DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 9-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaoka et al. (JP2011144063 with reference to machine translation, hereinafter referred to as Nagoaka).
Regarding claim 1, Nagoaka discloses an optical glass (see Nagoaka at [0001] from the machine translation, disclosing an optical glass) comprising, by mass%; 24.5% to 41% of a P2O5 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0.1-30.0 mass% P2O5, which overlaps with the claimed range.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05).).; 6% to 17% of an Na2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-45.0 mass% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 5% to 15% of a K2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-30.0 mass% K2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); over 0% to 7% or less of an Al2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-15.0 mass% Al2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 8% to 21% of a TiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-60.0 mass% TiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 5.4% to 38% of an Nb2O5 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0.1-45.0 mass% Nb2O5, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0 to 3% of a Bi2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% Bi2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 4.68% to 9% of a BaO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% BaO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and over 0% to 10% or less of a B2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% B2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 0% to 1.5% of an La2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% La2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.), wherein the optical glass has a partial dispersion ratio (Pg, f) of 0.634 or less (see Nagoaka at [0012] of the machine translation, disclosing a partial dispersion ratio of 0.62 or more and 0.69 or less, which overlaps with the claimed range.), and an abbe number (vd) is within a range from 23 to 32 (see Nagoaka at [0012] of the machine translation, disclosing an Abbe number of 15 or more and 27 or less, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
While Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a ratio of the TiO2 content to the P2O5 content (TiO2/P2O5) is from 0.454894 to 0.7, Nagoaka discloses a range of TiO2 and a range of P2O5 as detailed by [0073] above. Examiner notes the ranges of TiO2 and P2O5 detailed above provide for values of TiO2/P2O5 which are within the claimed range, and therefore the TiO2 and P2O5 ranges of Nagoaka provide a range of (TiO2/P2O5) values which overlap with the claimed range. For example, Example 10 of Table 1 of Nagoaka shows the invention of Nagoaka conceived of values of TiO2 of 15.2 mass% and P2O5 of 22.799 mass%, which provides a ratio of (TiO2/P2O5) of 15.2/22.799= 0.667, which is within the claimed range. Therefore, the TiO2 and P2O5 ranges of Nagoaka provide a range of (TiO2/P2O5) values which overlap with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass%, 0 to 3.5% of an SiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% SiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 2% of an MgO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-60.0 mass% MgO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 3.5% of an Li2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-40.0 mass% Li2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 9.5% of a CaO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-50.0 mass% CaO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 1.5% of an SrO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-40.0 mass% SrO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 5% of a ZnO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-40.0 mass% ZnO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 6% of a ZrO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-17.0 mass% ZrO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 1.5% of a Y2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% Y2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 2% of a Gd2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% Gd2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 3% of a WO3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-15.0 mass% WO3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 0% to 0.4% of an Sb2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-0.5 mass% Sb2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 3, while Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a total content of P2O5 and B2O3 (P2O5+B2O3) is from 28% to 43%, Nagoaka discloses a range of P2O5 and B2O3 values as detailed by [0073] above. Examiner notes the ranges of P2O5 and B2O3 detailed above provide for values of (P2O5+B2O3) which are within the claimed range, and therefore the P2O5 and B2O3 ranges of Nagoaka provide a range of (P2O5+B2O3) values which overlap with the claimed range. For example, Nagoaka conceives of the point 27.509 mass% at Table 3 Example 21, as well as 1.587 mass% B2O3 at Table 2 Example 11. These values, which are within the B2O3 and P2O5 ranges disclosed by [0073] of Nagoaka, provide for (P2O5+B2O3) values of 27.509+1.587= 29.096 which are within the claimed range. Therefore, the P2O5 and B2O3 ranges of Nagoaka overlap with the claimed (P2O5+B2O3) range.
Regarding claim 4, while Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a ratio of the B2O3 content to the P2O5 content (B2O3/P2O5) is from 0 to 0.24, Nagoaka discloses a range of P2O5 and B2O3 values as detailed by [0073] above. Examiner notes the ranges of P2O5 and B2O3 detailed above provide for values of (B2O3/P2O5) which are within the claimed range, and therefore the P2O5 and B2O3 ranges of Nagoaka provide a range of (B2O3/P2O5) values which overlap with the claimed range. For example, Nagoaka conceives of the point 27.509 mass% at Table 3 Example 21, as well as 1.587 mass% B2O3 at Table 2 Example 11. These values, which are within the B2O3 and P2O5 ranges disclosed by [0073] of Nagoaka, provide for a (B2O3/P2O5) value of 1.587/27.509= 0.0576, which is within the claimed range. Therefore, the P2O5 and B2O3 ranges of Nagoaka overlap with the claimed (B2O3/P2O5) range.
