DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In the Remarks filed 10/24/2025 (“Remarks”), Applicant argues that the objection to the specification made in Office Action mailed 7/9/2025 (“OA”) should be withdrawn due to an amendment. However, no amendment to the specification can be found.
Applicant’s argument regarding the 112(a)-(b) rejections are persuasive. The rejections are withdrawn. The corresponding objections to the drawings and specification are also withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the prior art rejections are unpersuasive. The newly introduced limitations do not incorporate the allowable subject matter stated in OA. The amended claims are addressed in the prior art rejections below.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art of record alone or as combined, fails to teach or render obvious the following limitation when considered all the limitations the claims depend on:
determining the filtered target state based on the at least one target measurement includes using a target state estimator configured to provide the filtered target state based on a covariance between the target range and the target range rate.
Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10-13, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, Kondratko et al., (US 8188418 B1, “Kondratko”).
Regarding claim 10, Kondratko teaches a multifunction laser radar system (Figs.4-5), comprising:
a transmitter configured to generate laser pulses and to direct the laser pulses towards a target (Figs. 4-5 disclose a dual-mode detection system including direct and coherent detection, transmitter of laser pulses to a target is inherent for the disclosed system);
a receiver configured to collect light reflected from the target (photo detector 401); and
a controller (controller 406) coupled to the transmitter and the receiver and configured to:
receive a target state corresponding to parameters of the target (Operator input 411), the target state comprising information of a target type of the target from among multiple possible target types (Fig. 1, 5:1-43; 1:20-50, discusses various considerations for selecting between direct and coherent mode detection);
select a mode of operation from a plurality of modes of operation for the multifunction laser radar system based on the target state (7:40-59);
receive returns collected by the receiver while the multifunction laser radar system is operating in the selected mode of operation (7:40-59);
process the returns to calculate at least one target measurement (7:60-8:10); and
determine a filtered target state based on the at least one target measurement (1:18-50, various LADAR measurements from either direct or incoherent detection) using a target range and a target range rate in a target state estimator (1:18-50, various LADAR measurements from either direct or incoherent detection including range and velocity. The processing module that calculates the range and the velocity is considered as the target state estimator).
Regarding claim 11, Kondratko teaches the multifunction laser radar system of claim 10, wherein the receiver includes an optical system configured to collect the light reflected from the target and a photodetector configured to record arrival times of the reflected light (Figs. 4-5, 7:60-8:10, 8:38-47).
Regarding claim 12, Kondratko teaches the multifunction laser radar system of claim 10, wherein the modes of operation comprise an incoherent mode of operation or a coherent mode of operation (Figs. 4-5, direct and incoherent mode).
Regarding claim 13, Kondratko teaches the multifunction laser radar system of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to select selecting the mode of operation based, at least in part, on an uncertainty factor associated with the target state (Fig. 1, 5:1-43; 1:20-50, discusses various considerations for selecting between direct and coherent mode detection, e.g., noise characteristics of a detector can be an uncertainty factor).
Regarding claim 15, Kondratko teaches the multifunction laser radar system of claim 12, wherein the controller is further configured to select one or more waveform control parameters corresponding to the selected mode of operation (Fig. 4, control path 407 and 410).
Regarding claim 16, Kondratko teaches the multifunction laser radar system of claim 12, wherein the controller is further configured to select a next mode of operation for the multifunction laser radar system based on the filtered target state and uncertainty factor associated with the filtered target state (3:56-4:23, switch between the dual mode, coherent is not always preferred, real-time switching when needed).
Regarding claim 17, Kondratko teaches the multifunction laser radar system of claim 10, wherein the controller is configured to process the returns to calculate the target range and the target range rate (1:18-50, various LADAR measurements from either direct or incoherent detection including range and velocity).
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are method claims corresponding to system claims 10, 12, 13, and 15-17. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 20 is a medium claim corresponding to system claim 10. It is rejected for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondratko.
Regarding claim 14, Kondratko fails to explicitly discloses the multifunction laser radar system of claim 13, wherein the controller is further configured to:
compare the uncertainty factor associated with the target state to an uncertainty threshold;
select, in response to a determination that the uncertainty factor is above the uncertainty threshold, the incoherent mode of operation; and
select, in response to a determination that the uncertainty factor is below the uncertainty threshold, the coherent mode of operation.
However, Kondratko discloses excess noise factor F is detrimental to coherent detection due to system efficiency or signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and direct detection might be preferred. (7:7:1-23) One of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, would have modified Kondratko’s multifunction laser radar system in view of the above teaching to switch to direct mode when noise factor is above a threshold in order to improve system efficiency or signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) and switch back to coherent mode in consideration of other factors such as saving power and provide speed detection etc. (Fig. 1, 5:1-43; 1:20-50, discusses various considerations for selecting between direct and coherent mode detection).
Claim 4 is a method claim corresponding to system claim 14. It is rejected for the same reason.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondratko, in view of ABmann et al. (US 20220130060 A1, “ABmann”).
Regarding claim 19, Kondratko teaches the multifunction laser radar system of claim 10, wherein:
the multifunction laser radar system is one of a LADAR system or a LIDAR system (Figs. 4-5).
Kondratko fails to teaches
to calculate the at least one target measurement, the controller is configured to process binary-valued, sparse, and bandwidth constrained data.
On the other hand, ABmann teaches process binary-valued, sparse and bandwidth constrained data for Lidar application. (Fig. 6, [0043], [0044], [0050], and [0051])
One of ordinary skill in the art would modify Kondratko’s system, in view of ABmann’s teaching, to include processing binary-valued, sparse, and bandwidth constrained data.
The motivation for doing so is to improve efficiency of system concerning space, cost, data bandwidth, and power. (ABmann, [0058]).
Claim 9 is a method claim corresponding to system claim 19. It is rejected for the same reason.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645