Detailed Action
The following action is in response to the communication(s) received on 01/09/2026.
As of the claims filed 01/09/2026:
Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/09/2026 have been fully considered, but are not fully persuasive.
With respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 101:
(p.7) Applicant asserts that the amendments emphasize the technical improvements to computer memory management, such as the determined smoothed amount of memory detailing the memory change threshold which aids in the execution of a CNN for a given hardware resource. Examiner respectfully submits that the claims as currently recited do not recite the actions of the resulting abstract ideas which takes place in a technological environment. In other words, execution of the improved smoothed memory of the CNN layers is not recited in the claims. Thus, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims does not exclude the abstract ideas being performed solely in the human mind, and the claims remain reciting abstract ideas without significantly more.
(p.9) Applicant further asserts that the dependent claims are eligible by virtue of dependency to claim 1. Examiner respectfully submits that claim 1 remains ineligible, in view of the responses above, and thus the dependent claims remain ineligible by virtue of dependency. Claims 8-20 also remain ineligible by virtue of substantial similarity to claim 1-7.
Thus, the claims remain directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
On p.8 of the response, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 102:
(¶2-3) Applicant asserts that Lym does not teach the moving window function applied to the amount of memory for the particular layer and the respective amount of memory of each of a determined number of adjacent layers of the machine learning network. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Processing in each sub-batch iterations (Lym [p.3-4]) requires a movement in each layer window, which corresponds to determining a smoothed amount of memory based on a moving window function.
(¶3) Applicant further asserts that Lym does not identify transitions between adjacent layers including comparing the smoothed amount of memory to a dynamically determined memory change threshold amount that is based on the available memory of the device. This is unpersuasive, as Lym [p.7 left ¶3] teaches that the off-chip DRAM corresponds to the available memory of the device; rearranging based on the per-layer memory footprints corresponds to dynamically determining the memory change threshold amount.
(¶4) Applicant further asserts that Lym does not use the smoothed amount of memory of each layer for the grouping, because no smoothed amount of memory of any layer is determined prior to the grouping. Examiner respectfully submits that the sub-batch iterations (Lym [p.4 left ¶2]) correspond to the identified transitions; merging iteratively (Lym [p.3 2nd col. Last ¶]) involves reducing the sub-batch size with the adjacent groups, which corresponds to the grouping of the multiple layers based on the identified transitions.
(¶5) Applicant further asserts that Lym does not teach reducing the memory transfers between the memory hierarchy of the device. Examiner respectfully disagrees, as Lym teaches reducing the memory transfers ([abstract] “avoid traffic resulting from large per-layer memory footprints”) between different levels of memory hierarchy of the device (Lym [fig.1] off-chip memory, on-chip memory corresponds to the different hierarchies of memory for the device).
Thus, the claims remain anticipated by Lym.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter (Step 1). However, Claim 1 further recites:
determining… an amount of memory… to process each layer of multiple layers of a machine learning network; which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
determining…a smoothed amount of memory… for each of the multiple layers based on a moving window function applied to the amount of memory for that layer and the respective amount of memory of each of a determined number of adjacent layers of the machine learning network; which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
identifying… transitions between adjacent layers, including comparing the smoothed amount of memory to a dynamically determined memory change threshold amount that is based on available memory of the device; which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
grouping… the multiple layers of the machine learning network into a first layer grouping based on the identified transitions to reduce memory transfer overhead between different levels of a memory hierarchy of the device, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1.
Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, since the additional elements consist of:
By the processing circuitry of a device… ; on the device…, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to "apply it" on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
outputting…the first layer grouping configured to cause a respective set of layers of a group of the first layer grouping to complete prior to execution of a subsequent group of the first layer grouping, which is merely an insignificant extra-solution activity of data output, which by MPEP 2106.05(g) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because implementation on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)), and the activity of data output (MPEP 2106.05(g)) cannot provide significantly more, as receiving or transmitting data over a network is well understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) and the combination of additional elements does not provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claim 2, dependent on Claim 1, further recites:
Modeling the machine learning network based on the first layer grouping;
associating a first cost with the first layer grouping (mental process);
generating a second layer grouping by adjusting a group boundary of the first layer grouping (mental process);
and modeling the machine learning network based on the second layer grouping; associating a second cost with the second layer grouping (mental process);
As these all fail the mental process grouping of abstract ideas, Claim 2 thus recites an abstract idea.
The claim does not include any additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, since the additional element consists of outputting a lower cost layer grouping based on a comparison between the first cost and the second cost, which is insignificant extra-solution activity of data output, which by MPEP 2106.05(g) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards the abstract idea.
