Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant’s remarks and amendments filed on 12/08/2025. Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 13 are amended. Claims 17 – 19 are new. Claims 1 – 19 are pending in the current Office action.
The objection to claim 12 is maintained.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1 – 13 set forth in the previous Office action are withdrawn. A new grounds of rejection, necessitated by applicant’s amendment is presented below.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 14 – 16 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation “wherein at least one temperature sensor includes at least two temperature sensors, at least one temperature sensors is an NTC and one of the temperature sensors is a PTC” is inwardly worded/unclear. Specifically, the word “and” before “at least” appears to be missing and the phrase “of the” before “temperature sensors is an NTC” appears to be missing.
For the purpose of this Office action, the claim limitation has been interpreted as –wherein the at least one temperature sensor includes at least two temperature sensors, and at least one of the temperature sensors is an NTC and one of the temperature sensors is a PTC.--
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/08/2025, with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The examine respectfully notes that applicant’s remarks and amendments filed 12/08/2025 are not fully responsive, but in the interest of compact prosecution, applicant’s amendments have been taken as a bona fide attempt. Specifically, the examiner notes that no arguments are presented in the remarks filed 12/08/2025 with respect to independent claim 14. Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 9, 11 and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (US PG Pub. 20150/194710 A1) in view of Hammerschmied (WO2018080033A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 09/08/2025) in view of Rejman (WO2017148739A1 – US Equivalent: US PG Pub. 2019/0027720 A1 used as English translation, cited in previous Office action mailed 09/08/2025). {Examiner Note: For citations of the instant specification, the examiner is utilizing the US PG Pub. version of the application: US20210367284A1}.
Regarding Claim 1, Naito discloses a battery pack (Figs. 3 – 5, 20; [0034 – 0035]) having a temperature sensor device, that is Naito teaches the battery pack including a thermistor connected to a circuit board included in the battery pack, which one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize to be a type of device, for the purpose sensing the temperature of the battery cells (Fig. 10, 70; [0052 – 0056]).
Naito further discloses the battery pack comprising an electronics unit (control section 41; Fig. 5; [0039]) including a circuit board (Figs. 5 and 10, 42; [0039]); and a cell housing (cell holder 50; Figs. 5 and 8 – 9; [0043 – 0045]) including a receiving portion for accommodating at least one battery cell (cell accommodation portions 52; Figs. 8 – 9; [0045]), wherein the cell housing includes a recess which is situated on a side of the cell housing facing the circuit board (Refer to terminal insertion hole 61 which is included on the side of the holder that faces circuit board 42 shown in Figs. 8 – 11).
Naito further discloses the battery pack comprising at least one temperature sensor (temperature detection element 71; Fig. 14;[0052 – 0053]) connected to the electronics unit, that is the temperature detection element 71 is a part of the thermistor 70 which is electrically connected to the circuit board 42 of the control section of the battery pack through conductive wires ([0052]).
In the instant specification, the applicant discloses the carrier element to be a flexible circuit board or as a cable element, in particular a wired temperature sensor ([0020]).
As such, by teaching that thermistor 70 is film type sensor that is constituted of a film material covering a temperature sensor and conductive wires, Naito appears to at least suggest the temperature sensor being connected to the electronics unit using a carrier element {i.e. the film material and wires} with a first fastening point (end of the thermistor which is soldered to the circuit board in Figs. 10 – 11; [0052]) and a second fastening point (end of the thermistor which is adhered to the battery cell surface in Figs. 10 – 11; [0054 – 0055]). Furthermore, Naito shows the carrier element {i.e. film material} being slightly bent to fit in the terminal connection hole 61 (Refer to Fig. 11), but does not appear to disclose the particular claimed fastening point and bent portion configurations, the claimed positioning element structure, or the circuit board having a recess.
Hammerschmied teaches a battery module including a means for detecting the temperature of a battery cell to safely operate the battery and the temperature detecting means particularly including a protection circuit module 130 and a temperature sensor 150 (Figs. 1 – 4; [0028]). The protection circuit module is constituted of a hard printed circuit board 131 and a semiconductor device 133, the semiconductor device receives information about the temperature of the battery cell 10 from the temperature sensing element 150 through the flexible printed circuit board 140 and controls the operation of the battery cell 10 (Figs. 2 – 4; [0032 – 0033];[0035]). The flexible printed circuit board is taught to connect the temperature sensing element 150 provided on the surface of the battery cell 10 and the protection circuit module 130 and further is shown to extend through a slit in the circuit board 131 (Figs. 2 – 4; [0036]). The use of the flexible printed circuit board is taught by Hammerschmied to stably maintain connection between the corresponding components even if the battery cell or protection circuit module moves within the housing ([0038]). The temperature sensing structure/configuration taught by Hammerschmied allows for guaranteed function/arrangement position of the temperature sensing element on the surface of the battery cell even when movement caused by external impact occurs and combines the advantages of rigid and flexible circuits ([0009]; [0010]).
