DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on February 5, 2026. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended, no claims have been added, no claims have been canceled. Thus claims 1, 3-5, 7, 11-12, 15, 19-21, and 31-39 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed February 5, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pg. 3 of the Remarks, applicant argues that one would not be motivated to modify the probe assembly of Yang with the blood collection set of Boyle, as Yang already discloses a blood collection set to allow for removal of blood clots. The examiner respectfully disagrees, as the device of Yang discloses a vacuum system for the removal of debris and tissue (Yang, [0137]) but does not explicitly disclose the vacuum system collecting blood, nor does it disclose any clear structure of the blood collection set. The device of Boyle provides a clear structure of a blood collection set and its connection to the catheter for forming a fluid connection between the catheter and blood collection set, as well as explicitly disclosing the collection of blood (Fig. 2 and [0055]).
On pg. 3-5, applicant argues that the modification of Yang using Dewaele would be improper as the modification would require altering the hemostasis valve of Yang to be at least 120 cm long, which would decrease the operational ease of use and prevent accurate use of the device. The examiner respectfully disagrees, as the hemostasis valve is not modified to be at least 120 cm long, instead hemostasis valve is modified to comprise an additional external tubing to together form the external housing. Valve may be its standard length while, the tubing extends an extended length such as 120cm. The applicant additionally argues that the adaptor 40 of Dewaele does not move relative to the tube shaft 10, thus not meeting all limitations of the claim. The examiner respectfully disagrees, as the tube shaft 10 of Dewaele is movable with respect to the tube 560 which is a component of the housing, therefore the modified device meets the limitation “the probe actuator movable with respect to the probe housing” Additionally, Dewaele is not used to modify any aspect of the connection between the probe 1900 and RHV 2620 of Yang, which discloses movement of probe 1900 axially relative to valve 2620 (Yang [0211]), therefore any relative movement of these components is not impacted by the addition of an external tubing such as tube 560 of Dewaele.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 1, 3-5, 7, 11-12, 19-20, 35-37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 20190336727), hereinafter Yang, in view of Boyle Jr. et al. (US 20200038563), hereinafter Boyle, and Dewaele et al. (US 20140005613), hereinafter Dewaele.
Regarding claim 15, Yang discloses a probe assembly (Fig. 26, agitator 1900, proximal drive assembly 2602, and hemostasis valve 2620) connectable to an intravenous catheter device (Fig. 19 and 26 and pp. [0210], probe assembly is used with a catheter), the probe assembly comprising: a probe housing (Fig. 26, hemostasis valve 2620); a probe actuator (Figs. 26-28, proximal drive assembly 2602) coupled to the probe housing (Figs. 26-28, proximal drive assembly 2602 is coupled to a proximal end of the hemostasis valve 2620); and a probe (Fig. 19 and 26, agitator 1900) that is housed within the probe housing (Fig. 26-27A and pp.[0209], agitator 1900 is passes through a lumen of the hemostasis valve 2620), the probe actuator movable with respect to the probe housing to selectively move the probe relative to the probe housing and to move the probe within the catheter device (pp. [0211], proximal drive assembly 2602 is connected to the agitator 1900 such that axial movement of the proximal drive assembly 2602, with respect to the hemostasis valve 2620, thereby causes the advancement of the agitator 1900 relative to the hemostasis valve 2620 and within the catheter 1902), wherein the probe comprises: a proximal portion (Fig. 19, proximal end 1914); a proximal end (Fig. 19 and 28, proximal most end portion of 1914 which connects to the drive connector 2604 of drive assembly 2602); a distal end (Fig. 19, distal tip 1905); and a shaped portion (Figs. 19-21 (see Annotated Fig. 19 above) and pp. [0167], agitator 1900 may have a motion segment 1909 which includes a shaped portion (such as bend 1917) and is located towards the distal end 1912 of agitator) positioned between the proximal portion and the distal end (Annotated Fig. 19) and pp. [0167], motion segment 1909/bend 1917 is positioned between the distal tip 1905 and proximal end 1914), the shaped portion having a V-shape or a W-shape (Fig. 19 and 21, motion segment 1909 may be formed as a bend 1917, thus giving the motion segment 1909 a V-shape) and being configured to reposition a distal end of the catheter as the probe is selectively advanced within the catheter (pp. [0173] and Fig. 21A, agitator 1900/motion segment 1909 movement causes movement of distal tip 2110 of catheter 2102 (which is equivalent to catheter 1902)), and the shaped portion causes the distal end of the catheter to bend when the shaped portion is positioned proximal to, at, or distal to the distal end of the catheter (pp. [0159, 0173] and Fig. 21A, when the motion segment 1909 is positioned proximal to, at, or distal to the distal end of the catheter 2102 (which is equivalent to catheter 1902), the motion segment 1909 of the agitator may interact with the surrounding walls of the catheter 2102 distal tip 2110 to cause bending movement of the distal tip 2110 of catheter 2102. Therefore, the motion segment causes the distal tip to bend when the motion segment is positioned proximate to the distal tip).