Further, the additional element does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because the activity of data output (MPEP 2106.05(g)) cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject matter ineligible.
Claim 3, dependent on claim 2, further recites a mental process of expecting (the first and second costs are based on at least one of expected number of memory accesses or processing cycles). It does not recite any new additional elements which could integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 4, dependent on claim 2, further recites a mental process of adjusting (the group boundary is adjusted within a predefined range of values around the group boundary). It does not recite any new additional elements which could integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 5 and 6, dependent on claim 1, merely recites details on the mental process of the grouping of the first layer (the first layer grouping comprises a first set of layers and a second set of layers; a first number of layers of the first set of layers differs from a second number of layers of the second set of layers). Neither claim recites any new additional elements which could integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claim 7, dependent on claim 1, further recites:
determining a minimum number of tiles for the layers of the first layer grouping based on the amount of memory used by the layers; (a mental process that can be done on pen and paper)
determining a number of tiles for a last layer of the first layer grouping based on the minimum number of tiles; (a mental process that can be done on pen and paper)
and determining the number of tiles for other layers of the first layer grouping based on the number of tiles for the last layer. (a mental process that can be done on pen and paper).
As it does not recite any additional elements, it recites an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is subject matter ineligible.
Claims 8-14 recite non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions for performing precisely the methods of Claims 1-7, respectively. As performance on a computer cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(f)), Claims 8-14 are rejected as subject-matter ineligible for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 1-7, respectively.
Claim 15 recites a… device, thus an article of manufacture, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter (Step 1). However, Claim 15 further recites:
determine a smoothed amount of memory of the memory device for each of the multiple layers based on the amount of memory for that layer and the respective amount of memory of each of a set number of adjacent layers; which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
identify transitions between adjacent layers, in which, for each transition, the smoothed amount of memory differs from one layer of the adjacent layers of the transition to the other layer of the adjacent layers of the transition by more than a memory change threshold amount; which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind;
and group the multiple layers of the machine learning network into a first layer grouping based on the identified transitions, which is an evaluation or judgement that can be performed in the human mind.
Thus, the claim recites an abstract idea under Step 2A Prong 1.
Under Step 2A Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements which integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, since the additional elements consist of:
A device, comprising: a memory device; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute non-transitory instructions causing the one or more processors to:, as the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is not more than instructions to "apply it" on a computer, which by MPEP 2106.05(f) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application;
output the first layer grouping configured to cause groups of the first layer grouping to execute in sequence, which is merely an insignificant extra-solution activity of data output, which by MPEP 2106.05(g) cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application.
Thus, the claim is directed towards an abstract idea.
Further, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, because implementation on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)), and the activity of data output (MPEP 2106.05(g)) cannot provide significantly more, as receiving or transmitting data over a network is well understood, routine, and conventional (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)) and the combination of additional elements does not provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claim is ineligible.
Claims 16-20 recite a computer system comprising: one or more processors, thus an article of manufacture, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter. However, Claims 16-20 further recite that this computer system comprises instructions for performing precisely the methods of Claims 2-5 and 7, respectively. As performance on a computer cannot integrate an abstract idea into a practical application nor provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(f)), Claims 15-20 are rejected as subject-matter ineligible for reasons set forth in the rejections of Claims 2-5 and 7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sangkug Lym et al: “Mini-batch serialization: CNN Training with Inter-layer Data Reuse” (hereinafter Lym).
Regarding claim 1, Lym teaches:
A method comprising: determining, by a processing circuitry of a device,
(Lym [p.10 2nd col 2nd ¶] MBS reconfigures the CNN computation graph by partitioning a mini-batch of samples into sub-batches whose memory footprint fits within on-chip storage.) (Note: CNN computation corresponds to the use of processing circuitry)
an amount of memory on the device to process each layer of multiple layers of a machine learning network; (Lym [p.3 2nd col. Last ¶] The MBS algorithm forms initial layer groups by grouping adjacent layers that require the same number of sub-batch iterations. This is shown in Fig. 4 where grey vertical bars represent the data volume required for the inter-layer data per layer (or one multi-branch module block) of ResNet50, and the red line represents the resulting minimal sub-batch iteration count for each layer. [p.4 1st col 2nd ¶] The mini-batch is then processed in several sub-batch iterations (d mini−batch size sub−batch size e) within each group as shown in Fig. 5, which emphasizes how locality is increased and memory traffic reduced across features and weights.) (Note: the grey bars correspond to the determined amount of memory used)
determining, by the processing circuitry, a smoothed amount of memory on the device for each of the multiple layers based on a moving window function applied to the amount of memory for that layer and the respective amount of memory of each of a determined number of adjacent layers of the machine learning network (Lym [p.3 2nd col. Last ¶] The MBS algorithm forms initial layer groups by grouping adjacent layers that require the same number of sub-batch iterations. This is shown in Fig. 4 where grey vertical bars represent the data volume required for the inter-layer data per layer (or one multi-branch module block) of ResNet50, and the red line represents the resulting minimal sub-batch iteration count for each layer.
