DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed on 7/28/2021 in relation to application 17/325,368.
The application is in continuation to 13/747,363 dated 1/22/2013.
Terminal Disclaimer approved on 4/20/2023
Claims 1-8,10-19, 35, 36 are pending. Claims 9,20-34 cancelled.
Claim 36 newly added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
Claims 1-8,10-19, 35, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims are directed to a statutory class (i.e., product, method) (STEP 1: YES).
Claims 1, 18 disclose data related to human engagement in learning process, analyzing and displaying of processed data, all describing certain methods of organizing human activity. The functions are what a tutor would manually perform in assessing a student during an exercise of a pre-computer era and thus manages personal behavior or interactions between people., Additionally, the recited steps or functions of mental processes that involves observation and evaluation which a tutor would perform in their mind or by using a help of pen and paper based on the collected captured data. This can be characterized as a mental process of collecting data (e.g., images and video), analyzing that data (e.g., generating learning engagement data), and providing an output based on that analysis (e.g., providing the learner engagement report) and thereby abstract under Electric Power Group. Other learning or steps related to educational process like capturing of events, developing reports, sending alert and providing at least one learner engagement report indicating the overall engagement levels of the plurality of learners are considered as certain methods of organizing human activity in terms of the MPEP citation to teaching people as being an example of same category (STEP 2A, prong 1: YES).
The claims recite additional elements, including a camera configuration for identification and recording of some measurement of learners’ behavior or generating aggregated learner engagement data to generate report and instructor contemporaneously with the capture by the optical sensor for generic images or the videos of the at least one learner develops an improved technique. But this does not generated a significant more of an activity to make the claims patent eligible. Added claims 35, 36 identifies an optical sensor with pre-processing capability to remove of filter background data and optical sensor device configuration to processes hand features based on depth data. These machine implementation of a general updated camera functionalities and features on depth data are not providing either improvement or meaningful limitation of abstract idea for a particular technological environment. Further they do not result in an improvement to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field. The use of 3D camera and depth data analysis are generally restricted to "capturing and computer processing" of information “displaying of resulting information" related to the analyzed data. The extracting features indicative of activities of the at least one learner from the captured images or videos and generate learner activity data are functions of generic capture devices that have background features in the 3D images. It also recites just providing of a user interface for learning material generally available in art. If some additional features for activities could be considered, they are the recited sensors collecting or capturing in-depth detailed user data amounting to merely an insignificant extra-solution activity to a judicial exception. If you want a case to cite for using a camera to take a picture not rendering patent eligible subject matter aa case like Yu v. Apple could be reviewed. The next step of outputting and sending of alert does not require anything more than displaying and generating of a contemporaneous information related to this processed data, or alternatively just sending to a user interface an output known in art at a high level of generality, thus not practically applying the abstract idea. The claims do not include limitations that integrate the judicial exception in a practical application. (Step 2A, prong 2: No).
Additionally, all generic computer functions are indications of actions towards collecting, retrieving of information that are compared to known standards for one human being as that relates to the evaluation from another human being that may be possible with the use of pen and paper. Learner comparison of learners or of collaborative work without physical interaction are now common using only known electronic devices as also indicated in Para 0002-0007 of the background information of the application. They are also well known, routine and conventional and do not offer meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the abstract idea identified above to a particular technological environment, i.e., computer environment. For example in case of Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, the activities of storing and retrieving of information in a memory of consumer electronic for a field of use purposes are recognized to be use of computer functions. The elements claimed in addition to the abstract idea as far as a capture device, computing device, and embodying abstract idea of computer code that executes in real-time are generic, well-known and conventional, as evidenced by their limited disclosure in the instant specification (Berkheimer findings). There found to be some additional capture device like camera used as capturing a generic field-of-view of use equipment in computer arts. They are well known, routine and conventional and do not offer meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the abstract idea identified above to a particular technological environment. The elements here in the claim recitation do not improves the functioning of a computer itself to overcome the abstract idea rejection (Step 2B: No).
The dependent claims 2-17, 19-20,35,36 of the instant case, when analyzed as a whole are held to be ineligible subject matter and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish that the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. For instance:
Claims 2-4, 7, 8,11, 19-20 highlights instruction request for learner engagement, indicating the use of video activity data and dimensional values, audio data, input data, attention drawing, corrections and accuracy for contemplated order of smart blocks.
