DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment submitted 4/24/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 is currently amended. Claims 3-5, 9-10, 20-26, and 28-30 are canceled. Claims 14-19 and 27 remain withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-2, 6-8, 11-19, and 27 remain pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, and 11-13 are the subject of this office action.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
A brief description of Figure 7 is missing in the specification after paragraph [0031]. Applicant needs to amend the specification to include a brief description of Figure 7 as supported by paragraph [0074] and Figure 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Maintained Rejection: Claims 1-2, 6-8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleischman et al. (US2019/0064165; of record) in view of Zhang et al. (US2016/0040209; of record), Pocker et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1982, Vol. 104, p.4885-4889; of record), Yabuki et al. (Sensors and Actuators 2000, Vol. 65, p.49-51; of record), Bekhit et al. (Anal. Chem. 2019, Vol. 91, p.3163-3169; of record in the IDS filed 1/19/2022), and Schwaderer et al. (WO2016/161413; of record).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 11, Fleischman teaches an electrochemical method for detecting leukocyte esterase (LE) activity in a sample using the internally calibrated electrochemical continuous enzyme assay (ICECEA) (see paragraphs [0002], [0006], [0022], [0039], and [0076]-[0079]). Fleischman teaches that a LE substrate (see Fleischman claim 1) that can be hydrolyzed by LE to generate a redox intermediate can be used to generate a detectable chemical response (see paragraphs [0042]-[0043]). Fleischman generally describes that the ICECEA process includes electrodes (see paragraphs [0022] and [0077]). Additionally, Fleischman teaches that leukocyte esterase is an enzyme present in urine samples, a bodily fluid, and is used as an indicator of an infectious process (see paragraph [0003]).
Fleischman does not teach contacting the sample with an anti-LE antibody coated surface forming an enzymatically active immobilized LE from the body fluid sample; contacting the immobilized LE with an assay solution comprising methyl pyruvate (LE substrate) and alcohol oxidase to form a test solution; and electrochemically measuring concentration of H2O2 produced in the test solution using a nitrogen doped carbon nanotube (N-CNT) electrode at a negative detection potential.
Zhang teaches a method for determining enzyme activity using the ICECEA method (see Abstract and paragraphs [0008]-[0011] and [0036]-[0053]). Zhang teaches that the ICECEA method can use different redox species to monitor the progress of enzymatic reaction by following their generation and specifically suggests H2O2 (see paragraph [0053]). Zhang teaches measuring H2O2 concentration when measuring esterase enzyme activity (see paragraphs [0098]-[0099] and Figures 15-16). The hydrolysis of the esterase substrate yields an alcohol that is then oxidized by an oxidase redox enzyme (see paragraph [0106]). Zhang teaches the redox enzyme is immobilized in a thin polymeric film on the surface of an electrode (see paragraphs [0090] and [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the method for determining leukocyte activity in a sample using the ICECEA method as taught by Fleischman with the method for detecting enzyme activity of an esterase by measuring H2O2 concentration using the ICECEA method with an oxidase redox enzyme immobilized on an electrode as taught by Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to because Zhang provides specific details on the measurement of esterase activity by measuring the H2O2 concentration produced in a redox reaction using a redox enzyme and it would have yielded predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fleischman suggests that redox intermediates can be used to detect the activity of LE.
Zhang does not teach contacting the sample with an anti-LE antibody coated surface forming an enzymatically active immobilized LE from the body fluid sample, contacting the immobilized LE with an assay solution comprising methyl pyruvate (LE substrate) and alcohol oxidase, or using a nitrogen doped carbon nanotube (N-CNT) electrode at a negative detection potential.
Pocker teaches that esterases can be probed using the hydrolysis of methyl pyruvate (see Abstract and p.4885, left column, first paragraph). The hydrolysis of methyl pyruvate provides methanol, an alcohol, and pyruvate.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted methyl pyruvate, as taught by Pocker, for the LE substrate used in the ICECEA method of detecting LE activity, as taught by Fleischman as modified by Zhang above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the hydrolysis of methyl pyruvate by esterase is known to create an alcohol intermediate useful in the redox reaction for the detection of LE activity of Fleischman as modified by Zhang, yielding predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Fleischman as modified by Zhang utilize the hydrolysis of the LE substrate into an alcohol to measure the activity of the enzyme from subsequent redox reactions.