Since Naito is also concerned with achieving reliable temperature detection within a battery pack and teaches similar configuration for the thermistor 70 (Refer to Figs. 10 and 11; [0055]), it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the temperature detection means of Naito to have a structure and configuration as taught by Hammerschmied, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a temperature detection means with improved reliability {i.e. guaranteed function/arrangement position of the temperature sensing element on the surface of the battery cell} and the benefits of both flexible and rigid circuit structure.
By implementing the temperature sensing structure as taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito includes the claimed structure of the circuit board having a recess (Refer to slit 135 shown in Fig. 5 of Hammerschmied), the temperature sensor connected to the electronics unit using a carrier element (Hammerschmied: flexible printed circuit board; Figs. 2 – 5, 140; [0036 – 0038]); the carrier element being fastened on the circuit board at a first fastening point (Refer to point shown in annotated Fig. 3 below) and at a second fastening point on the circuit board (Refer to point shown in annotated Fig. 3 below), the at least one temperature sensor being situated in a region of the second fastening point (Refer to temperature sensing element 150 in region shown in annotated Fig. 3 below); and a positioning element (Hammerschmied: foam member; Figs. 2 – 3 and 5, 160; [0041 – 0042]), which is configured to position the at least one temperature sensor (Hammerschmied: [0041]), situated between the circuit board and the carrier element in the region of the second fastening point (Refer to position of foam member 160 shown in annotated Fig. 3 below).
Annotated Fig. 3 exemplifying the fastening points in modified Naito.
While the carrier element in Hammerschmied is shown to include a bent portion near the first fastening point and a second bent portion near the second fastening point (Refer to annotated Fig. 3 above); the carrier element in is not explicitly disclosed/taught to be bent by approximately 45 degrees in a first direction near the first fastening point and bent by approximately 45 degrees in a second direction situated opposite to the first direction near the second fastening point; thus modified Naito as established above does not explicitly disclose the claimed bent portion angles.
Rejman teaches a battery pack comprising an electronics units that includes at least one flexible circuit board ([0008]). The flexible circuit board is taught to have contact tongues deformed at an angle relative to an original position when the battery cells are inserted, preferably an angle between 30° and 190° (Figs 6 – 7; [0058]). Rejman teaches that it is advantageous to have the contacts situated opposite to each other so that when the battery cells are introduced there arises a tension that is equal in both directions on the flexible circuit board. The shape of the flexible circuit board 812 in Fig. 7 appears similar to shape shown in Fig. 4 of the instant specification.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the shape of the carrier element in modified Naito to have a first and second contact tongue at 45° , and thus obtain the claimed configuration, because such a modification would be a change in shape that as shown by Rejman, appears to be known in the art (Refer to Fig. 7), and further, as taught by Rejman, would have a reasonable expectation of success in ensuring that the tension on the flexible circuit board, when implemented in the battery module, is equal [See MPEP 2144.04(IV)].
In Naito the corresponding recess of the cell housing {i.e. connection terminal hole 61} is shown to be directly under where the thermistor 70 connects to the circuit board (Refer to Figs. 10 – 11).
In Hammerschmied the, the flexible circuit board is extended through a slit 135 in the hard circuit board (Fig. 3; [0038]).
Modified Naito, as established above, includes the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammer; thus modified Naito also has a slit in the circuit board for the flexible circuit board to extend through, and further the carrier element of the modified structure has the claimed bent portion angles.
One with ordinary skill in the appreciate/recognize that in order to implement the temperature sensing structure of Hammerschmied into the battery pack structure of Naito and further in order to obtain the claimed contact tongue angles at 45°, the position of the recess in the cell housing would need to be shifted such that the positioning element 160 of the modified structure would be allowed to fit between the upper cell surface and circuit board of the battery pack (Refer to Naito: Figs. 10 – 11 and Hammerschmied: Fig. 3).
