DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to arguments on page 5 of the remarks that the prior art does not disclose the claimed second vehicle receptacle (i.e., a separate distinct receptacle), since secondary references BROWN and ICHIKAWA each disclose “a cable having the same function”, it is submitted that primary reference KING discloses the basis for a separate receptacle. In particular, KING discloses two distinct connections, the first being an input to the on-board charger 156 and the second being an output from vehicle generator 154 (¶ 0069) as shown in Figure 8. KING fails to disclose the distinct connections implemented as plugs and receptacles. BROWN is relied upon to teach a plug/receptacle for charging a vehicle battery via an on-board charger, and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize said plug/receptacle to be applicable for the first connection of KING. Similarly, ICHIKAWA is relied upon to teach the connector switch, a plug/receptacle, and an inverter that is an onboard inverter, for discharging a vehicle battery to a load panel, and one of ordinary skill would recognize the disclosure of ICHIKAWA to be applicable for the second connection of KING. It is therefore maintained that the combination of KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA teaches the first plug/receptacle and the second plug/receptacle as described in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KING (US PUB. No. 2017/0168516; previously cited) in view of BROWN (US PUB. No. 2011/0169447; previously cited) and ICHIKAWA (US Pub. No. 2013/0015700; previously cited).
Regarding claim 11, KING discloses an apparatus comprising:
an Electric Vehicle Service Equipment (EVSE) (e.g., a portion of connection/switch in 158 which is connected to charger 156; ¶ 0069: the battery charger 156 is coupled to a mode/transfer switch 158, such that AC power provided to the mode/transfer switch can be provided to the battery charger 156), said EVSE being coupled through a regular load panel (20, Fig. 8; ¶ 0029: an electrical mains distribution panel or sub-panel 20, and a bi-directional utility meter (or “net-meter”) 22—which may be incorporated as part of the distribution panel or as a separate device) to a power supply grid (24, Fig. 8), said EVSE being operatively coupled to a first [connection] (e.g., connection between charger 156 and element 158, Fig. 8), said first [connection] being adapted to be coupled to a first [connection] of an electric vehicle (e.g., connection at on-board charger 156 of vehicle, Fig. 8), said first [connection] of the electric vehicle being operatively coupled to an onboard charger of said electric vehicle (on-board charger 156 of vehicle, Fig. 8; ¶ 0069: a battery charger 156 (on-board or off-board the HEV, PHEV, EV, etc. on which the mobile energy storage device 38 is included) is connected to the mobile energy storage device 38 to provide recharging power thereto);
a connector (e.g., located between 154 and 18, Fig. 8; ¶ 0069: when a mobile energy storage device 38 (such as a battery on an HEV, PHEV, EV, and/or a fuel cell electric vehicle or fuel cell system with energy storage) is provided and connected to home power supply system 18 as an additional means of energy storage, a generator device 154 is provided that is electrically coupled to the mobile energy storage device 38. According to various embodiments, the generator device 154 may operate with the mobile energy storage device 38 to receive DC power therefrom and generate an AC power when instructed);
an emergency load panel (portion of 158 connected to critical loads 14, Fig. 8; ¶ 0070: the mode/transfer switch 158 provides for AC power output from the micro-inverters/combiner circuit 152 and the power supply DC-AC inverter 32 to be supplied in parallel to the critical load(s) 14), said emergency load panel being coupled through a transfer switch to said supply grid (transfer switch is part of 158, Fig. 8), said emergency load panel being operatively coupled through said connector to [said electric vehicle] (as shown in Fig. 8; ¶ 0069: see above; ¶ 0071: With the switching elements 160, 162 in the B position during an emergency power mode, only the AC power output from the power supply DC-AC inverter 32 is provided to the critical load(s) 14), said [connector] being operatively coupled to an inverter of said electric vehicle (154, Fig. 8; ¶ 0069: see above), such that said connector is disposed outwardly of said EVSE (EVSE in element 158 is separate from connector which is located between 154 and 18 in Figure 8).
KING fails to disclose the first connection is a first plug; said first plug being adapted to be coupled to a first receptacle of the electric vehicle; said first receptacle being operatively coupled to the onboard charger of said electric vehicle.
BROWN discloses the first connection is said EVSE being operatively coupled to a first plug (50, Fig. 3; ¶ 0045), said first plug being adapted to be coupled to a first receptacle of an electric vehicle (e.g., inlet of vehicle; ¶ 0001, 0003, 0005, 0045, 0064), said first receptacle being operatively coupled to an onboard charger of said electric vehicle (¶ 0001, 0005).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the first plug and first receptacle of BROWN into the apparatus of KING to produce an expected result of an apparatus including a first plug and a first receptacle. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide flexibility and portability.
KING fails to disclose said connector including a connector switch, said emergency load panel being operatively coupled through said connector switch to a second plug, said second plug being adapted to be coupled to a second receptacle of said electric vehicle, said second receptacle being operatively coupled to an onboard inverter of said electric vehicle, and said connector switch is disposed in series between said electric vehicle and said emergency load panel.
