCs prior to step a) which is contemplated on pg 17, para 36-37.
Claim 10 requires expanding the ASCs prior to step b) which is contemplated on pg 17, para 36-37.
The specification lacks written description for performing an antibody affinity or specific assay on ASCs in a microfluidic chamber before exposing them to an antigen display library in the same chamber as encompassed by claim 22 and required in claim 24 or in a different chamber as encompassed by claim 22 and required in claim 25. The concept is contemplated on pg 39, para 111, without providing the protocols and reagents to do so. It is unclear how to take measurements after any reagents are added to the chamber to determine whether the chamber contains ASCs with any desired antibody. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest by performing an assay while they are in the microfluidic chamber. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest in a microfluidic chamber by taking them out of the chamber and performing the assay(or putting them back into the microfluidic chamber after the assay). The specification does not teach how to separate any subpopulation of ASCs of interest while they are in the chamber (if that is part of the assay and method). Thus the concept lacks written description.
Claim 23 requires performing an ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay after distributing ASCs to microfluidic chambers but before capturing antibodies from the ASCs. It is unclear how to take measurements after any reagents for an ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay are added to the chamber to determine whether the chamber contains ASCs with any desired antibody. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest by performing an ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay while they are in the microfluidic chamber. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest in a microfluidic chamber by taking them out of the chamber and performing the ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay (or putting them back into the microfluidic chamber after the assay).
Claims 28, 29 require treating cells with Epstein barr virus, CD40L, a toll-like agonist…. for expansion of the ASCs; however, the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach how such reagents would expand ASCs. Epstein barr virus would kill the cell. A toll-like agonist would cause a heightened state of immune readiness but would not expand the ASCs. Etc. Thus the concept lacks written description.
Response to arguments
Applicants point to para 24, 28 for ASCs being “ASC precursors, plasma cells, plasmablasts, etc.”. Applicants’ argument is not persuasive because the ASCs must express antibodies in claim 1, and only B-cells express antibodies.
Applicants point to Huang for the display particles. Applicants’ argument is not persuasive. Huang is limited to display particles that are beads coated with various DNA sequences encoding various peptides, but the claims are not. The claims require display particles comprising an antigen and a nucleic acid for identifying the antigen, but Huang does not teach this concept. Step 2 of Huang involves in vitro transcription/translation of the DNA on the bead which results in the DNA being transcribed and expressed, but this requires streptavidin binding peptide (SBP) which will cause the antigen to “attach to the bead as soon as it is translated resulting [in] the formation of a protein-DNA-bead complex”, but this is not clearly set forth in the claim.
Applicants point to para 81 for step f), but it does not address the issue raised in the rejection. Para 81 discusses using detection reagents to determine which chambers have “display particles” bound to antibodies, but those structures are completely missing from the claim. There are no specific protocols or reagents for distinguishing microfluidic chambers that have antigen/“barcode” cDNA complexes on “display” that are bound to an antibody, especially in a mixed population of ASCs in the chamber as broadly encompassed by claims 1 and 21.
Applicants (again) point to paragraphs 55-56, 121-129. Applicants’ argument were not and are not persuasive. Paragraphs 55, 56 relate to “functionalized substrate such as functionalized beads”; however, claims 1 or 21 make no such requirement for any “functionalized substrate”. Para 121-129 discuss cytotoxicity, ADCC, cell growth modulation, et al. assays; however, the specification does not teach how to do them in a mixed population of ASCs as broadly encompassed by claim 1. Nor does the specification teach how to do the assays in microfluidic chambers as claimed.
Applicants point to para 60-61 which are not persuasive for reasons set forth above. The paragraphs relate to antigen/“barcode” cDNA complexes on a substrate; however, no such requirement is made in claim 1 or 21. Nor does the specification does not teach how to use antigen/“barcode” cDNA complexes on a display library in a mixed population of ASCs as broadly encompassed by claim 1.
Applicants argue affinity and functional assays for ASCs were well-known (pg 16-17 of the response). Applicants’ argument is not persuasive. The rejection is based on performing the assays in the microfluidic chamber after exposing the bound antibodies to the display particles, which was not contemplated in the specification.
Enablement
Claims 1, 4, 9-14, 21-29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 1 and the Examiner’s best guess as to the essence of the claim is described above.
The specification does not enable any “antibody secreting cell” that produces an antibody as broadly encompassed by claim 1 other than a terminally differentiated B-cell having undergone rearrangement of antibody genes – the B-cell is capable of secreting antibodies. The specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach any other cells that secrete antibodies.