Specifically, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, when modifying Naito to include the temperature sensing structure/configuration of Hammerschmied and further the carrier element angles taught in Rejman, to modify the position of the cell housing recess to be offset from the slit in the circuit board and further allow for the portion of the carrier element with positioning element 160 to clamp the temperature sensor 150 between the battery cell surface and circuit board, and thus obtain the claimed structure of wherein the recess of the cell housing is situated at a distance from the recess of the circuit board such that they are not situated on top of each other and wherein the temperature sensor and the carrier element are situated within the recess of the cell housing such that they are clamped between the at least one battery cell and the circuit board in the region of the second fastening point, because such a modification is a rearrangement of parts with respect to the cell housing recess that would still allow for the temperature sensing structure of modified Naito to contact the surface of the battery cell in the battery pack while also achieving the desired carrier element shape and placement/configuration of the positioning element in modified Naito [See MPEP 2144.04(VI)].
Regarding Claim 2, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito further includes the claimed structure of wherein the carrier element and circuit board are (ii) integrally connected and immovably connected, that is in Hammerschmied, the flexible printed circuit board is taught to be joined to the top part of the rigid circuit board through normal joining processes such as soldering ([0011];[0013];[0038]) which one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize to be a connection method that provides an integral and immovable connection.
Regarding Claims 3 – 4, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito’s battery pack further includes the foam member 160, which corresponds to the claimed positioning element (Hammerschmied; Figs. 2 – 3 and 5).
Hammerschmied further teaches that, when included in protection circuit module, between the rigid circuit board and flexible circuit board, the foam member exhibits the pressure necessary to retain contact between the circuit board assembly and the battery cell while the adhesive 170 cures ([0013]). One with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, in order to provide such pressure on temperature sensor and flexible circuit member, the height of the foam member, when placed in the gap between the rigid circuit board and flexible circuit board resting on the surface of battery cell 10, must become compressed to some degree. In addition, in the figures, the height of the foam member is shown to be larger than thickness of the rigid circuit board (Refer to figs. 2 – 3 and 5). Furthermore, the foam member is taught to be made from a material {i.e. elastomer, foam material} that is also disclosed be used for the applicant’s positioning element (Hammerschmied: [0042]; Instant Specification: [0019]).
Therefore, base based on the taught material and function of foam member, and the figures of the temperature sensing structure shown in Hammerschmied, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the foam member in modified Naito to be capable of, in an unassembled state, having a thickness at least half as great as a thickness of the circuit board (Claim 3), and further, a thickness that is at least as great as a thickness of the circuit board (Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito’s battery pack further includes the foam member 160, which corresponds to the claimed positioning element (Hammerschmied; Figs. 2 – 3 and 5).
Hammerschmied further teaches that the foam member exhibits the pressure necessary to retain contact between the circuit board assembly and the battery cell while the adhesive cures ([0013]). In addition, the foam member is taught to be an made of a polymeric material, such as an elastomer, to prevent relative movement between the battery cell 10 and the protection circuit module 130 ([0041 – 0042]). As such, the foam member is substantially similar, in composition, to the foam positioning element disclosed in the instant specification (Instant Specification: [0019]). Hammerschmied’s foam member material is also taught to have the capability to extruded into the gap between the temperature sensing element and the hard printed circuit board in an alternative manufacturing method of Hammerschmied’s temperature sensing device structure ([0012]).
Therefore, based on the properties, function, and composition of the foam member, one with ordinary skill in the art would necessarily and reasonably expect modified Naito’s positioning element {i.e. foam member} to be elastically deformable like the claimed positioning member.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito further includes the claimed structure of wherein the positioning is electrically insulating (Hammerschmied: [0012];[0042]), which is within the claimed scope of electrically insulating and/or thermally insulating.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito further includes the claimed structure of wherein the positioning element is integrally connected to the carrier element. That is in Hammerschmied, as shown in fig. 3, the foam member is located between the hard circuit board of the and flexible circuit board of Hammerschmied’s protection circuit module. In addition, in the figure, the foam member is shown to be in contact with both the circuit boards. Hammerschmied further teaches that the foam member fixes the flexible circuit board end, the end with the temperature sensing member, to the rigid printed circuit board ([0012 – 0013]); therefore, by contacting and fixing the two circuit boards together, the foam member {i.e. positioning element} of modified Naito is necessarily integrally connected to the carrier element {i.e. flexible printed circuit board}.