ICHIKAWA discloses said connector (300, Fig. 2; ¶ 0051: Charging cable 300 includes: a charging connector 310 for the vehicle side; a plug 320 for the external power source side; a charging circuit interrupt device (hereinafter, also referred to as "CCID") 330; and electric wire portions 340 for connecting devices to each other for input/output of power and control signals) including a connector switch (332, Fig. 2; ¶ 0055: CCID relay 332 is provided for a pair of power lines in the charging cable. CCID relay 332 is controlled to be on/off by control pilot circuit 334. When CCID relay 332 is turned off, the electric path is interrupted in the charging cable), said load panel being operatively coupled through said connector switch to a second plug (310, Fig. 2; ¶ 0098: standards "SAE Electric Vehicle Conductive Charge Coupler" concerned with vehicular inlets and connectors in charging systems of electrically powered vehicles), said second plug being adapted to be coupled to a receptacle of said electric vehicle (270, Fig. 2; ¶ 0045: vehicle 10 includes: a vehicular inlet 270 provided at the body of vehicle 10), said receptacle being operatively coupled to an onboard inverter of said electric vehicle (160, Fig. 2; ¶ 0042: Providing power from the vehicle to the power grid in this way is called "V2G (Vehicle To Grid)". Plug-in hybrid vehicles and electric vehicles have a function of electrically charging their power storage devices from a power system. Hence, V2G can be implemented by providing the vehicles with a function of performing control and discharging utilizing two-way communication so as to allow the vehicles to provide power to the power system; ¶ 0045: power converter 160 for electrically charging power storage device 150 with the external power source or supplying power from power storage device 150 to outside. Power converter 160 is connected to vehicular inlet 270 via relay 190 by power lines ACL1, ACL2), and said connector switch is disposed in series between said electric vehicle and said load panel (as shown in Fig. 3, switch 332 is in series with the vehicle connected as plug 310 and load panel connected at receptacle 400). It would be obvious to include the connector of ICHIKAWA to connect to the emergency load panel of KING. Providing a plug and receptacle to implement connection to a load panel as disclosed in ICHIKAWA, for the connection between the electric vehicle and the emergency load panel of KING, teaches the recitations of a “second plug” and a “second receptacle”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the connector including a connector switch, the second plug, the second receptacle, and the onboard inverter of ICHIKAWA into the apparatus of KING to produce an expected result of an apparatus including a connector switch, a second plug, a second receptacle, and an onboard inverter. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide flexibility and portability.
Regarding claim 12, KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA teaches said connector switch comprises an electromechanical relay (ICHIKAWA, ¶ 0055, 0113).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KING in view of BROWN and ICHIKAWA as applied to claims 11-12 above, and further in view of GADH (US Pub. No. 2014/0203077).
Regarding claim 13, KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 11, but fails to disclose said connector switch comprises a semiconductor relay.
GADH discloses said connector switch comprises a semiconductor relay (¶ 0013, 0020, 0038, 0053, 0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the semiconductor relay of GADH into the apparatus of KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA to produce an expected result of an apparatus including a semiconductor relay. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the known characteristics of semiconductor relays, such as superior longevity, reliability, speed, and silence.
Regarding claim 14, KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 11 but fails to disclose said connector switch comprises a semiconductor control device providing for a continuous and proportional flow of energy from said electric vehicle.
GADH discloses said connector switch comprises a semiconductor control device providing for a continuous and proportional flow of energy from said electric vehicle (¶ 0013, 0020, 0038, 0053, 0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the semiconductor control device of GADH into the apparatus of KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA to produce an expected result of an apparatus including a semiconductor control device. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the known characteristics of semiconductor control devices, such as superior longevity, reliability, speed, and silence.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KING in view of BROWN and ICHIKAWA as applied to claims 11-12 above, and further in view of VEDA (US PG Pub 2017/0155253; previously cited).
Regarding claim 15, KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 11, but KING fails to disclose a plurality of electric vehicles are connected to said emergency load panel.
VEDA discloses a plurality of electric vehicles are connected to said emergency load panel (¶ 0042-0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the plurality of electric vehicles of VEDA into the apparatus of KING to produce an expected result of an apparatus including connection to a plurality of electric vehicles. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to maintain adequate voltage for the connected loads (VEDA, ¶ 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 16, KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 11, but KING fails to disclose aggregator software controlling operation of said connector.
VEDA discloses aggregator software controlling operation of said connector (¶ 0042-0043).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the aggregator software of VEDA into the apparatus of KING to produce an expected result of an apparatus comprising aggregator software. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide active power support to the power distribution grid (VEDA, ¶ 0043).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KING in view of BROWN and ICHIKAWA as applied to claims 11-12 above, and further in view of KAUFMAN (US PG Pub 2021/0291670; previously cited).
Regarding claim 17, KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA teaches the apparatus as applied to claim 11 but fails to disclose said first plug comprises an SAE J-1772 standard plug.
KAUFMAN discloses said first plug comprises an SAE J-1772 standard plug (¶ 0020-0021, 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the SAE J-1772 standard plug of KAUFMAN into the apparatus of KING as modified by BROWN and ICHIKAWA to produce an expected result of an apparatus including an SAE J-1772 standard plug. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide compatibility with industry standard chargers.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 4/3/2026
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859