DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action in response to the amendment filed 01/02/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 are currently pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/02/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 101:
Applicant submits on page 8 of the remarks that the claims are patent eligible. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that according to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (PEG), if a claim limitation covers observations or evaluations then it falls within the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Under the 2019 PEG, the “mental processes” grouping is defined as concepts performed in the human mind, and examples of mental processes include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Per the October 2019 Updated Guidance examples of claims that recite mental processes include: a claim directed to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind. Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. As the Federal Circuit has explained, "Courts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind." Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015). See also Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1318, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (‘‘[W]ith the exception of generic computer-implemented steps, there is nothing in the claims themselves that foreclose them from being performed by a human, mentally or with pen and paper.’’); Mortgage Grader, Inc. v. First Choice Loan Servs. Inc., 811 F.3d 1314, 1324, 117 USPQ2d 1693, 1699 (Fed. Cir. 2016). See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2).
Further, Applicant submits that the steps recited in the claims reflect a particular improvement to a technical field. However, per the Revised October 2019 guidance: in order to determine if an invention improves the functioning of a computer or other technology (i.e. technical field) and integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, while the courts have not provided an explicit test for this consideration, MPEP 2106.04(a) and 2106.05(a) provide guidance, first the specification should be evaluated to determine if the disclosure provides sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement; second, if the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure that the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement. When looking at the specification, in view of the claims the disclosure supports that the provided improvement is not to the technology but to the abstract idea.
Applicant submits on page 12 of the remarks that Even if some high-level "evaluation" is implicated, the claim integrates any such exception into a practical application by requiring computer interactions (API scanning, message generator outputs, click-responsive signal handling) and model-based contextual selection using determines response rates-none of which is practically performable mentally and each of which is functionally tied to improved system operation in the security simulation domain. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the present claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application in a matter that imposes meaningful limit to the judicial exception. The claims as presented are merely linking the use of the judicial exception to a computer system. The additional elements recited in the claims do not provide improvement to the computer technology and do not provide a meaningful link of the abstract idea to a practical application.
Applicant submits that the Claim also satisfies Step 2B and that the ordered combination of API-based scanning for format/structure/status, ML model configuration/use to output contextual information, click-responsive capture, determination of user-specific response rates to both contextualized simulated and real phishing communications, and using those rates with the captured response to select contextual information for iterative generation/transmission is not well-understood, routine, or conventional. Further, Applicant submits “The Office Action cites generic computing as "routine," but does not provide evidence establishing that this particular integration of telemetry and response-rate computation and ML-driven contextual selection for adaptive simulated phishing generation was conventional. Under the Memo's reminder that §101 rejections must be supported by a preponderance of evidence, Step 2B further supports eligibility.” Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that these limitations do not impose meaningful limits on the judicial exception as they are directed to receiving or transmitting data over a network and the courts have recognized these computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional activity, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network). See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i).
Claim Rejections 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant submits that the combination of references fails to teach the amended limitations of the claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that the amended features are disclosed by Higbee and Covell as detailed in the instant office action.
Applicant submits that Covell does not teach determining a response rate of the user to simulated phishing communications that include contextual information, nor does it compare this to the user's response rate to real phishing communications, further Applicant submits that …Covell does not teach using the response rate to simulated phishing communications that include contextual information and to real phishing communications as input to the machine learning model to determine a selected contextual information that is more effective for engaging the user… Examiner respectfully disagrees, Covell discloses time and delays for responses (i.e. response rate) See at least Covell [0018]. Further, Covell discloses the attack personalization model uses a neural network to train and predict effective attack communications and content. See at least [0031-0032].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-patentable subject matter. The claims are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claims 1-22, the independent claims (claims 1, 12) are directed, in part, to a method and a system for generating a simulated phishing communication. Step 1 – First pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Guidance, claims 1-12 are directed to a method comprising a series of steps which falls under the statutory category of a process and claims 12-22 are directed to a system which falls under the category of a machine. However, these claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to a mental process which includes observations or evaluations.