Regarding claim 6, while Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a ratio of Nb2O5 content to the P2O5 content (Nb2O5/P2O5) is from 0.1 to 1.3, Nagoaka discloses a range of Nb2O5 and P2O5 values as detailed by [0073] above. Examiner notes the ranges of Nb2O5 and P2O5 detailed above provide for values of (Nb2O5/P2O5) which are within the claimed range, and therefore the P2O5 and B2O3 ranges of Nagoaka provide a range of (Nb2O5/P2O5) values which overlap with the claimed range. For example, the point 36 mass% Nb2O5 is within the range disclosed by Nagaoka at [0073] above, and the point 28 mass% P2O5 is within the range disclosed by Nagaoka at [0073] above. This provides a value of (Nb2O5/P2O5) of 36/28= 1.285, which is within the claimed range. Therefore, because Nagoaka provides for values of Nb2O5 and P2O5 which contain points of Nb2O5/P2O5 within the claimed range, the Nb2O5 and P2O5 ranges of Nagoaka overlap with the claimed (Nb2O5/P2O5) range.
Regarding claim 7, while Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a sum of contents including Li2O, Na2O, and K2O (Li2O + Na2O + K2O) is from 14% to 25% or less, Nagoaka discloses a range of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O at [0073] as detailed above. Examiner notes the ranges of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O detailed above provide for values of Li2O+Na2O+K2O which are within the claimed range, and therefore the Li2O, Na2O, and K2O ranges of Nagoaka provide for values of Li2O+Na2O+K2O which overlap with the claimed range. For example, Nagoaka at Example 10 from Table 1 conceived of the point 0% Li2O, 5.772 wt.% Na2O, and 11.094 wt.% K2O, which provides a value of Li2O+Na2O+K2O of 0+5.772+11.094= 16.866, which is within the claimed range. Therefore, because Nagoaka provides for values of Li2O, Na2O, and K2O which contain points of Li2O+Na2O+K2O within the claimed range, the Li2O, Na2O, and K2O ranges of Nagoaka overlap with the claimed Li2O+Na2O+K2O range.
Regarding claim 9, while Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a specific gravity (Sg) is from 2.8 to 3.4, the specific gravity of a glass is a function of the composition of the glass as detailed by the instant specification at [0018] teaching a component such as TiO2 and Nb2O5 has been attempted in order to achieve high dispersion. However, when the content amounts of those are increased, reduction of a transmittance and increase of specific gravity are liable to be caused. Because the glass of Nagoaka has a composition substantially identical to the instant composition as detailed in the rejections above, the glass of Nagoaka would inherently possess the claimed specific gravity. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established (see MPEP 2112.01(I) first paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, while Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a ΔPg, F is from 0.0190 to 0.0320, the ΔPg, F is a function of the abbe number (νd) and the partial dispersion ratio (Pg, F) as detailed by the instant specification at [0093]. Because the glass of Nagoaka has an Abbe number and partial dispersion ratio substantially identical to those of the instant invention as detailed by the rejections above, the glass of Nagoaka would inherently possess the claimed ΔPg, F.
Regarding claim 11, while Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose when 50 g of raw materials of the optical glass are heated at a temperature from 1,100 degrees Celsius to 1,250 degrees Celsius, a time period required for melting the raw materials is less than 15 minutes, this property is a function of the composition of the glass because the melting temperature of a glass is a function of the composition of the glass. Because the glass of Nagoaka is substantially identical to the instant glass, the glass of Nagoaka would inherently possess this claimed property.
Regarding claim 12, Nagoaka discloses an optical element using the optical glass (see Nagoaka at [0001] from the machine translation, disclosing an optical element.).
Regarding claim 13, Nagoaka discloses an optical system comprising the optical element (see Nagoaka at [0002] from the machine translation, disclosing an optical system).