Claims 5,6,8-10, 12-17,35,36 cites analysis based on facial, engagement level, alert generation, comprehension and depth base features of camera equipment etc.
The above is merely an involvement of activities generally categorized as insignificant extra pre and post solution activity as that relates to an abstract idea of monitoring, collection, comparison, rule applications, filtering, outputting etc. They are abstract idea in itself (Step 2A: Prong1 YES). The recitations are not improving the functioning of a computer itself that qualify this to be as significantly more (Step 2A: Prong2 YES). They are based on generic computer processing of comparison, calculations and aggregation of information from components and peripherals such as from input devices, output interface and interactive network elements with use of known sensors as described above. (Step 2B: No). Hence, they are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, and 18-19, 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No 5944530 to Ho et al. (Ho) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 20140205984 A1 Chapman in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 8754924 B1 to Shane and further in view of US 20170039876 A1 to Alyuz Civitci et al. (Alyuz Civitci)
Claims 1 and 18: Ho teaches a computer implemented learning system or monitoring learner engagement by processing of feature data extracted by an optical sensor device, and a learning method monitoring activity of monitoring activity of plurality of learners (Fig.1 element 108, col.1: 55-58 interactive learning system and method for students’ behaviors with study materials) comprising:
(a) at least one capture optical sensor device for monitoring activity of a plurality of learners in an operational field of view, the optical sensor device configured to acquire a plurality of image and video data for the plurality of learners, the plurality of image and video data comprising a background data and a foreground data (Fig.2B elements 170, 180 capturing by keyboard and camera student action generating learning activities; col.8 lines 40-45, col.9 lines 13-40 a digital camera can have an operational field of view and could be configured to have plurality of image and video data comprising of face orientation that may well with background data and/or a foreground data); and
(b) at least one processor configured (¶ 0012 processing computer) to:
(i) monitor the activity of each learner of the plurality of learners the at least one learner during a learning event using the at least one capture device to capture images or videos of at least one learner (col.7: lines 5-18 monitoring behavioral activities and capturing video or an optical sensor images for learner behaviors), extract features indicative of activities of the at least one learner from the captured images or videos (col.8: lines 28-39 wherein one capture data comprises of an optical sensor that captures images or videos of the at least one learner with an focus operation field of view features extracted during a learning event for specific measurements) and generate learner activity data associated with the at least one learner based on the extracted features indicative of activities of the at least one learner (col.8 lines 18-20 indicative of activities polled);
(ii) generate learner engagement data based upon the data indicative of the activities of the at least one learner, the learner engagement data being indicative of how engaged the learner is during the learning event (col.11: 5-7 learner engagement purposely captures data on learner activity on degree of concentration i.e. based on an engagement level in an event and behaviors within the learning environment);
Wherein the learner engagement is based on comprising respective assignment to detection of predetermined facial features posture features, head features, hand features or a combination thereof of the at least of learner in the extracted features (col.9; lines 26-37 facial feature analysis to determine engagement levels compensating for orientation and shapes );
(iii) generate at least one learner engagement report based upon the learner engagement data (col.11: 5-7 printing report indicating engagement or student degree of concentration);
Ho teaches a student’s concentration level report but does not explicitly teach reports wherein the at least one learner engagement report comprises aggregated learner engagement data from the plurality of learners. Chapman, however teaches reports wherein the at least one learner engagement report comprises aggregated learner engagement data from the plurality of learners ( Para 0102 plurality of learners are provided to the reporting module).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for reports wherein the at least one learner engagement report comprises aggregated learner engagement data from the plurality of learners, as described by Chapman in the computer implemented learning system or monitoring learner engagement report of Ho combination so that profiles of learners aggregated numbers who are attending an learning session could be recorded for further analysis.
(iv) Ho provide the at least one learner engagement report to a computing device associated with an instructor (col.11: 6-7 report generation), the learner engagement report having a display indicating the overall engagement levels of the plurality of learners (Fig. 2A elements 154, 180 display for reports for plurality of learners) without explicit learner engagement report provided to the computing device associated with the instructor contemporaneously with the capture by the optical sensor of the images or the videos of the at least one learner.