Step a) of claim 1 is not enabled because it requires a sample of “one or more antibody secreting cells (ASCs)” [plural] in a plurality of microfluidic chambers, wherein each chamber “contains a single ASC” [singular]. One ASC cannot be a plurality of cells as claimed.
Step c) is not enabled because the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach when a “plurality of display particles” comprises an “antigen display library”. The container with the “captured antibodies” is exposed to “a plurality of display particles comprising an antigen display library” in step c) of claim 1, but it is unclear when “display particles” have “an antigen display library” or when “an antigen display library” is within the genus of “display particles”. The phrase “antigen display library” has a well-known meaning as a collection of genetically engineered microorganisms (bacteriophages or bacteria) that display a vast diversity of peptides, proteins, or cDNA-encoded antigens. However, the structures/functions associated with a “display particles” comprising “antigen display library”, wherein the “display particles comprise a polypeptide-nucleic acid complex, wherein the polypeptide is an antigen and the nucleic is used to determine the identity of the antigen” cannot be determined. If applicants are simply trying to say the captured antibodies are exposed to an “antigen display library”, then just say that.
If the “antigen display library” in step c) is something more than just microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then clearly set the structure out. But since an “antigen display library” was well-known as being limited to microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then it is unclear how they can comprise an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen”.
Most importantly, the specification fails to enable making/using display particles comprising an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen” (and probably a microorganism). Such a “display particle” cannot be envisioned, is not taught in the specification, and is not taught in the art at the time of filing. At best, pg 25, para 60, contemplates a complex where an antigen is bound to “its nucleic acid coding sequence, or a DNA or RNA that can be used to determined its identity (sometimes referred to as a “barcode” sequence”; however, the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach how to make any such complex or how to bind an antigen to a “barcode” of its nucleic acid coding sequence. The specification does not teach that an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex as required in step c) can functionally bind an antibody because the antigen binding site may be blocked by the cDNA “barcode”. Regardless, the specific structure of each display particle is missing from the claim. The microorganism that displays them is missing from the claim. It is unclear how the particle can display both an antigen and a nucleic acid for determining the identity of the antigen.
Step c) is not enabled an antibody “interacting” with any portion of any “display particles” as broadly encompassed by step c) other than the antigen displayed on the phage or other organism.
Step d) is not enabled because it never requires capturing an antigen bound to an antibody. If the antigen must be bound to a “barcode”, then the step never requires capturing an antigen/“barcode” complex bound to an antibody. The specification does not teach that an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex as required in step c) can functionally bind an antibody because the antigen binding site may be blocked by the cDNA “barcode”, so it’s impossible to determine how to capture an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex functionally bound to an antibody.
Step e) is not enabled because it requires washing “the solid substrate to remove unbound display particles”, but the claim does not require any “solid substrate”, so it’s impossible to determine how to wash it away. Furthermore, the specification fails to teach how to distinguish “display particles” that are bound vs. unbound as claimed, so it’s impossible to determine how to separate them by a “wash”.
Step f) is not enabled because “identifying one or more microfluidic chambers containing at least one of the plurality of captured display particles” because step e) does not require capturing display particles in a microfluidic chamber.
Step g) is not enabled because there is no requirement that the ASCs in one container all have the same genome and encode the same antibodies. Since B-cells with the same genome are capable of antibody gene segment rearrangement, the ASCs in one container all have the same genome and encode the same antibodies because they have different rearrangements of the same genome. It is unclear whether B-cells are cloned before being put into a container. It is unclear whether they are exposed to all peptides of the library or one peptide at a time. It is unclear how to fish out one antibody that binds the peptide within a multitude of captured antibodies in a container. It is unclear how to determine the coding sequence from whence the antibody that binds the peptide came. The specification and figures have been reviewed as best as possible, but there is no place that addresses these discrepancies in the basic concepts contemplated in claim 1. Without such guidance in the specification or the art at the time of filing, step g) of claim 1 does not logically flow and is not enabled.
Step h) is not enabled because there is no way to associate the captured antibody that binds a specific peptide from the library to a nucleic acid sequence encoding the antibody. The specification does not enable sequencing nucleic acids encoding antibodies when there are no nucleic acid sequences encoding the antibody associated with the captured antibody that binds peptides from the library.
