DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 01/21/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15-19, 21-26, 29-34, 36 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1, 9, 16, 22 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and previously claims 5, 14, 20, 27-28, 35 had been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/21/2026 , with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of YANG et al. (US 20170279640 A1; hereinafter as “YANG”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, 15-16, 18-19, 21-23, 25-26,29-34, 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU et al. (US 20180103438 A A1; hereinafter as “ZHOU”) in view of YANG et al. (US 20170279640 A1; hereinafter as “YANG”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to ZHOU unless otherwise mentioned.
With regard to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, ZHOU teaches an apparatus (component in UE 114 in fig. 1, Fig. 7: UE 702) for wireless communication at a first wireless communication device (see fig. 1: UE 114) (see fig. 1 where UE 114 is in wireless communication with Base Station 104; “The wireless communication system 100 may operate pursuant to a wireless standard, for example the IEEE 802.11 standard. The wireless communication system 100 may include an AP 104, which communicates with STAs (e.g., STAs 112, 114, 116, and 118)”: [0044]; UE 702 in in wireless communication with Base Station 704 ; “ a first device 702 (e.g., a STA described herein) in communication with a second device 704 (e.g., an AP described herein) ”: [0091]), comprising:
one or more memories (memory in fig. 11); and
one or more processors, based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories (fig. 11: processor Unites 1104: processor 1104 is connected to memory 1106: : [0137]), configured to:
receive configuration information that includes a request for capability information to indicate whether the first wireless communication device (see fig. 1: UE 114) is capable of using an indicated power amplifier nonlinearity state to configure the first wireless communication device for transmission of a communication
(see fig. 1: AP 104) (“As another example, at block 1404-5, the first apparatus (==UE ) may be configured to receive a request for the transmit power related information (==configuration information), such as from the second apparatus. In this example, the trigger event includes the reception of the request for the transmit power related information. As another example, at block 1404-6, the first apparatus may be configured to capability information indicative that the second apparatus is capable of processing transmit power related information. In this example, the trigger event includes the reception of the capability information.”: [0156]; “power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value.”:[0113]);
receive, in wireless signaling from the second wireless communication device (see fig. 1: AP 104), an indication of a power amplifier nonlinearity state that the first wireless communication device(see fig. 1: UE 114) is to use for transmission a communication to the second wireless communication device (see fig. 1: AP 104) (see fig. 8, element 810: where UE receives from AP. “At block 810, a receiver of the first apparatus/UE may be configured to receive transmit power related information from a transmitter of, for example, a second apparatus (e.g. AP).I ”… “ In some examples, the transmit power related information may include at least one of a maximum transmit power, a power backoff per modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or an actual transmit power. The receiver of the first apparatus may be configured to store received transmit power related information in a memory accessible by the first apparatus (e.g., a memory of the first apparatus). Although the transmit power related information may include maximum transmit power information, power backoff per MCS information, and/or actual transmit power information, not all have to be reported by the second apparatus.”: [0105] ; “power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. ”:[0113]); “the first apparatus (==UE ) may be configured to receive the power backoff per modulation and coding scheme information in a high efficiency (HE) capability information element (IE) of a frame. The frame may be a data frame or an HE control frame. The first apparatus may be configured to receive the power backoff per modulation and coding scheme information in a Medium Access Control (MAC) header or a physical layer (PHY) header of a data frame. In some examples, a message may be a frame or a data frame.”:[0121] ; “ power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA ”;0113]),
transmit the communication based at least in part on the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state (see fig. 8: element 820, 830, fig. 13 element 1306: “At block 1306, the first apparatus (==UE) may be configured to transmit the message to a second apparatus (e.g. AP). ”: [0143], [0107]-[0109]; “One or more fields of the plurality of fields may be used to carry or otherwise report transmit power related information (e.g., power backoff per MCS information) to an AP ”: [0081]; “As described herein, power backoff per MCS information may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power to prevent the power amplifier (PA) of a transmitter from entering a non-linear state. For example, power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB ”: [0113]; “at block 1304-1B, the first apparatus (==UE) may be configured to determine to broadcast the transmit power related information. In this example, the trigger event includes the determination to broadcast the transmit power related information. In some examples, broadcasting information, such as transmit power related information, may refer to the transmission of the information to one or more recipient devices (e.g., any ST ”: [0145).