Ho teaches a student’s concentration level report to provide remedial materials ( Fig.5 element 356 ) but does not explicitly provides teaching of report for a aggregated comprehension level of the plurality of learners to indicate how well the plurality of learners understood the material presented or whether to provide remedial material to at least one learner. Chapman, however teaches reports wherein the at least one learner engagement report comprises aggregated learner engagement data from the plurality of learners ( Para 0102 aggregated learner engagement module for a wide report indicating how well the plurality of learners are engaged).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for reports provides teaching of report for a aggregated comprehension level of the plurality of learners to indicate how well the plurality of learners understood the material presented or whether to provide remedial material to at least one learner, as described by Chapman in the computer implemented learning system or monitoring learner engagement report of Ho so that instructor to readily determine how engaged the students in a class room are.
Ho does not explicitly teach a video data capture device generating analytical learner activity data. Shane, in same field of engagement level determination, teaches capturing of video data indicative of learning activities (Col.10:lines 15-20 virtual classroom technology and camera capture of video files and graphical animations are configured for 3-dimensional features as known in the art). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for capturing of video data indicative of learning activities as described by Shane in the computer learning system configuration of combined Ho in order to provide enhanced learner engagement feature analysis.
Ho in combination with Shane does not explicitly teach computing device associated with an instructor, wherein the learner engagement report is provided to the computing device associated with the instructor contemporaneously with the capture by the optical sensor of the images or the videos of the at least one learner. Alyuz Civitci, in same field of learner engagement level determination, teaches capturing of video data indicative of learning activities associated with the instructor contemporaneously with the capture by the optical sensor of the images or the videos of the at least one learner (Para 0013, 0099 processors running modules that receive indications of interactions and physical responses of a learner contemporaneous interactions with the educational program; Para 0030 a labeler could be an instructor equipped with tools to capture optical sensor images collected at learner engagement states in order to update/calibrate the artificial neural network tool for report associated with the learner). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for capturing of video data indicative of learning activities for computing device associated with an instructor, wherein the learner engagement report is provided to the computing device associated with the instructor contemporaneously with the capture by the optical sensor of the images or the videos of the at least one learner, as described by Alyuz Civitci in the instructor driven computer learning system configuration of combined Ho so as to interact in a real-time enhanced learner engagement feature analysis.
Ho in combination with Shane does not explicitly teach computing device associated with a learner engagement based on processing a weighted combination of the learner activity data comprising respective weights assigned to detection of predetermined facial features posture features, head features, hand features or a combination thereof of the at least of learner in the extracted features. Alyuz Civitci, in same field of learner engagement level determination, teaches processing a weighted combination of the learner activity data comprising respective weights assigned to at least of learner in the extracted features (Para 0036 processors running modules that receive indications of interactions and physical responses of a learner contemporaneous interactions with the educational program may utilize a neural network as a set of adaptive and adjustable weights. This can associate a variety of inputs and to associate them with a particular current learning state of a learner). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for an learner engagement based on n processing a weighted combination of the learner activity data comprising respective weights assigned to detection of predetermined facial features posture features, head features, hand features or a combination thereof of the at least of learner in the extracted feature, as described by Alyuz Civitci in the instructor driven computer learning system configuration of combined Ho as modified by Shane so as to obtain an outcome representative of a broader spectrum students.
In re Claims 2 and 19 Ho teaches a learning system of claim 1, the method of claim 17, wherein at least one learner engagement report is provided to the instructor or a supervisor in a real-time such that the instructor is able to determine the current engagement level of the at least one learner from the learner engagement report (col.11: 6-18 level of individual learner concentration analysis studies reveal in report for rewards by instructors).
In re Claim 3. Ho teaches the system of claim 1, wherein [[the at least one capture]] the optical sensor device includes a video capture device and the learner activity data includes video learner activity data (col.11 lines 40-41).
In re Claim 4, 20 Ho teaches the system of claim 1, but does not include at least one capture device configured to include a video capture device identifying three-dimensional video data. Shane, in same field of engagement level determination, teaches capturing of three-dimensional video data and the learner activity data includes three-dimensional video data indicative of activity data (Col.10:lines 15-20 virtual classroom technology and camera capture of video files and graphical animations are configured for 3-dimensional features as known in the art). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for capturing three-dimensional video data and the learner activity data includes three-dimensional video learner activity data as described by Shane in the computer learning system configuration of combined Ho in order to provide enhanced engagement experiences.