As per Step 2A - Prong 1 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims are directed, in part, to generating a simulated phishing communication, the method comprising: scan and analyze, by one or more processors using an application programming interface (API), messages one of sent to or exchanged with other users in a message store of one or more users; identifying, by the one or more processors from content of messages in the message store, one or more message characteristics of one or more messages of a user of the one or more users, the one or more message characteristics comprising one of a message format, a message structure and a message status; establishing, by the one or more processors, a machine learning model configured to receive input comprising one or more message characteristics of the user and output contextual information to be provided to a message generator to tailor one or more simulated phishing communications of increased relevance to the user; providing, by the one or more processors, the one or more message characteristics of the user from messages that the user one of sent to or exchanged with other users as an input to the machine learning model; determining, by the one or more processors using an output of the machine learning model generated responsive to the input comprising the one or more message characteristics of a message format, a message structure and a message status of the user from messages that the user one of sent or exchanged with other users, contextual information from the one or more message characteristics of one or more messages of the user to generate a simulated phishing communication relevant to the user; generating, by the message generator of the one or more processors using the output of contextual information from the machine learning model, the simulated phishing communication based at least on the contextual information relevant to the user to increase the likelihood that the user will interact with an element of the simulated phishing communication; communicating, by the one or more processors, the simulated phishing communication to a device of the user, the user clicking on the element of the simulated phishing communication; receiving, by the one or more processors responsive to the user clicking on the element of the simulated phishing communication, a response the user interacted with the simulated phishing communication that included the contextual information; determining, by the one or more processors, a response rate of the user to simulated phishing communications that include the contextual information and to real phishing communications and; determining, by the machine learning model based at least on the input to the machine learning model of the response that the user interacted with the simulated phishing communication that included the contextual information and the response rate of user to simulated phishing communications that include the contextual information and to real phishing communications, a selected contextual information, as output from the machine learning model, that was more effective for engaging the user to interact with one or more elements of the simulated phishing communication; and generating, by the message generator of the one or more processors based at least on the selected contextual information determined from the machine learning model responsive to the user interacting with the simulated phishing communication, a subsequent simulated phishing communication to be communicated to the device of the user, the subsequent simulated phishing communication comprising the selected contextual information having increased relevance to the user than the contextual information of the simulated phishing communication and a higher likelihood that the user will interact with the subsequent simulated phishing communication than the simulated phishing communication; and communicating, by the one or more processors, the subsequent simulated phishing communication to the device of the user to determine whether or not the user will interact with the subsequent simulated phishing communication. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers an observation or evaluation, then it falls under the “mental process” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
As per Step 2A - Prong 2 of the subject matter eligibility analysis, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites additional elements – “one or more processors”; “a message store”; “a machine learning model”; “a system”; “memory”. These additional elements in both steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic device performing a generic computer function of receiving and storing data) such that these elements amount no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Examiner looks to Applicant’s specification in at least figures 1A-1C and related text and [0051-0052] to understand that the invention may be implemented in a generic environment that “Central processing unit 121 is any logic circuity that responds to and processes instructions fetched from main memory unit 122. In many embodiments, central processing unit 121 is provided by a microprocessor unit, e.g.: those manufactured by Intel Corporation of Mountain View, California; those manufactured by Motorola Corporation of Schaumburg, Illinois; the ARM processor and TEGRA system on a chip (SoC) manufactured by Nvidia of Santa Clara, California; the POWER7 processor, those manufactured by International Business Machines of White Plains, New York; or those manufactured by Advanced Micro Devices of Sunnyvale, California. Computing device 100 may be based on any of these processors, or any other processor capable of operating as described herein. Central processing unit 121 may utilize instruction level parallelism, thread level parallelism, different levels of cache, and multi-core processors. A multi- core processor may include two or more processing units on a single computing component. Examples of multi-core processors include the AMD PHENOM IIX2, INTEL CORE i5 and INTEL CORE i7. Main memory unit 122 may include one or more memory chips capable of storing data and allowing any storage location to be directly accessed by microprocessor 121. Main memory unit 122 may be volatile and faster than storage 128 memory. Main memory units 122 may be Dynamic Random-Access Memory (DRAM) or any variants, including static Random-Access Memory (SRAM), Burst SRAM or SynchBurst SRAM (BSRAM), Fast Page Mode DRAM (FPM DRAM), Enhanced DRAM (EDRAM), Extended Data Output RAM (EDO RAM), Extended Data Output DRAM (EDO DRAM), Burst Extended Data Output DRAM (BEDO DRAM), Single Data Rate Synchronous DRAM (SDR SDRAM), Double Data Rate SDRAM (DDR SDRAM), Direct Rambus DRAM (DRDRAM), or Extreme Data Rate DRAM (XDR DRAM). In some embodiments, main memory 122 or storage 128 may be non-volatile; e.g., non-volatile read access memory (NVRAM), flash memory non-volatile static RAM (nvSRAM), Ferroelectric RAM (FeRAM), Magnetoresistive RAM (MRAM), Phase-change memory (PRAM), conductive- bridging RAM (CBRAM), Silicon-Oxide-Nitride-Oxide-Silicon (SONOS), Resistive RAM (RRAM), Racetrack, Nano-RAM (NRAM), or Millipede memory. Main memory 122 may be based on any of the above described memory chips, or any other available memory chips capable of operating as described herein.” Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. The use of machine learning, as recited in the claims would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because it is being used as mere instruction s to implement the abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
As per Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility analysis, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements are mere instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer. When considered individually, these claim elements only contribute generic recitations of technical elements to the claims. It is readily apparent, for example, that the claim is not directed to any specific improvements of these elements and the invention is not directed to a technical improvement. When the claims are considered individually and as a whole, the additional elements noted above, appear to merely apply the abstract concept to a technical environment in a very general sense – i.e. a generic computer receives information from another generic computer, processes the information and then sends information back. In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. The most significant elements of the claims, that is the elements that really outline the inventive elements of the claims, are set forth in the elements identified as an abstract idea. The fact that the generic computing devices are facilitating the abstract concept is not enough to confer statutory subject matter eligibility. Lastly, Next, when the “machine learning” is evaluated as an additional element, this feature is recited at a high level of generality and encompasses well-understood, routine, and conventional prior art activity. See, e.g., Balsiger et al., US 2012/0054642, noting in paragraph [0077] that “Machine learning is well known to those skilled in the art.” See also, Djordjevic et al. US 2013/0018651, noting in paragraph [0019] that “As known in the art, a generative model can be used in machine learning to model observed data directly.” See also, Bauer et al., US 2017/0147941, noting at paragraph [0002] that “Problems of understanding the behavior or decisions made by machine learning models have been recognized in the conventional art and various techniques have been developed to provide solutions.” Accordingly, the use of machine learning to generate a learning model does not add significantly more to the claim.
Dependent claims 2-11, 13-22 further refine the abstract idea. These claims do not provide a meaningful linking to the judicial exception. Rather, these claims offer further descriptive limitations of elements found in the independent claims and addressed above – such as by describing the nature and content of the data that is received/sent. While these descriptive elements may provide further helpful context for the claimed invention these elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the invention since their individual and combined significance is still not significantly more than the abstract concepts at the core of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2021/0281596 (hereinafter; Covell) in view of US Pub. No. 2021/0021612 (hereinafter; Higbee).
Regarding claims 1/12, Covell discloses:
A method; a system for using a message store for generating a simulated phishing communication, the method comprising: the message store storing the messages that the one or more users one of sent or exchanged with other users; (Covell [0024] in which accessing user history to retrieve context, content, and communication style implies accessing stored messages associated with at least one user.)
identifying, by the one or more processors from content of messages in the message store, one or more message characteristics of one or more messages of a user of the one or more users; (Covell [0024] context, content, and communication style retrieved from user message history cited from represent message characteristics identified from the accessed messages.)
establishing, by the one or more processors, a machine learning model configured to receive input comprising one or more message characteristics of the user and output contextual information to be provided to a message generator to tailor one or more simulated phishing communications of increased relevance to the user; (Covell [0032] In some embodiments, the attack personalization model uses a neural network to train and predict effective attack communications and content. The model component 150 may use supervised learning method (e.g., a supervised learning loop using machine learning techniques). In some instances, the supervised learning methods include neural networking, convolutional neural networking, or other suitable machine learning methodology to train the attack personalization model.)
providing, by the one or more processors, the one or more message characteristics of the user from messages that the user one of sent to or exchanged with other users as an input to the machine learning model; (Covell [0031] discloses passing message characteristics as input for the model.)
determining, by the one or more processors using an output of the machine learning model generated (Covell [0031-0032] combination of attack personalization model and model component 150) configured to output contextual information from the one or more message characteristics of one or more messages of the user to generate a simulated phishing communication relevant to the user; (Covell [0025] For example, the message component 120 may analyze aspects of communications of the user and a specified correspondent to identify a colloquialisms or informalities used by the correspondent (i.e. exchanged with other user); adds elements, colloquialisms, content, and other information to the simulated attack communication; [0034-0037] for generating personalized simulated attack communication.)