Pocker does not teach contacting the sample with an anti-LE antibody coated surface forming an enzymatically active immobilized LE from the body fluid sample, an alcohol oxidase, or using a nitrogen doped carbon nanotube (N-CNT) electrode at a negative detection potential.
Yabuki teaches a peroxidase enzyme immobilized to a glassy carbon electrode but suggests that combining it with an alcohol oxidase can yield highly-sensitive biosensors (see p.50, right column, last passage, and p.51, left column, first passage). Yabuki also teaches that H2O2 is measured by redox reactions (see p.49, left and right columns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted a glassy carbon electrode with alcohol oxidase combined with peroxidase immobilized to its surface as disclosed by Yabuki for the immobilized enzyme electrode of Fleischman as modified by Zhang above. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use a glassy carbon electrode with alcohol oxidase combined with peroxidase immobilized on its surface to have a highly-sensitive biosensor for H2O2 in the method for detecting LE activity in a sample of Fleischman as modified by Zhang. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to use a highly-sensitive biosensor for H2O2 because Fleischman as modified by Zhang teach detecting H2O2 concentration to detect LE activity. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because each of Zhang and Yabuki teach measuring H2O2 produced by redox reactions using a redox enzyme immobilized on the surface of an electrode.
Yabuki does not teach contacting the sample with an anti-LE antibody coated surface forming an enzymatically active immobilized LE from the body fluid sample or using a nitrogen doped carbon nanotube (N-CNT) electrode at a low negative detection potential.
Bekhit teaches an ICECEA-dipstick immunoassay for myeloperoxidase detection which comprises immobilizing the enzyme myeloperoxidase in saliva samples on a dipstick comprising an antibody specific for myeloperoxidase and using the dipstick with the immobilized myeloperoxidase in the ICECEA method (see Abstract, p.3164, right column, first-last paragraphs, and p.3167, left column, last paragraph, and right column). Bekhit further teaches immobilizing an antibody specific for myeloperoxidase to a dipstick. Bekhit teaches that the capture of myeloperoxidase on the dipstick resulted in a percentage of recovery of 101%, to effectively separate the enzyme of interest, myeloperoxidase, from saliva samples. Myeloperoxidase is an enzyme of interest found in saliva as it is an indicator of a wide range of inflammatory and autoimmune diseases. One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the ICECEA-dipstick immunoassay for myeloperoxidase taught by Bekhit can be modified for the detection of other enzymes of interest simply by substituting an antibody specific for the enzyme of interest for the antibody immobilized on the dipstick. Bekhit additionally teaches the use of a nitrogen-doped carbon nanotube (N-CNT) electrode for the measurement of H2O2 at -0.20 V, which could detect 0.50 μM H2O2, reads on at a negative detection potential, and provides the procedure for nitrogen doping a glassy carbon electrode (see Abstract and p.3164, left column, 5th-last paragraph bridging left and right columns). Thus, the electrode detects low amounts of H2O2 and is sensitive for H2O2.
Bekhit does not teach an anti-LE antibody.
Schwaderer teaches an antibody that is specific for leukocyte esterase (see paragraph [0006], [0017], and [0064]). This reads on an anti-LE antibody as claimed. Schwaderer further teaches the antibody-marker complex can be measured by electrochemical methods including voltammetry and amperometry methods, which necessarily requires the activity of the enzyme is retained to generate measurable species (see paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the antibody specific for leukocyte esterase as taught by Schwaderer for the antibody immobilized on the dipstick of Bekhit and to use this dipstick in an ICECEA assay for leukocyte esterase as taught by Fleischman as modified by Zhang, Pocker, and Yabuki above and to nitrogen dope the electrode used and use it at -0.20 V, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to because leukocyte esterase is an enzyme of interest and indicator of infectious process and Schwaderer teaches the antibodies are useful in electrochemical methods, yielding predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to immobilize an antibody specific for leukocyte esterase on the dipstick for ICECEA immunoassay since it was shown to effectively separate the enzyme of interest from a test sample for use in ICECEA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to nitrogen dope the electrode used and to use it at a -0.20 V detection potential because Bekhit teaches its use in an ICECEA assay, which Fleischman and Zhang are directed to as well, and the detection of low amounts of H2O2. Thus, the electrode is sensitive for H2O2. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Fleischman, Zhang, and Bekhit are directed to ICECEA enzyme assays.