In re Claims 5 Ho teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to analyze at least one facial feature (Ho: col.9:18-23 facial orientations) of the at least one learner to determine whether that learner is engaged, and generated the learner engagement data based upon the analysis of at least of one facial feature (col.9; lines 26-37 facial feature analysis to determine engagement levels )
In re Claims 6 Ho teaches the system of claim13, wherein at least one posture of the at least one learner to determine whether that learner is engaged and generated the learner engagement data based upon the analysis of at least one facial posture (Ho: col.10:15-21 following rules and postures for facial and eyelid combination determines engagements).
In re Claim 7 Ho teaches the system of claim 1, but did not include audio capture device. Shane teaches audio capture device (col.12: lines 52-55 audio captured device manipulating audio feeds activating microphone alerting notification) to include into the learner data. indicative of activity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made; to have allowed for one capture device to include an audio capture device included into a learner activity monitored data as described by Shane in the computer method and instructor input based learning system of Ho so an enhanced variety of learner activity data could be studied.
In re Claim 8 Ho teaches the system of claim 1 wherein the at least one capture device the optical sensor includes at least one processor configured to capture learner input and the data indicative of learner activity includes learner input activity data (Col.1 65-67 captured learning activity comprises of learner’s input into the computer).
In re Claim 9 Ho teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the at least one learner comprises a plurality of learners, and the processor is configured to generate the at least one learner engagement report based at least in part on learner engagement date from the plurality of learners (col.7:3-5; 42-45 periodic pattern monitoring; sampling i.e. reporting of plurality of learning students engagement or concentration levels monitored to be reported at intervals monitored by variety of ) based at least in part on engagement date from plurality of learners (col.7:32-36 function of time i.e. reporting date invariably could be polled during speed determinations etc. )
In re Claim 10 Ho teaches he system of claim 1, but does not include at least one learner comprises a plurality of learners who are located at different geographical locations. Shane teaches least one learner comprises a plurality of learners who are located at different geographical locations (col.19: lines 3-5 geographical locations for computing devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for least one learner comprises a plurality of learners who are located at different geographical locations as described by Shane in the computer method and instructor input based learning system of Ho so an enhanced variety of learners from distant location could get benefit.
In re Claim 11 Ho in combination teaches the system of claim 1, does not indicate if processor is configured to generate at least one alert to attention to learning event. Shane, however, teaches providing of alert for drawing attentions to the learning event (an input set alerts in the learning system for targeted learners (col.21:lines 33-35 representations of notifications, or alerts, of stimulus that require the user attentions by generation appropriate user interface elements e.g. side bar). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for a sending of alert for an input drawing attentions to the learning as described by Shane into the computer method based learning of Ho, so that generated alert keeps the continuation of engagement within an acceptable range.
In re Claim 12 Ho teaches system of claim 11 without indicating explicit alert type of learner engagement. Shane teaches at least one processor is configured to generate at least one alert on at least in part on learner engagement data or as a query (Para 0002, 0005 alert in part depend on detected stimulus in the environment of learner engagement data). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for engagement data, activity level, comprehension and identification of its risk by an instructor as described by Shane in the learning system and method of Ho in order to set thresholds of effectiveness.
In re Claim 13 Ho teaches system of claim 11 without indicating explicit alert type of not engaged. Shane teaches at least one processor is configured to generate at least one alert targeted to not engage learner (col.21:lines 33-40 triggering to activate or alerting the user to positive inferences determined from the detected stimulus) . Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for engagement data, activity level, comprehension and identification of its risk by an instructor as described by Shane in the learning system and method of Ho in order to set thresholds of effectiveness.
In re Claim 14 Ho teaches system of claim 12 without indicating explicit alert types of risk engagement. Shane teaches at least one processor is configured to generate at least one alert targeted learner identified as being at risk of not being engaged (Shane : col.17:lines 1-5 alerting the user student to negative inferences determined from the detected stimulus based on lesson evaluation or student inattentive such as “I am confused”). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for engagement data, activity level, comprehension and identification of its risk by an instructor as described by Shane in the learning system and method of Ho in order to set thresholds of effectiveness.
In re Claim 15 Ho teaches system of claim 11 alert targeted to the at least one learner selected by the instructor (Ho: col.11: 42-44 instructional authority acting accordingly to a targeted learning activity of material presentation).
