DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed 11 May 2026. Claims 1-4 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, as understood in light of rejections under 35 USC 112, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davydov et al. (US 2019/0223187) in view of Yum et al. (US 2019/0245603, Park et al. (US 2019/0191444), and Liu (US 2021/0273758).
For Claim 1, Davydov teaches a wireless communication method comprising:
transmitting, from a base station (BS) to a user equipment (UE), a configuration information indicating a resource element used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by higher layer signaling, being RRC signaling (see abstract, paragraphs 53-54, 78); and
receiving, with the UE, the CSI-RS from the BS based on the configuration information (see paragraphs 63-64, abstract),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to the single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of the resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains);
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Yum teaches the case of using the single resource element per AP for each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 203-204), wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element per AP is mapped to each of resource blocks of which the resource block number is even and is not mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is odd (see paragraphs 203-204).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to map the resource blocks as in Yum when implementing the method of Davydov. One of ordinary skill would have bene able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of complying with base density configurations.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Yum teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 155, 257, 264).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Yum when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
The references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Park teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 383, 518).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information as in Park when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Yum. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
For Claim 2, Davydov teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising:
a controller that controls to receive a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) based on a configuration information, transmitted by higher layer signaling, being RRC signaling, from a base station (BS), indicating a resource element used in transmission of the CSI-RS (see paragraphs 96: UE hardware; abstract, paragraph 54, paragraphs 61-64); and
a receiver that receives, from the BS, the CSI-RS (see abstract, paragraphs 63-64, 96),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to a single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of the single resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains), and
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Yum teaches the case of using the single resource element per AP for each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 203-204), wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element per AP is mapped to each of resource blocks of which the resource block number is even and is not mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is odd (see paragraphs 203-204).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to map the resource blocks as in Yum when implementing the method of Davydov. One of ordinary skill would have bene able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of complying with base density configurations.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Yum teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 155, 257, 264).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Yum when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
The references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Park teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 383, 518).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information as in Park when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Yum. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
For Claim 3, Davydov teaches a base station (BS) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration information indicating a resource element used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by higher layer signaling, being radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraph 110: base station hardware; abstract, paragraph 54, paragraphs 61-62); and
a controller that controls to transmit, to the UE, the CSI-RS based on the configuration information (see abstract, paragraphs 63-64, 110),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to the single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of a single resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains), and
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Yum teaches the case of using the single resource element per AP for each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 203-204), wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element per AP is mapped to each of resource blocks of which the resource block number is even and is not mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is odd (see paragraphs 203-204).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to map the resource blocks as in Yum when implementing the method of Davydov. One of ordinary skill would have bene able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of complying with base density configurations.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Yum teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 155, 257, 264).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Yum when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
The references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Park teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 383, 518).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information as in Park when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Yum. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
For Claim 4, Davydov teaches a system comprising a base station (BS) and a user equipment (UE), wherein:
the BS comprises: a transmitter that transmits, to the UE, a configuration information indicating a resource element used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by higher layer signaling, being radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see abstract, paragraph 53-54, paragraphs 61-63, 110); and a first controller that controls to transmit, to the UE, the CSI-RS based on the configuration information (see paragraph 110, abstract, paragraphs 63-64); and
the UE comprises: a second controller that controls to receive, from the BS, the CSI-RS based on the configuration information (see paragraph 96, abstract, paragraphs 61-62); and
a receiver that receives, from the BS, the CSI-RS (see paragraphs 63-64, abstract),
wherein the configuration information indicates a mapping information for CSI-RS transmission using a single antenna port (AP) to the single resource element per a resource block (see abstract, paragraphs 71, 77),
wherein the mapping information further includes a location of the single resource element in a time domain and a location of the single resource element in a frequency domain (see paragraph 73, 78; also paragraphs 61-62, 67-68: indication of REs; a physical resource block is a resource on a time and frequency grid and thus an indication of a PRB is an indication of a location of the resource in the time and frequency domains), and
wherein a density of a resource is configured by the configuration information (see abstract, paragraph 96: density; paragraph 71: indication of density in configuration information).
Davydov as applied above is not explicit as to, but Yum teaches the case of using the single resource element per AP for each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is even (see paragraphs 203-204), wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating the CSI-RS transmission with a second resource density being lower than 1, the single resource element per AP is mapped to each of resource blocks of which the resource block number is even and is not mapped to each of resource blocks of which a resource block number is odd (see paragraphs 203-204).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to map the resource blocks as in Yum when implementing the method of Davydov. One of ordinary skill would have bene able to do so with the reasonably predictable result of complying with base density configurations.
Davydov does teach providing the CSI-RS resource configuration being sent by higher layer signaling and that higher layer signaling is RRC signaling as shown above and thus at least inherently teaches the claimed matter (see paragraph 53). In addition, Yum teaches transmitting from a base station to a user equipment a configuration information indicating a resource used in transmission of a Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) by radio resource control (RRC) signaling (see paragraphs 155, 257, 264).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use RRC signaling as in Yum when transmitting the CSI-RS configuration. The motivation would have been to maintain compatibility with well-known systems by employing a known configuration method.
The references as applied above are not explicit as to, but Park teaches the configuration information for CSI-RS indicating a parameter related to Code Division Multiplexing (CDM) (see paragraphs 383, 518).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to include CDM information as in Park when implementing the method of Davydov. The motivation would be to include information needed for making full use of power and improve the accuracy of measurement.
Moreover, Davydov at least inherently teaches a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block (see abstract, paragraph 96: one or more antenna ports, density is 1:1 even in case of one antenna port; paragraph 71: configuration parameters indicate reduced density).
Liu explicitly teaches a single RE, wherein a density of a resource, configured by the configuration information, for the CSI-RS transmission using the single AP is one resource element per AP for each resource block and one resource element per resource block for each AP (see abstract, paragraph 4).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to use a single antenna port for transmitting a CSI-RS with the density of one RE for each RB as shown in Liu when implementing the method of Davydov and Yum. The motivation would be to reduce CSI-RS overhead in the case of transmission on a single antenna port.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 11 May 2026 has been entered.
The previous rejection under 35 USC 112 is withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection introduced herein. The claims remain rejected under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (US 2018/0054290) teaches configuring CDM information using RRC signaling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CASSANDRA L DECKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2466 5/27/2026
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466