Thus, a method for detecting leukocyte esterase (LE) activity in a body fluid sample, the method comprising: (a) contacting the body fluid sample with an anti-LE antibody coated surface forming an enzymatically active immobilized LE from the body fluid sample; (b) contacting the immobilized LE with an assay solution comprising methyl pyruvate and alcohol oxidase to form a test solution; and (c) electrochemically measuring concentration of H2O2 produced in the test solution using a nitrogen doped carbon nanotube (N-CNT) electrode at a -0.20 V detection potential (i.e. a negative detection potential), as recited in claim 1, is prima facie obvious over Fleischman in view of Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit, and Schwaderer. The teachings above also read on claims 2 and 11.
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Fleischman discloses that the ICECEAs generally follow the method described in U.S. Patent Publication No. 2016/0040209 (see paragraphs [0075]-[0076]). Fleischman teaches three distinct calibration steps performed in the pre-assay phase by spiking a solution of enzyme substrate and necessary reactants with a solution of the redox active component of the enzymatic reaction and measuring an increase in current flowing through the electrode in contact with the enzyme substrate and necessary reactants spiked with a redox active component (see paragraphs [0080] and [0086] and Fig. 4). The electrode is calibrated prior to contacting the test sample with the electrode. One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that a solution of enzyme substrate and necessary reactants would include the redox enzyme, which as discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, is immobilized on the surface of the electrode. Thus, Fleischman teaches the electrode is calibrated prior to contacting the test sample with the electrode, comprising contacting the electrode with a calibration sample, spiking the calibration sample with aliquots of the redox active component of the enzymatic reaction, and measuring an increase in current flowing through the electrode in contact with the calibration sample. The calibration sample being the assay solution (enzyme substrate and redox enzyme) prior to contacting with the sample. One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that methyl pyruvate is the enzyme substrate, alcohol oxidase is the redox enzyme, and H2O2 is the redox active component of the enzymatic reaction, as discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Fleischman does not disclose spiking the calibration sample with aliquots of H2O2.
Zhang teaches spiking a calibration sample with aliquots of 2.0 µM H2O2 during calibration in ICECEA when determining the activity of an esterase (see paragraphs [0098]-[0099] and Fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used 2.0 µM H2O2 aliquots for spiking the calibration sample as taught by Zhang to calibrate the electrode for the redox active component of the enzymatic reaction of Fleischman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because Zhang teaches using H2O2 aliquots for spiking when measuring the activity of esterases, and H2O2 is the redox active component of the redox reaction for esterases. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because leukocyte esterase is an esterase.
Regarding claim 7, Fleischman, Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki and Schwaderer do not disclose the calibration sample can be spiked with 50-µL aliquots of 0.200 mM H2O2 solution, per 5 mL of calibration solution.
Bekhit teaches spiking a calibration sample with 50-µL aliquots of H2O2 in a 5 mL solution in the ICECEA method (p.3164, left column, last passage, right column, first passage). Thus, Bekhit teaches spiking a calibration sample with 50-µL aliquots of H2O2 per 5 mL of calibration solution.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined spiking a calibration sample with aliquots of 2.0 µM H2O2 as taught by Zhang above in the rejection of claim 6 with spiking a calibration solution with 50-µL aliquots of H2O2 per 5 mL of calibration solution as taught by Bekhit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been combining the known elements of spiking calibration samples with H2O2 as taught by Zhang with using 50-µL aliquots in a 5 mL calibration solution to yield predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because each of Fleischman, Zhang, and Bekhit are directed to ICECEA enzyme assays.