Similarly, step i) is not enabled because there is no way to sequence nucleic acids encoding antigens when there are no nucleic acid sequences encoding antigens present in the library; they are just antigens. There is no way to determine the nucleic acid sequence encoding the antigen when the antigen is bound to the antibody.
Claims 4, 9-14, 21-30 have been included because they do not clarify the reagents, logic, protocol, or ability to sequence nucleic acids from captured antibodies as claimed.
Claim 9 requires expanding the ASCs prior to step a) which is contemplated on pg 17, para 36-37.
Claim 10 requires expanding the ASCs prior to step b) which is contemplated on pg 17, para 36-37.
The specification does not enable performing an antibody affinity or specific assay on ASCs in a microfluidic chamber before exposing them to an antigen display library in the same chamber as encompassed by claim 22 and required in claim 24 or in a different chamber as encompassed by claim 22 and required in claim 25. The concept is contemplated on pg 39, para 111, without providing the protocols and reagents to do so. It is unclear how to take measurements after any reagents are added to the chamber to determine whether the chamber contains ASCs with any desired antibody. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest by performing an assay while they are in the microfluidic chamber. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest in a microfluidic chamber by taking them out of the chamber and performing the assay(or putting them back into the microfluidic chamber after the assay). The specification does not teach how to separate any subpopulation of ASCs of interest while they are in the chamber (if that is part of the assay and method).
Claim 23 requires performing an ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay after distributing ASCs to microfluidic chambers but before capturing antibodies from the ASCs. It is unclear how to take measurements after any reagents for an ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay are added to the chamber to determine whether the chamber contains ASCs with any desired antibody. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest by performing an ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay while they are in the microfluidic chamber. The specification and the art do not teach identifying a subpopulation of ASCs of interest in a microfluidic chamber by taking them out of the chamber and performing the ELISPOT, cytokine neutralization, virus neutralization, or enzyme neutralization assay (or putting them back into the microfluidic chamber after the assay).
Claims 28, 29 require treating cells with Epstein barr virus, CD40L, a toll-like agonist…. for expansion of the ASCs; however, the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach how such reagents would expand ASCs. Epstein barr virus would kill the cell. A toll-like agonist would cause a heightened state of immune readiness but would not expand the ASCs. Etc.
Given the lack of guidance in the specification taken with the art at the time of filing, it would have required those of skill undue experimentation to determine how to perform the methods of claims 1 and 21 and claims dependent therefrom.
Response to arguments
Applicants’ arguments are the same as those for written description and are not persuasive for reasons set forth above.
Indefiniteness
Claims 1, 4, 9-14, 21-29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Step a) of claim 1 does not make sense because it requires a sample of “one or more antibody secreting cells (ASCs)” [plural] in a plurality of microfluidic chambers, wherein each chamber “contains a single ASC” [singular]. One ASC cannot be a plurality of cells as claimed. The concept is indefinite because it is logically confusing, because it is grammatically incorrect, and because use of singular and plural cells together in the same phrase makes the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
Step c) remains indefinite because the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach when a “plurality of display particles” contains an “antigen display library”. The container with the “captured antibodies” is exposed to “a plurality of display particles comprising an antigen display library” in step c) of claim 1, but it is unclear when “display particles” have “an antigen display library” or when “an antigen display library” is within the genus of “display particles”. The phrase “antigen display library” has a well-known meaning as a collection of genetically engineered microorganisms (bacteriophages or bacteria) that display a vast diversity of peptides, proteins, or cDNA-encoded antigens. However, the structures/functions associated with a “display particles” comprising “antigen display library”, wherein the “display particles comprise a polypeptide-nucleic acid complex, wherein the polypeptide is an antigen and the nucleic is used to determine the identity of the antigen” cannot be determined. If applicants are simply trying to say the captured antibodies are exposed to an “antigen display library”, then just say that. If the “antigen display library” in step c) is something more than just microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then clearly set the structure out. But since an “antigen display library” was well-known as being limited to microorganisms displaying a vast diversity of antigens, then it is unclear how they can comprise an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen”. Most importantly, the specification fails to provide written description for display particles comprising an antigen and a “nucleic acid used to determine the identity of the antigen” (and probably a microorganism). Such a “display particle” cannot be envisioned, is not taught in the specification, and is not taught in the art at the time of filing. At best, pg 25, para 60, contemplates a complex where an antigen is bound to “its nucleic acid coding sequence, or a DNA or RNA that can be used to determined its identity (sometimes referred to as a “barcode” sequence”; however, the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach how to make any such complex or how to bind an antigen to a “barcode” of its nucleic acid coding sequence. The specification does not teach that an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex as required in step c) can functionally bind an antibody because the antigen binding site may be blocked by the cDNA “barcode”. Regardless, the specific structure of each display particle is missing from the claim. The microorganism that displays them is missing from the claim. It is unclear how the particle can display both an antigen and a nucleic acid for determining the identity of the antigen.