In re Claim 35,36 Ho teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the optical sensor device is configured to pre- process the plurality of image and video data but does not explicitly indicate that it is capable of removing the background data upon acquiring the plurality of image and video data based on optical sensor device configuration to processes hand features based on depth data.. Shane teaches at least one processor is configured to generate at least one targeted learner identified for quality and frame-rate video streams for filter and depth features (Shane : col.1:lines 54-67; col.2 lines 1-13 video filtering to remove the additional non-required background data possible with configuration to processes hand features based on depth data). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for optical sensor device configured to pre- process the plurality of image and video data to remove the background data upon acquiring the plurality of image and video data and filter features on depth data as described by Shane in the learning system and method of Ho in order to facilitate video streams.
Claims 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No 5944530 to Ho et al. (Ho) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US20130330705 to Shane et al. (Shane) in view of US 20140205984 A1 Chapman in view of US 20170039876 A1 to Alyuz Civitci et al. (Alyuz Civitci) and further in view of US20080227079 to Boehme et al. (hereinafter Boehme) .
In re Claims 16 Ho in combination with Shane and Alyuz Civitci teaches system of claim 1 without explicitly identifying or determining learner comprehension based on activity or engagement data of a learning event. Boehme, however, teaches determining a providing of learning materials based on comprehension level and at least on activity and engagement data (Para 0099 question on group to determine engagement; Para 0052 comprehensive approach to input for comprehension; Para 0057 performance activity is a basis of scoring). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for engagement data, activity level comprehension by an instructor as described by Boehme in the combined learning Ho, Shane ’ s system and method in order to set thresholds for effective determination of comprehending learning material.
In re Claims 17 Ho in combination with Shane teaches system of claim 16 without explicitly identifying in providing learning material activity, engagement based upon determined learning comprehension level. Boehme, however, teaches determining providing of learning materials based on comprehension level (Para 0099 question on group activities to determine activity level; 0052 comprehensive approach to input; Para 0057 learning activity for performance is a basis of scoring). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to have allowed for engagement data, activity level to provide learning material based on student comprehension by an instructor as described by Boehme in the combined learning Ho, Shane ’ s system in order to set thresholds for effective determination of comprehending learning material.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's arguments/amendments filed on 4/8/2026 have been considered but found to be persuasive to the overcome and 35USC§103 rejections.
However a new rejection is made as necessitated by amendments changing or not c the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 101
Applicant of pages 7-10 of argument/remarks 4/8/2026 indicated that such a number of learner activities, the plurality of learners and small changes to facial and body features, and the ability to correlate and aggregate these movements to an engagement report is not a mental process but requires the specialized technology of an improved/modified learning management system rather than a general purpose computer. Applicants further submit that that the claims include additional elements that are significantly more than the judicial exception. Applicant submits that the claim, as a whole, provides an improvement to the technology of a learning management system and to the field of individualized pacing and activities guides.
Examiner respectfully traverses and finds that he presently claimed combination of features is not an improvement in computational technology under a network-centric problem or in a networked learning management system as already known in art on record.
Applicant previously on pages 8-9 of argument/remarks 9/17/2025 indicated that the claimed combination of features performs the technical function of reviewing, weighing, and generating an engagement report in a manner that improves the efficiency of the learning management system. That to be a technical improvement of a learning management system and, given the complexity and sheer amount of data to be combined, cannot be practically performed in or by the human mind.
But examiners found an abstract idea there since it was being directed to the mental process of collecting data (e.g., image and video data collection), analyzing of those data (e.g. processing the data, generating engagement data) and providing outputs based on that analysis (e.g., providing reports), as held the CAFC in, e.g., Electric Power Group, University of Florida Research Foundation, and/or Yousician (non-precedential). It could also be characterized as being abstract as a method of organizing human activity in terms of a method of teaching/training human beings (cite MPEP section regarding same). To the extent that the claim, e.g., computing devices, an optical sensor device, and/or capturing/processing data in real-time (“contemporaneously with the capture by the optical sensor of the images or the videos of the at least one learner”). Those are all well-known, routine, and conventional devices and/or software techniques as evidence by the limited disclosure in applicant’s specification (Figure 6 flow chart for generation of alert) with regard to how to make and/or use these devices and thereby do not constitute “significantly more” than the claimed abstract idea(s). None of these devices are improved qua devices, in other words, in terms of none of them not making the computer system e.g., run faster, use less power, and/or be manufactured more cheaply etc. as a result of embodying Applicant’s invention .