While ZHOU teaches, “receive configuration information that includes a request for capability information to indicate whether the first wireless communication device is capable of using an indicated power amplifier nonlinearity state to configure the first wireless communication device for transmission of a communication”,
ZHOU does not expressively disclose:
transmit, to a second wireless communication device, a set of communications comprising one or more respective pilots for estimation of power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
transmit, in a message to the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
the power amplifier nonlinearity state being based at least in part on transmission of the set of communications.
YANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
transmit, to a second wireless communication device (==Receiving electronic device or AP in Fig 11: AP 1176 ), a set of communications comprising one or more respective pilots for estimation of power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications (transmitting device or 1178A OR 1178B or 1178C 1178D in Fig. 11) (transmitting electronic device or UE 1178a sends to receiving electronic device or AP 1176 a long training field ( LTF) in a preamble of a packet, based on those LTF parameters, receiving device adjust Power amplifier nonlinearity post correction : [0011], [0031] ; “ the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]);
transmit, in a message (==packet ) to the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications (“the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate (==indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states ) the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]);
the power amplifier nonlinearity state being based at least in part on transmission of the set of communications (“the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHOU to above limitation as taught by YANG . The suggestion/motivation would be to improve communication device performance that will be beneficial for wireless communication : (YANG : [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 9, ZHOU teaches an apparatus (component in UE 114 in fig. 1) for wireless communication at a first wireless communication device (see fig. 1: UE 114) (see fig. 1 where UE 114 is in wireless communication with Base Station 104; “The wireless communication system 100 may operate pursuant to a wireless standard, for example the IEEE 802.11 standard. The wireless communication system 100 may include an AP 104, which communicates with STAs (e.g., STAs 112, 114, 116, and 118)”: [0044]), comprising:
one or more memories (memory in fig. 11); and
one or more processors, based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories (processor is connected to memory: [0137]), configured to:
receive configuration information that indicates that the first wireless communication device (see fig. 1: UE 114) is to indicate a capability of the first wireless communication device to estimate nonlinearity based at least in part on a power amplifier nonlinearity state (see fig. 8 element 810, 820, “At block 810, a receiver of the first apparatus (==UE) may be configured to receive transmit power related information from a transmitter of, for example, a second apparatus (ie AP) ” … “transmit power related information may include at least one of a maximum transmit power, a power backoff per modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or an actual transmit power ”: [0105]; “At block 820, the first apparatus may be configured to estimate a maximum achievable SINR per MCS based at least on the power backoff per MCS of the transmitter. … For example, the MCS component of the first apparatus may be configured to estimate a maximum achievable SINR per MCS based at least on the power backoff per MCS of the transmitter. ”: [0107] “As another example, at block 1404-5, the first apparatus (==UE ) may be configured to receive a request for the transmit power related information (==configuration information), such as from the second apparatus. In this example, the trigger event includes the reception of the request for the transmit power related information. As another example, at block 1404-6, the first apparatus may be configured to capability information indicative that the second apparatus is capable of processing transmit power related information. In this example, the trigger event includes the reception of the capability information.”: [0156]; “power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value.”:[0113]);
receive, in wireless signaling from a second wireless communication device (see fig. 1: AP 104) , an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state used by the second wireless communication device (see fig. 1: AP 104) to transmit a communication to the first wireless communication device (see fig. 1: AP 104) (see fig. 8, element 810: where UE receives from AP. “At block 810, a receiver of the first apparatus/UE may be configured to receive transmit power related information from a transmitter of, for example, a second apparatus (e.g. AP).I ”… “ In some examples, the transmit power related information may include at least one of a maximum transmit power, a power backoff per modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or an actual transmit power. The receiver of the first apparatus may be configured to store received transmit power related information in a memory accessible by the first apparatus (e.g., a memory of the first apparatus). Although the transmit power related information may include maximum transmit power information, power backoff per MCS information, and/or actual transmit power information, not all have to be reported by the second apparatus. ”: [0105] ; “power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value.”:[0113]), “the first apparatus may be configured to receive the power backoff per modulation and coding scheme information in a high efficiency (HE) capability information element (IE) of a frame. The frame may be a data frame or an HE control frame. The first apparatus may be configured to receive the power backoff per modulation and coding scheme information in a Medium Access Control (MAC) header or a physical layer (PHY) header of a data frame. In some examples, a message may be a frame or a data frame.”:[0121]).
While ZHOU teaches, receive, in wireless signaling from a second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state used by the second wireless communication device to transmit a communication to the first wireless communication device,
ZHOU does not expressively disclose:
receive, from a second wireless communication device, a set of communications comprising one or more respective pilots for estimation of power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
receive, in a message from the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
estimate a nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on reception of the set of communications and the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state.
YANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
receive, from a second wireless communication device, a set of communications comprising one or more respective pilots for estimation of power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications (transmitting device or 1178A OR 1178B or 1178C 1178D in Fig. 11) (transmitting electronic device or UE 1178a sends to receiving electronic device or AP 1176 a long training field ( LTF) in a preamble of a packet, based on those LTF parameters, receiving device adjust Power amplifier nonlinearity post correction : [0011], [0031] ; “ the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]);
receive, in a message (==packet ) from the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications (“the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate (==indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states ) the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]);
estimate a nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on reception of the set of communications and the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state (“the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHOU to above limitation as taught by YANG . The suggestion/motivation would be to improve communication device performance that will be beneficial for wireless communication : (YANG : [0004]-[0005]).
Regarding claim 16, ZHOU teaches, An apparatus for wireless communication at a first wireless communication device, comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories, configured to:
transmit configuration information that indicates that a second wireless communication device is to indicate a capability of the second wireless communication device to estimate nonlinearity based at least in part on a power amplifier nonlinearity state and on a combination of power amplifier nonlinearity state information for multiple communications;
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, a set of communications comprising one or more respective pilots for estimation of power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
transmit, in a message to the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
transmit, in wireless signaling to the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state used by the first wireless communication device to transmit a communication,
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, the communication based at least in part on the power amplifier nonlinearity state ( Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 22, ZHOU teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a first wireless communication device (see fig. 1: AP 104 ) (see fig. 1 where AP 104 is in wireless communication with UE 114 ; “The wireless communication system 100 may operate pursuant to a wireless standard, for example the IEEE 802.11 standard. The wireless communication system 100 may include an AP 104, which communicates with STAs (e.g., STAs 112, 114, 116, and 118)”: [0044]), comprising:
one or more memories (“the wireless device 1200 may be an AP ”: [0138]; memory 1226: [0138]); and
one or more processors, based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories (“the wireless device 1200 may be an AP ”: [0138]; memory 1226: [0138]);, configured to:
transmit configuration information that includes a request for capability information to indicate whether a second wireless communication device (see fig. 1: UE 114) is capable of using an indicated power amplifier nonlinearity state to configure the second wireless communication device for transmission of a communication (see fig. 1: AP 104 ) ( AP transmits to UE “the transmit power related information (==configuration information)” which includes “capability information indicative that the second apparatus is capable of processing transmit power related information” : [0156]; “power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. ”:[0113] ; ““At block 820, the first apparatus may be configured to estimate a maximum achievable SINR per MCS based at least on the power backoff per MCS of the transmitter. … For example, the MCS component of the first apparatus may be configured to estimate a maximum achievable SINR per MCS based at least on the power backoff per MCS of the transmitter.”:[0107]);
transmit, in wireless signaling to the second wireless communication device (see fig. 1: UE 114), an indication of a power amplifier nonlinearity state that the second wireless communication device (see fig. 1: UE 114) is to use for transmission of a communication to the first wireless communication device (see fig. 1: AP 104 ) (see fig. 8, element 810: where UE receives from AP. “At block 810, a receiver of the first apparatus/UE may be configured to receive transmit power related information from a transmitter of, for example, a second apparatus (e.g. AP).I ”… “ In some examples, the transmit power related information may include at least one of a maximum transmit power, a power backoff per modulation and coding scheme (MCS), or an actual transmit power. The receiver of the first apparatus may be configured to store received transmit power related information in a memory accessible by the first apparatus (e.g., a memory of the first apparatus). Although the transmit power related information may include maximum transmit power information, power backoff per MCS information, and/or actual transmit power information, not all have to be reported by the second apparatus. ”: [0105] ; “power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. ”:[0113]), “A communication link that facilitates transmission from the AP 104 to one or more of the STAs may be referred to as a downlink (DL) 108, and a communication link that facilitates transmission from one or more of the STAs to the AP 104 may be referred to as an uplink (UL) 110. Alternatively, a downlink 108 may be referred to as a forward link or a forward channel, and an uplink 110 may be referred to as a reverse link or a reverse channel”: [0046]; “the first apparatus may be configured to receive the power backoff per modulation and coding scheme information in a high efficiency (HE) capability information element (IE) of a frame. The frame may be a data frame or an HE control frame. The first apparatus may be configured to receive the power backoff per modulation and coding scheme information in a Medium Access Control (MAC) header or a physical layer (PHY) header of a data frame. In some examples, a message may be a frame or a data frame.”:[0121]).