generating, by the message generator of the one or more processors using the output of contextual information from the machine learning model, (Covell [0032] the attack personalization model uses a neural network to train and predict effective attack communications and content. The model component 150 may use supervised learning method (e.g., a supervised learning loop using machine learning techniques). In some instances, the supervised learning methods include neural networking, convolutional neural networking, or other suitable machine learning methodology to train the attack personalization model.) the simulated phishing communication based at least on the contextual information (Covell at least step 220 of Fig. 2; [0024]- [0025]); relevant to the user to increase the likelihood that the user will interact with an element of the simulated phishing communication; (Covell [0021] In some embodiments, communication trends include indications of trusted types for the user. Trusted types may be indicated by subjects, attachment types, correspondent characteristics, time characteristics, or other similar characteristics of communications most likely to be interacted with by the user, and with which the user takes less time to interact.)
communicating, by the one or more processors, the simulated phishing communication to a device of the user, (Covell step 230 of Fig. 2; [0026] in which communicating via email or SMS implies communication to the user’s mobile device; see also [0051] which includes transmission of communications to at least PDA/mobile telephone 54A or computer(s) 54B/C).)
a response indicating the user interacted with the simulated phishing communication that included the contextual information; (Covell at least [0027-0029], in which a user response to the simulated attack communication is monitored; step 240 of Fig. 2)
determining, by the one or more processors, a response ,of the user to simulated phishing communications that include the contextual information and to real phishing communications and; (Covell [0018] discloses time and delays for responses (i.e. response rate.)
determining, by the machine learning model based at least on the input to the machine learning model of the response that the user interacted with the simulated phishing communication that included the contextual information, and the response rate of user to simulated phishing communications that include the contextual information and to real phishing communications, a selected contextual information, as output, from the machine learning model that was more effective for engaging the user to interact with one or more elements of the simulated phishing communication; and (Covell at least [0031-0032], in which the selected contextual information corresponds to at least the “content and characteristics” of a successful simulated attack; the attack personalization model uses a neural network to train and predict effective attack communications and content.)
and generating, by the message generator of the one or more processors based at least on the selected contextual information determined from the machine learning model responsive to the user interacting with the simulated phishing communication, a subsequent simulated phishing communication to be communicated to the device of the user, (Covell at least step 250 of Fig. 2; [0031-0032] the attack personalization model uses a neural network to train and predict effective attack communications and content. The model component 150 may use supervised learning method (e.g., a supervised learning loop using machine learning techniques). In some instances, the supervised learning methods include neural networking, convolutional neural networking, or other suitable machine learning methodology to train the attack personalization model; [0039] in which “[a] second simulated attack communication may be generated as a follow-up attack based on users’ responses or failures in user responses to the initial simulated attack communication”.)
the subsequent simulated phishing communication comprising the selected contextual information having increased relevance to the user than the contextual information of the simulated phishing communication and a higher likelihood that the user will interact with the subsequent simulated phishing communication than the simulated phishing communication and communicating, by the one or more processors, the subsequent simulated phishing communication to the device of the user to determine whether or not the user will interact with the subsequent simulated phishing communication. (Covell [0021] In some embodiments, communication trends include indications of trusted types for the user. Trusted types may be indicated by subjects, attachment types, correspondent characteristics, time characteristics, or other similar characteristics of communications most likely to be interacted with by the user, and with which the user takes less time to interact.)
Although Covell discloses systems and methods for simulating phishing communications, Covell does not specifically disclose type of message characteristic, an application programming interface or the user clicking on the message. However, Higbee discloses the following limitations:
scan and analyze, by one or more processors, using an application programming interface (API), messages one of sent to or exchanged with other users, in a message store of one or more users, (Higbee [0062] discloses The portal can offer an interface for executing queries over the messages stored in the shadow message store. In some embodiments, the commands can be issued through an API to the shadow message store; [0078] discloses In some embodiments interfacing with Microsoft Exchange, the Exchange server may expose and application programming interface (API) which allows an external service to issue commands to insert messages.)
contextual information responsive to input comprising one or more message characteristics of a message format, a message structure and a message status of the user from messages that the user one of sent or exchanged with other users, (See Higbee [0054] message format; [0169] message infrastructure; [0098] message status.)
the one or more message characteristics comprising one of a message format, a message structure and a message status; (See Higbee [0054] message format; [0169] message infrastructure; [0098] message status.)
the user clicking on the element of the simulated phishing communication; (Higbee [0067]; [0147] disclose a user clicking on a simulated phishing email.)
receiving, by the one or more processors responsive to the user clicking on the element of the simulated phishing communication, (Higbee [0287] discloses reporting when a user clicked on the message.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system for generating personalized security testing simulations of Covell with the message platform of Higbee in order to remediate suspicious threats and messages (Higbee abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claims 2/13, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, further comprising accessing, by the one or more processors, a subset of messages in the message store of the one or more users that are within a predetermined time period. (Covell [0020] the communication engagement statistics comprise metadata indicating preferences, communication times, communication durations; [0024] The message component 120 may also access user history (i.e. message store) and user profile information to identify and retrieve the context, content, and communication style; [0039] discloses the communications component selects and transmits communications.)
