DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the RCE filed 22 December 2025. Claims 1-4 are pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For Claims 1-4, it is unclear what is meant by “wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element is mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even.”
It is not clear how the requirements of this second case can be met for a single resource element. It is also not clear how the requirements of this second case can be met when the claim also includes the mutually exclusive requirement of “a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to the single resource element per a resource block, wherein the mapping information further includes a location of the single resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, as understood in light of rejections under 35 USC 112, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al. (US 2019/0223187) in view of Noh et al. (US 2019/0090218 and Liu (US 2021/0273758).
For Claim 1, Davydov teaches a wireless communication method comprising:
transmitting, from a base station (BS) to a user equipment (UE), a configuration information indicating a resource element used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by higher layer signaling, being RRC signaling (see abstract, paragraphs 53-54, 78); and
receiving, with the UE, the CSI-RS from the BS based on the configuration information (see paragraphs 63-64, abstract),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to the single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of the resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains);
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Noh teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 254, 259, 269: CDM pattern, configuration, one CSI-RS resource);
wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element is mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 258-259: density of one half RE/RB/port, modulo 2 case).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information and provide for low densities as in Noh when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Noh teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 196, 203).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Noh when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Noh. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
For Claim 2, Davydov teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a controller that controls to receive a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) based on a configuration information, transmitted by higher layer signaling, being RRC signaling, from a base station (BS), indicating a resource element used in transmission of the CSI-RS (see paragraphs 96: UE hardware; abstract, paragraph 54, paragraphs 61-64); and
a receiver that receives, from the BS, the CSI-RS (see abstract, paragraphs 63-64, 96),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to a single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of the single resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains), and
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Noh teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 254, 259, 269: CDM pattern, configuration, one CSI-RS resource);
wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element is mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 258-259: density of one half RE/RB/port, modulo 2 case).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information and provide for low densities as in Noh when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Noh teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 196, 203).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Noh when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Noh. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
For Claim 3, Davydov teaches a base station (BS) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration information indicating a resource element used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by higher layer signaling, being radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraph 110: base station hardware; abstract, paragraph 54, paragraphs 61-62); and
a controller that controls to transmit, to the UE, the CSI-RS based on the configuration information (see abstract, paragraphs 63-64, 110),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to the single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of a single resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains), and
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Noh teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 254, 259, 269: CDM pattern, configuration, one CSI-RS resource);
wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element is mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 258-259: density of one half RE/RB/port, modulo 2 case).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information and provide for low densities as in Noh when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Noh teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 196, 203).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Noh when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Noh. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
For Claim 4, Davydov teaches a system comprising a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE), wherein:
the BS comprises: a transmitter that transmits, to the UE, a configuration information indicating a resource element used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by higher layer signaling, being radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see abstract, paragraph 53-54, paragraphs 61-63, 110); and a first controller that controls to transmit, to the UE, the CSI-RS based on the configuration information (see paragraph 110, abstract, paragraphs 63-64); and
the UE comprises: a second controller that controls to receive, from the BS, the CSI-RS based on the configuration information (see paragraph 96, abstract, paragraphs 61-62); and
a receiver that receives, from the BS, the CSI-RS (see paragraphs 63-64, abstract),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to the single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of the single resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains), and
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Noh teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 254, 259, 269: CDM pattern, configuration, one CSI-RS resource);
wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element is mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 258-259: density of one half RE/RB/port, modulo 2 case).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information and provide for low densities as in Noh when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Noh teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 196, 203).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Noh when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Noh. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 22 December 2025 has been entered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection introduced herein. The claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muruganathan et al. (US 2019/0372641) teaches a system for assigning even numbered physical resource blocks in the case of a resource density of less than one. Liu et al. (US 2019/0149301) teaches a method for reducing reference signal density.
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 2-3-2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466