DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 8, 11, 12, 14, 18, 21, 23, 24, 28-30, 33, 36, 38-40, 44, and 47-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,613,498. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the patent and the instant application are directed to identifying a location of a player, presenting, via a graphical user interface, a list of electronic gaming options available to the player based on the location of the player, and receiving a selection from the player of an electronic game to play from the list. The instant application is a broadened form of the patented application and is directed to the same idea that was previously patented and therefore a patent on the instant application would result in multiple patents for the same idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 5, 8, 11-13, 18, 21, 23-24, 28-30, 33, 36, 39, 44, and 47-48 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ochi (US 2001/0019965) in view of Montagna et al (US 2004/0242322).
Re claim 1, Ochi discloses a method comprising: presenting, via a graphical user interface, a list of electronic gaming options available to the player (fig. 3, 13 and fig. 5, S11, where the game entry processing unit creates and presents a list of options to players at a gaming client as taught in par. [0073]); and receiving, via the graphical user interface, a selection from the player of an electronic game to play from the list ([0073], players use terminal device 31 to input their selections). However, Ochi is silent on identifying a location of the player operating a gaming client that enables the player to play electronic games and after the identification, presenting the list. Montagna teaches a gaming system where a casino provides a game menu to users for selecting a game to play, the availability of the games and denominations used therein being based on the location of the user ([0087]). Thus, since the game menu varies based on the location of the user, it follows that the user’s location has been determined prior to displaying the game menu to the user. It would have been obvious to implement the location-based menu taught by Montagna with the game list of Ochi in order to customize the game list to players based on their location and additionally ensure the user is in a legal gaming jurisdiction.
Re claims 5 and 33, Ochi discloses the list of options is based on at least current events or player volume ([0076], the list includes all registered opponents, allowing the player to select an opponent, S32, wherein the currently registered opponents are considered current events and player volume).
Re claims 8 and 36, see the rejection to claim 1. Since Montagna ensures players are in a legal jurisdiction before allowing players to play, the combination of Ochi and Montagna would ensure that limits on wagering amounts change according to the location of the player (i.e. a player in an illegal gaming jurisdiction would have a wagering limit of 0).
Re claims 11 and 28, Montagna teaches determining the location of the player using network access ([0039], [0043], [0045]).
Re claims 12 and 29, Ochi discloses initiating the electronic game via a gaming client based on the selection received from the player (fig. 8, “Start Process…”).
Re claims 13, 39, and 48, Montagna teaches determining a change in the location of the player and suspending or abandoning play by the player when the player is no longer authorized in an updated current location of the player ([0010], if changes occur between requests, such as the user changing residency to a different jurisdiction, the system makes appropriate changes, therefore if the system is able to allow a previously illegal game due to a residency change, it will be able to forbid a previously allowed game as well).
Re claims 18 and 44, Ochi discloses adjusting game play in the electronic game based on skill level of players and dollar amounts being bet ([0075], players willing to enter into a match have their bets compared, with the match set to the lower of the numbers, and a skill rating of the two players is determined and a handicap determined).
Re claim 21, see the rejection to claim 1, mutatis mutandis.
Re claims 23 and 24, Ochi discloses causing the gaming system to match the player with at least other player which is a competitor ([0075]).
Re claim 30, Ochi discloses collecting a bet from the player for the electronic game ([0075]).
Re claim 47, see the rejection to claim 1, mutatis mutandis.
Claims 14 and 40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ochi in view of Montagna as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Saffari et al (US 6,264,561).
Re claims 14 and 40, Ochi et al have been discussed, but fail to disclose updating the list of electronic gaming options available to the player based on licensing statuses of the gaming options. Saffari teaches a gaming system in which games are made available to an operator (fig. 6). Depending on the licensing statuses, games are available or unavailable to the operator (col. 7:1-12). Because the operators (i.e. the casino) determines games to offer to players in the system taught by Ochi, by implementing the licensing system of Saffari, the game options of Ochi would therefore be reflected by the licensing statuses of the games as taught by Saffari, as games that are not licensed would be unavailable to operators, and therefore players. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to implement the licensing system of Saffari in the game system of Ochi in order to provide a multiple game platform gaming machine which can easily enable the vendor or manufacturer to control the licensing of selected games.
Claim 38 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ochi in view of Montagna as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Shacham (US 2006/0052168).
Re claim 38, Ochi is silent on the gaming system presenting the list including limits on wagering amounts that change the bet to a non-monetary bet. Shacham teaches an online gaming system which supports both monetary and non-monetary gaming wherein the system is able to convert monetary deposits to non-monetary deposits and vice versa ([0053]). It would have been obvious to implement the non-monetary conversion taught by Shacham with the gaming system of Ochi in order to ensure that even players who are not in legal gaming jurisdictions would be able to participate in the game by converting monetary deposits into non-monetary deposits, circumventing any bans on wagering games with real money.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715