DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3, 8, 9, 11-13, 17, 18, 20, 23-26, and 28-30 are pending, claims 11 and 12 are withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1-3, 8, 9, 13, 17, 18, 20, 23-26, and 28-30 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the base of the instrument actuator (claim 1, 17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 20, 23-25, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendory et al. (U.S. 2020/0046213) in view of Palushi et al. (U.S. 2019/0167151).
With respect to claim 1, Bendory et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a) a body (900);
b) a shaft assembly (924,923) extending distally from the body and defining a longitudinal axis a portion of the shaft assembly being configured to be inserted into an anatomical passageway associated with an ear, nose, or throat of a patient, the shaft assembly defining a working passageway that is dimensioned to slidably receive an instrument, the shaft assembly including an outermost surface (FIG. 21A);
c) an instrument actuator (912) coupled with the body, the instrument actuator being operable to drive an instrument longitudinally relative to the shaft assembly while the instrument is disposed in the working passageway;
d) a shaft actuation assembly (914) operatively coupled with a proximal portion of the shaft assembly, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in a distal direction to extend at least the outermost surface of the shaft assembly distally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in a proximal direction tor extract at least the outermost surface of the shaft assembly proximally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body (para [0183]-[0184]); and
e) a shaft rotation assembly (921) positioned at a distal portion of the body (FIG. 21A), wherein: the shaft rotation assembly is (i) operable to rotate the shaft assembly about the longitudinal axis, and (ii) includes a rotary actuator that is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis (para [0189]).
However, Bendory et al. does not teach an instrument actuator configured to define a cavity.
With respect to claim 1, Palushi et al. teaches an instrument actuator (28) coupled with a body, the instrument actuator being operable to drive an instrument longitudinally, the instrument actuator including a base slidably coupled with the body, wherein the base and the body cooperate to define a cavity therebetween (FIG. 1B,C);
wherein the cavity defined between the base of the instrument actuator and the body is configured to receive another actuation assembly therethrough during translation of the instrument actuator (FIG. 1B,C).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the instrument actuator of Bendory to define a cavity in the manner taught by Palushi et al. in order to allow the instrument actuator a full range of motion unlimited by the location of the shaft actuation assembly.
With respect to claim 2, Bendory et al. teaches the shaft actuation assembly being slidably coupled with the body, the shaft actuation assembly being configured to translate longitudinally relative to the body (para [0183]).
With respect to claim 3, Bendory et al. teaches a distal portion of the shaft assembly including a flexible section (924).
With respect to claim 8, Bendory et al. teaches a camera (926) positioned at a distal end of the shaft assembly (FIG. 29 for example)
With respect to claim 17, Bendory et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a) a body (900);
b) a shaft assembly (924,923) extending distally from the body and defining a longitudinal axis, a portion of the shaft assembly being configured to be inserted into an anatomical passageway associated with an ear, nose, or throat of a patient, the shaft assembly including a flexible distal portion, the flexible distal portion being malleable (para [0078]) the shaft assembly defining a working passageway that is dimensioned to slidably receive an instrument (FIG. 21A);
c) a shaft actuation assembly (914) operatively coupled with a proximal portion of the shaft assembly, the shaft actuation assembly being operable to translate the shaft assembly longitudinally relative to the body, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in a distal direction to extend at least he outermost surface of the shaft assembly distally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in a proximal direction to retract at least the outermost surface of the shaft assembly proximally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body (para [0183]-[0184]); and
d) a shaft rotation assembly (921) positioned at a distal portion of the body (FIG. 21A), wherein: the shaft rotation assembly is (i) operable to rotate the shaft assembly about the longitudinal axis, and (ii) includes a rotary actuator that is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis (para [0189]); and
e) an instrument actuator (912) coupled with the body, the instrument actuator being operable to drive an instrument longitudinally relative to the shaft assembly while the instrument is disposed in the working passageway.
However, Bendory et al. does not teach an instrument actuator configured to define a cavity.
With respect to claim 17, Palushi et al. teaches an instrument actuator (28) coupled with a body, the instrument actuator being operable to drive an instrument longitudinally, the instrument actuator including a base slidably coupled with the body, wherein the base and the body cooperate to define a cavity therebetween (FIG. 1B,C), wherein the cavity defined between the base of the instrument actuator and the body is configured to receive another actuation assembly therethrough during translation of the instrument actuator (FIG. 1B,C).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the instrument actuator of Bendory to define a cavity in the manner taught by Palushi et al. in order to allow the instrument actuator a full range of motion unlimited by the location of the shaft actuation assembly.