Yang fails to disclose a blood collection set coupled to the probe housing and in fluid communication with the catheter device. However, Boyle discloses a blood collection set coupled to the probe housing and in fluid communication with the catheter device (Fig. 2, 6 and [0053-0055], fluid system 10 may comprise drain assembly 200 which coupled to a proximal end of the catheter tubing 100 (which can similarly be coupled to the aspiration port 2622 on proximal end of hemostasis valve 2620 of Yang, seen in Fig. 27a, as drain assembly of Boyle works via aspiration/vacuum generation) and is in fluid communication with the catheter tube 100 which contains the probe/clearance wire assembly 400. Drain assembly may collect material such as blood in its receptacle 202).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang to incorporate the disclosures of Boyle and modify the probe assembly to comprise a blood collection set coupled to the housing and in fluid communication with the catheter device. Doing so would allow for the removal of material, such as blood and/or blood clots, from the patient’s body (Boyle, [0052]).
Yang, in view of Boyle, fails to disclose the probe actuator configured to move the probe between a first position where the distal end of the probe and the proximal end of the probe are received within the probe housing and a second position where the distal end of the probe extends outside of the probe housing and the proximal end of the probe is received within the probe housing. However, Dewaele discloses the probe actuator configured to move the probe between a first position where the distal end of the probe and the proximal end of the probe are received within the probe housing (Fig. 13 and 17 and [0197], adaptor 40 (similar to RHV 2620 of Yang) is additionally provided with a protective cover 560 which contains the adaptor and extends to attach the adaptor 40 to a coupling 520 for a catheter (Similar to connector 2630 of Yang).Therefore the adaptor 40 and protective cover 560 together provide a housing which is configured to move a tube shaft 10 (similar to probe 1900) relative to at least the protective tube portion 560 of the housing, from a first position wherein both the proximal and distal ends of tube shaft 10 are within the void 568 of housing 40/560) and a second position where the distal end of the probe extends outside of the probe housing and the proximal end of the probe is received within the probe housing (Fig. 19 and [0197], at least tube shaft 10 can be moved to a second position wherein the distal end of shaft 10 extends outside the void 568, while the proximal end of shaft 10 is received in the void 568).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang, in view of Boyle, to incorporate the disclosures of Dewaele and modify the housing to include a protective cover which connects the valve to the catheter connector and allows movement of the probe relative to the protective cover, such that the probe actuator may be configured to move the probe between a first position where the distal end of the probe and the proximal end of the probe are received within the probe housing and a second position where the distal end of the probe extends outside of the probe housing and the proximal end of the probe is received within the probe housing. Doing so would allow the probe to be fully withdrawn from the catheter while maintaining it in a sterile environment (Dewaele, [0189, 0197]).
Regarding claim 1 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses an intravenous catheter device (device of Fig. 26) comprising: a catheter adapter (Fig. 26 and pp. [0210], distal connector 2630, configured to couple the proximal end of the catheter to another component (hemostasis valve 2620)); a catheter (Fig. 19, catheter 1902) that extends distally from the catheter adapter (pp. [0210], catheter proximal end is coupled to the distal connector 2630, therefore the catheter extends distally from the connector); and a probe assembly according to claim 15 (Fig. 26, agitator 1900, proximal drive assembly 2602, and hemostasis valve 2620).
Regarding claim 3 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the probe assembly of claim 15, wherein the probe actuator advances the probe axially, or both advances the probe axially and rotates the probe (pp. [0211-0212], the proximal drive assembly 2602 may be moved in/out of the hemostasis valve 2620 and the proximal drive connector 2604 of assembly 2602 may be rotated) to thereby cause the probe to advance axially, rotate or both advance axially and rotate within the catheter (pp. [0211-0212], proximal drive assembly 2602 axial movement/rotation thereby causes the advancement/withdrawal or rotation of the agitator 1900 within the catheter 1902).