ZHOU does not expressively disclose:
receive, from a second wireless communication device, a set of communications comprising one or more respective pilots for estimation of power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
receive, in a message from the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications;
estimate a nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on reception of the set of communication and the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state .
YANG, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
receive, from a second wireless communication device, a set of communications comprising one or more respective pilots for estimation of power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications (transmitting device or 1178A OR 1178B or 1178C 1178D in Fig. 11) (transmitting electronic device or UE 1178a sends to receiving electronic device or AP 1176 a long training field ( LTF) in a preamble of a packet, based on those LTF parameters, receiving device adjust Power amplifier nonlinearity post correction : [0011], [0031] ; “ the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]);
receive, in a message (==packet ) from the second wireless communication device, an indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states used to transmit the set of communications (“the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate (==indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity states ) the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]);
estimate a nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on reception of the set of communication and the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state
(“the transmitter may send a PA model and/or a PA distortion error to the receiver. The receiver may estimate the channel H using a regenerated post-PA transmitted training field (e.g., post-PA transmitted LTF) signal (e.g., a PA(LTF) signal). The post-PA transmitted training field may indicate the transmitted training field after PA operation”: [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHOU to above limitation as taught by YANG . The suggestion/motivation would be to improve communication device performance that will be beneficial for wireless communication : (YANG : [0004]-[0005]).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically ZHOU teaches: wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state comprises one or more of:
an identification of the power amplifier nonlinearity state to use for transmitting the communication,
an indication to use a same set of power amplifier parameters for a series of transmitted communications, or
a threshold amount of allowable modifications to a set of power amplifier parameters for a series of transmitted communications (“For example, power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. ”: [0113]).
Regarding claim 3, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically ZHOU teaches, wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state is to be applied to the series of transmitted communications based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicated number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications,
a configured number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications, an indicated amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications,
a configured amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications, or all transmissions for one or more channels until reception of an additional indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state (“The apparatus may be configured to receive transmit power related information corresponding to a second apparatus. ”: “the apparatus may be configured to select, based on the first SINR, the first modulation and coding scheme for scheduling an uplink transmission with the second apparatus in accordance with the first modulation and coding scheme ”: [0009]-[0010]; “In some examples, the power backoff per MCS information may be reported via a message. For example, the message may include the frame structure 500 including the power backoff per MCS information. For example, an AP may be configured to transmit the message containing the power backoff per MCS information to a STA. As another example, a STA may be configured to transmit the message containing the power backoff per MCS information an AP. In some examples, certain power backoffs for reference MCSs may be signaled (e.g. transmitted to a receiving device), and one or more power backoffs corresponding to one or more MCSs may be interpolated (e.g., by the receiving device) based on the signaled power backoff information for the reference MCSs. For example, a power backoff of 1 dB for reference MCS3 and a power backoff of 3 dB for reference MCSS may be signaled and power backoff of 2 dB may be interpolated for MCS4 (which may not be signaled). For example, an MCS component of the receiving device of transmit power related information (e.g., an AP or a STA) may be configured to interpolate one or more power backoffs based on received power backoff per MCS information. In some examples, the Element ID field 502 may indicate the ID of the frame structure 500, the Length field 504 may indicate the length of the frame structure 500, the HE capability information field 506 may indicate features and capabilities of the transmitting node (e.g., STA), and the PPE thresholds field 508 may indicate thresholds used for packet extension computation at a receiver (e.g., an AP).”: [0083]).