Regarding Claim 8, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito further includes the claimed structure of wherein the positioning element is made of an elastomer (Hammerschmied: [0042]).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito further includes the claimed structure of wherein the positioning element is made of a foam material (Hammerschmied: [0012];[0042]).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito further includes the claimed structure of wherein the carrier element is a flexible circuit board (Hammerschmied: [0010];[0036 – 0038]).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. Naito further discloses wherein the circuit board rests against the housing such that it is braced on the cell housing, that is Naito shows on the circuit board 42 included on the cell holder 50 in Figs. 6 – 7 and 10 and further teaches fixedly retaining the circuit board on an upper surface of the cell holder using positioning protrusions 591, positioning ribs 515, and engaging hooks 516 ([0047]).
Regarding Claims 18 – 19, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. By including the temperature sensing structure/configuration taught in Hammerschmied, modified Naito further includes the claimed structure of wherein the temperature sensor device has a heat conduction element which is disposed on a side of the carrier element facing away from the circuit board (Claim 18), that is adhesive 170 which is provided on the side of the flexible circuit board that is facing away from the hard circuit board is taught to be thermally conductive (Hammerschmied: [0013];[0041];[0052]).
In modified Naito, the adhesive layer 170 , which corresponds to claimed is provided in on the carrier element and particularly on an underside of the carrier element that is facing away and farther from the surface of the circuit board (Hammerschmied: [0012];[0013]). In an assembled state of the battery the temperature sensing structure of modified Naito is bent and compressed in the space between the upper surface of the battery cells an underside of the circuit board (Rejman: [0056 – 0057] and Hammerschmied: Fig. 3; [0013]). As such , since the temperature sensing element in modified Naito is included on a carrier element that is compressed/bent in an assembled state in order to fit in the space between the battery cells and circuit board, one with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect a distance between circuit board and the heat conduction element to be greater in the unassembled state than a distance between the at least one battery cell and the circuit board in the assembled state (Claim 19).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (US PG Pub. 20150/194710 A1), Hammerschmied (WO2018080033A1) and Rejman (WO2017148739A1 – US Equivalent: US PG Pub. 2019/0027720 A1 used as English translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schmid-Schoenbein (US PG Pub. 2018/0348305 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 09/08/2025)
Regarding Claim 10, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. The positioning element in modified Naito is a foam member made from elastomer materials such as polyurethane (Hammerschmied: [0042]).
Hammerschmied further teaches that the foam member fixes the flexible circuit board end, the end with the temperature sensing member, to the rigid printed circuit board ([0012 – 0013]).
Schmid-Schoenbein teaches a sensor apparatus for monitoring a battery cell of a battery system that includes a flexible circuit board, a spring element, and a sensor element that can be a temperature sensor (Fig. 5; [0003];[0028]). The spring element of the sensor apparatus is positioned in a manner similar to Hammerschmied’s foam member (Refer to the position of spring element 13 in Fig. 5). In addition, the spring element functions like Hammerschmied’s foam member in that it presses the sensor element against the battery of the cell to ensure contact between cell and sensor ([0005]). Schmid-Schoenbein’s further teaches having the spring element be an elastic foam ([0009]). In Schmid-Schoenbein, the deformation of the elastic foam is taught to generate a restoring force that can be used as a spring force ([0009]).
Therefore, since modified Naito’s positioning element is a foam member also comprised of an elastic foam material, one with ordinary skill in the art would necessarily expect, based on Schmid-Schoenbein’s teachings above, for the foam member to also necessarily function as a spring element, and thus read on the claim limitation of being a spring element.
Claim(s) 12 – 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naito (US PG Pub. 20150/194710 A1), Hammerschmied (WO2018080033A1) and Rejman (WO2017148739A1 – US Equivalent: US PG Pub. 2019/0027720 A1 used as English translation), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Camp (US 4,702,619 A, cited in previous Office action mailed 09/08/2025) and Souza (US PG Pub. 2011/0210703 A1, cited in previous Office action mailed 09/08/2025).
Regarding Claims 12 – 13, modified Naito discloses all limitations as set forth above. The temperature sensing element of modified Naito is a temperature sensor that can be either a negative characteristic thermistor (NTC) or a positive characteristic thermistor (PTC) (Hammerschmied: [0039]).