With respect to claim 18, Bendory et al. teaches the shaft actuation assembly being slidably coupled with the body, the shaft actuation assembly being configured to translate longitudinally relative to the body (para [0183]).
With respect to claim 20, Bendory et al. teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a) a body including a distal end (900);
b) a shaft assembly (924,923) extending distally from the body and defining a longitudinal axis, a portion of the shaft assembly being configured to be inserted into an anatomical passageway associated with an ear, nose, or throat of a patient, the shaft assembly defining a working passageway that is dimensioned to slidably receive an instrument (FIG. 21A);
c) a shaft actuation assembly (914) operatively coupled with a proximal portion of the shaft assembly, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in a distal direction to extend at least the outermost surface of the shaft assembly distally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in a proximal direction tor extract at least the outermost surface of the shaft assembly proximally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body (para [0183]-[0184]); and
d) a shaft rotation assembly (921) positioned at a distal portion of the body (FIG. 21A), wherein: the shaft rotation assembly is (i) operable to rotate the shaft assembly about the longitudinal axis, and (ii) includes a rotary actuator that is configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis (para [0189]); and
e) an instrument actuator (912) coupled with the body, the instrument actuator being operable to drive an instrument longitudinally relative to the shaft assembly while the instrument is disposed in the working passageway.
However, Bendory et al. does not teach an instrument actuator configured to define a cavity.
With respect to claim 20, Palushi et al. teaches an instrument actuator (28) coupled with a body, the instrument actuator being operable to drive an instrument longitudinally, the instrument actuator including a base slidably coupled with the body, wherein the base and the body cooperate to define a cavity therebetween (FIG. 1B,C), wherein the cavity defined between the base of the instrument actuator and the body is configured to receive another actuation assembly therethrough during translation of the instrument actuator (FIG. 1B,C).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the instrument actuator of Bendory to define a cavity in the manner taught by Palushi et al. in order to allow the instrument actuator a full range of motion unlimited by the location of the shaft actuation assembly.
With respect to claim 23, Bendory et al. teaches the shaft assembly including an outermost surface, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in the distal direction to extend at least the outermost surface of the shaft assembly distally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body, the shaft actuation assembly being translatable in the proximal direction to retract at least the outermost surface of the shaft assembly proximally along the longitudinal axis relative to the body (para [0183]-[0184]).
With respect to claim 24, Bendory et al. teaches the shaft rotation assembly rotary actuator including a thumbwheel (921).
With respect to claim 25, Bendory et al. teaches the thumbwheel being configured to rotate about the longitudinal axis (FIG. 25A for example).
With respect to claim 26, Bendory et al. teaches the flexible section is malleable (para [0078]).
With respect to claim 28, Bendory et al. teaches the shaft rotation assembly rotary actuator including a thumbwheel (921).
With respect to claim 29, Bendory et al. teaches a distal portion of the shaft assembly including a flexible section (924).
With respect to claim 30, Bendory et al. teaches the flexible section is malleable (para [0078]).
Claim(s) 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bendory et al. (U.S. 2020/0046213) in view of Palushi et al. (U.S. 2019/0167151) as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Herriges et al. (U.S. 2020/0305699).
Bendory et al. in view of Palushi et al. teaches an apparatus as set forth above. However, Bendory et al. in view of Palushi et al. does not teach a separator plate.
With respect to claim 9, Herriges et al. teaches an apparatus comprising a camera positioned at a distal end of a shaft assembly (FIG. 7), further comprising (i) a separator plate (198) fixed at the distal end of the shaft assembly to define the working passageway and a camera-receiving passageway separate from the working passageway (FIG. 9A,B) and (ii) an instrument positioned within the working passageway, the instrument being longitudinally slidable relative to the shaft assembly (para [0045]), the camera being fixed at the distal end of the shaft assembly within the camera-receiving passageway (FIG. 13A for example).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify Bendory et al. to utilize a separator plate in the manner taught by Herriges et al. in order to reduce the risk of the working tool contacting the soldered joint and/or the camera (para [0021] of Herriges et al.).
With respect to claim 13, Bendory et al. teaches the instrument includes an ablation instrument (para [0136]-[0137]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799