DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The amendment filed on 03/02/2026 has been entered. Claim 16 has been amended. Claims 16-17 and 21-29 are thus currently pending and are under examination.
Claim Interpretation
The claims are drawn to a branched surfactant composition. The claim also recites a product by process limitation “produced by a process, comprising the steps of..”. The product by process limitations initiates from alpha olefin mixture that comprises carbon chain lengths in the range of C6-C36 that is isomerized to obtain linear and internal olefins with specific weight percent; hydroformylating the linear and internal olefins to produce 2-alkyl branched aldehydes with specific weight percent of linear aldehydes and branched aldehydes that include 2-alkyl branched aldehydes (2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl); hydrogenating these aldehydes to obtain 2-alkyl branched alcohols with specific weight percent of linear and branched alcohols, wherein the branched alcohols include 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl; and finally producing the branched surfactants from the aforementioned 2-alkyl branched alcohols, wherein the surfactants have surfactants produced from said 2-methyl branched alcohols, surfactants produced from said 2-ethyl branched alcohols, and surfactants produced from said 2-propyl branched alcohols. The entire product by process limitation does not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final branched surfactant composition other than the alcohol side of the surfactant composition has a carbon chain number in the range C7-C37 containing 2-alkyl, i.e. 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl.
Withdrawn Rejection
Claim 16 has been amended by canceling the limitation “0.6 wt.% to 8.6 wt.% 2-butyl branched aldehydes” that introduced new matter and thus, the 112(a) rejection of the record has been withdrawn.
In view of the amendment to claim 16 and the above interpretation, the branched surfactant composition now comprises 2-alkyl, specifically with 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl. De Witt (De Witt, W. J. et al. Patent number US3,480,556; cited in PTO-892 03/20/2023) exemplifies two surfactant compositions comprising branched chain C16 primary alcohol sulfates with 2-methyl and 2-ethyl, but fails to include 2-propyl. Thus, the 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeWitt has been withdrawn.
Claims 15-20 of copending Application Nos. 18/202,775 and 18/867,861 have been canceled. Furthermore, while the claims of copending Application No. 17/827,754 recite C8-C36 branched surfactant composition comprising 2-methyl and 2-ethyl, the claims fail to recite the surfactants comprising 2-propyl as instantly claimed. Thus, the nonstatutory double patenting rejections of the record have been withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-17, 22 and 24-25 are rejected in a modified form under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vinson (Vinson, P. K. et al. Patent application publication number US2016/0068784A1; cited in PTO-892 03/20/2023). See underlined for modification.
NOTE: In view of the claim interpretation set forth above, the only limitation given weight in the claim is that the branched surfactant composition comprises C7-C37 with 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyll in the alcohol side of the surfactant.
Regarding claim 16, Vinson teaches in Examples 3 and 6-10 C14/C15/C16 branched sulfate composition with 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl based on the branched alcohol composition they derive from (Tables 1-5).
Regarding claims 16-17 and 24-25, it is noted that the limitation “produced by a process, comprising the steps of…” in claim 16 and all the process steps and/or elements in claims 17 and 24-25 that further limit the aforementioned limitation are product by process claim languages as a result of the branched surfactant product. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the branched surfactant, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the branched surfactant. See MPEP § 2113:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
Furthermore, because the process steps do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final branched surfactant, the process steps are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113:
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vinson (Vinson, P. K. et al. Patent application publication number US2016/0068784A1; cited in PTO-892 06/07/2024).
NOTE: In view of the claim interpretation set forth above, the only limitation given weight in the claim is that the branched surfactant composition comprises C7-C37 with 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyll in the alcohol side of the surfactant.
The teachings of Vinson have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 21 and 23, while the claims appear to be further limiting the product by process claim limitation of claim 16, the claimed 2-alkyl branched tridecanols (claim 21) and the mixture of 2-alkyl branched tridecanols and 2-alkyl branched pentadecanols (claim 23) appear to impart to the number of carbon chains of the branched surfactant composition, i.e. the resulting branched surfactant composition would comprise C13 (claim 21) and a mixture of C13 and C15 (claim 23) at the alcohol side of the branched surfactant composition. Vinson exemplifies branched sulfate composition comprising 2-alkyl alkanol sulfate with a mixture of C15-C17 carbon chain but fails to exemplify surfactants with C13 or a mixture of C13 and C15 on the alcohol side.
However, Vinson teaches in a nonexemplified embodiment a surfactant composition comprising 2-alkyl branched surfactant of formula I and linear surfactant of formula II, wherein the 2-alkyl branched surfactant of formula I is present from about 50% to about 100% by weight and the linear of formula II is present at an amount of from about 0.001% to about 25% by weight ([0038]):
In view of the definition of m and n, the instant surfactant composition with C15 or a mixture of C13 and C15 is encompassed in the above formula II. Thus, selecting C15 or a mixture of C13 and C15, a skilled artisan would still have a reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the instantly claimed branched surfactant composition.
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to obtain a branched surfactant composition of claim 21 and 23 in view of the teachings of Vinson.
Claim(s) 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vinson (Vinson, P. K. et al. Patent application publication number US2016/0068784A1; cited in PTO-892 03/20/2023) as applied to claims 16, 21 and 23 above, and further in view of Zeller (Zeller, E. et al. Patent application publication number US2004/0030200A1; cited in PTO-892 03/20/2023).
Regarding claims 26-29, while Vinson teaches the surfactant composition with branched sulfated alcohol, the reference fails to teach or suggest surfactant with branched alkoxylated alcohol or with branched sulfated alkoxylated alcohol. However, the deficiencies are cured by Zeller.
Zeller teaches branched surfactant composition that comprises functionalized alcohol mixture with alkoxylated alcohol, sulfated alcohol or alkoxylated followed by sulfated alcohol ([0156]).