Regarding claim 6, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, specifically ZHOU teaches, wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state includes one or more of: a first indication of a first power amplifier state for a first channel, or a second indication of a second power amplifier state for a second channel (“s described herein, power backoff per MCS information may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power to prevent the power amplifier (PA) of a transmitter from entering a non-linear state. For example, power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA. For example, in an example, the best MCS (e.g., for a UL transmission from the STA to the AP) may be defined as the highest MCS (or highest MCS index/MCS index value) with a packet error rate (PER) below a threshold at the estimated SINR for this MCS. In some examples, the backoff per MCS may be a function of bandwidth (e.g., channel bandwidth), number of spatial streams, and/or pre-coding matrix. For a given MCS, a power backoff may be different for different bandwidths (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for a 40 MHz channel, a 6 dB power backoff for a 80 MHz channel), and/or different streams with the given MCS (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for 1 stream, or a 6 dB backoff for 2 streams, etc.).”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 7, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, wherein the power amplifier nonlinearity state is based at least in part on one or more of: a transmission port used to transmit the communication, a transmission beam used to transmit the communication, a power amplifier gain state used to transmit the communication, or a power amplifier supply voltage state used to transmit the communication (“As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA.”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 8, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, in response to reception of the configuration information, an indication of a capability of the first wireless communication device to transmit the communication based at least in part on the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state (“The AP 104 may transmit on one or more channels (e.g., multiple narrowband channels, each channel including a frequency bandwidth) a beacon signal (or simply a “beacon”), via a communication link such as the downlink 108, to other nodes (STAs) of the wireless communication system 100. The beacon signal may help the other nodes (STAs) synchronize their timing with the AP 104. Alternatively or additionally, the beacon signal may provide other information or functionality. Such beacons may be transmitted periodically. In one aspect, the period between successive transmissions of a beacon may be referred to as a superframe. Transmission of a beacon may be divided into a number of groups or intervals. In one aspect, the beacon may include, but is not limited to, such information as timestamp information to set a common clock, a peer-to-peer network identifier, a device identifier, capability information, ”: [0049]; “ In some examples, the frame structure 400 may include a field, such as field 410 with the example name of “Max Tx Power,” configured to carry the maximum transmit power of a STA. For example, a STA (e.g., STA 114) may be configured to report (e.g., send or otherwise transmit) the maximum transmit power of the STA to an AP via field 410 of the IE. In such an example where the frame structure 400 is an HE capability IE, the STA may be configured to report (e.g., send or otherwise transmit) the maximum transmit power of the STA to an AP via field 410 of the HE capability IE.”:[0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 10, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of:
perform digital post distortion correction for the communication based at least in part on estimating the nonlinearity of the communication; or
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, an indication of an estimated nonlinearity of the communication (“As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA. For example, in an example, the best MCS (e.g., for a UL transmission from the STA to the AP) may be defined as the highest MCS (or highest MCS index/MCS index value) with a packet error rate (PER) below a threshold at the estimated SINR for this MCS. In some examples, the backoff per MCS may be a function of bandwidth (e.g., channel bandwidth), number of spatial streams, and/or pre-coding matrix. For a given MCS, a power backoff may be different for different bandwidths (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for a 40 MHz channel, a 6 dB power backoff for a 80 MHz channel), and/or different streams with the given MCS (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for 1 stream, or a 6 dB backoff for 2 streams, etc.)”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 12, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state comprises one or more of:
an identification of the power amplifier nonlinearity state used to transmit the communication, an indication that a same set of power amplifier parameters is used for a series of transmitted communications, or
an indication of an amount of modifications to a set of power amplifier parameters, from a previously transmitted communication, to be applied to a transmission of the communication (“An access point (AP) may need a station's (STA) transmit power related information to predict UL Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) and modulation and coding scheme (MCS). However, a STA may apply different power backoffs for different MCSs to prevent a power amplifier from entering a non-linear state which may further vary based on the STA's vendor, e.g., different vendors may have different backoff values which may not be known by the AP. ”: [0005], [0071], [0113]).
Regarding claim 13, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state is to be applied to the series of transmitted communications based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicated number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications, a configured number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications, an indicated amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications, a configured amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications, or all transmissions for one or more channels until reception of an additional indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state ( “. For example, a first power backoff may correspond to a first MCS and a second power backoff may correspond to a second MCS. In some examples, the power backoff information may correspond to one or more MCSs and additional information, such as bandwidth (e.g., bandwidth of a Wi-Fi channel), a number of spatial streams, and/or a precoding matrix. In some examples, power backoff per MCS information may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) from entering a non-linear state”:[0071]).
Regarding claim 15, , ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state includes one or more of:
a first indication of a first power amplifier state for a first channel, or a second indication of a second power amplifier state for a second channel (power amplifier state in a particular channel: [0071]).
Regarding claim 18, ZHOU in view of YANG, PARK, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state comprises one or more of:
an identification of the power amplifier nonlinearity state used to transmit the communication, an indication that a same set of power amplifier parameters is used for a series of transmitted communications, or an indication of an amount of modifications to a set of power amplifier parameters, from a previously transmitted communication, to be applied to a transmission of the communication (see fig. 9: “At block 930, the first apparatus may be configured to select, based on the first SINR, the first modulation and coding scheme for scheduling an uplink transmission with the second apparatus in accordance with the first modulation and coding scheme ”:[0117]-[0118]).