Regarding claim 4 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the intravenous catheter device of claim 1, wherein the probe assembly is one of integrated into or selectively coupled to the catheter adapter (Figs. 26-28 and pp. [0210], hemostasis valve 2620 comprises the distal connector 2630 at its distal end, therefore the two components are integrated).
Regarding claim 5 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the probe assembly of claim 15, wherein the probe further comprises a distal portion (Fig. 19, distal tip 1905), and the shaped portion is positioned between the proximal portion and the distal portion (Fig. 19 and pp. [0167], motion segment 1909 is positioned between the distal tip 1905 and proximal portion of the distal end 2912).
Regarding claim 7 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the probe assembly of claim 5, wherein the distal portion forms a coil or an expanded cross-sectional area (Fig. 18 and 20A and [0153, 0159, 0167, 0170], distal tip of agitator 1900 (indicated as distal end 2012 in Fig, 20A) may comprise a coil 2020. This coil may be distal to the bent/V-shaped portion as multiple agitator shapes/bends may be positioned along the distal most length of the agitator to aid in the tracking/navigation of the catheter).
Regarding claim 11 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the probe assembly of claim 15, wherein the shaped portion includes a first length (Annotated Fig. 18 and Fig. 19 and pp. [0153 and 0159], agitators, such as seen in the agitator 702, which is similar to agitator 1900, may have a bend (similar to bend 1917 of agitator 1900) which defines a first length proximal to the bend) that deviates from a longitudinal axis of the proximal portion by a first angle (Annotated Fig. 18, first length deviates from the longitudinal axis of the proximal portion of the agitator by a first angle) and a second length (Annotated Fig. 18 and Fig. 19 and pp. [0153 and 0159], agitator bend may also define a second length distal to the bend) that deviates from the longitudinal axis of the proximal portion by a second angle different from the first angle (Annotated Fig. 18, second length deviates from the longitudinal axis of the proximal portion of the agitator by a second angle, which is different/greater than the first angle).
Annotated Fig. 18 of Yang
Regarding claim 12 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the probe assembly of claim 15, wherein the probe is one of a wire or a tube (pp. [0159], agitator is an elongate flexible body such as a wore or hypo tube).
Regarding claim 19 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses a method of repositioning a distal end of a catheter within a patient's vasculature, the method comprising: providing an intravenous catheter device according to claim 1 (device of Fig. 26, see claim 1 rejection above); inserting the catheter into a patient's vasculature (Fig. 5 and pp. [0085, 0215], the catheter is inserted within the patient vasculature); and while the catheter is inserted into the patient's vasculature, advancing the probe within the catheter (pp. [0159], the agitator 1900 may be advanced into the catheter lumen after the catheter has been placed) to cause the shaped portion of the probe to be positioned proximal to or at the distal end of the catheter (pp. [0159] and Fig. 19 and 21A, agitator is advanced to a position such that the motion segment 1909 is positioned proximal to or at the distal tip 2110 of catheter 2102 (which is equivalent to catheter 1902)), the shaped portion causing the distal end of the catheter to be repositioned (pp. [0173] and Fig. 21A, agitator 1900/motion segment 1909 movement causes movement/ repositioning of distal tip 2110 of catheter 2102).
Regarding claim 20 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising: advancing the probe to cause the distal end of the probe to extend distally beyond the distal end of the catheter (pp. [0159], agitator may be advanced to a position such that the distal tip 1905 of the agitator is placed beyond the distal end of the catheter 1902)).
Regarding claim 35 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the shaped portion causing the distal end of the catheter to be repositioned includes repositioning the distal end of the catheter away from an obstruction ([0173, 0177], agitator 1900/motion segment 1909 causing movement/repositioning of distal tip 2110 of catheter 2102 also helps to reshape the thrombus (obstruction), thus allowing said obstruction to enter catheter lumen/be aspirated through device (thrombus moved to proximal end of catheter). Therefore, movement of distal end would result in the positioning distal end of catheter to be further from the position of an obstruction/thrombus).
Regarding claim 36, Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, discloses the method of claim 35, as explained above. As noted above Yang fails to disclose a blood collection set, and is thus silent to delivering a blood sample from the distal end of the catheter to the blood collection set. However, Boyle further discloses delivering a blood sample from the distal end of the catheter to the blood collection set ([0053-0055], material, such as blood, may be aspirated from vessel at the distal end of catheter tube 100 to the reservoir 202 of drain assembly 200).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, to further incorporate the disclosures of Boyle and modify the method to include delivering a blood sample from the distal end of the catheter to the blood collection set. Doing so would allow for the removal of material, such as blood and/or blood clots, from the patient’s body (Boyle, [0052]).