Furthermore, in Hammerschmied the number of temperature sensing elements is not necessarily limited, and Hammerschmied particularly further teaches that at least one must be included to measure the temperature of each battery cell ([0036]).
Modified Naito does not particularly disclose wherein at least one temperature sensor includes at least two temperature sensors, and at least one of the temperature sensors is an NTC and one of the temperature sensors is a PTC (Claim 12) or wherein the at least one temperature sensor includes at least two temperature sensors which are an NTC or PTC (Claim 13).
Camp teaches a composite temperature sensor comprising multiple thermistors, particularly a combinations of PTC and NTC resistors (Col. 1, lines 28 – 38; Col. 1, lines 60 - 68; Col. 2, lines 1 – 2). The combination of PTC(s) and NTC(s) resistors is taught to allow for the compensation for expected tolerances and/or expected variations in temperature (Col. 1, lines 60 - 68; Col. 2, lines 1 – 2). Each embodiment taught in Camp includes at least two NTC thermistors and at least one PTC thermistor (Figs. 2A, 2C, 2D, 8D, 8E, 8F, and 11A – 11C).
Souza teaches a thermal sensor device that can be used in a battery system that includes a plurality of PTC devices and an additional temperature sensor, which is a NTC thermistor, in a single sensor package that is in thermal contact with each of the battery cells in the battery block ([0003 – 0004]). Souza further teaches that the use of both the PTC devices, which also function as a thermal sensor, and an NTC thermistor, provides a fail-safe mechanism with respect to one another, enabling temperature fault detection and optimization in the event that one of the devices fail ([0024 – 0025];[0041];[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize, as the temperature sensing element in modified Naito, a composite temperature sensor, as taught by Camp, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a temperature sensing element capable of increasing the safety and battery system performance optimization of modified Naito’s battery pack {i.e. As established above, both Camp and Souza teach/suggest that a combination of PTC and NTC resistors allows for one device to compensate for the other and optimize temperature sensing}.
As established above, modified Naito’s temperature sensing element is a temperature sensor composite comprising a plurality thermistors, particularly at least two NTC thermistors and at least one PTC thermistor (Refer to Camp: Figs. 2A, 2C, 2D, 8D, 8E, 8F, and 11A – 11C); thus, modified Naito provides the claimed structure of wherein the at least one temperature sensor includes at least two temperature sensors which are an NTC or a PTC (Claim 12) and further wherein the at least one temperature sensor includes at least two temperature sensors which are an NTC (Claim 13).
Claim(s) 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammerschmied (WO2018080033A1) in view of Camp (US 4,702,619 A) and Souza (US PG Pub. 2011/0210703 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Hammerschmied discloses a battery pack with a temperature sensor device (battery module with fixed structure for temperature sensing element; Fig. 1; [0001];[0030];[0036]) comprising: an electronics unit (protection circuit module; Figs. 2 – 5, 130; [0008];[0031 – 0032]) including a circuit board (Figs. 2 – 5, 131; [0032]); at least one temperature sensor which is connected to the electronics unit (temperature sensing element; Figs. 2 – 4, 150; [0035 – 0037];[0039]), the temperature sensor being connected to the electronics unit using a carrier element (flexible printed circuit board; Figs. 2 – 5, 140; [0036 – 0038]), the carrier element being fastened on the circuit board at a first fastening point (Refer to point shown in annotated Fig. 3 above) and at a second fastening point on the circuit board (Refer to point shown in annotated Fig. 3 above), the at least one temperature sensor being situated in a region of the second fastening point (Refer to temperature sensing element 150 in region shown in annotated Fig. 3 above); and a positioning element (foam member; Figs. 2 – 3 and 5, 160; [0041 – 0042]), which is configured to position the at least one temperature sensor ([0041]), is situated between the circuit board and the carrier element in the region of the second fastening point (Refer to position of foam member 160 shown in annotated Fig. 3 above), and wherein the positioning element is electrically insulating ([0012];[0042]), which is within the claimed scope of electrically insulating and/or thermally insulating.