In accordance to MPEP § 2143, the Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. In this case, at least prong (B) simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results applies. Vinson teaches a sulfated alcohol branched composition and Zeller teaches various examples of branched surfactant compositions, in which alkoxylated alcohol, sulfated alcohol or alkoxylated sulfated alcohol are among the listed. In both references, both obtain surfactant compositions, i.e. compositions with the same utility. Thus, a simple substitution of Vinson’s sulfated alcohol branched composition with Zeller’s alkoxylated alcohol or alkoxylated sulfated alcohol, a skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining nothing more than the predictable surfactant composition.
Regarding claims 28-29, it is noted that the limitation “producing according to the process of…” is a product by process claim languages as a result of the branched surfactant product. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the branched surfactant, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the branched surfactant. See MPEP § 2113:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) (Claim was directed to a novolac color developer. The process of making the developer was allowed. The difference between the inventive process and the prior art was the addition of metal oxide and carboxylic acid as separate ingredients instead of adding the more expensive pre-reacted metal carboxylate. The product-by-process claim was rejected because the end product, in both the prior art and the allowed process, ends up containing metal carboxylate. The fact that the metal carboxylate is not directly added, but is instead produced in-situ does not change the end product.). Furthermore, "[b]ecause validity is determined based on the requirements of patentability, a patent is invalid if a product made by the process recited in a product-by-process claim is anticipated by or obvious from prior art products, even if those prior art products are made by different processes." Amgen Inc. v. F. Hoffman-La Roche Ltd., 580 F.3d 1340, 1370 n 14, 92 USPQ2d 1289, 1312, n 14 (Fed. Cir. 2009). See also Purdue Pharma v. Epic Pharma, 811 F.3d 1345, 117 USPQ2d 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, in the context of an infringement analysis, a product-by-process claim is only infringed by a product made by the process recited in the claim. Id. at 1370 ( "a product in the prior art made by a different process can anticipate a product-by-process claim, but an accused product made by a different process cannot infringe a product-by-process claim" ).
Furthermore, because the process steps do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final branched surfactant, the process steps are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113:
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979) (holding "interbonded by interfusion" to limit structure of the claimed composite and noting that terms such as "welded," "intermixed," "ground in place," "press fitted," and "etched" are capable of construction as structural limitations). See also In re Nordt Dev. Co., 881 F.3d 1371,1375-76, 125 USPQ2d 1817, 1820 (Fed. Cir. 2018)(holding "the specification demonstrates that ‘injected molded’ connotes an integral structure," and discussing several cases since Garnero that held "limitations to convey structure even when they also describe a process of manufacture").
It would thus have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to obtain branched surfactant composition of claims 26-29 in view of the combination of Vinson and Zeller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that in view of the amendment of claim 16, none of Vinson or Zeller, alone or in combination, disclose or suggest the instantly claimed invention. Applicant argues that claim 16 has been amended to provide additional clarity with regard to the structural relationships between each reaction steps that result to the claimed product.
The examiner disagrees. The amendments made in claim 16, are encompassed within the product by process claim language which are not given patentable weight. The examiner emphasizes that Applicant should refer to the claim interpretation set forth above which limitation of the product by process imparts distinct structural feature to the final surfactant product. The amendments in the product by process claim languages do not appear to be imparting a structural difference to the final branched surfactant composition, other than the final surfactant comprising 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl, which are indicated as being derived from 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl branched alcohols and they have been addressed in the above rejection.
As such, the 102(a)(1) and 103 rejections have been maintained.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. De Witt (De Witt, W. J. et al. Patent number US3,480,556; cited in PTO-892 03/20/2023) teaches a surfactant composition comprising
R2 encompasses 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl.
Double Patenting
Claims 16-17, 21-26 and 28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 17/827,754 in view of Vinson (Vinson, P. K. et al. Patent application publication number US2016/0068784A1; cited in PTO-892 03/20/2023).
NOTE: In view of the claim interpretation set forth above, the only limitation given weight in the claim is that the branched surfactant composition comprises C7-C37 with 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyll in the alcohol side of the surfactant.
The claims at issue are both drawn to branched surfactant composition.
The copending claims recite that the surfactant compositions obtained from C8-C36 branched alcohols with 2-methyl and 2-ethyl branching.
Regarding claims 16-17 and 24-25, it is noted that the limitation “produced by a process, comprising the steps of…” in claim 16 and all the process steps and/or elements in claims 17 and 24-25 that further limit the aforementioned limitation are product by process claim languages as a result of the branched surfactant product. The product by process limitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps for preparing the branched surfactant, but only to the structure implied by the steps, in this case, only to the branched surfactant. See MPEP § 2113:
"[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
Furthermore, because the process steps do not appear to impart distinctive structural characteristic to the final branched surfactant, the process steps are not given patentable weight. See MPEP § 2113:
The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product.
The copending claims fail to recite that the branched surfactants comprise 2-propyl branching as instantly claimed. The deficiency is cured by Vinson.
Vinson teaches in Examples 3 and 6-10 C14/C15/C16 branched sulfate surfactant composition with 2-methyl, 2-ethyl and 2-propyl based on the alcohol composition they derive from (Tables 1-5).
In accordance to MPEP 2143, the Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. In this case, at least prong (B) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Thus, combining the composition of the copending claims and the sulfate composition of Vinson, a skilled artisan has a reasonable expectation of success in arriving the instantly claimed composition that would yield nothing more than branched surfactant composition.
In view of the foregoing, it would have been prima facie obvious to a skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the instant invention to obtain the branched surfactant composition as instantly claimed in view of the combination of the copending claims and Vinson.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 16-17 and 21-29 are rejected and no claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MEDHANIT W BAHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692