DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
3. Claim 176 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 176 lacks a period at the end of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 191 and 192 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 191 and 192 each recite the phrase “the bridge probe,” this phrase does not have sufficient antecedent basis in claim 190 and 170’s recitation of “a first bridge probe” and “a second bridge probe.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 170,172-178 and 190-192 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross et al (United States Patent Application No. US20210238694, with valid priority to 27 September 2018) in view of Karadeema et al (The owl sensor: a ‘fragile’ DNA nanostructure for the analysis of single nucleotide variations, Nanoscale, 21, published 26 April 2018).
Regarding claim 170, Gross teaches a method of enriching cfDNA from corresponding to selective genomic regions using capture probes (i.e., an anchor probe) that are coupled to a solid support after hybridization ([0008] and [0258]).
Regarding claims 172-174, Gross teaches that the capture probe (i.e., the anchor probe) comprises a biotin moiety to facilitate the isolation of target nucleic acids using a streptavidin-coated bead ([0258]).
Regarding claim 175, Gross teaches that an adapter is ligated to the template nucleic acid molecule ([0256]). It is noted that Gross teaches this adapter ligation prior to forming the hybridization complex with the capture probe, however, the courts have held that any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930); Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959)). See MPEP §2144.04 IV C., the claimed order of steps is an obvious variant of the steps of the cited prior art.
Regarding claim 176, Gross teaches that the template nucleic acid is cell-free DNA ([0014]).
Regarding claim 177, Gross teaches that the template nucleic acid molecule is methylated ([0018]).
Gross does not teach the limitations of steps (a) and (b), i.e., hybridizing a first target specific region of a first bridge probe to a first target sequence of a template nucleic acid molecule, hybridizing a second target specific region of a second bridge probe to a second target sequence of the template nucleic acid molecule, and hybridizing a first landing sequence of the first bridge probe and a second landing sequence of the second bridge probe to a first and second bridge binding sequence of an anchor probe, thereby forming a complex comprising the template nucleic acid molecule, the first bridge probe, the second bridge probe, and the anchor probe. Additionally, Gross does not teach the limitation wherein the anchor probe does not hybridize directly to the template nucleic acid molecule.
However, Karadeema teaches hybridizing an R probe (i.e., a first bridge probe) and a P probe (i.e., a second bridge probe) to a target nucleic acid via a first and second target specific region, and then hybridizing a molecular beacon (i.e., an anchor probe) to the first and second bridge probes via a first and second landing sequence, respectively, forming a complex comprising a template nucleic acid, a first bridge probe, a second bridge probe, and an anchor probe (Fig. 2A, Owl Sensor). Karadeema teaches that in this complex the anchor probe does not hybridize directly to the nucleic acid template but associates with the template through the R and P probes, that the anchor probe is not covalently attached to the template nucleic acid molecule (Fig. 2A), and that the formation of the complex occurs in solution in the absence of a solid support (Supporting information, pg. 2 ¶ 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the target capture and enrichment method taught by Gross to have incorporated the bridging probes taught by Karadeema to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this modification because Gross specifically teaches that off-target interactions with hybridization probes must be considered and that probes with unacceptably high off-target risks are filtered out ([0162]), while Karadeema specifically teaches that the dual-adapter design of the ‘owl structure’ was able to significantly reduce off-target binding of even single nucleotide variations (pg. 10117 and Fig. 2). Additionally, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the formation of hybridized nucleic acid complexes.
Regarding claim 178, without additional limitations to the claim the unpaired arm of the R probe (i.e., the first bridge probe) taught by Karadeema is considered an adapter (Fig. 1A and Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 190, Karadeema teaches that the first and second bridge probes (i.e., the R and P probes) comprises a target specific region that hybridizes to an analyte (i.e., a target sequence), an adapter landing sequence that hybridizes to an anchor probe (e.g., the capture probe taught by Gross), and a linker region connecting the target specific region and the adapter landing sequence (e.g., the unpaired regions of the R and P probes; Fig. 1A).
Regarding claims 191 and 192, without additional limitation to these claims the “3' portion” is being interpreted as any portion that is not at the immediate 5' end of the bridge probe, and the “5' portion” is interpreted as any portion that is not immediately at the 3' end of the bridge probe. Therefore Karadeema’s teaching of the TSR in the middle of the bridge probe meets these limitations.
9. Claims 179-182 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gross et al (United States Patent Application No. US20210238694, with valid priority to 27 September 2018) in view of Karadeema et al (The owl sensor: a ‘fragile’ DNA nanostructure for the analysis of single nucleotide variations, Nanoscale, 21, published 26 April 2018) as applied to claim 178 above, and further in view of Guoliang et al (International Patent Application No. WO2018193233, published 25 October 2018).
Regarding claim 179, the method of claim 178 is discussed fully above and incorporated here. Neither Gross nor Karadeema teach that the complex is contacting with a 3' to 5' exonuclease.
However, Guoliang teaches an embodiment wherein a target nucleic acid is hybridized to a 3' hairpin capture probe, and the template nucleic acid is “trimmed” at the 3' end to remove any excess material not hybridized to the capture probe ([Page 21, lines 9-11]) and that this trimming is performed by a polymerase having 3' to 5' exonuclease activity (i.e., a 3' to 5' exonuclease [Page 28, lines 17-19]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method taught by Gross in view of Karadeema to have trimmed the 3' end of the target nucleic acid with a 3' to 5' exonuclease as taught by Guoliang to arrive at the instantly claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to make this substitution in order to clean-up/end repair the 3' end of the target nucleic acid in preparation for an extension assay as taught by Guoliang. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the known techniques in the cited references could have been combined with predictable results because the known techniques in the cited references predictably result in the preparation of nucleic acid molecules for sequencing.
Regarding claim 180, Guoliang teaches extending the end of the target nucleotide using the ATO (i.e., the adapter) as a template (FIG. 1C and pg. 10 ¶ 3).
Regarding claim 181, Gross teaches that an extension primer is hybridized to a sequence included in the adapter is used to form a double stranded DNA molecule (i.e., a second extension product is generated; [0256]).
Regarding claim 182, Gross teaches that the captured nucleic acid fragments are amplified by PCR enrichment ([0258]). This process inherently comprises hybridizing a target specific primer to the second extension product and extending the target specific primer to generate a third extension product.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 170 and 172-182 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
11. No claims are allowed.
/BRIAN ELLIS YOUNG/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/JULIET C SWITZER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682