Regarding claim 37, Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, discloses the method of claim 36, as explained above. As noted above Yang fails to disclose delivering a blood sample, and is thus silent to wherein delivering the blood sample is performed with the probe positioned within the catheter. However, Boyle further discloses wherein delivering the blood sample is performed with the probe positioned within the catheter (Fig. 1 and 6 and [0066], when collecting material (such as a blood sample) from vessel, clearance wire assembly 400 is positioned within the catheter tube 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, to further incorporate the disclosures of Boyle and modify the method to include wherein delivering the blood sample is performed with the probe positioned within the catheter. Doing so would allow for the removal of material, such as blood and/or blood clots, from the patient’s body, while also allowing for any obstructions within the tubing to be disrupted to help clear the tubing (Boyle, [0052, 0066]).
Regarding claim 39 and Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, Yang further discloses the probe assembly of claim 15, wherein the probe actuator is rotatable with respect to the probe housing to selectively rotate the probe relative to the probe housing (Figs. 26-28 and [0212], proximal drive assembly 2602 comprises proximal drive connector 2604 which is rotatable relative to the hemostasis valve 2620 to selectively rotate probe 1900 relative to the hemostasis valve 2620).
Claims 21 and 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20190336727) in view of Boyle (US 20200038563) and Dewaele (US 20140005613), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Poncy et al. (US 4051849), hereinafter Poncy.
Regarding claim 21, Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, discloses the probe assembly of claim 15.
Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, fails to disclose wherein at least a portion of the housing comprises flexible tubing that connects the probe assembly to the intravenous catheter device. However, Poncy discloses wherein at least a portion of the housing comprises flexible tubing (Fig. 1 and C. 3:27-35, flexible tube 15, which extends into port on catheter fixture 13 (similar to port with RHV seal 2626 on hemostasis valve of Yang)) that connects the probe assembly to the intravenous catheter device (Fig. 1 and C. 2:32-34, C.3:17-26, tube 15 connects to catheter fixture 13 in order to form connection pathway to insert catheter 11 (similar to agitator 1900 of Yang) within needle 14 (similar to catheter assembly of Yang)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, to incorporate the disclosures of Poncy and modify the hemostasis valve to have flexible tube which extends from the proximal port of the hemostasis valve, the flexible tube connecting the probe assembly to the intravenous catheter device. Doing so would provide a simple and effective housing system which allows for advancement of the probe while also maintaining the sterility of the probe (Poncy C. 2:11-21).
Regarding claim 32 and Yang, in view of Boyle, Dewaele, and Poncy, Yang further discloses an intravenous catheter device (device of Fig. 26) comprising: a catheter adapter (Fig. 26 and pp. [0210], distal connector 2630, configured to couple the proximal end of the catheter to another component (hemostasis valve 2620)); a catheter (Fig. 19, catheter 1902) that extends distally from the catheter adapter (pp. [0210], catheter proximal end is coupled to the distal connector 2630, therefore the catheter extends distally from the connector); and a probe assembly according to claim 21 (Fig. 26, agitator 1900, proximal drive assembly 2602, and hemostasis valve 2620, as modified by Poncy (see claim 21 rejection above)).
Regarding claim 33 and Yang, in view of Boyle, Dewaele, and Poncy, Yang further discloses the intravenous catheter device of claim 32, wherein the probe assembly is one of integrated into or selectively coupled to the catheter adapter (Figs. 26-28 and pp. [0210], hemostasis valve 2620 comprises the distal connector 2630 at its distal end, therefore the two components are integrated).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20190336727), in view of Boyle (US 20200038563), Dewaele (US 20140005613), and Poncy (US 4051849), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of House (US 20070225649).
Regarding claim 31, Yang, in view of Boyle, Dewaele, and Poncy, discloses the intravenous catheter device of claim 21.