In Fig. 3, the end of flexible printed circuit board including the temperature sensing element is shown to sit on top of adhesive 170 which fixes the flexible circuit board and temperature sensor to the surface of battery cell 10 ([0012 – 0013]). The adhesive is taught by Hammerschmied to be a conductive adhesive that ensures thermal contact between the temperature sensing member and the cell surface ([0013]). Hammerschmied’s inclusion of a thermally conductive adhesive between the flexible printed circuit board and the cell reads on the claim limitation of wherein the temperature sensor
Hammerschmied teaches that the temperature sensing element 150 may be a temperature sensor that can be either a negative characteristic thermistor (NTC) or a positive characteristic thermistor (PTC) ([0039]). Hammerschmied does not necessarily limit the number of temperature sensing elements, and teaches that at least one must be included to measure the temperature of each battery cell ([0036]).
Hammerschmied does not explicitly disclose wherein the temperature sensor device encompasses at least two temperature sensors which are an NTC and/or a PTC, wherein the NTC and/or PTC are disposed on the same side of the carrier element in the region of the second fastening point.
Camp teaches a composite temperature sensor comprising multiple thermistors, particularly a combinations of PTC and NTC resistors (Col. 1, lines 28 – 38; Col. 1, lines 60 - 68; Col. 2, lines 1 – 2). The combination of PTC(s) and NTC(s) resistors is taught to allow for the compensation for expected tolerances and/or expected variations in temperature (Col. 1, lines 60 - 68; Col. 2, lines 1 – 2). Each embodiment taught in Camp includes at least two NTC thermistors and at least one PTC thermistor (Figs. 2A, 2C, 2D, 8D, 8E, 8F, and 11A – 11C).
Souza teaches a thermal sensor device that can be used in a battery system that includes a plurality of PTC devices and an additional temperature sensor, which is a NTC thermistor, in a single sensor package that is in thermal contact with each of the battery cells in the battery block ([0003 – 0004]). Souza further teaches that the use of both the PTC devices, which also function as a thermal sensor, and an NTC thermistor, provides a fail-safe mechanism with respect to one another, enabling temperature fault detection and optimization in the event that one of the devices fail ([0024 – 0025];[0041];[0044]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize, as the temperature sensing element in Hammerschmied, a composite temperature sensor, as taught by Camp, with a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a temperature sensing element in Hammerschmied capable of increasing the safety and battery system performance optimization of Hammerschmied’s battery pack and protection circuit module {i.e. As established above, both Camp and Souza teach/suggest that a combination of PTC and NTC resistors allows for one device to compensate for the other and optimize temperature sensing}.
As established above, modified Hammerschmied’s temperature sensing element is a temperature sensor composite comprising a plurality thermistors, particularly at least two NTC thermistors and at least one PTC thermistor (Refer to Camp: Figs. 2A, 2C, 2D, 8D, 8E, 8F, and 11A – 11C); thus, modified Hammerschmied provides the claimed structure of wherein the temperature sensor device encompasses at least two temperature sensors which are an NTC and PTC.
Furthermore, because the composite temperature sensor has the PTC(s) and NTCs combined into one structure, the modified temperature sensing element further provides the claimed structure of wherein the NTC and/or PTC are disposed on the same side of the carrier element in the region of the second fastening point {i.e. the composite temperature sensor would be in the place of the temperature sensing element 150 in Fig. 3}.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Hammerschmied discloses all the limitations as set forth above. In Fig. 3, Hammerschmied shows the foam member is shown on top of the temperature sensing element and the bottom end of the flexible printed circuit board. Furthermore, Hammerschmied teaches that the foam member exhibits pressure on the temperature sensing member to attenuate relative movement between the battery cell 10 and the protection circuit module 130 ([0013];[0041 – 0042]). Therefore, Hammerschmied further discloses wherein the carrier element rests against a battery cell such that the positioning element applies a force to the temperature sensor in a direction opposite the circuit board {i.e. foam member 160 exerts pressure down onto temperature sensing element 150}.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Hammerschmied discloses all the limitations as set forth above. In Fig. 3, Hammerschmied shows the end of flexible printed circuit board including the temperature sensing element is shown to sit on top of adhesive 170 which fixes the flexible circuit board and temperature sensor to the surface of battery cell 10 ([0012 – 0013]). The adhesive is taught by Hammerschmied to be a conductive adhesive that ensures thermal contact between the temperature sensing member and the cell surface ([0013]). Hammerschmied’s inclusion of a thermally conductive adhesive between the flexible printed circuit board and the cell provides the claimed structure of wherein the temperature sensor or the carrier element rests against the battery cell by way of a heat conduction element.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.Y.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 3/23/2026