Regarding claim 19, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state is to be applied to the series of transmitted communications based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicated number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications, a configured number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications, an indicated amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications, a configured amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications, or all transmissions for one or more channels until reception of an additional indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state ( “As described herein, power backoff per MCS information may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power to prevent the power amplifier (PA) of a transmitter from entering a non-linear state. For example, power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA. For example, in an example, the best MCS (e.g., for a UL transmission from the STA to the AP) may be defined as the highest MCS (or highest MCS index/MCS index value) with a packet error rate (PER) below a threshold at the estimated SINR for this MCS. In some examples, the backoff per MCS may be a function of bandwidth (e.g., channel bandwidth), number of spatial streams, and/or pre-coding matrix. For a given MCS, a power backoff may be different for different bandwidths (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for a 40 MHz channel, a 6 dB power backoff for a 80 MHz channel), and/or different streams with the given MCS (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for 1 stream, or a 6 dB backoff for 2 streams, etc.).”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 21, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state includes one or more of: a first indication of a first power amplifier state for a first channel, or a second indication of a second power amplifier state for a second channel (“As described herein, power backoff per MCS information may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power to prevent the power amplifier (PA) of a transmitter from entering a non-linear state. For example, power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA. For example, in an example, the best MCS (e.g., for a UL transmission from the STA to the AP) may be defined as the highest MCS (or highest MCS index/MCS index value) with a packet error rate (PER) below a threshold at the estimated SINR for this MCS. In some examples, the backoff per MCS may be a function of bandwidth (e.g., channel bandwidth), number of spatial streams, and/or pre-coding matrix. For a given MCS, a power backoff may be different for different bandwidths (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for a 40 MHz channel, a 6 dB power backoff for a 80 MHz channel), and/or different streams with the given MCS (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for 1 stream, or a 6 dB backoff for 2 streams, etc.). ”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 23, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to one or more of:
perform digital post distortion correction for the communication based at least in part on estimating the nonlinearity of the communication; or
transmit, to the second wireless communication device, an indication of an estimated nonlinearity of the communication (“As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA. For example, in an example, the best MCS (e.g., for a UL transmission from the STA to the AP) may be defined as the highest MCS (or highest MCS index/MCS index value) with a packet error rate (PER) below a threshold at the estimated SINR for this MCS. In some examples, the backoff per MCS may be a function of bandwidth (e.g., channel bandwidth), number of spatial streams, and/or pre-coding matrix. For a given MCS, a power backoff may be different for different bandwidths (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for a 40 MHz channel, a 6 dB power backoff for a 80 MHz channel), and/or different streams with the given MCS (e.g., a 3 dB power backoff for 1 stream, or a 6 dB backoff for 2 streams, etc.).”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 25, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, the first wireless communication device of claim 22, wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state comprises one or more of:
an identification of the power amplifier nonlinearity state to use for transmitting the communication, an indication to use a same set of power amplifier parameters for a series of transmitted communications, or
a threshold amount of allowable modifications to a set of power amplifier parameters for a series of transmitted communications (“An access point (AP) may need a station's (STA) transmit power related information to predict UL Signal to Interference plus Noise Ratio (SINR) and modulation and coding scheme (MCS). However, a STA may apply different power backoffs for different MCSs to prevent a power amplifier from entering a non-linear state which may further vary based on the STA's vendor, e.g., different vendors may have different backoff values which may not be known by the AP. ”: [0005], [0071], [0113]).
Regarding claim 26, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state is to be applied to the series of transmitted communications based at least in part on one or more of:
an indicated number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications, a configured number of transmissions to include in the series of transmitted communications, an indicated amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications, a configured amount of time in which transmissions are to be included in the series of transmitted communications, or
all transmissions for one or more channels until reception of an additional indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state ( “. For example, a first power backoff may correspond to a first MCS and a second power backoff may correspond to a second MCS. In some examples, the power backoff information may correspond to one or more MCSs and additional information, such as bandwidth (e.g., bandwidth of a Wi-Fi channel), a number of spatial streams, and/or a precoding matrix. In some examples, power backoff per MCS information may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) from entering a non-linear state”:[0071]).