Yang, in view of Boyle, Dewaele, and Poncy, fails to disclose wherein movement of the actuator on an outer surface of the flexible tubing moves a wedge attached to the probe to move the probe relative to the housing and the catheter. However, House discloses wherein movement of the actuator (Fig. 3A and 1A-C, collar 43 is an actuator for advancing a probe/catheter 10 through a flexible tube housing sheath 40 and an introducer 77 (introducer downstream of flexible sheath is similar to hemostasis valve and catheter of Yang)) on an outer surface of the flexible tubing (Figs. 3A and 1A-C, collar 43 is on the outer surface flexible sheath 40) moves a wedge attached to the probe to move the probe relative to the housing and the catheter (Fig, 3A-B and 1A-C and [0054], collar is coupled to an attachment point on the catheter 10, such that the movement of the collar causes the catheter to move relative to the flexible sheath 40 and introduce 77, such that insertable portion 20 of the catheter is inserted through the introducer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang, in view of Boyle, Dewaele, and Poncy, to incorporate the disclosures of House and modify the probe actuator to also comprise a collar which connect to an attachment point of the probe through the flexible tubing, such that movement of the actuator collar on an outer surface of the flexible tubing moves a wedge attached to the probe to move the probe relative to the housing and the catheter. Doing so would create a translationally fixed relationship between the actuator collar and the probe, to convey all translational movement of the collar to the probe within the housing/catheter and helps to create an insertion stop location on the probe to ensure that only the insertable portion of the probe may be advance/inserted into the downstream lumens (House, [0040-0041, 0054-0055])
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20190336727), in view of Boyle (US 20200038563) and Dewaele (US 20140005613), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Marchand et al. (US 20190110895), hereinafter Marchand.
Regarding claim 34, Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, discloses the intravenous catheter device of claim 1.
Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, fails to disclose wherein a length of the probe in combination with a distance between a distal-most position of the actuator relative to the housing and a proximal-most position of the actuator relative to the housing limits a position of the distal end of the probe with respect to the distal end of the catheter. However, Marchand discloses wherein a length of the probe (Fig. 1 and 4A, the length of nose catheter 18, which has a set shaft 30 length, similar to agitator of Yang) in combination with a distance between a distal-most position of the actuator relative to the housing and a proximal-most position of the actuator relative to the housing (Fig. 1 and 4A and [0086-0087], slide support 48, which extends from proximal portion 24 of catheter (similar to hemostasis valve of Yang) comprises a slot 128, through which an adjustment ring 50, which is coupled to the proximal end of the nose catheter (proximal end of nose catheter is similar to proximal drive assembly of Yang), can be position along the length of the slot to extend or retract the nose catheter. The slot length defines a distal-most position of the ring 50 relative to the slide support 48 (at notches 132a/134a) and a proximal-most position of the ring 50 relative to the slide support 48 (at notches 132d/134d)) limits a position of the distal end of the probe with respect to the distal end of the catheter (Fig. 1 and 4A and [0086-0087], the catheter shaft 30 length and the proximal-most notches 132d/134d and distal-most notches 132a/134a limits the longitudinal position of the nose catheter 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, to incorporate the disclosures of Marchand and modify the hemostasis valve to have a slide support coupled to its proximal end, wherein the slide support has an adjustment ring that couples to the proximal drive assembly positioned within the slide support, such that a length of the probe in combination with a distance between a distal-most position of the proximal drive assembly relative to the slide support/hemostasis valve and a proximal-most position of the proximal drive assembly relative to the slide support/hemostasis valve limits a position of the distal end of the probe with respect to the distal end of the catheter. Doing so would allow the prob to be maintained at selected longitudinal positions relative to the catheter during use (Marchand, [0064]).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 20190336727), in view of Boyle (US 20200038563) and Dewaele (US 20140005613), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ebnet (US 20210016058).
Regarding claim 38, Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, discloses the intravenous catheter device of claim 1.
Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, fails to disclose wherein the catheter is a longdwelling catheter configured to be secured to a patient's skin. However, Ebnet discloses wherein the catheter is a longdwelling catheter configured to be secured to a patient's skin (Fig. 1 and [0070, 0076], catheter/cannula can be a long term indwelling cannula suitable for aspirating materials, such as collecting blood and may be attached to skin using fastening elements 8 to fix cannula to patient).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yang, in view of Boyle and Dewaele, to incorporate the disclosures of Marchand and modify the catheter device such that the catheter is a longdwelling catheter configured to be secured to a patient's skin. Doing so would provide a catheter that may be inserted and left in place in the patient for treatments, including the collection of materials such as blood, therefore reducing irritation and inflammation of the anatomical structures such as the blood vessels and would allow the catheter to be fixed on the living being (Ebnet, [0015-0021, 0070, 0076]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH DYMPNA GRASMEDER/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783