Step c) remains indefinite because the metes and bounds of an antibody “interacting” with any portion of any “display particles” encompassed by step c) cannot be determined. The structures/functions associated with the “antibody” “interacting” with a “display particle” or “antigen display library” cannot be determined.
Step d) remains indefinite because it never requires capturing an antigen bound to an antibody. It is unclear whether the antigen must be bound to a “barcode”. If so, then the step never requires capturing an antigen/“barcode” complex bound to an antibody. The specification does not teach that an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex as required in step c) can functionally bind an antibody because the antigen binding site may be blocked by the cDNA “barcode”. As such, it’s impossible to determine how to capture an antigen/cDNA “barcode” complex functionally bound to an antibody.
Step e) remains indefinite because it requires washing “the solid substrate to remove unbound display particles”, but the claim does not require any “solid substrate”, so it’s impossible to determine how to wash it away. More importantly, it is unclear how to distinguish “display particles” that are bound vs. unbound by “washing” as claimed. So it’s impossible to determine the metes and bounds of how to separate them by a “wash”.
Step f) remains indefinite because “identifying one or more microfluidic chambers containing at least one of the plurality of captured display particles” in step e) does not require capturing display particles in a microfluidic chamber.
Step g) remains indefinite because it is unclear whether the ASCs in one container all have the same genome and encode the same antibodies or if they have different rearranged immunoglobulin genes. Since B-cells with the same genome are capable of antibody gene segment rearrangement, the ASCs in one container all have the same genome and encode the same antibodies because they have different rearrangements of the same genome. But they may not all have the same rearranged immunoglobulin genes. It is unclear whether B-cells are cloned before being put into a container. It is unclear whether they are exposed to all peptides of the library or one peptide at a time. It is unclear how to fish out one antibody for sequencing that binds the peptide within a multitude of captured antibodies in a container. It is unclear how to determine the coding sequence from whence the antibody that binds the peptide came. The specification and figures have been reviewed as best as possible, but there is no place that addresses these discrepancies in the basic concepts contemplated in claim 1. Therefore, step g) of claim 1 does not logically flow and is indefinite.
Step h) remains indefinite because there is no way to associate the captured antibody that binds a specific peptide from the library to a nucleic acid sequence encoding the antibody. Nucleic acids encoding antibodies cannot be sequenced when there are no nucleic acid sequences encoding the antibody associated with the captured antibody (bound to an antigen/“barcode” cDNA complex from the library).
Similarly, step i) remains indefinite because there is no way to sequence nucleic acids encoding antigens when there are no nucleic acid sequences encoding antigens present in the library; they are just antigens. There is no way to determine the nucleic acid sequence encoding the antigen when the antigen is bound to the antibody. This makes the step indefinite.
Claims 4, 9-15, 21-30 have been included because they do not clarify the reagents, logic, protocol, or ability to sequence nucleic acids from captured antibodies as claimed. In particular, new independent claim 21 is rejected for reasons set forth in claim 1.
Claim 15 requires the antigen display library is a phage, yeast, ribosomal, mRNA, or cDNA library but never requires the phage, yeast, ribosomal, mRNA, or cDNA library contains an antigen. This does not make sense because mRNA and cDNA display library do not contain antigens - they’re just mRNA or cDNA on display.
Claim 25 requires antibodies from a functional assay are captured in a different chamber than the one used to perform the functional assay. This is indefinite because the specification does not teach performing a functional assay in the chamber. Nor does it teach capturing antigen/“barcode” cDNA complexes bound to an antibody in a different chamber than the “functional assay”.
Claims 28, 29 require treating cells with Epstein barr virus, CD40L, a toll-like agonist…. for expansion of the ASCs; however, the specification and the art at the time of filing do not teach how such reagents would expand ASCs. Epstein barr virus would kill the cell. A toll-like agonist would cause a heightened state of immune readiness but would not expand the ASCs. Etc. This makes the claims indefinite.