Regarding claim 29, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, wherein the power amplifier nonlinearity state is based at least in part on one or more of:
a transmission port used to transmit the communication, a transmission beam used to transmit the communication, a power amplifier gain state used to transmit the communication, or a power amplifier supply voltage state used to transmit the communication (“As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 30, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive an indication of a capability of the second wireless communication device to transmit the communication based at least in part on the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state. receiving an indication of a capability of the second wireless communication device to transmit the communication based at least in part on the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state ( “The AP 104 may transmit on one or more channels (e.g., multiple narrowband channels, each channel including a frequency bandwidth) a beacon signal (or simply a “beacon”), via a communication link such as the downlink 108, to other nodes (STAs) of the wireless communication system 100. The beacon signal may help the other nodes (STAs) synchronize their timing with the AP 104. Alternatively or additionally, the beacon signal may provide other information or functionality. Such beacons may be transmitted periodically. In one aspect, the period between successive transmissions of a beacon may be referred to as a superframe. Transmission of a beacon may be divided into a number of groups or intervals. In one aspect, the beacon may include, but is not limited to, such information as timestamp information to set a common clock, a peer-to-peer network identifier, a device identifier, capability information, ”: [0049]; “ In some examples, the frame structure 400 may include a field, such as field 410 with the example name of “Max Tx Power,” configured to carry the maximum transmit power of a STA. For example, a STA (e.g., STA 114) may be configured to report (e.g., send or otherwise transmit) the maximum transmit power of the STA to an AP via field 410 of the IE. In such an example where the frame structure 400 is an HE capability IE, the STA may be configured to report (e.g., send or otherwise transmit) the maximum transmit power of the STA to an AP via field 410 of the HE capability IE.”:[0068]-[0069]).
Regarding claim 31, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state includes one or more of: a first indication of a first power amplifier state for a first channel, or a second indication of a second power amplifier state for a second (power amplifier state in a particular channel: [0071]).
Regarding claim 32, ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the second wireless communication device, an indication of an estimated nonlinearity of the communication (see fig. 8: element 820, 830, fig. 13 element 1306: “At block 1306, the first apparatus (==UE) may be configured to transmit the message to a second apparatus (e.g. AP). ”: [0143], [0107]-[0109]; “One or more fields of the plurality of fields may be used to carry or otherwise report transmit power related information (e.g., power backoff per MCS information) to an AP ”: [0081]; “As described herein, power backoff per MCS information may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power to prevent the power amplifier (PA) of a transmitter from entering a non-linear state. For example, power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB ”: [0113]; “at block 1304-1B, the first apparatus (==UE) may be configured to determine to broadcast the transmit power related information. In this example, the trigger event includes the determination to broadcast the transmit power related information. In some examples, broadcasting information, such as transmit power related information, may refer to the transmission of the information to one or more recipient devices (e.g., any ST ”: [0145]; “ At block 830, the first apparatus may be configured to estimate an MCS based at least on the received transmit power related information. For example, the MCS component of the first apparatus may be configured to estimate an MCS for an uplink transmission of the second apparatus based at least on the received transmit power related information. ”: [0108]-[0110]).
Regarding claims 33, 34 , ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, teaches: wherein the power amplifier nonlinearity state is based at least in part on one or more of: a transmission port used to transmit the communication, a transmission beam used to transmit the communication, a power amplifier gain state used to transmit the communication, or a power amplifier supply voltage state used to transmit the communication (“As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the PA of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value. In some examples, an AP may use the power backoff per MCS to estimate a maximum SINR per MCS and therefore determine the best (e.g., highest possible, second highest, third highest, etc.) MCS for the STA.”:[0113]).
Regarding claim 36 , ZHOU in view of YANG, specifically, ZHOU teaches, teaches: the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: configure the first wireless communication device based at least in part on the configuration information (see fig. 1: AP 104) (“As another example, at block 1404-5, the first apparatus (==UE ) may be configured to receive a request for the transmit power related information (==configuration information), such as from the second apparatus. In this example, the trigger event includes the reception of the request for the transmit power related information. As another example, at block 1404-6, the first apparatus may be configured to capability information indicative that the second apparatus is capable of processing transmit power related information. In this example, the trigger event includes the reception of the capability information. ”: [0156]; “power backoff per MCS information for a STA may refer to a transmit power backoff from a maximum transmit power of a transmitter of the STA to prevent the transmitter (e.g., the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter) of the STA from entering a non-linear state. As an example, if the transmit power of a STA increases from 20 dB to 30 dB, the increase in the transmit power may cause the power amplifier (PA) of the transmitter to enter a non-linear region of operation which may distort the signal. Therefore, in some examples, a STA may use a power backoff per MCS to limit the actual transmit power and report the power backoff per MCS to an AP. In an aspect, the power backoff per MCS may be configured in the firmware of the STA and may be reported for each MCS index value.”:[0113]).
Claim 4 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU in view of YANG and further in view of VERMANI et al. (US 20110164576 A1; hereinafter as “VERMANI”).