Neither Fleischman nor Bekhit teach a 0.200 mM H2O2 concentration aliquot for spiking during calibration.
Zhang teaches a 0.200 mM H2O2 concentration aliquot for spiking during calibration (see paragraphs [0080]-[0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have used 0.200 mM H2O2 concentration aliquots for spiking during calibration as taught by Zhang to spike the calibration sample of Fleischman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use 0.200 mM H2O2 concentration aliquots because they would have been applying known calibration methods in the ICECEA assay. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Zhang used the 0.200 mM H2O2 aliquots to calibrate the ICECEA assay for H2O2 detection which Fleischman and Bekhit also detect through the ICECEA assay.
Thus, claims 6-8 are prima facie obvious over Fleischman in view of Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit, and Schwaderer.
Maintained Rejection: Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleischman et al. (US2019/0064165; of record) in view of Zhang et al. (US2016/0040209; of record), Pocker et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1982, Vol. 104, p.4885-4889; of record), Yabuki et al. (Sensors and Actuators 2000, Vol. 65, p.49-51; of record), Bekhit et al. (Anal. Chem. 2019, Vol. 91, p.3163-3169; of record in IDS filed 1/19/2022), and Schwaderer et al. (WO2016/161413; of record), as applied to claims 1-2, 6-8, and 11 above, and further in view of Gorski et al. (WO2019/094575; of record).
Fleischman in view of Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit and Schwaderer teach the invention of claim 1 as discussed in the rejection above.
Regarding claim 12, Fleischman, Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit and Schwaderer do not disclose that the assay solution comprises 10 mg/L to 2000 mg/L of methyl pyruvate.
Gorski teaches the concentration of leukocyte esterase substrate in the test sample can be between 10 mg/L to 2000 mg/L (see paragraph [0014]). One of ordinary skill in the art recognizes that the concentration of methyl pyruvate in the test sample would not differ from the concentration of methyl pyruvate in the assay solution, absent evidence to the contrary. Thus, Gorski teaches the concentration of leukocyte esterase substrate in the test sample can be between 10 mg/L to 2000 mg/L.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined Gorski’s teaching for using a concentration of substrate between 10 mg/L to 2000 mg/L with Fleischman’s method, as modified by Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit and Schwaderer above, for detecting leukocyte esterase activity using methyl pyruvate as the substrate, to arrive at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because Gorski teaches a concentration range for leukocyte esterase substrates and methyl pyruvate is an esterase substrate. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because each of Fleischman, Zhang, Bekhit, and Gorski are directed to the ICECEA assay. Therefore, claim 12 is prima facie obvious over Fleischman in view of Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit, and Schwaderer and further in view of Gorski.
Maintained Rejection: Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleischman et al. (US2019/0064165; of record) in view of Zhang et al. (US2016/0040209; of record), Pocker et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1982, Vol. 104, p.4885-4889; of record), Yabuki et al. (Sensors and Actuators 2000, Vol. 65, p.49-51; of record), Bekhit et al. (Anal. Chem. 2019, Vol. 91, p.3163-3169; of record in IDS filed 1/19/2022), and Schwaderer et al. (WO2016/161413; of record), as applied to claims 1-2, 6-8, and 11 above, and further in view of Bourdillon et al. (J. Am. Chem. Soc. 1980, Vol. 102, p.4231–4235; of record).
Fleischman in view of Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit and Schwaderer teach the invention of claim 1 as discussed in the rejection above.
Regarding claim 13, Fleischman, Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit and Schwaderer do not disclose that the assay solution comprises 10 mg/L to 2000 mg/L of alcohol oxidase.