Regarding claims 3/14, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, wherein the one or more messages are forwarded to the message store from one of a second message store or a messaging application of the one or more users. (Covell [0039] discloses In some embodiments, the communications component 130 cooperates with one or more of the message component 120, the response component 140, and the model component 150 to select and transmit a second simulated attack communication at a second transmission time. the second simulated attack communication may be generated as a follow-up attack based on users' responses or failures in user responses to the initial simulated attack communication.)
Although Covell discloses systems and methods for simulating phishing communications, Covell does not specifically disclose scanning the message. However, Higbee discloses the following limitations:
Regarding claims 4/15, Although Covell discloses systems and methods for simulating phishing communications, Covell does not specifically disclose scanning the message. However, Higbee discloses the following limitations:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, further comprises scanning, by the one or more processors, content of the one or more messages. (Covell [0151-0152] disclose scanning messages.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system for generating personalized security testing simulations of Covell with the message platform of Higbee in order to remediate suspicious threats and messages (Higbee abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Regarding claims 5/16, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, wherein the one or more message characteristics comprises one or more of the following: one or more keywords, one or more links and one or more phone numbers. (Covell [0019] discloses the identification component 110 may use topic modeling techniques to analyze the content and context of communications to determine … common keywords or phrases, and prioritized topics associated with communications of the user.)
Regarding claims 6/17, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, wherein the one or more message characteristics comprises one or more of the following: a date and a time of transmission or receipt, a frequency of the one or more messages, message participants and a message status. (Covell [0020] discloses the communication engagement statistics comprise metadata indicating preferences… communication times.)
Regarding claims 7, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more message characteristics comprises one or more of the following: an image or a logo, one or more attachments and one or more software tools used by the one or more users. (Covell [0021] discloses identifying context trends including attachment types.)
Regarding claim 8, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprises determining the selected contextual information that was more effective for engaging the user to interact with one or more elements of the simulated phishing communication based at least on a response rate of the user to both real phishing messages and simulated phishing communications that include this contextual information. (Covell [0032] In some embodiments, the attack personalization model uses a neural network to train and predict effective attack communications and content. The model component 150 may use supervised learning method (e.g., a supervised learning loop using machine learning techniques). In some instances, the supervised learning methods include neural networking, convolutional neural networking, or other suitable machine learning methodology to train the attack personalization model.)
Regarding claims 9/20, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, further comprises generating, by the one or more processors, the simulated phishing communication based at least on the contextual information identifying one or more dates or times relevant to the user. (Covell [0020] discloses the communication engagement statistics comprise metadata indicating preferences… communication times.)
Regarding claims 10/21, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, further comprises generating, by the one or more processors, the simulated phishing communication based at least on the contextual information identifying one or more message types relevant to the user. (Covell [0025] discloses In some embodiments, the message component 120 uses the context, content, and communication style as input into the attack personalization model.)
Regarding claims 11/22, Covell discloses:
The method of claim 1; the system of claim 12, further comprising receiving, by the one or more processors, the response from an email client plug-in of the device of the user. (Covell [0026] discloses The communications component 130 may transmit the simulated attack communication via email.)
Regarding claims 18, Covell discloses:
The system of claim 12, wherein the one or more message characteristics comprises one or more of the following: a message structure, a message format, an image or a logo, one or more attachments and one or more software tools used by the one or more users. (Covell [0021] discloses identifying context trends including attachment types.)
Regarding claim 19, Although Covell discloses systems and methods for simulating phishing communications, Covell does not specifically disclose a specific messaging application. However, Higbee discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 12, wherein the one or more message characteristics comprises a message format generated by a specific messaging application. (Higbee [0062] discloses The portal can offer an interface for executing queries over the messages stored in the shadow message store. In some embodiments, the commands can be issued through an API to the shadow message store; [0078] discloses In some embodiments interfacing with Microsoft Exchange, the Exchange server may expose and application programming interface (API) which allows an external service to issue commands to insert messages.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system for generating personalized security testing simulations of Covell with the message platform of Higbee in order to remediate suspicious threats and messages (Higbee abstract) because the references are analogous since they both fall within Applicant's field of endeavor and are reasonably pertinent to the problem with which Applicant is concerned.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANCIS Z. SANTIAGO MERCED/Examiner, Art Unit 3625