[p.4 left ¶2] The mini-batch is then processed in several sub-batch iterations (
) within each group as shown in Fig. 5, which emphasizes how locality is increased and memory traffic reduced across features and weights.
) (Note: The blue line corresponds to the smoothed amount of memory; the grey bars correspond to the respective amount of memory; processing in each sub-batch iterations requires a movement in each layer window, which corresponds to determining a smoothed amount of memory based on a moving window function)
identifying, by the processing circuitry, transitions between adjacent layers, including comparing the smoothed amount of memory to a dynamically determined memory change threshold amount that is based on available memory of the device(Lym [p.1-2] MBS optimizes sub-batch sizes and layer grouping to balance data reuse between layers with reuse of parameters (weights) within a layer—weights are re-read for every sub-batch; [p.2 2nd col 2nd ¶] In both phases there is direct producer-consumer locality between layers—inter-layer data that can be buffered if it is not too large. [p.7 left ¶3] Our baseline WaveCore uses a single HBM2 stack with 4 dice (Joi, 2016), which provides 8GiB off-chip DRAM with 300GiB/s data bandwidth over 8 channels (4 channels per core). [abstract] We find that bandwidth today is over-provisioned because most memory accesses in CNN training can be eliminated by rearranging computation to better utilize on-chip buffers and avoid traffic resulting from large per-layer memory footprints.) (Note: identifying where the inter-layer data is too large corresponds to identifying transition between adjacent layers more than the threshold amount of memory change; the off-chip DRAM corresponds to the available memory of the device; rearranging based on the per-layer memory footprints corresponds to dynamically determining the memory change threshold amount.);
grouping, by the processing circuitry, the multiple layers of the machine learning network into a first layer grouping based on the identified transitions… (Lym [p.4 left ¶2] The mini-batch is then processed in several sub-batch iterations… [p.3 2nd col. Last ¶] Then, layer groups are merged to improve overall locality: groups are merged by reducing the sub-batch size of one group to that of an adjacent group) (Note: the sub-batch iterations correspond to the identified transitions; merging involves reducing the sub-batch size with the adjacent groups, which corresponds to the grouping of the multiple layers based on the identified transitions.)
…to reduce memory transfer overhead between different levels of a memory hierarchy of the device (Lym [abstract] We find that bandwidth today is over-provisioned because most memory accesses in CNN training can be eliminated by rearranging computation to better utilize on-chip buffers and avoid traffic resulting from large per-layer memory footprints… [fig.1]
) (Note: the on-chip memory and the off-chip memory corresponds to the different levels of memory hierarchy of the device)
and outputting, by the processing circuitry, the first layer grouping configured to cause a respective set of layers of a group of the first layer grouping to complete prior to execution of a subsequent group of the first layer grouping (Lym
) (Note: the data flow from Group 1 to Group 2 corresponds to the first layer grouping completing prior to execution of a subsequent group of the first layer grouping.)
Regarding claim 2, which is dependent on claim 1, Lym further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: modeling the machine learning network based on the first layer grouping (Lym [p.3] Optimizing layer groups balances intra-and inter-layer locality tradeoffs. The MBS algorithm forms initial layer groups by grouping adjacent layers that require the same number of sub-batch iterations) [Note: In the main application specs: While this example CNN includes two layers, it may be understood that other CNNs can include any number of layers. Having adjacent layers implies there exists a first layer grouping.];
associating a first cost with the first layer grouping; generating a second layer grouping by adjusting a group boundary of the first layer grouping (Lym [p.3] This is shown in Fig. 4 where grey vertical bars represent the data volume required for the inter-layer data per layer (or one multi-branch module block) of ResNet50, and the red line represents the resulting minimal sub-batch iteration count for each layer; [fig 4] red line = min. iterations = cost; [fig 5] the boundaries of g1 and g2 are being changed );
modeling the machine learning network based on the second layer grouping; associating a second cost with the second layer grouping (Lym [p.3-4] Then, layer groups are merged to improve overall locality: groups are merged by reducing the sub-batch size of one group to that of an adjacent group. The first group then requires more iterations (with more weight and gradient accesses), but inter-layer reuse increases across the two layers where the groups meet.);
and outputting a lower cost layer grouping based on a comparison between the first cost and the second cost (Lym [p.3] The MBS algorithm forms initial layer groups by grouping adjacent layers that require the same number of sub-batch iterations).