Response to arguments
Applicants discussion of the number of chambers in a microfluidic device and the number of possible cells in each chamber ranging from 0-10,000 is noted but is not persuasive. The rejection is based on the language used in the claim – claim 1 requires a “plurality” of cells in a microchamber which conflicts one cell in a microchamber. This makes the claim indefinite because it is illogical, grammatically incorrect, and the metes and bounds are in question.
Applicants say the examiner fails to appreciate how the claimed invention works (pg 19). Applicants’ argument is not persuasive. The rejections are based on the language used to describe the invention and have little or nothing to do with the examiner’s understanding of the invention. The examiner is saying the metes and bounds of what is written cannot be determined.
Applicants’ discussion of functional assays on pg 20, but the argument does not appear to apply to claim 1 or 21. If applicants are attempting to argue known ASC functional assays make claim 21 clear, applicants’ argument is not persuasive it is unclear what functional assays to perform after distribution of ASCs into microfluidic chambers.
Applicants argue claim 11 is definite because “polyclonal activation” was known in B-cells. Applicants’ argument is not persuasive. The claims are not limited to B-cells and do not require “polyclonal activation”.
Applicants argue claim 12 is definite because EL4-B5 cells were discussed in para 46. Applicants’ argument is not persuasive. The specification and the art at the time of filing do not define when a cell is a EL4-B5 cell. It is unclear whether the term is a trademark or not. If so, that makes the term indefinite because the product associated with the trade name can be changed.
Applicants argue claim 15 is definite because phage, ribosome, cDNA, mRNA display libraries were well-known. Applicants’ argument is not persuasive because the claim does not require the phage, ribosome, cDNA, or mRNA display library contains an antigen. The concept also does not make sense because while antigens can be associated with phages in a library. The specification and the art of filing do not teach associating antigens with ribosomes, cDNAs, mRNAs within a display library, especially when the antigen is in a complex with a cDNA “barcode” as possibly encompassed by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 9-14, 21-29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ricicova (WO 2014153651).
Ricicova cultured and expanded cells that secrete antibodies that bind peptides (pg 4, para 9, 11; pg 8, para 23) by distributing cells that secrete antibodies in a microfluidic chamber (pg 38, para 212, 230). This is equivalent to the “distributing” in claim 1.
Ricicova captured antibodies on a substrate (pg 121, para 416; pg 137, para 464; Fig. 51; pg 163, para 546, Fig. 87; pg 156-157, para 528) as required in claim 1.
Ricicova added an antigen display library to the captured antibodies (pg 66, para 286; pg 45-46, para 235; pg 158-159, para 532-533) as required in step c) of claim 1.
Ricicova identified cells that secrete the antibodies that bind a desired antigen (pg 44, para 230) as required in step d) of claim 1.
Ricicova washed the cells secreting antibodies on pg 63, para 278; pg 121, para 416; pg 170, para 558; pg 182, para 587 as required in claim 1.
Ricicova sequenced nucleic acids encoding antibodies from the identified cells (pg 44-45, para 233; pg 144-148, para 488-497) as required in step e) of claim 1.
Ricicova identified chambers with captured display particles, lysed ASCs in the chamber, and determined whether the cells secreted an antibody against peptide which is a functional assay as well as multiple other ASC functions (pages 64-65, para 282, and page 115, para 398; also page 32, para 198, page 44, para 231, pages 59-60, para 265-266; pg 163, Example 15) as required in steps f) and g) of claim 1.
Ricicova sequenced antigens and antibodies as required in step h) and i) of claim 1 (para 560-562, 570-572, et al.).
Claim 4 has been included because the metes and bounds of “imaging container” are unclear (see 112/2nd) and because Ricicova taught the container is imaged through glass (pg 60, para 269; pg 151, para 507).
Ricicova expanded the cells as required in claim 9 (pg 157, line 3).
Ricicova expanded the subpopulation of clonal cells as required in claim 10 (pg 157, line 3).
Ricicova identified polyclonal antibodies (pg 83, para 344; pg 158, para 532 & 535; claim 35) as required in claim 11.
Claim 12 has been included because the metes and bounds of an “EL4-B5” feeder layer cell line in claim 12 cannot be determined. It is unclear whether any cell line can be named EL4-B5 or if the phrase is limited to a specific cell line or Trade Name. Accordingly, the feeder cells described by Ricicova (pg 86, line 4) are equivalent to the “EL4-B5” feeder layer cell line in claim 12.
Ricicova used a CD40 receptor (pg 57, Table 1, 1st item) which is a CD40 ligand as required in claims 13 and 14.