Bourdillon teaches immobilizing 1 mg/mL (1000 mg/L) glucose oxidase on a glassy carbon electrode for measuring H2O2 (see p.4232, left column, fourth paragraph). 1000 mg/L falls within the claimed range of 10 mg/L to 2000 mg/L.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have immobilized alcohol oxidase on a glassy carbon electrode doped with nitrogen, as taught by Fleischman as modified by Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, and Bekhit above, at a concentration of 1000 mg/L as taught by Bourdillon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because they would have been using the known enzyme concentration of 1000 mg/L for immobilization and it would have yielded predictable results in H2O2 measurement. Therefore, claim 13 is prima facie obvious over Fleischman in view of Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit, and Schwaderer and further in view of Bourdillon.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 4/24/2026 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-2, 6-8, and 11-13 based upon 35 U.S.C. 103 as set forth in the last Office action because: Declarant’s arguments are not sufficient to overcome the rejections set forth above for the following reasons. Declarant argues that Pocker does not provide any suggestion or motivations for the use of methyl pyruvate with leukocyte esterase (LE). Declarant argues that from a panel of ten ester substrates, only methyl pyruvate was effectively hydrolyzed by LE to produce methanol, which was then converted by alcohol oxidase to detectable H2O2 and argues this is unexpected and advantageous over colorimetric methods taught in Schwaderer. Declarant further argues Schwaderer is silent on the activity retention of LE once bound to the anti-LE antibody. Declarant argues their findings that LE retains its activity when bound to an anti-LE antibody is unexpected and enables a rapid immunoassay that maintains high selectivity in complex bodily-fluid matrices. Declarant further argues the advantages demonstrated in real clinical matrices like infected urine and saliva samples were neither suggested nor predictable from the combined teachings of Fleischman, Zhang, Pocker, Yabuki, Bekhit, or Schwaderer. Declarant further argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success substituting Schwaderer’s anti-LE antibody into Bekhit’s MPO-dipstick format, using Pocker’s methyl pyruvate as substrate, and incorporating the oxidase/N-CNT electrode components from Yabuki and Zhang would produce an enzymatically active immobilized LE suitable for quantitative electrochemical detection. Declarant further states the prior art references are disparate in field, enzyme mechanism, and purpose, and the art as a whole teaches away from expecting high activity retention for an esterase after antibody binding. This is not found persuasive.
In response, Pocker teaches that esterases can be probed using the hydrolysis of methyl pyruvate, which would include any esterase with hydrolysis activity such as leukocyte esterase. Pocker discloses that the hydrolysis of methyl pyruvate provides methanol, an alcohol, and pyruvate. Furthermore, Fleischman teaches that a LE substrate that can be hydrolyzed by LE to generate a redox intermediate can be used to generate a detectable chemical response (see paragraphs [0042]-[0043]). One of ordinary skill in the art looking to Fleischman and Pocker would understand that methyl pyruvate hydrolysis by an esterase, such as leukocyte esterase, would produce the required species for a detectable chemical response. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute methyl pyruvate as a substrate for LE with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, methyl pyruvate as a substrate for LE cannot be considered unexpected following the directives laid out in the prior art of Pocker and Fleischman, which provide sufficient motivation that methyl pyruvate is an adequate substrate for leukocyte esterase probing in an ICECEA method. Moreover, Declarant’s disclosure in Figure 7 only demonstrated a significant increase in methyl pyruvate hydrolysis by leukocyte esterase under specific conditions, i.e., at least 100% current and after at least 250 seconds, which is also admitted in paragraph [0074] of the instant specification. Thus, Declarant’s argument of unexpected results as presented in statement 5 are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention, since no limit is placed on current or time, whereby a difference in substrate hydrolysis measurement is observed. With regards to the activity retention of LE bound to the anti-LE antibody of Schwaderer, Schwaderer further teaches the antibody-marker complex can be measured by electrochemical methods including voltammetry and amperometry methods, which necessarily requires the activity of the enzyme is retained to generate measurable species (see paragraph [0054]). Moreover, the person of ordinary skill in the art looking to Schwaderer and Bekhit would understand that the enzyme would need to remain active for voltametric and amperometric detection methods. In view of this understanding, the use of an anti-LE antibody that retains activity of the LE when bound is not considered a novelty and would have been in the purview of a person of ordinary skill in the art looking to the cited prior art as a whole. The rejection of