Regarding claim 3, which is dependent on claim 2, Lym further teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the first and second costs are based on at least one of expected number of memory accesses or processing cycles (Lym [p.7] To avoid duplicated data loads from the global buffer, we have memory load coalescing units that maintain high effective bus bandwidth utilization.).
Regarding claim 4, which is dependent on claim 2, Lym further teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the group boundary is adjusted within a predefined range of values around the group boundary (Lym [Tab.3] MBS1: IL + greedy layer grouping [footnote1] We also experimented with an optimal grouping of layers using exhaustive search, which improved traffic and performance by roughly 1% compared to our greedy optimization.). [Note: A greedy search is a non-exhaustive search (using pre-defined values that are at most the size of the array), which implies that Lym uses a rolling window to find the local optima for the layer grouping.]
Regarding claim 5, which is dependent on claim 1, Lym further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the first layer grouping comprises a first set of layers and a second set of layers (Lym [Fig 5] group 1, group 2).
Regarding claim 6, which is dependent on claim 5, Lym further teaches:
The method of claim 5, wherein a first number of layers of the first set of layers differs from a second number of layers of the second set of layers (Lym [Fig 5] group 1, group 2 have different number of layers).
Regarding claim 7, which is dependent on claim 1, Lym further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining a minimum number of tiles for the layers of the first layer grouping based on the amount of memory used by the layers; determining a number of tiles for a last layer of the first layer grouping based on the minimum number of tiles; and determining the number of tiles for other layers of the first layer grouping based on the number of tiles for the last layer (Lym [p.3] MBS goes much further and balances locality of intra-layer weight reuse and parallelism with inter-layer locality. We do this by varying the number of samples per sub-batch across layers such that layers that can support more samples require fewer iterations and can benefit from the greater parallelism and locality). [In spec: “a minimum number of tiles (e.g., passes) needed to process the layer while keeping memory usage of the tile within the amount of memory available on the target hardware resource may be determined.”]
Independent Claim 8 recites a non-transitory program storage device comprising instructions stored thereon to perform precisely the methods of Claim 1.
Claims 9-14, dependent on Claim 8, are rejected for reasons set forth in Claims 2-7, respectively.
A device, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory, wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute non-transitory instructions causing the one or more processors to:
(Lym [p.10 2nd col 2nd ¶] MBS reconfigures the CNN computation graph by partitioning a mini-batch of samples into sub-batches whose memory footprint fits within on-chip storage.) (Note: CNN computation corresponds to one or more processors executing non-transitory instructions)
determine a smoothed amount of memory for each of the layers based on a number of adjacent layers; (Lym [p.3 2nd col. Last ¶] The MBS algorithm forms initial layer groups by grouping adjacent layers that require the same number of sub-batch iterations. This is shown in Fig. 4 where grey vertical bars represent the data volume required for the inter-layer data per layer (or one multi-branch module block) of ResNet50, and the red line represents the resulting minimal sub-batch iteration count for each layer.
) (Note: The initial layer groups correspond to the determined smooth amount of memory. The inter-layer data size corresponds to the respective amount of memory.)
identify change layers where the respective smoothed amount of memory differs from the respective smoothed memory of an adjacent layer by more than a memory change threshold amount; (Lym [p.2 2nd col 2nd ¶] In both phases there is direct producer-consumer locality between layers—inter-layer data that can be buffered if it is not too large.) (Note: identifying where the inter-layer data is too large corresponds to identifying change layers more than the threshold amount of memory change.)
group the layers of the machine learning network into a first layer grouping based on the identified change layers; (Lym [p.3 2nd col. Last ¶] Then, layer groups are merged to improve overall locality: groups are merged by reducing the sub-batch size of one group to that of an adjacent group.)
and output the first layer grouping configured to cause groups of the first layer grouping to execute in sequence. (Lym
) (Note: the data flow from Group 1 to Group 2 corresponds to the layer groupings executing in sequence.)
Claims 16-20, dependent on Claim 15, recite the device of claim 15, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to perform precisely the methods of Claims 2-5 and 7, respectively. Thus, they rejected for reasons set forth in Claims 2-5 and 7, respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122