Regarding claim 4, ZHOU in view of YANG teaches claim 1 as above. ZHOU in view of YANG, JIN do not expressively teach, wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state indicates to use a same set of power amplifier parameters for a series of transmitted communications, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine a transmission power for respective transmissions of the series of transmitted communications based at least in part on a same pathloss measurement.
VERMANI, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state indicates to use a same set of power amplifier parameters for a series of transmitted communications, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine a transmission power for respective transmissions of the series of transmitted communications based at least in part on a same pathloss measurement (the access point calculates a plurality of required transmit power values to achieve the desired SINR value for each of the users based on the heuristic algorithm that takes into account the practical system constraints such as path-loss value,… power amplifier non-linearity ..”:[0049], [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHOU in view of YANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by VERMANI. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to reduce computational complexity (VERMANI:[00053]).
Claims 11, 17, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU in view of YANG and further in view of Stopler et al. (US 20160241359 A1; hereinafter as “Stopler”).
Regarding claim 11, ZHOU in view of YANG do not expressively teach, wherein the one or more processors, to estimate the nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on are configured to: estimate the nonlinearity based at least in part on pilot measurements of the set of communications transmitted by the second wireless communication device.
Stopler, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to estimate the nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on are configured to: estimate the nonlinearity based at least in part on pilot measurements of the set of communications transmitted by the second wireless communication device (“the adjustment of the one or more components may be controlled based on order of a modulation constellation used for generation of the symbol. The adjustment of the one or more components may be controlled based on a determination of interference present at a receiver to which said symbol is to be transmitted.”: [0122]; “The at least one nonlinear circuit may comprise a power amplifier and/or a digital pre-distortion circuit. The at least one nonlinear circuit may comprise a digital nonlinear function circuit configured to compress a signal to be transmitted prior to input of the signal to be transmitted to a power amplifier of the transmitter. The said generation of the pre-distortion signal may be based on a seeking of a minimum, maximum, or desired value (e.g., above or below a threshold) of a performance metric. The transmitter may comprise a pilot distortion circuit (e.g., bin mapper 116 or multiplier 390) operable to distort pilots of said symbol.”:[0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHOU in view of YANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by Stopler. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to improve the functionally of integrated circuit or chip (Stopler: [0127]).
Regarding claim 17 : ZHOU in view of YANG do not expressively teach, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of an estimated nonlinearity of a transmission port used to transmit the communication, wherein the estimated nonlinearity of the transmission port is based at least in part on the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state .
Stopler, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive an indication of an estimated nonlinearity of a transmission port used to transmit the communication, wherein the estimated nonlinearity of the transmission port is based at least in part on the indication of the power amplifier nonlinearity state (Fig. 3A-3C: Digital nonlinear Function (DNF) which estimate nonlinear distortion: [0111]-[0112]; see Fig. 2 DFP circuit 102 “optimized to compress the transmitted signal to limit out-of-band distortion introduced by the Power Amplifier (e.g. reducing cubic metric) and maximize receiver performance.”: [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHOU in view of YANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by Stopler. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to improve the functionally of integrated circuit or chip (Stopler:[0127]).
Regarding claim 24, ZHOU in view of YANG do not expressively teach,
wherein the one or more processors, to estimate the nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on reception of the set of communications are configured to :
estimate the nonlinearity based at least in part on pilot measurements of the set of communications transmitted by the second wireless communication device.
Stopler, in the same field of endeavor, discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, to estimate the nonlinearity of the communication based at least in part on reception of the set of communications are configured to :
estimate the nonlinearity based at least in part on pilot measurements of the set of communications transmitted by the second wireless communication device (“the adjustment of the one or more components may be controlled based on order of a modulation constellation used for generation of the symbol. The adjustment of the one or more components may be controlled based on a determination of interference present at a receiver to which said symbol is to be transmitted.”: [0122]; “The at least one nonlinear circuit may comprise a power amplifier and/or a digital pre-distortion circuit. The at least one nonlinear circuit may comprise a digital nonlinear function circuit configured to compress a signal to be transmitted prior to input of the signal to be transmitted to a power amplifier of the transmitter. The said generation of the pre-distortion signal may be based on a seeking of a minimum, maximum, or desired value (e.g., above or below a threshold) of a performance metric. The transmitter may comprise a pilot distortion circuit (e.g., bin mapper 116 or multiplier 390) operable to distort pilots of said symbol.”: [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ZHOU in view of YANG to include the above recited limitations as taught by Stopler. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to improve the functionally of integrated circuit or chip (Stopler:[0127]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411