FINAL ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 9/17/2025 has been received and claims 1-6 and 8-9 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “configurable sanitizing mechanisms” and “processing module” in claim 1; “sensing devices” in claim 2; “interface means” in claims 8 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Romo (20150367008).
As to Claim 1, Romo (‘008) discloses a modular and configurable sanitization system (1000; 100; 200; 300; 400) comprises:
one or more configurable panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16), wherein a panel of the one or more panels includes at least one configurable sanitizing mechanism (1060 - 1060a-1060t; 40, 52) (see entire document, particularly p. 7 [0142]), wherein the one or more configurable panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) are connectable and interchangeable (via 1640; 30, 32, 30’, 32’ – see Figures 13-21 and 32) to allow for a plurality of modular and configurable sanitization system configurations (see entire document, particularly Figures 1-11, 13-15, 22B-22C, 29A-33 and 36, p. 15 [0243]-[0244]);
one or more power sources operably coupled to the one or more configurable panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) (see entire document, particularly p. 6 [0129] – lines 10-17 and [0131] – lines 10-16, p. 11 [0193] – lines 1-3); and
a processing module (3500, 3550) operably coupled to the one or more panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) (see entire document, particularly p. 7 [0144], p. 11 [0190]-[0191] and [0193], p. 12 [0206]-[0211], p. 13 [0221] and [0225]), wherein the processing module is operable/capable to:
obtain configuration data pertaining to one or more of: the one or more panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16), one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms (1060 - 1060a-1060t; 40, 52) of the one or more panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16), and one or more sanitization subjects (30) (see entire document, particularly p. 8 [0156] – last 2 lines, pp. 8-9 [0157], p. 9 [0160] and [0164], pp. 9-10 [0167], p. 10 [0168]-[0175], p. 11 [0190]-[0191] and [0193], p. 12 [0206]);
determine one or more sanitization protocols based on the configuration data (see entire document, particularly p. 12 [0206]);
generate one or more sanitizing mechanism configuration instructions to configure the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms (1060 - 1060a-1060t; 40, 52) based on the one or more sanitization protocols and in accordance with the one or more sanitization subjects (30) (see entire document, particularly p. 9 [0164], pp. 9-10 [0167], p. 10 [0168]-[0174]);
generate one or more panel configuration instructions to configure the one or more panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) based on the one or more sanitization protocols and in accordance with the one or more sanitization subjects (30) (see entire document, particularly p. 12 [0205]-[0206]); and
provide the one or more panel configuration instructions and the one or more sanitizing configuration instructions to the one or more configurable panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) to configure the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms (1060 - 1060a-1060t; 40, 52) and the one or more configurable panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) (see entire document, particularly p. 12 [0206]-[0208]).
As to Claim 2, Romo (‘008) discloses that the modular and configurable sanitization system (1000; 100; 200; 300; 400) further comprises: one or more sensing devices (see entire document, particularly p. 12 [0206] – 4th – 5th lines from the bottom) coupled to one or more of: the processing module and the one or more configurable panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) (see entire document, particularly p. 12 [0206] – last 5 lines).
As to Claim 3, Romo (‘008) discloses that the processing module is operable/capable to obtain the configuration data by one or more of (see entire document, particularly p. 6 [0129] and [0131], p. 7 [0144], p. 11 [0190]-[0191] and [0193]-[0203], p. 12 [0206]-[0211], p. 13 [0221] and [0225]):
receiving one or more data inputs (see entire document, particularly Figures 22A-22D, p. 11 [0191] and [0193], p. 12 [0206]-[0208], p. 13 [0221] and [0225]);
obtaining a response from the one or more of: the one or more configurable panels, the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms, the one or more sanitization subjects, and the one or more power sources (see entire document, particularly p. 6 [0129]); and
performing a data analysis process, wherein the data analysis process is based on one or more of: stored data, historical data, the one or more data inputs, and a data model (see entire document, particularly p. 11 [0190]-[0191], [0193] and [0203], p. 12 [0206]-[0211]).
As to Claim 4, Romo (‘008) discloses that the processing module obtains/capable of obtaining configuration data pertaining to one or more of (see entire document, particularly p. 6 [0129], p. 8 [0148] and [0151], p. 11 [0190]-[0191] and [0193]-[0203], p. 12 [0206]-[0211]):
characteristics of the one or more sanitization subjects;
sanitization requirements of the one or more sanitization subjects;
sanitization preferences of the one or more sanitization subjects;
a required panel configuration of the one or more panels;
a current panel configuration of the one or more panels;
a desired panel configuration of the one or more panels;
characteristics of the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms;
configuration capabilities of the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms;
power requirements pertaining to one or more of: the one or more sanitization subjects, the one or more panels, and the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms; and
default settings pertaining to one or more of: the one or more sanitization subjects, the one or more panels, and the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms.
As to Claim 5, Romo (‘008) discloses that the processing module determines/capable of determining the one or more sanitization protocols as one or more of (see entire document, particularly p. 11 [0190]-[0191], p. 12 [0206] and [0210]):
one or more sanitization methods;
one or more amount of sanitization;
a time period of sanitization;
one or more safety protocols; and
one or more sanitization areas.
As to Claim 6, Romo (‘008) discloses that the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms (1060 - 1060a-1060t; 40, 52) include at least one of:
ultraviolet (UV) light emitting device (see entire document, particularly p. 5 [0121]-[0125], p. 6 [0126]-[0128], p. 14 [0231] – lines 8-10); and
a sanitization chemical (see entire document, particularly p. 14 [0231] – lines 8-10).
As to Claim 8, Romo (‘008) discloses that the processing module (3500, 3550) is further operable/capable to:
send the one or more sanitizing mechanism configuration instructions to the one or more configurable sanitizing mechanisms (1060 - 1060a-1060t; 40, 52) via an interface means (see entire document, particularly Figure 35, p. 12 [0209], p. 17 [0255], pp. 17-18 [0262], p. 18 [0264]).
As to Claim 9, Romo (‘008) discloses that the processing module (3500, 3550) is further operable/capable to:
send the one or more panel configuration instructions to the one or more panels (1200, 1300, 1400, 1500; 10, 12, 14, 16) via an interface means (see entire document, particularly Figure 35, p. 12 [0209], p. 17 [0255], pp. 17-18 [0262], p. 18 [0264]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Specifically, as to applicant’s argument in last 4 lines on p. 6 to first two lines on p. 7 of Remarks, examiner disagrees and points out that examiner has indicated in this and prior office action that in lines 1-9, particularly lines 4-9, of [0206] on p. 12 of Romo the processing module is disclosed as being operable to “generate one or more panel configuration instructions to configure the one or more configurable panels based on the one or more sanitization protocols…”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REGINA M YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758