In regard to argument regarding “practical application”, examiners find that it is not part of the Mayo test but instead is a burden placed on Examiners making a 101 rejection under Mayo. Here it does not move up to a reason to withdraw the rejection if/unless applicant cite some case law indicating why their claimed invention is patent eligible to overcome those tests. Trading Technologies, could be cited in terms of providing a visual display that improves human performance is not patent eligible because it is not a technological improvement (“This invention makes the trader faster and more efficient, but not the computer technology”, emphasis original). 17-2257.Opinion.4-18-2019.pdf
Applicant again on pages 11-14 of previous argument/remarks 2/24/2025 indicated that independent claims have been amended and highlighted to recite additional computer features,. Those amendments recites applying a weighted combination of detected features to determine engagement levels, with different weights assigned to various types of learner activity. But weighting feature is based on predefined criteria and provides for structured engagement assessment where specific learner responses can be assigned different weights, allowing the system to account for variations in how different behaviors correlate with engagement. For example, sustained eye contact with the screen may be assigned a higher weight than a brief glance. Similarly, a head tilt combined with a brow movement may indicate confusion and thus be weighted differently than an upright posture with no facial movement. The structured assessment provides more flexibility and could only enables an accurate assessment of learner engagement, distinguishing it from a simple binary classification of "engaged" or "not engaged." The weighted assessment feature can include assigning numerical values or probabilities to detected features and computing engagement levels based on the values. A human observer, even with pen and paper, would be able to apply weighted feature processing where different captured features are assigned varying levels of significance in real time. So the claimed non-convention tracking of multiple engagement indicators, maintaining consistency in weighting, and dynamically adjusting the assessment as new data is introduced exceeds the capabilities of manual human evaluation, even still assisted by generic computation devices in a standard fashion.
Examiner had respectfully traversed and gleaned from the recitation of claim language that the weight assignment evaluation are from human observation and judgement. Weighted analysis and scoring for engagement in a model from mathematical relationship and calculation and refine the evaluation based on human opinions. Hence 35USC101 rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s other argument on pages 6-9 of previous argument/remarks 1/2/2024 indicated that learners monitored stationed not in the same physical location as the teacher. This, however, is depending on internet connections and in terms of generic, well-known, and conventional advantage of embodying an abstract idea using networked computers without making any improvement with regard to capability improvement. The claimed invention e.g., generally improves networking speed to allow all sorts of monitoring to take place faster. The fact that when network computers are together, things are done at a distance that could not be done without computers. But that is not an improvement to computing technology per se. Just the same as when “the internet” was claimed in Ultramercial in regard to providing advertising and the CAFC held that it didn’t render patent eligible subject matter. CAFC has held that the speed gains made by embodying an abstract idea in computer code do not render patent eligible subject matter. See, e.g., the CAFC’s holding in Bancorp Services v. Sun Life (2011-1467; 7/26/12), slip. op., pages 20-21.
The claimed invention is been directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant has added limitations requiring some base features of engagement data in independent claims. Though this may not be routine activity in art, it remains a part of managing personal behavior common in educational art. These are concepts performed in human mind involving observation and judgement.
Examiners find that in particular, generating learner engagement data based on extracted features, generating a learner engagement report based on the learner engagement data, and providing the learner engagement report to a computing device associated with an instructor can easily be performed within a computing system and thus not a technical solutions to particular technical problems. Though a tutor may observe the student, understand their behavior, and assess whether the student is engaged, noting that down on paper or keeping the result in their mind by requiring different process with varied detections involved, they are still part mental observation, evaluation and judgements of a tutor to made all along the class teaching process. Report writing is of using pen paper to document the evaluation observed.
Though examiner may find that though there are concrete, palpable, and tangible limitations of the computer use in the aforementioned claimed subject matter, it nevertheless a subject matter, as a whole, not an integration into a practical application. No improvement on the” functioning of the computer itself’ or “any other technology or technical field” found. The generic capture devices extract images and videos indicative of learner activities to analyze and determine how engaged a learner is during some specified event. A record or report could be generated by known software evaluative and calculative steps to categorize a learner behavior. These are quite different from a technology-based solution, where an improved filtering of content executed on a data overcome existing problems that finally worked to become generally a filtering media such as in the ‘Bascom’ and other cases.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant of pages 10-13 of argument/remarks 4/8/2026 submits weighting of the combinations of features and aggregating them over a plurality of users to determine if remedial material is necessary is not suggested or taught in the cited prior art combinations.