Claim 21 has been included because steps a), d)-k) of claim 21 are identical to steps a)-i) of claim 1 and because Ricicova determined whether the cells secreted an antibody against peptide which is a functional assay as well as multiple other ASC functions (pages 64-65, para 282, and page 115, para 398; also page 32, para 198, page 44, para 231, pages 59-60, para 265-266; pg 163, Example 15) as required in steps b) and c) of claim 21.
Ricicova determined whether the cells secreted an antibody against specific peptide which is an antibody affinity or antibody specificity assay as required in claim 22.
Ricicova determined whether the cells secreted an antibody against specific peptide using an ELISPOT assay as required in claim 23.
Ricicova taught assaying the antibodies in the same container the capture container (pg 163, Example 15) as required in claim 24 or different container (pg 163, Example 15) than the original chamber (pg 158, last line; Example 6) as required in claim 25.
Response to arguments
Applicants argue Ricicova did not teach or suggest identifying an antibody and an antigen (pg 22). Applicants’ argument is not persuasive because the nucleic acids in step h) encode antigens (not antibodies) and Ricicova sequenced DNA encoding antigens.
Applicants argue Ricicova did not teach exposing antibodies to an antigen display library (pg 22). Applicants’ argument is not persuasive. Ricicova added an antigen display library to the captured antibodies (pg 66, para 286; pg 45-46, para 235; pg 158-159, para 532-533) as required in step c) of claim 1.
Applicants argue Ricicova did not capture display particles that interact with antibodies or sequence nucleic acids (pg 22). Applicants’ argument is not persuasive. Ricicova identified cells that secrete the antibodies that bind a desired antigen (pg 44, para 230) as required in step d) of claim 1. Ricicova washed the cells secreting antibodies on pg 63, para 278; pg 121, para 416; pg 170, para 558; pg 182, para 587 as required in claim 1. Ricicova sequenced nucleic acids encoding antibodies from the identified cells (pg 44-45, para 233; pg 144-148, para 488-497) as required in step e) of claim 1. Ricicova identified chambers with captured display particles, lysed ASCs in the chamber, and determined whether the cells secreted an antibody against peptide which is a functional assay as well as multiple other ASC functions (pages 64-65, para 282, and page 115, para 398; also page 32, para 198, page 44, para 231, pages 59-60, para 265-266; pg 163, Example 15) as required in steps f) and g) of claim 1. Ricicova sequenced antigens and antibodies as required in step h) and i) of claim 1 (para 560-562, 570-572, et al.).
Applicants argue Ricicova used beads or cells to which antigens are affixed/expressed, and the identity of the antigen is always know. Applicants’ argument is not persuasive because Ricicova added an antigen display library to the captured antibodies (pg 66, para 286; pg 45-46, para 235; pg 158-159, para 532-533) as required in step c) of claim 1.
Applicants argue those of skill could not make a readout cell with an antigen library displayed on the surface because there would be no way to determine the identity of the antigen. Applicants’ argument is not persuasive because applicants have already acknowledged that one embodiment of Ricicova is using cells expressing various antigens (para 298, “ In a further embodiment, the readout particles are readout cells genetically engineered to express a library of proteins or protein fragments in order to determine the target epitope of the antibody secreted by the effector cells”). Furthermore, the claims encompass display particles that are cells expressing a variety of antigens.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michael C. Wilson who can normally be reached at the office on Monday through Friday from 9:30 am to 6:00 pm at 571-272-0738.
Patent applicants with problems or questions regarding electronic images that can be viewed in the Patent Application Information Retrieval system (PAIR) can now contact the USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center (Patent EBC) for assistance. Representatives are available to answer your questions daily from 6 am to midnight (EST). The toll free number is (866) 217-9197. When calling please have your application serial or patent number, the type of document you are having an image problem with, the number of pages and the specific nature of the problem. The Patent Electronic Business Center will notify applicants of the resolution of the problem within 5-7 business days. Applicants can also check PAIR to confirm that the problem has been corrected. The USPTO’s Patent Electronic Business Center is a complete service center supporting all patent business on the Internet. The USPTO’s PAIR system provides Internet-based access to patent application status and history information. It also enables applicants to view the scanned images of their own application file folder(s) as well as general patent information available to the public.
For all other customer support, please call the USPTO Call Center (UCC) at 800-786-9199.
The official fax number for this Group is (571) 273-8300.
Michael C. Wilson
/MICHAEL C WILSON/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638