Regarding claim 14, Nagoaka discloses an interchangeable lens comprising the optical system (see Nagoaka at [0078], disclosing optical elements such as lenses.) Examiner notes "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). In the instant case, the lens of Nagoaka would be capable of being interchanged, therefore it meets the instant limitation.
Regarding claim 15, Nagoaka discloses an optical device comprising the optical system (see Nagoaka at [0082] disclosing optical devices).
Regarding claim 16, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass%, 1.43% to 3.5% of an SiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% SiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 4.37% to 10% or less of a B2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% B2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 17, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass%, 12.28% to 17% of an Na2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-45.0 mass% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 15.70% to 21 % of a TiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-60.0 mass% TiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 18, Nagoaka discloses an optical glass (see Nagoaka at [0001] from the machine translation, disclosing an optical glass) comprising: by mass%, 24.5% to 41% of a P2O5 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0.1-30.0 mass% P2O5, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 6% to 17% of an Na2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-45.0 mass% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 5% to 15% of a K2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-30.0 mass% K2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); over 0% to 7% or less of an Al2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-15.0 mass% Al2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 8% to 21% of a TiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-60.0 mass% TiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 5.4% to 38% of an Nb2O5 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0.1-45.0 mass% Nb2O5, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 3% of a Bi2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% Bi2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 4.68% to 9% of a BaO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% BaO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); over 0% to 10% or less of a B2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% B2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 0 % to 1.5% of an La2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% La2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); wherein the optical glass has a partial dispersion ratio (Pg,F) of 0.634 or less (see Nagoaka at [0012] of the machine translation, disclosing a partial dispersion ratio of 0.62 or more and 0.69 or less, which overlaps with the claimed range.), and a refractive index (nd) with respect to a d-line is within a range from 1.66 to 1.81 (see Nagoaka at [0098], disclosing a refractive index of 1.75 or more… and 1.95 or less, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
While Nagoaka does not explicitly disclose a ratio of the TiO2 content to the P2O5 content (TiO2/P2O5) is from 0.454894 to 0.7, Nagoaka discloses a range of TiO2 and a range of P2O5 as detailed by [0073] above. Examiner notes the ranges of TiO2 and P2O5 detailed above provide for values of TiO2/P2O5 which are within the claimed range, and therefore the TiO2 and P2O5 ranges of Nagoaka provide a range of (TiO2/P2O5) values which overlap with the claimed range. For example, Example 10 of Table 1 of Nagoaka shows the invention of Nagoaka conceived of values of TiO2 of 15.2 mass% and P2O5 of 22.799 mass%, which provides a ratio of (TiO2/P2O5) of 15.2/22.799= 0.667, which is within the claimed range. Therefore, the TiO2 and P2O5 ranges of Nagoaka provide a range of (TiO2/P2O5) values which overlap with the claimed range.
Regarding claim 19, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass % 0% to 3.5% of an SiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% SiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 2% of an MgO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-60.0 mass% MgO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 3.5% of an Li2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-40.0 mass% Li2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 9.5% of a CaO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-50.0 mass% CaO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 1.5% of an SrO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-40.0 mass% SrO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 5% of a ZnO content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-40.0 mass% ZnO, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 6% of a ZrO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-17.0 mass% ZrO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 1.5% of a Y2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% Y2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 2% of a Gd2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-7.0 mass% Gd2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); 0% to 3% of a WO3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-15.0 mass% WO3, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 0% to 0.4% of an Sb2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-0.5 mass% Sb2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 20, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass%, 1.43% to 3.5% of an SiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% SiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 4.37% to 10% or less of a B2O3 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-25.0 mass% B2O3, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 21, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass%, 12.28% to 17% of an Na2O content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-45.0 mass% Na2O, which overlaps with the claimed range.); and 15.70% to 21% of a TiO2 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0-60.0 mass% TiO2, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 22, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass %, 7% to 38% of an Nb2O5 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0.1-45.0 mass% Nb2O5, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 23, Nagoaka discloses further comprising: by mass %, 7% to 38% of an Nb2O5 content (see Nagoaka at [0073] of the machine translation as well as the original Japanese publication, disclosing 0.1-45.0 mass% Nb2O5, which overlaps with the claimed range.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12/17/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
CAMERON K MILLER
Examiner
Art Unit 1731
/CAMERON K MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1731