There is no disclose on amalgamating learner engagement data to determine an overall comprehension level as provided by claim 1.
Examiner respectfully indicate the additional art Chapman on paragraph 0102 cite learners engagement data for a plurality of learners are provided by a reporting module. This reporting module aggregates learner engagement data associated with the learners and generates a class-wide report. The report allows the instructor to readily determine how engaged the students are in a class room.
Previously applicant has alleged on pages 10-12 of argument/remarks on 9/17/2025 about prior art Alyuz Civitci not appearing to disclose or suggest weighting various learner activities alone or combined. In particular, applicant indicates that the art Alyuz Civitci i mentions body language indicating that the learner is on or off task, but does not suggest which facial features, hand features and/or combination with computer interaction may provide for body language that illustrates a lack of learner engagement. Examiner respectfully traverses and like to highlight the prior art Alyuz Civitci uses ANN neural network technology with adaptive weights to recognize learner engagement. This would be an AI technique able to approximate the capability of nonlinear functions of outputs based on given inputs. Hence the ANN may be able to learn to associate a variety of inputs (to include various weights) to associate them with a particular current learning state of a learner for certain engagement level of a learner.
The primary prior art Ho et al.’s engagement was assessment primarily based on rules that identify behavior patterns, such as "...if for a predetermined period of time, the inputs have been entered outside the window where the study materials reside, the student has lost concentration" (col. 8, lines 24-27) or "if the speed of the student's volitional inputs across a predetermined period of time is significantly lower than the reference speed, the student has lost concentration" (col. 8, lines 4-7). Thus, Ho operates on fixed thresholds for engagement assessment rather than dynamically adjusting the importance of different engagement indicators based on a weighted combination. In contrast, claim 1 provides an adaptive method by assigning respective weights to facial expressions, postural changes, and hand movements, rather than relying on predefined, static behavioral thresholds as in Ho.
But examiner respectfully traverses and indicate that though the prior art combination depends on behavioral threshold for engagement assessment monitoring student’s concentration-sensitive behavioral level, None the less the prior art and more with the combination provides an adaptive methods
But though not directly assigning weights to facial expressions, postural changes and hand movements it remains as the judgement of a tutor or a person with ordinary skills in art to provide a weightage to individual monitored behavioral elements for overall relevant score as deemed necessary for the objective of the concentration level evaluation.
The other argument about new claim 35 earlier provide a video data capture device generating analytical learner activity data by modification of background data has been traverses. Since that was a well-known feature and the corresponding learner engagement report provided to the computing device was found to be associated with the instructor contemporaneously with the capture by the optical sensor of the images or the videos of the at least one learner found in prior art, it was rejected
Applicant assertion on pages 9-11 of previous argument/remarks on 7/4/2024 about prior art Ho et al. or Shane or Alyuz Civitci was also respectfully traverse and indicate that it is found in the combination of art that reads on the subject matter. While individual art teaching an aspect of learner engagement report having a display indicating the overall engagement levels of a plurality of learners, the combined teachings significantly enhancing the learner engagement report display indicating the disclosing the overall engagement levels of a plurality of learners beyond what each individual prior art does (HO: Fig. 2A elements 154, 180 display for reports for plurality of learners. The art Alyuz Civitci in same field of learner engagement level determination, teaches capturing of video data indicative of learning in paragraphs 0013, 0030 0099 processors running modules indicates interactions and physical responses of a learner contemporaneous interactions with others who could be an instructor equipped with tools to capture optical sensor images collected at learner engagement level.
Further on a different argument applicant asserted on pages 10-11 of argument/remarks 1/2/2024 about prior art Ho et al. or Shane not providing report being provided “contemporaneously” with the capture is respectfully traversed. But it was merely an outcome of applying idea by embodying on a computer code making it computer code running fast. Fast enough that often processes occur in real-time or “contemporaneously”. That is a generic, well-known, and conventional advantage of computers and not something that is novel invention . In other words, it doesn’t generally improve their computing device to be able to run any computer program faster. And the CAFC has held that the speed gains made by embodying an abstract idea in computer code do not render patent eligible subject matter. See, e.g., the CAFC’s holding in Bancorp Services v. Sun Life (2011-1467; 7/26/12), slip. op., pages 20-21.
35USC103 rejection maintained.
Conclusion
/S.Z/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
June 27, 2026
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715