record provides specific motivations for the combination of the references, and Declarant has not pointed to any reason besides the LE substrate and anti-LE antibody that would supposedly render the cited prior art incapable of combination—of which have been responded to above. Briefly, Fleischman teaches an electrochemical method for detecting leukocyte esterase (LE) activity in a sample using the internally calibrated electrochemical continuous enzyme assay (ICECEA). Fleischman teaches any LE substrate that can be hydrolyzed to generate a redox intermediate may be used in the process. Zhang teaches that the ICECEA method can use different redox species to monitor the progress of enzymatic reaction by following their generation and specifically suggests H2O2. Zhang teaches measuring H2O2 concentration when measuring esterase enzyme activity (see paragraphs [0098]-[0099] and Figures 15-16). The hydrolysis of the esterase substrate yields an alcohol that is then oxidized by an oxidase redox enzyme (see paragraph [0106]). Zhang teaches the redox enzyme is immobilized in a thin polymeric film on the surface of an electrode (see paragraphs [0090] and [0098]). Pocker teaches that esterases can be probed using the hydrolysis of methyl pyruvate (see Abstract and p.4885, left column, first paragraph). The hydrolysis of methyl pyruvate provides methanol, an alcohol, and pyruvate, rendering a redox intermediate as required for detection. Yabuki teaches a peroxidase enzyme immobilized to a glassy carbon electrode but suggests that combining it with an alcohol oxidase can yield highly-sensitive biosensors (see p.50, right column, last passage, and p.51, left column, first passage). Yabuki also teaches that H2O2 is measured by redox reactions (see p.49, left and right columns). Bekhit teaches an ICECEA-dipstick immunoassay for myeloperoxidase detection which comprises immobilizing the enzyme myeloperoxidase in saliva samples on a dipstick comprising an antibody specific for myeloperoxidase and using the dipstick with the immobilized myeloperoxidase in the ICECEA method (see Abstract, p.3164, right column, first-last paragraphs, and p.3167, left column, last paragraph, and right column). Bekhit further teaches immobilizing an antibody specific for myeloperoxidase to a dipstick. Bekhit teaches that the capture of myeloperoxidase on the dipstick resulted in a percentage of recovery of 101%, to effectively separate the enzyme of interest, myeloperoxidase, from saliva samples. Schwaderer teaches an antibody that is specific for leukocyte esterase (see paragraph [0006], [0017], and [0064]). This reads on an anti-LE antibody as claimed. Schwaderer further teaches the antibody-marker complex can be measured by electrochemical methods including voltammetry and amperometry methods, which necessarily requires the activity of the enzyme is retained to generate measurable species (see paragraph [0054]). All cited prior art references are in a relevant field for combination such as esterase detection and biochemical processes for the detection of the same. Lastly, Applicant argues the results found in saliva and urine samples are commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. However, the claims broadly recite a body fluid sample and are not limited to saliva or urine as demonstrated. Accordingly, the results are not commensurate in scope with all possible body fluid samples encompassed by the claimed invention. Therefore, the Declaration is not sufficient to overcome the rejection of record.
In Applicant’s Remarks, see p.5, last paragraph,-p.8, last paragraph, Applicant argues there is no case of prima facie obviousness established and that the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight, failing to provide reasons rooted in the prior art themselves for combining the teachings of the references. Applicant further argues the prior art originate from unrelated contexts. Applicant further argues the timeliness of the cited references is evidence for a lack of motivation to combine them. Applicant further argues there is no reasonable expectation of success that the anti-LE antibody of Schwaderer would allow LE to retain activity when bound. Applicant further provides Birolini et al. and Perez de la Lastra et al. to argue that enzyme activity retention when bound to antibodies is unpredictable. Applicant further reiterates the arguments presented by Declarant. This is not found persuasive. With respect to the arguments regarding a lack of motivation to combine the cited references, the use of impermissible hindsight, and the prior art references being of unrelated contexts, the responses to the Declaration above sufficiently address these arguments and provide the motivations to combine the cited references. It is further noted that the response to the arguments in the Declaration demonstrate the retention of activity of LE when bound to the anti-LE antibody of Schwaderer. Furthermore, Applicant did not provide copies of Birolini et al. and Perez de la Lastra et al. for review by the Examiner as they relate to Applicant’s arguments. Accordingly, the arguments related to these references cannot be weighed. For the above reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.P.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1651
/MELENIE L GORDON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1651